New York v Ros 1st May.

Started by Rossfan, April 11, 2016, 08:34:59 AM

Quote from: Ballaghman on May 02, 2016, 02:51:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 02:41:48 PM
There must be a few agricultural, big lads living on the Mayo border where there's been a bit of inter-breeding down through the years.
Lads with surnames such as Lyons, O'Malley and Geraghty? 😉
Nah we're keeping our best and finest these days, our days of giving the likes of little old Meath a dig out are over!

When did we ever get a dig out from Roscommon?

Ballaghman

Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 04:09:22 PM
Quote from: Ballaghman on May 02, 2016, 02:51:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 02:41:48 PM
There must be a few agricultural, big lads living on the Mayo border where there's been a bit of inter-breeding down through the years.
Lads with surnames such as Lyons, O'Malley and Geraghty? 😉
Nah we're keeping our best and finest these days, our days of giving the likes of little old Meath a dig out are over!

When did we ever get a dig out from Roscommon?
Weak, just like your Meath ladeens!

Last night's near-disaster for Roscommon should be a good thing in the long term because it will temper expectations about where they are really at. They are at least 3 years away from being at an AI Semi final stage unless they get the handiest draw ever through.

You can't make any excuses for nearly losing to a team with no match practice and literally cobbled together.

When Roscommon win 2-3 Connacht senior titles in quick succession they can then start talking about competing at the business end . Mayo people must look in bemusement at times in some of the Roscommon talk.

Do many of that NY team have senior inter-county experience?

Quote from: INDIANA on May 02, 2016, 05:05:46 PM
Last night's near-disaster for Roscommon should be a good thing in the long term because it will temper expectations about where they are really at. They are at least 3 years away from being at an AI Semi final stage unless they get the handiest draw ever through.

You can't make any excuses for nearly losing to a team with no match practice and literally cobbled together.

When Roscommon win 2-3 Connacht senior titles in quick succession they can then start talking about competing at the business end . Mayo people must look in bemusement at times in some of the Roscommon talk.

We actually don't! There is always a tough lesson around the corner from Roscommon! We've had many a fine team ambushed by a so called average Roscommon side! In 2001 when Mayo were League Champions and Galway went on to be AI Champions both were beaten in the Connacht Championship by the Rossies. I'd hold back on writing their obituary based on a game they won, be it only marginally, but they still won. League wise they have come a long way in a short period. There are going to be wobbly phases of course. But they are in a better place to 5 years ago.

Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2016, 01:30:56 PM
Mayo's panel 'sacked' their managers after taking the best team in Ireland to a AISF replay - hence whatever anyone wants to say the only result that can make Mayo's circus worthwhile is Rochford immediately winning the AI title. Coupled with an aging panel and a supporter base that will be anything but shy to point the finger at the players if they fail this year the stakes for Mayo are incredibly high this year, mostly brought on top of.themselves.

And you know what? Yer not going to win the AI.
C'mon Syf, it's time you took a break. This thread has nothing to do with Mayo. You should listen to Rossfan and McIf, they are only for your own good, you know.
The facts about Mayo 'sacking' their managers are in the public domain and have been since the story became public knowledge. After an amazing comeback, Mayo brought the semi to a replay and felt that the incompetence of the management duo cost them that game. I don't need to go into detail, do I? I don't accept that anyone with a bit of oil in their lamp would disagree with that.
After watching the AI final, the Mayo players felt they could have beaten either team if the two boyos only knew their asses from their elbows. So they had a meeting and decided to inform the CB that they wanted a meeting to discuss their grievances. Anything unreasonable about that?
Some bastard made the contents of the letter to the CB public and after that he two men in charge were dead men walking. The players never wanted to publicly humiliate the pair but whoever leaked the letter saw to that.
Don't bother your donkey about the Mayo side worrying about anything or the Mayo public demanding anything from our lads. Mayo teams have come up short umpteen times and the fans never lost belief in them and never will. As long as they leave it all one the field, win or lose, we'll be happy to accept the result.
Same goes for Rochy; I think all Mayo fans will wish him well and we are most unlikely to follow your example and try to kick the effing door down if we ever disagree with our manager.

Just bear in mind that people in glasshouses shouldn't throw stones.  ;D

This thread is hilarious. Syferus turns an actual Roscommon thread into a debate about Mayo,when he usually tries to turn every other thread into a discussion about Roscommon.
Worst poster on this board with the possible exception of Tony Fearon.

The Mayo lads are well able to turn a thread about anything else into a debate about Mayo without Syferus getting involved.

Quote from: From the Bunker on May 02, 2016, 05:29:54 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 02, 2016, 05:05:46 PM

We actually don't! There is always a tough lesson around the corner from Roscommon! We've had many a fine team ambushed by a so called average Roscommon side! In 2001 when Mayo were League Champions and Galway went on to be AI Champions both were beaten in the Connacht Championship by the Rossies. I'd hold back on writing their obituary based on a game they won, be it only marginally, but they still won. League wise they have come a long way in a short period. There are going to be wobbly phases of course. But they are in a better place to 5 years ago.

In fairness back in 2001 Roscommon were not average, they were established div one team regularly reaching the league semi finals, that group of players would have won more but for the players acting up and with a better choice of management.

A better example would be 2014 or 2011 when Roscommon were playing their league football in Div 3 2014 and div 4 in 2011 and still managed to push Mayo all the way in the championship.

oakleaflad

Roscommon remind me a bit of Derry's team a couple of years ago. Go well in the league and likely won't do much come championship time.

Kevin McStay on RTE news tonight looked like a man at funeral. Goosed he said Roscommon would have been if that late New York goal chance was scored. Well it looks like Roscommons championship is already goosed before it starts on Irish soil. 

Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2016, 06:16:16 PM
The Mayo lads are well able to turn a thread about anything else into a debate about Mayo without Syferus getting involved.
Which, m'lud, has sweet eff all to do with the topic in question.
Even if Mayo heads were to hijack every other thread on the planet, Syf is fecking this one up  big time, same as the u21 one as well and God knows how many others.
BTW, can you point out any thread that was hijacked by Mayo posters without Syf playing a major part in aiding and abetting them?

It's Mayo day isn't it, Syphillis is probably just raging there is no Roscommon day.

Roscommon are some shit, sorry, some things just need the fecking articulating :D

Mclf

Quote from: Itchy on May 02, 2016, 06:53:17 PM
It's Mayo day isn't it, Syphillis is probably just raging there is no Roscommon day.

He is just out on the lash in ballagh for the Mayo under 21 welcoming, that is why there isn't a word from him lately, great days like this for him don't come around too often, if he is lucky he might get to see Andy in there