Death of Ruairi Ó Brádaigh

Started by Rossfan, June 05, 2013, 07:11:41 PM

Paisley, who preached fire and brimstone and never, never, never until he took the dosh and made a fool of himself and the people that he conned for generations or Ó'Bradaigh ?

Quote from: orangeman on June 07, 2013, 03:25:11 PM
Paisley, who preached fire and brimstone and never, never, never until he took the dosh and made a fool of himself and the people that he conned for generations or Ó'Bradaigh ?
Which would you rather lose, your right bollock or your left?

Anyhow, I hope Lucifer has a Double Cell ready for the two of them when Paisley cops it...

Quote from: ardal on June 07, 2013, 01:10:32 PM
Pretty sure Hardy is making reference to Orangemans comment
I'm pretty sure he was.

Go home ref

Quote from: Evil Genius on June 07, 2013, 03:18:00 PM
When I think of the likes of Brady [sic], I almost wish I believed in the concept of Heaven and Hell. Or one of them, anyhow.

He was murderous, ruthless and bitterly uncompromising, yet also capable of rank hypocrisy.

In short, a total kunt.

Ireland is a better place for his passing, but it would have been even better had he never been born at all.

On the bright side, at least he got to die in a United Irel... No wait

P.S. Is there any chance he was related to Ian Brady?

You really are a disgusting piece of shit you are revelling in another human beings death. What is your interest in being on an Irish GAA website and then coming out with vile shite like this linking a gentleman with Ian Brady. It says a lot about the people who run this place that the type of vulgarity is tolerated

Go home ref

Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2013, 03:04:57 PM
I met Ruari a couple of times when I was in my late teens/early twenties and what I remember most about him was his mild manner and his unfailing affability.
I couldn't imagine Ruari not opening a door for a lady or mugging a granny or anything of the sort.
Definitely a gent of the old school.
While I never got to know him well, I was on familiar terms with a number of his republican fellow-travellers and to a man (and woman) they were prepared to die for their cause.
Seamus "Vicky" Mangan, a teacher at my secondary school was Ruari's greatest fan.
He was extremely proud of the fact that he had been interned alongside O Bradaigh during the 1940s.
Vicky was prepared to die for Ireland – at any time or any place.
Living for Ireland seemed to have been way down his list of priorities.
John Joe McGirl, another of the diehard republican brigade, was a frequent visitor to my family home where he and me oul' fella would spend hours romanticising about a return to the old glory days when there wasn't even the smell of a Brit to be found throughout the land. (BTW, I'm convinced that John Joe was involved in the kidnapping of Shergar.)
The Ireland they hoped to build someday was even more illusory. The island would be peopled by Fíor Gaels who would live in peace and harmony with their neighbours- the same as was the case before the hated English arrived.
The economy would be based on the Israeli kibbutz model and everyone would go to mass on Sundays. The Ireland of their dreams would have no truck whatever with the bigger island across the Irish Sea.
Even as a young kid, I found this a bit hard to swallow as I knew that over half the young people had to sail across the same sea to earn their living. Many homes in my neighbourhood depended heavily on the sent back by their sons and daughters from the land of the enemy.
I felt it prudent not top bring the subject up with the old boy as I'd get a boot up the arse for my trouble. I kept my doubts to myself and also the doubts that were forming about the sanity of the die-for-Ireland brigade.
Later, when I started to teach in Dublin, I met up with a number of old school republicans, including Con Lehane and Albert Price.
Con was a co-founder of Ailtiri na h-Aiséirghe, probably the loopiest of all the loopy political parities that ever saw the light of day. (Not unsurprisingly, the launch took place in the back lounge of the Teachers' Club in Parnell Square in the early hours of a Saturday morning.)
The party was founded in 1942, at the height of World War II, and it supported the Nazis. "My enemy's enemy is my friend," could have been their motto. Incidentally, it was also strongly anti-semite.
It drew support from all quarters with republicans, Sean Treacy and Dan Breen, on the same side as Blueshirts such as Ernest Blythe and Oliver J Flanagan. Sean Sabhat was also a supporter.
Those were indeed crazy times with some equally crazy people to match. Luckily, for the sanity of the nation, the party, or at least the leadership, never went anywhere except perhaps back to the same bar in Parnell Square.
All this was long before my time but I was in Con's company many times after hours in The Teachers' Club, where all present would toast the Fight for Freedom and get pissed as lords every time.
That's where I first met Albert Price who was also a staunch supporter of O Bradaigh.
I was at the protest rally in Newry the week after Bloody Sunday. On the way downhill on the Dublin Road, I literally bumped into Albert. He causally informed me that he was prepared for trouble and if "they" wanted it, he'd give it to them.
"What?" sez I, "whaddya mean?
In response, he pointed to his left shoe and said he had a handgun stuck in his stocking and was prepared to use it if necessary. Believe me, I soon put bodies between his and mine!
So Ruairi has departed the scene and another link with our "glorious" past is severed.
I don't know if he would have done any or all of the things I mentioned above but the individuals I referred to held him in the highest esteem. There were fellow-travellers in every meaning of the term.
No doubt he was sincere in his political beliefs  but I can't help feeling that Ireland has become a slightly saner place to be with his passing.

Ruairí was not interned in the 40's he would of been too young he was interned in the 50's and later escaped with his comrade Daithí Ó Conaill

glens abu

Quote from: Go home ref on June 07, 2013, 08:30:04 PM
When I think of the likes of Brady [sic], I almost wish I believed in the concept of Heaven and Hell. Or one of them, anyhow.

He was murderous, ruthless and bitterly uncompromising, yet also capable of rank hypocrisy.

In short, a total kunt.

Ireland is a better place for his passing, but it would have been even better had he never been born at all.

You really are a disgusting piece of shit you are revelling in another human beings death. What is your interest in being on an Irish GAA website and then coming out with vile shite like this linking a gentleman with Ian Brady. It says a lot about the people who run this place that the type of vulgarity is tolerated

He is loyalist what do you expect,that is their CULTURE.just watch them on the 11th night and Orangefest ;) and you will understand.

Quote from: glens abu on June 07, 2013, 08:33:24 PM

In short, a total kunt.

He is loyalist what do you expect,that is their CULTURE.just watch them on the 11th night and Orangefest ;) and you will understand.

Way over the line definitely but let's be honest, trying to group all loyalists together like that insults even more people than he did.

At least he's not as bad as that shower of sh1t outside the Europa today ..... hopefully  :o

glens abu

Quote from: Syferus on June 07, 2013, 08:44:15 PM
Quote from: glens abu on June 07, 2013, 08:33:24 PM

In short, a total kunt.

Way over the line definitely but let's be honest, trying to group all loyalists together like that insults even more people than he did.

Oh sorry shouldn't insult loyalists,well I couldn't give a fiddlers if genius and his ilk are insulted.

In short, a total kunt.

You should have been here when Thatcher died. I don't doubt for a second that you'd have been equally vocal in your disgust.

Jim_Murphy_74

What is your interest in being on an Irish GAA website and then coming out with vile shite like this linking a gentleman with Ian Brady.

Well as it is a GAA website it's worth pointing out that O'Bradaigh's beloved RSF released a statement after GAA member Ronan Kerr was murder.   The same statement commended "the volunteers who risked their lives and their liberty while on this operation."

/Jim.

Quote from: Go home ref on June 07, 2013, 08:31:45 PM

Ruairí was not interned in the 40's he would of been too young he was interned in the 50's and later escaped with his comrade Daithí Ó Conaill
Sorry about that; it was a typo. I'd been re-living fond memories of my old Irish teacher when I wrote that and I guess I took my eye off the ball.
Vicky Mangan had been locked up for most of WWII and was interned again during the 50s where he first met O' Bradaigh.

Myles Na G.

Quote from: larryin89 on June 07, 2013, 12:18:45 PM
RIP brave warrior.

A principled republican to the last . To those slating his refusal to bow or be broken, there is no point in telling you why as you'll never understand.

Republican objectives is not unification alone, also.
Indeed, a man of strong principles. And he didn't care who died to support them. No tears in this house.

I'm sorry but for me Ruairi Ó Brádaigh was a Dinosaur. He was living in some dream world where he thought that he could completely defeat the british army and security forces by force. He considered meeting them half way as a betrayal. This is the bit I find most stupid about his position. There was no way the IRA could defeat the British in a military fashion and there was no way the British could defeat the IRA either. It was logical that somewhere along the way a compromise would have to be reached as you cannot continue in a un-winable war fueled by only your principles. So Ruairi sat on the outside shouting "traitors" at those that did the deal and ignored an "all ireland" vote on that agreement. What was Ruairi's end game I wonder? He didn't have one that had a remote chance of working in the real world. I've met plenty of his comrades in CIRA & RSF and most of them are brainless idiots, the counterparts of the imbreds that populate the Loyalist paramilitaries. There are a small amount of them that are obsessed with socialism who live in cloud cuckoo land. He had no end game and that was stupid, giving him credit for his refusal to consider an alternative is equally stupid. I'm sure he was a nice man and opened doors for old women but thankfully he had nothing to do with the direction Irish republicanism has taken.

In short, a total kunt.

This is the 'General Discussion' section of the website. As such, I found it nauseating that a zealot who was responsible for the murder of thousands of entirely innocent Irish people, Protestant, Catholic* and Neither, should be lionised because he was uncompromising in his (anti-democratic) attempt to impose his wishes upon them by the use of naked terror.

I exercised my perfect right to demonstrate that there is another view to the orthodoxy that Brady's hagiographers would seek to impose, an orthodoxy that appears to preach that it doesn't matter what a person does and says, so long as he hates the Brits sufficiently.

And if that "vulgarity" offends your sensitivities, then too bad...

* - See JM's post #40