Started by DownFanatic, March 25, 2015, 11:24:51 PM

DownFanatic

Any advice on things to do or see?

-Stay at the Encore
-Go see Absinthe at Caesars, it's hilarious
-Go see Le Reve at the Wynn
-Nice restaurants everywhere but I like the Lux Cafe in Venetian for some casual eating
-Great outlet stores $20 taxi ride away in South Premium outlet centre
-Fountains of Bellagio
-Walk the strip and dander around the casinos (it will take ages)

Amazing place.

Everything on black first spin, never fails.

Grand Canyon. Are you staying a while or just a few days? If you're staying a while you should look at that trip Rois was talking about into Grand Canyon for an overnight. As for the Strip, it changes so much that it's probably unrecognisable from my last time there. I used to go several times a year until 2001, but have only been back in 2003 since. Caesers Palace Forum is worth a dander, as is the outside show at Treasure Island. Basically there's a pile of shit there, enjoy yourself :)

Go down towards the Golden Nugget, Heart Attack Grill, etc. It's interesting to see the "old" part of Vegas and compare it to the newer parts.

If you're gambling, I'd recommend craps - learning the basic rules is simple and it's good craic

I remember standing at a craps table at 4 am while the Croupier explained the rules to us. It was just the brother in law and myself. She took a shine to our Irish accents so was trying to help us understand this game and was giving us free goes at it to see if we understood it. We might as well have been looking into a field of thistles.

At 4am, he probably would have struggled to explain hurling to ye!!

The Fremont Street Experience is great.

She. But no, whatever oxygen they put into the air there in the casinos, it's unusual to feel jarred or even tired. No clocks on walls either. I remember looking at my watch one morning at 6am, thinking it was about 1 at the latest.

Mikhailov

it all depends on what you want to when in LV - if you just want to chill out then there are pool parties at most hotels, great spa and leisure facilities and then plenty to do outside of that - great golf courses, great shopping malls, great restaurants, unbelievable shows, Grand canyon, Hoover dam etc etc...

There is plenty to do whatever way you look at it.

The casinos can get boring enough - everywhere you look there is a slot machine of some sort..

Just walking up and down the strip is an experience in itself just looking at everything and it is not a short walk - I think the strip is 3kms long at least from the Mandalay Bay area down to the Encore area...

Have stayed at Encore, Mirage, Treasure Island and venetian and all are first class.

DownFanatic

It's a five day stag do.
Staying in the Luxor.

Archie Mitchell

Quote from: DownFanatic on March 26, 2015, 10:57:29 AM
It's a five day stag do.
Staying in the Luxor.

http://wetrepublic.com/

JimStynes and stiffler are veterans of Wet Republic  ;) ;)

foxcommander

Last time I went to Vegas I did the pub crawl. It's a good way to get around different clubs and actually get in to them.
Queueing is a pain in the hole if you don't have the connections

http://www.nitetours.com/experiences/las-vegas/party-crawl

Pure nightclub in Caesars is pretty good. The luxor nightclub wasnt bad either. I also like the one in Paris as well.

If you can afford it the helicopter tour of the grand canyon is well worth it. Unreal. Look out for web discount tickets.

rifle ranges are pretty good, if you like that kind of thing...

Check out ticketmaster for upcoming shows. I saw Van Halen a few years back in the MGM by accident. More rednecks than a connaught final.

and finally ...the hustler club. I've heard.

Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie