Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 09:32:11 AM

Title: Mice help
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 09:32:11 AM
Right no pisstakers as this is doing my head in. I could cry with frustration and exhaustion  >:(

Woke up last wed night to this rustling match in me room, it went on and on so eventually i got up and retreated to the sofa thinking it was a mouse. So went and lay on the sofa and the next day our ones set a trap and got a mouse i think the third day, after me lying on sofa for two nights and having me neck and back broke.

So the mouse was caught on fri so i decided sleep in it friday night and saturday night so all was grand no noises then on sunday night this noise starts again, up to sofa again i went. Same thing on Monday night, no noise tuesday night so was thinking right everythings ok. So into the bed last night and woke to the noise again last nite at 3 am.
My head is about to go. I cant get a decent nights sleep cos even when i ly in the bed im shit scared and cant sleep right. Then the other nites im having broken sleep trying to sleep on sofa and up and down etc. The traps been there since the first one was caught last friday, surely a trap would have caught another one by now.

Has anyone any tips on how to get rid of whatevers there cos i am bloody exhausted and cant stick this another night  :-\ :'(
Title: Re: Mice help
Post by: EC Unique on December 01, 2011, 09:47:08 AM
The only real and lasting answer....

(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTpvCL0Zq2nS7iza4r-H-de0Vv_cAEw9GHQQIslqsQkUV-KhC3Lfg)
Post by: Bingo on December 01, 2011, 09:49:42 AM
It might not have access to the traps ie it could be caught in between the walls, floorings or ceilings - hence on certain nights they are finding their way over to your room. Sounds like they have a way in as well - check the whole outside of the house for loose fittings round doors, pipes, drains etc.

If the traps aren't working - can a cat in for a few days, give them the run of the house and they'll get it/them for sure.
Post by: bcarrier on December 01, 2011, 09:57:18 AM
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Procter-Bros-Ltd-PSERK-Electronic/dp/B000FII3YW/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1322733386&sr=8-3
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 01, 2011, 10:01:55 AM
They are the little b**tards. Have a problem with them myself getting into the cavity in the wall and travelling all over the house. I suggest you put traps in the attic and anywhere the cavity is broken, for example under sinks where drain pipes go out. Another thing you can do is get some "storm" poison. Grind it up and throw into any areas you can't get a trap. If the little hoors are behind skirting boards you could pull them away from the wall and throw the grains in there. PRevention is better than cure though. Check outside to see how they get in. If your finger fits through a hole in the wall then mousie can too. He can also climb pretty good too so look out for ways he can get in up high. Don't leave your doors open when you are outside getting the shopping or letting out the dog etc. This time of the year they are mad to get in. Good luck.

Edit - Those plug in Sonar things you can get are a waste of money, don't bother with them as they simply don't work.
Post by: Ulick on December 01, 2011, 10:24:07 AM
Fcuk the traps put the pellets down everywhere, particularly the attic and behind the kick panel of kitchen units - anywhere you can think off - have a look around to see where they might be in the cavities. Problem will be sorted in a day or two.
Post by: Bingo on December 01, 2011, 10:29:05 AM
Did you check the hotpress?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXxgzvdCN28 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXxgzvdCN28)
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 11:10:36 AM
Thanks guys. My heads about to go which is made worse by the fact our ones think im imagining things and my dads convinced there is nothing there. But there is without doubt. The noise is clear as day. Surely though if they were in the room they would go for the trap? I was thinking of getting one of them sonic things in argos today they are £30 but if they dont work then i wont bother. What pellets can you get?

I dont know where they could be getting into the house at though, there doesnt seem to be any sign of them in the rest of the house and there are no droppings anywhere on my floor. Theres a tiny hole u know where the radiator pipe thing goes into the ground would that be where they are coming from?
Post by: haranguerer on December 01, 2011, 11:14:56 AM
Worst of it is if they are running about in the middle of the night they'll seek warmth too, so will more than likely be in the bed beside you for a while at least  :-\
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 11:19:11 AM
They wont be cos im gonna be on the sofa for the considerable future i think. For at least a week anyway while i pray this gets sorted  :-\
Post by: Hardy on December 01, 2011, 11:29:58 AM
"Our ones"?
Post by: AQMP on December 01, 2011, 11:34:41 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 01, 2011, 11:29:58 AM
"Our ones"?

Where I come from that means siblings and/or parents.  Nothing religious or political ;)
Post by: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 11:42:26 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 11:19:11 AM
They wont be cos im gonna be on the sofa for the considerable future i think. For at least a week anyway while i pray this gets sorted  :-\
Look I know a bit about this, worked in pest control for a few years.  By the sounds of things (not going for the traps etc) your problem is not mice.  It nearly a certainty that this is a case of large spiders that have been breeding in your home for the last year.
Post by: Hardy on December 01, 2011, 11:45:27 AM
Thanks. That's a new one to me. "Our fella" is common around Dundalk (and maybe further afield?) and seems to mean specifically the eldest lad in the family.
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 11:53:42 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 11:42:26 AM
Look I know a bit about this, worked in pest control for a few years.  By the sounds of things (not going for the traps etc) your problem is not mice.  It nearly a certainty that this is a case of large spiders that have been breeding in your home for the last year.

But surely i would see a spider somewhere if this was the case?
Post by: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 12:05:47 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 11:53:42 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 11:42:26 AM

But surely i would see a spider somewhere if this was the case?
No they are feeding the mice at the minute.  You will start to see them when they get hungry and start wondering around the house for more food.
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 12:13:09 PM
Are you taking the piss or what? Thought u said mice wasnt the problem. Whats the scurrying match i hear round the room at night? Always seems to be after 12 am when the house goes quiet that the noise starts
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 01, 2011, 12:21:12 PM
Spiders me hole  :D

Its mice alright. They can make a serious racket. The pellets are the poison I was on about. Its called "Storm" (you should get it in any hardware store). Serious stuff. Use a hammer to break into into little bits and spread it around. Use gloves when you do this and wash your hands when finished. Also, do not leave it where your pet can get it or you will have a dead pet to sort out too.
Post by: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 12:21:30 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 12:13:09 PM
Are you taking the piss or what? Thought u said mice wasnt the problem. Whats the scurrying match i hear round the room at night? Always seems to be after 12 am when the house goes quiet that the noise starts
Im only winding ye up.  Seriously though, a cat is the best cure and prevention.  It will sort hem out in a day or two.  They do breed like crazy so your best to sort it soon.
Post by: Bingo on December 01, 2011, 12:22:52 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 12:21:30 PM
Im only winding ye up.  Seriously though, a cat is the best cure and prevention.  It will sort hem out in a day or two.  They do breed like crazy so your best to sort it soon.

;D Fair play, was wondering how long that would last!
Post by: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 12:24:07 PM
Poison works alright, but you cant retrieve the carcases and ye be left with dead vermon rotting in your house.  A cat however will bring the trophies to its master.
Post by: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 12:27:30 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 01, 2011, 12:22:52 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 12:21:30 PM

;D Fair play, was wondering how long that would last!
I felt bad, AND I didnt no if she would buy my next line which was going to be about, "now with well insulateed lofts we are starting to get more and more exotic spiders living there"  :D
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 12:31:29 PM
 >:( It isnt funny actually its putting my head astray
Post by: hectorsheroes on December 01, 2011, 12:35:43 PM
Ring a good pest control company. I had the exact same happen to me about 6 weeks ago - didn't sleep for a week - sounded like a herd of elephants in the ceiling. Yer man came and spotted any holes in the building outside - they were getting in via the oil pipes - got in near the boiler which is in the garage and followed the pipes into the roofspace. Yer man laid some bait and identified where they were within a week. I have since sealed all the holes and not a sound since!

The bait etc kills the mice eventually and any babies but don't be afraid that they'll die and leave a smell - the stuff he used mummifies the body and it crumbles away. It cost me £85 all in for 3 visits and its a great investment. The other stuff - electronic etc is bollocks. The poison such as storm is lethal but the dead rats are lifted by wildlife and poison them too - birds etc so if I was you I'd get my yellow pages and get pest control in
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 12:58:24 PM
But this sound isnt in the ceilings or in the wall its actually in the bedroom. I cannot understand how a trap hasnt caught whatever it is. Surely if there were mice they would go for the trap?

Just phoned home there to get them to take my room apart when my mother informs me there was never any mouse caught last week that they just told me that so id go back into the room to sleep  >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Bingo on December 01, 2011, 01:01:01 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 12:58:24 PM
But this sound isnt in the ceilings or in the wall its actually in the bedroom. I cannot understand how a trap hasnt caught whatever it is. Surely if there were mice they would go for the trap?

Just phoned home there to get them to take my room apart when my mother informs me there was never any mouse caught last week that they just told me that so id go back into the room to sleep  >:( >:( >:(

It gets better  ;D  ;D  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2011, 01:02:17 PM
Where did you have the trap? Make sure you put it along the wall, because generally speaking they don't like to cross floors, and do that quickly, Along the skirting board is where they walk.

I hate killing any animals, except rats, and I wouldn't poison anything other than a rat. In fact I'm so soft with mice that 2 years ago, when we had a few in the house, I actually bought the humane mouse traps. They don't kill the mouse at all, but lock him in and you can dispose of him.

I used put them in the front seat of the car and drive them up to the graveyard to let them out. I'm nearly sure two of them winked at me when I let them out :D I suppose they probably beat me back to the house :D
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:08:36 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 01, 2011, 01:01:01 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 12:58:24 PM

It gets better  ;D  ;D  ;D

Whats better about that? The only thing its making me is more confused as i now dont even know for sure that there is any mouse. At least when i thought there had been one caught i knew i wasnt imagining a noise. They had no call to tell me there was one caught when there wasnt
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:15:51 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 01, 2011, 01:02:17 PM
Where did you have the trap? Make sure you put it along the wall, because generally speaking they don't like to cross floors, and do that quickly, Along the skirting board is where they walk.

I hate killing any animals, except rats, and I wouldn't poison anything other than a rat. In fact I'm so soft with mice that 2 years ago, when we had a few in the house, I actually bought the humane mouse traps. They don't kill the mouse at all, but lock him in and you can dispose of him.

I used put them in the front seat of the car and drive them up to the graveyard to let them out. I'm nearly sure two of them winked at me when I let them out :D I suppose they probably beat me back to the house :D

Put the trap in few diff places - one time under the bed, other time in built in wardrobe and other time along the skirting board just under the window

Is that not the whole point of traps though that they go for the bait on them?  I hate cats too they are dirty creatures and my mother would have a fit if i landed home with one of them to have in round the house
Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2011, 01:17:49 PM
What bait did you use?
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:21:02 PM
Think he used bacon - cooked bacon. I presume thats wat it was i didnt look that hard at it as i didnt touch the traps. I heard peanut butter or chocolate attracts them
Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2011, 01:21:44 PM
I used peanut butter. Worked a treat.
Post by: thejuice on December 01, 2011, 01:25:17 PM
(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_fRgUzQx-8ck/TM4KxbmAVvI/AAAAAAAAAiU/UXTg-BXI9sU/s1600/Predator_(1987)_-_main_cast.jpg)

IF IT BLEEDS......WE CAN KILL IT!!
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:25:59 PM
Gonna get a couple traps today myself and peanut butter and get him to put them down tonight and gona stay on sofa for next couple of nites and hope for the best  :-\
Post by: Square Ball on December 01, 2011, 01:33:59 PM
friend of mine used Mars bars, twixs and twirls and the wee fecker eat them all, he had 6 traps set and no joy. he went for the more inhumane glue trap, it worked after one night
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:42:54 PM
My friend has some of that sticky stuff she said she will give me some , do you just put it on cardboard or what and put it on the floor?
Post by: Square Ball on December 01, 2011, 01:46:18 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:42:54 PM
My friend has some of that sticky stuff she said she will give me some , do you just put it on cardboard or what and put it on the floor?

think its just on the floor. He did say the hard bit was putting it out of its misery, up to you!
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 01, 2011, 01:51:18 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:42:54 PM

The sticky stuff is normally for use in conjunction with poison. Normally the mouse eats the poison and when they come out they get stuck to it so they don't go off smelling the place out. Thats how the professionals do it anyway, especially around kitchen areas.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 01, 2011, 01:58:25 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:25:59 PM
Gonna get a couple traps today myself and peanut butter and get him to put them down tonight and gona stay on sofa for next couple of nites and hope for the best  :-\

plastic mouse traps from B&Q with peanut butter along the skirting boards will get them, NOT the wooden ones, the bait will be gone and they wont snap on them and if you have one mouse, you'll have 3 or 4 at least so buy 3 or 4 mouse traps, and find out where they are coming in, fill the holes with steel wool too, even if they are only about 2-3cm wide as they'll chew through anything relatively soft.

you'll get rid of them with the traps, but if you cant stop them coming in, you'll be taking them out of the traps every 2nd week  8)
Post by: Hardy on December 01, 2011, 02:07:35 PM

You callous bastard. You deny them a quick and painless death to stray them miles from home where they'll die slowly of starvation and hypothermia.
Post by: armaghniac on December 01, 2011, 02:20:22 PM
Quoteyou'll get rid of them with the traps, but if you cant stop them coming in, you'll be taking them out of the traps every 2nd wee

Not quite. They move indoors in the autumn, and the weather has been mild this year. Once they are settled for the winter they'll not move much, so if you can get them now you'll probably have comparative peace afterwards (unless AZOffaly drops some off near your house).
Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2011, 02:20:57 PM
I'm not sure they did Hardy. The second fella looked very familiar when I dropped him off.
Post by: BennyHarp on December 01, 2011, 02:44:07 PM
Rich tea biscuits for bait is the best. We had a cat once but it bought more mice into the house than it got rid of.
Post by: HiMucker on December 01, 2011, 03:44:20 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 01:15:51 PM

Put the trap in few diff places - one time under the bed, other time in built in wardrobe and other time along the skirting board just under the window

Is that not the whole point of traps though that they go for the bait on them?  I hate cats too they are dirty creatures and my mother would have a fit if i landed home with one of them to have in round the house
One of the cleanest pets you can get.  And as a cat lover (welll i like all animals, mice included :)) I hope you dont sleep for weeks  :D
Post by: Hardy on December 01, 2011, 04:09:07 PM
I'd rather have mice in the house than cats.

Anyway, you don't need a cat. You just need a recording of a cat. But then, that'll probably keep you awake too.
Post by: Niall Quinn on December 01, 2011, 04:28:43 PM
Quote from: Hardy on December 01, 2011, 04:09:07 PM
You just need a recording of a cat.

It's not a great listen that - 24 hours of silence interspersed with 90 seconds of purring and 12 meows.
Post by: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 04:47:04 PM
Me mother has gone bought some american style mousetrap whatever that is. There bait already in it or something that attracts mice apparently. She has got that and sticky stuff so both will go into the room tonight and hope for best.  :'( :'(
Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2011, 04:54:30 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 01, 2011, 04:47:04 PM
Me mother has gone bought some american style mousetrap whatever that is. There bait already in it or something that attracts mice apparently. She has got that and sticky stuff so both will go into the room tonight and hope for best.  :'( :'(

(http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss142/chris_finley/Airsoft%20Picts/Airsoftstuff245.jpg)
Post by: Main Street on December 01, 2011, 09:39:38 PM
You have to figure out where the mice get into the house and concentrate the traps in that locality.
My mouse kill count has reached genocidal proportions, these past 15 years.

At this present time I have about 10 traps on the go around the outside of the house and nab about 4 on average every night.
Even though the house is under relentless attack, a mouse getting in would be a rare enough event.
The problem is these feckers can't find there way out, they usually end up in the kitchen and you can see them having a peep out from under the dishwasher. A glue trap there, usually does the trick with those malingerers.

Years ago I tried a few of the humane traps, I suppose they are humane if you get to the trapped creature in time.
I thought I would use them so my daughter would get used to them. We would have a little ritual where we would drive somewhere and release the mouse. So she grew up without a fear of mice. If a mouse ran across the kitchen floor, she wouldn't be in the least bothered.
But if there is a spider anywhere, she freaks, hides in her room until the spider is located and transferred.
So I went to all that trouble so she wouldn't be afraid, but it only works on one fear.

Post by: Hardy on December 01, 2011, 09:46:40 PM
The Lord Mayor of Belfast's Mammy and Daddy should have trapped little child cadets when he was small and driven out into the country and released them.
Post by: Main Street on December 01, 2011, 10:10:09 PM
Is that the deadly sign, of a lingering thread transference hysteria, veering into horror imagination?
That's a hard one to keep a handle on.

Post by: cokers on December 02, 2011, 01:27:15 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 01, 2011, 01:49:13 PM
I know a boy who put down the sticky stuff. The mice made a bridge over it and ate the chocolate.
They'd be circus mice. I bet thon one outta the green mile could do that.
Post by: DownFanatic on December 02, 2011, 02:23:59 AM
Buy two mice. Put them in a large box from which they can't escape. Do not feed them. After a few days both will be ravenous. Inevitably one of the mice wil eat the other mouse. This will give him/her a taste for mouse blood. Let the surviving mouse run free. It will stick around the locality and will instantly kill any other mouse that is knocking about.
Post by: Hashtag on December 02, 2011, 07:54:46 AM
Dress as a mouse. Learn their habits. Become one of them. Be the mouse. Only then will you know how to catch them. Learn what they are thinking.

(http://bearmythology.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/fd-kev-in-mouse-suit.jpg)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 02, 2011, 08:12:43 AM
DAC (the sticky stuff) is a good job and we would always have used it over the years.  The wee shits basically starve to death or sometimes what they do is they try to gnaw their own legs off to escape, that's not a nice sight :o The mother found mice shit in the bed the other week so she laid traps and had one of the buggers caught that night.  The next night she got the other one.  Normally if you get them early you will only have 2-3.  If the feckers start humping you're screwed (as opposed to them being screwed).  I hate cats and wouldn't have them about the house (we have 3 dogs) but luckily we have 3-4 neighbours have cats and they keep the vermin down I would imagine.  We live right onto a field and a forest so there are plenty of the buggers around.  There was flooding next door with the heavy rain and a big hoor of a rat went running through the back garden with our Jack Russell flying after it, quite funny!
Post by: Square Ball on December 03, 2011, 11:54:17 AM
well TG any update on mousewatch? have you got any of them yet?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 03, 2011, 01:16:36 PM
In the states here most mice are found in or around sofas, its usually were they bread.  Should lay a trap close to the sofa and see will you have any luck.
If not a flash light and a hurl.
Post by: Square Ball on December 03, 2011, 01:20:03 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on December 03, 2011, 01:16:36 PM
In the states here most mice are found in or around sofas, its usually were they bread.  Should lay a trap close to the sofa and see will you have any luck.

jez dont tell her that, she will have to leave the house :D ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 03, 2011, 01:23:04 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on December 03, 2011, 01:20:03 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on December 03, 2011, 01:16:36 PM

jez dont tell her that, she will have to leave the house :D ;D

Sofas or beds...that's the favourite spot for them.  They like keeping the young nice and warm, if there are none caught yet I reckon that they've nested and are ready for babies.
Post by: the waffler on December 03, 2011, 01:41:55 PM
ya need to find where they are gettin in the smallest of holes high r low the c***ts get in anywhere get the place sealed up then catch whats in the house they not do ya any harm only lookin a bit o heat
Post by: tyrone girl on December 03, 2011, 02:00:38 PM
Update is there are now 3 traps in the room and the sticky stuff in under my bed. Since thurs and no mice caught yet  :'( :'(

Anyway after everyone thinking i was defnitely imagining things we have a visitor staying in our house this weekend so he has been staying in my room. Noone mentions mice to him but first thing he says when he gets up this morning is "you have mice in that room"!!!! At least i know i aint going mad.
Anyway he said they are under the floorboards. I didnt think they were there cos they were as clear as day as if they were walking through the actual room. Im still convinced they arent under the floor. Anyway he has to stay in the room tonight and i havnt any notion of going back into it. Its doing my head in
Post by: Denn Forever on December 03, 2011, 02:39:07 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 03, 2011, 02:00:38 PM
Update is there are now 3 traps in the room and the sticky stuff in under my bed. Since thurs and no mice caught yet  :'( :'(

Anyway after everyone thinking i was defnitely imagining things we have a visitor staying in our house this weekend so he has been staying in my room. Noone mentions mice to him but first thing he says when he gets up this morning is "you have mice in that room"!!!! At least i know i aint going mad.
Anyway he said they are under the floorboards. I didnt think they were there cos they were as clear as day as if they were walking through the actual room. Im still convinced they arent under the floor. Anyway he has to stay in the room tonight and i havnt any notion of going back into it. Its doing my head in

How big are the mice in Tyrone?
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 03, 2011, 02:54:53 PM
Try and get a floor board pulled up or loosen the lifting board and throw on some of the grains of poison. That's the only way to get them when they are under the floor boards.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 03, 2011, 03:12:46 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 03, 2011, 02:39:07 PM

It's not that they are big, but they hunt in packs.
Post by: moysider on December 03, 2011, 10:29:48 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 03, 2011, 02:54:53 PM
Try and get a floor board pulled up or loosen the lifting board and throw on some of the grains of poison. That's the only way to get them when they are under the floor boards.

I wouldn t poison them indoors. If they die under boards they stink the place out and you ll have to rip up the floor to get them or abandon the room for weeks. Especially if they die near a hot pipe, they ll turn into a soup - not nice. Make sure there is a small opening to allow them get up and then trap them. They are very easily trapped - a day or two will clear them out with a few well positioned traps. Bait them with fried bacon fat, fried white pudding or nutella. They cant resist those, the poor craturs.
Post by: Minder on December 03, 2011, 10:32:15 PM

Anyway he said they are under the floorboards. I didnt think they were there cos they were as clear as day as if they were walking through the actual room. Im still convinced they arent under the floor. Anyway he has to stay in the room tonight and i havnt any notion of going back into it. Its doing my
head in

:o
Post by: muppet on December 04, 2011, 02:01:39 AM

I want to hear Ziggy's side of the story.
Post by: JUst retired on December 04, 2011, 06:58:08 AM
Where is OLLY, He would have the solution to this problem. :D
Post by: moysider on July 05, 2012, 03:16:53 PM

Spotting a mouse in the shed, I went out yesterday and bought a humane trap in the co-op,  that supposedly can catch 10 at a time. I baited it up anyway and only rememember to check it a few minutes ago to find 3 inside - it has clear plastic top.

They enter through a one-way only entrance and are completely unharmed.

Now what do I do? Let them go in a woodland or bog area away from buildings?

Kill them and how? I could submerge the whole rig in water and drown them but I m told it would take 3 mins for them to die like that - hardly humane?

There is nobody I dislike enough to dump them in their yard or restaurant ;D
Post by: Onion Bag on July 05, 2012, 05:05:29 PM
Throw it in the fire
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2012, 05:08:03 PM
That's a great question that raises all sorts of possibilities.

If you hate cats like me ... Sorry. Let me start again, I'm not a cat.

If, like me, you hate cats, you could wait until you collect enough of them, then capture a cat and tie it down with wire and pegs and things. Now, arm your mice with sharpened cat claws (the beauty of this is the dozen or so cats you'll have to capture and declaw - not while alive, of course) and let them at it in revenge for the millions of their species that have been slowly tortured to death by cats.
Post by: moysider on July 05, 2012, 05:16:29 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 05, 2012, 05:05:29 PM
Throw it in the fire

It s reusable and that would ruin it.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 05, 2012, 10:47:45 PM
Mice and rats total and utter vermin, any chance get rid.

Humane trap too PC for me.
Post by: moysider on July 06, 2012, 02:31:04 PM

Rats are a different league altogether. No mercy
Post by: oisinog on July 06, 2012, 02:38:11 PM
All you need to do is shut the door and stay in the room with a hurl until the wee fecker shows its face
Post by: tyssam5 on July 06, 2012, 10:55:07 PM
I just heard that in Belfast the 'pest control squad' will come to your house and handle mice trapping for free. I thought the country was broke?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 06, 2012, 11:13:05 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on July 06, 2012, 10:55:07 PM
I just heard that in Belfast the 'pest control squad' will come to your house and handle mice trapping for free. I thought the country was broke?
Broken.
Post by: trileacman on July 06, 2012, 11:53:05 PM
Killing innocent animals? Get Iceman on the case!
Post by: Applesisapples on July 07, 2012, 02:08:28 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 03, 2011, 02:39:07 PM

I can't resist...Not as big as Tyrone Pussies! :D
Post by: tintin25 on November 21, 2018, 10:30:02 PM
Thread bump!

Folks, having a problem with these little buggers at the mo.  Been in new build since end of April...heard scratching from the loft on the Friday night two weeks ago and promptly laid traps the next morning.  Caught 9 in the first week and a further 3 from last Friday up until this evening when I checked...the last 3 were on separate days which makes me think I'm finally sorting it but thinking it may just be worth getting pest control out even to check the loft from top to toe?  I've checked round the side of the house and inside downstairs and there is no apparent gaps and any gaps I have spotted have been filled with steel wool.  They are just confined to the loft and has been zero signs of any of them downstairs.  Any recommendations?
Post by: trailer on November 21, 2018, 10:41:09 PM
They're getting in somewhere. Find and seal that if possible. The skitters are probably in the cavity wall I'd imagine. Breading away. If you're catching multiples you have a good few more.
Keep laying traps. Poison. etc.
Get a good cat(s)
Don't leave food etc about. Bins etc as well.

If you have mice you don't have rats. Silver lining. Had one of those a wile ago in the garage. The wife went on strike with the washing for a week or so. Complete handling.

Post by: armaghniac on November 22, 2018, 12:10:47 AM
They come in around Halloween when the weather gets cold. Trap away and you might get all of them in the next couple of weeks.
Post by: BennyCake on November 22, 2018, 12:23:24 AM
Do mice and their droppings do any harm? Caught one couple weeks ago in my garden shed, but there must be another one, as I noticed droppings again.
Post by: Sheugh Water on November 22, 2018, 12:56:05 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on November 21, 2018, 10:30:02 PM
Thread bump!

Folks, having a problem with these little buggers at the mo.  Been in new build since end of April...heard scratching from the loft on the Friday night two weeks ago and promptly laid traps the next morning.  Caught 9 in the first week and a further 3 from last Friday up until this evening when I checked...the last 3 were on separate days which makes me think I'm finally sorting it but thinking it may just be worth getting pest control out even to check the loft from top to toe?  I've checked round the side of the house and inside downstairs and there is no apparent gaps and any gaps I have spotted have been filled with steel wool.  They are just confined to the loft and has been zero signs of any of them downstairs.  Any recommendations?

If you dont find the hole(it can be tiny) they will keep coming in, get the hole, block it, lay traps, they are not smart like rats and cant resist bait.

Loads of traps might be needed, I caught 16 one winter within 4 days, they were coming in where the oil pipe entered the house, the hole was very very small.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 22, 2018, 05:51:45 AM
I too had bother with them after we built our house. Turned out they were climbing a down pipe and getting into an attic above our garage. I caught them and bought one of those gizmos that puts out an inaudible to humans sound. I must have in 20 years now snd, touch wood, I've never had any more bother.
Post by: Orior on November 22, 2018, 11:18:20 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 21, 2018, 10:41:09 PM
They're getting in somewhere. Find and seal that if possible. The skitters are probably in the cavity wall I'd imagine. Breading away. If you're catching multiples you have a good few more.
Get a good cat(s)

If you have mice you don't have rats. Silver lining. Had one of those a wile ago in the garage. The wife went on strike with the washing for a week or so. Complete handling.

Why is that?

Post by: trailer on November 22, 2018, 11:50:29 AM
Quote from: Orior on November 22, 2018, 11:18:20 AM
Get a good cat(s)

Why is that?

Because Rats will kill Mice.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on November 22, 2018, 11:59:34 AM
Been there too.
New build with the feckers running amok at all hours.
Went through a variety of traps but found the ones that worked best were glue traps.
Large pieces of cardboard dotted around the house in different areas with glue spread all over them.
Peanut butter, caramel and chocolate for bait. Worked a treat, caught hordes of the wee shites with their arses stuck to the glue.
It wasnt until i got the outside tarmacced that i was certain all holes and gaps were filled. And even to this day ive the silent deterrents plugged in too.
Post by: Puckoon on November 22, 2018, 11:59:52 AM
Came face to face with the realisation I've mice in the shed yesterday when I turned off the sprinklers and winterized the pipes.

They get to enjoy thanksgiving but the traps and poison are going down today. Based on the droppings there could be multiple colonies.

No sign of them in the garage or house thankfully.

I'll be wearing an N-95 face mask, Hanta virus is a concern over here.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 22, 2018, 12:00:35 PM
Quote from: trailer on November 22, 2018, 11:50:29 AM
Quote from: Orior on November 22, 2018, 11:18:20 AM
Get a good cat(s)

Why is that?

Because Rats will kill Mice.

That's why they are called rats.
Post by: awideisneverasgood on November 22, 2018, 12:22:04 PM
I had an infestation in the attic a couple of years ago, got 12 of the wee feckers in the end.
I got a pest control guy out and he found where they were getting in beside the boiler and sealed it up, haven't had an issue since.

I littered the place with glue traps and traditional traps and used peanut butter or chocolate.   
Traditional traps against the walls of the attic worked well for me.
Post by: HiMucker on November 22, 2018, 01:09:16 PM
I have found that the only long term solution for a persistent mice problem is a cat.
Post by: tintin25 on November 22, 2018, 01:54:30 PM
Already had a guy from the council out who inspected the side of the house and downstairs - he couldn't see any noticeable gaps.  He reckons that 1/2 have come in through my patio doors or the neighbours (semi detached) whilst it was open for a period.  Spoke to Pest Control guy for advice too and he thinks something similar has happened.  Thinks I should sit tight for another week - he advised it was normal for remaining few to come out in dribs and drabs.  Let's hope so!
Post by: bogball88 on November 22, 2018, 02:12:34 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on November 22, 2018, 01:54:30 PM
Already had a guy from the council out who inspected the side of the house and downstairs - he couldn't see any noticeable gaps.  He reckons that 1/2 have come in through my patio doors or the neighbours (semi detached) whilst it was open for a period.  Spoke to Pest Control guy for advice too and he thinks something similar has happened.  Thinks I should sit tight for another week - he advised it was normal for remaining few to come out in dribs and drabs.  Let's hope so!
Where/what council is this?
Post by: tintin25 on November 22, 2018, 02:15:20 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on November 22, 2018, 02:12:34 PM

Lisburn/Castlereagh...free of charge for initial call out.  Would cost for them to put poison down though.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on November 22, 2018, 02:18:59 PM

Unless the doors are open for long periods I'd be looking at other possible entry points.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 22, 2018, 02:49:33 PM
Mice can squeeze through a wedding ring. Shine a torch on the wall separating you and next door in the attic.
Post by: awideisneverasgood on November 22, 2018, 03:14:42 PM
I wouldn't put poison down inside the house, you could end up with a bad smell when they start to rot.
Post by: DickyRock on November 22, 2018, 04:43:32 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on November 22, 2018, 02:15:20 PM

Lisburn/Castlereagh...free of charge for initial call out.  Would cost for them to put poison down though.

Didn't realise that - live in the same council area.

We had mice a month back. Wife found droppings behind sofa. Set a couple of traps in the living room but but no luck. I have a wee security camera - set it on the floor in the living room looking at the traps the wee fecker didnt go near them for a day then I was working in the dinning room heard the trap snap, looked at the video and seen him bounce up into the air and then squeezed down beside the radiator. I hadn't quickly enough and should've set looked all around the house. On the 4 day after we spotted the droppings the wife found one in at a bag of rice in a kitchen cupboard (backboard was pushed out at the bottom the larder  :o)

That was enough and went all out. Checked for holes and filled (1 possible). Caught 2 adults and 8 kids over the next 3 days. Peanut butter on the traps - though some of the babies licked it off without triggering.

I'll not be so lax the next time
Post by: whitey on November 23, 2018, 12:42:59 AM
We've had them in the wife's car. It started off with a bad smell before the mechanic figured it out when doing an oil change

Luckily for us parking the cars in the garage has done the trick

Our neighbors on the other hand, have had mice do $7K worth of damage to their car
Post by: playwiththewind1st on November 23, 2018, 10:35:26 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on November 22, 2018, 02:15:20 PM

Free? Feckin rates are phenomenal in Lisburn/Castlereagh & for what?
Post by: guy crouchback on November 23, 2018, 01:11:31 PM
if you do need a cat i'm trying to get rid of a couple of kittens at the moment!! their mother sorted out our mice problem and she has them well trained. let me know if you are interested!!
Post by: tintin25 on November 23, 2018, 01:52:46 PM
Quote from: guy crouchback on November 23, 2018, 01:11:31 PM
if you do need a cat i'm trying to get rid of a couple of kittens at the moment!! their mother sorted out our mice problem and she has them well trained. let me know if you are interested!!

Possibly...where you based?  Have to say I'm more of a dog person but maybe no hamr in getting one.  Easy enough to look after?
Post by: guy crouchback on November 23, 2018, 03:32:16 PM
no minding on them really, cats do what they like, you can keep them in the house if you like, they are very clean, our cat is mostly an outside cat, sleeps in the garage eats scraps supplemented with cat food and of course all the mice, birds, rabbits etc, that she kills.
make sure and get her nurtured unless you want to find yourself on a gaa discussion board punting kittens.

i'm based in north mayo but id be prepared to travel a bit to meet you if it suited. i want rid of the things before the kids get too attached to them. they are weaned and ready to go.
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2018, 06:38:12 PM
 :)
Post by: Main Street on November 23, 2018, 11:43:23 PM
We have cats now for about 5 years and we couldn't live without,  well we could but the trap kill count would be an average of 5 to 6 a day. We adopted a new one in June just aged 4 weeks, she's a natural,  I call her Dolores as "they shall not pass". One issue though is she brings in her prey and growls with intense delight as she smacks the prey with her paw up and down the corridor all night long.