The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

Winning away in Twickenham will always be a challenge. Felix Jones has transformed their defence already.

There will be a game where questions will be asked of Ireland. We may get a dodgy red, Get a ref who will give us nothing,  you might get a team just up for it on the day, injury to a key player, a day we just don't turn up, momentum of a team we play on the day, etc. You just never know. Scotland can do anything. England will target us and the French as teams to knock off of their perch.

We'll see how we go against Italy tomorrow.

Quote from: From the Bunker on February 10, 2024, 08:01:42 PMThere will be a game where questions will be asked of Ireland. We may get a dodgy red, Get a ref who will give us nothing,  you might get a team just up for it on the day, injury to a key player, a day we just don't turn up, momentum of a team we play on the day, etc. You just never know. Scotland can do anything. England will target us and the French as teams to knock off of their perch.

We'll see how we go against Italy tomorrow.

No they can't ffs. How can this narrative still have legs?! They were pumped last year in Murrayfield, they were beaten out the gate in Paris. They're not within an ass's roar of Ireland. Anything less than a comfortable bonus point victory would be a humiliation.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2024, 05:17:00 PMJust because it had to land on the line, they couldn't see it with the multiple plays..

It's like when the full back in the first league game of the year gobs the full forward behind the referees back, as he's no umpires with him.

You know what happened but can do feck all about it
If the ref had said he couldn't tell for sure either way instead of his no try call, would it have been a different exercise for the video ref? Although it couldn't be seen that the ball was resting on the ground, there was a 95% certainty that there was nothing between the ball and ground.

JPGJOHNNYG

Was out today so just watched the matches. 4 poor teams today. Ireland won't get a better shot at retaining a grand slam

JPGJOHNNYG

This being held up over the line makes such a difference. The attacking team have to be a bit smarter over half chances. Back in the day fail to score they get 5m scrum and another go, now the defense get to boot it back up to the half way line.

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on February 10, 2024, 09:10:30 PMWas out today so just watched the matches. 4 poor teams today. Ireland won't get a better shot at retaining a grand slam

Low hanging fruit for the Irish team alright.

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on February 10, 2024, 09:14:54 PMThis being held up over the line makes such a difference. The attacking team have to be a bit smarter over half chances. Back in the day fail to score they get 5m scrum and another go, now the defense get to boot it back up to the half way line.
I felt they rushed it and went for broke on a half chance when they could have held on a bit and  worked a better option.

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: Main Street on February 10, 2024, 09:25:24 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on February 10, 2024, 09:14:54 PMThis being held up over the line makes such a difference. The attacking team have to be a bit smarter over half chances. Back in the day fail to score they get 5m scrum and another go, now the defense get to boot it back up to the half way line.
I felt they rushed it and went for broke on a half chance when they could have held on a bit and  worked a better option.

Teams need more patience. No better example than kelleher going alone against NZ. We had a man up and with a bit more time would have scored. Scotland are unlucky but no sympathy for them. That kicking tennis they were doing was a painful watch

Quote from: Main Street on February 10, 2024, 09:09:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 10, 2024, 05:17:00 PMJust because it had to land on the line, they couldn't see it with the multiple plays..

It's like when the full back in the first league game of the year gobs the full forward behind the referees back, as he's no umpires with him.

You know what happened but can do feck all about it
If the ref had said he couldn't tell for sure either way instead of his no try call, would it have been a different exercise for the video ref? Although it couldn't be seen that the ball was resting on the ground, there was a 95% certainty that there was nothing between the ball and ground.

All about how the ref worded that at the start.

Had ref said, try, and tell me different then it would have been a try I think, but he said it was held up.

100%. We were talking about this at the young fellas game earlier. The chance of being held up is huge when the defending team are camped on their line as they know what is coming.

As soon as Russell made the tackle and they turned it over I texted the lads to say they were going to get held up as they initially looked very ragged. They did very well to get a bit of control and shape back. Very unlucky.

Ghost

Sh*t song but loved the wee lad singing Ireland's Call. Class.

Quote from: Ghost on February 11, 2024, 04:09:53 PMSh*t song but loved the wee lad singing Ireland's Call. Class.

He was good.

The 'Yawn, filler game' of the six nations is over for another year.