Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: corn02 on July 10, 2008, 02:41:17 PM

Title: Sports books
Post by: corn02 on July 10, 2008, 02:41:17 PM
I know this props up every fwew months.

Any recomendations.

Just finshed John Daly's 'IN AND OUT OF THE ROUGH'. Great read, he has had some life.
Title: Re: Sports books
Post by: 5 Sams on July 10, 2008, 02:56:35 PM
Not very recent ones but the best I have read over the last year are:

Paul McGrath's Autobiog - Scary stuff
Keith Duggan - House of Pain
Norman Whiteside's book
Paul Kimmage's book
Sorry can't remember the titles and couldnt be arsed looking
Last Man Standing-About hurling keepers
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2008, 03:56:11 PM
A Season on the brink by Guillem Balagué
An absolute brilliant book about Liverpool's Champions League winning year,A must read for any Liverpool fan and anyone who loves soccer
Post by: dec on July 10, 2008, 04:23:29 PM
Anything by Tom Humphries.
Post by: thejuice on July 10, 2008, 04:24:09 PM
Friday Night Lights - H.G. Bissinger
You're OK, It's Just A Bruise - Rob Huizenga
Post by: thewingedlady on July 10, 2008, 04:53:28 PM
In the last year or so...

When pride still mattered - Bio of Vince Lombardi. Powerful read altogether
Season on the brink - Balague. Wouldn't rate it as high as Laoislad but worth a read
Tip-off (Book about the 1984 NBA draft, Jordan Barkley, Stockton, Olajuwon, etc) can't remember who wrote it. If you like basketball its good stuff.
Addicted - Tony Adams. Absolutely brilliant
Neil Lennon's auto (which i got signed by the man himself). Another great read.

All time favourite Is Cascarino's autobiography 'Full time', best sports book ive read by a good bit...

Best GAA book IMHO is The Road To Croker by eamonn Sweeney, Paidi's auto is pretty good also. Hurling the revolution years by Denis Walsh is also fantastic, aven though hurling wouldn't be my strong point I thought it was brilliant.
Post by: open her out on July 10, 2008, 05:35:13 PM
Back from the Brink: Paul McGrath
My World: Jonny Wilkinson
Roy Keane
Ryan Giggs

3/4's way through Bobby Charltons book which is very good
Post by: full back on July 10, 2008, 09:47:08 PM
Its Not About The Bike - Lance Arnstrong (great read-sporting & strength of character)
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 10, 2008, 09:55:24 PM
Princes Of Pigskin.
Post by: Yes I Would on July 10, 2008, 11:07:06 PM
Donkey Adams one was a great read.
Also enjoyed Robbie Fowlers autobiography
Post by: corn02 on July 10, 2008, 11:08:59 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2008, 03:56:11 PM
A Season on the brink by Guillem Balagué
An absolute brilliant book about Liverpool's Champions League winning year,A must read for any Liverpool fan and anyone who loves soccer

What he said.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2008, 12:33:13 AM
Quote from: Yes I Would on July 10, 2008, 11:07:06 PM

Also enjoyed Robbie Fowlers autobiography

Ditto
Post by: BenDover on July 11, 2008, 08:18:27 AM
Quote from: full back on July 10, 2008, 09:47:08 PM
Its Not About The Bike - Lance Arnstrong (great read-sporting & strength of character)

Def agree with you here FullBack a great read all together. Have you read anymore of his books?
Post by: The squinted eye on July 11, 2008, 09:51:05 AM
Yes Lances other book is good too, i would really like to believe he was clean because in fairness to him, he comes across as an inspirational guy.

For golfers the two books by Mark Frost are probably some of the best books I have read, I didnt think i would enjoy them because I wouldnt have known much about the protagonists but great reading, couldnt put either book down!

The greatest game ever played, Vardon,Ouimet and the birth of modern golf
The grand slam, Bobby Jones,America and the story of golf

He has a new one out called the match
Post by: Minder on August 21, 2008, 09:20:20 PM
"Provided you dont kiss me - 20 years with Brian Clough" Duncan Hamilton.

Best football book i have read in a long time, this is no fawning tribute, warts, booze and bungs.
Post by: behind the wire on August 21, 2008, 09:50:15 PM
has anyone read 'irish thunder: the hard life and times of micky ward'?
Post by: The Worker on March 31, 2012, 03:31:53 PM
Any decent sports books released recently?
Post by: laoislad on August 13, 2012, 10:49:40 PM
Just finished reading a book on Golf by a Nordie fella called John Richardson.
The book is called Dream On - One hackers challenge to break par in a year.
Great read.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on August 16, 2012, 11:14:03 AM
They call me coach ~ John Wooden
Post by: Billys Boots on August 16, 2012, 03:49:54 PM
Read 'Calcio - John Foot' on the holidays; very detailed and in-depth but hugely enjoyable and informative. 
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 16, 2012, 04:00:19 PM
Have to say I enjoyed "Hooked by Justin Mc Carthy". Good read for hurling enthusiasts, some boring bits in it alright but generally good.

Reading "The Club" at the minute, good so far
Post by: gander on August 17, 2012, 08:46:03 AM
Paul Mersons 2nd book - How not to be a professional footballer is very good, pretty funny too.  goes into detail on all the messing about he got up too.

Post by: Tony Baloney on August 17, 2012, 07:32:58 PM
Quote from: gander on August 17, 2012, 08:46:03 AM
Paul Mersons 2nd book - How not to be a professional footballer is very good, pretty funny too.  goes into detail on all the messing about he got up too.
Second book? Must have another tax bill in.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 22, 2013, 12:52:01 PM
Think this is going to be a hell of a book based on this extract...

http://nymag.com/news/features/mike-tyson-2013-10/ (http://nymag.com/news/features/mike-tyson-2013-10/)
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2013, 01:50:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 22, 2013, 12:52:01 PM

http://nymag.com/news/features/mike-tyson-2013-10/ (http://nymag.com/news/features/mike-tyson-2013-10/)

Jaysus, unreal stuff. When s it out?
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 22, 2013, 01:59:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 22, 2013, 01:50:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 22, 2013, 12:52:01 PM

Jaysus, unreal stuff. When s it out?

Looks like the end of November - 21st.

Will be on my Xmas list for sure.
Post by: mc_grens on October 22, 2013, 08:37:44 PM
Muhammad Ali-His Life and Times by Thomas Hauser
Told as an oral history in the words of witnesses with total access facilitated by Ali himself- brilliant stuff.

Playing For Keeps- Michael Jordan and The World He Made.
The best book on Jordan- Halberstams "Breaks Of The Game" is great too.

Agree with whoever said Friday Night Lights.

That new one about El Classico looks good- anyone read it?
Post by: gallsman on October 22, 2013, 09:13:24 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on October 22, 2013, 08:37:44 PM
That new one about El Classico looks good- anyone read it?

Friend has said it's excellent. Sid Lowe is one of my favourite sports writers.

Anyone with an interest in boxing should read George Kimball's "Four Kings".
Post by: 5 Sams on October 22, 2013, 10:14:38 PM
Lookin forward to Liam Hayes on Heffo. Like the look of Dunphy's book. Won't bother my hole with Fergie's as all the best bits were in the papers today!
Post by: thewingedlady on October 22, 2013, 10:17:32 PM
Just bought Friday Night Lights on Amazon - I get the feeling I should have bought and read this years ago. The reviews are unreal.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 30, 2013, 12:21:32 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 22, 2013, 10:14:38 PM
Lookin forward to Liam Hayes on Heffo. Like the look of Dunphy's book. Won't bother my hole with Fergie's as all the best bits were in the papers today!

Having said that there's a PDF of Fergie's book floating about. Might have a nosey!!!

Post by: Dinny Breen on October 30, 2013, 07:34:20 AM
Quote from: thewingedlady on October 22, 2013, 10:17:32 PM
Just bought Friday Night Lights on Amazon - I get the feeling I should have bought and read this years ago. The reviews are unreal.

Very good book.

Never a fan of tennis but read Agassi's autobiography Open, top read as well. You gain some respect for tennis players in particular the physical punishment they put themselves through.
Post by: ONeill on October 30, 2013, 07:41:45 AM
Read Fergie's book and it reminded me of the Fr Ted Golden Cleric speech. He mentions people only to have a go at them. And now.....liars!
Post by: muppet on August 02, 2014, 01:06:09 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 30, 2013, 07:34:20 AM
Quote from: thewingedlady on October 22, 2013, 10:17:32 PM

Very good book.

Never a fan of tennis but read Agassi's autobiography Open, top read as well. You gain some respect for tennis players in particular the physical punishment they put themselves through.

Just read it after putting on the Kindle months ago.

Great book.
Post by: JimStynes on August 02, 2014, 09:48:47 AM
Any good golf books?
Post by: Mickey Linden on August 03, 2014, 07:50:35 PM
Has john daly got an autobiography? It's bound to be worth a read
Post by: 5 Sams on August 03, 2014, 07:58:07 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on August 03, 2014, 07:50:35 PM
Has john daly got an autobiography? It's bound to be worth a read
Yep. It's called "All my exes wear Rolexes." Brilliant read. Man's a header.
Post by: muppet on November 03, 2014, 01:13:01 PM
What is the current fad about ghost-writers whinging about their (usually voluntary) extracurricular activity?

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/the-game-of-sports-ghostwriting-1.1983951 (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/the-game-of-sports-ghostwriting-1.1983951)

There seems to be a lot of this these days.

Hunter Davies published the authorised biography of the Beatles in 1968 and the football classic, The Glory Game. He's also ghosted a few football books, including Gazza. When word broke in March 2006 that 20-year-old Wayne Rooney was getting £5 million to write five volumes of his autobiography he scoffed at the news.

"I thought," he says, "how stupid – a lad of that age? At 20, nobody was ghosting Shakespeare's autobiography. Nobody was doing Mozart's at 15. So I wrote this piss-taking piece for the New Statesman, and on the Monday I got a call from HarperCollins to say, 'Would you be interested in ghosting Wayne's autobiography?' I said, 'Brilliant. What a great idea. Long overdue – should have been done years before.'"
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 03, 2014, 01:14:16 PM
When's BOD's book out?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 03, 2014, 01:17:47 PM
Reading 'Bounce' at the minute and really enjoying it.
Interesting stuff
Post by: thewingedlady on November 03, 2014, 02:12:25 PM
Bounce started brilliantly - some cool experiments with interesting findings - however I thought it went on a bit. Took three hundred pages to say what could have been said in a hundred maybe.

Nothing to see it all in Keane's book. Doesn't break the mould of your typical banal football autobiography at all and he's left a lot out, most notably his relationship with Delaney and the FAI before he decided to go back.

Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh is fantastic, best sports book I've read in a while. In the same category Tyler Hamilton's The Secret Race is very good.

I can't remember the last time I read a truly brilliant GAA Book - The Club and Donal Og's book were good but nothing spectacular. To my mind you have to go back to 2003 and Road to Croker by Eamonn Sweeney for a really enjoyable GAA read.

Post by: seafoid on November 03, 2014, 02:30:53 PM
Quote from: thewingedlady on November 03, 2014, 02:12:25 PM
Bounce started brilliantly - some cool experiments with interesting findings - however I thought it went on a bit. Took three hundred pages to say what could have been said in a hundred maybe.

Nothing to see it all in Keane's book. Doesn't break the mould of your typical banal football autobiography at all and he's left a lot out, most notably his relationship with Delaney and the FAI before he decided to go back.

Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh is fantastic, best sports book I've read in a while. In the same category Tyler Hamilton's The Secret Race is very good.

I can't remember the last time I read a truly brilliant GAA Book - The Club and Donal Og's book were good but nothing spectacular. To my mind you have to go back to 2003 and Road to Croker by Eamonn Sweeney for a really enjoyable GAA read.
I thought Michael Duignan's book was very good , not just from the GAA aspect.

The Godfather of Modern Hurling – the Fr Tommy Maher story by Enda McEvoy (Ballpoint Press, €14.99) is another one worth reading if you are into hurling
Post by: 5 Sams on November 03, 2014, 02:34:14 PM
Humphries stuff was excellent...pity we wont hear from him anytime soon.
Post by: mrdeeds on November 03, 2014, 02:44:39 PM
Anyone read Alan McLoughlin's book? Hearing good reports and big shout for sports book of year.
Post by: muppet on November 03, 2014, 03:08:29 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 03, 2014, 02:34:14 PM
Humphries stuff was excellent...pity we wont hear from him anytime soon.

Agree, loved his writing. Mad stuff that.
Post by: thewingedlady on December 29, 2014, 03:26:41 PM
Just finished Night Games by Anna Krien - got the William Hill Sports Book of the Year so I thought I'd give it a go. Very engaging read and I trashed it out in three sittings.

It shines a terrible light on sports and male sportsmen in Australia. Some of the stuff that went/goes on is beyond the pale. Even aside from the 'Night Games' the attitudes towards women is truly shocking.

Our old friend Ricky Nixon features prominently in one chapter - doesn't cover himself in any glory at all.