GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farrandeelin on May 12, 2019, 09:10:18 PM

Title: Maigh Eo v Ros Comáin 25-5-19
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 12, 2019, 09:10:18 PM
No surprise there given the draw.
Title: Re: Maigh Eo v Ros Comáin 25-5-19
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2019, 09:44:39 PM
Droit de seigneur
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2019, 11:24:47 AM
Having caused the birth of the great Rhubarb team by losing to them in the 2011 CF.....
Wouldn't it only be fitting to be there at their death in Castlebar in 2019?
Post by: Crete Boom on May 13, 2019, 11:51:19 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2019, 11:24:47 AM
Having caused the birth of the great Rhubarb team by losing to them in the 2011 CF.....

Sure we died last year in the sunshine in a traditional old style shootout in Newbridge.
Only thing you can achieve on the 25th is losing to a ghost of a good honest team!
It's the Tribesmen you should be worried about in Salthill in June not a stroll around McHale Park of a Sat evening in May! ;)
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 13, 2019, 11:59:36 AM
Looking at the odds little chance given to Roscommon. Odds would be much shorter if Galway were playing Mayo but i suppose Galway got that monkey off their back 3 years ago and the rossies are still waiting to do likewise.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 13, 2019, 07:32:31 PM
Half way down the first page and not a mention of Ballaghaderreen, how times have changed.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 13, 2019, 10:36:23 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on May 13, 2019, 07:32:31 PM
Half way down the first page and not a mention of Ballaghaderreen, how times have changed.

We are waiting for you Rossies to give Ballagh back to us. ;)
Post by: larryin89 on May 19, 2019, 07:45:33 PM
Bookies have this Mayo 2/9  and with a five point spread @ evens.

Very hard to call , very hard to know where we are at . Cillian is a massive loss , Diarmuid is fit to play , Donnie Vaughan unlikely to feature nor fionn mcdonagh both struggling with recent injuries. Have a feeling the Kerry lad from loughglynn could cause us problems , a lovely lively forward with a football brain . Midfield is a concern , start with aido and ruane but who is the backup , still can't fathom why Jason gibbons was cut when we are struggling for Orthodox midfielders . Seamie is out also btw.

You'd still think we should sneak it but I would not be as shocked to see our proud McHale park record v ros since 1986 fooked up as some might be. I know some who have already made plans for the 16th of June in salthil.

Post by: Rossfan on May 19, 2019, 07:54:26 PM
Some béalín bocht there Larryín  :D
Hope we can still be in it with 15 to go and see  what happens then.
Can't really see us batin them. :-\
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 08:05:11 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 19, 2019, 07:45:33 PM

Very hard to call
Surely with those odds and Roscommon's poor record in MacHale Park since the 80s makes it easier to call for you?

Post by: larryin89 on May 19, 2019, 09:58:34 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 08:05:11 PM

Very hard to call
Surely with those odds and Roscommon's poor record in MacHale Park since the 80s makes it easier to call for you?

If every 2/9 shot  I ever backed had won I'd of retired by now on the winnings .
Re the odds you could also put it this way ,no sane punter would put 9k on to win 2k on Mayo to beat Roscommon in the present climate.

Let's say three of the newbies start and ruane is going to be in a vital cog position ,nobody knows how these bucks are going to take to it , if they hit the ground running and our regulars get their championship form of 13-17 back ,I've no problem saying we will manage Ros with relative ease but there is no way of knowing yet IMO.

Push me to  prediction and I'd go for our bucks but with no great certainty .

Post by: From the Bunker on May 19, 2019, 10:40:39 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 19, 2019, 09:58:34 PM

Very hard to call

If every 2/9 shot  I ever backed had won I'd of retired by now on the winnings .
Re the odds you could also put it this way ,no sane punter would put 9k on to win 2k on Mayo to beat Roscommon in the present climate.

Let's say three of the newbies start and ruane is going to be in a vital cog position ,nobody knows how these bucks are going to take to it , if they hit the ground running and our regulars get their championship form of 13-17 back ,I've no problem saying we will manage Ros with relative ease but there is no way of knowing yet IMO.

But we have the best panel we've had in years. We have won a National title beating a promising Kerry team in the final. Our players are well rested after an early exit in the Championship last year. We have our messiah Horan at the helm again!

Ok Parsons is out for the year! Seamie, Barrett, Zippy, Boyler and Andy are well into their 30's now. Keegan, Vaughan, Cillian have had some serious operations the last year or so and the limbs have to be getting battle weary from all the wear and tear.  We lost heavily to Dublin in the League. They still have our number and put the heel to the throat once again.

Post by: joemamas on May 19, 2019, 11:59:36 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 19, 2019, 10:40:39 PM

Very hard to call

But we have the best panel we've had in years. We have won a National title beating a promising Kerry team in the final. Our players are well rested after an early exit in the Championship last year. We have our messiah Horan at the helm again!

Ok Parsons is out for the year! Seamie, Barrett, Zippy, Boyler and Andy are well into their 30's now. Keegan, Vaughan, Cillian have had some serious operations the last year or so and the limbs have to be getting battle weary from all the wear and tear.  We lost heavily to Dublin in the League. They still have our number and put the heel to the throat once again.

You sure about that,
Why make a comment like that when the guy is busting his hole to get fit.
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2019, 12:04:20 AM

Very hard to call

Ball is in Galway's court. They just had to sleepwalk to Connacht final and will throw every thing in kitchen at that. I expect Ros to go for Mayo like we're made out of ham and unless we're up for that ...... Mayo have to bring their best form into Roscommon match while Galway just messing around. Galway probably expecting Mayo there but if Ros beat Mayo I can see them beat Galway too.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2019, 07:14:41 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 20, 2019, 12:04:20 AM

Very hard to call

Ball is in Galway's court. They just had to sleepwalk to Connacht final and will throw every thing in kitchen at that. I expect Ros to go for Mayo like we're made out of ham and unless we're up for that ...... Mayo have to bring their best form into Roscommon match while Galway just messing around. Galway probably expecting Mayo there but if Ros beat Mayo I can see them beat Galway too.

Yes moy, and I'm an awful man for relying on history et al, Mayo will have to be more up for this game as one would have you think. Everyone I've met is talking about meeting and beating Galway in the Connacht final. Let's worry about Ros first, as I don't think this one is as clear cut as the majority make it out to be.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2019, 08:50:07 AM
I'm expecting a Mayo win but then I would, wouldn't I?
However, I've a touch of Larryitis as I wouldn't put down €9,000 to win €2,000 on this particular outcome.
Roscommon are a limited side but Mayo are an unpredictable one so you take your pick here.
Mayo finished the league on a high note but thy started the same competition on a pretty low one.
I think the Rossies are an improving side; their key players are still relatively young but there is talent there, waiting to develop. (I'm no expert on my neighbours' affairs but that's what Liam McHale once told me and he should know better than I do.)
When I say this side is limited,I wouldn't dream of insulting them bustards, I never do, but I'm talking about maturity here, not talent.
Mayo have both in abundance but are about as predictable as a baby's bum so the outcome isn't a forgone conclusion.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 20, 2019, 02:45:30 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2019, 08:50:07 AM
I’m expecting a Mayo win but then I would, wouldn’t I?
However, I’ve a touch of Larryitis as I wouldn’t put down €9,000 to win €2,000 on this particular outcome.
Roscommon are a limited side but Mayo are an unpredictable one so you take your pick here.
Mayo finished the league on a high note but thy started the same competition on a pretty low one.
I think the Rossies are an improving side; their key players are still relatively young but there is talent there, waiting to develop. (I’m no expert on my neighbours’ affairs but that’s what Liam McHale once told me and he should know better than I do.)
When I say this side is limited,I wouldn’t dream of insulting them bustards, I never do, but I’m talking about maturity here, not talent.
Mayo have both in abundance but are about as predictable as a baby’s bum so the outcome isn’t a forgone conclusion.

Mayo started the league with 3 wins in a row for the first time in years which included a win over Roscommon and a nine point margin v Tyrone in Omagh.  Who in your view (or told by McHale) are theses key players for Roscommon?

Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2019, 08:42:09 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 19, 2019, 11:59:36 PM

You sure about that,
Why make a comment like that when the guy is busting his hole to get fit.

The AI Ireland final is on the 1st of September! Roughly 15 weeks to the last game of the Championship. Whether Mayo are there is another thing. Parsons has not kicked a ball yet. He'll need more than a few weeks to play for his club again never mind county!
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 21, 2019, 10:29:54 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 20, 2019, 02:45:30 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2019, 08:50:07 AM
I'm expecting a Mayo win but then I would, wouldn't I?
However, I've a touch of Larryitis as I wouldn't put down €9,000 to win €2,000 on this particular outcome.
I think the Rossies are an improving side; their key players are still relatively young but there is talent there, waiting to develop. (I'm no expert on my neighbours' affairs but that's what Liam McHale once told me and he should know better than I do.)
When I say this side is limited,I wouldn't dream of insulting them bustards, I never do, but I'm talking about maturity here, not talent.
Mayo have both in abundance but are about as predictable as a baby's bum so the outcome isn't a forgone conclusion.

Mayo started the league with 3 wins in a row for the first time in years which included a win over Roscommon and a nine point margin v Tyrone in Omagh.  Who in your view (or told by McHale) are theses key players for Roscommon?
I guess I didn't explain myself very well here.
They actually started off quite well with three straight wins but there was nothing there to suggest that they would finish in near the top never mind win it.
They could easily have lost to Roscommon who were just up from the second division and Tyrone were playing as poorly as I have ever seen them play. Kerry had walloped them the preceding week.
I was happy enough so far; Horan was obviously team building and I think most Mayo supporters would regard remaining in Division One to be as much as could be expected.
Then I felt we were brought back to reality when Dublin, in second gear, showed how far Mayo had yet to go to get back to where they were last time Horan was in charge.They should have beaten Galway in the next game but the old, old failing showed up again. They slackened off in the last twenty minutes and allowed Galway back into the game again when they seemed to be in serious trouble.
Then something unexpected happened and they hammered Kerry down in Tralee. I don't think many, if any saw that coming. Kerry were odds on to win and win well. Mayo had then well beaten in the final and showed they result in Tralee was no fluke but still could have lost the game at the end. Again, they lost the plot when the had the upper hand.
If it hadn't been for Hennelly's magnificent save, we might not even favourites for next Saturday never mind serious contenders for the AI.
So, I am not knocking the team, just feeling that the game next Saturday isn't there for the taking. If Roscommon are a team where the best is yet to come, Mayo can't afford to take anything for granted.

When I spoke to Liam Mac, we didn't spend much time discussing Roscommon. He felt the team had plenty of potential but the average age was very young and it would take another year or two to get the best out of them. He singled out Ultan Harney as one to watch. Harney wasn't  twenty three yet but he would develop into a top class player if he could stay clear of injury.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 21, 2019, 02:11:38 PM
I don't think I'd regard 1-10 to 0-11 victory as a hammering v Kerry and the games crucial score (the goal) came in the 67th minute. With Mayo's record down in Kerry in recent years that result wasn't that much of a shock and with no Dublin in the final the opportunity was there for Mayo to finally grab a national title.

Mayo under Horan are fairly predictable in his own words consistently competitive, a hard working physically strong and well conditioned outfit whereby one of the main strengths of any Horan team is a good defence and I'll be surprised if Mayo conceded more that 12 to 15 points on Saturday night

For Roscommon to stand a chance in this game they will have to try and copy what Galway have done the last 3 years v Mayo, e.g well organised and make themselves difficult to score against. Plenty are saying Roscommon are improved defensively this year but I'm not too sure about, showed signs in January and February alright however since then its back to conceding big scores again v Cavan,Dublin,Kerry,Galway and all the recent challenge games.
Post by: larryin89 on May 21, 2019, 06:37:54 PM
Where is syferus ?
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2019, 06:51:29 PM
Still feckin up stolensheep >:(
He must have been banned from here thankfully.

Yes Cunny- our last 4 NFL games certainly makes us fearful the defensive disasters haven't been or aren't capable of being overcome.
Hopefully the NFL campaigns of both teams will have no bearing on this game.
If they are an indication then we'll be bet out the feckin gate and back in again. :-\
Post by: weareros on May 21, 2019, 09:38:23 PM
It's so long since we last won in McHale Park (1986), it's hard to be confident. Add to that the reality that new manager Cunningham has hardly been in the job a wet week. And then you lose one of our best forwards Ciaran Murtagh to travel, and our best back Niall McInerney to this studies. Then there's the awful memory of the last time we played Mayo in championship and we got an awful hammering. Also not forgetting we got demoted and continued to concede some big scores in NFL, in fact the second highest I think of all divisions. So it's hard to be confident. And yet, and yet... one of these days Ultan and Diarmuid and the Smiths, and some of the new lads will be on song against Mayo and all will be right with the world again. It's the hope that keeps you going.
Post by: whitey on May 21, 2019, 11:52:55 PM
As long as there's no eye gouging or feigning injury I'll be happy
Post by: oliverkelly on May 22, 2019, 09:27:42 AM
Hopefully we dont see a dog run on pitch like in Cavan Monaghan game or else the poor auld thing could be mounted and sexually abused by Lee keegan given his past history with them ;)
Post by: Crete Boom on May 22, 2019, 10:41:28 AM
Quote from: oliverkelly on May 22, 2019, 09:27:42 AM
Hopefully we dont see a dog run on pitch like in Cavan Monaghan game or else the poor auld thing could be mounted and sexually abused by Lee keegan given his past history with them ;)

Amazing you have such compassion for four legged creatures like dogs and sheep in Rosscommon but when a few people with different coloured skin seek some shelter in an empty hotel you burn the place down! Peter Casey is sure to top the polls in Sheep Stealer land anyway being a true white gael I suppose!!
Post by: Tubberman on May 22, 2019, 10:49:24 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 22, 2019, 10:41:28 AM

Amazing you have such compassion for four legged creatures like dogs and sheep in Rosscommon but when a few people with different coloured skin seek some shelter in an empty hotel you burn the place down! Peter Casey is sure to top the polls in Sheep Stealer land anyway being a true white gael I suppose!!

Jesus Christ lads, will ye calm down.
Post by: Rossfan on May 22, 2019, 10:50:36 AM
That hotel is in Laythrum.
Check out how we treated the Syrians in Ballaghadereen, Co Roscommon.
Also that goal that bet the Galway minors last Friday.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 22, 2019, 11:02:44 AM
Also how the Roscommon season ticket holders have to pay €25 extra for this game than us Mayo ST holders. ;D
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 22, 2019, 11:24:07 AM

could somebody get a ban for this
Post by: Crete Boom on May 22, 2019, 11:31:55 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on May 22, 2019, 11:24:07 AM

could somebody get a ban for this

Hands up yes a stupid ignorant ill informed post which I apologise unreservedly for which probably deserves a ban for!!
Post by: five points on May 22, 2019, 12:04:44 PM
The hotel wasn't even burned down. If you don't believe me, go to Rooskey and look at it yourself.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 22, 2019, 12:18:33 PM
Quote from: five points on May 22, 2019, 12:04:44 PM
The hotel wasn't even burned down. If you don't believe me, go to Rooskey and look at it yourself.

As I posted above it was a stupid ignorant ill informed post by myself which I apologise unreservedly.
Post by: weareros on May 22, 2019, 12:21:55 PM
Ah boys and girls the tone has been fairly lowered around here, which is saying a lot in a Mayo-Ros thread. Can we ditch all talk of hotel-burnin, sheep-shaggin, Ballagh-bashin, Badge-kissin, eye-gougin, elbow-smackin, GPS throwin, Prenty-bowlin and anything liable to start a fight and shtick to the auld pig bladder chasin.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 22, 2019, 02:45:49 PM
Quote from: weareros on May 22, 2019, 12:21:55 PM
Ah boys and girls the tone has been fairly lowered around here, which is saying a lot in a Mayo-Ros thread. Can we ditch all talk of hotel-burnin, sheep-shaggin, Ballagh-bashin, Badge-kissin, eye-gougin, elbow-smackin, GPS throwin, Prenty-bowlin and anything liable to start a fight and shtick to the auld pig bladder chasin.
you forgot Andy-booing
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 22, 2019, 04:30:28 PM
Mayo are 2/9, looks like they only have to turn up, Mayo -5 are even money.

Tactically are the Rossies are expecting them to be very defensive on Saturday? Thats their best chance of getting a result and even more so with the size of McHale Park, not sure playing their is a advantage to Mayo.

Post by: Rossfan on May 22, 2019, 04:57:41 PM
I think most of us are hoping we avoid a tanking...... :-\
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 22, 2019, 04:59:33 PM
Will Ming be attending?
Post by: weareros on May 22, 2019, 05:15:59 PM
I probably should have included leg-tanning in topics likely to inflame but nevertheless the tanned one has spoken and predicts a very comfortable victory for Mayo.
http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/33723-maughan-mayo-will-be-too-strong
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 23, 2019, 11:47:14 AM
McHale on offtheball this morning, very positive about Mayo's chance for the year ahead and thinks they'll have far too much for Roscommon. He always said that Roscommon should have won 3 in a row in Connacht and threw away the two they didn't win; I've listened to him a lot down the years, he doesn't exactly come across as an impressive individual you'd want involved in your setup.

Post by: whitey on May 23, 2019, 12:06:49 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 23, 2019, 11:47:14 AM
McHale on offtheball this morning, very positive about Mayo's chance for the year ahead and thinks they'll have far too much for Roscommon. He always said that Roscommon should have won 3 in a row in Connacht and threw away the two they didn't win; I've listened to him a lot down the years, he doesn't exactly come across as an impressive individual you'd want involved in your setup.

Mayo people were open to McStay taking over from Horan, but it was a package deal with McHale.....that's what killed the deal
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 23, 2019, 12:10:00 PM

I mean Mayo should likely win but if I heard the same type of scutter coming out of Ex Galway players as Maughan and McHale my alarm bells would be ringing. They seems determined to write Roscommon's team talk for them. Anthony Cunningham will be loving it.

Probably won't be enough to change the result though.

Post by: Crete Boom on May 23, 2019, 12:27:11 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 23, 2019, 12:10:00 PM

I mean Mayo should likely win but if I heard the same type of scutter coming out of Ex Galway players as Maughan and McHale my alarm bells would be ringing. They seems determined to write Roscommon's team talk for them. Anthony Cunningham will be loving it.

Comments from ex players never seems to trouble Galway when they have a competitive team so it's about time Mayo teams block out the back round noise and concentrate the game in hand.
If Mayo can't get to the intensity that Ross will bring on Sat then it doesn't reflect well where the team is at at this stage of it's rebuild!
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2019, 12:29:48 PM
We're still hoping to avoid a tanking.....
Anyway same starting 15 as started v Laythrum.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 23, 2019, 01:16:20 PM
Three changes for Mayo. 

Chris Barrett, Michael Plunkett & Diarmuid O'Connor come in and out go Colm Boyle, James McCormack & James Carr

1. Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
2. Chris Barrett - Belmullet
3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
5. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
6. Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
7. Lee Keegan - Westport
8. Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
9. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
10. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
11. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
12. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber(C)
13. Evan Regan - Ballina Stephenites
14. Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
15. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore

Roscommon unchanged

1. Darren O'Malley - Michael Glaveys
2. David Murray - Padraig Pearses
3. Sean Mullooly - Strokestown
4. Conor Daly - Padraig Pearses
5. Niall Daly - Padraig Pearses
6. Conor Hussey - Michael Glaveys
7. Ronan Daly - Padraig Pearses
8. Tadgh O'Rourke - Tulsk
9. Shane Killoran - Elphin
10. Hubert Darcy - Padraig Pearses
11. Cathal Cregg - Western Gaels (C)
12. Niall Kilroy - Fuerty
13. Ultan Harney - Clann na nGael
14. Conor Cox - Listowel Emmet's
15. Diarmuid Murtagh - St Faithleachs
Post by: joemamas on May 23, 2019, 01:48:49 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 23, 2019, 12:27:11 PM

Comments from ex players never seems to trouble Galway when they have a competitive team so it's about time Mayo teams block out the back round noise and concentrate the game in hand.
If Mayo can't get to the intensity that Ross will bring on Sat then it doesn't reflect well where the team is at at this stage of it's rebuild!

Two media hounds looking to provide a soundbite in order to attempt to keep themselves relevant.
I am quiet certain the players can see that.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 23, 2019, 02:08:57 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 23, 2019, 01:48:49 PM

Two media hounds looking to provide a soundbite in order to attempt to keep themselves relevant.

I have to say I just listened back to the Liam McHale interview at lunchtime and there wasn't much in it to be honest. He doesn't over hype Mayo or disrespect Rosscommon. Basically he said he expects Mayo to pull away in the last quarter after a tough contest due to the team's stronger bench and greater physicality. He talks of Rosccomon's talent and how it is a tough draw for Mayo in Connacht. I didn't hear anything to annoy any Mayo or Rossies but then again I have no axe to grind with big Mac.
Post by: MayoBuck on May 23, 2019, 02:18:47 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 23, 2019, 01:16:20 PM
Three changes for Mayo. 

Chris Barrett, Michael Plunkett & Diarmuid O'Connor come in and out go Colm Boyle, James McCormack & James Carr

1. Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
2. Chris Barrett - Belmullet
3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
5. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
6. Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
7. Lee Keegan - Westport
8. Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
9. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
10. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
11. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
12. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber(C)
13. Evan Regan - Ballina Stephenites
14. Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
15. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore

Roscommon unchanged

1. Darren O'Malley - Michael Glaveys
2. David Murray - Padraig Pearses
3. Sean Mullooly - Strokestown
4. Conor Daly - Padraig Pearses
5. Niall Daly - Padraig Pearses
6. Conor Hussey - Michael Glaveys
7. Ronan Daly - Padraig Pearses
8. Tadgh O'Rourke - Tulsk
9. Shane Killoran - Elphin
10. Hubert Darcy - Padraig Pearses
11. Cathal Cregg - Western Gaels (C)
12. Niall Kilroy - Fuerty
13. Ultan Harney - Clann na nGael
14. Conor Cox - Listowel Emmet's
15. Diarmuid Murtagh - St Faithleachs

Would like to see James Carr in the FF line ahead of Regan or Coen but apart from that it's our strongest available team.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 23, 2019, 02:30:03 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 23, 2019, 02:08:57 PM

I have to say I just listened back to the Liam McHale interview at lunchtime and there wasn't much in it to be honest. He doesn't over hype Mayo or disrespect Rosscommon. Basically he said he expects Mayo to pull away in the last quarter after a tough contest due to the team's stronger bench and greater physicality. He talks of Rosccomon's talent and how it is a tough draw for Mayo in Connacht. I didn't hear anything to annoy any Mayo or Rossies but then again I have no axe to grind with big Mac.
Greater physicality yes but with the likes Enda Smith,Conor Devaney,Fintan Cregg,John McManus,Brian Stack and Donie Smith possibility to bring in Roscommon should have a strong bench also.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 23, 2019, 02:37:44 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 23, 2019, 02:30:03 PM

Greater physicality yes but with the likes Enda Smith,Conor Devaney,Fintan Cregg,John McManus,Brian Stack and Donie Smith possibility to bring in Roscommon should have a strong bench also.

That is true and I think it will be a close battle, I just didn't hear McHale being disrespectful or over hyping Mayo in the interview. Probably only pissed off Galway with the comment that  this Rosscommon team should have won three Connacht titles in a row instead of one when he was with the Rossies.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 23, 2019, 02:40:24 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 23, 2019, 02:37:44 PM

That is true and I think it will be a close battle, I just didn't hear McHale being disrespectful or over hyping Mayo in the interview. Probably only pissed off Galway with the comment that  this Rosscommon team should have won three Connacht titles in a row instead of one when he was with the Rossies.

Well that was scutter alright albeit he was slightly more restrained than Maughan was to be fair to him.
Post by: weareros on May 23, 2019, 02:43:27 PM

He was well wrong on the first one. We could have won last year had Compton not gone off injured as that turned the midfield battle. That of course is always the worry and the worry for Saturday, our lack of strength there. But Kiloran has it in his blood, so live in hope. I didn't think Liam was too bad, but Mayo's greatest fan Kevin Kilbane drives me soft. What he started pontificating about Ballaghaderreen  two years ago, I had to ask was he ever in Ballagh in his life.

Post by: Crete Boom on May 23, 2019, 02:46:04 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 23, 2019, 02:40:24 PM

Well that was scutter alright albeit he was slightly more restrained than Maughan was to be fair to him.

I read Maughan's piece yesterday and, well let's just say he is a lot more confident than myself anyway!
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 23, 2019, 03:24:09 PM
Quote from: weareros on May 23, 2019, 02:43:27 PM

He was well wrong on the first one. We could have won last year had Compton not gone off injured as that turned the midfield battle. That of course is always the worry and the worry for Saturday, our lack of strength there. But Kiloran has it in his blood, so live in hope. I didn't think Liam was too bad, but Mayo's greatest fan Kevin Kilbane drives me soft. What he started pontificating about Ballaghaderreen  two years ago, I had to ask was he ever in Ballagh in his life.

To be fair he wouldn't be totally wrong on the first one. Game level in Salthill Roscommon with the ball in hand and the opportunity to shoot for the winner but decided to pass the ball around instead and the ref then blew up for full time.
Post by: larryin89 on May 23, 2019, 10:19:27 PM
Preview on mad west now
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 24, 2019, 10:27:15 AM
Quote from: weareros on May 23, 2019, 02:43:27 PM

Kilbane is a sound bloke but it does grate that OFB are giving him too much air time on football, he knows very little about the sport. His interest in the game has only materialised in recent years due to Mayo knocking on the door, like plenty of people in Mayo they'd have no interest in the game if they were from a so called weaker county.
Post by: Rossfan on May 24, 2019, 10:37:14 AM
Hard to bate an oul  bandwagon ;D
I'm still not very hopeful about this one :-\
Post by: TheGreatest on May 24, 2019, 10:38:00 AM
The peoples champions should win this one handy and march on, definitley favorites for Sam.
Post by: larryin89 on May 24, 2019, 10:44:52 AM
Don't know why people are so quick to judge , he's a kilbane , he's achill, he is part of the mayo diaspora who connect with the county team . It's not a new thing . I can go back to 1985 when I was eight years old and remember the house full to the brim with cousins with English accents over for the semi final v Dublin . The lack of understanding amongst the masses is pure ignorance or maybe you have to be from Mayo to understand it all I dunno
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 24, 2019, 11:08:27 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 24, 2019, 10:44:52 AM
Don't know why people are so quick to judge , he's a kilbane , he's achill, he is part of the mayo diaspora who connect with the county team . It's not a new thing . I can go back to 1985 when I was eight years old and remember the house full to the brim with cousins with English accents over for the semi final v Dublin . The lack of understanding amongst the masses is pure ignorance or maybe you have to be from Mayo to understand it all I dunno

What a load of tripe  ;D

Mayo have a huge diaspora and my word the majority of them love the bandwagon Kilbane included; There was about 2000 Mayo fans at the quarter final in 2012 against Down as nobody believed there was An Ireland in that team.
Post by: larryin89 on May 24, 2019, 12:05:41 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 24, 2019, 11:08:27 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 24, 2019, 10:44:52 AM

What a load of tripe  ;D

Mayo have a huge diaspora and my word the majority of them love the bandwagon Kilbane included; There was about 2000 Mayo fans at the quarter final in 2012 against Down as nobody believed there was An Ireland in that team.

That was a once off and a bad example that and the cork game the year before were poorly attended , of course people will turn away after Longford and that's probably why but they're back now and that's good . Save the poor support stuff please , Galway are an embarrassing at this stage .
Post by: giveballaghback on May 24, 2019, 08:22:48 PM
Hopefully ros will shrink the rhubarbs diaspora tomorrow evening.
Post by: larryin89 on May 24, 2019, 08:32:41 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on May 24, 2019, 08:22:48 PM

How's the minor game going
Post by: sans pessimism on May 25, 2019, 08:13:57 AM
the same owl tune again and again-change the record,good lad.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 25, 2019, 09:48:56 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 24, 2019, 08:32:41 PM

Grasping at minor straws now larry, any ros lads from ballagh or indeed Sligo lads on that minor team or have ye decided to go with natives.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 10:09:20 AM
Quote from: giveballaghback on May 25, 2019, 09:48:56 AM

Grasping at minor straws now larry, any ros lads from ballagh or indeed Sligo lads on that minor team or have ye decided to go with natives.

There was no Kerry lads anyway
Post by: fearsiuil on May 25, 2019, 10:24:25 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 10:09:20 AM

Post by: Tubberman on May 25, 2019, 10:28:05 AM

BURRRRRRN!!
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 25, 2019, 10:58:51 AM
Ah, it's summertime again!
For me, the first championship game for our lads begins when the ref first throws in the ball and the journey to god knows where begins. I have always felt the upsurge of anticipation and know that I am sharing the same hopes and aspirations as millions of Mayo ex-pats and, in many cases, second generation Mayo enthusiasts will. That's not forgetting those fortunate to live at home or, better still, those who turn up for the game and urge on the red and green to greater glory.
Well, hat's the preferred option anyway.  ;D
I have left McHale Park and the Hyde and Tuam many a time as well, with my hopes blown away and my morale sunk down to arse level, if not the soles of my boots. That's always been the case and always will.
Today, I can't make it to the game but I'll be there in spirit and as much of a nuisance to all around me as I have ever been. My nearest and dearest tell me I use more bad language during the course of a Mayo game as I do for the remainder of the year.
Today will be no different and I do expect I'll be more chilled out at the end of the game than I will be at the end. I can't see beyond a home victory today but I won't relax until the long whistle sounds. My problem is that, for me anyway, Mayo's form is about as predictable as a baby's bum.
Far too many times they have been motoring nicely and seem to have everything under control and then they lose the plot. Could have so easily happened in the league final this year.
However, Horan appears to be motoring on from where the team was when he was last in charge.I do expect a bit of daylight between the sides at the end and I can't see any reason why Mayo won't advance to the Connacht final. On form alone, I can't s any other outcome but then consistency isn't somethiing Mayo are noted for. I won't b able to breathe easily until that whistle blast!

Post by: giveballaghback on May 25, 2019, 11:57:59 AM
[/qu

Ahem, no not an O Shea in sight, our kerry lad is surplus to the kingdoms requirements and not claimed, poached or stolen from a smaller county.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 12:25:45 PM
The o Shea you're on about never played football in Kerry. Just like Andy never played football in Roscommon
Post by: Rossfan on May 25, 2019, 12:54:04 PM
Did Andy never play on his home clubs pitch?
Post by: giveballaghback on May 25, 2019, 01:17:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 25, 2019, 12:54:04 PM
Better than that Rossfan, he played in a connacht club final between 2 Roscommon clubs.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 01:28:22 PM

Pedantic nonsense , he plays for Ballagh who play in Mayo cause that's where they were originally located , end of story.
Post by: Rossfan on May 25, 2019, 01:41:33 PM
They play their home games in  Co. Roscommon.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 25, 2019, 01:44:04 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 01:28:22 PM

Pedantic nonsense , he plays for Ballagh who play in Mayo cause that's where they were originally located , end of story.
And what about Ardnaree and Bonnyconlon two areas originally in Sligo, sauce for the goose and sauce for the gander and all that.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 01:57:19 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on May 25, 2019, 01:44:04 PM

And what about Ardnaree and Bonnyconlon two areas originally in Sligo, sauce for the goose and sauce for the gander and all that.

I know nothing about either area only Joe Corcoran was ardnaree and I used to tag along with a headcase in London from ardnaree also , I know less about bonniconlon only father Tommy towie went there after he finished teaching me and I also worked with a lad from that area on a pipeline in ballymun in 2004 for Coffey's from Galway who used to have Ciaran Mac working for them till he want with ward and Burke who went away from coffee and formed their own company.

Now all that completely irrelevant uselles information is nearly as bad as dragging this thread into the ballagh stuff.

I'm an hour and a half from Castlebar , entertain me with some prediction s .
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 25, 2019, 02:14:43 PM
Hopeful of a Mayo win. Not confident, just hopeful.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 25, 2019, 02:20:49 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 01:57:19 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on May 25, 2019, 01:44:04 PM

I know nothing about either area only Joe Corcoran was ardnaree and I used to tag along with a headcase in London from ardnaree also , I know less about bonniconlon only father Tommy towie went there after he finished teaching me and I also worked with a lad from that area on a pipeline in ballymun in 2004 for Coffey's from Galway who used to have Ciaran Mac working for them till he want with ward and Burke who went away from coffee and formed their own company.

Now all that completely irrelevant uselles information is nearly as bad as dragging this thread into the ballagh stuff.

I'm an hour and a half from Castlebar , entertain me with some prediction s .
I haven't the heart to get involved in this oull nonsense again but as I am just killing time until the throw-in, I'll chip in my tuppence worth one more time.,...
There's one helluva difference between Ballagh and Bunniconlan or àny other townlands thatz switched counties.  Mayo never told anybody to check off back to where they came from and never come back!
That's what happened to Ballagh and they never forgot that insult. After the boundary changes, when they tried to analysts with the Ross county board , some of the ones in Roscommon objected because they figured the Faugh a' Ballaghs would be too good for them.
Some might not like this one little bit but Ballagh play in Mayo because they weren't made welcome in Roscommon
Post by: Rossfan on May 25, 2019, 02:25:14 PM
 Heart says Ros by 3.
Head -easy win for Rhus.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 02:54:41 PM
I honestly am finding it really hard to call this , there's a part of me saying we will no matter what but I do believe there is an unknown factor to this game .

All that said I'll back mayo for an eight point win  . ;D
Post by: whitey on May 25, 2019, 05:22:48 PM
The Rossies are well able to pull off an ambush....read yer history bucks
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 25, 2019, 05:31:19 PM
Rumours that one of Roscommon's key players will not be starting from that selected team, if true whatever chance the rossies had of causing upset will decrease further.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 25, 2019, 06:15:17 PM
Roscommon thinkthey're tough poking a lad in the eye or hitting a lad off the ball when match officials not looking.  Mayo to by 15-20 points in first gear. Roscommon have gone since McStay stepped down
Post by: joemamas on May 25, 2019, 06:58:33 PM
Paul Earley doing co commentating , nice neutral sort  ::)
Post by: bennydorano on May 25, 2019, 07:18:07 PM
The Rossie kit is funny looking, they'll all look like childer with their jersies tucked way too far into their shorts
Post by: whitey on May 25, 2019, 07:53:40 PM
Did the Rossie give Hennelly an elbow in the jaw after scoring the second goal?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 25, 2019, 07:58:10 PM
Mayo to empty the tank in second half and make dog dung of the sheapstealers. Jim Horan has never lost Connaught game.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 25, 2019, 08:34:47 PM
Rossies down to 14. They used all their subs.
Post by: armaghniac on May 25, 2019, 08:39:31 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on May 25, 2019, 07:58:10 PM
Mayo to empty the tank in second half and make dog dung of the sheapstealers. Jim Horan has never lost Connaught game.

Yeah, right.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on May 25, 2019, 08:39:43 PM
Fair play to the Rossies.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 25, 2019, 08:39:48 PM
Galway v Roscommon Connacht final yet again for the 4th year in a row.

Great game in those conditions.
Post by: maigheo on May 25, 2019, 08:46:10 PM
Well done Roscommon. WJ Blog in meltdown already
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on May 25, 2019, 08:46:40 PM
Only seen the second half but was a good game in greasy conditions.  Lack of a reliable free taker did for Mayo.  Fair play to the Rossies, did well to squeeze out the win despite being down to 14 men for about the last 10 mins - Ros management lucky their sub strategy, or lack thereof, didn't backfire on them.  See ye in the Stadium in a few weeks time.
Post by: rodney trotter on May 25, 2019, 08:48:36 PM
Conor Cox is a class act.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 25, 2019, 08:49:12 PM
Gough gifted Mayo that last free they missed too. Was never a free.
Post by: thewobbler on May 25, 2019, 08:54:23 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 25, 2019, 08:49:12 PM

If was a free. He was dragged down with both hands. If that's even up for debate as a free then refs have no chance.

—-

Mayo confuse me.

Why would anyone start Hennelly when Clarke is available?

Why would anyone play McLoughlin as a corner forward when he's a roving half forward?

Why would you take off Darren Coen when he was the only forward on his game?

Why would you take off Doherty when there's no free takers on the field?

Why would you leave Harrison on Cox when he's setting destroyed?

Why wouldn't you put O'Shea in full forward for a few mins when Ros have 15 men back?

Every one of them has a GPS monitor on their back.

They should stop looking at stats and just show some common f**king sense.

Post by: Rudi on May 25, 2019, 09:01:21 PM
Delighted with that win. Mayo played with 15 men behind the ball in case you didn't notice. Roscommon had to work hard for frees again Mayo didn't. Great to finally beat Mayo in Castlebar. Cox and O Malley were super
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 25, 2019, 09:02:03 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 25, 2019, 08:54:23 PM

If was a free. He was dragged down with both hands. If that's even up for debate as a free then refs have no chance.

Not for me at all. Ruane was backing into him trying to buy it and Gough fell for it.
Post by: Angelo on May 25, 2019, 09:03:01 PM
The inability of Mayo players to take shots off their weaker foot is a huge problem when it comes to their efficiency on goal. Only Keegan has show an aptitude for this in recent years and as this level when you get that split second in a scoring position you have to be able to take it on, it was their downfall tonight - that and Hennelly.

Very impressed to the tigerishness and tight defending of Roscommon, a bit over zealuos at times which coughed up a number of frees but Doherty had an off day on frees and Mayo's continued lack of a reliable left footed free taker is noted. McLoughlin has missed a few tap overs in recent years so I was shocked to see him take it. Surely O'Shea could have taken it on, it wasn't that difficult and McLoughlin looked a player low on confidence today.

The backdoor now a perilous route with Mayo, Monaghan and one of Tyrone/Dongeal guaranteed to be involved.
Post by: Angelo on May 25, 2019, 09:03:28 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 25, 2019, 09:02:03 PM

Not for me at all. Ruane was backing into him trying to buy it and Gough fell for it.

I thought it was soft.
Post by: Main Street on May 25, 2019, 09:08:42 PM
That was a hard as nails enthralling game in the conditions, a well deserved victory for the Rossies on the day, Mayo were shrinking violets when it came to scoring points
Post by: macdanger2 on May 25, 2019, 09:09:25 PM
Well done Rossies. They took their goal chances and that made the difference. Lack of a free taker cost us badly.

AOS and the kerryman were the best players on the pitch ino

It's a long way back to Croker from here
Post by: Rudi on May 25, 2019, 09:17:05 PM
Badge kisser gets blocked down and then a black card, karma's a  bitch Andy.
Post by: thewobbler on May 25, 2019, 09:38:48 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 25, 2019, 09:02:03 PM

That's when smart attacking becomes bad defending. Not poor refereeing.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2019, 09:46:44 PM
Well done the Rossies!

Another year venturing through the back door.

Looks to much from where I'm looking from to go straight from the back door into the Super 8's and further on!

Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 25, 2019, 10:01:59 PM
Stolen from Twitter

Times Square will be quiet tonight
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 25, 2019, 10:03:30 PM
Can't have any complaints...Ross deserved their win..... Hope they go win the next one also.
Post by: skeog on May 25, 2019, 10:04:11 PM
James Horan not the tactical genius he is made  out to be.
Post by: Hound on May 25, 2019, 10:09:10 PM
Well done Rossies. Thought the ref was harsh enough on yis in the second quarter and then was sure you'd shot your bolt when Mayo got back on terms eventually in the second half. But fair play, great heart, kept going and the winning point was beautiful.

I thought the last free was just about a free alright. Most refs would have given it. Any eejit who says Mayo don't need Cillian, ..... well they're an eejit.

Paddy Durcan is some player. Didn't deserve to lose, but not enough of his teammates played to par.

Wouldn't be surprised if they meet again. Result may be different!
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 25, 2019, 10:10:14 PM
Fair play to the Rossies, I didn't expect that result but it was deserved, Cunningham had them well setup and Cox is a massive addition up front.
The woeful standard of shooting from Mayo was their Achilles heel yet again, that last free summed it up, just a shocking bad miss.

The Rossies tails will be well up after that victory, up to Galway to be ready to match them in Pearse on the 16th June.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2019, 10:16:33 PM
Quote from: skeog on May 25, 2019, 10:04:11 PM
James Horan not the tactical genius he is made  out to be.

Yeah, there you go! People always say Mayo people always blame the Referee in defeat - I'd say they always Blame the Manager!
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 25, 2019, 10:25:57 PM
Fair play to Ros. Scoreboard doesn't lie. Someone on the way out told me Mayo had 18 wides. 18 fuckin wides. I honestly don't know what to say. I mean it's not as if Cunningham was going to give the Mayo forwards freedom of the park like McStay did in CP. Only Fergal Boland can hold his head high from a Mayo point of view, scored some massive points in the second half. Hard to muster much optimism after that tonight. As for Ros, a fine tall strong physical team that managed to take their chances when the opportunities arose. I knew McLoughlin would miss, always does even in non pressure environments. Not absorbing him of blame though as he should've known it from every previous free he ever took from similar positions. Onto the backdoor. You'd hope Horan and co can learn from this game and try to organise forward shooting drills before the next one.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 25, 2019, 10:31:18 PM
Well done to Roscommon on a fully deserved and long overdue win in MacHale park v Mayo.  Great character displayed to grind out the win when Mayo got their noses in front on 63 minutes.

4 year in a row it will be a Roscommon v Galway Connacht final, who would have guessed that after Mayo won 5 in a row Connacht titles in 2015? 
Post by: Rudi on May 25, 2019, 10:32:07 PM
Thought Durcan, O Shea and Coen did well for Mayo. Huge amount of talent off the bench did well for us.
Post by: chrissears on May 25, 2019, 10:32:50 PM
i watched the game on sky in  London and imo Boland did very little, anytime we had forward momentum and he got the ball it stopped or worse we went sideways or backwards. All in all a poor display by our lads, too many dropped catches and why are we rushing the ball with only ten minutes on the clock.
Fair play to Roscommon we were beaten by a better team on the day. After winning the league I expected more.
Post by: chrissears on May 25, 2019, 10:33:40 PM
Coen was excellent today without his scores it could have been worse
Post by: Blowitupref on May 25, 2019, 10:40:21 PM
Coen was the stand out player for Mayo tonight IMO. 0-5 from play has he ever got that type of scoring total for Mayo before at any grade? i don't recall it if he did.
Post by: Randy on May 25, 2019, 11:02:24 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 25, 2019, 10:25:57 PM
I knew McLoughlin would miss, always does even in non pressure environments. Not absorbing him of blame though as he should've known it from every previous free he ever took from similar positions. Onto the backdoor. You'd hope Horan and co can learn from this game and try to organise forward shooting drills before the next one.

I thought the exact same. I was wondering, did Diarmuid instruct him to take it. Loftus was shaping up to take it.
Post by: Rossfan on May 25, 2019, 11:08:29 PM
I'm still in a daze.....
Won't be able to comment on the game till I watch the recording as it was all so absorbing I can't recall things right at all.
Well done lads and management.
33 years hoodoo gone.
Yahooooooooo
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2019, 11:09:03 PM
Fair play to Ros. Scoreboard doesn't lie. Someone on the way out told me Mayo had 18 wides. 18 fuckin wides. I honestly don't know what to say. I mean it's not as if Cunningham was going to give the Mayo forwards freedom of the park like McStay did in CP. Only Fergal Boland can hold his head high from a Mayo point of view, scored some massive points in the second half. Hard to muster much optimism after that tonight. As for Ros, a fine tall strong physical team that managed to take their chances when the opportunities arose. I knew McLoughlin would miss, always does even in non pressure environments. Not absorbing him of blame though as he should've known it from every previous free he ever took from similar positions. Onto the backdoor. You'd hope Horan and co can learn from this game and try to organise forward shooting drills before the next one.

(https://media1.tenor.com/images/d40f5d30bc9534a240f4da4842f48e5f/tenor.gif?itemid=5038159)
Post by: joemamas on May 25, 2019, 11:21:35 PM
What Horan obviously missed was Donie Buckley and John Mcentee.
Not all his fault but some very very questionable decisions were made on the line.
Post by: Itchy on May 25, 2019, 11:24:08 PM
Great game which was won by Roscommons greater efficiency in front of the posts. How many wides had they? Feck all I am guessing. Mayo were poor, very poor. I didnt see that coming to be honest. I hope they beat Galway now and their horrid style of football.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2019, 11:25:14 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 25, 2019, 11:21:35 PM
Not all his fault but some very very questionable decisions were made on the line.

That said we have saved a lot of money on Donie Buckley and John McEntee not being part of the Backroom team.
Post by: joemamas on May 25, 2019, 11:27:12 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 25, 2019, 11:25:14 PM

That said we have saved a lot of money on Donie Buckley and John McEntee not being part of the Backroom team.

That is great to hear.  ::) ::)
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 25, 2019, 11:32:31 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 25, 2019, 11:27:12 PM

Yeah, like "Every cloud has a silver lining." Well, if this particular game had some positives,  I can't fkn see
them. :D
Post by: joemamas on May 25, 2019, 11:36:33 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 25, 2019, 11:32:31 PM

Yeah, like "Every cloud has a silver lining." Well, if this particular game had some positives,  I can't fkn see

Is is possible that if Buckley or McEntee were there, one of them may have mentioned that we are going into last 7+ minutes with no free taker.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2019, 11:37:21 PM

You just can't be spending big, big money on backroom personnel. Who do you think we are? Dublin?
Post by: joemamas on May 25, 2019, 11:41:59 PM
Last rant of the night,
How can Andy seem to talk himself onto the team as the first sub for the forwards.
As soon as he comes on, the dynamic of at least 50% of all attacks changes to where the ball is kicked or demanded to be kicked as near to the corner flag as is possible, then we start the attack all over again.
He was a great servant and put his time in for sure, and should be thanked wholeheartedly for that, but.............
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2019, 11:49:34 PM
What I want to know is what happen to the Strong Bench Horan built up over the the Spring? Where did it go to?
Post by: MayoBuck on May 26, 2019, 12:24:13 AM
Following Mayo would add years to you.  :-\

It's crazy the amount of basic things cost us over and over again. Handing goals to the opposition on a plate, no decent free taker when Cillian isn't there and in previous years petulant red cards. If I was managing an U16 team they would be the things I'd get right first.

Our 3 established forwards were very poor. Didn't expect Darren Coen to be so good in fairness to him. We cleaned up in midfield mainly due to Aidan and Ruane showed well too. Durcan very good and Boland stood up in the 2nd half after a quiet opening. Can't really pick anyone else out on our side.

Best of luck to the Rossies in the final.
Post by: moysider on May 26, 2019, 01:15:08 AM
r

Really Farr? do you honestly think it's down to that?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 26, 2019, 02:04:20 AM
Well done to Conor Cox giving an exhibitition of point kicking. Mayo haven't won a Connacht since the dream team of Holmes and Connelly.
Post by: moysider on May 26, 2019, 02:14:29 AM

Yeah, like "Every cloud has a silver lining." Well, if this partic ular game had some positives,  I can't fkn see

There is no silver lining there. To paraphrase F Scott Fitzgerald -  there are no second acts in Mayo Manager's lives. I hope I will be proven wrong later in the year but I doubt it. Horan was riddled today tactically. Cunningham didn't have to be a genius to do it either. Just watch the old tapes, especially the 2012 AI final. The template to beat Mayo has been out there for years. At least we, and the players have the league to console ourselves with. That is probably as good as we will see.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 26, 2019, 02:15:42 AM
One thing I'll say about Anthony Cunningham is his teams always have a hard edge to them and are usually very tough to beat. He was pretty unlucky not to win a hurling All Ireland with Galway. Twice they had Kilkenny on the ropes in the final but maybe they were just not quite mature enough to finish the job during his time with them. He knows how to prepare a team.
Post by: shark on May 26, 2019, 02:31:23 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 26, 2019, 02:15:42 AM
One thing I'll say about Anthony Cunningham is his teams always have a hard edge to them and are usually very tough to beat. He was pretty unlucky not to win a hurling All Ireland with Galway. Twice they had Kilkenny on the ropes in the final but maybe they were just not quite mature enough to finish the job during his time with them. He knows how to prepare a team.

And unlucky not to win a club all-Ireland with Garrycastle. The first day.
Post by: moysider on May 26, 2019, 02:37:27 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 26, 2019, 02:15:42 AM

Correct. Today was no surprise really. I love Horan's vision of the way he wants his team to play but it leaves his team vulnerable as well. A team that is well prepared and defend well in numbers will do him.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 26, 2019, 02:42:31 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 25, 2019, 11:24:08 PM
Great game which was won by Roscommons greater efficiency in front of the posts. How many wides had they? Feck all I am guessing. Mayo were poor, very poor. I didnt see that coming to be honest. I hope they beat Galway now and their horrid style of football.

Jaysus I presume you've watched some Cavan football during your life? Stones and glass houses and all that.
Post by: moysider on May 26, 2019, 02:52:56 AM
Quote from: joemamas on May 25, 2019, 11:36:33 PM

Is is possible that if Buckley or McEntee were there, one of them may have mentioned that we are going into last 7+ minutes with no free taker.

I'm sorry but Horan was watching the same gig as everybody else. Regan had nailed 2 fine frees and a good point from play and was playing well besides. Only Coen was going better of the forwards. Yet he was hauled off to get Andy on. It was a crazy decision. Coen ran out of gas a while later and that was the time to bring in Andy. The introduction of Diskin and Loftus beggared belief.
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2019, 03:37:40 AM
Our subs were a damn sight better the Mayowestros'
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 26, 2019, 05:48:13 AM
If Gough hadn't brought two blind umpires Roscommon would have won by 3
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 26, 2019, 07:40:54 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 26, 2019, 01:15:08 AM
r

Really Farr? do you honestly think it's down to that?

Course not. But it was a 'kind of' consolation I had when I was soaked wet when I came in last night before going to bed. And that won't be fixed over a short timeframe either. Joemamas mentioned Andy slowing it down, I totally agree. Regan more than likely would've slotted that free over at the end.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 26, 2019, 12:33:29 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 25, 2019, 02:54:41 PM
I honestly am finding it really hard to call this , there's a part of me saying we will no matter what but I do believe there is an unknown factor to this game .

All that said I'll back mayo for an eight point win  . ;D

You need to change that ould hash tag at the bottem larryin, we brought a grand load of sheep out of Castlebar yesterday. Some days are diamonds.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 26, 2019, 12:45:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 26, 2019, 03:37:40 AM
Our subs were a damn sight better the Mayowestros'
Fair play Ross, I can't have any complaints..better team won.
I really can see ye winning Connacht- I know Galway won't be as clueless as Mayo but ye have a young and talented side and the win last night will bring them on to no end.
It seems LIam Mac isn't just a pretty face after all. He was right about Ross being a very young but talented side and he was right about Ultan Harney too.
As for Mayo, dunno what will happen next. With their vast experience they should have been able to close that game out a long time before the end. Same old failing since before Horan's first time as manager-  you might say a tendency to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.
Anyway, I'm gonna take the bow wow for a good long walk and forget about football - for now anyway.
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2019, 01:13:43 PM
I suppose it was a case of the team with the best forwards winning.
Galway will hardly kick as many sides as ye're bucks did.
Post by: weareros on May 26, 2019, 01:18:59 PM
Still trying to come back down to earth. The seeds of this victory were sown when Seani Mac called bullshit on the county boards preferred management choice. We are blessed to have Cunningham and he had the players in the right physical shape and got the matchups right. As expected lost midfield but Tadgh in particular disrupted a lot of Mayo's rhythm so the impact not as much. With the experience on our bench, felt if we were still in game with 15 mins to go, we would win. To that end was delighted to see our last two minors of 2006 on the pitch with Fintan getting the winning point  and Devaney dispossessed Keegan twice at crucial times. Thought Gough was decent but awarded Mayo a point that was wide and gave a very soft free to make it a draw as Ruane was backing into Stack and then fell into him. Mayo are still a top 4 team but they will need to rein in their media heads like David Brady, also need to let young players time to develop instead of blowing them up too early, and it's questionable that their backs can win on one to one situations when up against good forwards. But wish ye luck in qualifiers and would not be surprised to meet again. Look forward to being in Salthill in a few weeks, a ground I actually like despite the usually adverse weather.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 26, 2019, 01:25:11 PM
Mayo have gone out to 16/1 to win the All Ireland. That is probably the longest odds Mayo have had since 2012.
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2019, 01:32:08 PM
Yes Weareros Devaney made several excellent vital dispossessions.
And Yes again that it's great to have a good manager.
Post by: moysider on May 26, 2019, 03:30:10 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 26, 2019, 01:13:43 PM

Disagree. Roscommon's system won the day. Galway will play blanket and Ros. forwards will have an entirely different proposition the next day. Only James Horan could think it is still a good idea ( 7 years after Michael Murphy) to play 2 at the back and a 3 man full forward line. His generosity is legendary. 
Post by: weareros on May 26, 2019, 03:39:26 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 26, 2019, 03:30:10 PM

Disagree. Roscommon's system won the day. Galway will play blanket and Ros. forwards will have an entirely different proposition the next day. Only James Horan could think it is still a good idea ( 7 years after Michael Murphy) to play 2 at the back and a 3 man full forward line. His generosity is legendary.

Based on some comments on Mayogaablog, poor Horan went from the messiah on Friday to the pariah on Sunday.
Post by: moysider on May 26, 2019, 04:17:28 PM
Quote from: weareros on May 26, 2019, 03:39:26 PM

Based on some comments on Mayogaablog, poor Horan went from the messiah on Friday to the pariah on Sunday.

In fairness he had a shocker. Horan has always been brave as a manager - a bit of a gambler. For a start the selection of Hennelly is always a gamble. You factor in his contribution from kick-out and frees is worth more than the possibility/probability even, of a costly blunder. Well, we know how that went yesterday. Playing two on two at the back is another calamity waiting to happen.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 26, 2019, 05:30:18 PM
Plenty of overreaction as usual, things are neither as rosy as they were after the league final or as bleak as they are now.

For any of the neutrals watching last night, there were two fouls by Roscommon as we were coming out which both received a yellow but one definitely and possibly both looked like blacks to me. What was the neutral opinion on those?
Post by: weareros on May 26, 2019, 05:53:53 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 26, 2019, 04:17:28 PM

In fairness he had a shocker. Horan has always been brave as a manager - a bit of a gambler. For a start the selection of Hennelly is always a gamble. You factor in his contribution from kick-out and frees is worth more than the possibility/probability even, of a costly blunder. Well, we know how that went yesterday. Playing two on two at the back is another calamity waiting to happen.

To me Clark has a far worse kickout and I think we would have won a lot more ball if he was playing. While Hennelly had an off day with long range frees, who else has Mayo to put a 45 over. He saved Mayo's Div 1 status 2 years ago when he was putting them over. Wouldn't be too hard on the lad.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 26, 2019, 06:04:40 PM
I didn't see that coming but well done to Roscommon on a hard earned win. I thought Some Mayo players looked shell-shocked by the literally hands-on intensity of some Roscommon players almost like they weren't expecting it?

Gough who i think is one of the better refs  did not have a great day and I thought Ros came out on the wrong side of it,  and could have plenty of complaints if the result went against them.

Roscommon bench was far stronger and made more of a impact but then again on another day Diarmuid Murtagh,Fintan Cregg,Conor Devaney,Donie Smith,Brian Stack and Enda Smith would all be starters so plenty of selection head aches for Cunnigham in 3 weeks. ironic that the match winning score came from one the 2006 minor All Ireland winners.

Mayo should regroup to reach the last 8 few if any sides in the qualifiers will be as strong as Mayo but if they reach the last 8 will need the likes of Boyle,C O Connor,Vaughan back as panel isn't as strong in depth as it was made up to be this spring. 
Post by: giveballaghback on May 26, 2019, 08:34:02 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 26, 2019, 05:30:18 PM
Plenty of overreaction as usual, things are neither as rosy as they were after the league final or as bleak as they are now.

For any of the neutrals watching last night, there were two fouls by Roscommon as we were coming out which both received a yellow but one definitely and possibly both looked like blacks to me. What was the neutral opinion on those?
After watching cynical Mayo the last 6 years it would be
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
Post by: moysider on May 27, 2019, 01:55:17 AM
Quote from: weareros on May 26, 2019, 05:53:53 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 26, 2019, 04:17:28 PM

To me Clark has a far worse kickout and I think we would have won a lot more ball if he was playing. While Hennelly had an off day with long range frees, who else has Mayo to put a 45 over. He saved Mayo's Div 1 status 2 years ago when he was putting them over. Wouldn't be too hard on the lad.

Of course you wouldn't!

Neither am I. He is what he is. Roscommon winning more ball would not have been that critical. It would have meant that Mayo would have got more realistic defensively, instead of a daft, unorganised, scrambled defence we saw all evening.
Horan got sucked into a rope a dope scenario that he didn't have to. From a Mayo point of view it was a train wreck of game management.
Post by: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 06:31:36 AM
Of course Mayo defensive structure was inadequate ,stupid and a complete nonsense tbh but Harrison was cleaned and not for the first time in his career .

How can you give that last free to Kevin Mac. He misses simple frees regularly , I can recall one as recent as the last home league game v Monaghan kicking into the Albany end also.conor loftus was on the pitch , Regan shouldn't of been off the pitch for that reason alone .

Bad day at the office for James horan .

Be a lot of unhappy investors from across the Atlantic  .

Well done to Roscommon though better team and I think they are now entitled to be recognised as a better team than Mayo.

The only positive you could take from the weekend is in the context of rebuilding , we only lost by a point and both our u-17&u-20 teams beat Roscommon comfortably.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 27, 2019, 07:49:17 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 06:31:36 AM
Of course Mayo defensive structure was inadequate ,stupid and a complete nonsense tbh but Harrison was cleaned and not for the first time in his career .

How can you give that last free to Kevin Mac. He misses simple frees regularly , I can recall one as recent as the last home league game v Monaghan kicking into the Albany end also.conor loftus was on the pitch , Regan shouldn't of been off the pitch for that reason alone .

Well done to Roscommon though better team and I think they are now entitled to be recognised as a better team than Mayo.

The only positive you could take from the weekend is in the context of rebuilding , we only lost by a point and both our u-17&u-20 teams beat Roscommon comfortably.
It wasn't even a free.
Post by: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 09:08:19 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on May 27, 2019, 07:49:17 AM

It wasn't even a free.

Perhaps it shouldn't of been but it was awarded so it's nowt to do with my point
Post by: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 09:18:17 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 09:08:19 AM

It wasn't even a free.

Perhaps it shouldn't of been but it was awarded so it's nowt to do with my point

He's a bit obsessed with that last free! He'll be ok once it sinks in that Roscommon won the game.
Post by: TheGreatest on May 27, 2019, 10:19:59 AM
Didnt see that coming, will hold comment as i can see and hear the discust of Mayo fans. They have been through enough,

However, qualifiers could be blessing.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 27, 2019, 11:17:51 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 09:18:17 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 09:08:19 AM

It wasn't even a free.

He's a bit obsessed with that last free! He'll be ok once it sinks in that Roscommon won the game.
it was the classic GAA referee 'give a chance to tie up the game' instead of just enforcing the rules
Post by: Rossfan on May 27, 2019, 11:45:40 AM
Still feels good this morning.

Post by: Maroon Manc on May 27, 2019, 12:12:31 PM
If someone had shown you the kickout & shooting stats after the game you'd have assumed Mayo would have won by at least 5 or 6 points. I can't recall any other championship match in recent years where the team who dominated both stats ended up getting beat, it shouldn't happen.

Its some achievement by Roscommon to win that game considering how dreadful they were on their own kickouts, won that game despite living on scraps. They kicked 7 points from play, 4 of them were fantastic individual efforts including the 3 from Cox. Roscommon's first goal would remind you of the goal Dublin scored against Mayo in the league, Higgins letting the main inside him but the other Mayo defender in the picture been dragged out of position far too easily, think it was Barrett. Brilliant finish by Cregg in fairness. How has Cox not seen more game time for Kerry in recent years, a huge mistake on their part; I know who'd i'd least like to mark out of JOD, BJ Keane & Cox. I know many had said it but been able to bring on Murtagh & Enda Smith when they were still ahead was a huge boost to those on the pitch, gave them huge belief.

We were told Horan has learned from his time out of the game, wasn't much evidence of that on Saturday night.

Post by: rosnarun on May 27, 2019, 12:34:05 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 27, 2019, 12:12:31 PM
If someone had shown you the kickout & shooting stats after the game you'd have assumed Mayo would have won by at least 5 or 6 points. I can't recall any other championship match in recent years where the team who dominated both stats ended up getting beat, it shouldn't happen.

Its some achievement by Roscommon to win that game considering how dreadful they were on their own kickouts, won that game despite living on scraps. They kicked 7 points from play, 4 of them were fantastic individual efforts including the 3 from Cox. Roscommon's first goal would remind you of the goal Dublin scored against Mayo in the league, Higgins letting the main inside him but the other Mayo defender in the picture been dragged out of position far too easily, think it was Barrett. Brilliant finish by Cregg in fairness. How has Cox not seen more game time for Kerry in recent years, a huge mistake on their part; I know who'd i'd least like to mark out of JOD, BJ Keane & Cox.

We were told Horan has learned from his time out of the game, wasn't much evidence of that on Saturday night.

before people  lose the run of them selves about mayo's defensive frailties Roscommon got 7 points from play (at least 3 would fall into miracle category) to mayo's 14 .
the 2 major factor in mayos loss were the  goals and our weakness from free . had Cillian been playing they would have won well or even if if hennelly  had a have decent game from free they would have won ,#
but they didn't and that's how games are won and lost .
Mayo can take a huge amount from Saturday  Darren coen was excellent Plunket really drove thing towards the end and Ruane conformed he is a inter county player ,
on the down side andy looked a bit slow and we still need a full back,
slagging  off Horan at this point is plain stupid
Post by: Blowitupref on May 27, 2019, 12:39:33 PM
2-12 (18) last Saturday was the biggest score a Horan side has conceded in MacHale Park in the championship and his first defeat in Connacht i think its fair to say Connacht has become a bit more competitive from the provincial championship he left in 2014.

2-7 (13) from play Roscommon scored in comparison Galway in the last 3 years in the Connacht championship scored 1-9, 0-7 and 1-9 from play v Mayo and two of those games was against 14 men. Galway of course play very different to Roscommon as they look break even in midfield and have a big focus on holding a team to a low score.
Post by: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 01:37:19 PM
No panic , not looking for horans head but there is no denying he had a bad game .
Post by: Rossfan on May 27, 2019, 01:39:28 PM
Time ye sent for Maughtan  ;D
Post by: ck on May 27, 2019, 01:50:44 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 01:37:19 PM
No panic , not looking for horans head but there is no denying he had a bad game .

Best thing that happened Horan. Expectation will drop, he'll get a run of games together in low pressure environment and will be there in super 8's and shake up beyond. Only a fool would rule out Mayo despite Rossie game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 27, 2019, 02:03:19 PM
Quote from: ck on May 27, 2019, 01:50:44 PM

Best thing that happened Horan. Expectation will drop, he'll get a run of games together in low pressure environment and will be there in super 8's and shake up beyond. Only a fool would rule out Mayo despite Rossie game.

If Mayo are to reach the last eight (i think they will) they will have to play 5 games in 5 weeks. 3 qualifiers and round 1 and 2 of the super 8s. With that in mind the best thing that could have happened for Horan was getting to the last eight via the front door and where the Connacht winner has a 4 week break before the All Ireland series starts.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 02:10:44 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 27, 2019, 02:03:19 PM

If Mayo are to reach the last eight (i think they will) they will have to play 5 games in 5 weeks. 3 qualifiers and round 1 and 2 of the super 8s. With that in mind the best thing that could have happened for Horan was getting to the last eight via the front door and where the Connacht winner has a 4 week break before the All Ireland series starts.

We'll be ok. Horan has added to the panel this year. We have the strongest squad we've had in years. They will be well able to cope with the fixture congestion.
Post by: Tubberman on May 27, 2019, 02:13:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 02:10:44 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 27, 2019, 02:03:19 PM

We'll be ok. Horan has added to the panel this year. We have the strongest squad we've had in years. They will be well able to cope with the fixture congestion.

We should have been well able to cope with Roscommon too, but that didn't happen.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 27, 2019, 02:28:51 PM
What's the age profile of the Mayo team these days?
Post by: Randy on May 27, 2019, 02:31:35 PM

Something that is bothering me is that there appears to be very little interaction with his selectors during the game. Another thing is that some of the fundamentals appear to have been completely over looked i.e not having identified free takers in advance instead of the nonsense we seen with O'Connor taking the ball off Loftus and giving it to MacLoughin. He also did not use his allocation of subs. Maybe there was no one better to put on but jeez you would think fresh legs at the end would have helped.
Post by: rosnarun on May 27, 2019, 02:38:40 PM
Quote from: Randy on May 27, 2019, 02:31:35 PM

Something that is bothering me is that there appears to be very little interaction with his selectors during the game. Another thing is that some of the fundamentals appear to have been completely over looked i.e not having identified free takers in advance instead of the nonsense we seen with O'Connor taking the ball off Loftus and giving it to MacLoughin. He also did not use his allocation of subs. Maybe there was no one better to put on but jeez you would think fresh legs at the end would have helped.

if its fools your looking for this is just the place w, we have an abundance of them here.

tere was no confusion over the free Diarmid as Captain made a call that McLaughlin would take it from the right had side . if it had gone over it woulf have been an example of great leadership . but it didn't and thems the breaks 
Post by: Randy on May 27, 2019, 02:56:54 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 27, 2019, 02:38:40 PM
Quote from: Randy on May 27, 2019, 02:31:35 PM

if its fools your looking for this is just the place w, we have an abundance of them here.

tere was no confusion over the free Diarmid as Captain made a call that McLaughlin would take it from the right had side . if it had gone over it woulf have been an example of great leadership . but it didn't and thems the breaks

I thought there was confusion over the free when lLftus went over to take it. The point i was making was that i thought there would be no confusion because details like that would be worked out in advance?
Post by: highorlow on May 27, 2019, 03:17:25 PM
QuoteI thought there was confusion over the free when lLftus went over to take it. The point i was making was that i thought there would be no confusion because details like that would be worked out in advance?

The only confusion over a 30 yard free is how an inter county player misses the thing. FFS from under 10's on you are told to aim for the far post. He missed it on the near post. f**king cat.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 27, 2019, 03:28:54 PM
Quote from: highorlow on May 27, 2019, 03:17:25 PM
QuoteI thought there was confusion over the free when lLftus went over to take it. The point i was making was that i thought there would be no confusion because details like that would be worked out in advance?

The only confusion over a 30 yard free is how an inter county player misses the thing. FFS from under 10's on you are told to aim for the far post. He missed it on the near post. f**king cat.

100% this.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 27, 2019, 03:54:36 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 27, 2019, 02:28:51 PM

A lot younger than the starting team the last two years i can imagine but i don't think the likes of McCormack,Boland,McDonagh,Diskin,Plunkett,Tracey will reach the heights or consistency of Boyle,Higgins,S O'Shea,A Moran etc at their peaks.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 05:23:23 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 27, 2019, 03:28:54 PM
Quote from: highorlow on May 27, 2019, 03:17:25 PM

100% this.

He can't help it he's from Knockmore!
Post by: whitey on May 27, 2019, 05:29:07 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 27, 2019, 03:54:36 PM

A lot younger than the starting team the last two years i can imagine but i don't think the likes of McCormack,Boland,McDonagh,Diskin,Plunkett,Tracey will reach the heights or consistency of Boyle,Higgins,S O'Shea,A Moran etc at their peaks.

A good run through the qualifiers and give the young guys a good run out. Time for them to $hit or get off the pot
Post by: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 06:03:07 PM

Andy didn't peak till 2012 got injured and probably had his best years 30 plus then . Poty 2016 was it ?

Boyler was that poor he was dropped from the panel in 2009/10 was it  . Horan came in and revived his career . Best days late 20s

Higgins was brilliant from young age granted.

Sos again mid to late 20s peaked.

Point is , there is plenty of time for the newbies  and it's the one positive you can take from hopefully getting at least two qualifiers we can let the young lads play , if horan doesn't approach it like that I give up on him.

Respe, Cillian , Carr would be my ff line for the next game . With diskin getting on at some point.  Fionn mcdinagh would be added to hf line . McLaughlin , Doherty and Darren coen to be dropped . Corn might seem like an odd choice but no need to play him the next day , hell be fine enough for the next one .

Eoin o donghue and James McCormack should also start the next one . Good game for seamie to come back for and fine tune match fitness at the brothers expense.

Start slingerman in goals .

Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 27, 2019, 07:41:08 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 06:03:07 PM

Andy didn't peak till 2012 got injured and probably had his best years 30 plus then . Poty 2016 was it ?

Boyler was that poor he was dropped from the panel in 2009/10 was it  . Horan came in and revived his career . Best days late 20s

Point is , there is plenty of time for the newbies  and it's the one positive you can take from hopefully getting at least two qualifiers we can let the young lads play , if horan doesn't approach it like that I give up on him.

Respe, Cillian , Carr would be my ff line for the next game . With diskin getting on at some point.  Fionn mcdinagh would be added to hf line . McLaughlin , Doherty and Darren coen to be dropped . Corn might seem like an odd choice but no need to play him the next day , hell be fine enough for the next one .

Eoin o donghue and James McCormack should also start the next one . Good game for seamie to come back for and fine tune match fitness at the brothers expense.

Where has Ryan O'Donoghue gone to? Eoin O'Donoghue should be in corner back. Push Higgins up the field.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 08:06:55 PM

Jez Larry, Hope springs eternal. We are back to where Mayo football was circa 2004-2006. We have a few decent players, we have a few coming through and we have a heap getting near or past their use by date. Some of these getting near their use by date are not that old, but they have been through a lot of grueling campaigns since 2011. Since 2015 this has been further compounded by going through the back door.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 27, 2019, 09:40:53 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 27, 2019, 12:34:05 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 27, 2019, 12:12:31 PM

Its some achievement by Roscommon to win that game considering how dreadful they were on their own kickouts, won that game despite living on scraps. They kicked 7 points from play, 4 of them were fantastic individual efforts including the 3 from Cox. Roscommon's first goal would remind you of the goal Dublin scored against Mayo in the league, Higgins letting the main inside him but the other Mayo defender in the picture been dragged out of position far too easily, think it was Barrett. Brilliant finish by Cregg in fairness. How has Cox not seen more game time for Kerry in recent years, a huge mistake on their part; I know who'd i'd least like to mark out of JOD, BJ Keane & Cox.

before people  lose the run of them selves about mayo's defensive frailties Roscommon got 7 points from play (at least 3 would fall into miracle category) to mayo's 14 .
the 2 major factor in mayos loss were the  goals and our weakness from free . had Cillian been playing they would have won well or even if if hennelly  had a have decent game from free they would have won ,#
but they didn't and that's how games are won and lost .
Mayo can take a huge amount from Saturday  Darren coen was excellent Plunket really drove thing towards the end and Ruane conformed he is a inter county player ,
on the down side andy looked a bit slow and we still need a full back,
slagging  off Horan at this point is plain stupid
The only miracle point on Saturday evening was that point of Coens that was in fact about a foot wide.
Post by: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 10:35:12 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on May 27, 2019, 07:41:08 PM

Where has Ryan O'Donoghue gone to? Eoin O'Donoghue should be in corner back. Push Higgins up the field.

No sense going into detail only to say he didn't keep discipline
Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 27, 2019, 11:13:55 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 27, 2019, 10:35:12 PM

No sense going into detail only to say he didn't keep discipline

That a pity. A good soccer player too.
Post by: NetNitrate on May 28, 2019, 12:59:50 AM

Weren't you the expert saying Mayo by 20 points in first gear. I hope they will not be listening to your advice. I would worry more about Kerry as the league may also have made them think they are better than they are.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 28, 2019, 01:04:47 AM
Quote from: NetNitrate on May 28, 2019, 12:59:50 AM

Weren't you the expert saying Mayo by 20 points in first gear. I hope they will not be listening to your advice. I would worry more about Kerry as the league may also have made them think they are better than they are.

Sure we didn't turn up for league final and nearly got the win only for great Hennelly save.  It nice to be going in as underdogs against Clare on Saturday night. Munster wont be walk over this year.
Post by: rosnarun on May 28, 2019, 11:26:25 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 27, 2019, 08:06:55 PM

Jez Larry, Hope springs eternal. We are back to where Mayo football was circa 2004-2006. We have a few decent players, we have a few coming through and we have a heap getting near or past their use by date. Some of these getting near their use by date are not that old, but they have been through a lot of grueling campaigns since 2011. Since 2015 this has been further compounded by going through the back door.

jeez they lose a match by 1 point and you want to drop 8 players including or top scorer and the best midfielder in the country . I know it was only the rossies  but can you imagine the well deserved Flack horan would get if he did any thing so crazy .
you seem to be basing it on the assumption we will have many more games  this year but un less they take it a lot more seriouslythan you do ,  half them will be on a plane to the  US in a matter of weeks
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2019, 12:24:08 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 28, 2019, 11:26:25 AM

jeez they lose a match by 1 point and you want to drop 8 players including or top scorer and the best midfielder in the country . I know it was only the rossies  but can you imagine the well deserved Flack horan would get if he did any thing so crazy .
you seem to be basing it on the assumption we will have many more games  this year but un less they take it a lot more seriouslythan you do ,  half them will be on a plane to the  US in a matter of weeks
Problem is that it was only Roscommon.
Roscommon didn't read the script; they didn't come only to make up numbers but with every intention of winning. I guess Cunningham knew all wasn't well in Mayo and they were there for the aking.
Mayo didn't have a plan B- looks like they hadn't a plan A either- old doubts and weaknesses showed up and  that's my worry. Roscommon got two lucky goals and Mayo panicked. That's the simple version and I don't mean to insult Roscommon either.
But can you imagine Dublin leaving themselves so wide at the back? Harrison got roasted because he was left on his own with nobody prepared to come in and back him up. He got turned time after time.
It seemed to me that it was every man for himself after the two quick goals, against the run of play, and Mayo well and truly lost the plot. That's not what you'd expect from a top team and Mayo, with a few exceptions,  are the most experienced side in the land.  If you can't put away the opposition when you get in top, you haven't a hope of winning an All Ireland.
I was a bit uneasy coming into this game. I was certain Roscommon would give it everything they got but you can never say the same about Mayo.
I felt they hammered Kerry in both of their last games - everywhere else except on the scoreboard. Kerry come have snuck that final but for one heroic save by Hennelly. I know a win is a win and that's what mattered most but Mayo can make hard work out of scraping wins when they could have won by double figures if they held their bottle.
Whatever the problem may be, wholesale changes for the next day won't solve anything. Mayo's problems go deeper than that.
Dunno who they will play the next day and I can't feel confident about the result whether its against a division one or a division three or four team. Whoever it is anyway, the game will be Mayo's to win or lose.

Post by: rosnarun on May 28, 2019, 12:32:22 PM
mayo always need more chances than the opposition to win games . even the junior team on Saturday has he same flaw? its just part of Mayo DNA.
that's why a top class free taker is so important  to mayo which we have blessed with for years from Mortk Maurice cillian ETC , but when they re not there we struggle. but still 17s point last week was not a bad return . it was the goals and mayos lack of goals that killed them
Post by: weareros on May 28, 2019, 01:37:54 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2019, 12:24:08 PM

Roscommon didn't read the script; they didn't come only to make up numbers but with every intention of winning. I guess Cunningham knew all wasn't well in Mayo and they were there for the aking.
Mayo didn't have a plan B- looks like they hadn't a plan A either- old doubts and weaknesses showed up and  that's my worry. Roscommon got two lucky goals and Mayo panicked.

Two lucky goals. Two rotten goals was it Joe Brolly called them. For Cregg's, I can't help thinking if a Kerry or Dublin lad scored that they would be oooh and aaghing about the killer pass, the catch, the blistering pace that left the back for dead, the cleverness of the two inside forwards pulling their men out of position, the unstoppable shot.

Even Harney's goal, while a terrible mistake from the kickout, many forwards in Glennon's position on his championship debut after receiving the pass from Harney and one on one with the goalie would have shot and possibly missed from a tight angle, or took the easy option and punched over the bar, but he still had the presence to pause and give the return to Harney, who himself had the presence to followup for the return pass. There was still a bit of clinical play required to execute that goal.

Media analysis has been very lazy with the narrative of lucky goals, in particular Cregg's which I thought a brilliant goal, and personally delighted for him.

Post by: dublin7 on May 28, 2019, 01:52:36 PM
Quote from: weareros on May 28, 2019, 01:37:54 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2019, 12:24:08 PM

Mayo didn't have a plan B- looks like they hadn't a plan A either- old doubts and weaknesses showed up and  that's my worry. Roscommon got two lucky goals and Mayo panicked.

Two lucky goals. Two rotten goals was it Joe Brolly called them. For Cregg's, I can't help thinking if a Kerry or Dublin lad scored that they would be oooh and aaghing about the killer pass, the catch, the blistering pace that left the back for dead, the cleverness of the two inside forwards pulling their men out of position, the unstoppable shot.

Even Harney's goal, while a terrible mistake from the kickout, many forwards in Glennon's position on his championship debut after receiving the pass from Harney and one on one with the goalie would have shot and possibly missed from a tight angle, or took the easy option and punched over the bar, but he still had the presence to pause and give the return to Harney, who himself had the presence to followup for the return pass. There was still a bit of clinical play required to execute that goal.

Media analysis has been very lazy with the narrative of lucky goals, in particular Cregg's which I thought a brilliant goal, and personally delighted for him.

1st goal was a great finish, but the Mayo defending was awful. Higgins got caught ball watching and then Barrett for some stupid reason follows his man away from goal leaving Cregg 1 on 1 with the keeper. If he stays in front of goal, Cregg has to beat him for the goal chance or lay it off. Instead he made it easy for him.

2nd goal was well finished, but it was created thanks to a complete howler by Hennelly.

Either way it's perfectly reasonable to criticise Mayo for conceding both of the goals
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2019, 02:19:09 PM
Was nothing lucky about the 1st goal it was piece of individual brilliance from Cathal Cregg. 2nd goal was an error by hennelly but let's not forget O' Malley gave away a few scores also with his wayward kick outs.

The two goals conceded weren't fatal for Mayo, matter of fact they led 0-17 to 2-10 with 60 minutes on the clock. Main question that needs to be asked is why were they held scoreless for the final 15 minutes (five minutes of injury time included) and why did so little impact come from the bench?

The winning score was a prime example of a team wanting it more on the night. A superb block down by Niall Daly, great energy and pace to move the ball up the field and Fintan Cregg  made the ultimate impact off the bench to kick a long distance winner.
Post by: Rossfan on May 28, 2019, 04:14:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2019, 11:24:47 AM
It Was great to be there whether it's their swansong or not we'll have to wait and see.
Our 2 goals really settled us in and we nearly had a third.
I thought we were goosed when they levelled and then went 1 up and the "Mayomayo" chant went up.
But we're made of sterner stuff this year,  defended well kept them scoreless for the last 15 minutes or so of playing time and what about Fintan's winner?
Not to forget Devaney's dispossesions and the block by (Niall?) Daly on Demi god.
Now that the buzz has faded -cold light of day they had 16 points, 1 wide given as a point and 15 or 17 official wides so 32 or 34 attempts.
We had 14 scores and 9 wides =23.
Galway won't have that many sides so a lot to work on in midfield and defence.
Was talking to a panelist who feels the Buzz is back in the camp like it was in July 2017.
By the way some of the Ros lads might confirm but I saw somewhere we only had 3 starters from last year's Connacht Final.
But bejases we had some subs to bring on.
Post by: oliverkelly on May 28, 2019, 04:18:47 PM
Yeah Murray, O'Rourke and Kilroy only three lads that started Saturday that started final last year.
Post by: Rossfan on May 28, 2019, 04:23:19 PM
Jazes thats some statistic!!
Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2019, 04:58:41 PM
amazing stat. Aboviously we're in a different place (and got a different result) but for our game against Galway we had only 5 starters from the previous year.
Post by: larryin89 on May 28, 2019, 05:33:37 PM
I'm not so sure how these phrases are interpreted in Gaelic football . Swansong , does that mean it's the end of the road for a few of the lads who have battled like warriors the last few years or does it mean the end of Mayo football .

If it's the latter , I very much doubt that will be the case ala 51- 85 type thing where mayo were a poor  team and were not very competitive at all .

There are structures in place to see this doesn't happen and it has been improved dramatically the last 18 months .

US trip proved a financial success also albeit that's only rumour I have for now (million achieved )

We will be grand in the long term , short term ,it's hard to know.

I do know this , it was two years ago I was sat in the croke park hotel in the front lobby as a few mayo players came in after drawing with ros , one player said quietly to a couple of us  " we"ll make mince meat of them in the replay "  . His arrogance really impressed me and I made a right few quid out of it .

If I were a rossie I'd keep my powder dry for a while and see how it all pans out.
Post by: Rudi on May 28, 2019, 05:55:27 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 28, 2019, 05:33:37 PM
I'm not so sure how these phrases are interpreted in Gaelic football . Swansong , does that mean it's the end of the road for a few of the lads who have battled like warriors the last few years or does it mean the end of Mayo football .

If it's the latter , I very much doubt that will be the case ala 51- 85 type thing where mayo were a poor  team and were not very competitive at all .

There are structures in place to see this doesn't happen and it has been improved dramatically the last 18 months .

US trip proved a financial success also albeit that's only rumour I have for now (million achieved )

I do know this , it was two years ago I was sat in the croke park hotel in the front lobby as a few mayo players came in after drawing with ros , one player said quietly to a couple of us  " we"ll make mince meat of them in the replay "  . His arrogance really impressed me and I made a right few quid out of it .

If I were a rossie I'd keep my powder dry for a while and see how it all pans out.

More of the usual Mayo supporter shite talk. Have being hearing this ungracious dung for years. This is the reason most Rossies and a growing number of neutrals don't want to see Mayo winning an All Ireland. Shame on you can you not just let us enjoy  our day in the sun, you could just say nothing.

Lucky goals is another one the first was class the second was well executed. Also the abuse Mayo supporters give their own goalkeeper is disgusting and shocking. Hennelly saved Mayo with s catch over the posts in 2011 he also pulled off a decent save from Andy Glennon when the defence went AWOL.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2019, 07:40:56 PM
I very much doubt that will be the case ala 51- 85 type thing where mayo were a poor  team and were not very competitive at all .

I this read elsewhere.

1959 was the last occasion Mayo went four years without reaching the provincial decider.
From the highs of the county’s second-ever Connacht five-in-a-row (2011-15), Mayo have now endured their worst provincial run in over half a century.
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2019, 09:10:56 PM
I watched that last free for Mayo again. It was not a deserved free, there was no foul by the Ros defender, he maintained a discipline tackle, just as well the free was missed, perhaps the most spectacular miss since Dessie Dolan broke a million hearts all those years ago.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 28, 2019, 09:17:04 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 28, 2019, 05:55:27 PM

More of the usual Mayo supporter shite talk. Have being hearing this ungracious dung for years. This is the reason most Rossies and a growing number of neutrals don't want to see Mayo winning an All Ireland. Shame on you can you not just let us enjoy  our day in the sun, you could just say nothing.

Lucky goals is another one the first was class the second was well executed. Also the abuse Mayo supporters give their own goalkeeper is disgusting and shocking. Hennelly saved Mayo with s catch over the posts in 2011 he also pulled off a decent save from Andy Glennon when the defence went AWOL.

What part are you angry about Rudi? The last paragraph? The scoreboard doesn't lie. Ye made the most out of the chances ye were given. We definitely didn't.

But you gotta beat Galway to follow on from this.
Post by: Manning18 on May 28, 2019, 10:49:50 PM

Mayo fans would've been going into the bookies with butter vouchers at that stage, given how the year had gone to that point punting wise? Had a few bottle caps on the -3 at 10/11 did ya?
Post by: maigheo on May 29, 2019, 03:01:34 AM
I see Brehony rehashing the ouster of Holmes and Connelly in the Sindo as one of the reasons for the loss to Ros.  It still remains one of the great mysteries of life as to how he became the chief GAA writer for a national newspaper and gets paid to write these articles
Post by: larryin89 on May 29, 2019, 06:19:32 AM
100% enjoy your win , it was 100% deserved . All I was pointing out was that it was a Connacht semi final , your ambitions go beyond that surely (not taking away from how sweet a victory it must of been) .

If Mayo went further in the championship than both Galway and Roscommon like 2016 & 17 , Connacht wins seem less relevant ,now if the opposite happens which is looking most likely then Connacht wins look relevant and meaningful.

Keep your hair on lad
Post by: macdanger2 on May 29, 2019, 12:04:47 PM
Quote from: maigheo on May 29, 2019, 03:01:34 AM
I see Brehony rehashing the ouster of Holmes and Connelly in the Sindo as one of the reasons for the loss to Ros.  It still remains one of the great mysteries of life as to how he became the chief GAA writer for a national newspaper and gets paid to write these articles

I see where you went wrong here
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 29, 2019, 01:58:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 28, 2019, 09:10:56 PM
I watched that last free for Mayo again. It was not a deserved free, there was no foul by the Ros defender, he maintained a discipline tackle, just as well the free was missed, perhaps the most spectacular miss since Dessie Dolan broke a million hearts all those years ago.

Justice was certainly done on that missed free. Mayo's 13th point looked well wide I thought also.  Cavan,Roscommon,Limerick all winning against the odds this summer hopefully a few more underdogs earn wins this summer as wins like that makes any competition great. 

Post by: Tubberman on May 29, 2019, 02:02:25 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 29, 2019, 01:58:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 28, 2019, 09:10:56 PM

Justice was certainly done on that missed free. Mayo's 13th point looked well wide I thought also.  Cavan,Roscommon,Limerick all winning against the odds this summer hopefully a few more underdogs earn wins this summer as wins like that makes any competition great. 

The point from Coen looked like it was over the post at best - was very surprised it was given. Cunningham was hopping! 
Post by: Ball Hopper on May 29, 2019, 02:26:58 PM
Did anyone else see the double hop before Andy Moran took a pass and kicked a point? 
Post by: rosnarun on May 29, 2019, 02:46:54 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on May 29, 2019, 02:26:58 PM
Did anyone else see the double hop before Andy Moran took a pass and kicked a point? 
Seeing as were being pedantic
did any one see the rossies acting like scumbags just before half time .
though of course Gough not a clue what to do booked 2  from either side , at least 3 ros players should have walked
Post by: Manning18 on May 29, 2019, 02:53:13 PM

Yep I spotted it at the time. Roscommon could certainly have had grievances had they not got the result.

David Gough once again likes to be the star of the show. He's being praised now (as was his intention), for letting the game flow. Every other referee would've given the majority of those instances as fouls. Yet Gough thinks hes 'ahead of the game', and lets it go. Either Gough is right and every other ref needs to be retrained or Gough is wrong. He cant just rewrite the rules. With hilarious irony, he is completely picky on all the little things, like very slight contact off the ball, handpasses, steps, stuff that gets him attention, and then is completely unpicky when people are clashing and fouls on the man in possession.
Post by: RossieBull on May 29, 2019, 04:11:40 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 29, 2019, 02:46:54 PM
though of course Gough not a clue what to do booked 2  from either side , at least 3 ros players should have walked

Scumbags 🤣🤣🤣

When has a Ros player being sent off for a disgusting elbow into the face or a punch into the balls?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on May 29, 2019, 04:55:41 PM

+1 Colm Boyle got a dunt to the back of the head.
Post by: MayoBuck on May 29, 2019, 04:57:19 PM
Quote from: RossieBull on May 29, 2019, 04:11:40 PM

Scumbags 🤣🤣🤣

When has a Ros player being sent off for a disgusting elbow into the face or a punch into the balls?

Fintan cregg on Diarmuid O'Connor in the 2017 quarter final?
Post by: Rossfan on May 29, 2019, 05:00:11 PM
Ye don't like it when ye're stood up to eh? ;)
NO STEP BACK!!!!
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 29, 2019, 05:34:55 PM
Rossies have not had enough credit for their performance in the last 15 minutes including injury time, they had to go out and win it after going a point and a man down. I've heard that Roscommon are in better physical shape under Cunningham, is that true or has he just picked a few more stronger men than McStay did?

I don't like Gough, too many frees given for nothing; As for Saturday night, Cox's last free looked dubious enough.

Post by: Halfquarter on May 29, 2019, 06:07:24 PM
Darragh Ó Sé: Reaction to Mayo's defeat by Roscommon has been way over the top 

Donegal and Roscommon are improving but they're not real contenders 

But I'd be surprised if Mayo weren't still standing after Donegal and Roscommon have fallen away.

Darragh Ó Sé
about 11 hours ago

It was a good weekend for the teams at the level just below the top of the football championship.
I'd say it's fairly clear at this stage that Dublin are out on their own, with Tyrone, Kerry and Mayo (yes, still!) next in line. After that, you're looking at the teams who'll make it to the Super 8s but probably not a lot further – Donegal and Roscommon are in this group and they both had really impressive wins away from home.
There was a moment in Donegal's win over Fermanagh in Enniskillen that I found interesting. It was shortly after half-time and the game was still tight – I think there was only a point in it. Michael Murphy took a shot at goal for Donegal but he skied it under pressure and as the ball was in the air, you'd imagine Rory Gallagher was happy enough with life.
This is what you want from your team when you set up a blanket defence. You want to make life as uncomfortable as possible for the other team's best player so he has to resort to taking on a bad shot out of desperation. Fermanagh had everybody back and had forced this mistake.
The problem for them came as the ball fell to earth. For all the bodies Fermanagh had in the area, nobody made it their business to get under the dropping ball. There were three defenders and the goalkeeper all in the vicinity and they stood looking at it like ducks in thunder. When the ball landed, all four of them were inside the big square, with no Donegal player in alongside them and still they stood and stared.
No Fermanagh player was taking it upon himself to go and deal with it, none of them looked like they had a sense of what to do. It was as if they were stuck to the ground, as if all notions of defending had left them.

Defenders are supposed to sniff danger, to anticipate, to expect the worst and react accordingly. None of the Fermanagh players did this and they allowed Patrick McBrearty – who wasn't even in the square when the ball bounced – to nip in and punch a point.
To me, it showed the difference between a team that has got so regimented in its system and one that has moved on to the next level for a good few years at this stage.
The blanket defence will always be associated with Donegal but they don't stick to it rigidly the way Fermanagh do because they have bigger ambitions than just keeping things tight. Plus, they have players like McBrearty who can sense an opportunity.
Slick outfit
It showed too there's still a place in the game for the high ball into the square. Now obviously, this wasn't a planned move but the principle still stands.
When you launch one in there, the defence has to deal with it. You're asking them the question and if you can get fellas in there competing for it with honesty and ferocity, the answer isn't straightforward. Fermanagh had all the sweepers and all the bodies in the world back there but once they had to actually do more than just cover off space and watch for runners, they were in trouble.
Donegal are a slick outfit and they'll give Tyrone plenty of it on Saturday week. I'd still like to see Michael Murphy spend less of his time so far out the field but Declan Bonner obviously likes having him there just for his sheer presence. I can see where he's coming from – that's where the majority of the game is fought out so having your main man out where he can influence the game is understandable. But he's so good in front of goal too.
The Rossies have good players, fit and strong and hardy and they're in their fourth Connacht final in a row
The thing that struck me about Donegal and Roscommon – and about Mayo too, for all the giving out about them since Saturday – was that the basic skills of catching and kicking and punch passing were mostly on the money. That's what puts them a cut above the likes of Fermanagh, just those nitty-gritty things that keep the ball alive and on the move. Very few passes behind a fella's back, very few overhit balls dribbling out over the endline. What they make look simple is not so simple for the teams below them.
Donegal are a slick outfit and they'll give Tyrone plenty of it in the Ulster semi-final on Saturday week. Photograph: Tommy Dickson/Inpho 
Roscommon put themselves in the right position to take advantage of Mayo's shooting troubles on Saturday night. It was no massive shock they were able to do so – you can tell watching them this is a team who had been in and out of Division One football for a number of years.
I don't care if you're constantly being relegated and yo-yoing between Division One and Two, the fact they've spent plenty of time playing against the top teams and players means they know what it takes to live with them.
Cavan didn't beat Monaghan by accident either – those players have experience of looking the big teams between the eyes. Fair enough, they've taken a few beatings and got relegated again. But that's all experience. No point going through it if you don't use it down the line.
The Rossies have good players, fit and strong and hardy and they're in their fourth Connacht final in a row. They have that bit of craft and they have that bit of resilience. They always seem to take to a wet day as well, which isn't something you can say about all teams. I would fully expect to see them in the Super 8s, along with Donegal.

And despite all the doom and gloom, I would have no real doubt Mayo will be there as well. As ever, people tend to get carried away when Mayo are concerned. To me, the reaction to them getting beaten on Saturday night has been way over the top.
Silly goal
They lost by a point to a top-eight team in a game where they kicked 17 wides and gave away a silly goal from a kick-out. It's a bad result but it's no disaster either. Look at who they'll have back by the time they get to the qualifiers – Donie Vaughan, Cillian O'Connor, Seamie O'Shea and Fionn McDonagh. Does anyone really think they can't fix their shooting and start building momentum through the qualifiers? Of course they can.
That wasn't a difficult free but the Mayo players made it harder than it seemed because there was no obvious leadership around the ball 
The couple of things that would worry me from a Mayo point of view are (a) the fact Andy Moran is starting to look his age, and (b) the dithering over the free at the end. Moran still has that knack of being able to get possession in tight spots and to make a good ball out of a bad one.
But unless Mayo are able to get runners around him straight away now, he looks like getting bottled up. Defenders know his game a long time at this stage and they can tell where he wants to go. So if he doesn't have a quick option, the Mayo attack slows down. That's no use to them and they need to decide what his role is going to be.
Andy Moran: Starting to show his age and unless Mayo are able to get runners around him straight away now, he looks like getting bottled up.
You can tell it's frustrating for him. His black card was his own fault, caught in possession just that little bit slower than he'd like to be and grabbing out to trip the Roscommon player. I always think it's a tell-tale sign when a player who has never been known for indiscipline throughout his career starts getting on the wrong side of the referee. He knows the story.
That black card had consequences, as it meant he wasn't on the field to take control of the situation at the end. That wasn't a difficult free but the Mayo players made it harder than it seemed because there was no obvious leadership around the ball. Diarmuid O'Connor would have thought he was doing the right thing by telling Kevin McLoughlin it was his free but he misjudged the situation. He thought he needed a left-footed kicker when really what he needed was a leader.
Put it this way. I was watching Kieran Donaghy doing the TV broadcast of the game. Now, nobody – Donaghy included – would be making big claims about his kicking abilities and in his whole Kerry career I'd be surprised if he ever kicked a single free. But I'd have had no hesitation handing him that free on Saturday night. And he'd have been over in a flash looking for it.
Just at that moment on Saturday night, Mayo froze on the pitch when they couldn't afford to. But that's out of character for them so you can be fairly sure it won't happen again. And any team can have a bad day shooting so you'd imagine they'll patch that up as well.
All in all, it was a good weekend of Donegal and Roscommon but I'd be surprised if Mayo weren't still standing after those two have fallen away.

Post by: From the Bunker on May 29, 2019, 06:20:29 PM
The present Mayo era reminds me of the 96-99 team. Broken from their AI failures and ended up with a League title in 2001 as their swan song. Everybody though we were still the business when we won that league title that year. It was like we finally came of age when really we were seeing most of our players were reaching old age.

There is a huge fad at the moment called being ''a Mayo supporter''. It is phenomenal the support that the Mayo team get. I've seen Women and Men who would have had no interest in sport nevermind Gaelic football travel the length and breath if the country. The gas thing is most of these 'Fad' followers don't follow other games. Mayo is the only interest, and for many years they have been entertained even if the Holy Grail has not been achieved. The maddest of all recent attendance was all the Mayo people that turned up in New York for the most one sided game one could attend. This like all games is sold as ''a journey'' by the fans. The super 8's were specifically put in place to give Mayo (and Dublin) more high profile games in the Summer. An easy way for the GAA to make extra money.

The pedestal that our player are held on is a double edged sword. Through thick and thin they encourage their team on and often see then over the line. On the other hand you get the now over adulation of player like Andy Moran.   

We have had a group that spoiled us initially with easy Connacht titles and All Ireland finals. A team that were consistently good. A team that banished many of the stereotypes. During this Consistently decent era, we grew used to (what was) success (to us).  As we begin to fall from our lofty perch, we find it hard to realise that Galway and Roscommon could be now better than us, that our new recruits cannot live up to the standards the ones before set, that many of our above average stalwarts are now old and battle weary, that this team is no longer the team of September 2017 when we lost by a point to Dublin, that we might never be in that sort of place again.
Post by: larryin89 on May 29, 2019, 06:50:00 PM
It's not even two years ago though and both Ros and Galway have a lot to prove yet FFS neither have even contested a final yet
Post by: giveballaghback on May 29, 2019, 06:59:18 PM
So Ros are scumbags, and this from the same people  ie rhubarbs who were gloating about bullying Kerry gasuns in the league, I saw the 2017 quarter final mentioned there, Leeroy is such a nice fellow, Boyler got a schelp well imagine that, as Elmer Fudd said "it aint no fun when the wabbitt gets the gun"  ;D
Post by: larryin89 on May 29, 2019, 07:16:54 PM
I certainly wouldn't label them scumbags , an awful name to put on anyone unless they've done something terrible in life .
Post by: Halfquarter on May 29, 2019, 10:51:31 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 29, 2019, 07:16:54 PM
I certainly wouldn't label them scumbags , an awful name to put on anyone unless they've done something terrible in life .

I don't think he called them scumbags , he said that they were " acting like scumbags " , there is a big difference.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 29, 2019, 11:01:20 PM
Sure ye are experts on scumbags over there in rhubarb land.
Post by: moysider on May 30, 2019, 01:33:19 AM

Get a bit of perspective folks. It was a real game, like a game between 2 good teams should be like. Picking over the bones of it now is academic. What happened, happened and both teams have different fish to fry in the short term anyway.
Roscommon earned their win and that's that for me.
My personal grievance is about how we managed the game, but by articulating that it would appear disingenuous to Roscommon and that would not be my intention. The Mayo/ Roscommon curves will cross soon again. In the meantime Roscommon get on with their stuff and I am more concerned about what we do now.
Lot of  talk about Mayo in general and end of days and stuff. Well, it may be nonsense, but remains to be seen. I expected the Roscommon result and not the only one in my circle that did.
Tactically we were riddled and not for the first time, so that was no surprise. I'm getting vibes that Horan should clean the decks for qualifiers and play the kids - what kids they are thinking about I cant imagine?
Just my opinion but our problem going forward is that Horan needs to accepts his vision of the game needs to be set aside and deal with the practicalities that present themselves on any given day. Some coaches just concentrate on their own team's performance and trust in providence that what they do will be good enough. Horan appears to be like that.
Post by: joemamas on May 30, 2019, 01:43:16 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 30, 2019, 01:33:19 AM

Get a bit of perspective folks. It was a real game, like a game between 2 good teams should be like. Picking over the bones of it now is academic. What happened, happened and both teams have different fish to fry in the short term anyway.
Roscommon earned their win and that's that for me.
My personal grievance is about how we managed the game, but by articulating that it would appear disingenuous to Roscommon and that would not be my intention. The Mayo/ Roscommon curves will cross soon again. In the meantime Roscommon get on with their stuff and I am more concerned about what we do now.
Lot of  talk about Mayo in general and end of days and stuff. Well, it may be nonsense, but remains to be seen. I expected the Roscommon result and not the only one in my circle that did.
Tactically we were riddled and not for the first time, so that was no surprise. I'm getting vibes that Horan should clean the decks for qualifiers and play the kids - what kids they are thinking about I cant imagine?
Just my opinion but our problem going forward is that Horan needs to accepts his vision of the game needs to be set aside and deal with the practicalities that present themselves on any given day. Some coaches just concentrate on their own team's performance and trust in providence that what they do will be good enough. Horan appears to be like that.

Very good analysis.
Roscommon took almost all the chances they got. Good for them. They also started without some really good players.
James Horan had a poor day, which was magnified by his changes, starting with putting Andy Moran in as early as he did.
Post by: Rossfan on May 30, 2019, 01:56:27 PM

For the record an Independent Candidate native of Pakistan got around 550 1st Prefs.
A right wing anti immigrant xenophobe got 66 1st prefs..
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2019, 09:49:19 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/andy-moran-ready-again-to-take-the-road-more-travelled-1.3910138 

Andy Moran ready again to take the road more travelled Mayo player agrees to keep going at 35 and bring county back to All-Ireland contention
"We've been written off many times before. They could be right, they could be wrong but all we can do is go back training. We got back on Wednesday night and had a really good session. Prepare for three-and-a-half weeks' time and see how we get on. The journey awaits us and we just need to get on and get moving »

https://youtu.be/DKL4X0PZz7M
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 31, 2019, 10:26:33 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 31, 2019, 09:49:19 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/andy-moran-ready-again-to-take-the-road-more-travelled-1.3910138

Andy Moran ready again to take the road more travelled Mayo player agrees to keep going at 35 and bring county back to All-Ireland contention
"We've been written off many times before. They could be right, they could be wrong but all we can do is go back training. We got back on Wednesday night and had a really good session. Prepare for three-and-a-half weeks' time and see how we get on. The journey awaits us and we just need to get on and get moving »

Good man Andy. Now shut up for the rest of the year and knuckle down. Or do a Jim Gavin and waffle on about nothing at all, all of ye.
Post by: fearsiuil on May 31, 2019, 10:32:42 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 31, 2019, 10:26:33 AM

"We've been written off many times before. They could be right, they could be wrong but all we can do is go back training. We got back on Wednesday night and had a really good session. Prepare for three-and-a-half weeks' time and see how we get on. The journey awaits us and we just need to get on and get moving »

Good man Andy. Now shut up for the rest of the year and knuckle down. Or do a Jim Gavin and waffle on about nothing at all, all of ye.
Be sure to tune in to Newstalk tomorrow for their GAA chat.
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2019, 10:39:48 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 31, 2019, 10:26:33 AM

It explains why that hotel in Castlebar is called the Traveller's Friend