GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Down => Topic started by: Down1234 on July 04, 2018, 05:52:25 PM

Title: Down New manager
Post by: Down1234 on July 04, 2018, 05:52:25 PM
Lads and ladies
County board really need to put some thought into this one !! Looks like you need an all Ireland medal to get a job at top level a bit of thinking outside the box is required and rebuilding
Title: Re: Down New manager
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 06:00:21 PM
Candidates
1-Deegan
2-McCartan
3-Poacher
4-Mulholland
5-Tally
6- McGrath

Out of the above Pete has obviously the best cv but has he got what it takes to move on with the modern game?
McCartan has the experience and done well
Tally has done it all and again would be good
Poacher would be the wild card out of the lot but you just can't turn a blind eye to what he has done in Carlow and would bring some buzz back
Mulholland worked wonders with Rostrevor
Deegan has failed in wherever he has been
Post by: downjim on July 04, 2018, 06:07:44 PM
Worked wonders: they got relegated to intermediate in his first year, please someone list the trophies beside these candidates?

Mickey Walsh
Paddy O Rourke
Sean Ward
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 06:14:08 PM
Deegan none
McCartan few club championship sigerson
Poacher merit in the teams he has managed
Mulholland 3 division 2 titles intermediate championship ulster final
Pete enough said
Tally all Ireland with Tyrone

List them beside yours
Post by: Down1234 on July 04, 2018, 06:56:15 PM
Lads
My man John Kennedy

We need to re build

Under John Kennedy underage teams

1,Niall Mcparland , McCory captain ,down minor captain , down u21 captain , down senior captain

2, Shay Millar down senior

3, Ronan Millar down minor , down u21 captain , down senior

4, Shay Mccartan down minor , pro scoccor player

5, laim Bagnall , ex pro scoccer player , semi pro scoccer player at present and would walk onto the down team

6, matty Bagnall , down minor , down u21

7 , Dennis Murtagh , down minor , down u21

Do I need to say any more lads ask any of the current down players who is the best manager they played under and I would say John Kennedy will be there answer

And the players have played under most of the men methoned at underage level

We need progress thinking outside the box
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 04, 2018, 07:10:29 PM
Indeed.
In fact it would seem we need the whole Glenn team by the looks of it.

Pro and semi pro soccer you say.
Tell us another one. Bound to be a few milk cup players about.
Post by: downjim on July 04, 2018, 07:13:24 PM
Oh FFS  funny thing is that Glenn people think that way, there is a reason they are still changing in a box.
Post by: Down1234 on July 04, 2018, 07:18:58 PM
Changing in a box and still prob the best repersented club in the county 🤭

And Liam prob best outta the 3 playing scoccer with no approach from down laughable 😂😂
Post by: downjim on July 04, 2018, 07:29:33 PM
Liam plays for Cliftonville, he has not wore a Glenn jersey this year.
Mccartan has not played for Glenn since 16.

Go do some fundraising
Post by: Down1234 on July 04, 2018, 07:57:46 PM
Lmao my point is

All these players have came through John underage and are or  have been playing at a high level

Down need rebuilt and not live off 91 and 94 and one championship win last year

Post by: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 09:03:21 PM
That's why Down are shite picking from to many white teams.Glenn being that too represented teams tells its own story.And I don't normally agree with Jim
Post by: stiff breeze on July 04, 2018, 09:14:42 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 09:03:21 PM
That's why Down are shite picking from to many white teams.Glenn being that too represented teams tells its own story.And I don't normally agree with Jim

This whole thread is most likely a wind up but that being said , of the 3 players in question , one is the captain, one is developing into one of the most consistent players down have and the third was Downs best player in the last game and still only his second season on the panel. Them players are there on merit and deservedly so. Think before you speak Smurfy
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 09:19:18 PM
Or you could put it like this
One was very poor all year
The other was black carded after not touching the ball against Donegal
And the other was decent against a brutal team like Cavan
Post by: stiff breeze on July 04, 2018, 09:23:51 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 09:19:18 PM
Or you could put it like this
One was very poor all year
The other was black carded after not touching the ball against Donegal
And the other was decent against a brutal team like Cavan

I engaged an idiot , my bad
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 09:30:28 PM
Twice too. You talk some garbage when you do actually post. On the other hand wobbler with out doubt the best poster on the board for knowledge of the game. Got it spot on 3 years ago
Post by: Down1234 on July 05, 2018, 08:14:09 AM
This wasn't started to call out any players in the county as some of you seem to be doing for some reason the problem is with county board and management

No professional enough

Half hearted

There are club teams in the county looked after better than our county set up it's a topic set up to see how we can think outside the box and not run back to the 91 or 94 era
Post by: Down1234 on July 05, 2018, 10:02:33 AM
This wasn't started to call out any players in the county as some of you seem to be doing for some reason the problem is with county board and management

Not professional enough

Half hearted

There are club teams in the county looked after better than our county set up it's a topic set up to see how we can think outside the box and not run back to the 91 or 94
Post by: charlieTully on July 05, 2018, 10:23:29 AM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 09:30:28 PM
Twice too. You talk some garbage when you do actually post. On the other hand wobbler with out doubt the best poster on the board for knowledge of the game. Got it spot on 3 years ago

Be careful wobbler smurf is looking to ride you.
Post by: lfdown2 on July 05, 2018, 02:46:12 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 06:14:08 PM
Deegan none
McCartan few club championship sigerson
Poacher merit in the teams he has managed
Mulholland 3 division 2 titles intermediate championship ulster final
Pete enough said
Tally all Ireland with Tyrone

List them beside yours

Genuine question; what teams has Poacher managed? And of those what success has been achieved?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 05, 2018, 03:00:00 PM
define success if you will
Post by: lfdown2 on July 05, 2018, 03:12:48 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on July 05, 2018, 03:00:00 PM

I was interested in this also, I have no particular opinion on the person and am just interested in what he has achieved as a manager.

Imo a manger differs significantly from a coach, as does the skill set required for each.
Post by: downjim on July 05, 2018, 03:23:26 PM
Success in keeping Ballyholland up, they are now a first div team.
Few z grade schools title.

Seems good with average teams.
Post by: downjim on July 05, 2018, 03:53:05 PM
We want the swagger back
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 05, 2018, 04:21:36 PM
No... ye want more Twitter followers and regular updates and snaps of how jolly the Down players are whilst having a beer.. happy campers. That's where it's at..PR spin and bullshit week in week out. That's what we need. That's what we're lost for as a county. It's not narcissism nor egotistical. It's passion and wearing ones heart on his sleeve.
Post by: Hoes before bros on July 05, 2018, 04:40:18 PM

Very sensible post

Every name that is throw up someone feels the need to ask "What have they won?" Any manager that has won championships, has won them with a top 3 or 4 side. Down are far from a top 3 or 4 team. Whoever the next Down manager is, he will not win championships with Down. So maybe instead we could ask what have they achieved with an average team? That's were names like (Poacher-Ballyholland/Carlow, Tally-St Mary's, Kennedy-Glenn) start to make sense. Those men definitely have one thing that has been missing from Down, players get behind them and want to play for them
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 05, 2018, 04:55:05 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on July 05, 2018, 04:21:36 PM
No... ye want more Twitter followers and regular updates and snaps of how jolly the Down players are whilst having a beer.. happy campers. That's where it's at..PR spin and bullshit week in week out. That's what we need. That's what we're lost for as a county. It's not narcissism nor egotistical. It's passion and wearing ones heart on his sleeve.

Wanting to improve  the county's shit methods of communication with its members is not a goal that is mutually exclusive with wanting greater degrees of success and a half decent playing style.
Post by: Nanderson on July 05, 2018, 04:59:39 PM
One thing I like about Poacher is his enthusiasm for the game. He was our clubs senior manager when I was still a minor and had us training with the senior team as and when we could. Really made us feel like adults around the age group when others start pissing about and quitting football. I'm sure hes made plenty of other players feel like this and he'd be a great addition to anyones background team in a county set up.
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 05, 2018, 05:18:59 PM
For what it's worth
Wee James - Safe pair of hands you know what you are getting from him and they players will like his appointment.
Deegan- Unproven and reports coming out of the under 20s are not good. Players wouldn't react well to it
Pete- Has he lost his spark a bit. This appointment could be brilliant or car crash stuff. Players wouldn't react.
Poacher. This ones a big call. You know what you will get from him. Passion drive energy but defensive football. Players would like this appointment
Mulholland- Again safe pair of hands and would be very smart and organised. Plays a defensive brand off football also. Played would react to him

Interesting times ahead for whatever way they go about picking the manager
I think the Down public and supporters are bored with what they had to put up with this 3 years and they need the spark back.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 05, 2018, 05:23:42 PM
Please explain how you know how the players would react to different managers. How do you know the mindset of the players?
That is unless youre actually on the panel itself or have indeed played under each of the people youve mentioned.
If you havent or this isnt the case then id guess youre really just surmising.

baffling
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 05, 2018, 05:31:43 PM
So it's not hard to understand people's opinions on managers

You know the way the managers have managed teams about the reaction they are going to get. EB was never going to get a reaction out of these Down players.
Post by: Down1234 on July 05, 2018, 06:26:37 PM
Quote from: Hoes before bros on July 05, 2018, 04:40:18 PM

Very sensible post

Every name that is throw up someone feels the need to ask "What have they won?" Any manager that has won championships, has won them with a top 3 or 4 side. Down are far from a top 3 or 4 team. Whoever the next Down manager is, he will not win championships with Down. So maybe instead we could ask what have they achieved with an average team? That's were names like (Poacher-Ballyholland/Carlow, Tally-St Mary's, Kennedy-Glenn) start to make sense. Those men definitely have one thing that has been missing from Down, players get behind them and want to play for them

🙌🙌

Post by: Dubh driocht on July 05, 2018, 08:01:17 PM
McEntee or Conor Laverty have not been mentioned- one or both should be considered.

Of the others;
Pete has come and gone- a great man but not for Down in 2019.
Conor Deegan was a deadly full-back but is dead useless as a manager.
James is still worth considering but his weaknesses are magnified when he surrounds himself with family or yes-men.
Mulholland and Poacher have their strengths- some faults but I like their passion.

Ultimately we need a clear appointment process, led by people with credibility, to put someone in charge who can get us out of Division 3, make us competitive in Ulster and get at least one run in the Super 8s( if they continue) in a three year tenure.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 05, 2018, 09:12:15 PM
Please.
Sell me the Conor Laverty ticket.
We are clearly just plucking names from obscurity now.
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 05, 2018, 09:29:00 PM
Some names being branded about are ludicrous.Conor L was a good player and could be a great coach but ffs lads get a grip here. Winning an under 16 title with an already under 14 wining championship team is not the way to judge. Sell me it too btw
Post by: SHEEDY on July 05, 2018, 09:43:30 PM
Anyone thats worked under connor laverty will tell you he's one of the best young coaches about. That also came from people in dublin I spoke to where laverty had done coaching when he was at university, they couldnt speak highly enough of him. Think it would be a good move to have him involved.
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 05, 2018, 09:59:27 PM
Laverty has been the leader of the best team in Down over the last 10 years. He is passionate about football but also has the brains to read a game and make decisions when others don't even realise a decision has to be made. The powers that be at Trinity College obviously thought enough about him to appoint him as GAA Development Manager. He's a winner who makes the best of what's available to him to achieve what has to be achieved. He knows more about football in Down than anyone on that list.He knows more about man management than anyone on that list. He should be part of the next Down management team.
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 05, 2018, 10:00:01 PM
Did you ever hear of a bad coach? Unless you are clueless about sport the coaching bit should be easy. Murray and Adams are brilliant coaches lads we need a manager. Paddy Hardy is a fantastic coach has he been mentioned yet? Conor O Neill Downpatrick also a fantastic coach has he been mentioned? Mark Copeland? Sean O Hare
Post by: JohnStones on July 05, 2018, 10:08:29 PM
McEntee wouldnt do it. He said he wouldnt after the way he was treated last time. He heard Burns got it third hand. Co Board didnt call him back.

I honestly think we go outside the County. Micky Donnelly is an interesting call. Great track record with Tyrone Minors and now Derry 21s. As well as Senior Club football.

Paddy Tally, there's a boy with the right cv too.
Post by: redzone on July 05, 2018, 10:29:20 PM
Paddy Bradley and benny coulter double.
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 05, 2018, 10:34:17 PM
Lads we need experience
Pete McGrath
James McCartan
Stephen Poacher
Shane Mulholland
Conor Deegan

Young lads no good this time around we need the experience of above
Pete and James?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 05, 2018, 10:34:40 PM
is that a bet?
Post by: downjim on July 05, 2018, 10:49:18 PM
So if Conor Laverty is there then put Benny and Shorty in as well due to leading the best club teams in each decade before, Frank McClorey is free most evenings after 6.30.
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 05, 2018, 10:56:42 PM
Shorty is the king of Down club football followed by Benny who is next in line? Vincy McGovern
Post by: Down1234 on July 05, 2018, 10:59:40 PM
This smurfy lad craics me up

Lmao

James and Pete 😂😂😂

Sure y not get the olde pig skin out a again u clown
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 05, 2018, 11:00:05 PM
Quote from: downjim on July 04, 2018, 07:29:33 PM
Liam plays for Cliftonville, he has not wore a Glenn jersey this year.
Mccartan has not played for Glenn since 16.

Go do some fundraising

Glenn are doing alright on and off the field Jim, and for a club of its size to produce three county players is a testament to the players and to John Kennedy.

Instead of focusing on facilities and the arrogance of your 'our clubs bigger than yours' mentality - would you go back to your club and tell someone to start doing what they should be doing, and produce some county players instead of relying on Kevin McKernan to represent you?

The number of excellent young players to go through the hands of Burren underage football in the last ten years for them to have such poor representation is embarrassing - well I would be if I were you.

The fact that Kilcoo perennially have your number and also the point beating you this year must also raise questions as to how your club nurtures talent from underage to senior level.

Post by: Ambrose on July 05, 2018, 11:21:20 PM
He's coming home? https://bit.ly/2zgNqY8
Post by: Carbery on July 05, 2018, 11:23:38 PM
What about Barney Carr!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 05, 2018, 11:24:55 PM
Jimmy Carr gets my vote
Post by: Carbery on July 05, 2018, 11:31:35 PM
Pete McGrath is now available as he has just stepped down as Louth manager.
Post by: charlieTully on July 05, 2018, 11:55:58 PM
I think smurfy should be the next down manager. With his brother as main coach, his sister as physio and his psychiatrist as water boy.
Post by: downjim on July 06, 2018, 08:52:16 AM
Could McGrath and Poacher work??!
Post by: Mourne Red on July 06, 2018, 09:04:57 AM
Quote from: downjim on July 06, 2018, 08:52:16 AM

McGrath was roaded from Fermanagh by the players and now Louth. I think time might be over on his inter-county days, would you not prefer someone younger with something to prove??
Post by: downjim on July 06, 2018, 09:16:54 AM
Yes Stevie with wee Pete to keep an eye on him . Works a treat in Carlow
Post by: gaaman2016 on July 06, 2018, 09:49:44 AM
Main priority should be to get someone will be entice the best players to play. Current panel has too many players whose standard is slightly below those that are not on the panel or at least that's my perception watching club games anyway.

At the minute it seems very easy for someone to turn down a county call up whereas 10 years ago it would have an honour. Not saying it's completely as a result of the manager but they can play a role

For me Wee James is best positioned for that, not sure about Poucher. But a management team of the two of the them, I think would entice more players than the previous regime
Post by: mourneman9194 on July 06, 2018, 11:40:29 AM
Lads, have been a long time reader of this board and share everyone's frustration. Was at all three games this year and I still believe that we aren't as bad as we were made to look. I believe it was more of a reflection on the management. That being said, one name being forgotten here and should be considered is Frank Dawson. He has had time away from the county scene and I believe he'd be the perfect man for the job. I also believe that Jody Gormley should be considered for the backroom team. 2 new names to consider Lads, what do yous think. Absolutely vital that the CB get this appointment right, can't afford another 3 years of failure.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on July 06, 2018, 12:55:30 PM
Maybe things have changed, but back when I was more in tune with things - Dawson would have been pretty much top of the list for expensive mercenaries that don't bring much to the table.

edit: Anyway, are we not kinda wasting our time spending so much energy on the senior manager - even if it was Jesus Christ, with a backroom team of St. Michael and St. Jude - they'd still not have the tools to do much beyond an Ulster final.

Really, we should be focusing more attention on improving the quality of player across the county. That starts with underage. Who are the county coaches running around the primary schools and clubs, are they at the standard required? Is there more that can be done in terms of people, facilities or competitions?
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 06, 2018, 01:02:31 PM
Gormley's name shouldn't be anywhere near a shortlist, look at the performances of the Abbey MacRory team over the past ten years.
Post by: mourneman9194 on July 06, 2018, 01:18:08 PM
Hence why I said backroom team. Done well with Bredagh and Cullyhanna. He would help create a better defensive structure.
Post by: befair on July 06, 2018, 01:43:24 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 04, 2018, 06:00:21 PM
Candidates
1-Deegan
2-McCartan
3-Poacher
4-Mulholland
5-Tally
6- McGrath

Out of the above Pete has obviously the best cv but has he got what it takes to move on with the modern game?
McCartan has the experience and done well
Tally has done it all and again would be good
Poacher would be the wild card out of the lot but you just can't turn a blind eye to what he has done in Carlow and would bring some buzz back
Mulholland worked wonders with Rostrevor
Deegan has failed in wherever he has been

Can't really say Mulholland worked wonders with Rostrevor; probably 90% of Rostrevor teams over the last 50 yrs (our first time demoted from senior status for 50 yrs) would have won the intermediate championship easily. Team are playing much better this year, better selection, less defensive. Give him a B+ at best

Post by: elk on July 06, 2018, 02:17:12 PM
Quote from: downjim on July 06, 2018, 08:52:16 AM
I think the better players in the county who have opted out under Burns would still stay away if Poacher was involved. Wouldn't enjoy his defensive style and he has probably insulted most of them from the sideline over the years. There is definitely talent around if the next manager can get them interested in representing their county.
Post by: mourneman9194 on July 06, 2018, 02:26:07 PM
Quote from: Down1234 on July 04, 2018, 06:56:15 PM
Lads
My man John Kennedy

We need to re build

Under John Kennedy underage teams

1,Niall Mcparland , McCory captain ,down minor captain , down u21 captain , down senior captain

2, Shay Millar down senior

3, Ronan Millar down minor , down u21 captain , down senior

4, Shay Mccartan down minor , pro scoccor player

5, laim Bagnall , ex pro scoccer player , semi pro scoccer player at present and would walk onto the down team

6, matty Bagnall , down minor , down u21

7 , Dennis Murtagh , down minor , down u21

Do I need to say any more lads ask any of the current down players who is the best manager they played under and I would say John Kennedy will be there answer

And the players have played under most of the men methoned at underage level

We need progress thinking outside the box

The more thought I give to this, the more it makes sense. Would be a shrewd appointment. John definitely has an eye for talent and his man management is reportedly 2nd to none. Someone the players would play for.
Post by: downjim on July 06, 2018, 02:40:50 PM
Frank Dawson and Jody Gormley, praise the lord we are saved🙈
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 06, 2018, 02:48:33 PM
I wouldnt be as quick to laugh Jimithy.
Dawson was the only man who could get the best out of that spineless bunch youse have in Burren and get them across the line a few years back. And theres a fair few that would have him back in the morning or whenever thon PR hound from Killeavey has milked the club for all he can get out of it. Wonder who the next big fancy name will be to come in next season and inevitably fail with youse will be.

What did Jody Gormley do with Cullyhanna again remind me?
Post by: downjim on July 06, 2018, 03:08:02 PM
What great club are you with Brick??
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 06, 2018, 03:18:40 PM
One of those wee small clubs that you wouldnt take under your notice.
Ye patronising shite
Post by: downjim on July 06, 2018, 03:22:14 PM
Must be a club with a senior team less spineless as Burrens if you can't name it.

Btw come down to St Mary's some evening and I'll show you around, I would not call it failure 😉
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 06, 2018, 03:35:05 PM
Theres one game every year you need to win. One game..against one team.
Can you explain where its all gone wrong?
No amount of bricks n mortar are gonna mask the fact that when it comes to the crunch every season youve been found wanting.
Post by: downjim on July 06, 2018, 03:40:18 PM
Because Kilcoo are a better team, we dominated in 80/90s , Bridge dominated and now Kilcoo. Every dog has its day but we will always be in the hunt for SFC honours. A lot more clubs should take a leaf out of our books instead of sitting criticising Down GAA. Get your own facilities and structures in place first.
Btw Brick what club are you from ??
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 06, 2018, 03:52:13 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on July 06, 2018, 03:35:05 PM
Theres one game every year you need to win. One game..against one team.
Can you explain where its all gone wrong?
No amount of bricks n mortar are gonna mask the fact that when it comes to the crunch every season youve been found wanting.

Doesn't say much for your club (or any other in the county) if Burren and Kilcoo only need to beat each other to win the championship. Can't really criticise others for not winning if you're not dining at the top table yourself.
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 06, 2018, 03:57:19 PM
Brick you talk some crap on this about the county and you from a small club?
Would you not be better sorting out your own house before worrying about the county? You are probably one of these ones who support the county and have no club.
Post by: mourneman9194 on July 06, 2018, 04:00:21 PM
Quote from: downjim on July 06, 2018, 03:40:18 PM
Because Kilcoo are a better team, we dominated in 80/90s , Bridge dominated and now Kilcoo. Every dog has its day but we will always be in the hunt for SFC honours. A lot more clubs should take a leaf out of our books instead of sitting criticising Down GAA. Get your own facilities and structures in place first.
Btw Brick what club are you from ??

Not every club has the luxury of being able to develop new facilities every so often, Jim. Which allow for more effective structures, particularly underage, to be created. Very unrealistic, and unfair, to expect other teams to simply take a leaf out burrens book.
Post by: downjim on July 06, 2018, 04:10:23 PM
I'm not saying we have the best facilities in Down be we are up there and tbh the majority of the best facilities are within 10 miles from Burren(Bridge, Saval,Shamrocks, Clonduff, Kilcoo).

I'm saying take a look through the leagues in Down, look at every club and say is their house in order?
Are your members working hard enough?
It's easy to fundraise and get money. People will always be generous with money.

Good volunteers who spend upteem hours at the pitches cleaning, cutting , coaching, meeting. They are the cornerstone of our association.

So can we stop the yapping about county boards  unless you can look at yourself and say I do enough.
This small club mantra is shite as well, you can be small in membership but you can still create top class facilities for our kids. Entice the kids to your clubs first, then Down will change.
Post by: stiff breeze on July 06, 2018, 04:46:35 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on July 05, 2018, 11:55:58 PM
I think smurfy should be the next down manager. With his brother as main coach, his sister as physio and his psychiatrist as water boy.

This made me lol
Post by: thewobbler on July 06, 2018, 05:12:28 PM
Sean Rooney, Jack Devaney, Danny Hughes, Liam Doyle and Gerry Dougherty have been appointed to seek and interview candidates for the job.

Nice mix in there. Good luck lads.
Post by: redzone on July 06, 2018, 10:17:32 PM
Danny Hughes, hasn't a clue
Post by: redzone on July 06, 2018, 10:20:29 PM
Kilcoo v harps tonight 8-8
Defending from the poachie school of excellence
Post by: Targetman on July 06, 2018, 10:25:35 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 06, 2018, 05:12:28 PM
Sean Rooney, Jack Devaney, Danny Hughes, Liam Doyle and Gerry Dougherty have been appointed to seek and interview candidates for the job.

Seriously with no input from the county secretary?
Post by: downjim on July 06, 2018, 10:52:04 PM
Quote from: redzone on July 06, 2018, 10:17:32 PM
Danny Hughes, hasn't a clue

You must be Micko ??
Post by: thewobbler on July 06, 2018, 11:41:42 PM
Quote from: Targetman on July 06, 2018, 10:25:35 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 06, 2018, 05:12:28 PM

Seriously with no input from the county secretary?

He will of course have an input, as will Diarmuid Cahill when numbers need analysed. But that's the headhunting contingent.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 07, 2018, 11:20:30 AM
Quote from: downjim on July 06, 2018, 04:10:23 PM
I'm not saying we have the best facilities in Down be we are up there and tbh the majority of the best facilities are within 10 miles from Burren(Bridge, Saval,Shamrocks, Clonduff, Kilcoo).

I'm saying take a look through the leagues in Down, look at every club and say is their house in order?
It's easy to fundraise and get money. People will always be generous with money.

Good volunteers who spend upteem hours at the pitches cleaning, cutting , coaching, meeting. They are the cornerstone of our association.

So can we stop the yapping about county boards  unless you can look at yourself and say I do enough.
This small club mantra is shite as well, you can be small in membership but you can still create top class facilities for our kids. Entice the kids to your clubs first, then Down will change.

You are taking the speck out of other clubs' eyes before you take the log out of your own Jim.
Look at the clubs you named and we can look at the starting lineup for Down/Cavan and the number of players from these fine examples of structure and facilities:
Burren - 1
Mayobridge -0
Saval - 0
Shamrocks - 0
Clonduff - 1
Kilcoo - 1

A total of 3! Thank you for helping to prove my point. It isn't the small clubs that you look down on who are the issue in Down, its the large clubs who are killing the county.
Facilities help attract players and help nurture talent, but if players are being lost and not developed to senior level properly by these big clubs, then whats the point?
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 07, 2018, 12:03:55 PM
3 of those clubs you say are not bringing through talent from underage to seniors have dominated Down club football for the past 25 years I think. Correct me if I'm wrong
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 07, 2018, 12:18:31 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 07, 2018, 12:03:55 PM
3 of those clubs you say are not bringing through talent from underage to seniors have dominated Down club football for the past 25 years I think. Correct me if I'm wrong
I'm talking development to county standard
Post by: Smurfy123 on July 07, 2018, 12:42:05 PM
Is this a piss take?
Post by: thebar on July 07, 2018, 01:07:08 PM
Whats your point? What have we won the past 25 years that was worth a winning...nothing.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 07, 2018, 01:49:31 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on July 07, 2018, 12:42:05 PM
Is this a piss take?

?
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 07, 2018, 01:51:44 PM
Quote from: thebar on July 07, 2018, 01:07:08 PM
Whats your point? What have we won the past 25 years that was worth a winning...nothing.

Precisely - how have Down county champions fared in the Ulster Club championship?
How are the Abbey and the College doing at McRory level?
Post by: Solo_run on July 07, 2018, 02:05:29 PM
More importantly Jim Wells will never be attending a game and so he can be ruled out.
Post by: downjim on July 07, 2018, 03:58:47 PM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on July 07, 2018, 11:20:30 AM

You are taking the speck out of other clubs' eyes before you take the log out of your own Jim.
Look at the clubs you named and we can look at the starting lineup for Down/Cavan and the number of players from these fine examples of structure and facilities:
Burren - 1
Mayobridge -0
Saval - 0
Shamrocks - 0
Clonduff - 1
Kilcoo - 1

A total of 3! Thank you for helping to prove my point. It isn't the small clubs that you look down on who are the issue in Down, its the large clubs who are killing the county.
Facilities help attract players and help nurture talent, but if players are being lost and not developed to senior level properly by these big clubs, then whats the point?

You should be banned from this board after that post. Take a look at division one and the SFC champions since 1980 please
Post by: thebar on July 07, 2018, 04:53:10 PM
Quote from: downjim on July 07, 2018, 03:58:47 PM

Burren - 1
Mayobridge -0
Saval - 0
Shamrocks - 0
Clonduff - 1
Kilcoo - 1

You should be banned from this board after that post. Take a look at division one and the SFC champions since 1980 please

I think Barry put manners on you Jim and you didnt like it!
Post by: Samforever on July 07, 2018, 05:46:09 PM
It's coming home boys! It's coming home!
Post by: snoopdog on July 07, 2018, 06:56:19 PM

You dont have much knowledge of a small club. They are small because off the small population or nationalist population they have to pick from. Burren kilcoo bridge clonduff are all in strong nationalist well populated areas. A club like aghaderg for example does well to survive considering its location and the fact it has traditionally lost players to tullylish annaclone glenn etc in the past and to also have a hurling team. These clubs are small for a reason. And their volunteers are every bit as committed as those in the big clubs.
Post by: Ambrose on July 07, 2018, 07:16:41 PM
Deegan and McCartan have been reappointed as U20 and minor managers.
Post by: downjim on July 07, 2018, 08:16:20 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 07, 2018, 06:56:19 PM

You dont have much knowledge of a small club. They are small because off the small population or nationalist population they have to pick from. Burren kilcoo bridge clonduff are all in strong nationalist well populated areas. A club like aghaderg for example does well to survive considering its location and the fact it has traditionally lost players to tullylish annaclone glenn etc in the past and to also have a hurling team. These clubs are small for a reason. And their volunteers are every bit as committed as those in the big clubs.

I remember our seconds beating the Bridge in the lowest division in early 80's, they worked hard to get to dive at the top table. Kilcoo are another club who have climbed through the divisions and good foresight also gave them great facilities.

What I  saying is that a bit of hard work goes a long way, has every club a development plan, coaching plans etc We need to improve clubs as well in the county, personally I think there is too many clubs in Down. The Mourne clubs could do with one less, Mitchell's would be better with Bosco.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 08, 2018, 10:17:33 AM
Quote from: downjim on July 07, 2018, 03:58:47 PM

Burren - 1
Mayobridge -0
Saval - 0
Shamrocks - 0
Clonduff - 1
Kilcoo - 1

Away and chase yourself.
Please take a wee dip into the present if you could and stop reminiscing.
This is the worst position that Down football has been in, in my lifetime.
If you, as part of one of the biggest clubs in the county, can't afford some introspection to see if you can be part of the solution, well that arrogance is the root of the problem.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on July 08, 2018, 10:37:23 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on July 07, 2018, 06:56:19 PM

Great post.
Post by: 6th sam on July 08, 2018, 10:25:02 PM
eply #29840 on: Today at 08:34:09 PM »
QuoteModifyRemove
I suspect Downjim is deliberately winding, but let's analyse what he says.
We need all clubs contributing what they can to the county, by definition most top players should come from the top clubs but nobody can deny that there are gems in the lower divisions .
Some of the top clubs are understandably focusing on their own progress and under the current system , county representation can hinder that progress. When the county is struggling and less likely to win silverware players often will prioritise their club.
It's easy to blindly criticise county players, managers and board , and some  of the personalised comments are at best unhelpful and immature. Regardless of what club you are from , it's easy to agree on a few things: we need to improve on our financial situation , and a county finance/business development manager , as per top counties , would seem Like a good addition.
In the absence of free movement between clubs , every club has a responsibility to provide the very best environment for their players to develop, and to try to develop county players, including amalgamated senior championship teams , fighting for improved club structures etc.
It is absolutely vital that each club aspires to local floodlit facilities for games at all levels and a second pitch to extend the playing season.
If the county team succeeds we all get a spin-off ( If in doubt just look at your club's benefit from an all ireland appearance in 2010) . The structures are there to effect change but too often , we blame individuals as opposed to finding , and unifying behind a winning culture.
The personnel charged with finding our next senior management are 5 respected, knowledgeable and strong minded individuals , and I've no doubt will find the best personnel available . Regardless of their decision, unless we improve our financial situation and every club from senior to junior rally around a common cause and contributes whatever they can to our county's success , we'll probably keep making the same mistakes
Post by: downjim on July 09, 2018, 08:46:55 AM
How many full square de floodlit pitches have we??
Post by: JohnStones on August 08, 2018, 11:02:59 PM
Any updates?
Post by: ck on November 03, 2021, 10:26:26 PM
Quote from: JohnStones on August 08, 2018, 11:02:59 PM
Any updates?

3 years since above post and it still applies. lol
What on earth are the county board playing at? Surely a county manager would need to have been able to watch the club c/ship?!
Post by: supersub on November 05, 2021, 08:57:54 AM
Is there something to suggest they couldn't watch it without being appointed? That stance baffles me. As free as anyone is to watch as many games as they like
Post by: yellowcard on November 05, 2021, 10:10:13 AM
Quote from: ck on November 03, 2021, 10:26:26 PM
Any updates?

What on earth are the county board playing at? Surely a county manager would need to have been able to watch the club c/ship?!

You would have to imagine that the Down manager has been internally appointed at this stage since they have had 4 months to find a new manager. There must be a good reason why they haven't announced it yet. 
Post by: Godsown on November 05, 2021, 10:35:20 AM
But surely it can't be appointed until approved by full co board which involved all clubs
Post by: Blowitupref on November 07, 2021, 09:57:24 PM
Stephen Poacher has stepped down from his coaching role with Roscommon and said he's going to focus his energy closer to home now.
Post by: ck on November 09, 2021, 10:28:59 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on November 05, 2021, 10:10:13 AM
Quote from: ck on November 03, 2021, 10:26:26 PM
Any updates?

You would have to imagine that the Down manager has been internally appointed at this stage since they have had 4 months to find a new manager. There must be a good reason why they haven't announced it yet.

The only thing that would make sense to me is that the new man is currently in a role and has asked that it's not released until his C'ship ends. Either that or they simply don't have anyone. If they'd don't then that is very poor indeed.
Post by: rrhf on November 09, 2021, 11:52:28 AM
Would Pete Mc Grath be totally out of the reckoning..
Post by: snoopdog on November 09, 2021, 01:30:15 PM
Irish news reporting jim mcguinness and conor laverty.
Post by: Taylor on November 09, 2021, 02:27:48 PM
Quote from: Thastheball on November 09, 2021, 01:35:27 PM
Hearing from a good source outside the county, Jim, Conor Laverty, Conleith Gilligan and Marty Clarke.

It would take serious coin for that to happen.

Do Down have the financial backing for it? Surely the financial backer(s) would have expectations?
Post by: rrhf on November 09, 2021, 03:27:06 PM
Hearing from a good source outside the county, Jim, Conor Laverty, Conleith Gilligan and Marty Clarke.
That is some team and some kick in the arse for the Down way. Will definitely get the best out of what is there. Makes life very interesting next year in the UC and potentially AI.   
Post by: tiempo on November 09, 2021, 03:35:26 PM
A manager appointment in Ulster is going to generate more interest than the Leinster and Munster championships combined. The sheer amount of intrigue this is going to generate. Any combination of Jim v Donegal, Tyrone, Derry (Rory Gallagher) is going get people off their seats and into stadia. A great appointment and well worth the wait for Down folk. Another competitive team in Ulster, looking forward to 2022 champ already.
Post by: toby47 on November 09, 2021, 03:37:12 PM
Quote from: rrhf on November 09, 2021, 03:27:06 PM
That is some team and some kick in the arse for the Down way. Will definitely get the best out of what is there. Makes life very interesting next year in the UC and potentially AI.

Surely Down don't have a team to compete for an All-Ireland at the minute? Or even Ulster?

Saying that there's not a whole lot between a lot of the teams in Ulster, Derry should have beaten Donegal last year. Monaghan on the slide.

I know Derry are training like dogs at the minute. Gallagher has them doing a serious amount of aerobic work.
Post by: dec on November 10, 2021, 06:29:38 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2021/1109/1258908-mcguinness-and-laverty-linked-with-vacant-down-job/

Jim McGuinness has moved to quash speculation linking him with a role with Down.

It had been reported that the former Donegal All-Ireland-winning manager had been in discussions with the county about forming part of a Conor Laverty-led management team, which would also feature Laverty's former Down team-mate Martin Clarke.

But in comments to the Irish Times on Wednesday, McGuinness said that although inter-county set-ups had been in touch with him recently, he intends to continue pursuing his soccer coaching ambitions.

"Over the course of the winter months a number of county teams have been in contact with me with a view to manager's jobs and coaching roles," he said. "I spoke with all of them because I do love coaching and out of respect, really. You are going to listen to what someone has to say. "And I told them all the same story - that I am very much focused on soccer at the moment and waiting to see what might happen or not happen at the end of the season."...
Post by: ck on November 10, 2021, 10:25:12 PM
How on earth has this nonsense been leaked? It's embarrassing from a Down perspective.
Post by: supersub on November 11, 2021, 12:12:11 AM
Pretty simple. WhatsApp and Social Media. Hardly leaked, just a fabricated story which grew legs.
Post by: ck on November 11, 2021, 10:25:27 AM
Quote from: supersub on November 11, 2021, 12:12:11 AM
Pretty simple. WhatsApp and Social Media. Hardly leaked, just a fabricated story which grew legs.

Hardly fabricated when McGuinness has admitted he had been talking to Down. Therefore it was leaked. Now it's dead in the water.
Other counties are all training and getting ready for the league, we don't even have a manager. What a shambles!
Post by: DownbutnotOut on November 13, 2021, 07:09:01 PM

Conor Laverty will not be next Down manager

Updated / Saturday, 13 Nov 2021 17:49

Conor Laverty will not succeed Paddy Tally as Down manager

By Niall McCoy

RTÉ Sport journalist

Conor Laverty will not be the next Down manager, RTÉ Sport can confirm.

When contacted about his reported links to the position by RTÉ Sport, the Kilcoo man confirmed that his focus was instead on his club's Ulster quarter-final with the Cavan champions next month.

"We have a very important couple of weeks' training ahead and are really looking forward to the challenge."

The 36-year-old had been heavily linked to the Mourne county job this week along with Jim McGuinness and Martin Clarke, but he will instead remain on with their U20s. McGuinness distanced himself from a coaching role with Down earlier in the week in an interview with the Irish Times while Clarke will also not be involved in any new management team.

"I am delighted that I have been ratified to continue as Down U20 manager recently and having Marty, Declan (Morgan) and Sean (Boylan) back is great," Laverty added.

"We really enjoyed working with this age group, we had a good season there winning the Ulster title and we want to try and build on the good foundations put in place last year."

It had been speculated earlier this week that Laverty, with Clarke and McGuinness in his coaching team, was set to be ratified as Paddy Tally's successor, but the Mourne county are still hunting a successor. Longford are the only other football county still without a manager for the 2022 season.

Kilcoo won their ninth county title in ten years – and Laverty's 10th on the field of play – with a 1-12 to 0-13 win over Burren last weekend. They play the winners of Gowna and Ramor United on 4 December, with the Breffni sides set to meet in a replayed county final on Sunday.

Post by: seafoid on November 27, 2021, 07:52:33 PM
Best of luck to wee James and Aidan O'Rourke .
Tyrone are only one behind.
Post by: rafla ta se on December 07, 2021, 03:52:32 PM
any word on backroom set up yet?
Post by: Ed Hardy on December 08, 2021, 09:06:58 AM
Ronan McMahon added to backroom according to Irish News yesterday.
Post by: Three man weave on December 08, 2021, 10:18:40 AM
Hearing rumors that some lads not committing this year, have other commitments with family or travel, anyone heard anything or could it just be tripe
Post by: Truth hurts on December 08, 2021, 10:23:23 AM
I was told Darren O'Hagan was not committing this season? A great servant .