All Ireland club football championships 2023/24

Started by Blowitupref, January 06, 2023, 09:18:03 PM

Quote from: onefineday on January 09, 2024, 12:20:19 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on January 08, 2024, 02:16:34 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2024, 01:55:40 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 08, 2024, 01:46:41 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2024, 01:41:21 PMConnacht has a strong club set up and between Corofin and Brigids have won 5 of the last 10 finals.

Ah here, that's the same red herring you gave off about in your (correct) first paragraph!

It is and it isn't. St Brigids beat Corofin this year so that has to stand for something. If it was Corofin playing in the final instead of St Brigids Corofin would be favourites,  no question about that.

If Corofin were in the final they wouldn't be favourites. Maybe with you they would but certainly not with the bookies.

Glen have been favorites for the All Ireland with the bookies since as far back as they won Derry in 2021 I think it was but not 100% sure definitely 2022 anyway. They haven't got over the line but they are inching closer.

That's not correct, crokes were warm favs for yesterday's game and the same in last year's all Ireland final. Glen were second favs to crokes this year alright, but last year it was a toss up between them and kilcoo for who would make it out of Ulster.

Re Derry clubs records in the competition, not that it's overly relevant nor will it impact on this year's final, but I'd suggest Derry has one of the best records of any county, mainly because of the spread of teams who've won their province, with 8 different clubs contributing to Derry's 17 Ulster titles. Derry have also had 6 different clubs play in all Ireland finals and it looks like only Dublin have had more different representatives than that?

It'll be a surprise if Glen don't win this, but Brigid's have some quality too, maybe next year will be their day!

Quote from: onefineday on January 09, 2024, 12:20:19 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on January 08, 2024, 02:16:34 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2024, 01:55:40 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 08, 2024, 01:46:41 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 08, 2024, 01:41:21 PMConnacht has a strong club set up and between Corofin and Brigids have won 5 of the last 10 finals.

Ah here, that's the same red herring you gave off about in your (correct) first paragraph!

It is and it isn't. St Brigids beat Corofin this year so that has to stand for something. If it was Corofin playing in the final instead of St Brigids Corofin would be favourites,  no question about that.

If Corofin were in the final they wouldn't be favourites. Maybe with you they would but certainly not with the bookies.

Glen have been favorites for the All Ireland with the bookies since as far back as they won Derry in 2021 I think it was but not 100% sure definitely 2022 anyway. They haven't got over the line but they are inching closer.

Brigid's have some quality too, maybe next year will be their day!

Not if 3 or 4 Clubs in Ros can help it ;)

Seize the day Bridgeens, it might never come again!

ClubScene13

Quote from: ClubScene13 on September 13, 2023, 01:09:22 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 13, 2023, 12:38:54 PM
Quote from: ClubScene13 on September 13, 2023, 11:46:41 AMErrigal Ciaran gave Glen a good rattle last year, if they make it out of the Tyrone minefield they would be hard put away. Few key injuries however.

I would also expect Burren to go well if they could overcome Kilcoo (obviously a massive initial hurdle). Is Murdock gonna play much more GAA this season?

I can't see how Glen aren't waiting in the Ulster final anyhow. Some team.

In intermediate, I think the two best teams will meet in the first round. Whoever the Tyrone champions are v St Pat's Cullyhanna
Have been thinking for a while Cullyhanna are bound to be thinking bigger than Armagh, but it wouldn't surprise you if they get complacent and get chinned in Armagh either. Like Clonoe they're not really an Intermediate team, being denied their county players for the past couple of leagues screwed them over.

I'd say both of these clubs had it in the back of their head from they got relegated. Aghyaran, Moy, Pomeroy all fully capable of winning Tyrone intermediate also. They'd all be decent and the knockout element would come into it as well. I would make the bold early prediction the winner of Tyrone / Armagh game in intermediate could end up in Croker, some strong senior level players will be facing off in that 1st round game.

A brave shout boys! Pomeroy will be sick. That match up stood out a mile away - fair play to Cullyhanna for following up on the potential this season offered - go and win it now

Quote from: ClubScene13 on January 09, 2024, 10:01:46 AM
Quote from: ClubScene13 on September 13, 2023, 01:09:22 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 13, 2023, 12:38:54 PM
Quote from: ClubScene13 on September 13, 2023, 11:46:41 AMErrigal Ciaran gave Glen a good rattle last year, if they make it out of the Tyrone minefield they would be hard put away. Few key injuries however.

I would also expect Burren to go well if they could overcome Kilcoo (obviously a massive initial hurdle). Is Murdock gonna play much more GAA this season?

I can't see how Glen aren't waiting in the Ulster final anyhow. Some team.

In intermediate, I think the two best teams will meet in the first round. Whoever the Tyrone champions are v St Pat's Cullyhanna
Have been thinking for a while Cullyhanna are bound to be thinking bigger than Armagh, but it wouldn't surprise you if they get complacent and get chinned in Armagh either. Like Clonoe they're not really an Intermediate team, being denied their county players for the past couple of leagues screwed them over.

I'd say both of these clubs had it in the back of their head from they got relegated. Aghyaran, Moy, Pomeroy all fully capable of winning Tyrone intermediate also. They'd all be decent and the knockout element would come into it as well. I would make the bold early prediction the winner of Tyrone / Armagh game in intermediate could end up in Croker, some strong senior level players will be facing off in that 1st round game.

A brave shout boys! Pomeroy will be sick. That match up stood out a mile away - fair play to Cullyhanna for following up on the potential this season offered - go and win it now

final- and junior - this sunday. Very quick turnaround

Oso

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 07, 2024, 11:14:34 PMI want Oso opinion on the game  saying he had plenty to say before the Ulster final.

You didn't even go to the game.  Can you even comment on it weasel?  Could you see anything on TV?  Glad you remembered my name.  Honestly can't recall a single post you've made on the other hand.

Oso

Disappointing day. Crokes never showed up for 40 minutes and despite that missed more than enough scores to win comfortably. Their wides were brutal.  Also what was their obsession with going for goals early on?

Despite all of that when they started to play Glen literally filled their togs and almost collapsed like a house of cards.  So much for managing games and seeing them out comfortably, that hasn't happened since they won Derry

Had it gone on another 5 minutes crokes would have won without doubt. Had it gone on another minute (and it should have as he blew right on the 4 mins despite the glen keeper wasting almost half of that with kick outs) they would have tied it up.  I'm not sure why Shane Walsh carried it so far in and narrowed the angle right at the death before shooting, I thought it was within his range. Maybe he couldn't see the posts clearly  when glancing up with the poor visibility.

Silver hill

Quote from: Oso on January 09, 2024, 08:26:56 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 07, 2024, 11:14:34 PMI want Oso opinion on the game  saying he had plenty to say before the Ulster final.

You didn't even go to the game.  Can you even comment on it weasel?  Could you see anything on TV?  Glad you remembered my name.  Honestly can't recall a single post you've made on the other hand.

Lovely bit of deflection there Oso....Bravo.

Oso

Quote from: Silver hill on January 09, 2024, 08:44:36 PM

Seems there were lots of experts sitting watching the fog on screen at home who will have to believe what Cahair O'Kane wrote in the Irish News.

Armchair fans.  Same everyday out.  At least I went....
Hoping to see them beaten. 

Check his views on the Antrim thread, they're even better 🤣🤣 the fog affected Kilmacud more and Doherty didn't really get that big a slap to the head as he went off with a sore knee 🤣🤣

Quote from: Oso on January 09, 2024, 08:50:45 PM

Seems there were lots of experts sitting watching the fog on screen at home who will have to believe what Cahair O'Kane wrote in the Irish News.

Cahair said on the twitter you could see more on the TV so maybe you should've stayed at home Oso 🤣🤣

Silver hill

Bitter, salty tears, that's a very big chip on that shoulder. Don't let it eat you up man.

Oso

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 09, 2024, 09:09:30 PM

Check his views on the Antrim thread, they're even better 🤣🤣 the fog affected Kilmacud more and Doherty didn't really get that big a slap to the head as he went off with a sore knee 🤣🤣

Ah, another fan.  Your whole village is out looking for you.  He went off because of his knee you absolute clown. Did you even watch that part?

On that we'll agree but to say he didn't get a good whack on the head is crazy. You maybe need to watch the replay on TV mucker 😆

Now tell us how the fog affected Crokes more

What did the Glen lads do on you?

I'm neutral but glad to see Glen win that game. MO'R is an absolute gentleman and their players all seem like good lads who can do the talking on and off the pitch. Glass in particular is a class act, would love to have him playing for Armagh lol.

In fairness the KC lads and management all seem decent fellas too, Walsh and Mannion are obviously top class forwards.

He's either clueless or a WUM or both. I'll not be engaging further, after he explains the fog bit of course 😀

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 09, 2024, 09:43:23 PMHe's either clueless or a WUM or both. I'll not be engaging further, after he explains the fog bit of course 😀
Them Derry boys were raised in the hills well used to the fog, the posh Dubs never seen it before ;)