Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 16, 2007, 09:19:03 PM

Poll
Question: I love Christmas - all aspects of it do you?
Option 1: Yes, Christmas is class
Option 2: No, Bah humbug
Title: Christmas - is it class or not?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 16, 2007, 09:19:03 PM
I love Christmas, following on from Ziggys thread about joyous people, I was just thinking about what people LIKED about Christmas Time?

I love the fact that people are generally in a more positive and happier frame of mind, smile more, say thank you more, are more generous to the less well off, love the feeling of hope and optimism that seems to be more prevelent at this time of year.
Love the Christmas songs, the annual "gatherings" of friends who haven't seen each other for a year, the family getting together, the giving of gifts and the feeding!
The beer and the decorations aren't bad either!  :D

Nollaig Shona.  ;D
Title: Re: Christmas - is it class or not?
Post by: SammyG on December 16, 2007, 09:22:04 PM
Love Christmas and everything about it. Best time of the year by a long way.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 16, 2007, 09:23:58 PM
I find it very depressing, particularly New Years eve.
Post by: SammyG on December 16, 2007, 09:29:54 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 16, 2007, 09:23:38 PM
Better than the Twelfth Sammy ?  ;)
Post by: theskull1 on December 16, 2007, 09:39:31 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 16, 2007, 09:33:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 16, 2007, 09:23:58 PM

For once I will agree with Pints, I find it a depressing time of year, I think Christams can put a lot of unneccessary stress on a lot of people, in fact I`ll be glad when its all over and things get back to normal. The real meaning of Christmas seems to have been lost a long time ago.

Another Bah Humbug. It's more the weather than anything else for me. If the landscape was covered in snow and the place didn't look like the grey dirty hole that it is, then I'm sure I'd perk up. Puts everyone in bad form I think at this time of year no? Oh yeah almost forgot about the blind consumerism. Don't get me started on that one.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 16, 2007, 09:45:10 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 16, 2007, 09:19:03 PM
I love Christmas, following on from Ziggys thread about joyous people, I was just thinking about what people LIKED about Christmas Time?

I love the fact that people are generally in a more positive and happier frame of mind, smile more, say thank you more, are more generous to the less well off, love the feeling of hope and optimism that seems to be more prevelent at this time of year.

Love the Christmas songs, the annual "gatherings" of friends who haven't seen each other for a year, the family getting together, the giving of gifts and the feeding!
The beer and the decorations aren't bad either!  :D

Nollaig Shona.  ;D

I generally find people more ignorant this time of year,especially in shopping centres and people in cars around the roads and car parks of the shopping centre
Only thing i like about christmas is going down to my parents in Laois for a few days other than that i could take or leave all the crazy mad shite that goes on
Post by: cville on December 16, 2007, 10:01:18 PM
Nah... take it or leave it. All that false niceness etc. There are sad Bastards in my work for whom the party season is the highlight of their life! I would love to shut the door on Christmas Eve.. Fridge full of beer full of food and good grub... a big fire ... good tv ... and loads of fecking snow and nobody disturbing me until January..... Bit of peace and quiet .. ps is it me or are the 'annual lgatherings the same old shite - same stories and people - seems to me that the interval is getting shorter between them..
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 16, 2007, 10:08:43 PM
Jezuz lads, was hoping to get your nice thoughts and reasons why Christmas is class (obviously my opinion and not yours), is there anyone out there who loves this time of year, excuse for meeting up with family, friends having an "annual Gathering" etc...

Also TRealLL I find most people generally nicer at this time of year! Would hate to think that the Nordies were nicer then you (very helpful) Laois people!  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 16, 2007, 10:17:07 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 16, 2007, 10:08:43 PM
Jezuz lads, was hoping to get your nice thoughts and reasons why Christmas is class (obviously my opinion and not yours), is there anyone out there who loves this time of year, excuse for meeting up with family, friends having an "annual Gathering" etc...

Also TRealLL I find most people generally nicer at this time of year! Would hate to think that the Nordies were nicer then you (very helpful) Laois people!  ;)

I live in Dublin so maybe thats whats wrong
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 16, 2007, 10:20:03 PM
QuoteJezuz lads, was hoping to get your nice thoughts and reasons why Christmas is class (obviously my opinion and not yours), is there anyone out there who loves this time of year, excuse for meeting up with family, friends having an "annual Gathering" etc...

Meeting up with family?
Aye, I spend the entire time trying to stop myself from strangling the sister's boyfriend.
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2007, 10:27:08 PM

For once I will agree with Pints, I find it a depressing time of year, I think Christams can put a lot of unneccessary stress on a lot of people, in fact I`ll be glad when its all over and things get back to normal. The real meaning of Christmas seems to have been lost a long time ago.

I disagree, while christmas has been commercialised, I think the real meaning of christmas is family, and that is something that I try and hold dear to every year.
I do however feel for people for whom the holidays (for some reason or another) can be rough.
Post by: theskull1 on December 16, 2007, 10:28:38 PM

In fairness GDA...I think its an age thing...if you're in your twenties, its good enough for most people. But over time once you see the same old shite year after year, it wears you down. In the immortal words of Coolio..."I'll see you when you get there" ...until then enjoy it  :)
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2007, 10:32:20 PM
Quote from: cville on December 16, 2007, 10:01:18 PM
Nah... take it or leave it. All that false niceness etc. There are sad Bastards in my work for whom the party season is the highlight of their life! I would love to shut the door on Christmas Eve.. Fridge full of beer full of food and good grub... a big fire ... good tv ... and loads of fecking snow and nobody disturbing me until January..... Bit of peace and quiet .. ps is it me or are the 'annual lgatherings the same old shite - same stories and people - seems to me that the interval is getting shorter between them..

There are other sad bastards (one worked with my mother) for whom the wimbledon fortnight are their annual holidays, and they never leave the house!
Post by: theskull1 on December 16, 2007, 10:35:30 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 16, 2007, 10:27:08 PM

I disagree, while christmas has been commercialised, I think the real meaning of christmas is family, and that is something that I try and hold dear to every year.
I do however feel for people for whom the holidays (for some reason or another) can be rough.

Personally speaking ...ALMOST EVERYBODY around me is consumed by consumerism, family included........ I can't stand the facad. Conversations about mobile phones and dresses and the kids new PS3 console. Numbs my mind to the point that I just want to close the door and not deal with the falseness of it all.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 16, 2007, 10:36:24 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on December 16, 2007, 10:28:38 PM

In fairness GDA...I think its an age thing...if you're in your twenties, its good enough for most people. But over time once you see the same old shite year after year, it wears you down. In the immortal words of Coolio..."I'll see you when you get there" ...until then enjoy it  :)

Well I'm in my early thirties, and I still love it, but as was said earlier by Puckoon I do understand that some people have had bad times at this time of year (bereavements etc...) and that can make Christmas a hard time to go through, my thoughts go out to any of you who are remembering loved ones at this time of year (as am I).
Post by: gerry on December 16, 2007, 11:26:51 PM
not a great fan of Christmas, to many remembers
Post by: Gold on December 17, 2007, 12:43:21 AM
well i love christmas

cant wait to get home, eat good food, catch up with family and old friends coming home 4 the festive period!

its a great time of year, only beaten by roaring hot summer days or evenins in Clones, Casement, Croker
or the first time u smell cut grass in the spring..
Post by: J70 on December 17, 2007, 12:53:21 AM
Can't wait for Christmas. I'm taking a week off work and flying off to be with the family, including some very young nephews and nieces. There'll be a row or two undoubtedly, but its a great chance to relax and I love the whole Christmas atmosphere, with the decorations and the songs and the presents. Its my last week of pigging out as well before I once more embark on my annual attempt to lose a stone or two in the New Year!
Post by: Rav67 on December 17, 2007, 01:53:18 AM
Absolutely love Christmas, everybodys in good spirits, no work or nothing to worry about (for me anyway) and loads of good rips.  Favourite time of the year by a long way.
Post by: his holiness nb on December 17, 2007, 09:42:53 AM
The best time of year by a county mile.

I dont get people saying its lost its meaning and its too commercial.
While thats true in some aspects you dont have to let it get to you.

Celebrate YOUR christmas how YOU want to.

And a merry one to all!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on December 17, 2007, 09:44:29 AM
I just switch off to it. It's a few days off work.

Best time of year - last weekend in May in Clones...well, it was in the early 00s
Post by: Puckoon on December 17, 2007, 09:46:19 AM
And to you too HNN! Will you and the Mrs be on your own having the traditional roast....?

hard willies indeed :o
[/sub]
Post by: his holiness nb on December 17, 2007, 09:55:15 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 17, 2007, 09:46:19 AM
And to you too HNN! Will you and the Mrs be on your own having the traditional roast....?

hard willies indeed :o
[/sub]

I, just dont quite know how to answer that one  :o
:D :D
Post by: take_yer_points on December 17, 2007, 10:18:12 AM
I'm one of the Christmas is Class brigade!!

The sister coming home from England with the kids, the boys all coming home from England and meeting up in the town for a few nights out, the continental market in Belfast (has anyone had that German beer yet??  :o) - its all great!!

Roll on Friday afternoon til I get work finished off!!
Post by: Snowed Under on December 17, 2007, 10:58:05 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on December 17, 2007, 09:42:53 AM
The best time of year by a county mile.

I dont get people saying its lost its meaning and its too commercial.
While thats true in some aspects you dont have to let it get to you.

Celebrate YOUR christmas how YOU want to.

And a merry one to all!

100% agree!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on December 17, 2007, 11:02:00 AM
Christmas market in Belfast closes tomorrow!
Post by: downredblack on December 17, 2007, 11:32:42 AM
Christmas is class , New years eve is a different story .
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on December 17, 2007, 01:18:57 PM
Things I hate about Christmas.....

Linfield v Glentoran (so what?)
Mass (I'm joining the CoI this year)
Turkey
Sweaters
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!! (Although my mate has a blue movie for me this year in which a crowd of incontinent people have an orgy - it's called 'Shitty Shitty Gang Bang' ..)
Having to shag my wife's sister (again) (when I drop over the kids' toys on Christmas Eve)
Places Bring Shut
It's a Wonderful Life (Aye! it is surely)
Turkey Curry
Bailey's Cream
Having to shag my wife's sister (again) (when I pick her up to bring over to ours on New Year's Eve)

Post by: cville on December 17, 2007, 03:50:35 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on December 17, 2007, 01:18:57 PM

Turkey
Sweaters
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!! (Although my mate has a blue movie for me this year in which a crowd of incontinent people have an orgy - it's called 'Shitty Shitty Gang Bang' ..)
Having to shag my wife's sister (again) (when I drop over the kids' toys on Christmas Eve)
Places Bring Shut
Turkey Curry
Bailey's Cream
Having to shag my wife's sister (again) (when I pick her up to bring over to ours on New Year's Eve)

WELL FOOK ME  ???
Post by: The Iceman on December 17, 2007, 04:44:57 PM
Christmas is a great time of year, and I think everyone would agree if they stopped complaining about how the spirit of Christmas is lost and try to re-capture it one person at a time.

If you don't like something, THEN DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!

Theres too much consumerism - don't add to it.  Do something meaningful and worthwhile this year!

There's no religious significance anymore - make it happen in your own home!

Its too expensive - then think of something to make yourself, or do something special as gifts for people.

Everyone sits around waiting on someone else to get things done and everyone misses out.

Happy Christmas to you all
Post by: Square Ball on December 17, 2007, 05:38:29 PM

Merry Christmas

Its a most wonderful time of the year
Post by: stew on December 17, 2007, 07:44:49 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on December 17, 2007, 01:18:57 PM

Turkey
Sweaters
Places Bring Shut

Turkey Curry
Bailey's Cream

What sort of family are you are part of at all hurler????? My sister in law is a stunner but no matter how good looking she was she would be one of the last wemen on earth i would mess with. Why would you 'have' to shag her?
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on December 17, 2007, 08:13:21 PM
Stew - your not a man until you have had your wife, your Sister in Law and their Ma in the same bed at the same time (I was that soldier!) Ref - the Sister in Law - She should be thankful that I'm there to tend to her needs. The fact is that I have been "plugging that gap" for a while now since her boy jumped ship - don't want her seizing up like the Tin Man in the Wizard of Oz!! It's not my fault that 'it's eating the leg off her' if you ask me the fecking thing needs a muzzle on it. Anyhow, I am only providing a service - just like St Vincent de Paul - at Christmas!  :P
Post by: ONeill on December 17, 2007, 09:01:59 PM
Love nothing better than roasting my nuts over an open fire before tackling the stuffing.
Post by: turkey+ham on December 17, 2007, 09:11:31 PM
Mmmmmmm turkey, ham, stuffing and all the trimmings
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 19, 2007, 08:53:34 PM
Love the Christmas dinner, but love going to Mass on Christmas Eve/Morning, you meet people you haven't seen in ages (ones home from abroad etc..). Class.
Post by: Puckoon on December 19, 2007, 08:56:03 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 19, 2007, 08:53:34 PM
Love the Christmas dinner, but love going to Mass on Christmas Eve/Morning, you meet people you haven't seen in ages (ones home from abroad etc..). Class.

the parish priest? ;)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 19, 2007, 09:05:59 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 19, 2007, 08:56:03 PM

the parish priest? ;)

Ah Puckoon, I just got married last year (1st Anniversary just past), the good lady Mrs GDA has restored my attendance at Mass.
Have always been faithful, but attendance at Mass fell off during and after Uni!
Post by: Puckoon on December 19, 2007, 09:08:38 PM
Congratulations, its my two year anniversary on friday. I fell away myself but Mrs Puck has brought me back to the fold! That and my mum saying the novena everytime I fly home :D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 19, 2007, 09:20:27 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 19, 2007, 09:08:38 PM
Congratulations, its my two year anniversary on friday. I fell away myself but Mrs Puck has brought me back to the fold! That and my mum saying the novena everytime I fly home :D

Gotta give credit to the female of the species for keeping us right.  ;)
Post by: Fishbat on December 20, 2007, 03:57:05 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 19, 2007, 09:20:27 PM

Does mass keep ye right?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 20, 2007, 11:52:31 AM
Quote from: Fishbat on December 20, 2007, 03:57:05 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 19, 2007, 09:20:27 PM

Does mass keep ye right?

Note the smiley at the end of the sentence!
Post by: SeanSouth on December 20, 2007, 12:02:05 PM

That isnt always a good thing, where i come from when people have been away, Uni/working abroad, they had a habit of coming home at Xmas with a pierced nose and an English/American accent.............
Post by: Puckoon on December 20, 2007, 03:56:30 PM
According to my brother, I have one of these.
Quote from: SeanSouth on December 20, 2007, 12:02:05 PM

That isnt always a good thing, where i come from when people have been away, Uni/working abroad, they had a habit of coming home at Xmas with a pierced nose and an English/American accent.............

You have one yet gabriel, eh?
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 20, 2007, 06:25:19 PM
How do you get through the family Christmas thing without using an empty wine bottle to bash someone's head in?
Post by: stew on December 20, 2007, 06:30:31 PM

People like that  sicken my shite and I pull them on it, I hate that aul false uppity nonsense.
Post by: Puckoon on December 20, 2007, 06:45:01 PM
Stew, you probably have more than a few americanisms in your own vocabulary however militant you would try to be to exclude them, and while your accent may not be noticeable to you, Id be surprised if your friends/family at home didnt notice a change in how you speak (however slight it may be) due to your time in the US.

Quote from: stew on December 20, 2007, 06:30:31 PM

People like that  sicken my shite and I pull them on it, I hate that aul false uppity nonsense.

I have relatives with the same attitude and their attitude sickens my shite as the facts of the case are this:
If I had the time or effort to put into having a false uppity nonsense accent, Id like to think Id use it a little differently.  Any changes (and lets be honest here, we all still retain our irish accents the only noticeable things are a word here or there in any sentence) in my pronounciation and intonation would be completely accidental or involuntary. If someone was to pull me on it Id firstly inform them they had little to be worrying about, then wish them a nice day! Too many people seem to get a bee in their bonnet about this rather innocuous and accidental artifact of long term emmigration. Guess it goes back to our irish attitude on keeping people in their place - lord help anyone who appears to have steped outside the box. Every now and then I notice my wife absentmindedly saying something with a slight omagh twang to it. It happens.
Post by: Puckoon on December 20, 2007, 06:52:47 PM
That isnt a bunch of americanisms my shit stirring friend, and you know it. :D
Recognized terminology of the poker world.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glossary_of_poker_terms (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glossary_of_poker_terms)

except maybe arsehole, I think I got that one from my da.
Post by: Puckoon on December 20, 2007, 06:55:53 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 20, 2007, 06:25:19 PM
How do you get through the family Christmas thing without using an empty wine bottle to bash someone's head in?

Simple, you empty the bottle first. After that who cares.
Post by: Fishbat on December 20, 2007, 08:34:03 PM
Have to agree with Puckoon on the accent thing - people accents do change slightly at the very least, if ye want people to understand you overseas ye have to pronounce things a little different as opposed to your usual spakes with the lads.

Do ye think any americans coming into the deepest depths of ireland have any notion whatsoever what the conversation in the bars are about?  they tend to sit and laugh when you laugh then crack a joke now and again.

personally speaking, no-one understands me wherever i go - a master of mumbling.

Pints - maybe safer sticking to those bags of wine....just in case
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 25, 2007, 08:54:56 PM
THank God that's over.
Post by: Minder on December 25, 2007, 09:14:52 PM
I wonder did people that were running about the shops yesterday realise the world didnt end today and the shops will  open again tomorrow
Post by: stew on December 26, 2007, 06:35:23 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 20, 2007, 06:45:01 PM
Stew, you probably have more than a few americanisms in your own vocabulary however militant you would try to be to exclude them, and while your accent may not be noticeable to you, Id be surprised if your friends/family at home didnt notice a change in how you speak (however slight it may be) due to your time in the US.

Quote from: stew on December 20, 2007, 06:30:31 PM

I have relatives with the same attitude and their attitude sickens my shite as the facts of the case are this:
If I had the time or effort to put into having a false uppity nonsense accent, Id like to think Id use it a little differently.  Any changes (and lets be honest here, we all still retain our irish accents the only noticeable things are a word here or there in any sentence) in my pronounciation and intonation would be completely accidental or involuntary. If someone was to pull me on it Id firstly inform them they had little to be worrying about, then wish them a nice day! Too many people seem to get a bee in their bonnet about this rather innocuous and accidental artifact of long term emmigration. Guess it goes back to our irish attitude on keeping people in their place - lord help anyone who appears to have steped outside the box. Every now and then I notice my wife absentmindedly saying something with a slight omagh twang to it. It happens.

If some tosser goes to say Engerland and a year later shows up with an englis accent to me that is contrived nonsense and they look like fools in my eyes. I love the sister in law to death but she has that aul english accent thing going on and it does my head in because it is false bullshit and yes she acquired the accent in about a year.

I dont worry about it, i just think it is ridiculous. My accent has mellowed after nearly 13 years away but I dont sould like a yank and never will.

I am all for people stepping outside of the box as you put it but it is irritating when you know people who have been away for five minutes while and they come up and talk to you and they sound like they were had left the streets of London or New York.