GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 10:22:43 AM

Title: Cavan v Tyrone
Post by: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 10:22:43 AM
Great draw for both teams.

Home advantage for Cavan should make this a real 50/50 match up (or is it in Clones??).

Being away form Omagh won't hurt Tyrone either I would say.

For whoever wins this will be perfect preparation for a crack at one of the beaten Provincial finalists.

No point in having walkovers at this stage....

Title: Re: Cavan v Tyrone
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 10:25:30 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 10:22:43 AM
Great draw for both teams.

Home advantage for Cavan should make this a real 50/50 match up.

For whoever wins this will be perfect preparation for a crack at one of the beaten Provincial finalists.

No point in having walkovers at this stage....

Nope.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 25, 2018, 10:41:56 AM
Great draw for Tyrone and the one draw Cavan didn't want. They haven't beaten Tyrone in the championship since the 80s?
Post by: omagh_gael on June 25, 2018, 10:45:18 AM
This will be hard fought but I can't see anything other than a Tyrone win by 4-6 points. Would have went for a two point win but Cavan are already down two very important men to red cards and possibly more on the way if the suits look into that melee further.

We usually wrap up big McKiernan quite well and no Givney to cause headaches in the FF line. Out of interest, where is he these days?

Weather should still be hot by the weekend and hoping for a good match to boot.
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 11:06:37 AM
Lads, I'm assuming this can't be a home game for Cavan?
Post by: five points on June 25, 2018, 11:18:58 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 11:06:37 AM
We don't have a venue.
Post by: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 11:20:23 AM

If I was Cavan I'd be pushing for this to be played in Omagh....
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 11:21:04 AM
Enniskillen again maybe?
Post by: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 11:41:03 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 11:21:04 AM
Enniskillen again maybe?

Jaysus...hopefully not...prehistoric venue and worse facilities

Athletic grounds would be perfect....
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 11:52:40 AM
If I was a Cavan man and the game had to be played in a neutral venue, I'd rather play it in a neutral venue where we had won the week before.
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 11:56:42 AM
I believe Cavan have designated Clones as a home venue when they told HQ that Breffni was out of bounds. If I were them Id be looking for Brewster. That said we have no chance the way Mattie is setting us up. Hard to even get motivated to attend this game such was the pure shit served up on Saturday
Post by: BennyHarp on June 25, 2018, 12:17:43 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 11:56:42 AM
I believe Cavan have designated Clones as a home venue when they told HQ that Breffni was out of bounds. If I were them Id be looking for Brewster. That said we have no chance the way Mattie is setting us up. Hard to even get motivated to attend this game such was the pure shit served up on Saturday

There's certain posters on the Tyrone pages that have been calling for Mattie to take over the Tyrone job as he will bring a more expansive style of football.
Post by: armaghniac on June 25, 2018, 12:19:34 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 11:41:03 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 11:21:04 AM
Enniskillen again maybe?

Jaysus...hopefully not...prehistoric venue and worse facilities

Athletic grounds would be perfect....

Armagh v Clare might obstruct the Athletic grounds.

Quote from: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 11:20:23 AM

If I was Cavan I'd be pushing for this to be played in Omagh....

At least Omagh shouldn't be flooded this week.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 25, 2018, 12:32:57 PM
Surely it'll be in Clones?
Post by: Fuzzman on June 25, 2018, 12:44:42 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 25, 2018, 10:41:56 AM
Great draw for Tyrone and the one draw Cavan didn't want. They haven't beaten Tyrone in the championship since the 80s?

19 June 1983 Quarter-final      Cavan   0-11 – 0-10   Tyrone   Breffni Park, Cavan

M Lynch 0-7, D Donohoe 0-1, P McNamee 0-1, D McDonnell 0-1, J Reilly 0-1.      
F McGuigan 0-4, S Daly 0-2, P Hannigan 0-1, S Donnelly 0-1, E Bradley 0-1, E McKenna 0-1.
29 turnovers
45 recycles
no black cards
Post by: southtyronegael on June 25, 2018, 12:53:34 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 25, 2018, 12:17:43 PM

There's certain posters on the Tyrone pages that have been calling for Mattie to take over the Tyrone job as he will bring a more expansive style of football.
mattie has tried the expansive football with cavan with limited success. seems they have reverted back to what they know best under terry hyland, defensive muck. cavan dont seem to have the footballers to play decent football, tyrone on the other hand....
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 12:57:38 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on June 25, 2018, 12:53:34 PM

mattie has tried the expansive football with cavan with limited success. seems they have reverted back to what they know best under terry hyland, defensive muck. cavan dont seem to have the footballers to play decent football, tyrone on the other hand....

Nope, thats a load of bollix. Im surprised to have a Tyrone man ape a Derry man like Brolly. Hyland had cavan playing a great brand of football with a good mix of defensive play and attacking play. What we have now under Mattie is change mid stream and players who just stand around inside their own 45, dont lay a hand on the opposition and when they get the ball walk it up the field as slowly as possible. Its worse than anything Hyland did in his 1st year when he was trying to introduce the idea of defending to Cavan. Tyrone will run riot if we play like this.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2018, 01:00:58 PM
Cavan always seem to draw the short straw.

I actually told my Cavan pals to expect Armagh in the draw - not thinking it could be worse!!!!

Why the pitch in Breffni is being relaid now astonishes me. Could this not have been done in the spring and have 'home' League matches in Clones?

As for the clowns getting red cards after the full time whistle................that bates Banagher altogether.

T'rone to win by whatever they want.
Post by: southtyronegael on June 25, 2018, 01:02:11 PM
brolly is a football man, the fact that he is from derry is irrelevant. and yeah tyrone will prob run riot, because they have better footballers.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 25, 2018, 01:16:04 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2018, 01:00:58 PM

I actually told my Cavan pals to expect Armagh in the draw - not thinking it could be worse!!!!

Why the pitch in Breffni is being relaid now astonishes me. Could this not have been done in the spring and have 'home' League matches in Clones?

As for the clowns getting red cards after the full time whistle................that bates Banagher altogether.

The pitch was done straight after league. They are doing drainage as well and new surface so be out of action for rest of year.
Post by: Westside on June 25, 2018, 01:24:21 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on June 25, 2018, 12:53:34 PM

Well this is shite. Cavan played better football in 2016 under Terry than we have shown under Mattie. People just listened to the muck Brolly spouted.
Saturday's attempt at tactics was the worst i have ever seen from a Cavan manager.

Tyrone will walk over Cavan because (a) They're a better side and (b) we don't have a manager capable of getting a performance out of the players at his disposal to beat a better side.

Mattie should be ran from Cavan ASAP. I wouldn't even wish him Tyrone.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2018, 01:34:50 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 25, 2018, 01:16:04 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2018, 01:00:58 PM

The pitch was done straight after league. They are doing drainage as well and new surface so be out of action for rest of year.

Ah - well, I won't say much more as Pearse Park is hardly a shining light when it comes to stadium management!!

Perhaps Cavan could drag the Tyronies to Longford - grand park now there with plenty of seating.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 25, 2018, 01:39:58 PM
It's in croke park?!?!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 25, 2018, 01:43:34 PM
Yep - first game of a double header

Cavan v Tyrone, Croke Park, 5pm
Kildare v Mayo, Croke Park, 7pm
Post by: BennyHarp on June 25, 2018, 01:47:23 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 25, 2018, 01:43:34 PM

Sky must be showing it as they have a double header slot in the schedule for Saturday
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 25, 2018, 01:51:24 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 25, 2018, 01:47:23 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 25, 2018, 01:43:34 PM

Sky must be showing it as they have a double header slot in the schedule for Saturday

SKY showing both.
Post by: Westside on June 25, 2018, 01:54:46 PM
Lord above.... Mattie's shame to be televised. Just what we neee3e.  :-[
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 01:59:33 PM
Could sky get mcvitty off his red to try make a match of it?
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 25, 2018, 02:09:09 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 01:59:33 PM
Could sky get mcvitty off his red to try make a match of it?
That would take the biscuit.
Post by: square_ball on June 25, 2018, 02:14:05 PM
Quote from: Westside on June 25, 2018, 01:54:46 PM

But according to Matties interviews everything is always wonderful, marvellous and fantastic?
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 02:15:48 PM
Quote from: square_ball on June 25, 2018, 02:14:05 PM
Quote from: Westside on June 25, 2018, 01:54:46 PM

But according to Matties interviews everything is always wonderful, marvellous and fantastic?

For the first time in his time with Cavan he gave an interview to Northern sound and did not say Fabulous, Fantastic or Class. You can listen to this momentous moment here.

http://www.northernsound.ie/cavan-on-the-up-with-down-win/
Post by: Fuzzman on June 25, 2018, 02:24:12 PM
Fantastic itchy.

Will you be coming to support Cavan Jinxy?

At least we'll get one trip to Croker this year.

Cork, Rossies, Fermanagh and Laois all beatable should we overcome the mighty lakelanders.
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 02:29:13 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 25, 2018, 02:24:12 PM
Fantastic itchy.

Will you be coming to support Cavan Jinxy?

At least we'll get one trip to Croker this year.

Cork, Rossies, Fermanagh and Laois all beatable should we overcome the mighty lakelanders.

(http://images5.fanpop.com/image/photos/25000000/No-country-for-old-men-tommy-lee-jones-25069727-450-276.jpg)
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 03:09:13 PM
Is there any chance Tyrone will refuse to turn up like Kildare? That would be a help. Mind you we would probably just stay inside our own 45 for the whole game anyway.
Post by: belfastkev on June 25, 2018, 03:26:31 PM
Anybody fancy two tickets to the double-header on Saturday? My wife and I are season ticket holders and we're at a graduation and can't go >:( I would be able to email you the PDF of the tickets. Not asking any money for these by the way. Free to the first Tyrone fan (or Cavan, if they wish) to ask for them.

Edit: NOW GONE!!! Enjoy, Tyroneman.
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 03:55:29 PM
Quote from: belfastkev on June 25, 2018, 03:26:31 PM
Anybody fancy two tickets to the double-header on Saturday? My wife and I are season ticket holders and we're at a graduation and can't go >:( I would be able to email you the PDF of the tickets. Not asking any money for these by the way. Free to the first Tyrone fan (or Cavan, if they wish) to ask for them.

Nice offer Kev . I 'll probably have a scatter of kids with me so wont be able to take you up on it.
Post by: joemamas on June 25, 2018, 03:57:13 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 03:09:13 PM
Is there any chance Tyrone will refuse to turn up like Kildare? That would be a help. Mind you we would probably just stay inside our own 45 for the whole game anyway.

It will be hard to top that one
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 25, 2018, 03:59:06 PM
Where's the 11+ page thread here lads? You realise this one has been moved too, and a fair bit further than the Kildare one has been...
Post by: Redhand Santa on June 25, 2018, 04:08:34 PM
Personally never complain about Tyrone games in croke park. Best stadium and facilities in the country. It's where the big games are all played so might as well get as many games in it as possible. If win next week would potentially have a round 4 qualifier and super 8 game there, no better preparation for them games than having a game there first.
Post by: trailer on June 25, 2018, 04:08:50 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 25, 2018, 03:59:06 PM
Where's the 11+ page thread here lads? You realise this one has been moved too, and a fair bit further than the Kildare one has been...

Cavan were never going to get home advantage so I suppose they don't care. Tyrone well used to travelling to Croke park at this stage. The power that be will be lucky to have 10k watching this one in the stadium. That'll look well on Sky.
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2018, 04:13:25 PM
Is it better to win in early July and then get hammered than just to forget about it and focus on next year ?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 25, 2018, 04:26:22 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 25, 2018, 04:08:50 PM

Cavan were never going to get home advantage so I suppose they don't care. Tyrone well used to travelling to Croke park at this stage. The power that be will be lucky to have 10k watching this one in the stadium. That'll look well on Sky.

There's plenty other venues in Ulster and between Cavan and Croker, don't see any fuss being kicked up here though
Post by: Fuzzman on June 25, 2018, 04:46:50 PM
I'd say both sets of players are delighted it's in Croker as are both sets of managers. Only those who got will be suspended will be pissed off I'd say. What player does not love playing in Croker on a sunny Sat night.

Only ones that may whinge are those who will whinge at anything or complain about the cost of having to stay overnight in the city. Try airbnb folks as a cheap option.

Will Lee B be fit for this one or Bradley? Dare I mention Mulgrew again?
Post by: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 04:54:23 PM

Tickets still available?
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 04:55:35 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 25, 2018, 04:26:22 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 25, 2018, 04:08:50 PM

There's plenty other venues in Ulster and between Cavan and Croker, don't see any fuss being kicked up here though

We are going  to refuse to play, insisting on playing it on the sand in Breffni. Imminent announcement on the way.
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 05:25:17 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 25, 2018, 04:46:50 PM
I'd say both sets of players are delighted it's in Croker as are both sets of managers. Only those who got will be suspended will be pissed off I'd say. What player does not love playing in Croker on a sunny Sat night.

Only ones that may whinge are those who will whinge at anything or complain about the cost of having to stay overnight in the city. Try airbnb folks as a cheap option.

Will Lee B be fit for this one or Bradley? Dare I mention Mulgrew again?

(http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/3777837/original/?width=630&version=3777837)
Post by: belfastkev on June 25, 2018, 05:30:30 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 25, 2018, 04:54:23 PM

Tickets still available?

Indeed they are. If you DM me your email address I'll send you them once I get them (probably Wednesday).
Post by: Jayop on June 25, 2018, 06:04:08 PM
Kildare (rightly imo) playing hardball could put the brakes on this being played in Croker too. Would be awful having only this game on with maybe 10k people at it. Cavan should do the same and insist on the game being at Clones or Brewster.

As always I'm delighted to get to a Tyrone Cavan game as the wife is a Cavan woman and it's usually good craic in the build up to it. Fancy Tyrone by 4/5 points wherever it is played.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 25, 2018, 07:16:47 PM
Quote from: Jayop on June 25, 2018, 06:04:08 PM
Kildare (rightly imo) playing hardball could put the brakes on this being played in Croker too. Would be awful having only this game on with maybe 10k people at it. Cavan should do the same and insist on the game being at Clones or Brewster.

As always I'm delighted to get to a Tyrone Cavan game as the wife is a Cavan woman and it's usually good craic in the build up to it. Fancy Tyrone by 4/5 points wherever it is played.

Apparently Cavan nominated Brewster then they were asked about a CP double header and they took that, if Kildare game doesn't go ahead in Croker I assume it'll be Brewster
Post by: sam03/05 on June 25, 2018, 08:29:37 PM
Surely a game st Croker is what players want?
I'd say Tyone & Cavan both happy enough

Dublin is as easy got in and out of as Enniskillen or Clones.
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 08:31:03 PM
If Cavan had any backbone they'd demand the game be played in Brewster Park in solidarity with their Kildare brethren.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 25, 2018, 09:06:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 08:31:03 PM
If Cavan had any backbone they'd demand the game be played in Brewster Park in solidarity with their Kildare brethren.

And its nearer so it will be cheaper than the mad costs of Croke Park.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 25, 2018, 10:10:21 PM

I think they should confuse everyone by demanding a double-header in Newbridge.
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 10:33:51 PM

Good man jinxy.  If kildare call into croke park I'll make them all a cup of tea.
Post by: In hiding on June 25, 2018, 10:34:45 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on June 25, 2018, 08:29:37 PM

It stinks, Tyrone and Cavan should back Kildare.
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 10:36:38 PM
Quote from: In hiding on June 25, 2018, 10:34:45 PM

Now why would Tyrone or Cavan give a shite about Kildare.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 25, 2018, 10:38:17 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 25, 2018, 10:10:21 PM

I think everyone should bring white flags to Croke Park on Saturday in solidarity with our Kildare brethren. Just be careful not to disrupt anyone's view with it though.
Post by: Westside on June 25, 2018, 10:43:10 PM

Cavan want the game in Croke Park. Why would they say they want it in Brewster because Kildare want their game at home? Cavan could be fully supportive of Kildare, and are I'm sure, but still want our game in Croke Park.
Post by: redzone on June 25, 2018, 10:53:55 PM
Dumb and dumber. You couldn't make it up.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on June 25, 2018, 11:19:58 PM
Will say a good few Cavan and Tyrone fans will stay at home in support of Kildare. Plenty of people who I talked with this afternoon agree with Kildare's stance.
Post by: Whishtup on June 25, 2018, 11:31:53 PM
I wouldn't have much desire to go to Croker to see a depleted Cavan team play a Tyrone that is slowly rebuilding the house (after the collapse last year) at this stage of the championship.  The magic of this stage of the championship is the packed out smaller grounds getting coverage that they never get from cameras perched on dodgy scaffolding.
The teams themselves would probably love a run out in Croker but who's paying the bills?
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 11:34:33 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 25, 2018, 10:38:17 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 25, 2018, 10:10:21 PM

I think everyone should bring white flags to Croke Park on Saturday in solidarity with our Kildare brethren. Just be careful not to disrupt anyone's view with it though.

Sounds like the Cavan lads are bringing theirs anyway.
Post by: ONeill on June 25, 2018, 11:44:51 PM
Play it in Virginia
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2018, 11:46:19 PM
Play it in Kiltoom.
Post by: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 11:55:09 PM
Cavan 4/1
Tyrone 1/4

Paddypower
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on June 26, 2018, 12:36:28 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 11:55:09 PM
Cavan 4/1
Tyrone 1/4

I think my great grandfather was at that game.
Post by: joemamas on June 26, 2018, 01:50:10 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 25, 2018, 11:44:51 PM
Play it in Virginia

The Cavan county board would never pay for the flights, well maybe one way.
Post by: In hiding on June 26, 2018, 02:07:42 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 25, 2018, 10:36:38 PM

Seriously ?
Croke Park allowed to ride roughshod over Kildare today,
Maybe your turn tomorrow.
Gotta love goodwill among gaels
Post by: In hiding on June 26, 2018, 02:08:51 AM
Quote from: redzone on June 25, 2018, 10:53:55 PM
Dumb and dumber. You couldn't make it up.
Always lurking

Always making no sense
Post by: redzone on June 26, 2018, 06:29:27 AM
My ref was to the gaa, you should go bed earlier too.
Can't the GPA sort this out
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 26, 2018, 06:38:50 AM
The jaded, low-hanging fruit gags in the thread about Cavan people and money etc. might well be more entertaining than the football in this one.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 26, 2018, 08:09:44 AM
I can't see what all the fuss is about.
Does the Ccc not call the shots and their word is final.
Back in the 2000s some of the Tyrone v Armagh first round games were moved to Clones because of H&S.
If a countys ground isn't suitable to host a game then it's moved. End of.
If Louth were playing Kerry, Dublin or mayo it would be moved.
It's just because Sky are involved that so many are jumping on that band wagon.
Is say offer Croker option to Clare v Armagh or Leitrim v Monaghan and all 4 would jump at the chance.
For most players it's a huge dream to play there on a sunny championship say.
Can you imagine Andorra telling UEFA we won't play outside our own country.
Post by: Itchy on June 26, 2018, 08:18:21 AM
Quote from: In hiding on June 26, 2018, 02:07:42 AM

Seriously ?

There wasnt much love for Cavan (or the GAA in general) from Kildare when they were coaxing a player from other counties to play for them, falsifying addresses and then making a mockery of the hurling championship in their own county. Not to mention a total disregard of the ethos of the GAA. So while I think Kildare are correct on this issue you will need to excuse me that I dont think our county should be standing in solitary with them in some big protest. Maybe Karma is a bitch?
Post by: In hiding on June 26, 2018, 08:45:15 AM
Quote from: redzone on June 26, 2018, 06:29:27 AM
My ref was to the gaa, you should go bed earlier too.
Can't the GPA sort this out

Holidays are a great thing  8)
Post by: trailer on June 26, 2018, 09:09:54 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 26, 2018, 08:18:21 AM

Seriously ?

There wasnt much love for Cavan (or the GAA in general) from Kildare when they were coaxing a player from other counties to play for them, falsifying addresses and then making a mockery of the hurling championship in their own county. Not to mention a total disregard of the ethos of the GAA. So while I think Kildare are correct on this issue you will need to excuse me that I dont think our county should be standing in solitary with them in some big protest. Maybe Karma is a bitch?

Post by: mrdeeds on June 26, 2018, 09:31:03 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 26, 2018, 09:16:23 AM

Seriously ?

True but this is a bigger issue of how the GAA try to ride roughshod over counties and the influence of SKY TV ££££

Why blame Sky? This is the GAAs fault.
Post by: trailer on June 26, 2018, 09:39:50 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 26, 2018, 09:31:03 AM
Quote from: longballin on June 26, 2018, 09:16:23 AM

Seriously ?

True but this is a bigger issue of how the GAA try to ride roughshod over counties and the influence of SKY TV ££££

Why blame Sky? This is the GAAs fault.

For God sake we need a bogeyman. Are you going to be that person? No? Well, then it has to be Sky TV, the big corporate monstrous organisation that it is.
Post by: Jinxy on June 26, 2018, 09:51:35 AM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 26, 2018, 06:38:50 AM
The jaded, low-hanging fruit gags in the thread about Cavan people and money etc. might well be more entertaining than the football in this one.

They're just cheap insults, if you ask me.
Post by: Itchy on June 26, 2018, 05:06:03 PM
Be Jaysus Tyrone now 1/5

Mattie will have to bend reality to get us over the line.

Post by: Jayop on June 26, 2018, 05:46:12 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 26, 2018, 05:06:03 PM
Be Jaysus Tyrone now 1/5

Mattie will have to bend reality to get us over the line.

I think the 2 red cards will have maybe changed that from 1/2 to 1/5.
Post by: Puckoon on June 26, 2018, 07:39:18 PM
Is this game potentially going to move venues depending on what happens with Kildare? Or will it go ahead at CP regardless?
Post by: mrdeeds on June 26, 2018, 08:03:33 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 26, 2018, 07:39:18 PM
Is this game potentially going to move venues depending on what happens with Kildare? Or will it go ahead at CP regardless?

Word is Croker no matter what.
Post by: Duckquay on June 26, 2018, 09:55:44 PM
I've read somewhere that they are saying croker regardless but that won't ever happen if it's a stand alone fixture. There was 3k at the Cavan down game, Cavan would bring an absolute max of 5k to dublin
Post by: Westside on June 26, 2018, 10:26:43 PM
Quote from: Duckquay on June 26, 2018, 09:55:44 PM
I've read somewhere that they are saying croker regardless but that won't ever happen if it's a stand alone fixture. There was 3k at the Cavan down game, Cavan would bring an absolute max of 5k to dublin

If we were going well and this was a double header I'd say we could bring upwards of 10. As it is, we're at the lowest point in the last 5 years or so in many supporters' view, everyone expects a hammering. I know a good few reasonably committed supporters who aren't travelling. I'd be surprised if more than 2k from Cavan go to Dublin on Saturday.
Post by: Jayop on June 26, 2018, 11:09:39 PM
I was 100% going when the tie was announced and was having to reschedule other plans for it, then all the crap with the other game came up and I don't know if I will now. I'm not paying for a double header to only watch one match either out of pure principle.

I wish te feck the GAA would just back down, let Kildare play at home and move this to Clones or even better for me, Brewster. That way I could watch the match on the way to Belfast which was my original plans. 
Post by: rrhf on June 26, 2018, 11:37:50 PM
Is Seany Johnston still playing ball.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 27, 2018, 12:01:16 AM
Quote from: rrhf on June 26, 2018, 11:37:50 PM

Could be the only kildare player in Croker on Saturday evening
Post by: omaghjoe on June 27, 2018, 06:32:39 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 27, 2018, 12:01:16 AM

Could be the only kildare player in Croker on Saturday evening

:D :D :D

Woke up one of the childer laughing at this... your in the wife's bad books mac
Post by: omagh_gael on June 27, 2018, 10:02:58 AM
Any word on Lee Brennan and Mark Bradley? Would be good if they could get some sort of a run out this weekend.
Post by: Itchy on June 27, 2018, 10:19:49 AM

Yes, Mattie has him playing quarter back. He is class at it.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 27, 2018, 10:41:23 AM
Is that half way between full back and half back or is it between half back and midfield?

I think I've been persuaded Kildare should stand firm and put the pressure on the GAA.
They probably know they're not gonna win anyway so they might as well get support for their stance of standing up to the buggers.

I liked their line yesterday where they said we just wanna play football and not interested in making money.
Post by: Dire Ear on June 27, 2018, 10:42:19 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 27, 2018, 10:02:58 AM
Any word on Lee Brennan and Mark Bradley? Would be good if they could get some sort of a run out this weekend.
One of them is close, think it's Bradley
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 27, 2018, 10:42:44 AM
"Tickets unavailable"
Post by: trailer on June 27, 2018, 11:13:33 AM
Where will this be held now? Brewster? Tyrone should come out and say Croke Park or Nowhere. Really put the onions among the carrots.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 27, 2018, 11:28:06 AM
There'll be no Cavan support so Croke Park would be ridiculous.
Post by: WT4E on June 27, 2018, 11:34:39 AM
Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2018, 11:13:33 AM
Where will this be held now? Brewster? Tyrone should come out and say Croke Park or Nowhere. Really put the onions among the carrots.

Yeah and Mickey should do an interview like Cian O'Neill only obviously not with RTE due to ban but instead maybe like in someones living room like the Ra use to and send it to teamtalk to publish!!! Viva La Revolution!!!!!
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 11:37:11 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 27, 2018, 11:28:06 AM

How about the ground you actually picked as your alternative venue?
Post by: trailer on June 27, 2018, 11:41:30 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 11:37:11 AM

They should nominate Newbridge. For the lols.
Post by: Jayop on June 27, 2018, 11:42:31 AM
I'll be delighted of this is played in Brewster or Clones. Croke Park for this game on a sunny Saturday would be shite.
Post by: trailer on June 27, 2018, 11:49:06 AM
On twitter Irish News says this will be a standalone fixture in Croke Park. Christ alive.
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 11:53:52 AM
#BrewsterOrNowhere
Post by: WT4E on June 27, 2018, 11:55:32 AM
Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2018, 11:49:06 AM
On twitter Irish News says this will be a standalone fixture in Croke Park. Christ alive.

Wonder what happens to ticket prices - The ones already bought are priced for a double header - if they leave them the same price they are overcharging - if they reduce they owe whoever have bought money back.

What a mess - GAA have come out of this a laughing stock - people should be disciplined but that won't happen!
Post by: Jayop on June 27, 2018, 11:59:13 AM
The gaa had to stick to the line that this was in croker regardless so as not to show a chink of light to Kildare but now that's done I'd expect this to be moved and moved today.
Post by: tierworker blue on June 27, 2018, 12:10:05 PM
It makes damn all sense, opening Croker for a small crowd, but If they are going to insist on having it in Dublin, rather than changing to Brewster, they should at least consider Parnell Pk, so there might be some semblance of an atmosphere.

For selfish reasons, Dublin suits me grand, 'cause that's where I live. I've been up and down the country, becoming more and more annoyed with what I've been seeing, as the weeks went on. It hasn't been pretty lately, as most of the Cavan heads will testify to, so at least that way, I can wander over to the match and then go and sup pints all evening, without having to get in the car. I have enough bloody miles done for one year!
Post by: Itchy on June 27, 2018, 12:11:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 11:37:11 AM

I believe Brewster was nominated originally but f**k it they should change their mind and request the Aran Islands.
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 12:17:23 PM
An added bonus to all of this would be the spectacle of Cavan and Tyrone rattling around in front of a small crowd in Croke Park.
Just to ram home the point.
No disrespect to either county, but the penny needs to drop that fixtures other than the Leinster final, Super 8s, semi-finals and the final need to be kept well away from the place.
The stadium itself and the actual game is diminished by small attendances.
Post by: The Trap on June 27, 2018, 12:19:07 PM
would there be 5000 in croke park? I assume both teams have made arrangements to go to Dublin........not too late to change though and HQ can pick up the tab.
Post by: trailer on June 27, 2018, 12:21:25 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 12:17:23 PM
An added bonus to all of this would be the spectacle of Cavan and Tyrone rattling around in front of a small crowd in Croke Park.
No disrespect to either county, but the penny needs to drop that fixtures other than the Leinster final, Super 8s, semi-finals and the final need to be kept well away from the place.

This is very true. Unless there's a good crowd it's ket to watch a match.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 27, 2018, 12:22:33 PM

100% agree.detest these qualifiers being put into croke park with 10k watching. Completely pointless and kills what could have been a good game.
Post by: LeoMc on June 27, 2018, 12:23:11 PM
Quote from: WT4E on June 27, 2018, 11:55:32 AM
Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2018, 11:49:06 AM

Wonder what happens to ticket prices - The ones already bought are priced for a double header - if they leave them the same price they are overcharging - if they reduce they owe whoever have bought money back.

What a mess - GAA have come out of this a laughing stock - people should be disciplined but that won't happen!
What about the Mayo ones bought tickets for it?
Post by: Fuzzman on June 27, 2018, 12:24:11 PM
Keep it in Croker and leave it free entry and promote the game to the tourists in the city who would love to see a great game of football between two excellent ball playing teams.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 27, 2018, 12:25:07 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 27, 2018, 12:24:11 PM
Keep it in Croker and leave it free entry and promote the game to the tourists in the city who would love to see a great game of football between two excellent ball playing teams.

I thought it was Cavan v Tyrone?
Post by: Tyrone Gaa on June 27, 2018, 12:32:44 PM
Brewster Park - Fermanagh 5pm
Post by: Itchy on June 27, 2018, 12:34:10 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Gaa on June 27, 2018, 12:32:44 PM

Now we feckin have yis!!!!!
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 12:39:23 PM
It's official.

https://twitter.com/CavanCoBoardGaa/status/1011936313543745536 (https://twitter.com/CavanCoBoardGaa/status/1011936313543745536)
Post by: Westside on June 27, 2018, 12:40:14 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 27, 2018, 12:34:10 PM

Jesus when did a Cavan team last lose to a Tyrone team in Brewster??

I want the Rossies in the next round.  ;D
Post by: tierworker blue on June 27, 2018, 12:40:38 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 27, 2018, 12:34:10 PM

Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 12:41:30 PM
Suddenly, the Cavan men believe.
And ye willingly gave up Brewster Park for Croke Park?
Post by: trailer on June 27, 2018, 12:41:42 PM
#crokeparkornowhere
Post by: tierworker blue on June 27, 2018, 12:42:26 PM

Damn straight...nothing worse than those matches when you can hear individual voices echoing around the place!
Post by: Jayop on June 27, 2018, 12:43:55 PM
Brewster confirmed for 5pm
Post by: Puckoon on June 27, 2018, 12:50:46 PM
What's the craic with tickets? Will be home for this and wouldn't mind getting to the game and taking the wife and daughter.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 27, 2018, 12:52:09 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 27, 2018, 12:50:46 PM
What's the craic with tickets? Will be home for this and wouldn't mind getting to the game and taking the wife and daughter.

You'll have to buy them. Unless your wife is Arlene.
Post by: tippabu on June 27, 2018, 12:56:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 12:41:30 PM

exactly? would have loved to know the thinking behind it
Post by: RedHand88 on June 27, 2018, 12:58:52 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 27, 2018, 12:52:09 PM

Nah she only follows her native Fermanagh these days.
Post by: Jayop on June 27, 2018, 01:01:45 PM
20k according to wiki so tickets should be no problem.
Post by: tommysmith on June 27, 2018, 01:07:06 PM
Quote from: tippabu on June 27, 2018, 12:56:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 12:41:30 PM

exactly? would have loved to know the thinking behind it

A jaunt to Dublin for the county board officials with lots of expenses.

It wouldn't have been for football reasons anyway.
Post by: straightred on June 27, 2018, 01:07:39 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 27, 2018, 12:24:11 PM

By putting France - Argentina on the big screen?  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on June 27, 2018, 01:09:19 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 27, 2018, 12:52:09 PM

Naw, she's not a total cnut like.
Post by: sam03/05 on June 27, 2018, 01:16:57 PM
Fking joke - had hotel booked for Dublin on sat - no refund
Post by: Jayop on June 27, 2018, 01:37:56 PM
Go on the rip instead and watch the games on sky.
Post by: Under Lights on June 27, 2018, 01:39:26 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on June 27, 2018, 01:16:57 PM

Brilliant, now no football to distract you from experiencing a great city.

Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 27, 2018, 01:50:41 PM

Has the venue for this match actually been changed though?
Post by: RedHand88 on June 27, 2018, 01:52:16 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on June 27, 2018, 01:50:41 PM

Has the venue for this match actually been changed though?

Yep confirmed for Brewster
Post by: tyroneman on June 27, 2018, 02:21:46 PM
Thought Clones was the designated alternative for Cavan?

Brewster is an awful place to stage a football match facilities-wsie
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 27, 2018, 02:31:56 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 27, 2018, 02:21:46 PM

Why would you think that? Did you not know where they played in the last round?
Post by: Under Lights on June 27, 2018, 02:46:34 PM
This isn't live on sky anymore going by reports.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 27, 2018, 02:47:18 PM

here - https://gaa.tickets.ie/Booking/EventTickets/38539/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship-round-3-cavan-v-tyrone-brewster-park-30-June-2018
Post by: Fuzzman on June 27, 2018, 03:02:50 PM
Its some mess isn't it.
I've already changed plans for a family dinner on Sat night as I thought I'd be in Croker.
Now it's in Brewster I'll need a plan C

Could they squeeze us all into Newbridge?

Is it definitely not on Sky now as the Mayo game definitely is still on sky

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 27, 2018, 03:49:59 PM
Both games are still being shown

QuoteSky Sports will televise Cavan vs Tyrone and Kildare vs Mayo live and exclusively this Saturday.

The two games were set for Croke Park earlier this week. However, the GAA confirmed on Wednesday that Brewster Park, Enniskillen and St Conleth's Park, Newbridge will host the respective ties.

The association released a statement outlining the reasons for the original arrangement, and said that the concerns have been resolved.

"Following discussions with the Kildare County Committee and An Garda Síochána in recent days, upgraded match-day and traffic management plans involving extra stewarding and Gardaí will be put in place to cater for the large crowds expected at the venue before the game.

"The GAA wishes to point out that the decision by the CCCC to fix the game for Croke Park originally was based on serious concerns around the health and safety of patrons attending the fixture. The CCCC has received assurances that these issues will be adequately addressed.

"The GAA can also confirm that the meeting of Cavan and Tyrone will now take place at Brewster Park, Enniskillen."

Both games will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Arena, with coverage getting underway at 4pm.

Cavan vs Tyrone - Throw-in 5pm.

Kildare vs Mayo - Throw-in 7pm.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 27, 2018, 03:53:09 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 27, 2018, 02:31:56 PM

But that was because Ulstee Final was on next day so Clones was unavailable.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 27, 2018, 03:55:28 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 27, 2018, 02:31:56 PM

Clones is their designated alternative ground.
Post by: LeoMc on June 27, 2018, 04:46:45 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 27, 2018, 03:49:59 PM

QuoteSky Sports will televise Cavan vs Tyrone and Kildare vs Mayo live and exclusively this Saturday.

The two games were set for Croke Park earlier this week. However, the GAA confirmed on Wednesday that Brewster Park, Enniskillen and St Conleth's Park, Newbridge will host the respective ties.

The association released a statement outlining the reasons for the original arrangement, and said that the concerns have been resolved.

"Following discussions with the Kildare County Committee and An Garda Síochána in recent days, upgraded match-day and traffic management plans involving extra stewarding and Gardaí will be put in place to cater for the large crowds expected at the venue before the game.

"The GAA wishes to point out that the decision by the CCCC to fix the game for Croke Park originally was based on serious concerns around the health and safety of patrons attending the fixture. The CCCC has received assurances that these issues will be adequately addressed.

"The GAA can also confirm that the meeting of Cavan and Tyrone will now take place at Brewster Park, Enniskillen."

Both games will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Arena, with coverage getting underway at 4pm.

Any good pubs near Brewster park to catch the second match?
Post by: Jayop on June 27, 2018, 05:11:08 PM
And where's the best place to park?

Coming in the Sligo road and heading for Belfast after.
Post by: Itchy on June 27, 2018, 06:33:50 PM
Park down at the erneside shopping centre or sports complex and 15 min walk. Traffic was brutal last day. The useless psni just abandoned the place.
Post by: Jayop on June 27, 2018, 09:26:28 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 27, 2018, 06:33:50 PM
Park down at the erneside shopping centre or sports complex and 15 min walk. Traffic was brutal last day. The useless psni just abandoned the place.

Cheers man!
Post by: RedHand88 on June 27, 2018, 10:34:37 PM
Any sign of general sale?
Post by: redzone on June 27, 2018, 10:52:46 PM
18 quid in. Ulster final was 17 for f**k sake
Post by: FermGael on June 27, 2018, 11:17:43 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on June 27, 2018, 04:46:45 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 27, 2018, 03:49:59 PM

Any good pubs near Brewster park to catch the second match?

There is a club house in Brewster park. No better spot
Post by: FermGael on June 27, 2018, 11:19:56 PM

Could be worse.
They could have designated Omagh.
Post by: outsideoftheboot on June 28, 2018, 08:58:02 AM
As we are approaching the weekend. Whats peoples verdict on the outcome and possible starting team? Where does tiarnan McCann fit in, if at all? does D McClure play? Which keeper will MH go with this time? Is Bradley or brennan anywhere near it?
Post by: The Bearded One on June 28, 2018, 09:44:57 AM
Quote from: FermGael on June 27, 2018, 11:19:56 PM

Could be worse.
They could have designated Omagh.

Careful now, Fermanagh's greatest days in the last 10 years have been in Omagh...2 flukey fisted goals...the memories  ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on June 28, 2018, 09:59:29 AM
Quote from: redzone on June 27, 2018, 10:52:46 PM

Ridiculous
Someone should organise a big screen just outside the ground and charge a fiver to watch it
The GAA have gone to hell. The prices they charge for an event in HQ is unreal. We had a function there last year and it was the Ryanair model of business. Everything you wanted was extra.

I'm expecting Morgan to be No 1 from here on in unless injured again.
Tiernan could be played in the half forward line and the man can shoot and can run all day.
I'd say Bradley and Lee will be rested again for tougher game. No disrespect Cavan.

Petey Harte reminded us what he's capable of last weekend with those jinking side stepping runs he did for the goal last week. I'd like to see McClure be given a run at MF and not keep changing all the time. Players need a bit of a run and belief that they won't always get pulled off if they're not at the top of their game.
Post by: redzone on June 28, 2018, 10:07:09 AM
Club Erne have organised a bucket collection outside the ground, if everyone could donate that would be great
Post by: tyroneman on June 28, 2018, 10:36:50 AM
Tickets available at the gate I presume?
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:45:08 AM
Quote from: redzone on June 28, 2018, 10:07:09 AM
Club Erne have organised a bucket collection outside the ground, if everyone could donate that would be great

Could all Cavan fans please note that this is a fund-raising collection.
Do not bring your old, unwanted buckets to Brewster Park, they won't take them.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 28, 2018, 10:49:04 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:45:08 AM
Quote from: redzone on June 28, 2018, 10:07:09 AM

Could all Cavan fans please note that this is a fund-raising collection.
Do not bring your old, unwanted buckets to Brewster Park, they won't take them.

I would also like to remind travelling Cavan fans that old Irish punts will not be accepted.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 10:50:14 AM
Be great if Cavan, the heritage County win this.
Post by: outsideoftheboot on June 28, 2018, 10:50:40 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 28, 2018, 09:59:29 AM

Ridiculous
Someone should organise a big screen just outside the ground and charge a fiver to watch it
The GAA have gone to hell. The prices they charge for an event in HQ is unreal. We had a function there last year and it was the Ryanair model of business. Everything you wanted was extra.

I'm expecting Morgan to be No 1 from here on in unless injured again.
Tiernan could be played in the half forward line and the man can shoot and can run all day.
I'd say Bradley and Lee will be rested again for tougher game. No disrespect Cavan.

Petey Harte reminded us what he's capable of last weekend with those jinking side stepping runs he did for the goal last week. I'd like to see McClure be given a run at MF and not keep changing all the time. Players need a bit of a run and belief that they won't always get pulled off if they're not at the top of their game.

I am more confident in Mickey oneill to be honest. Tiarnans fitness is questionable at the minute and since hes been back from injury has actually  missed a few shots, more than what he has scored anyway. Maybe it could be best leaving him out of the squad? who do you drop? Meyler? his work rate would be one of highest although may not contribute the most? Petey done very well for the goal, didn't realise how good it was until I seen it on a facebook video.
Post by: Itchy on June 28, 2018, 11:24:04 AM
Could I also please remind Tyrone people...

1- Leave yer f**king straw hats at home
2 - Piss in the toilets not on the street
3 - Strictly no line dancing or country and western singing allowed
4 - Do your rosary in good time to avoid delays to throw in time

Post by: trailer on June 28, 2018, 11:25:22 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 28, 2018, 09:59:29 AM

Ridiculous

What is the story with tickets? Are they through clubs only? I haven't heard. How much are Under 16s. I'll have a clatter of childer with me.
Post by: redzone on June 28, 2018, 01:29:59 PM
U16 fiver, tickets from usual outlets
Post by: trailer on June 28, 2018, 02:17:37 PM
Cheers
Post by: seafoid on June 28, 2018, 02:47:04 PM
Last year a discussion involving Tyrone playing in June could have had 200 pages . Expectations have been seriously deleveraged.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 28, 2018, 02:56:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 28, 2018, 02:47:04 PM
Last year a discussion involving Tyrone playing in June could have had 200 pages . Expectations have been seriously deleveraged.

The Dublin demolition last year, Fermanagh knocking them out of Ulster and being very fortunate to get past Meath will do that.

Post by: Under Lights on June 28, 2018, 03:04:22 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 28, 2018, 02:56:22 PM

The Dublin demolition last year, Fermanagh knocking them out of Ulster and being very fortunate to get past Meath will do that.

It was Monaghan that beat Tyrone.

Post by: omaghjoe on June 28, 2018, 03:04:36 PM

Fermanagh? has that ever happened?

Here's one from July 3 years ago when we were last in the qualifiers.... 19 pages total

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25962.0

This years Meath match had 27 pages

or June..... grand total of 5 pages
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25876.0

So youd have to say based on your criteria Seafoid the expectation is up. For myself I can tell you that I expect us to cruise into the super8s and gain revenge on Dublin for last year's debacle on our way to our 4th Sam.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 28, 2018, 03:05:01 PM
Still no tickets online. Do supervalu have them?
Post by: twohands!!! on June 28, 2018, 03:22:49 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on June 28, 2018, 03:04:22 PM

It was Monaghan that beat Tyrone.

Mea culpa.
I'm blaming the heat.

Post by: Jayop on June 28, 2018, 04:21:25 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 28, 2018, 03:05:01 PM
Still no tickets online. Do supervalu have them?

From the ticket site...

30/06/2018 17:00

Sorry, tickets are no longer available online.

*** TICKETS ARE NO LONGER AVAILABLE ONLINE BUT ARE AVAILABLE IN PARTICIPATING CENTRA AND SUPERVALU STORES NATIONWIDE ***

A list of participating stores can be found here
Tickets will also be available to purchase at the match depending on availability.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 28, 2018, 04:26:47 PM
Will he be naming the team tonight?
You would imagine he'll find it hard to make any changes from the last day.
I'd say Richie D has done enough to keep the 14 jersey. McShane seems to be one of Harte's favourite sons and he does put in a good shift when he plays.
As usual we are wondering from game to game where to play Mattie. He scored a few good points v Carlow and earlier v Monaghan and so it's hard not to play him in the forward line somewhere for his shooting alone.

I think Colm is getting back to himself as well and as I had hoped these Sat night games are bringing a bit of team spirit and momentum.
You would expect us to win this handy enough but Cavan are certainly a step up from Carlow and Meath as they showed us 2 years ago when they got a draw.

I like the look of this Michael McKernan lad and these are the matches he needs to get experience in. Having Tiernan to come on could give us a good lift in tougher games, should we win.

Did someone say should we get in the back door that we will NOT be in Dublins group?
I'm just wondering IF we should make the super 8 what game will we have in Omagh?
I know, we still have a way to go yet (hopefully)
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 05:02:53 PM
If ye bate Cavan, then Cork or Ros ye'll be in Dublin's group.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 28, 2018, 05:07:21 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 28, 2018, 04:26:47 PM

Did someone say should we get in the back door that we will NOT be in Dublins group?
I'm just wondering IF we should make the super 8 what game will we have in Omagh?

All depends on the Round 4 draw - whoever is drawn against Roscommon and Cork will go into the Dublin & Donegal group.
To avoid Dublin's group a team has to be drawn against either Laois or Fermanagh.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 05:20:45 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 28, 2018, 05:07:21 PM

All depends on the Round 4 draw - whoever is drawn against Roscommon and Cork will go into the Dublin & Donegal group.

That must be a new system >:(
Post by: giveballaghback on June 28, 2018, 06:04:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 05:20:45 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 28, 2018, 05:07:21 PM

It looks fairly complicated Rossfan, away too difficult for us  rossies to understand. ??? ???

That must be a new system >:(
Its very complicated Rossfan and too difficult for us rossies to understsnd.  ::)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 28, 2018, 08:57:56 PM
Quote@JoeBrolly1993

Delighted young Dara McVeety exonerated. Fully deserved result
Post by: Itchy on June 28, 2018, 10:03:36 PM
Two boys got off, rightly so. Neither of them did anything warranting a red card. All punches were thrown by Down men
Post by: Westside on June 28, 2018, 10:10:46 PM
Joe was quick off the draw... Was he involved?
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:13:01 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 28, 2018, 10:03:36 PM
Two boys got off, rightly so. Neither of them did anything warranting a red card. All punches were thrown by Down men

You're all set now, Itchy.
Time to lower the blade.
Post by: Itchy on June 28, 2018, 10:23:52 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:13:01 PM

You're all set now, Itchy.
Time to lower the blade.

A manly performance coming up.

Jinxy, now that your own county are shite and you are following the breffni boys so closely I cordially invite you to join our bandwagon until such a time as Meath become better than shite again.

RSVP
Post by: omagh_gael on June 28, 2018, 11:09:37 PM
Had kids up at Garvaghey this evening at the play park and saw some of the senior training. Brennan and Bradley trained separately with Michael Harte so unlikely we'll see them on Saturday. They looked to be moving good though. Hopefully Back in action soon so long as the Breffni boys go easy on us.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 11:10:11 PM

(https://img.rasset.ie/00102443-800.jpg)

???
Post by: Itchy on June 28, 2018, 11:12:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 11:10:11 PM

(https://img.rasset.ie/00102443-800.jpg)

???

That's a nice picture. What's your point
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 28, 2018, 11:14:59 PM

One excuse fewer to have, bring it on in Brewster!  ;)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 28, 2018, 11:16:32 PM
Does nobody accept been send of these days!!
Post by: Throw ball on June 28, 2018, 11:22:12 PM
Where is the furore from the Tyrone men over these suspensions being overturned. At least with Armagh under 20s those who the referee red carded served a suspension - plus the member of management team. Obviously Stevie was right senior teams operate under different rules.

On saying that - best of luck Cavan on Saturday  ;D
Post by: BennyCake on June 28, 2018, 11:40:20 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 28, 2018, 11:16:32 PM
Does nobody accept been send of these days!!

I don't know, but they don't seem to accept "being sent off" ;)
Post by: seafoid on June 28, 2018, 11:50:06 PM
Cavan haven't beaten Tyrone in the championship since 1983.
When are Cavan going to win the psychological match ups?
Tyrone have definitely had better vintages.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 29, 2018, 12:04:34 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on June 28, 2018, 11:22:12 PM
Where is the furore from the Tyrone men over these suspensions being overturned.

Sure Cavan are so chronic they can't be bothered, it's almost like an apology for foisting Matty upon us God help us all. Even the normally effusive Tyrone posters can't be arsed writing anything either, save for the usual jaded Cavan jokes here and there of course, which only further feed the wearied sense of ennui and inevitability about this game.

Tyrone will win the match in neutral, and may well reverse over the finish line with the handbrake on while Cavan spend 70 minutes inching around, trying to parallel park like Austin Powers.
Post by: Rois on June 29, 2018, 06:47:43 AM

1 N Morgan

2 P Hamspey

3 R McNamee

4 C McCarron

5 M McKernan

6 F Burns

7 P Harte

8 C Cavanagh

9 D McClure

10 M Donnelly

11 N Sludden

12 C Meyler

13 C McShane

14 R Donnelly

15 C McAliskey

16 M O'Neill

17 R Brennan

18 M Cassidy

19 H Loughran

20 C McCann

21 T McCann

22 A McCrory

23 HP McGeary

24 K McGeary

25 P McNulty

26 R O'Neill

Post by: Dire Ear on June 29, 2018, 07:58:10 AM
A v good team; my only change would be RON for McShane,  and I know he has alot of fans on here.  Very hit and miss ( ironic I know , RON the same ) but more skill imho.
Tyrone by 5, in a far from friendly match!
Post by: mrdeeds on June 29, 2018, 08:17:36 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on June 28, 2018, 11:22:12 PM
Where is the furore from the Tyrone men over these suspensions being overturned. At least with Armagh under 20s those who the referee red carded served a suspension - plus the member of management team. Obviously Stevie was right senior teams operate under different rules.

On saying that - best of luck Cavan on Saturday  ;D

Cavan didn't throw one box. Right to appeal. Didn't put one tackle in during game either.
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2018, 09:46:06 AM
Man for man how do the teams shape up?
Post by: mrdeeds on June 29, 2018, 10:08:42 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 29, 2018, 09:46:06 AM

Tyrone by at least 10.
Post by: Itchy on June 29, 2018, 10:25:09 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 29, 2018, 09:46:06 AM

A lot depends on the tactics. If Cavan set up as they did against Down then Tyrone will win this very easily indeed.
Post by: Whishtup on June 29, 2018, 10:40:51 AM
What team has the most gingers? Has to be a factor in this weather.  Are you allowed a ginger sub?
Post by: Fuzzman on June 29, 2018, 11:16:53 AM
How do most of ye rate Conal McCann?
Is he a very good club player?
Maybe bar the Derry game last year I cannot see anything that great about him. If he a good free taker?
Is he better than RoN or just a different position?

I hope McCarron has learn't from the way he got skinned last week for the Carlow goal. It was all too easy and happened right in front of us. I am a bit disappointed HP is not getting more of a look in. I wonder sometimes is ruthless Mickey sometimes a bit too loyal to those he has sympathy for re his life. I suppose McCarron did quite well in the second half last week. How old is he now?
Post by: Itchy on June 29, 2018, 11:22:52 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on June 29, 2018, 10:40:51 AM
What team has the most gingers? Has to be a factor in this weather.  Are you allowed a ginger sub?

Cian Mackey and Jason McLoughlin. McLoughlin started on the bench the last day. Mackey will need a cap.

Any baldies, they are at highest risk. Cavan removed all baldies from the panel this year.
Post by: WT4E on June 29, 2018, 11:30:31 AM
Quote from: Rois on June 29, 2018, 06:47:43 AM

1 N Morgan

2 P Hamspey

3 R McNamee TINGE

4 C McCarron

5 M McKernan

6 F Burns

7 P Harte

8 C Cavanagh

9 D McClure

10 M Donnelly

11 N Sludden

12 C Meyler

13 C McShane

14 R Donnelly

15 C McAliskey

16 M O'Neill

17 R Brennan

18 M Cassidy

19 H Loughran

20 C McCann

21 T McCann

22 A McCrory

23 HP McGeary

24 K McGeary

25 P McNulty

26 R O'Neill

Above in bold are ginge - we're fecked in that heat!!!
Post by: Itchy on June 29, 2018, 11:51:58 AM
Paddy Power didnt do a proper Ginge assesment then, ye are 2/9 now to win this. Cavan a massive 4-1 which I thought should have narrowed with McVeety back.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 29, 2018, 12:03:29 PM
What price is he to be first sent off?

I never liked the lad as he always seemed to get over exciting when playing us
Then wan day I met his dad in the pub in the Silver Birches so had to mind my manners.
Post by: Itchy on June 29, 2018, 12:28:14 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 29, 2018, 12:03:29 PM

Then wan day I met his dad in the pub in the Silver Birches so had to mind my manners.

Who?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 29, 2018, 12:31:44 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 29, 2018, 12:28:14 PM

Who?

Mc Veety -- will be mildly surprised if he lasts the entirety! ;)
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 29, 2018, 01:49:24 PM

Might that be due to Tyrone and not McVeety?  :P
Post by: RedHand88 on June 29, 2018, 02:15:06 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on June 29, 2018, 10:40:51 AM

They're bringing in ginger breaks if the temperature reaches a certain level.
Post by: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 02:23:19 PM
What sort of a crowd are ye expecting now? With the weather I can see it being close to full.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 29, 2018, 03:08:57 PM
Quote from: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 02:23:19 PM
What sort of a crowd are ye expecting now? With the weather I can see it being close to full.

Cavan will bring a small crowd. Down match was the last straw for many in terms of direction and it's also being televised.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 29, 2018, 03:17:23 PM
Ruairi Sludden also pulled up during training hence him not being named on subs bench. Some situation to be in with two 'non full forwards' in FF line and only two forwards on the subs bench in RoN and Loughran. We really need Bradley and Brennan back in the fold.
Post by: bigpackiechestout on June 29, 2018, 03:33:43 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 29, 2018, 03:08:57 PM

Cavan will bring a small crowd. Down match was the last straw for many in terms of direction and it's also being televised.

Out of curiosity, why are Cavan so downbeat? They got promoted from Division 2 this year meaning that they will have played 2 out of 3 seasons in Division 1, and therefore have a legitimate claim to be one of the top 8 to 10 teams in the country. Surely Saturday is a massive opportunity for them, i saw a Cavan journalist on twitter say that if they were to beat Tyrone it would be their biggest championship victory since 1997. And if they were to progress they would fancy their chances against any of the provincial losers for a place in the Super 8s.

I would have thought all of the above represents good progress for a county with Cavans record over the last couple of decades. Ok they shipped a heavy enough defeat to Donegal but Donegal's performances since show that they are a strong outfit. Is the pessimism related to the style of football or are the supporters not happy with Mattie? From the outside looking in Cavan had been putting up good scores in the League and correct me if I'm wrong also but haven't a host of senior players dropped off the panel over the last year or two which makes Cavan's current standing even more impressive.

Again from the outside looking in, Cavans current plight seems to reflect a more general malaise in county football at the minute. As I said, Cavan could be seen to be punching above their weight and are arguably a top 10 team, yet there seems to be no buy in from their supporters. Ok they have no chance of winning an All Ireland so you could argue a second tier competition would benefit them and give them something proper to play for. Although I guarantee if this was suggested to the players or management they would have other ideas. It seems to be a strange one and I've no clue how it can be fixed to be honest
Post by: Itchy on June 29, 2018, 03:48:09 PM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on June 29, 2018, 03:33:43 PM

Out of curiosity, why are Cavan so downbeat? They got promoted from Division 2 this year meaning that they will have played 2 out of 3 seasons in Division 1, and therefore have a legitimate claim to be one of the top 8 to 10 teams in the country. Surely Saturday is a massive opportunity for them, i saw a Cavan journalist on twitter say that if they were to beat Tyrone it would be their biggest championship victory since 1997. And if they were to progress they would fancy their chances against any of the provincial losers for a place in the Super 8s.

I would have thought all of the above represents good progress for a county with Cavans record over the last couple of decades. Ok they shipped a heavy enough defeat to Donegal but Donegal's performances since show that they are a strong outfit. Is the pessimism related to the style of football or are the supporters not happy with Mattie? From the outside looking in Cavan had been putting up good scores in the League and correct me if I'm wrong also but haven't a host of senior players dropped off the panel over the last year or two which makes Cavan's current standing even more impressive.

Again from the outside looking in, Cavans current plight seems to reflect a more general malaise in county football at the minute. As I said, Cavan could be seen to be punching above their weight and are arguably a top 10 team, yet there seems to be no buy in from their supporters. Ok they have no chance of winning an All Ireland so you could argue a second tier competition would benefit them and give them something proper to play for. Although I guarantee if this was suggested to the players or management they would have other ideas. It seems to be a strange one and I've no clue how it can be fixed to be honest

Lad, outside Dublin, Kerry and Mayo no one has a chance of winning the All Ireland.

Cavan fans are depressed with the way we set up the last day v Down and against Donegal. Its all over the place. Defenders standing around doing nothing, dropping our best forward. I could write an essay. There is no optimism but you know sometimes that's when we pull one out of the bag.
Post by: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 04:06:18 PM
I was up at the league final Itchy and you had set up almost man for man that day. While not a good result it was a great entertaining game for a neutral (OK I have Cavan ties so was big time up for them). The problem that day seemed to be that your defenders are simply not good enough to mark man to man and after that I was completely unsurprised to hear you'd gone more defensive in the championship.

Donegal you can completely understand and while you certainly could have been more attacking against Down from what I've read it would make sense for a manager who's trying to look a game or two ahead to stick with the system he's intending to use. Surely no-one from Cavan would want you to go out against Tyrone man to man??
Post by: bigpackiechestout on June 29, 2018, 04:23:24 PM
Quote from: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 04:06:18 PM
I was up at the league final Itchy and you had set up almost man for man that day. While not a good result it was a great entertaining game for a neutral (OK I have Cavan ties so was big time up for them). The problem that day seemed to be that your defenders are simply not good enough to mark man to man and after that I was completely unsurprised to hear you'd gone more defensive in the championship.

Donegal you can completely understand and while you certainly could have been more attacking against Down from what I've read it would make sense for a manager who's trying to look a game or two ahead to stick with the system he's intending to use. Surely no-one from Cavan would want you to go out against Tyrone man to man??

Yes this is what I was getting at. Appreciate I am looking in from the outside but Cavan seem to be an example of a team who are set up to maximise the ability of the players at their disposal and as a result they are punching slightly above their weight. Maybe Cavan people would say I am being unfair on the players they have in the county and that under another manager they would a competitive Division 1 side and competing for Ulster titles, but I can't see it.

I just think that given Cavans circumstances if their fans are disillusioned with the team at present then what are the 20 odd teams below them in the pecking order going to be like. And if that's the case then it paints a bleak picture for county football as a whole.
Post by: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 04:31:42 PM
I just don't understand why Cavan aren't stronger and I'm really not trying to be patronising here.

They've the richest history and tradition in Ulster by a country mile.
Only 4 teams in Ireland have more provincial titles than them.
Only 5 teams have more allirelands than them.
Outside of Mayo I've never met people from a county who are more football mad, it's all anyone talks about and the club scene seems pretty decent.
They've no soccer team to compete with.
They had a really successful underage panel a few years ago that are all in their prime now.

Now they are relatively a small county with 76k population.
They're in a malaise for the last 20 years and longer.
According to the missus at least when she lived there a lot of country players were picked based on who they were and what club rather than ability.

It's just strange how a county can fall off a cliff like that, but in 20 years time they'll still be the most successful Ulster team ever.
Post by: Solo_run on June 29, 2018, 04:46:55 PM
Tyrone 3-14
Cavan 1-12
Post by: bigpackiechestout on June 29, 2018, 04:52:41 PM
Quote from: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 04:31:42 PM
I just don't understand why Cavan aren't stronger and I'm really not trying to be patronising here.

Outside of Mayo I've never met people from a county who are more football mad, it's all anyone talks about and the club scene seems pretty decent.
They had a really successful underage panel a few years ago that are all in their prime now.

According to the missus at least when she lived there a lot of country players were picked based on who they were and what club rather than ability.

It's just strange how a county can fall off a cliff like that, but in 20 years time they'll still be the most successful Ulster team ever.

This is all dangerous talk from a Tyrone perspective ahead of tomorrow. Cavan are due one!!
Post by: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 04:57:15 PM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on June 29, 2018, 04:52:41 PM
Quote from: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 04:31:42 PM

This is all dangerous talk from a Tyrone perspective ahead of tomorrow. Cavan are due one!!

What happens happens regardless of what I think or post on here!  ;D ;D

While I expect Tyrone to win by a few Cavan got a nice boost with the two lads coming back, playing in brewster should suit them too and they have nothing to lose as underdogs.
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2018, 05:05:06 PM
Cavan's last AI was 66 years ago.
How many Ulsters since?  5?
Emigration off small farms and no big towns so population losses, like most rural Counties.
Gaelic football improving  by leaps and bounds in the 6Cos  following the 1947 Education Act. Meant  larger numbers of Catholics going to  secondary schools. Increased no of teaching jobs too.

Post by: redzone on June 29, 2018, 05:22:16 PM
So Cavan people are thick then
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2018, 05:44:17 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 29, 2018, 05:05:06 PM
Emigration off small farms and no big towns so population losses, like most rural Counties.
Gaelic football improving  by leaps and bounds in the 6Cos  following the 1947 Education Act. Meant  larger numbers of Catholics going to  secondary schools. Increased no of teaching jobs too.
After 1921 either Cavan, Monaghan or Donegal were going to make hay and clean up Anglo Celt titles. The occupied territories were in no state to get organised football wise and there was no support from the authorities.
This effect lasted until the end of the 50s.
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2018, 05:47:58 PM
Donegal were into fishing,  working in Scotland or Soccer.
Only won their first Ulster in 1972 I believe.
The 6 Cos teams started taking over from 53 wasn't it?
Armagh,  Tyrone,Derry and then the real thing Down all won Ulsters in the 1950s.
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2018, 05:54:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 29, 2018, 05:47:58 PM
Armagh,  Tyrone,Derry and then the real thing Down all won Ulsters in the 1950s.

Yes. and they needed to do a few iterations before Down got there. I would love to have been in CP for the 1960 final.

I think Ros, Cavan and Mayo won all their Sams in a 20 year period - 33 to 52
That was a glorious era for BMW football
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2018, 05:59:09 PM
Cavan are infuriating. They have just been promoted to Division 1 . They have some very experienced players. Young fellas with a few ulster under 21s. Tyrone are mediocre. But they will still probably have bate Cavan even before the ball is thrown in. And it's 21 years since 97
Post by: Itchy on June 29, 2018, 06:16:34 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 29, 2018, 05:05:06 PM

Dont think that was it. It was complacency. Cavan didn't move with the times and were still playing kick and catch in the 80s losing to teams with lesser quality players. It was a slippery slope. By the way cavan were a force in the 60s and should have won an all Ireland or two. They dished out some by beatings to down when they were reigning all Ireland champs. Charlie Gallagher was one of Ireland best in the 60s.
Post by: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 06:25:37 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 29, 2018, 05:59:09 PM
Cavan are infuriating. They have just been promoted to Division 1 . They have some very experienced players. Young fellas with a few ulster under 21s. Tyrone are mediocre. But they will still probably have bate Cavan even before the ball is thrown in. And it's 21 years since 97

mediocre lol???

How do you work that one out and by what standard? By Dublin's standard everyone is mediocre. By Everyone else's standard Tyrone are among the very best teams in the country.

We also have some very experienced players, we've players from both the 2006 and 2015 Ulster U21 winning panels, and the 2015 All-Ireland minor winners. We've players 4 Ulster minor winning teams and 2 All-Ireland minor winning teams. We've one player left with a Sr football All Ireland and 5 senior Ulster football championships.

But yeah that's a mediocre side with f**k all achievements. In the last few years we've either gone out to the winner of the AI or the runner up by narrow margins.

Maybe stick to subjects you have a clue about.
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2018, 06:38:44 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 29, 2018, 05:54:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 29, 2018, 05:47:58 PM

Yes. and they needed to do a few iterations before Down got there. I would love to have been in CP for the 1960 final.

I think Ros, Cavan and Mayo won all their Sams in a 20 year period - 33 to 52
That was a glorious era for BMW football
BMW football!!! That's a new one :D
Maybe we could have a BMW Championship.
2 Galway,  2 Ros, 3 Mayowestros and 5 Cavan.
12 out of 20.
Halcyon heritage days.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 29, 2018, 07:01:36 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 29, 2018, 03:48:09 PM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on June 29, 2018, 03:33:43 PM

Lad, outside Dublin, Kerry and Mayo no one has a chance of winning the All Ireland.

Cavan fans are depressed with the way we set up the last day v Down and against Donegal. Its all over the place. Defenders standing around doing nothing, dropping our best forward. I could write an essay. There is no optimism but you know sometimes that's when we pull one out of the bag.

Kerry with 7 lads making their debuts are in full transition mode its a bit early for them yet. I don't know how many more All Ireland finals Mayo have to lose before people realize they aren't going to win the All Ireland. Its basically Dublin's All Ireland to lose and it has been that way since 2013.

Cavan fans would be less depressed I can imagine if they defended better in games and Tyrone i'd say was the one team they didn't want in round 3.

Post by: Baggio90 on June 29, 2018, 08:53:35 PM
Quote from: Jayop on June 29, 2018, 06:25:37 PM

mediocre lol???

How do you work that one out and by what standard? By Dublin's standard everyone is mediocre. By Everyone else's standard Tyrone are among the very best teams in the country.

We also have some very experienced players, we've players from both the 2006 and 2015 Ulster U21 winning panels, and the 2015 All-Ireland minor winners. We've players 4 Ulster minor winning teams and 2 All-Ireland minor winning teams. We've one player left with a Sr football All Ireland and 5 senior Ulster football championships.

But yeah that's a mediocre side with f**k all achievements. In the last few years we've either gone out to the winner of the AI or the runner up by narrow margins.

I think Seafoid is a bit perturbed by the fact that Tyrone have won three All Irelands since Galway last even won a football Championship game at Croke Park.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 29, 2018, 10:55:59 PM
Is seafóid an seafóid í, as gaeilge, ie, nonsense, never forget that! ;)
Post by: Gmac on June 30, 2018, 02:12:21 AM
Tyrone by 6/7
Post by: seafoid on June 30, 2018, 07:12:38 AM
Quote from: Baggio90 on June 29, 2018, 08:53:35 PM

mediocre lol???

I think Seafoid is a bit perturbed by the fact that Tyrone have won three All Irelands since Galway last even won a football Championship game at Croke Park.
Ní uasal agus íseal ach thus seal agus thíos seal.
I think Tyrone are thíos  seal and in denial. 

There are many more narratives than getting beaten out the door by Armagh say in Round 1 of Ulster  (0) and winning craobh na hÉireann (100). Not all threads lead to the top.
Post by: Baggio90 on June 30, 2018, 02:44:15 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 30, 2018, 07:12:38 AM
Quote from: Baggio90 on June 29, 2018, 08:53:35 PM

mediocre lol???

Ní uasal agus íseal ach thus seal agus thíos seal.
I think Tyrone are thíos  seal and in denial. 

There are many more narratives than getting beaten out the door by Armagh say in Round 1 of Ulster  (0) and winning craobh na hÉireann (100). Not all threads lead to the top.

The lady doth protest too much.
Post by: Imposerous on June 30, 2018, 04:42:30 PM
Any links?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 30, 2018, 05:15:39 PM
Decent game so far. 15 mins played Cavan 0-4 Tyrone 0-4
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 30, 2018, 05:32:10 PM
Tyrone in full flight are lovely to watch.
Post by: straightred on June 30, 2018, 05:35:38 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on June 30, 2018, 05:32:10 PM
Tyrone in full flight are lovely to watch.

and cavan certainly aren't. clueless at the moment
Post by: twohands!!! on June 30, 2018, 05:37:02 PM
Jeez lads I think it's poor enough fare.
Tyrone slightly less worse than a woeful Cavan.
Can't see either side doing anything of note.
Post by: Itchy on June 30, 2018, 05:44:12 PM
Two shit teams. Cavan just more shit and have no attacking plan at all. Pathetic stuff.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 30, 2018, 05:46:17 PM
If this game carries on the same way 2nd half Tyrone will win by 8 to 10 points.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 30, 2018, 05:46:24 PM
The Tyrone 45 is like the lunching pad for all their attacks. Cavan finding it hard to breach. Tyrone so disciplined in the tackle so many turn overs. If Tyrone get first score of second half Cavan could wilt.
Post by: Rois on June 30, 2018, 05:47:26 PM
Tyrone conceded their first free in the 31st minute.
Post by: Rossfan on June 30, 2018, 05:48:26 PM
Hard to watch aoart from tge spell where Cavan got tge few piints.
Cavan so slow and as someone said brain dead.
Small looking crowd 6 or 7k?
Post by: Jayop on June 30, 2018, 05:50:08 PM
First twenty was good. Slowed down a lot then. Tyrone far better footballers though.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 30, 2018, 05:53:00 PM
Cavan took one or two nice scores but Jesus it's absolutely dire stuff in attack generally. Just lifeless, drab shuffling sideways and backwards, largely going through the motions. What, exactly, is the plan supposed to be? If we amble around slowly enough, Tyrone might nod off and we'll nip in for a few quick goals???

I've seen more energetic attacks by the zombies on the walking dead, who deal better with congestion to at least register the odd score.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 30, 2018, 05:55:36 PM
Quote from: Jayop on June 30, 2018, 05:50:08 PM
First twenty was good. Slowed down a lot then. Tyrone far better footballers though.
Look better because Tyrone players look fitter and more physical. A few Cavan players are either off the pace or overweight
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 30, 2018, 05:59:58 PM
Tyrone not even going full of the pipe playing very much as a team in every way.  A breeze now favouring Cavan probably should go long and quick.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 30, 2018, 06:05:29 PM
Cavan goal out of nothing 1-6 to 0-10
Post by: twohands!!! on June 30, 2018, 06:06:42 PM
Jeez the embarrassment of conceding a goal to this Cavan attack.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 30, 2018, 06:07:13 PM
Game on
Post by: twohands!!! on June 30, 2018, 06:10:55 PM
Colm Cav a bit lucky to only get a yellow there.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 30, 2018, 06:15:16 PM
53 mins gone still all to play for. Cavan 1-8 Tyrone 0-12
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2018, 06:22:39 PM

The difference between these two sides is negligible as footballers. Tyrone's knack for rooting out games and Cavan's for throwing them away is the only real difference.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 30, 2018, 06:25:09 PM
63 mins gone. Cavan 1-10 Tyrone 0-16
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2018, 06:36:25 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2018, 06:22:39 PM

The difference between these two sides is negligible as footballers. Tyrone's knack for rooting out games and Cavan's for throwing them away is the only real difference.

Post by: Blowitupref on June 30, 2018, 06:38:59 PM
FT Cavan 1-12 Tyrone 0-18
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 30, 2018, 06:45:45 PM
Didn't turn out as horrendous as it looked like it would be at half time for Cavan, but Tyrone were the better team overall and deserved the win without a whole pile of questions being asked of them. Then again, perhaps Tyrone are only stirring themselves as much as is necessary at this stage of the year but in general they don't look like making an impression at the business end of the championship.
Well done and fair play, no complaints about the result.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 30, 2018, 06:48:17 PM
Tyrone just that little bit better. Cavan goal helped the score line look respectable. Even when Cavan drew level Tyrone never panicked and stepped it up a gear always keeping Cavan at arms length.
Post by: Low and Hard on June 30, 2018, 06:52:48 PM
Who got sky man of the match?
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 30, 2018, 07:45:29 PM
Quote from: Low and Hard on June 30, 2018, 06:52:48 PM
Who got sky man of the match?
Niall Sludden from Dromore St Dympna's deserved it. Terrific heat, the guys have to go again in 7 days.
Post by: Hotrocks on June 30, 2018, 09:25:00 PM
Thank god i didn't have to travel to Dublin to watch that muck! Thought Mc Shane  unlucky to be subbed so early, there was a few boys should have been off before him.
Post by: tyroneman on June 30, 2018, 09:50:39 PM
Sudden excellent for Tyrone today. Him and Petey provided most of the impetus when we  could be bothered actually driving forward and trying to break lines.

Awful day at the office for MoN. If Morgan isn't injured he's a shoe in next game. Calamitous under high ball today.

Team has seriously regressed from.last year.
Post by: Baggio90 on June 30, 2018, 09:57:55 PM
Very poor display today.

Morgan gets a lot of stick but he's a very reliable keeper, O'Neill on the other hand is a liability, hopeless under the high and his kickouts not as good. Harte should just stick with Morgan from here on in.

A worrying display for Tyrone, it was a game we could have killed off when we wanted but didn't and kept Cavan in it. Only real standouts were Sludden, Meyler and Colm Cavanagh. Defence very off the mark, let the Cavan inside line win a lot of ball, McNamee is living off his 2015 form and needs to be dropped. McAliskey had a stinker, he's an all or nothing player really, either very good or hopeless. Today was the latter.

We're really lacking in leadership, you look at the side and apart from Colm Cavanagh there is not one player I'd expect to deliver. We all know the quality of Harte, Sludden and Donnelly but they only seem to play in fits and starts. They rarely deliver 70 minute displays and when they do, it's normally a case of one of them delivering and the others being quiet.

Ronan O'Neill played well off the bench, might be worth a start next weekend ahead of McAliskey.

Maybe we can turn it around but it looks like we're stumbling along this year until we meet a decent team and get a rough reality check. Loads of key players not going well this year.
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2018, 10:28:09 PM
Always great beating Cavan. Their hidings in the 40s are hard to forget.
Post by: Itchy on June 30, 2018, 10:33:27 PM
Tyrone much the better team but I'm afraid no where close to all Ireland contenders. Cavan need a new manager. They just looked like they have gone back 5 years in my eyes. It was sheer effort from individuals that kept them in games. Far from the clever masterstroke the bluffers on the Sunday game claim, playing Sean Johnston around the middle is just pure stupid as he has no legs for it. Losing Clarke to injury was a big blow too.
Post by: redzone on June 30, 2018, 10:42:41 PM
Mcveety a class act, but if we can get our two star forwards back and make the super 8s then anything can happen. With mayo out I'm sure there is more shocks to come yet. Winning while playing poorly is a sign of a good team
Post by: twohands!!! on June 30, 2018, 10:47:06 PM
Quote from: Baggio90 on June 30, 2018, 09:57:55 PM

Maybe we can turn it around but it looks like we're stumbling along this year until we meet a decent team and get a rough reality check. Loads of key players not going well this year.

It could get ugly if Tyrone stumble to the Super 8 group stages and end up in a group with 3 decent sides.
Post by: giveballaghback on June 30, 2018, 10:55:50 PM
That game was a joke, walking soccer for over 70s is more intense than that.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 30, 2018, 11:01:24 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on June 30, 2018, 10:55:50 PM
That game was a joke, walking soccer for over 70s is more intense than that.

Those are fake hands.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 30, 2018, 11:18:30 PM
Is round 4 neutral venue?
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2018, 11:36:41 PM
The tale of 2 O'Neills.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 01, 2018, 12:01:37 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 30, 2018, 11:18:30 PM
Is round 4 neutral venue?

CCCC picks

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dg9P8uhXcAEFjya.jpg)
Post by: sensethetone on July 01, 2018, 08:19:10 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 30, 2018, 10:33:27 PM
Tyrone much the better team but I'm afraid no where close to all Ireland contenders. Cavan need a new manager. They just looked like they have gone back 5 years in my eyes. It was sheer effort from individuals that kept them in games. Far from the clever masterstroke the bluffers on the Sunday game claim, playing Sean Johnston around the middle is just pure stupid as he has no legs for it. Losing Clarke to injury was a big blow too.

Thought you were just worried about someone having a peddle in the street?
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 09:16:55 AM
Quote from: redzone on June 30, 2018, 10:42:41 PM
Mcveety a class act, but if we can get our two star forwards back and make the super 8s then anything can happen. With mayo out I'm sure there is more shocks to come yet. Winning while playing poorly is a sign of a good team
Our 2 star forwards ?
At inter county level Bradley is good, Brennan is decent. You probably think Mc Aliskey is star quality too. Winning while playing poorly is also a sign of a team who maybe arent top quality
Post by: redzone on July 01, 2018, 10:41:32 AM
Quote from: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 09:16:55 AM
Our 2 star forwards ?
At inter county level Bradley is good, Brennan is decent. You probably think Mc Aliskey is star quality too. Winning while playing poorly is also a sign of a team who maybe arent top quality
Who would you say our star forwards are then?
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 10:50:04 AM
Quote from: redzone on July 01, 2018, 10:41:32 AM
Our 2 star forwards ?
My definition of star forwards in the country would included Paul Geaney, Paddy Mc Brearty and not many others. Tyrone dont have anyone of that standard. Not many counties do tbf
Post by: redzone on July 01, 2018, 11:06:06 AM
Quote from: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 10:50:04 AM
Our 2 star forwards ?
My definition of star forwards in the country would included Paul Geaney, Paddy Mc Brearty and not many others. Tyrone dont have anyone of that standard. Not many counties do tbf
That doesn't make sense to me. Every county team has a star forward or two. Whether it be macky/ mcceety for Cavan or quiqley/ Corrigan for Fermanagh. Just cause they aren't at mcbearty and geaneys level doesn't mean they haven't got that star quality.
Post by: Dire Ear on July 01, 2018, 11:07:53 AM
How many Tyrone forwards would get on the Kerry team?
Post by: redzone on July 01, 2018, 11:15:28 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on July 01, 2018, 11:07:53 AM
Who are the Kerry forwards, their team has changed a bit I think
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 11:19:04 AM
Quote from: redzone on July 01, 2018, 11:06:06 AM
Our 2 star forwards ?
That doesn't make sense to me. Every county team has a star forward or two. Whether it be macky/ mcceety for Cavan or quiqley/ Corrigan for Fermanagh. Just cause they aren't at mcbearty and geaneys level doesn't mean they haven't got that star quality.
You talk about star forwards as if Tyrone have forwards who will come into the team and make a huge difference. They havent. Imo the best option to make a difference in a tight game is Ronan O Neill. Ronan does seem to be more effective coming on as a sub though
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 01, 2018, 11:24:35 AM
Quote from: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 11:19:04 AM
Ronan does seem to be more effective coming on as a sub though

How can you tell while Harte ignores him in his team selections and holds him for cameo appearances rather than giving him a long run as an established forward like he did with Mark Bradley.
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 11:31:27 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 01, 2018, 11:24:35 AM

How can you tell while Harte ignores him in his team selections and holds him for cameo appearances rather than giving him a long run as an established forward like he did with Mark Bradley.
True,
Post by: redzone on July 01, 2018, 11:35:11 AM
Quote from: redzone on July 01, 2018, 11:06:06 AM
Our 2 star forwards ?
You talk about star forwards as if Tyrone have forwards who will come into the team and make a huge difference. They havent. Imo the best option to make a difference in a tight game is Ronan O Neill. Ronan does seem to be more effective coming on as a sub though

100% right on oneill. He's proved he's best in the last 10 min when he can get us a few scores rather than be on from the start and lose his confidence when he can't win a ball.
Amazed on your opinions on bradley and lee and I think it's more a case of rather admit defeat in the argument you'd rather make yourselves look like a fella who is a bit jealous of his killyclogher neighbour
Post by: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 11:55:17 AM

Brennan, mcaliskey, Sludden. Maybe Bradley on a good day.
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 12:01:24 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 11:55:17 AM

Brennan, mcaliskey, Sludden. Maybe Bradley on a good day.
;D ;D ;D
Geaney O Donoghue and Clifford and you would have Brennan Mc Aliskey and Bradley starting...
The gift that keeps on giving
Post by: skeog on July 01, 2018, 12:02:04 PM
none
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 12:06:00 PM
[Quote from: In hiding on February 01, 2018, 07:44:57 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on February 01, 2018, 04:00:07 PM
Quote from: In hiding on February 01, 2018, 09:56:26 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on February 01, 2018, 09:36:59 AM
Quote from: In hiding on January 31, 2018, 11:11:21 PM
Question for all you knowlegeable people out there. Just imagine you were managing a team and had to pick a full forward line from Paul Geaney, Paul Mannion, Dean Rock, Cillian O Connor, Andy Moran, Paddy Mc Brearty and Mark Bradley, what would it be ?

Moran/McBrearty and COC.

interesting

Can I ask why you picked those players? Any reason?

I picked those as I wondered who people thought were the best inside forwards playing at the minute. Probably could have included James O Donoghue and Bernard Brogan also. I think Mark Bradley is better than Andy Moran, Cillian O Connor and Dean Rock, but thats just my opinion]

Good man redzone, away and have a wee chat to yourself
Post by: Baggio90 on July 01, 2018, 12:06:28 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on July 01, 2018, 11:24:35 AM

O'Neill played pretty much the whole of the 2016 campaign? He started all of our 5 Championship games, in the opening game against Derry he scored a couple of goals and points, the drawn game against Cavan he hit a pair of points. In the remaining three games against Cavan in the replay, Donegal in the Ulster final and Mayo in the AI QF, he was held scoreless from play.

O'Neill has had his chances, there are many valid criticisms of Harte but not giving Ronan O'Neill a fair crack is certainly not one of them. He's a finisher but lacks the pace and ball winning ability to be a top forward. I felt he did well yesterday when he came on and probably deserves a start next weekend ahead of McAliskey who has had a nightmare.

In terms of what they can contribute at intercounty level, I'd have Bradley, Brennan and McAliskey ahead of him. If McCurry was available too, I'd put him down as having more to offer. Tyrone's problem is all these lads are samey types of players, all nice footballers, all quite slight and small.

The top inside forwards in the game now are different beasts - McManus, Geaney, McBrearty, Mannion etc, they're all 6ft+ pacey and good ball winners. The fact is that if Tyrone had someone like a Conairre Harrisson or Andrew Murnin, they would arguably be the main men in our forward line. The game has changed.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 12:08:41 PM
Did he roast you at u-16 level or something? Why have you such a chip on your shoulder with Bradley?? Like it or not, he us a top class forward.
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 12:11:47 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 12:08:41 PM
Did he roast you at u-16 level or something? Why have you such a chip on your shoulder with Bradley?? Like it or not, he us a top class forward.
who are you talking to ?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 12:12:50 PM
Quote from: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 12:11:47 PM
who are you talking to ?

You.
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 12:14:28 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 01, 2018, 12:12:50 PM
Quote from: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 12:11:47 PM
who are you talking to ?

You.
I said I thought Bradley was better than Moran O Connor or Rock
Post by: redzone on July 01, 2018, 01:18:36 PM
So you reckon Bradley isn't a star player for Tyrone but you reckon he's better than Andy Moran who was player of the year last year. Just admit you haven't a clue
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 06:02:55 PM
Quote from: redzone on July 01, 2018, 01:18:36 PM
So you reckon Bradley isn't a star player for Tyrone but you reckon he's better than Andy Moran who was player of the year last year. Just admit you haven't a clue
Thats exactly what i think. I certainly dont think Andy Moran is the best player in Mayo never mind Ireland.
Anyways i need to learn to stop getting into football discussions with a genius such as yourself
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2018, 06:27:35 PM
Andy isn't in Mayo.
Post by: redzone on July 01, 2018, 07:31:32 PM
Quote from: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 06:02:55 PM
Thats exactly what i think. I certainly dont think Andy Moran is the best player in Mayo never mind Ireland.
Anyways i need to learn to stop getting into football discussions with a genius such as yourself
Right u have me confused now. Who is mayos best forward then
Post by: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 08:03:45 PM
Quote from: redzone on July 01, 2018, 07:31:32 PM
Quote from: In hiding on July 01, 2018, 06:02:55 PM
Right u have me confused now. Who is mayos best forward then
What are you talking about? I dont know who Mayos best forward is but Lee Keegan is their best player. You are like a dog with a bone. Does this stupidity thing come easily for you ?

Did you bother going to your clubs league game today or is club football beneath you