GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on October 14, 2008, 12:46:42 AM

Title: International Match
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on October 14, 2008, 12:46:42 AM
I see the squads have been named for the Shinty-Hurling internationals. A few more prominent players in the Ireland squad this year, and a few less in the Scotland one. Anybody here planning to go along? Senior match is going to be live on BBC 2 Scotland this year.

The GAA have announced the squads which have been selected for the Under 21 and Senior Hurling/Shinty Internationals against Scotland on Saturday next, October 18th. The Senior International takes place in Nowlan Park, Kilkenny at 3 pm while the Under 21 will be held in Durrow, Co. Laois at 12 noon.

The full Senior panel is:
1. Graham Clarke (Down)
2. Geoffrey Bermingham (Wicklow)
3. Paul Branniff (Down)
4. Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny)
5. Michael Burke (Meath)
6. Dermot Clarke (Sligo)
7. Edward Coady (Carlow)
8. Declan Coulter (Armagh)
9. Michael Gilmartin (Sligo)
10. James Glancy (Leitrim)
11. Shane Kavanagh (Carlow) (Capt)
12. Stephen Kelly (Wicklow)
13. Derek Lyng (Kilkenny)
14. Brendan McGourty (Down)
15. Brendan Murtagh (Westmeath)
16. Seán Óg Ó hAilpín (Cork)
17. Des Shaw (Carlow)
18. John Shaw (Westmeath)
19. Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)

The Under 21 panel named by manager, Paudie Butler is primarily made up of players from counties which play in the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard Cup. The side is captained by John Rogers (Carlow) and also includes Sean Bourke from the host club, The Harps, as well as Keith Raymond (Sligo), man of the match in the Nicky Rackard Cup final and Niall Kilcoyne, son of Westmeath's only All-Star, David.

The Under 21 Panel is:
1. Sean Ennis (Down)
2. Sean Bourke (Laois)
3. David Donoghue (Meath)
4. John Doran (Carlow)
5. Peter Durnin (Meath)
6. Ronan Keddy (Wicklow)
7. Niall Kilcoyne (Westmeath)
8. Stephen Lambe (Monaghan)
9. Eoin Madigan (Mayo)
10. Eoin Mason (Wicklow)
11. Barry McFall (Antrim)
12. Andrew Neligan (Cavan)
13. John O'Malley (Kildare)
14. Keith Raymond (Sligo)
15. John Rogers (Carlow) (Capt)
16. Anthony Sheridan (Cavan)
17. Darren Whelan (Carlow)
18. Conor Woods (Down)

The Under 21 game takes place in Durrow, Co. Laois at 12 noon on Saturday next, October 18th. It is hosted by The Harps GAA Club in conjunction with the Durrow Tri-Centenary celebrations.

Scotland

SENIOR

Scott McNeil - Fort William
Stuart Mackintosh - Glenurquhart           
Alan Mackenzie - Lochcarron             
John Barr - Glenurquhart
Scott Campbell - Newtonmore           
Iain Mcdonald - Bute                     
Neil Robertson - Fort William
Shaun Nicolson - Lochaber               
Paul MacRae - Kinlochshiel             
Gary Innes - Fort William (Vice Captain)
Finlay MacRae - Kinlochshiel
Kenny Ross - Lochcarron (Captain)
Ruaridh Graham - Inveraray
Niall Macphee - Fort William           
John Macdonald - Fort William
John Stewart - Kilmallie
Hector Whitelaw - Bute
Andrew Corrigan - Glenurquhart           
Eddie Tembo - Glenurquhart       

UNDER 21

Donald Irvine - Kyles Athletic
Grant Irvine - Kyles Athletic
Roddie MacDonald - Kyles Athletic
Robbie MacLeod - Kyles Athletic
Gavin Stobbart - Oban Camanachd
Daniel Cameron - Oban Camanachd             
Andrew MacCuish - Oban Camanachd
Peter Carmichael - Kilmallie
Michael Rodger - Kilmallie
Stephen Morrison - Skye Camanachd
Ali MacLennan - Skye Camanachd
Mark Lawrie - Fort William
Drew Ferguson - Fort William
Chris Crawford - Inveraray
Lewis MacLennan - Glenurquart
Crisdean MacRae - Kinlochshiel
Mark Sproule - Lochcarron
Grant MacPherson - Glenorchy
Scott Henderson - Ballachullish

Title: Re: International Match
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 14, 2008, 12:50:37 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on October 14, 2008, 12:46:42 AM
I see the squads have been named for the Shinty-Hurling internationals. A few more prominent players in the Ireland squad this year, and a few less in the Scotland one. Anybody here planning to go along? Senior match is going to be live on BBC 2 Scotland this year.

The GAA have announced the squads which have been selected for the Under 21 and Senior Hurling/Shinty Internationals against Scotland on Saturday next, October 18th. The Senior International takes place in Nowlan Park, Kilkenny at 3 pm while the Under 21 will be held in Durrow, Co. Laois at 12 noon.

Go wan Durrow!
Post by: Lecale2 on October 14, 2008, 08:25:12 AM
I can't see Graham Clarke playing with the Ulster final the next day. Paul Braniff at full back?? Who picks this team?
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on October 14, 2008, 09:10:58 AM
I think it is live on TG4 aswell,
Post by: johnneycool on October 14, 2008, 11:21:45 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 14, 2008, 08:25:12 AM
I can't see Graham Clarke playing with the Ulster final the next day. Paul Braniff at full back?? Who picks this team?

Eddie Brennan in at corner back as well with Sean O'g warming the bench, must be a bit of craic!!
Post by: Lecale2 on October 18, 2008, 04:45:33 PM
Scotland won by a point. 1-10 to 1-09.
Post by: Zulu on October 18, 2008, 08:57:48 PM
Jesus but that's a brutal 'sport' and an utterly pointless exercise IMO.
Post by: Rossfan on October 19, 2008, 08:41:30 PM
Quote from: Zulu on October 18, 2008, 08:57:48 PM
.... an utterly pointless exercise IMO.

Sure you could say the same about the All Ireland Hurling championship
Post by: youngfella on October 23, 2008, 11:51:01 AM
I have played in one of hurling-shinty games. They are brutal, We ended up with about 20 odd broken hurling sticks. As pose to the football were they end up with that many broken bones.

Both the hurling and the football internationals are stupid, dangerous and pointless.
Post by: bredaghexile on November 17, 2008, 12:39:51 PM
lads i play shinty for the university i attend in scotland and it aint a brutal sport in fact u get more injuries playing hurling easily. its cos in shinty the marking is no-where near as tight as it is in hurling and the shinty lads dont get "stuck in" with each other the same way hurlers do when there is a breaking ball.
the reason the hurlers get so many broken sticks against the shinty lads is cos a shinty stick is more solid than a hurl (the scottish uni hurlers played the scottish shinty team as a warm match and yes we did a few sticks)
the only reason that its called brutal is cos when the hurlers get stuck they arent used to a shinty stick's swing which frankly takes everything with it, the shinty lads are just playing the way they usually play as are the hurlers but they both play completely different styles.
Post by: youngfella on November 19, 2008, 02:09:23 PM
Out of interest what uni are you with?
Post by: bredaghexile on November 19, 2008, 07:03:25 PM
youngfella im at dundee uni atm and i play for the gaa club at the uni as well as the shinty
Post by: youngfella on November 19, 2008, 07:18:10 PM
I would have played against you other week then. Is there many teams in the uni shinty?
Post by: bredaghexile on November 19, 2008, 08:18:21 PM
wat uni are u at youngfella?
i think there are 8 uni teams playing in the league for the shinty
Post by: youngfella on November 19, 2008, 10:05:53 PM
I was playing for LJMU, robbed in the final by a ref with a napier fetish! I dont thinks there's much more we could of done.

DO you understand the point in these shinty/hurling games? Its like comparing apples and oranges. They share some of the same traits but there different and its as comparing football and rugby, sure both use a ball!!

Im strongly against the idea of it
Post by: bredaghexile on November 19, 2008, 10:54:25 PM
u have a pretty good team at LJMU and yea the ref wasnt that good in the final (think it was the same one that reffed our game. btw wat position were u playing)
i played for the ulster u-16 team that went over to scotland to play our shinty counter-parts in 2006 and i can see were ur coming from cos they are very diiferent however i like the idea of not being able to use ur hands to an extend as it quickens the stick work of the hurlers which when they bring back to hurling matches will benefit they greatly (thats wat i found when i played) it is one hell of a concession IMO but in reality if the hurlers were allowed to play normal hurling it wouldnt be a contest. i think the point of it is to create links with our celtic neighbours unlike the gaelic/AFL series which IMO is jst an excuse for the top cats of the GAA to go to dubai for a couple of weeks for "meetings" then on to Australia to be wined and dined
the shinty lads i spoke to when we played them as a warm up game liked the idea cos it gave them a different experience playing shinty as they found it difficult to deal with us running at them with the ball on ours sticks at the start without fouling us.
i suppose i like the idea of lads getting a chance to play for their country when in all other circumstances they wouldnt get a chance to (at least we dont have to worry about shinty nickking all our top players like the footballers do about the AFL)
however i would prefer that the GAA put more of an effort in promoting the Railway Cup again instead of trying to make more and more connections with other organisations.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 02, 2019, 02:01:03 PM
This year's game about to start live on TG4 YouTube. Ireland won the U 21 game earlier on.
Post by: burdizzo on November 02, 2019, 11:20:01 PM
Jesus, Ireland didn't do too good in that!
Post by: marty34 on November 02, 2019, 11:36:49 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on November 02, 2019, 11:20:01 PM

Poor enough.  Scots came to win.  Ireland were brutal.

How do you get 'picked' to play?
Post by: shantygael on November 03, 2019, 11:19:54 AM
Quote from: marty34 on November 02, 2019, 11:36:49 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on November 02, 2019, 11:20:01 PM

Poor enough.  Scots came to win.  Ireland were brutal.

How do you get 'picked' to play?
You have to  accumulate three red cards in one season of which one must include a striking offence. 😁
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 03, 2019, 10:28:39 PM
It doesn't ever tend to be a great spectacle but it can be exciting if it's close. With the shite weather and gulf between the sides yesterday was particularly poor, although Scotland did score a couple of decent goals. Maybe a thumping like that will encourage Ireland to pick a stronger team, been a few years since they won now.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 03, 2019, 11:01:51 PM
Could it be a sign that the standard of Shinty is improving?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on November 04, 2019, 01:14:26 AM
The U21s did a fine job against the Scots, 7-11 v 4-2.
Post by: johnnycool on November 04, 2019, 10:01:27 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 03, 2019, 10:28:39 PM
It doesn't ever tend to be a great spectacle but it can be exciting if it's close. With the shite weather and gulf between the sides yesterday was particularly poor, although Scotland did score a couple of decent goals. Maybe a thumping like that will encourage Ireland to pick a stronger team, been a few years since they won now.

Take it for what it is.

A bit of a run out for mostly tier 2 and tier 3 lads to play for Ireland.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 05, 2019, 11:15:50 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 03, 2019, 11:01:51 PM
Could it be a sign that the standard of Shinty is improving?

Personally I think the standard of shinty has been dropping for the past decade. The Newtonmore side who recently won the Camanachd Cup for the 4th year in a row aren't in the same class as the great Kingussie side of the 90's, or even the Fort William side of the noughties. But regardless, I don't think you could ever really gauge the health of shinty from the international anyway. Ultimately it's a weird mix of the sports.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 05, 2019, 11:21:36 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 04, 2019, 10:01:27 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 03, 2019, 10:28:39 PM

Take it for what it is.

A bit of a run out for mostly tier 2 and tier 3 lads to play for Ireland.

Perhaps. I think it's a worthy enough event to celebrate an ancient common root. But there are plenty of people who question the international. If Ireland persist with teams without any top players, and continue to lose every year, then it gets harder to argue in favour of keeping it going.
Post by: Antrim Coaster on November 06, 2019, 03:11:01 PM
The Scots seem to take the hybrid international a lot more seriously than the Irish.

They had their panel announced 6-8 weeks ago which gave them more time together.

The hurling squad was announced the Wednesday before the match and I wouldn't think they had much time together to prepare.

The hurlers are more greatly handicapped in that they cant take the ball in the hand and the 2 points awarded for a sideline or a free cut off the ground makes it much more easier for the Scots to score, when compared to the art of taking a sideline cut using a hurl which is a difficult enough task to accomplish unless you're Joe Canning.

The fact that the lack of Tier 1 players and preparation time on the Irish side would indicate that the Irish really don't take it too seriously.

Its not a bad game to watch when in full flow and Ireland field a strong team. I'd say if there was a full strength Ireland team with some preparation they'd knock the Scots for 6.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on November 09, 2019, 11:16:18 AM
Hiding the game away somewhere doesn't help

When you see all the money wasted on that hurling classic joke in the USA
Post by: hurlinchief on December 23, 2019, 12:41:26 PM
Quote from: Antrim Coaster on November 06, 2019, 03:11:01 PM
The Scots seem to take the hybrid international a lot more seriously than the Irish.

They had their panel announced 6-8 weeks ago which gave them more time together.

The hurling squad was announced the Wednesday before the match and I wouldn't think they had much time together to prepare.

The hurlers are more greatly handicapped in that they cant take the ball in the hand and the 2 points awarded for a sideline or a free cut off the ground makes it much more easier for the Scots to score, when compared to the art of taking a sideline cut using a hurl which is a difficult enough task to accomplish unless you're Joe Canning.

The fact that the lack of Tier 1 players and preparation time on the Irish side would indicate that the Irish really don't take it too seriously.

Its not a bad game to watch when in full flow and Ireland field a strong team. I'd say if there was a full strength Ireland team with some preparation they'd knock the Scots for 6.

agree with all this. To play shinty for Scotland is more prestigious it seems. I suppose they have no intercounty structure so the country makes up for that for them. Also the club competetion in Ireland is still in full flow at this time. Hopefully those over the Irish and Irish palyers will give the competion more respect. Iomain Colm Cille competion is great. Gaelatcht Shinty teams vs Gaeltacht (or irish speaking) Hurling teams.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on October 20, 2023, 10:52:28 AM
International game returns tomorrow at Pairc Esler and live on TG4. GAA seem to be taking it more seriously with several articles on the website the last few days and a few top tier players selected. There were a few years there pre Covid where it got very little prominence at all. Hopefully it will be a good contest.
Post by: johnnycool on October 20, 2023, 11:59:17 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on October 20, 2023, 10:52:28 AMInternational game returns tomorrow at Pairc Esler and live on TG4. GAA seem to be taking it more seriously with several articles on the website the last few days and a few top tier players selected. There were a few years there pre Covid where it got very little prominence at all. Hopefully it will be a good contest.

As long as they don't cut the crap out of the pitch..
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 20, 2023, 01:31:53 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on October 20, 2023, 10:52:28 AMInternational game returns tomorrow at Pairc Esler and live on TG4. GAA seem to be taking it more seriously with several articles on the website the last few days and a few top tier players selected. There were a few years there pre Covid where it got very little prominence at all. Hopefully it will be a good contest.

Still have a dent in my shin from playing it lol!

Played a few tournaments back in the day, I'd say its closer to a GAA sport than the Aussie stuff
Post by: johnnycool on October 20, 2023, 02:55:45 PM
Kids arrived home from School with free tickets, anyone want one or two or three?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 21, 2023, 05:43:53 PM
Seems like Ireland won handy enough in the end. I wonder is it ever worth the Irish players reverting to the older style of longer hurls with a thinner bas like hurlers had before the '00s?
Post by: burdizzo on October 22, 2023, 07:42:55 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on October 21, 2023, 05:43:53 PMSeems like Ireland won handy enough in the end. I wonder is it ever worth the Irish players reverting to the older style of longer hurls with a thinner bas like hurlers had before the '00s?

Reading the report, it was an awful lot of frees, and surely the hurls would be better adapted for that?

Played a bit of shinty in Scotland in the '90s, and got good crack out of it, and got to tour parts of the highlands and islands I'd never have otherwise gone to. And a lot of beer-ing, too. As I recall, about half our side were Irish lads, most of whom would've had some hurling experience. Played a match against UCD - or was it Trinity? - where we swapped sticks at half time. Maybe that'd be a 'fun' thing to do in the international matches?!