GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: yellowcard on May 05, 2011, 02:13:36 PM

Title: International Rules Series 2011
Post by: yellowcard on May 05, 2011, 02:13:36 PM
Can anyone tell me the dates and venues for this years compromise rules series in Australia? I was thinking of heading to Australia in October and would like to take in one of the tests if possible. I can't seem to see anything on the gaa website.
Title: Re: International Rules Series 2011
Post by: Fuzzman on May 05, 2011, 02:16:14 PM
http://www.gaa.ie/about-the-gaa/international-rules/news/2910101428-dates-confirmed-for-2011-tour-down-under/ (http://www.gaa.ie/about-the-gaa/international-rules/news/2910101428-dates-confirmed-for-2011-tour-down-under/)
Post by: HeaveHo on May 10, 2011, 08:19:45 AM
It has been recent practice for one game to be played in Perth and the other in Melbourne (usually in that order). If you are going to do the Melbourne leg then plan to stay for the Melbourne Cup which is always on the first Tuesday in November (or 1 November this year).

Post by: magpie seanie on May 10, 2011, 05:55:25 PM
This is a waste of time.
Post by: thejuice on May 10, 2011, 07:08:00 PM
The Shinty/Hurling is much better. Never saw the away leg of that last year though.
Post by: Zulu on May 10, 2011, 08:09:05 PM
The shinty/hurling is better, are you having a laugh?? That is without a doubt the worst 'sport' in the world, Christ it's basically two teams playing two different sports on the same pitch.
Post by: Jinxy on May 10, 2011, 08:42:34 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 10, 2011, 08:09:05 PM
The shinty/hurling is better, are you having a laugh?? That is without a doubt the worst 'sport' in the world, Christ it's basically two teams playing two different sports on the same pitch.

And yet it was still much more entertaining than that other pile of shite last year.
Post by: Rossfan on May 10, 2011, 09:09:18 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 10, 2011, 05:55:25 PM
This is a waste of time.

like going to Castlebar in 2010
:-[
No it's not.
Post by: Zulu on May 10, 2011, 10:17:12 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 10, 2011, 08:42:34 PM

And yet it was still much more entertaining than that other pile of shite last year.

You're entitled to your opinion but you're wrong. The IR can be hit and miss but the shinty/hurling is all miss, it has nothing to recommend it.
Post by: INDIANA on May 10, 2011, 10:25:12 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 10, 2011, 10:17:12 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 10, 2011, 08:42:34 PM

You're entitled to your opinion but you're wrong. The IR can be hit and miss but the shinty/hurling is all miss, it has nothing to recommend it.

neither does IR so its in good company then so.
Post by: Zulu on May 10, 2011, 11:16:17 PM
The IR can be poor but it has also been great and whatever anyone can say about it it is at least a single game. The other thing is akin to a tennis player playing a badminton player with each games racquet. It's an utter nonsense.
Post by: Jinxy on May 10, 2011, 11:39:43 PM
I thoroughly enjoyed the shinty last year.
Very high skill levels on both sides.
Plenty of scores and the rules encourage the Irish lads to play the ball first time on the ground.
It beats kick, stop, kick, stop, kick, stop etc. any day of the week.
International Rules is mind-numbingly boring.
Post by: Zulu on May 10, 2011, 11:46:16 PM
And I'm sure many people enjoy cricket which is also a brutal sport, though it is at least a sport. And the Irish lads take evey opportunity to pick the ball so it far from encourages ground hurling. There is skill in every game but watching two teams play different games against each other is not a good spectator sport.
Post by: qz on May 11, 2011, 08:35:51 AM
GOLD Coast has put forward a bid to host one-half of the forthcoming International Rules series against Ireland in October as Carrara prepares for its return to the Australian sporting landscape.
With the Victorian Government considering an AFL proposal to help fund an Australia-Ireland game potentially on the eve of the Melbourne Cup carnival at Etihad Stadium, Gold Coast boss Travis Auld yesterday confirmed talks between the AFL and Queensland Major Events to host a second game.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/suns-want-irish-game-at-carrara-20110509-1eft8.html#ixzz1M0pX5oZq
Post by: Hardy on May 11, 2011, 10:34:40 AM
Quote from: Zulu on May 10, 2011, 11:46:16 PM
And I'm sure many people enjoy cricket which is also a brutal sport, though it is at least a sport. And the Irish lads take evey opportunity to pick the ball so it far from encourages ground hurling. There is skill in every game but watching two teams play different games against each other is not a good spectator sport.

A good spectator sport is a sport people enjoy watching. So, while combined hurling/shinty is not a good spectator sport for you, it is for me and, it seems, many others. I look forward to it since it's been on TV.

One thing I don't like about it is the awarding of two points for a free pointed off the ground. This feat is very easy for the Scots and suits their stick but hard for the Irish and it makes things a bit lop-sided. Then again, the games have generally been close, so changing this might tilt it too much in favour of the Irish. Maybe we should have at least one of our sideline cut specialists in our team.
Post by: Zulu on May 11, 2011, 01:06:25 PM
Fair enough, and I agree all sports are a matter of opinion but it seems ok to label IR as rubbish but not S/H. Judging by the crowds that attend both I'd say more people agree with me but sure IR bashing is a pastime for some around here.
Post by: Jinxy on May 11, 2011, 01:26:49 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 11, 2011, 01:06:25 PM
Fair enough, and I agree all sports are a matter of opinion but it seems ok to label IR as rubbish but not S/H. Judging by the crowds that attend both I'd say more people agree with me but sure IR bashing is a pastime for some around here.

All those TV ads advertising the hurling/shinty obviously are not having the desired effect.
Post by: thejuice on May 11, 2011, 01:38:35 PM
Not to mention the attraction of pro players + the hope of a good ol' feast of knuckle sandwiches (to watch and to moan about later).

Anyone who saw Shane Dooley playing last year in the Shinty/Hurling last year will agree with me that it's much better. There was some great examples of first time hurling.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 11, 2011, 01:44:15 PM

That's because its shit. Also, there are far more than "some around here" who think that, the greatest football manager of the last twenty years for starters.
Post by: Rossfan on May 11, 2011, 01:57:41 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 11, 2011, 01:44:15 PM
That's because its shit. Also, there are far more than "some around here" who think that, the greatest football manager of the last twenty years for starters.

Never heard Jack O'Connor saying that  :D
Post by: Zulu on May 11, 2011, 02:35:42 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 11, 2011, 01:38:35 PM
Not to mention the attraction of pro players + the hope of a good ol' feast of knuckle sandwiches (to watch and to moan about later).

Anyone who saw Shane Dooley playing last year in the Shinty/Hurling last year will agree with me that it's much better. There was some great examples of first time hurling.

Ah right I've got ye now, nobody goes to the IR because they enjoy it or will see any breathtaking skills, they have a myriad of alternative excuses.  And the only reason people don't go the S/H is due to lack of advertising, nothing to do with the fact it's shit.

MH says some things I agree with and others I don't the fact he is an IR basher like a good few around is neither here nor there and adds no weight to whatever argument yer trying to make.
Post by: Hardy on May 11, 2011, 02:56:32 PM
It's not entirely unreasonable to suggest that greater the number of people who want to see something, the more shit it is likely to be. Consider Westlife, pro wrestling, Premiership soccer, public hangings in other days, etc.
Post by: Zulu on May 11, 2011, 04:56:41 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 11, 2011, 02:56:32 PM
It's not entirely unreasonable to suggest that greater the number of people who want to see something, the more shit it is likely to be. Consider Westlife, pro wrestling, Premiership soccer, public hangings in other days, etc.

Not entirely unreasonable? I would suggest it is exactly that! Of course there are some things which are popular but lack quality and others which are ignored despite being brilliant but it is nonsense to try and correlate the two. If I was to accept your point then football and hurling are the worst sports in Ireland, elvis is no Craig David and the Sopranos is a poor mans Fair city.
Post by: thejuice on May 11, 2011, 05:47:32 PM
To be fair the IR wasn't always terrible but the last few years have been dire. Probably coincides with the time John McDermott stopped playing.
Post by: laoislad on May 11, 2011, 07:21:17 PM

I agree with you Zulu. f**k the begrudgers I say.
Post by: Hardy on May 11, 2011, 07:56:48 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 11, 2011, 04:56:41 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 11, 2011, 02:56:32 PM

Not entirely unreasonable? I would suggest it is exactly that! Of course there are some things which are popular but lack quality and others which are ignored despite being brilliant but it is nonsense to try and correlate the two. If I was to accept your point then football and hurling are the worst sports in Ireland, elvis is no Craig David and the Sopranos is a poor mans Fair city.

OK - I'll see your Elvis, GAA, Sopranos and I'll even throw in the Beatles. Now I'll raise you the Eurovision Song Contest and its 125 million viewers. And Jedward.
Post by: Zulu on May 11, 2011, 09:00:15 PM
We could go back and forth all night which only proves there is no correlation. Besides many intelligent, sane people think the premiership is very good, many watching the eurovision don't think it is any good but watch it because it is car crash tv and Westlife and jedward are popular amongst a certain section of society (14 year old girls and old women), they are not generally popular across a broad spectrum of society. In contrast the IR is and a bit like football itself it gets unfairly criticised.
Post by: Hound on May 12, 2011, 08:55:41 AM
Quote from: Zulu on May 10, 2011, 11:16:17 PM
The IR can be poor but it has also been great and whatever anyone can say about it it is at least a single game. The other thing is akin to a tennis player playing a badminton player with each games racquet. It's an utter nonsense.

Why would it be a nonsense for say the best tennis player to play the best badminton player?

If they agree on a ball, a court and a scoring system, and agree they could use whatever racquet they like, I'd say it could be a very interesting contest.

I enjoy the shinty international against the Scots.

I used to really enjoy the IR. When we won in Australia about 8 or 10 years ago (I guess), it was one of the sporting highlights of the year for me. Particularly remember the massive performances put in by Sean Marty and Fay - the passion and determination showed by them and their teammates was just super.

It was subsequently completely let down by refereeing standards in my opinion, and hasnt been much of a spectacle recently.
Title: Re: International Rules Series 2011 Venues
Post by: mick999 on May 12, 2011, 11:43:44 AM
http://www.irishecho.com.au/2011/05/04/international-rules-%e2%80%98go-live%e2%80%99-after-tv-deal/9590 (http://www.irishecho.com.au/2011/05/04/international-rules-%e2%80%98go-live%e2%80%99-after-tv-deal/9590)

Sounds like the venues are not fully confimed yet :

"While the second test is almost certain to be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, there is uncertainty over the location for the first clash, with Perth the most likely venue"
Post by: HeaveHo on May 12, 2011, 03:08:51 PM
Quote from: qz on May 11, 2011, 08:35:51 AM
GOLD Coast has put forward a bid to host one-half of the forthcoming International Rules series against Ireland in October as Carrara prepares for its return to the Australian sporting landscape.
With the Victorian Government considering an AFL proposal to help fund an Australia-Ireland game potentially on the eve of the Melbourne Cup carnival at Etihad Stadium, Gold Coast boss Travis Auld yesterday confirmed talks between the AFL and Queensland Major Events to host a second game.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/suns-want-irish-game-at-carrara-20110509-1eft8.html#ixzz1M0pX5oZq

Can't see the Gold Coast getting it - although the new AFL side on the Gold Coast are getting reasonable numbers to their "home" games the game wouldn't attract much of crowd up there which is still essentially rugby league heartland despite the AFL spending millions on promoting the game thereabouts.

The AFL have more money than sense - the new TV rights for next five seasons were signed up last week - $1.25 billion AUD for the next five years (or 938 million Euro at the current exchange rate).
Post by: HeaveHo on July 21, 2011, 09:47:24 AM
One of the games has now been confirmed on the Gold Coast. It will be pretty warm for playing any sort of footy even at night. The beach and the gaudy strip will appeal to some but the crowd at the game will be skinny.