Brexit.

Started by T Fearon, November 01, 2015, 06:04:06 PM

Nigel White

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 22, 2016, 06:26:09 PM
Cutting your nose to spite yor face... >:(
Woman round our way spoke one time about a fellow who 'sneaked in like a thief with a knife'

paddy Power has the remain option as 2/7 and over 750 grand on it, hard to see them getting a market that wrong...

Oghams Law

Quote from: bennydorano on June 21, 2016, 07:34:18 PM
Quote from: Oghams Law on June 21, 2016, 04:30:38 PM
http://uk.businessinsider.com/wef-countries-with-highest-level-of-government-debt-vs-gdp-2015-10

Of the Top 17 countires with the highest level of gov debt how many do you think are in the EU?

What would be wrong with a free trade agreement in Europe only without striving for a United States of Europe?
Vote Leave
No quite brave enough to post under your primary account though? Not that convinced then.

New to the gaaboard friend this is my only and therefore primary account

At this stage I think the media are doing a Sky Sports News hyperbolic version of how exciting / close the vote's going to be (at least I hope that's the case).

Oghams Law

Quote from: LeoMc on June 21, 2016, 09:52:38 PM
http://uk.businessinsider.com/wef-countries-with-highest-level-of-government-debt-vs-gdp-2015-10

Of the Top 17 countires with the highest level of gov debt how many do you think are in the EU?

What would be wrong with a free trade agreement in Europe only without striving for a United States of Europe?
Vote Leave
So they will be able to negotiate a better deal from outside without complying with EU directives?

No but a leave vote would spell the beginning of the end for the eu in its current form. Polls suggest france would follow and it would be unworkable without uk & france. It could be replaced with a free trade agreement.

You can't have free trade without insisting on all participants having the same standards etc.
Which means rules/regulations to be observed in the whole area = present EU.

The EU would work if it neutered the neoliberals

Quote from: heganboy on June 22, 2016, 07:05:14 PM
paddy Power has the remain option as 2/7 and over 750 grand on it, hard to see them getting a market that wrong...

All PP has to do is change the stakes out of Sterling. If it goes pear shaped  they'll  be able to pay out just by changing it back.

So will everything carry on as normal if (as I assume) they remain? Or will there be differences then too?

Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 22, 2016, 10:47:38 PM
So will everything carry on as normal if (as I assume) they remain? Or will there be differences then too?
There has to be changes. The EU has many faults but the only way to reform it us from the inside.

A good few of the leave reasons are to take back control and to me they are just excuses from a failing tory government. Nothing in the eu can change that.

There will be other things though.

Quote from: Oghams Law on June 22, 2016, 07:19:18 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on June 21, 2016, 09:52:38 PM

Vote Leave
So they will be able to negotiate a better deal from outside without complying with EU directives?

No but a leave vote would spell the beginning of the end for the eu in its current form. Polls suggest france would follow and it would be unworkable without uk & france. It could be replaced with a free trade agreement.
The EU is far from perfect but in your scenario 27 separate trade deals and 27 different sets of standards to be met would be a bigger nightmare than what we have at present.
Every one of the 28 would be in a weaker position and have to take what ever terms the US offers on the TTPs.
No workers rights with even Governments having to vend over for US big business.
As a group of 28 they can and need to stand up to the US on that.

Are ye 6 Co lads and lassies voting and. If so how?