Olympics Tokyo.

Started by Denn Forever, July 14, 2021, 11:22:38 AM

Capt Pat

That is class. The lads deserved it after all their efforts over the years. Irelands first gold since Katie Taylor.

Good hard rowing, thought Germany had got out early but pulled them bck in  by 1500m to pull clear.

Jaysus the Brits for the money they spent on rowing are so far tuning out to be 4th place specialists.

Cringe there of RTE trying to remember last gold before Katie Taylor and saying Michael Carruth.

What's the story with Ireland's success in rowing then? Is it having a bit of a moment? Has there been a bit of a push on it? Did the O'Donovan lads inspire more people to get into it?

Seems like it'd be a good sport to promote if you wanted to get the medal count up. The Brits pushed track cycling for that purpose, but you need a big budget for that, with the facilities and equipment that it takes. With rowing I'd imagine the facilities would a lot cheaper since the open water is sitting there in lakes and rivers up and down the country.

Either way, it's great to see. It's a great sport and fair play to them.

Quote from: Pub Bore on July 28, 2021, 10:48:47 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on July 28, 2021, 10:25:25 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on July 28, 2021, 09:10:05 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on July 28, 2021, 08:03:38 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 28, 2021, 02:03:26 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 28, 2021, 01:58:27 AM
Great bronze medal there by the women's 4 to oust GB for the bronze. Congrats.
Moving the Brits into 4th upgrades it in my books.

Deserves a Gold for that alone

Laoch Status
National hero for a lifetime that, putting the brits off the podium.

Belfast's Rebecca Shorten was in the GB boat.  Obviously disappointed, but she was a wee bit ungracious interview on BBC NI.

Thought that myself. If only she were in a green jersey...

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 29, 2021, 06:43:59 AM
What's the story with Ireland's success in rowing then? Is it having a bit of a moment? Has there been a bit of a push on it? Did the O'Donovan lads inspire more people to get into it?

Seems like it'd be a good sport to promote if you wanted to get the medal count up. The Brits pushed track cycling for that purpose, but you need a big budget for that, with the facilities and equipment that it takes. With rowing I'd imagine the facilities would a lot cheaper since the open water is sitting there in lakes and rivers up and down the country.

I seem to remember reading about it being all revolving around a small rowing club in Skibbereen.
Don't think this is the particular article but it seems to have the same gist

https://www.southernstar.ie/sport/how-a-small-country-rowing-club-put-skibbereen-on-the-world-map-4218948

Stumbled upon this 3 v 3 basket ball thing last night and my first gut instinct was WTF, another makey up sport for the Olympics, maybe we could have 5 aside football or backs and forwards as well.

It wasn't too bad a watch with the Yank ladies taking their gold and the Latvians taking the mens gold.

anyone else stumble across a "hybrid" sport?

Quote from: johnnycool on July 29, 2021, 10:09:45 AM
Stumbled upon this 3 v 3 basket ball thing last night and my first gut instinct was WTF, another makey up sport for the Olympics, maybe we could have 5 aside football or backs and forwards as well.

It wasn't too bad a watch with the Yank ladies taking their gold and the Latvians taking the mens gold.

Yeah, seen that. Big men bouncing off each other all the time. Very short shot time. Not for me!

Quote from: Never beat the deeler on July 29, 2021, 08:01:01 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 29, 2021, 06:43:59 AM

I seem to remember reading about it being all revolving around a small rowing club in Skibbereen.
Don't think this is the particular article but it seems to have the same gist

https://www.southernstar.ie/sport/how-a-small-country-rowing-club-put-skibbereen-on-the-world-map-4218948

https://youtu.be/R_XR_xcM5M8

When you think about it, the Olympics is awash of daft sports. That cycling one where you wait for your opponent to catch up, then do a lap of the track. Wtf like? That prancing horsey one, wtf is that all about? Other than the running, swimming and the odd bit of boxing, it's a waste of time.

It's strange when you think that someone would spend 4+ years training just to be able to jump in a sand pit. That's something you'd do at break time in school or tanked up after a few beers in the children's play area in back garden. But to do something like that as an actual  career like, it's mad.

Reminds me of the Billy Connolly story, about the toff's dinner party.

And what do you do?
I'm a tobogganist.
What did he say he was?
I think he said he was a tobacconist.

Michelle Smith with some next level trolling in her statement congratulating the lads!!

Where is it? Googled and can't see it

Quote from: BennyCake on July 29, 2021, 12:01:31 PM

When you think about it, the Olympics is awash of daft sports. That cycling one where you wait for your opponent to catch up, then do a lap of the track. Wtf like? That prancing horsey one, wtf is that all about? Other than the running, swimming and the odd bit of boxing, it's a waste of time.

It's strange when you think that someone would spend 4+ years training just to be able to jump in a sand pit. That's something you'd do at break time in school or tanked up after a few beers in the children's play area in back garden. But to do something like that as an actual  career like, it's mad.

Reminds me of the Billy Connolly story, about the toff's dinner party.

And what do you do?
I'm a tobogganist.
What did he say he was?
I think he said he was a tobacconist.

Benny i agree but end of the day what is the soccer, gaa, rugger all about when it boils down to it. Grown men kickin a ball into/over a net. Its all nonsense lol. Javelin? Shot put? Hammer throw? The dancing horses annoy my piss tho

Having said that i watched 10mins of canoeing then shooting this morn, suprising how quick ye can get caught up in it all 😃😃

Quote from: screenexile on July 29, 2021, 02:17:46 PM
Michelle Smith with some next level trolling in her statement congratulating the lads!!

It's an honour to be congratulated by Irelands most successful olympian.

Quote from: imtommygunn on July 29, 2021, 02:26:42 PM
Where is it? Googled and can't see it