Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dougal Maguire on November 25, 2018, 12:34:46 AM

Title: Belfast
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 25, 2018, 12:34:46 AM
Staying in this God Forsaken kip tonight. Wife and I have walked for over an hour, not a chip shop to be found. What sort of hole is this place
Title: Re: Belfast
Post by: Solo_run on November 25, 2018, 12:37:16 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on November 25, 2018, 12:34:46 AM
Staying in this God Forsaken kip tonight. Wife and I have walked for over an hour, not a chip shop to be found. What sort of hole is this place

What area are you in?
Post by: JoG2 on November 25, 2018, 12:40:31 AM

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=List+Belfast+take+aways
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2018, 12:43:42 AM
Not many proper chippys in the centre. Up West you'd fill your boots.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 25, 2018, 12:49:06 AM
Great Victoria St. Staying in Europa. There's more places to eat in the Square in Crossmaglen
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 12:49:33 AM
I hear fish city Ann street is nice
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 25, 2018, 12:54:08 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on November 25, 2018, 12:49:06 AM
Great Victoria St. Staying in Europa. There's more places to eat in the Square in Crossmaglen

Aye but would you survive if you ate from Min Jeu😂
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2018, 12:56:34 AM
Hit Little Italy for a pizza.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 12:59:58 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2018, 12:56:34 AM

Yes unreal spot at the end of the night!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2018, 01:02:39 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 12:59:58 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2018, 12:56:34 AM

Yes unreal spot at the end of the night!
Always ended up there back when I was out on the lash - must be pushing on for nearly 20 years ago!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 01:22:16 AM
Aye it's been going plus 20 years, Thompson's enjoying their 23rd birthday party, I was at the first one and when it was just a bar before that!
Post by: Solo_run on November 25, 2018, 01:29:44 AM
Last time I went to Little Italy a few ladies and gentlemen were passed out in their pizza all the way up the street
Post by: armaghniac on November 25, 2018, 01:41:23 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 25, 2018, 12:54:08 AM

It hasn't killed me yet.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 25, 2018, 09:01:39 AM

Sure Sandy row is only round the corner from you, pretty sure there's a chippy on it!  ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 25, 2018, 09:36:52 AM
I met up with Dougal last night and he was in rare form.

Overnighted at the Bullitt Hotel. Strange name for Belfast. I wonder can you get a six-pack from the bar?  ::)
Post by: Orior on November 25, 2018, 09:42:54 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 25, 2018, 09:36:52 AM

Overnighted at the Bullitt Hotel. Strange name for Belfast. I wonder can you get a six-pack from the bar?  ::)

Both you boyos are banned from Beal Feirste. We don't eat fish n' chips. We eat flegs.
Post by: BennyCake on November 25, 2018, 10:03:36 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 25, 2018, 09:36:52 AM

No stranger than The Kneebreakers.
Post by: screenexile on November 25, 2018, 11:12:00 AM
Is Bishops not still about lads??

Longs is the best Fish and Chips in the city!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2018, 11:14:55 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 25, 2018, 11:12:00 AM

Bishops closed a few years ago.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 25, 2018, 11:39:16 AM
Shaftesbury square is now basically laverys and  few turkish kebab shops. Although to be fair laverys have expanded pretty well. (There's a hotel and the old m club on the other side but they are absolute kips with).

Bishops is just the empty shell now. I always wonder would Laverys buy that up too.

That Bullitt hotel makes me laugh. Probably been said on here before about the 60 odd year old GP woman out on the piss and stole the Steve McQueen painting in plain sight and was caught red handed lol.
Post by: Orior on November 25, 2018, 12:28:04 PM

Longs is hard to find from the Europa, which is a pity cause its only a very short walk.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 12:37:32 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 25, 2018, 12:28:04 PM

Longs is hard to find from the Europa, which is a pity cause its only a very short walk.

Wouldn't be open after 9 I'd imagine!
Post by: north_antrim_hound on November 25, 2018, 12:43:22 PM

Two things there is plenty of in Belfast, chips and bad manners. If you can't get chips up there then you couldn't get water in a river.
Post by: CitySlicker11 on November 25, 2018, 12:43:32 PM
Mannys fish and chip shop just off Castle Street would be a good one. Not sure about opening hours.
Post by: delgany on November 25, 2018, 12:46:13 PM
Chip mongers beside QUB 

Big spenders !
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 12:58:50 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on November 25, 2018, 12:43:22 PM

Two things there is plenty of in Belfast, chips and bad manners. If you can't get chips up there then you couldn't get water in a river.

Well you lot keep the sheep so chips it is!
Post by: Minder on November 25, 2018, 01:21:09 PM
Quote from: CitySlicker11 on November 25, 2018, 12:43:32 PM
Mannys fish and chip shop just off Castle Street would be a good one. Not sure about opening hours.

Used to be one in the Kennedy Centre and it was stinking
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 01:30:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 25, 2018, 01:21:09 PM

Antrim rd the original one was best, Barnes across the rd from my mums old house was hard to bate.. though the chippy around the corner from me is tasty.. haven't had a chippy in ages! Wife's been on the slimming world stuff and that's that!

Last chippy was a good while back in Brights in high street in Belfast for lunch! Couldn't eat my dinner later that night, was stuffed
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 25, 2018, 02:03:36 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 01:30:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 25, 2018, 01:21:09 PM

Antrim rd the original one was best, Barnes across the rd from my mums old house was hard to bate.. though the chippy around the corner from me is tasty.. haven't had a chippy in ages! Wife's been on the slimming world stuff and that's that!

Last chippy was a good while back in Brights in high street in Belfast for lunch! Couldn't eat my dinner later that night, was stuffed
Yes Manny's up in Fortwilliam was good. A good chippy shouldn't be difficult but plenty of places churning out shite.   
Post by: Puckoon on November 25, 2018, 02:32:54 PM
Is Spudz not around any longer? Just above Benedict's hotel?
Post by: Sheugh Water on November 25, 2018, 03:18:44 PM
Could never warm to Belfast
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 04:07:05 PM
Quote from: Sheugh Water on November 25, 2018, 03:18:44 PM

I know, the bright lights of Londonderry is difficult to beat  ;D
Post by: north_antrim_hound on November 25, 2018, 04:19:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 04:07:05 PM

LOL don't think anyone who goes by sheugh water is from a town.
Do you know what a sheugh is MR2,
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 04:22:05 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on November 25, 2018, 04:19:55 PM

It's where you get your pints from up the country
Post by: Jim Bob on November 25, 2018, 05:21:20 PM

Is there nothing else you two could  be at after a night in Belfast rather than looking for a chippy..?

Nudge wink, Nudge Wink! Say no more, Say no more ,, ;D
Post by: Sheugh Water on November 25, 2018, 10:35:22 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on November 25, 2018, 04:19:55 PM

Nah he got me, Derry people know their sheugh from their ditch. We are all from Inishowen sure.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 26, 2018, 09:10:30 AM
I must admit I had a skinfull in me when I put the original message and was at the stage where I'd have killed for a bag of chips. As Little Italy was packed we went to a Lebanese joint across the road. Least said about that the better. It was great mind you to catch up with Shamrock Shore and his wife again and we had a very enjoyable few hours in their company.
Post by: tyrone girl on November 26, 2018, 10:33:48 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 25, 2018, 02:32:54 PM

Spudz was some spot
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 26, 2018, 11:12:29 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on November 26, 2018, 10:33:48 AM

Spudz was some spot

Nearly as good as Temps on Botanic.....
Post by: screenexile on November 26, 2018, 11:14:04 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 26, 2018, 11:12:29 AM

Spudz was some spot

Esperantos or the Kam Wah??
Post by: The Bearded One on November 26, 2018, 12:16:15 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 26, 2018, 11:14:04 AM

Spudz was some spot

You two must be around my own vintage! Holylands/Botanic Ave circa 2000-2004
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 12:19:03 PM
Quote from: The Bearded One on November 26, 2018, 12:16:15 PM

Spudz was some spot

Spudz would have been there early 90's!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 26, 2018, 12:22:20 PM
early 00's as well - was there when I left Belfast in 2002
Post by: screenexile on November 26, 2018, 12:23:43 PM

Spudz was some spot

2001-2005! Spudz was definitely still going at that time!
Post by: tyrone girl on November 26, 2018, 12:28:38 PM
Kam wah!!!!  ;D I forgot about it

Yeah i left 2004 and spudz was still on the go
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 26, 2018, 12:34:36 PM

Spudz was some spot

99-03. Good times.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 26, 2018, 12:39:34 PM
The Kamoi. I'd forgot about that place. It, esperantos and julies kitchen must be 3 of the worst take aways anywhere lol.

(Although I havenever found any supermacs too hot)
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 26, 2018, 12:49:52 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 25, 2018, 12:54:08 AM

Holy God, not a chance but I could blame the hangover
Post by: Don Johnson on November 26, 2018, 01:14:07 PM
I was there 2003-2008, Spudz was still there at the start. Temps had sadly closed just as I was leaving though!
Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 01:48:34 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on November 26, 2018, 12:28:38 PM
Kam wah!!!!  ;D I forgot about it

Yeah i left 2004 and spudz was still on the go

Spudz was still there in round 2008-9 too. What about bishops across the street from it? It's a sorry sight these days.
Post by: tiempo on November 26, 2018, 01:53:12 PM
So how did Renshaws come to close? Must have been a serious cash cow.
Post by: trailer on November 26, 2018, 01:54:17 PM
Is Julie's Kitchen or as we knew it Julie's Armpit still on the go? The Stinx (Sphinx) in Stranmillis was another place we frequented in our later years.
Post by: tyrone girl on November 26, 2018, 01:55:07 PM
Quote from: tiempo on November 26, 2018, 01:53:12 PM
So how did Renshaws come to close? Must have been a serious cash cow.

Not sure. Sanjay Declan and Co!! The good old days!
Post by: imtommygunn on November 26, 2018, 01:59:30 PM
Quote from: trailer on November 26, 2018, 01:54:17 PM
Is Julie's Kitchen or as we knew it Julie's Armpit still on the go? The Stinx (Sphinx) in Stranmillis was another place we frequented in our later years.

Julies Kitchen long gone though there are comparable replacements...

Sphnx still going strong and has opened up a few branches. (well there's at least two now anyway)
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 26, 2018, 02:21:46 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 26, 2018, 01:59:30 PM

Julies Kitchen long gone though there are comparable replacements...

Sphnx still going strong and has opened up a few branches. (well there's at least two now anyway)

I actually liked the Sphinx. Is Hungry Hound still about?
Post by: imtommygunn on November 26, 2018, 04:06:14 PM
Yeah the sphinx gets rave reviews though not a massive fan myself. Hungry hound still going strong I think though I haven't been to it in years.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 04:14:40 PM

Sphinx going from strength to strength. Won NI kebab of the year recently. Biggest dort place about was the emerald. Got a few of them delivered to Palestine st in my day.
Post by: andoireabu on November 26, 2018, 04:38:43 PM
Lagan Palace, Ruschi and Together on the Ormeau Rd were handy on the walk from the Hatfield.  Was once told in a kebab shop up near the Union by the lad behind the till that I didn't want to know what was on the spit. Just had a large chip that night
Post by: WeeDonns on November 26, 2018, 04:49:16 PM
Kam wah! Now that's a blast from he past! Always preferred it over Temps across the road
Ate way too many Emerald Specials during my time up there

Belfast City council's "Scores on the Doors" came out when we were in final year; everywhere we ate regularly had zero
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 26, 2018, 05:36:50 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 26, 2018, 04:06:14 PM
Yeah the sphinx gets rave reviews though not a massive fan myself. Hungry hound still going strong I think though I haven't been to it in years.

When my eldest was refusing to be born and I was stuck in the RVH all day I was starving. I asked the wee nurse for some toast but none was available. There was nothing for it other than to head over to Sphinx and get One on Chip!  Finished bit of food I ever had😂
Post by: Puckoon on November 26, 2018, 05:40:54 PM
Sphinx was great also. I worked in Benedicts for a few years and we always grabbed something from Spudz after work.

Bishops was ok, Julies Armpit was to be avoided at all costs. The KamWah was mighty. Sign of a good night.

Turns out that kinda dietary carelessness catches up with you and before you know it you're jiggling on the bus on the way home.
Post by: Therealdonald on November 26, 2018, 05:45:38 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 04:14:40 PM

Sphinx going from strength to strength. Won NI kebab of the year recently. Biggest dort place about was the emerald. Got a few of them delivered to Palestine st in my day.

That's no lie there. Theres a chippy a few doors down from the Rose. Think its in line with Agincourt. Was always fond of their sausage supper special. The grease alone kept you fed for a week, till you got up the road for Mummys spuds
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 26, 2018, 05:47:26 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on November 25, 2018, 05:21:20 PM

Is there nothing else you two could  be at after a night in Belfast rather than looking for a chippy..?

Nudge wink, Nudge Wink! Say no more, Say no more ,, ;D
Jesus man, I'm in my late 50s and had had a skinfull!!😂😂😂
Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 07:41:22 PM
Quote from: WeeDonns on November 26, 2018, 04:49:16 PM
Kam wah! Now that's a blast from he past! Always preferred it over Temps across the road
Ate way too many Emerald Specials during my time up there

Belfast City council's "Scores on the Doors" came out when we were in final year; everywhere we ate regularly had zero

Know alot of boys about the holylands back in the day who read big into the scores on the doors, would be quite snobbish with it and their own kitchens were riddled with mould.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 26, 2018, 08:22:19 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on November 26, 2018, 05:45:38 PM

That's no lie there. Theres a chippy a few doors down from the Rose. Think its in line with Agincourt. Was always fond of their sausage supper special. The grease alone kept you fed for a week, till you got up the road for Mummys spuds
Casa nostra??
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 08:59:40 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 26, 2018, 05:36:50 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 26, 2018, 04:06:14 PM

When my eldest was refusing to be born and I was stuck in the RVH all day I was starving. I asked the wee nurse for some toast but none was available. There was nothing for it other than to head over to Sphinx and get One on Chip!  Finished bit of food I ever had😂
A Donegal mate living London always makes a pilgrimage for a kebab on wan every time he's home. Hoor must have been there every year since about 1995.
Post by: Therealdonald on November 26, 2018, 09:14:31 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 26, 2018, 08:22:19 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on November 26, 2018, 05:45:38 PM

Casa nostra??
Together - the finest traditional chippy/chinese restaurant in the land. Always heard great stories about Renshaws. Must've been a great place
Post by: markl121 on November 26, 2018, 09:26:34 PM
Do I mind right that there was a Harry Ramsdens on botanic? Where the chip company is now? Jaysus must be 8 or 9 years ago. Was always a fan of the one at yorkgate but have memories of the one on botanic being awful.
Post by: trailer on November 26, 2018, 09:29:20 PM
Renshaw's was mental. Session permanently on in it. Any day. Any time. Always happy hour.
Always loads of birds. Not the sort you'd introduce to your Mammy but grand for an old curt and a fumble.
Good times.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 09:31:19 PM
Quote from: markl121 on November 26, 2018, 09:26:34 PM
Do I mind right that there was a Harry Ramsdens on botanic? Where the chip company is now? Jaysus must be 8 or 9 years ago. Was always a fan of the one at yorkgate but have memories of the one on botanic being awful.

You are absolutely right there.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 09:34:25 PM
Quote from: trailer on November 26, 2018, 09:29:20 PM
Renshaw's was mental. Session permanently on in it. Any day. Any time. Always happy hour.
Always loads of birds. Not the sort you'd introduce to your Mammy but grand for an old curt and a fumble.
Good times.

It was a serious spot. 3 pints for a £5. A simpler time. Anyone remember the night club down the road from it? Behind what i think is a holiday inn? Was it called karma?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 09:35:31 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 09:34:25 PM
Good times.

It was a serious spot. 3 pints for a £5. A simpler time. Anyone remember the night club down the road from it? Behind what i think is a holiday inn? Was it called karma?
It was Orpheus in my day.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 09:42:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 09:35:31 PM
Good times.

Probably the same place alright, down the alley? It was always a wile carry on. Think your man lost the licence because there was that much ganching going on around it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 09:58:11 PM
Renshaws was crap! (IMO)  students running around off their tits on Mad dog 20/20 starting arguments with themselves  :)
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:05:29 PM
Some blasts from the past there

https://www.belfastvibe.com/big-stories/belfast/extended-by-popular-demand-belfasts-list-of-places-that-are-gone-but-not-forgotten/ (https://www.belfastvibe.com/big-stories/belfast/extended-by-popular-demand-belfasts-list-of-places-that-are-gone-but-not-forgotten/)

1. LEISUREWORLD
2. THE VENUE
3. BOB CRATCHIT'S/STORM
4. SPUD
5. ATHENA
6. BAMBU BEACH CLUB
7. CHICAGO PIZZA PIE FACTORY
8. THE CRESCENT
9. LEGEND
10. VICO'S
11. AMERICAN MADNES
12. VIRGIN MEGASTORE
13. SPACE
14. DELANEY'S
15. OUR PRICE
16. MOVIE STAR CAFE
17. DILLONS THE BOOKSTORE
18. AUNTIE ANNIE'S
19. ART COLLEGE (AS A CLUB)
20. Dr Roberts – Julie McKegney
21. Drury Lane – Janice Leigh Farrel
22. The Rotterdam – Christian Nelson
23. Stiff Kitten – Lauren Molloy
24. The Network – Jordan McKelvey
25. Renshaws – Klara Gallagher
26. Temps – Christopher Colhoun
27. Hunters – Leigh Park
28. The old animated adverts screen in Shaftesbury Square – Johnny Couchman
29. M Club – Karen Jarvis
30. Ross's Court – Gillian Scott

Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 10:14:34 PM
Foo-kin! Haven't thought of that place in about a decade. It was fantastic.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on November 26, 2018, 10:23:27 PM
Anyone remember Cafe Montmartre on the Stranmillis Road? Became the Abacus, could be anything now.

Great spot.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 10:28:07 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on November 26, 2018, 10:23:27 PM
Anyone remember Cafe Montmartre on the Stranmillis Road? Became the Abacus, could be anything now.

Great spot.

I do, think it's still there as Abacus. Only had it once circa 2007 but it was good from what I mind.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:34:47 PM

Great spot.
I lived in Stranmillis 95-97 and the Abacus was there then.
Post by: markl121 on November 26, 2018, 10:35:54 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 09:42:55 PM
Good times.

Probably the same place alright, down the alley? It was always a wile carry on. Think your man lost the licence because there was that much ganching going on around it.
Is that not the spot that's called menagerie now? On down university street beside the holiday in? We never had the balls to go into it Cos it looked abandoned.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on November 26, 2018, 10:37:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:34:47 PM

Great spot.
I lived in Stranmillis 95-97 and the Abacus was there then.

Montmartre would have been gone by then, early-mid 90s. Owned by an old Italian couple, best Saturday morning fry I've ever had; I didn't drink, so it wasn't hangover influenced.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 10:39:40 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:05:29 PM
Some blasts from the past there

https://www.belfastvibe.com/big-stories/belfast/extended-by-popular-demand-belfasts-list-of-places-that-are-gone-but-not-forgotten/ (https://www.belfastvibe.com/big-stories/belfast/extended-by-popular-demand-belfasts-list-of-places-that-are-gone-but-not-forgotten/)

1. LEISUREWORLD
2. THE VENUE
3. BOB CRATCHIT'S! Where I met my wife!
4. SPUD
5. ATHENA
6. BAMBU BEACH CLUB
7. CHICAGO PIZZA PIE FACTORY
8. THE CRESCENT
9. LEGEND
10. VICO'S an outstanding nite club and in its pump 92/93 was the best around
11. AMERICAN MADNES
12. VIRGIN MEGASTORE
13. SPACE
14. DELANEY'S, great spot after dark!
15. OUR PRICE
16. MOVIE STAR CAFE
17. DILLONS THE BOOKSTORE
18. AUNTIE ANNIE'S  aka The Joxer
19. ART COLLEGE (AS A CLUB)
20. Dr Roberts – Julie McKegney
21. Drury Lane – Janice Leigh Farrel
22. The Rotterdam – Christian Nelson
23. Stiff Kitten – Lauren Molloy
24. The Network – Jordan McKelvey
25. Renshaws – Klara Gallagher
26. Temps – Christopher Colhoun
27. Hunters – Leigh Park
28. The old animated adverts screen in Shaftesbury Square – Johnny Couchman
29. M Club – Karen Jarvis aka the Manhattan
30. Ross's Court – Gillian Scott

I've added the original names there for some, surprised Shine didn't get a mention and Thompson's going (under current format) 23 years, was a 'gay' bar of sorts before that, The 'Egg'
Post by: screenexile on November 26, 2018, 10:41:16 PM
Quote from: markl121 on November 26, 2018, 10:35:54 PM
Good times.

Is that not the spot that's called menagerie now? On down university street beside the holiday in? We never had the balls to go into it Cos it looked abandoned.

No Orpheus was a part of the holiday inn while Menagerie was a stoner bar not far from it.
Post by: markl121 on November 26, 2018, 10:42:10 PM
Remember when boojum cost a fiver. Simpler times
Post by: bogball88 on November 26, 2018, 10:47:25 PM
Orpheus became Karma. Closed up circa 2011
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:49:56 PM
MR2 I'm sure The Joxer was beside Vico's out the back of Fibber Magee's.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:51:29 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on November 26, 2018, 10:47:25 PM
Orpheus became Karma. Closed up circa 2011
Jesus I was on my 3rd wane by then. Feeling old now!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 10:52:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:49:56 PM

Where auntie Annie's which then became sweet afton?

With druy lane in the corner
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:57:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 10:52:26 PM

Auntie Annie's was on Dublin Road.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 10:59:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:57:04 PM

What was the name of the bar before it was sweet afton?

Irene and nans! My bad! Too many nights out in too many bars!

Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 11:03:13 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 10:57:04 PM

Which became the pub with no name, which became the five points, which became the points.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:07:47 PM
The Rotterdam was a good spot and Magennis's was great.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 11:09:21 PM
Anyone remember the Bot before it was burnt down?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:11:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 11:09:21 PM
I remember the old Bot. Postage stamp dancefloor upstairs with the bar in the middle. It was great for doing laps and was a total meat market. Closed in 1995 I think.
Post by: paddyjohn on November 26, 2018, 11:15:05 PM
Went to the Perch over a few weeks back, Jesus.. get me back to the rock
Post by: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 11:16:05 PM
The Globe on university road. Burger and a pint for a fiver. Long closed now.
Post by: bogball88 on November 26, 2018, 11:17:46 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 26, 2018, 11:16:05 PM
The Elms now I think. The globe was great
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 11:19:21 PM
The Fly when it was done up.. Bob Cratchit's was a great spot on a Wednesday night

Laverys was decent to start off, McHughs when it reopened was a place to go for an older crowd.

Fibbers for me was Ozzys at the back of Robinson's, a rock bar that proper rock
Post by: paddyjohn on November 26, 2018, 11:20:15 PM
Some of you oul lads are fairy showing your age, will be seeing you in Pop goes NI or Reeling in the years soon!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:21:35 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on November 26, 2018, 11:17:46 PM
It was The Elms, then The Globe then The Elms again. Blackthorn were a big draw for yokels.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:22:39 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on November 26, 2018, 11:20:15 PM
Some of you oul lads are fairy showing your age, will be seeing you in Pop goes NI or Reeling in the years soon!
Aye sure hardly get out the door now. Reminiscing is the next best thing to a night on the lash.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 11:22:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:11:53 PM
I remember the old Bot. Postage stamp dancefloor upstairs with the bar in the middle. It was great for doing laps and was a total meat market. Closed in 1995 I think.

I remember it had a huge tv screen (made up of thirty screens) and as you say small dance floor, I remember they had a vending machine that fished out Rolling Rock! Was free in I'm going back to 89!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:24:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 11:22:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:11:53 PM

I remember it had a huge tv screen (made up of thirty screens) and as you say small dance floor, I remember they had a vending machine that fished out Rolling Rock! Was free in I'm going back to 89!
A mate knew a fella on the door so he used to sneak open the side door and we'd run up the back stairs!
Post by: paddyjohn on November 26, 2018, 11:29:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:22:39 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on November 26, 2018, 11:20:15 PM
Aye sure hardly get out the door now. Reminiscing is the next best thing to a night on the lash.

Haha.. That's very true! Sometimes I wonder how we got away with half the stuff we did and if my own kids were up to it, I'd clash them!
Post by: markl121 on November 26, 2018, 11:47:16 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2018, 11:21:35 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on November 26, 2018, 11:17:46 PM
It was The Elms, then The Globe then The Elms again. Blackthorn were a big draw for yokels.
I'm near sure it's a Tesco now
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 27, 2018, 02:02:11 AM
What about Lord Hamill's Hamburgers
Post by: Harold Disgracey on November 27, 2018, 07:12:00 AM
Is the kebab van still operating outside the Bot?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 27, 2018, 07:40:45 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on November 27, 2018, 01:11:58 AM
Quote from: paddyjohn on November 26, 2018, 11:29:53 PM
Haha.. That's very true! Sometimes I wonder how we got away with half the stuff we did and if my own kids were up to it, I'd clash them!
No mobile phones with cameras & no social media to post such pics on the Internet 15 seconds after it's taken. What went on in the Holyland stayed in the Holyland. Unless you got herpes.

Thank f**k!  Some of the antics along Wolsley street circa 1995-98 are best dealt with through hazy memory and retelling of ever more elaborate tales as the memory fades and embellishments increase😂. 

I also wish to refute any arguments that's Julie's Kitchen was a stink hole.....many's the breakfast I had in there and it did me no harm!!!!!
Post by: take_yer_points on November 27, 2018, 07:53:15 AM
Dukes was popular for a while in the early noughties, not too sure how long that lasted.

The Hatfield changed from having a few students in supping over a few pints to being packed back then too. Remember toss the boss or something, you flipped a coin and if you won your next round was free. Roy giving bad manners serving up pints and cruncher playing a couple of nights a week.

Orpheus was the bar in behind the holiday Inn and the nightclub downstairs was the Underworld. They used to have foam parties in it.

Last I heard Decky (McFerran I think) from renshaws was in Oz. Sanj opened the Black Box in the Odyssey, that might be why they let renshaws go.

Great memories
Post by: bogball88 on November 27, 2018, 08:45:03 AM
Renshaws-impossible to get thrown out of the place, anything went
Post by: markl121 on November 27, 2018, 08:50:27 AM
Was in the Hatfield recently at about noon on a Sunday for old times sake. There were lads doing cocaine in the toilet. What happened?
Post by: screenexile on November 27, 2018, 09:12:44 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 27, 2018, 07:40:45 AM
No mobile phones with cameras & no social media to post such pics on the Internet 15 seconds after it's taken. What went on in the Holyland stayed in the Holyland. Unless you got herpes.

Thank f**k!  Some of the antics along Wolsley street circa 1995-98 are best dealt with through hazy memory and retelling of ever more elaborate tales as the memory fades and embellishments increase😂. 

I also wish to refute any arguments that's Julie's Kitchen was a stink hole.....many's the breakfast I had in there and it did me no harm!!!!!

I didn't think Julies Kitchen did breakfast?? Are you thinking about Helen's Bakery on Ormeau?? "What's yours love?"
Post by: Don Johnson on November 27, 2018, 09:19:29 AM
Quote from: bogball88 on November 27, 2018, 08:45:03 AM
Renshaws-impossible to get thrown out of the place, anything went

I know a fella that got thrown out then carried back in by the bouncers the same night.
Post by: trailer on November 27, 2018, 09:19:38 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on November 27, 2018, 07:12:00 AM
Is the kebab van still operating outside the Bot?

Jesus that's right. Mind actually going up to it a few nights even though we weren't out.
Post by: trailer on November 27, 2018, 09:21:59 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 27, 2018, 09:12:44 AM

I didn't think Julies Kitchen did breakfast?? Are you thinking about Helen's Bakery on Ormeau?? "What's yours love?"

Helen's bakery was a great spot.
There was a gaff on Stranmillis upstairs like a B&B room. It did a nice fry, anyone mind the name of it?
Post by: The Bearded One on November 27, 2018, 10:00:53 AM
This thread is bringing back some great memories. Late teens and early 20s at UUJ then spent a few years living and working in Belfast and most of the aforementioned hostelries and eateries were either regular haunts or have been visited.

Renshaws was unbelievable craic at that time, no matter what time of the day you were sure of a party. Many a day I walked past that big front window heading to the UUJ bus hoping someone I knew would be sitting there willing me in, the bus was missed and the session commenced. My week usually consisted of Monday Renshaws then Queens Union, Tuesday home for training then back to Renshaws or in later years the Beach Club, Wednesday always the Bot and Thursday was depending on the form...a few quiet ones or else a full on party.

I think the Centra on Botanic is worth a mention for the food discussion, the best and biggest filled sandwiches and rolls about!
Post by: Aughafad on November 27, 2018, 10:14:17 AM
What about the 24hr filling station on the lower ormeau, savage queues late at night just to get a dry sandwich and bottle of coke. its a GP surgery now.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 27, 2018, 10:25:13 AM
Monday night - Queen's Union. Used to be huge lines to get in. Parlour sometimes got a hit. Double vodka and Red Bull was £4 at the time.
Tuesday - Limelight was always a good shout. Out of date bottles of Tennants for £1 IIRC.
Wednesday - Bot. Upstairs was usually carnage. Used to get handy entry up the fire escape at the back on the odd occasion.
Thursday - Always changed. Renshaws. Odd venture to the Beach Club. Skye had a crowd for awhile. There was also a place down University St that had a serious crowd around 2006/07. I think it used to be the Orpheus back in the day but it had changed its name around this time. Anybody recall it?

Spudz got hit for food on many occasion. Temps was an odd place. The man who rapped your order. You could also write on the walls. Esperantos beside the Globe done a decent kebab. And the Emerald's delivery service was second to none.
Post by: tyrone girl on November 27, 2018, 10:26:35 AM
Helens bakery the memories !!! Also Baracuda chippy on the Ormeau Road
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 27, 2018, 10:27:51 AM

I never said what time breakfast was at nor what I had for breakfast!!!  A lot of the time it was the left over chicken box from the night before that was sitting on the bedside cabinet 😂
Post by: screenexile on November 27, 2018, 10:33:33 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 27, 2018, 10:27:51 AM

I never said what time breakfast was at nor what I had for breakfast!!!  A lot of the time it was the left over chicken box from the night before that was sitting on the bedside cabinet 😂

(https://media.giphy.com/media/378IyHiTEheI8/giphy.gif)
Post by: johnnycool on November 27, 2018, 12:59:32 PM
For some reason escaping me then and now The Elms was the place to go on a Thursday night, Blackthorn playing the same old dirge (badly) week in week out in a sweat box of a bar and fierce hard to pick up in.

I liked the old upstairs in the Bot with the bar in the middle, the dancefloor with the low roof, fair old craic in there most nights.
If you were refused entry then the Egg got a turn but it was slightly a classier joint back then and if the horn was really on then the Welly Park was the place to go for the older ladies who were looking a bit of company for the night.

Bob Cratchetts was some spot on the Monday night after the nurses got paid, fierce talent, looking to snare themselves a Doctor, so lies had to be told but the best I ever saw was two lads from home, one a farmer and the other a brickie telling these two they were a dentist and a Solicitor and the hands like shovels with ground in dirt. Worked for one, but not the other..
The Hatfield back then was only frequented by the locals and any strange faces were given a quare look, but that was not long after the Sean Grahams shootings. I remember the night the Ballynafeigh band and lodge were first refused entry over the bridge by the RUC, loads of students appeared out from the Holylands watching on the embankment. Turbulent times.

Grub wise Spuds was the first port of call rudely interrupted by the advent of McDonalds across the road but once that novelty wore off it was back to Spuds.
Abacus was a mighty chinese, but a treat as it was dear enough but Mama Mia pizza's on the Lisburn road was a staple diet, £270 for a 12" marguerita and 30p a topping thereafter.

That **** "Barry" and his rip off shop.....
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 27, 2018, 01:17:21 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on November 27, 2018, 12:59:32 PM

Abacus was a mighty chinese, but a treat as it was dear enough but Mama Mia pizza's on the Lisburn road was a staple diet, £270 for a 12" marguerita and 30p a topping thereafter.

Well for some .... that was 2 months rent for most ;) ;D
Post by: GetOverTheBar on November 27, 2018, 01:18:15 PM
Great thread, some good memories.

From the 04-08 vintage.

Someone mentioned The Egg there, not a great spot at all I'm afraid - Tonic Wine from the Optics....a crater on the actual floor of the bar. Dodgy Combo.

Temps.....Not a many turned it down at 0300. Esperantos....dear me, some feast of whatever that actually was....

No idea why Renshaws closed, it was a money magnet - but I think it bore the brunt of a lot of the antics around that time, it was at it's height one night the Holylands went a bit mad after a BBC documentary, if I mind right Alex Maskey was on top of a car pleading for calm....obviously he was shook off it. Mess altogether. Things were pretty messy at that time. St Patricks day was a disgrace for all of my time there. I didn't bother going down for it in final year.

Skye £1 a drink was a bit of mess too. Great craic if you could get in and rightly tanked.

Do the Hatfield still slip out the old carry outs after hours? Used to be a great laugh at the time getting a carry out before a night out and then going to Hatfeld to get a carry out for the end of the night. Looking back now - slightly embarrassing.

Haven't been down in that part of Belfast in a lifetime - surprised Laverys is now the go to spot, wouldn't have phoned it back in the day.

Post by: MoChara on November 27, 2018, 01:22:43 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on November 27, 2018, 10:25:13 AM
Monday night - Queen's Union. Used to be huge lines to get in. Parlour sometimes got a hit. Double vodka and Red Bull was £4 at the time.
Tuesday - Limelight was always a good shout. Out of date bottles of Tennants for £1 IIRC.
Wednesday - Bot. Upstairs was usually carnage. Used to get handy entry up the fire escape at the back on the odd occasion.
Thursday - Always changed. Renshaws. Odd venture to the Beach Club. Skye had a crowd for awhile. There was also a place down University St that had a serious crowd around 2006/07. I think it used to be the Orpheus back in the day but it had changed its name around this time. Anybody recall it?

Spudz got hit for food on many occasion. Temps was an odd place. The man who rapped your order. You could also write on the walls. Esperantos beside the Globe done a decent kebab. And the Emerald's delivery service was second to none.

I want to say it was called Karma but I could be wrong
Post by: general_lee on November 27, 2018, 01:26:21 PM
I remember Karma I think it only opened for a year or two
Post by: GetOverTheBar on November 27, 2018, 01:35:03 PM
Yeah that was Karma ex The Orpheus
Post by: Tyrdub on November 27, 2018, 01:42:23 PM
For some reason escaping me then and now The Elms was the place to go on a Thursday night, Blackthorn playing the same old dirge (badly) week in week out in a sweat box of a bar and fierce hard to pick up in.

I liked the old upstairs in the Bot with the bar in the middle, the dancefloor with the low roof, fair old craic in there most nights.
If you were refused entry then the Egg got a turn but it was slightly a classier joint back then and if the horn was really on then the Welly Park was the place to go for the older ladies who were looking a bit of company for the night.

Bob Cratchetts was some spot on the Monday night after the nurses got paid, fierce talent, looking to snare themselves a Doctor, so lies had to be told but the best I ever saw was two lads from home, one a farmer and the other a brickie telling these two they were a dentist and a Solicitor and the hands like shovels with ground in dirt. Worked for one, but not the other..
The Hatfield back then was only frequented by the locals and any strange faces were given a quare look, but that was not long after the Sean Grahams shootings. I remember the night the Ballynafeigh band and lodge were first refused entry over the bridge by the RUC, loads of students appeared out from the Holylands watching on the embankment. Turbulent times.

Grub wise Spuds was the first port of call rudely interrupted by the advent of McDonalds across the road but once that novelty wore off it was back to Spuds.

there's a reason you could'nt pick up
Post by: Tyrdub on November 27, 2018, 01:44:07 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on November 27, 2018, 01:18:15 PM
Great thread, some good memories.

From the 04-08 vintage.

Someone mentioned The Egg there, not a great spot at all I'm afraid - Tonic Wine from the Optics....a crater on the actual floor of the bar. Dodgy Combo.

Temps.....Not a many turned it down at 0300. Esperantos....dear me, some feast of whatever that actually was....

No idea why Renshaws closed, it was a money magnet - but I think it bore the brunt of a lot of the antics around that time, it was at it's height one night the Holylands went a bit mad after a BBC documentary, if I mind right Alex Maskey was on top of a car pleading for calm....obviously he was shook off it. Mess altogether. Things were pretty messy at that time. St Patricks day was a disgrace for all of my time there. I didn't bother going down for it in final year.

Skye £1 a drink was a bit of mess too. Great craic if you could get in and rightly tanked.

Do the Hatfield still slip out the old carry outs after hours? Used to be a great laugh at the time getting a carry out before a night out and then going to Hatfeld to get a carry out for the end of the night. Looking back now - slightly embarrassing.

Haven't been down in that part of Belfast in a lifetime - surprised Laverys is now the go to spot, wouldn't have phoned it back in the day.

yep still do, have availed of this service recently
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 27, 2018, 01:47:28 PM
Going back a bit but the pizza and a pint  for a pound In the empire was mighty popular back in the day (not much of a pizza granted )
Post by: screenexile on November 27, 2018, 01:55:53 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on November 27, 2018, 01:47:28 PM
Going back a bit but the pizza and a pint  for a pound In the empire was mighty popular back in the day (not much of a pizza granted )

You sure you don't mean a fiver or are you just way older than the rest of us???
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 27, 2018, 02:07:19 PM
 it was a £1 and would have been that tail end of the 80's start of the 90's a pint was £0.95 out at the poy Union in first year  as well ,
Post by: screenexile on November 27, 2018, 02:14:13 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on November 27, 2018, 02:07:19 PM
it was a £1 and would have been that tail end of the 80's start of the 90's a pint was £0.95 out at the poy Union in first year  as well ,

Older then  :P :P

Pints for £1 were just being phased out in the early 2000s unfortunately!!
Post by: johnnycool on November 27, 2018, 02:15:03 PM
Quote from: Tyrdub on November 27, 2018, 01:42:23 PM

there's a reason you could'nt pick up

Yip, wasn't keen on sweaty muck savages.
Post by: TheOptimist on November 27, 2018, 02:18:38 PM
Ah the memories lads. 3 for a fiver at Renshaws, late food at Esparantos, Wednesdays at the Bot, the beach club in first year, Sunday night at Hatfield, the wee burger stand outside the union on a Monday. Easier times altogether.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 27, 2018, 02:27:08 PM
Great times.
Karma - that was the spot. Wasn't open for long.
Post by: bogball88 on November 27, 2018, 02:29:41 PM
The Eg, great spot to get fairly juiced up before trying your hand in the Bot. 6 shots for £6 any they came out on a wee ladder try  ;D
Post by: GetOverTheBar on November 27, 2018, 02:31:13 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on November 27, 2018, 02:18:38 PM
Ah the memories lads. 3 for a fiver at Renshaws, late food at Esparantos, Wednesdays at the Bot, the beach club in first year, Sunday night at Hatfield, the wee burger stand outside the union on a Monday. Easier times altogether.

Massive fan of starting the week absolutely dying after a game and then old Ulsterbus down. Better times altogether, The Killers, Snow Patrol and Franz Ferdinand just seemed to be on repeat in every bar.
Post by: bogball88 on November 27, 2018, 02:43:47 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on November 27, 2018, 02:31:13 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on November 27, 2018, 02:18:38 PM

Massive fan of starting the week absolutely dying after a game and then old Ulsterbus down. Better times altogether, The Killers, Snow Patrol and Franz Ferdinand just seemed to be on repeat in every bar.
Bik McFarlane played on a Sunday night in the Hatfield in my time-usually ended up with buying a 10 glass of Glens Vodka afterwards from the off licence and heading on to a party. The week only went one way when that happened
Post by: tyroneman on November 27, 2018, 03:45:28 PM

Holy fcuk - was it made of gold?
Post by: johnnycool on November 27, 2018, 04:11:04 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on November 27, 2018, 03:45:28 PM

Holy fcuk - was it made of gold?

I told you it was good  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2018, 07:12:21 PM
Johnny from your post I can age you like looking at rings in a tree  ;D. Like myself I would say you got the bus to the big smoke in '93 or '94 (I started 94).
Post by: markl121 on November 27, 2018, 08:16:43 PM
Lads yous are making a man want to go back
Post by: RedHand88 on November 27, 2018, 08:23:27 PM
Shoving as much as you possibly could into a £4 takeaway box from China China. Even when it was bursting at the seams, you still managed to squeeze another spare rib in.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on November 27, 2018, 08:51:05 PM
Quote from: trailer on November 27, 2018, 09:21:59 AM

Helen's bakery was a great spot.
There was a gaff on Stranmillis upstairs like a B&B room. It did a nice fry, anyone mind the name of it?

French Village??

Bakery downstairs?
Post by: PMG1 on November 28, 2018, 12:34:43 AM
At QUB 90-94, great times but dangerous times, was on my way to the ormeau road bookies about 40 seconds away when the shooting happened, was in it all day the day before and had a winning bet from Tuesday night football game to collect on the day of the shooting.  My week consisted of the chaplaincy Monday night, was actually great craic, place at the top of Sandy Row on Tuesday , can't remeber the name or else the union, Bot Wednesday and never missed Elms on a Thursday. Kebab van opposite the Bot was part of my staple diet, great wee chippy opposite the top of stranmillis gardens too was good spot. Great times but glad the lads there now don't have to worry about the troubles as we did then.
Post by: rrhf on November 28, 2018, 12:45:47 AM
The crescent and sphinx. Where was the chaplaincy rings a vague bell here
Post by: Harold Disgracey on November 28, 2018, 06:34:14 AM
Quote from: rrhf on November 28, 2018, 12:45:47 AM

The Crescent was some spot, sawdust on the floor and 50p a pint!
Post by: RedHand88 on November 28, 2018, 07:33:09 AM

Down near the bottom of eglantine avenue
Post by: screenexile on November 28, 2018, 09:49:54 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 28, 2018, 07:33:09 AM

It was down Elmwood Avenue in my time to the left hand side of the Union.

Chaplaincy was always a decent spot for a lunchtime feed now definitely!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 28, 2018, 09:58:53 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 28, 2018, 09:49:54 AM

Yes left side of Elmwood close to the Lisburn Road side. Father Joe Gunn was the chief when we were knocking about it.
Post by: johnnycool on November 28, 2018, 10:29:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2018, 07:12:21 PM
Johnny from your post I can age you like looking at rings in a tree  ;D. Like myself I would say you got the bus to the big smoke in '93 or '94 (I started 94).

Too obvious for you Tony. 95 I left that nonsense behind and was gainfully employed but still resided in the Holylands for another few years before moving out to the leafy South Belfast Suburbs.
Post by: omaghjoe on November 28, 2018, 04:19:23 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 26, 2018, 10:41:16 PM
Quote from: markl121 on November 26, 2018, 10:35:54 PM
Good times.

No Orpheus was a part of the holiday inn while Menagerie was a stoner bar not far from it.

Ah the Meangerie... what a spot! By the looks of it still goin in its original form too!
Post by: SHEEDY on November 28, 2018, 07:19:10 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on November 28, 2018, 06:34:14 AM

The Crescent was some spot, sawdust on the floor and 50p a pint!
the crescent was a dodgy spot in early 90's belfast. used to go there regularly on a thursday night for a feed of cheap pints before heading on somewhere else, usually the bot. we had to change our names and all lived in kilkeel if anyone asked, all for cheap drink  ;D
Post by: rrhf on November 28, 2018, 07:57:04 PM
Started in 93. Crescent Was as dodgy as hell a five spot got you 10 peach schnapps as soon as you got to the bar and
In fairness  the bouncers with their local knowledge would have gave a heads up if it wasn't the night to hang around. Only in one handlin outside it.  nitThere was an understanding of sorts. Some place for getting a curt..Sunday night the eg  Monday night can't remember suspect the  bun an ti Tuesday the fly, wed the bot Thursday night the speakeasy or elms.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2018, 08:20:50 PM
The locals knew fine rightly all the students upstairs were taigs! Never put a foot through the door, local knowledge would ensure we didn't get a beating or worse
Post by: rrhf on November 28, 2018, 09:38:10 PM
Exactly and therin lies the strange Belfast that was that era. Arrange safety- call it what you will. But fair play to all who let the students play away.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 28, 2018, 09:44:57 PM
Quote from: rrhf on November 28, 2018, 09:38:10 PM
Exactly and therin lies the strange Belfast that was that era. Arrange safety- call it what you will. But fair play to all who let the students play away.
Whoever was directly getting the profits or a cut thereof no doubt didn't mind all the students spending money.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 28, 2018, 09:46:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 28, 2018, 09:44:57 PM
Quote from: rrhf on November 28, 2018, 09:38:10 PM
Whoever was directly getting the profits or a cut thereof no doubt didn't mind all the students spending money.

There was a few incidents though no more so than what happened outside the bot
Post by: screenexile on November 28, 2018, 10:24:48 PM
What about TriBeCa Belfast?? International Heart Belfast soul!!

It's a bit rip offy for me surely they could have come up with something a bit more original.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 28, 2018, 11:03:41 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 28, 2018, 09:49:54 AM

Correction you are right.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 28, 2018, 11:08:38 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 28, 2018, 10:24:48 PM
What about TriBeCa Belfast?? International Heart Belfast soul!!

It's a bit rip offy for me surely they could have come up with something a bit more original.

Awful. Just awful.
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 23, 2022, 03:49:27 PM
Any advice for where to park on street to go SSE Arena tonight? Hearing the parking on site is complete nightmare with 1 hr to get out. Don't mind a 10 min walk if it gets us away quickly.
Post by: RedHand88 on October 23, 2022, 04:07:00 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 23, 2022, 03:49:27 PM
Any advice for where to park on street to go SSE Arena tonight? Hearing the parking on site is complete nightmare with 1 hr to get out. Don't mind a 10 min walk if it gets us away quickly.

Can you still park along Sydenham Road where the Audi place and all is? If so I would try it.
Post by: delgany on October 23, 2022, 04:13:39 PM

Few options
Park along sydenham road , where audi / porsche garages are.
Eastside park n ride is handy too. Few off street car parks along there as well.
Post by: Estimator on October 23, 2022, 04:17:27 PM

Parked on Corporation Sq street last night. 10min walk over the bridge to the SSE. Got away handy at the end of the night. There are a couple of car parks in the area as well.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2022, 05:35:13 PM
Bit of a longer walk than the Corporation St. oprions but I have parked at the car park at Lanyon Place a few times for SSE events in the past. Literally drive through the barrier at the end of the night and up May Street towards the M1. Dead handy.
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 23, 2022, 07:17:52 PM
Cheers lads. Got parked on Corporation street. Handy wee walk down.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2022, 09:05:17 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 23, 2022, 07:17:52 PM
Cheers lads. Got parked on Corporation street. Handy wee walk down.
Bridges has generated some business in the city. Hotels and restaurants packed.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 23, 2022, 09:13:39 PM
Did some praddystant give him jip last nite then got kicked out?! Saw something couldnt be bothered searching. Strange what some peeps get their kicks with
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2022, 09:38:27 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 23, 2022, 09:13:39 PM
Did some praddystant give him jip last nite then got kicked out?! Saw something couldnt be bothered searching. Strange what some peeps get their kicks with
Not sure about the religion but seemingly full of scumbags all week. Wankers getting blocked and hammering the marching powder which unbeknown to them doesn't make their heckles funny.
Post by: Estimator on October 23, 2022, 10:43:41 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 23, 2022, 09:13:39 PM

There were a good few arseholes in last night. Interrupting him with incoherent nonsense. He tried to ignore most of them, one fella did shout "Frankfurt" at him. Not sure if it was the same one that got oxtered out of the place. I believe the idiot was still trying to get into fights once he'd left the building.