GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on July 02, 2011, 10:05:11 AM

Title: Tommy Walsh - Kerry
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2011, 10:05:11 AM
I reckon he'll jack in the aussie rules at the end of the season and return to Kerry to solve their midfield woes.
Doesn't seem to be making much headway over there compared to the likes of Hanley and Tuohy and even Niall McKeever who made his senior debut last week.
It's one thing to be paid to play a game, but if you don't enjoy it what's the point.
Title: Re: Tommy Walsh - Kerry
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 02, 2011, 10:49:16 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 02, 2011, 10:05:11 AM
I reckon he'll jack in the aussie rules at the end of the season and return to Kerry to solve their midfield woes.
Doesn't seem to be making much headway over there compared to the likes of Hanley and Tuohy and even Niall McKeever who made his senior debut last week.
It's one thing to be paid to play a game, but if you don't enjoy it what's the point.

because your getting paid
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 02, 2011, 12:26:24 PM
With the summer players arriving its started to improve.  Cork started poorly but have won their last two and would be favourites along with Leitrim.  Some nice players about.  I will start updating the American gaa thread.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 02, 2011, 12:46:00 PM
Dunno bout that Jinxy..he's getting high praise in a few quarters out there and has been played all over the field for their VFL team. He'll debut in the next couple of weeks for St Kilda I'd say...I reckon he;ll give it till the end of next season at least before making any decisions.
Post by: Jinxy on March 25, 2012, 05:06:06 PM
Well, 3 years in it appears that Tommy isn't making much headway over in Oz.
Such a waste of a brilliant footballer.
Would he not just come home at this stage?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 25, 2012, 05:26:03 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 25, 2012, 05:06:06 PM

Maybe he's enjoying it down there. Just a thought.
Post by: Jinxy on March 25, 2012, 05:44:48 PM
Enjoying what?
Being paid to train?
I would have thought he'd like to be playing.
Post by: Syferus on March 25, 2012, 06:30:52 PM
Jaysus Jinxy, you're mad on postulating that 'player x isn't enjoying life' outside of the GAA fraternity!

If you headed up the Mahon Tribunal everyone who looked cross-eyed to a builder would be indicated.
Post by: Orchardman on March 25, 2012, 07:03:17 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 25, 2012, 05:06:06 PM

Was only with st kilda 2 years, and they are a top 2 side. His 3rd season is only starting now, so how can you write him off for not playing in 3 years? he has another 2 year contract, if he makes no progress after that then u have a point and id agree he should come home. Would be hard to beat getting paid to train every day and living in sudney, i wudn't mind it.

Don't forget lads, he's already played in 2 all ireland finals, winning one, so he's done what his father's done and all that, though i'm sure he'd like more
Post by: Jinxy on March 25, 2012, 09:13:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 25, 2012, 06:30:52 PM
Jaysus Jinxy, you're mad on postulating that 'player x isn't enjoying life' outside of the GAA fraternity!

If you headed up the Mahon Tribunal everyone who looked cross-eyed to a builder would be indicated.

In sporting terms he's a nobody over there.
Post by: Aerlik on March 26, 2012, 06:21:51 PM
A lad from home has a picture of Walsh, Kennelly and him standing together.  Now the lad from home is no leprechaun but Walsh looks feckin hooooooj. :o
Post by: 5 Sams on March 26, 2012, 08:46:18 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 26, 2012, 06:21:51 PM
A lad from home has a picture of Walsh, Kennelly and him standing together.  Now the lad from home is no leprechaun but Walsh looks feckin hooooooj. :o

This is one of our lads with the two lads Aerlik...he says Walsh is a fcukin monster...he's crouchin over in this photo ???

https://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=2741504497088&set=t.100000214217858&type=1&theater
Post by: Syferus on March 26, 2012, 09:17:52 PM
Never bought into the Tommy Walsh hype. Thought he was a good player who used his height well but who was a bit raw in general play. Kieran Donaghy 1.5, then. Maybe a few more years would have ironed out his inconsistencies, but he was made look alot better by being on a very, very good team.

My abiding memory of Walsh was him being hyped up to the hilt in the 2006 All-Ireland minor finals and getting cleaned out by Donie Shine in the middle in both games. And I mean took to the cleaners, given a bleaching and air dried for good measure. Shine's obviously proven himself to be no mug either, but let's not get ahead of ourselves with Walsh.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 27, 2012, 02:43:55 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 26, 2012, 09:17:52 PM
Never bought into the Tommy Walsh hype. Thought he was a good player who used his height well but who was a bit raw in general play. Kieran Donaghy 1.5, then. Maybe a few more years would have ironed out his inconsistencies, but he was made look alot better by being on a very, very good team.

My abiding memory of Walsh was him being hyped up to the hilt in the 2006 All-Ireland minor finals and getting cleaned out by Donie Shine in the middle in both games. And I mean took to the cleaners, given a bleaching and air dried for good measure. Shine's obviously proven himself to be no mug either, but let's not get ahead of ourselves with Walsh.

Really? Well, it just so happens I recently watched the DVD of the drawn final. In the 1st half alone Tommy fielded cleanly from at least 5 kickouts...I'll go back and get the accurate stats for you when I can. Shine got at least 2 points from play from what I remember alright but was destroyed in the air, so your assessment is way off. Funnily enough in the replay, Walsh was less influential in the air, but kicked 2 great long-range points and was one of our better players in a bad team performance.
In general I would doubt that Tommy will ever make it in AFL...he failed to make the breakthrough at St Kilda in 2 years and isn't looking like he'll make the Swans team either. Obviously I would love to see him home, but if he proves me wrong, fair enough.

Edit: Just asked a mate who follows the Swans if there was any word on him and got an almost instant reply. Played for the reserves at the weekend in the first round of their league and was virtually anonymous. Started at centre back and was moved up to full forward for the 2nd half.
To be honest I wouldn't be surprised to see him back in Ireland before the year is out.
Post by: HeaveHo on March 27, 2012, 03:12:23 AM
Tommy has the physical tools but doesn't seem to be able to "read the play". Kennelly is a good example of somehow who often gave away size and speed to opponents but could beat them because he was able to anticipate to opposition movement in advance and the irregular bounce of an oval shaped ball. Tommy gets led to the ball when playing as a backman and is clueless as a forward. Expect him home after this season. 
Post by: magpie seanie on March 27, 2012, 12:18:43 PM
I remember Sean Davey ploughing him out of it in a qualifier game in Tralee and Walsh not being too interested in the game after that.
Post by: Jinxy on March 27, 2012, 04:32:39 PM
Hon Sligo!
Post by: nothingbettertobeat on March 27, 2012, 05:09:48 PM
I heard talk down under that he said he won't be back until Joe McMahon retires after the trouble he had breathing outa Big Joeys Back Pocket relating back to the 2008 All Ireland Final. I could be wrong though...
Post by: ludermor on March 27, 2012, 05:30:14 PM
You could indeed.
Post by: Hardy on March 27, 2012, 08:51:49 PM
I suppose Joe actually is big by Tyrone standards.
Post by: Jinxy on March 27, 2012, 08:54:50 PM
Nordies are always calling people 'Big'.
The perfect example is 'Big Dick' Clerkin who isn't particularly tall or strongly built.
Wait a minute......
Post by: 5 Sams on March 27, 2012, 08:58:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 27, 2012, 08:54:50 PM
The perfect example is 'Big Dick' Clerkin who isn't particularly tall or strongly built.
Wait a minute......

Term of endearment..."Bout ye big lad?".....no matter what size you are
Post by: Jinxy on March 27, 2012, 09:03:32 PM
I've never heard anyone refer to Big Danny Hughes.
Maybe no one likes him.
Post by: Orchardman on March 27, 2012, 09:46:05 PM
To be fair to clerkin i have read in many of his interviews that he got a reputation as a big hard man for some reason, and couldn't understand it as he was only 6 foot and small by midfield standards.

Danny hughes is tiny, but seems to have lived in the gym the last few years just to get a pair of guns.

As for tommy walsh, lot of lads here giving him a hard time. Talking about him being raw at gaa, he played 2 years of senior football and played in all ireland finals both years, how many players aren't raw at 19? for people to talk to talk about him getting cleaned out in minor is really clutching at straws. Big joe did well on him that day, but would he do it if they met another 3 or 4 times?
Post by: Jinxy on March 27, 2012, 10:06:37 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on March 27, 2012, 09:46:05 PM
To be fair to clerkin i have read in many of his interviews that he got a reputation as a big hard man for some reason, and couldn't understand it as he was only 6 foot and small by midfield standards.

Danny hughes is tiny, but seems to have lived in the gym the last few years just to get a pair of guns.

As for tommy walsh, lot of lads here giving him a hard time. Talking about him being raw at gaa, he played 2 years of senior football and played in all ireland finals both years, how many players aren't raw at 19? for people to talk to talk about him getting cleaned out in minor is really clutching at straws. Big joe did well on him that day, but would he do it if they met another 3 or 4 times?

If he had his big beard, yes.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 20, 2012, 08:50:10 AM
Tommy made his first team debut for Sydney yesterday. Did a reasonable job without starring. Might have trouble keeping his place when Adam Goodes et al are fit again but he did enough to get another go next week.
Post by: Whishtup on May 20, 2012, 11:17:25 AM
http://www.afl.livesport.tv/vodplayer/video/1990508/title/Syd_v_Melb_Match_Summary/
Post by: orangeman on May 21, 2012, 09:04:44 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on May 20, 2012, 11:17:25 AM
http://www.afl.livesport.tv/vodplayer/video/1990508/title/Syd_v_Melb_Match_Summary/

That was some mark 2 minutes into the game by the opposing team.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 21, 2012, 09:09:35 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on May 20, 2012, 08:50:10 AM
Tommy made his first team debut for Sydney yesterday. Did a reasonable job without starring. Might have trouble keeping his place when Adam Goodes et al are fit again but he did enough to get another go next week.

Did he score a couple of goals?
Post by: orangeman on May 21, 2012, 09:16:11 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 21, 2012, 09:09:35 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on May 20, 2012, 08:50:10 AM

Did he score a couple of goals?

Aye scored a couple - the team they were playing were rubbish - kicking in match.
Post by: bcarrier on May 21, 2012, 09:36:43 AM
How they all did...

QuoteAUSTRALIAN RULES : TOMMY WALSH said that playing his first AFL match was "worth the wait" after he scored two goals as Sydney Swans trounced Melbourne Demons 138-37 in Saturday's round eight game. Walsh is in his third season Down Under, having spent the first two with St Kilda before joining the Swans in the off-season.

He had to be patient as Sydney got off to a brilliant start to the current campaign, but a combination of injuries and losing their last two games saw the 24-year-old given this opportunity. He took it well, using his size and strength effectively to accumulate 14 possessions, 10 of them in contests. He also claimed six marks and for good measure, made four tackles.

Wearing the number 17 jersey made famous in Sydney by his former Kerry team-mate Tadhg Kennelly, Walsh kicked his first goal from five yards in the second quarter. His second arrived in the third quarter after a powerful mark under pressure.

Kennelly was commentating on the game and predicted a bright future for the Tralee man, even if his introduction to top flight Aussie rules was a gentle one.

Melbourne were so poor that Kennelly said their former star player and president, the late Jim Stynes "would be turning in his grave" but that will not detract from the occasion as far as Walsh is concerned.

"Was it worth the wait? Yeah it was" he said afterwards. "It was special being my first game and everything, but the most important thing was we won the game."

Coach John Longmire was also pleased: "I thought he improved as the game went," he said. "There were a couple of really strong efforts he was able to do in our forward line."

Of the other Irish in action, Pearce Hanley clocked up a brilliant 29 touches as Brisbane trounced GWS by 92 points. The Ballaghaderreen man took 10 marks and won seven one-percenters.

Martin Clarke was effective as Collingwood emerged successful from the repeat of last year's Grand Final, two late goals seeing off Geelong. It was a weekend to forget for Zach Tuohy, though, as he managed just eight disposals as Carlton were thumped by Adelaide 124-55.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 21, 2012, 09:39:55 AM
WTF is a 'one percenter'?
Post by: bcarrier on May 21, 2012, 09:56:20 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 21, 2012, 09:39:55 AM
WTF is a 'one percenter'?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One_percenter_%28Australian_rules_football%29
Post by: ExiledGael on May 21, 2012, 10:17:17 AM
Great to see him impressing but Melbourne obviously brutal. There's a mark about two thirds into that clip that is the best piece of AFL action I've ever seen. Thanks for posting that.
Post by: Keane on May 21, 2012, 05:17:57 PM
lol at the likes of Jinxy telling him to come home after being out there about twenty minutes.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2012, 07:31:33 PM
Em, it's his 3rd year out there and this was his first game.
I'll wait till he plays a couple of games against decent teams before I change my mind.
I'd have scored against that crowd they played at the weekend.
Post by: Whishtup on May 21, 2012, 08:31:08 PM
That was some mark-probably the best I've seen.  Think he was a good height before he got the leverage off yer man's back.  It's at 1:57. 
Post by: Keane on May 22, 2012, 11:02:28 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2012, 07:31:33 PM
I'll wait till he plays a couple of games against decent teams before I change my mind.

It's the START of his third year playing a game he never played amongst squads of people who have played all their lives training in fully professional setups - in many cases with one another - who are strangers to him. He's also moved to the other side of the world away from most of the people he knows. Expecting someone to stroll into a team under those circumstances is moronic, as evidenced by the number of guys who have crashed and burned in the last couple of years after being thrown in at the deep end.

Two full years is a fairly minimal timeframe for a player for a player to adjust to an entirely new sport and way of life if you're looking for a sensible approach that gives a guy a chance at longevity and doesn't just chew them up for a few games, or even a couple of seasons, before spitting them back to where they came from.
Post by: Syferus on May 22, 2012, 07:11:52 PM
Sure he'd never come home, he might have to play Donie again.. not saying Kerry are about to be dumped out into Round 1, or anything. But I am.
Post by: Keane on May 24, 2012, 10:47:26 AM
It's amazing how the scouts never tried to bring Donie over.

Tommy keeps his place for this weekend's game anyway:

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/136777/default.aspx
Post by: Syferus on May 25, 2012, 12:13:47 AM
Quote from: Keane on May 24, 2012, 10:47:26 AM
It's amazing how the scouts never tried to bring Donie over.

Tommy keeps his place for this weekend's game anyway:

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/136777/default.aspx

Planes aren't able to transport that much talent yet, and Donie's not too fond of boats.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 26, 2012, 12:28:28 PM
Swans beat by 28. Walsh subbed in 3rd quarter

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/136913/default.aspx
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2012, 03:41:20 PM
Such a waste.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 26, 2012, 09:39:12 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 26, 2012, 12:28:28 PM

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/136913/default.aspx

you seem pleased........ typical spiteful nordie
Post by: omagh_gael on May 27, 2012, 09:09:08 AM
Came across the match report and prefixed it with the briefest of comment and you managed to infer that im a spiteful nordie. Grow up. I'm delighted that the fella is doing good for himself, appears to be a decent spud. Plus, it means that if we meet Kerry later in the year it's one less danger man for the McMahon's to put in their back pockets.
Post by: seafoid on May 27, 2012, 10:50:21 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 27, 2012, 08:58:53 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 27, 2012, 08:54:50 PM
Wait a minute......

Term of endearment..."Bout ye big lad?".....no matter what size you are
When did the fashion change?  Would wee James McCartan be called big James McCartan today ?
Post by: seafoid on May 27, 2012, 10:53:01 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 26, 2012, 09:39:12 PM

Omagh Gael

On behalf of the 26 counties I apologise for MikeSheehy. He has been in his room a lot recently and finds it hard to communicate with people.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 28, 2012, 03:45:47 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 27, 2012, 10:53:01 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 26, 2012, 09:39:12 PM

Omagh Gael

On behalf of the 26 counties I apologise for MikeSheehy. He has been in his room a lot recently and finds it hard to communicate with people.

I'm sure the 26 counties are delighted to have the boards resident "Mel Gibson" speak for them.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 28, 2012, 09:53:09 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 27, 2012, 09:09:08 AM
Came across the match report and prefixed it with the briefest of comment and you managed to infer that im a spiteful nordie. Grow up. I'm delighted that the fella is doing good for himself, appears to be a decent spud. Plus, it means that if we meet Kerry later in the year it's one less danger man for the McMahon's to put in their back pockets.

oh, you mean like  the kerry v Tipp thread  you started where, by the way,  you  mentioned  that Donaghy was dropped for, apparently, attending the champions league final.

If you you are going to have a dig,  you could at least be straight up about it.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 28, 2012, 10:18:25 AM
You seriously have got issues MS. I started that thread to get a bit of insight into Kerry's preparation for this years championship and asked what the story was with Donaghy as clearly this was a significant part of the build up i.e. one of your main players being benched for disciplinary reasons. I always thought that us Tyronies were supposed to play the paranoid neurotic role in this board? Jeez!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 28, 2012, 11:29:26 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 28, 2012, 10:18:25 AM
You seriously have got issues MS. I started that thread to get a bit of insight into Kerry's preparation for this years championship and asked what the story was with Donaghy as clearly this was a significant part of the build up i.e. one of your main players being benched for disciplinary reasons. I always thought that us Tyronies were supposed to play the paranoid neurotic role in this board? Jeez!

you are  a liar Omagh Gael. First you jump on tommy walshes setback and then you latch onto kieran Donaghy being dropped. I will not tolerate c***ts like you taking cheap shots.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 28, 2012, 12:47:35 PM
Ur fecked now Omagh gael. Mikey isn't going to tolerate you anymore!!
Post by: omagh_gael on May 28, 2012, 01:20:51 PM
You're some craic Mikey, as you are clearly off your rocker I will indulge you in some more Kerry bashing. Our Joe was in some form on the Sunday game yesterday: Jack O' doesn't have a clue when the going gets tough against Tyrone, the majority of Kerry's (recent) AI's were "cakewalks," all they are doing now is copying what Tyrone and northern teams brought to the game. These were just a few of his (not my) observations. Must hurt?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 28, 2012, 01:36:48 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 28, 2012, 01:20:51 PM
You're some craic Mikey, as you are clearly off your rocker I will indulge you in some more Kerry bashing. Our Joe was in some form on the Sunday game yesterday: Jack O' doesn't have a clue when the going gets tough against Tyrone, the majority of Kerry's (recent) AI's were "cakewalks," all they are doing now is copying what Tyrone and northern teams brought to the game. These were just a few of his (not my) observations. Must hurt?

well..I am glad you are admitting your ultimate motive is kerry bashing. (As if we didnt know that already).;..and listen laddie...Kerry dont "copy" tyrone teams...win or lose we stay true to our principles. Thats why Kerry footballers will still be immortalized long after your gym bunnies are forgotten.
Post by: Keane on May 28, 2012, 03:26:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 25, 2012, 12:13:47 AM
Planes aren't able to transport that much talent yet, and Donie's not too fond of boats.

Must get Boeing to drop the Galway kit man a line in that case, since all that talent slipped pretty easily into the arse pocket of a debutant corner back's shorts around the same time Tommy was making his AFL debut the other week :)
Post by: Syferus on May 28, 2012, 05:09:32 PM
Quote from: Keane on May 28, 2012, 03:26:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 25, 2012, 12:13:47 AM

Must get Boeing to drop the Galway kit man a line in that case, since all that talent slipped pretty easily into the arse pocket of a debutant corner back's shorts around the same time Tommy was making his AFL debut the other week :)

At least our players don't need to collect their pensions before Friday training.  ;)
Post by: omagh_gael on May 28, 2012, 11:54:49 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 28, 2012, 01:36:48 PM

well..I am glad you are admitting your ultimate motive is kerry bashing. (As if we didnt know that already).;..and listen laddie...Kerry dont "copy" tyrone teams...win or lose we stay true to our principles. Thats why Kerry footballers will still be immortalized long after your gym bunnies are forgotten.

Hah!
Post by: Keane on May 29, 2012, 12:44:39 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 28, 2012, 05:09:32 PM
At least our players don't need to collect their pensions before Friday training.

wat?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2012, 02:09:45 PM
I'd just like to say the ignore function is class.

Carry on.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on May 29, 2012, 04:12:03 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 29, 2012, 02:09:45 PM
I'd just like to say the ignore function is class.

Carry on.

I never use it..its often amazing to remind oneself the sheer depths of idiocy humans are capable of!...I see what you mean though!
Post by: Cold tea on May 29, 2012, 04:23:21 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 28, 2012, 11:29:26 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 28, 2012, 10:18:25 AM

you are  a liar Omagh Gael. First you jump on tommy walshes setback and then you latch onto kieran Donaghy being dropped. I will not tolerate c***ts like you taking cheap shots.

Too right that's more Tadhg Kennelly's task.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2012, 03:43:08 PM
I'd be surprised if the county board weren't doing their best to twist his arm to come home.
He's badly needed and doesn't seem to be doing much in Oz.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2012, 10:20:55 PM
Sure journos have enough to occuip themselves with without having to decide if they're talking about the football or hurling Tommy Walsh again!
Post by: orangeman on September 22, 2014, 03:18:13 PM
Coming home ?.
Post by: Jinxy on September 22, 2014, 03:23:11 PM
Quote from: Keane on May 22, 2012, 11:02:28 AM

It's the START of his third year playing a game he never played amongst squads of people who have played all their lives training in fully professional setups - in many cases with one another - who are strangers to him. He's also moved to the other side of the world away from most of the people he knows. Expecting someone to stroll into a team under those circumstances is moronic, as evidenced by the number of guys who have crashed and burned in the last couple of years after being thrown in at the deep end.

Two full years is a fairly minimal timeframe for a player for a player to adjust to an entirely new sport and way of life if you're looking for a sensible approach that gives a guy a chance at longevity and doesn't just chew them up for a few games, or even a couple of seasons, before spitting them back to where they came from.

This lad owes me an apology.
I called it from the get go.
If Tommy comes home now he still has time to win 5 or 6 All-Ireland medals.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 22, 2014, 04:25:11 PM
id love to see Tommy Walsh come back from Oz and play for Kerry

what a player he was.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 25, 2014, 12:36:25 AM
Met him in Dingle at the Wran last December...I asked him straight out and he didn't say no about coming home. It's the lads own decision...imagine a full forward line picked from him , Gooch, Geaney, Star and Donoghue. Just a wee insight...he's best buddies with David Moran and after seeing him excelling this year he might say...I can do that .....again.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on September 25, 2014, 01:44:32 AM
The only luck Tommy had in his AFL career was bad luck.

His first couple of years at St Kilda were his formation years, and this article from May 2012 shows how far he came and how excited they were in him (Pearce Hanley moved over in 2007 and played 3 games before the 2010 season)

http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/saints-can-only-wonder-what-might-have-been-20120525-1za30.html (http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/saints-can-only-wonder-what-might-have-been-20120525-1za30.html)

Swans were struggling with a few injuries at the start of the 2013 season and he got his chance, but tore his hamstring off the bone and was out until making his return in the reserves halfway through the season. By the time he had returned, Swans had the best big forwards in the game in Franklin, Tippett and Goodes.
Post by: Keane on September 25, 2014, 04:10:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 22, 2014, 03:23:11 PM
Quote from: Keane on May 22, 2012, 11:02:28 AM

This lad owes me an apology.
I called it from the get go.
If Tommy comes home now he still has time to win 5 or 6 All-Ireland medals.

If that's the standard of logic you're happy to apply to the five year saga then I most certainly apologise wholeheartedly for attempting to engage with the thread.
Post by: Jinxy on September 25, 2014, 04:11:27 PM
I accept your apology.
Post by: Keane on September 25, 2014, 04:50:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 25, 2014, 04:11:27 PM
I accept your apology.

Ha, good man. I actually read the thread back when it was bumped and was surprised my original post was so OTT. I must have been trying to give up the smokes at the time!

He's odds on to come home now anyway, it will make for a tough front eight to get into in Kerry.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 25, 2014, 06:33:25 PM
Quote from: Keane on September 25, 2014, 04:50:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 25, 2014, 04:11:27 PM
I accept your apology.

Ha, good man. I actually read the thread back when it was bumped and was surprised my original post was so OTT. I must have been trying to give up the smokes at the time!

He's odds on to come home now anyway, it will make for a tough front eight to get into in Kerry.

Potentially 3 Narries amongst them..about time ye started pulling ye're weight.  :P
Post by: BennyHarp on September 25, 2014, 08:12:24 PM
I always thought Tommy Walsh was a bit over hyped back in 2008/9 and wasn't convinced that he was really top drawer. By next year it will be 6/7 years and a raft of fairly serious injuries later and I would be a surprised if he is a major addition to that Kerry team. If I was a Kerry fan, I'd be more interested in integrating players from the AI winning minor squad than harping back to a lad who has hardly kicked a Gaelic ball in anger in a long time.
Post by: Thy Kingdom Come on September 25, 2014, 08:42:58 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 25, 2014, 08:12:24 PM
I always thought Tommy Walsh was a bit over hyped back in 2008/9 and wasn't convinced that he was really top drawer. By next year it will be 6/7 years and a raft of fairly serious injuries later and I would be a surprised if he is a major addition to that Kerry team. If I was a Kerry fan, I'd be more interested in integrating players from the AI winning minor squad than harping back to a lad who has hardly kicked a Gaelic ball in anger in a long time.

Wishful thinking by some of our contributors. Kennelly coped after a very long break from Football. Can't see it being much different for Walsh.
Post by: bcarrier on September 25, 2014, 10:10:24 PM
Tommy Walsh absolutely out of top drawer. If he is over injury and gets the same protection / blind eye to hand off as say that big rhino from Donegal  he will create chaos next year.
Post by: Dont Matter on September 25, 2014, 10:24:59 PM
If Walsh came back for Kerry, Hanley for Mayo and Touhy for Laois there'd be three beasts on the loose on the GAA pitches of Ireland.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 25, 2014, 11:15:33 PM

Ah c'mon Benny, you have to be joking? He was tearing it up in the 2008 and 2009 championship...and that was as a 20/21 year old. He kicked 4 savage points from play off Allstar Michael Shields in the 2009 final.

A couple of months kicking practice with an O'Neills and he'll be grand if/when he returns. Only 26 so good few years left in him aswell.
He has got a lot leaner and faster in Australia, but hasn't lost the trademark power.
Post by: rodney trotter on September 25, 2014, 11:35:00 PM
It was surprising David Moran wasn't offered a rookie deal when he went to St Kilda in 09 along with Walsh.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 25, 2014, 11:42:25 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 25, 2014, 11:15:33 PM

Ah c'mon Benny, you have to be joking? He was tearing it up in the 2008 and 2009 championship...and that was as a 20/21 year old. He kicked 4 savage points from play off Allstar Michael Shields in the 2009 final.

A couple of months kicking practice with an O'Neills and he'll be grand if/when he returns. Only 26 so good few years left in him aswell.
He has got a lot leaner and faster in Australia, but hasn't lost the trademark power.

Ok fair enough, but in 2008 his highest return was 1-2 in the semi final v Cork and a poor showing in the final v Tyrone suggested a bit of hyperbole about the Twin Towers. But he was young and would learn from it. In 2009 he got 1 point across the two games in the Munster semi v Cork, 0-1 v Sligo in the qualifiers, (ok 1-2 v Antrim is impressive in the next round). In the Qtr final v Dublin he failed to register as Kerry kicked 1-24. Yes 1-2 in the semi final and 0-4 in a fairly dominant victory against Cork in the final was better but taking his tallies over the 2 years  it is hardly the scoring return of a man who was tearing it up. Don't get me wrong, he was a decent player and possibly would have emerged as a serious talent but he's walked away from the game for nearly 7 years and in the meantime picked up a serious injury - I wonder how you work out that he is now faster? All my point was that I never fully was convinced that he was top drawer (at the time - but he had potential) and would prefer to be blooding some of that excellent minor team than looking back at players who had been out of the game for so long. People are expecting him to come back and pick up where he left off and continue his progression into the player everyone wanted him to become. I just think it may not be quite so easy. But sorry, I should know by now that not agreeing that all Kerry players are superstars is frowned upon.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 26, 2014, 02:45:29 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 25, 2014, 11:42:25 PM

Ok fair enough, but in 2008 his highest return was 1-2 in the semi final v Cork and a poor showing in the final v Tyrone suggested a bit of hyperbole about the Twin Towers. But he was young and would learn from it. In 2009 he got 1 point across the two games in the Munster semi v Cork, 0-1 v Sligo in the qualifiers, (ok 1-2 v Antrim is impressive in the next round). In the Qtr final v Dublin he failed to register as Kerry kicked 1-24. Yes 1-2 in the semi final and 0-4 in a fairly dominant victory against Cork in the final was better but taking his tallies over the 2 years  it is hardly the scoring return of a man who was tearing it up. Don't get me wrong, he was a decent player and possibly would have emerged as a serious talent but he's walked away from the game for nearly 7 years and in the meantime picked up a serious injury - I wonder how you work out that he is now faster? All my point was that I never fully was convinced that he was top drawer (at the time - but he had potential) and would prefer to be blooding some of that excellent minor team than looking back at players who had been out of the game for so long. People are expecting him to come back and pick up where he left off and continue his progression into the player everyone wanted him to become. I just think it may not be quite so easy. But sorry, I should know by now that not agreeing that all Kerry players are superstars is frowned upon.

Tommy was not a "superstar" before he left (although he could have become one) and is certainly not one right now in any code. No idea why you are getting so ratty about it.
You go through a number of stats there, quoting scores...ignoring the fact that Walsh came out the field quite a bit and played around the middle or half forward line earlier in the championship. He played all his football up to minor at midfield and he may well play deeper IF he gets to play county football again.
I say he is faster now, because I have seen him up close, but more pertinently because the hard data from his speed testing indicates he has got faster since 2009/10. He lost around 8kgs from his 2009 "championship" weight which is a factor.
Anyway, hopefully we get to see him at home and in green and gold soon.
Post by: Keane on September 26, 2014, 03:51:26 PM

Wasn't it a "raft" of serious injuries a while ago? Has the raft gone missing in the course of your googling for "points from play" statistics?
Post by: J OGorman on September 26, 2014, 04:16:12 PM
Walsh is a top player and will benefit Kerry's championship next year big time. Is he still rocking the Drago do?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 26, 2014, 04:23:16 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 26, 2014, 04:16:12 PM
Walsh is a top player and will benefit Kerry's championship next year big time. Is he still rocking the Drago do?

(http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/SydneySwans/Player%20Profiles/2014%20Profiles/WALSH%20Tommy.png)

Google is amazing,  even for lazy arsed feckers like you!!!!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 26, 2014, 04:34:26 PM
He will fit in well to our revolutionary new defensive set up.

The gold embroidered blanket is a great addition to Gaelic football wouldn't you say ?
Post by: BennyHarp on September 26, 2014, 06:02:05 PM
Quote from: Keane on September 26, 2014, 03:51:26 PM

Wasn't it a "raft" of serious injuries a while ago? Has the raft gone missing in the course of your googling for "points from play" statistics?

Hardly the main point. Of course I googled his scoring exploits - do you know what every player scored in the championship 6/7 years ago?? The reason being that i didn't remember him being this player who tore up defensives in 08/09 so I checked the figures to back up my argument, and they do - so is there a problem with finding some evidence to back up your point, or should we all be from the Kerry / Spillane school of analysis were we just say what comes into our heads and stereo type everyone? No doubt we'll see the hard data on sprinting speed to back up arguments as well??

Ultimately I just don't think he will add much to the Kerry team and long term the current minor crop would be a better bet to work with. I could be wrong! In actual fact I thought I was being complementary of state of Kerry football and not at all "ratty" as accused by another poster. But you's are sensitive souls and I understand this is heightened as you are just coming to terms with the new sewer football that you now play.
Post by: mlcollins on September 26, 2014, 06:20:15 PM
You say he will not add much to the Kerry set up, you are obviously a graduate from the joe brolly school of cognitive analysis  ;)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 26, 2014, 06:35:09 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 26, 2014, 06:02:05 PM
But you's are sensitive souls and I understand this is heightened as you are just coming to terms with the new sewer football that you now play.

It's very funny to watch Brolly try to come up with a label like "vomit" or  "sewer" football and Nordies like you trying to make it stick. It's obvious that it is a retaliation for the "puke football" jibe that you have never lived down.Even your banter is manufactured and forced just like your football  :D

Post by: BennyHarp on September 26, 2014, 06:37:09 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 26, 2014, 06:35:09 PM
But you's are sensitive souls and I understand this is heightened as you are just coming to terms with the new sewer football that you now play.

It's very funny to watch Brolly try to come up with a label like "sewer" football and Nordies like you trying to make it stick. It's obvious that it is a retaliation for the "puke football" jibe that you have never lived down.Even your banter is manufactured and forced just like your football  :D

Did Brolly say that? I don't watch the Sunday Game
Post by: orangeman on September 26, 2014, 06:39:37 PM
I wouldn't mind Walsh lining out for my team. He was a serious player before he left. It'll be interesting to see how he fits in again to the mostly running game that exists now although the long ball served Kerry well at the business end.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 26, 2014, 06:41:29 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 26, 2014, 06:37:09 PM

It's very funny to watch Brolly try to come up with a label like "sewer" football and Nordies like you trying to make it stick. It's obvious that it is a retaliation for the "puke football" jibe that you have never lived down.Even your banter is manufactured and forced just like your football  :D

I corrected it for you  ;) he said "vomit" in some article,  which is even less original than sewer!
Post by: bcarrier on September 26, 2014, 08:21:12 PM
True Gaels dont need google to know Kerry player stats are available from 1928 at http://terracetalk.com/kerry-football/clubs/

It's is a brilliant archive unmatched by any other county and reflects "religion" status of football in the kingdom.

The rest of us can only aspire to their level of devotion.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 26, 2014, 08:52:51 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on September 26, 2014, 08:21:12 PM
True Gaels dont need google to know Kerry player stats are available from 1928 at http://terracetalk.com/kerry-football/clubs/

It's is a brilliant archive unmatched by any other county and reflects "religion" status of football in the kingdom.

The rest of us can only aspire to their level of devotion.

+1. Also if you have any interest in Kerry football at all you could do worse than get your hands on Niall Flynn's book "36 and counting". Superb piece of work with the cover pic by one of our own Kerry Mike. http://www.amazon.com/Counting-Kerrys-Football-Story-2009/dp/1426920695
Niall is California based and has been known to contribute on here. It really is a bible of Kerry football. Looks like you're gonna need to update it the way things are going Niall!
Post by: omagh_gael on September 27, 2014, 12:13:08 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 28, 2012, 11:54:49 PM

Hah!

Reading back through this thread and came across this beauty, Mike. Is the bit in bold still relevant after the Kingdom's game plan on Sunday?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 27, 2014, 12:31:06 AM

Oh dear, omagh_gael! :)

That, and the fact it was a 'Kerry' man with more than a smidgen of Tír Eoghain blood 'what won it for 'em guv'! :D

Spare a thought for the even more demented demented, and the dementedness they must be dementedingly suffering right now. :)
Post by: BennyHarp on September 27, 2014, 07:14:57 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 26, 2014, 06:41:29 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 26, 2014, 06:37:09 PM

I corrected it for you  ;) he said "vomit" in some article,  which is even less original than sewer!

Apology accepted!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 27, 2014, 11:26:57 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on September 27, 2014, 12:13:08 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 28, 2012, 11:54:49 PM

Hah!

Reading back through this thread and came across this beauty, Mike. Is the bit in bold still relevant after the Kingdom's game plan on Sunday?

Did you see Peter Crowleys block down ? Marc O'Se's classic "hand in" dispossession of McFadden (multiple times). That is what ultimately beat Donegal. True Kerry traditional defending. Adding the odd tactic and a bit of the auld dreaded "shape" to defence is neither here nor there.

The thing about you nordies is that you basically want us to play with one hand tied behind our backs. Those days are over.
We are competing on a level playing field now and judging by all the gurning and gnashing of teeth you lads don't like it one little bit. You are all like mini-Brollys sniping away.

I'm loving it. Keep at it  ;D

Post by: rrhf on September 27, 2014, 11:30:09 PM
I think Kerry football and their cheer leaders have grown up and realised that all Ireland's are won tough. If Kerry are cynical hoors then they ca now accept thatcriticism but their days of aloofness are over. What a pity we can't have them in the ulster championship
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 27, 2014, 11:34:42 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 27, 2014, 11:30:09 PM
I think Kerry football and their cheer leaders have grown up and realised that all Ireland's are won tough. If Kerry are cynical hoors then they ca now accept thatcriticism but their days of aloofness are over. What a pity we can't have them in the ulster championship

Nah, they are quite easy to win really...for us anyway. Sure we have 37 of them.

We'd walk Ulster.

Shite province.
Post by: rrhf on September 27, 2014, 11:37:42 PM
I think the days of Spillane and co.  The emperor is fully clothed sur are over. I'm just saying welcome to real football. It's a compliment.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 27, 2014, 11:49:05 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 27, 2014, 11:34:42 PM

Nah, they are quite easy to win really...for us anyway. Sure we have 37 of them.

We'd walk Ulster.

Shite province.

Damn right they were easy won! I'm glad this is finally recognised, when for 100 odd years you only had to roll over the tripe in Munster to set up an AI semi final appearance. The big question in Kerry should be why they only have 37 AI titles given the fact that they had so many Munster titles handed to them?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 12:02:16 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 27, 2014, 11:49:05 PM

We'd walk Ulster.

Shite province.

Damn right they were easy won! I'm glad this is finally recognised, when for 100 odd years you only had to roll over the tripe in Munster to set up an AI semi final appearance. The big question in Kerry should be why they only have 37 AI titles given the fact that they had so many Munster titles handed to them?

Sure, Tipperary have more All-Irelands than Tyrone. Football didn't start in 2003 you know.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 12:08:21 AM
Quote from: rrhf on September 27, 2014, 11:37:42 PM
I think the days of Spillane and co.  The emperor is fully clothed sur are over. I'm just saying welcome to real football. It's a compliment.

Just back from the pub eh ?
Post by: BennyHarp on September 28, 2014, 12:31:21 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 12:02:16 AM

We'd walk Ulster.

Shite province.

Sure, Tipperary have more All-Irelands than Tyrone. Football didn't start in 2003 you know.

Exactly, even they could negotiate through Munster easily enough to have a rattle at a few All Ireland's. I agree though, football didn't start in 2003 but if you are harping back to 1920 when Munster was competitive as Tipp were in their pomp, then it doesn't really help your argument.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 01:07:22 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 28, 2014, 12:31:21 AM

We'd walk Ulster.

Shite province.

Exactly, even they could negotiate through Munster easily enough to have a rattle at a few All Ireland's.

Ah..the auld easy provincial path argument

Ulster:
"GAA" Population: ~1.1 million
No. of Semi-final appearances: ~130
No. of AI wins: 17

Kerry:
population: 145,502
No. of semi-final appearances: ~76
No, AI wins: 37

so with half the opportunities we've won more than twice as many AI as the entire province of Ulster !

I think that puts that argument to bed  ;)

Post by: BennyHarp on September 28, 2014, 07:38:10 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 01:07:22 AM

We'd walk Ulster.

Shite province.

Exactly, even they could negotiate through Munster easily enough to have a rattle at a few All Ireland's.

Ulster:

Kerry:

so with half the opportunities we've won more than twice as many AI as the entire province of Ulster !

That's a poor argument even by your standards Mike. Just because one Ulster team makes it through to an AI semi that experience doesn't help another. If Kerry know they are virtually in an AI semi every year they just have to peak for August / September. An Ulster team has to peak for the first round.
Post by: JimStynes on September 28, 2014, 01:51:33 PM
Didn't the O'Se lads say recently that they wouldnt have won as many all irelands if they had to go through the Ulster competition first?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 02:27:35 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on September 28, 2014, 01:51:33 PM
Didn't the O'Se lads say recently that they wouldnt have won as many all irelands if they had to go through the Ulster competition first?

We understand you far better than you understand us. We know that despite all that has gone on between Kerry and Ulster that you still look up to us and crave our approval. Being a polite and humble lot we have no problem telling you what you want to hear every now and then.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 02:44:50 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 28, 2014, 07:38:10 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 01:07:22 AM

We'd walk Ulster.

Shite province.

Ulster:

Kerry:

That's a poor argument even by your standards Mike. Just because one Ulster team makes it through to an AI semi that experience doesn't help another. If Kerry know they are virtually in an AI semi every year they just have to peak for August / September. An Ulster team has to peak for the first round.

Traditionally, we have peaked for Cork far more than the semi-final.If Cork played in Ulster they'd probably have a lot more AI. In fact they probably would have matched Ulsters current total of 17 given they would have been guaranteed a semi-final every year. 

Post by: JimStynes on September 28, 2014, 02:54:53 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/tomas-o-se-we-never-beat-tyrone-when-it-really-mattered-30278802.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/tomas-o-se-we-never-beat-tyrone-when-it-really-mattered-30278802.html)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 03:10:03 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on September 28, 2014, 02:54:53 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/tomas-o-se-we-never-beat-tyrone-when-it-really-mattered-30278802.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/tomas-o-se-we-never-beat-tyrone-when-it-really-mattered-30278802.html)

Like I said, he is just telling you what you want to hear. The fact that he is selling newspapers also comes into play. the O'Se's are very cute in that respect  ;)

We reserve our real respect for counties that produce true greats of the game like Matt Connor ,Dermot Early, Jimmy Barry Murphy, Ciaran McDonald,Darren Fay, Bernard Brogan etc.. Ulster never produce those kind of players. I've often wondered why that is so. It is quite puzzling really.

Why is natural talent so frowned on in Ulster ?
Post by: JimStynes on September 30, 2014, 12:29:21 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 28, 2014, 03:10:03 PM

Like I said, he is just telling you what you want to hear. The fact that he is selling newspapers also comes into play. the O'Se's are very cute in that respect  ;)

We reserve our real respect for counties that produce true greats of the game like Matt Connor ,Dermot Early, Jimmy Barry Murphy, Ciaran McDonald,Darren Fay, Bernard Brogan etc.. Ulster never produce those kind of players. I've often wondered why that is so. It is quite puzzling really.

We are too busy attending anti Israel protests to practise our skills.
Post by: Man Marker on September 30, 2014, 12:37:27 PM
Ok, I'll bite, you don't view Canavan, Mc Guigan, Canavagh, Tohill, Scullion, Linden, Murphy, Mc Conville, Mc Hugh as natural footballers?
Post by: tonto1888 on September 30, 2014, 12:38:38 PM

Oisin McConville? Stevie McDonnell? Peter Canavan?
Post by: Rossfan on September 30, 2014, 12:40:17 PM
I suspect anyone on a team that bet Kerry are wiped from Sheehy's memory  ;D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 01:10:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 30, 2014, 12:40:17 PM
I suspect anyone on a team that bet Kerry are wiped from Sheehy's memory  ;D

Its been a good year for Roscommon. Look at ye with ye're big shiny new bus ...
(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/photo-4.jpg)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 01:22:01 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on September 30, 2014, 12:29:21 PM

We are too busy attending anti Israel protests to practise our skills.

Did you and your Jihadi mates face the flag or mecca during the National anthem ?

Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 01:32:01 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on September 30, 2014, 12:37:27 PM
Ok, I'll bite, you don't view Canavan, Mc Guigan, Canavagh, Tohill, Scullion, Linden, Murphy, Mc Conville, Mc Hugh as natural footballers?

They MIGHT have been good footballers but it is impossible to tell when they are sacrificed to the system.

Michael Murphy is a great player but he has ended up playing corner back at times ffs. It is ridiculous.

You lads will be thanking us in the years to come because we have , essentially, saved football again. By beating the
system at it's most negative we have now forced Ulster "tae think again" as the song goes. You will have to do more than simply trying to stop the other team playing.

Of course, Ulster may respond by going even more negative. Not sure how that is possible but if anyone can find a more negative way it is Ulster  ::) Hopefully that won't happen  as it will be a tragedy for any decent footballers in the province.
Post by: J OGorman on September 30, 2014, 01:37:49 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 01:32:01 PM

They MIGHT have been good footballers but it is impossible to tell when they are sacrificed to the system.

Michael Murphy is a great player but he has ended up playing corner back at times ffs. It is ridiculous.

You lads will be thanking us in the years to come because we have , essentially, saved football again. By beating the
system at it's most negative we have now forced Ulster "tae think again" as the song goes. You will have to do more than simply trying to stop the other team playing.

Of course, Ulster may respond by going even more negative. Not sure how that is possible but if anyone can find a more negative way it is Ulster  ::) Hopefully that won't happen  as it will be a tragedy for any decent footballers in the province.

you'd near put a man off the Kingdom
Post by: imtommygunn on September 30, 2014, 01:42:09 PM

What systems did you disapprove off in the 90s??

Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 30, 2014, 01:50:09 PM
How did this turn into such an abortion of a thread? :(

Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 01:53:54 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 30, 2014, 01:50:09 PM

Baiscally it started to go wrong about here

Typical begrudging Nordie having a go at our Tommy.

Then when they get it back they start crying about it.

These Nordies just don't like it up 'em
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 01:56:27 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 30, 2014, 01:42:09 PM

The early 90's was more about the very poor standard rather than systems as such. The likes of Brolly , for example, was completely overrated on the basis of a soft All-Ireland.
Post by: foxcommander on September 30, 2014, 02:39:46 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 01:56:27 PM

The early 90's was more about the very poor standard rather than systems as such. The likes of Brolly , for example, was completely overrated on the basis of a soft All-Ireland.

Yep, the Down, Derry and Donegal teams in the early 90's were pansies.  ::)
Easy all-Irelands in those days. Didn't even have to go through a back door or nothing.

Funnily enough Kerry disappeared in those years.
Post by: J OGorman on September 30, 2014, 02:45:38 PM

the board has officially been taken over with the inane trollish rants of gobeens like Sheehy. Polluted and pretty much not worth it. Pity
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 03:18:37 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on September 30, 2014, 02:39:46 PM

Easy all-Irelands in those days. Didn't even have to go through a back door or nothing.

That's why they were soft All Irelands.

Do try and keep up.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 03:38:20 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 30, 2014, 02:45:38 PM

the board has officially been taken over with the inane trollish rants of gobeens like Sheehy. Polluted and pretty much not worth it. Pity

What ? Just because I criticized Joe Brolly...? You Derry lads are super sensitive.
Brolly has been "trolling" Kerry for years so he deserves it.
Post by: screenexile on September 30, 2014, 03:57:38 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 03:38:20 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 30, 2014, 02:45:38 PM

What ? Just because I criticized Joe Brolly...? You Derry lads are super sensitive.
Brolly has been "trolling" Kerry for years so he deserves it.

Nothing to do with Brolly... I agree he was over-rated. Soft All Ireland? I don't think so we beat the 3 years previous All Ireland Champions on our way to that victory as well as a Dublin Team who won it 2 years after!!!
Post by: BennyHarp on September 30, 2014, 05:02:54 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 01:53:54 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 30, 2014, 01:50:09 PM

Baiscally it started to go wrong about here

Typical begrudging Nordie having a go at our Tommy.

Then when they get it back they start crying about it.

These Nordies just don't like it up 'em

Someone dared suggest that Tommy just may not be absolutely brilliant and that was enough to light old Mikey's fuse. His anti Nordies rant keep me amused such is the despair, regarding 02, 03, 05 and 08, that still rages inside. It's even funnier now that his county has adopted our so called system.
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 30, 2014, 05:11:12 PM
why believe he's even from Kerry? he's the deputy troll on gaaboard after Fearon and not to be taken seriously
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 05:41:34 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 30, 2014, 05:02:54 PM
regarding 02, 03, 05 and 08, .

In fairness, Armagh would not have been as negative as your shower. At least they made an attempt to play football( as primitive as it was). It is also gas to see a Tyrone man claiming Armagh's title.
Post by: BennyHarp on September 30, 2014, 06:29:03 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 05:41:34 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 30, 2014, 05:02:54 PM
regarding 02, 03, 05 and 08, .

In fairness, Armagh would not have been as negative as your shower. At least they made an attempt to play football( as primitive as it was). It is also gas to see a Tyrone man claiming Armagh's title.

You were the one who bought the whole of Ulster in to the discussion with your crazy stats, so I thought I'd humour you. Primitive as the football may have been in your eyes Mikey - you may as well get used to it, it's here to stay in the Kingdom.
Post by: Keane on October 01, 2014, 10:36:53 AM
Confirmed he's coming back:

http://livegaelic.com/news/tommy-walsh-confirms-return-home-oz/
Post by: orangeman on October 01, 2014, 10:37:48 AM
Tommy's coming home.

Where did that 5 years go to ?. Tadgh came home and got his medal in double quick time. Tommy will be hoping to do the same.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tommy-walsh-confirms-hes-quitting-sydney-swans-to-return-to-allireland-champions-kerry-30628997.html
Post by: Jinxy on October 01, 2014, 10:51:27 AM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45038000/jpg/_45038281_mcmahon.jpg)

Joe McMahon will be happy.
Post by: OakleafCounty on October 01, 2014, 11:27:59 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 01, 2014, 10:51:27 AM

That picture sums up how Tyrone played at that time. Thugs.
Post by: Keane on October 01, 2014, 11:35:12 AM
That's a pretty bad picture but tbf Tommy and Joe have both said since they've had a laugh about it and don't view it badly.
Post by: Max Payne on October 01, 2014, 05:50:33 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on October 01, 2014, 11:27:59 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 01, 2014, 10:51:27 AM

That picture sums up how Tyrone played at that time. Thugs.

Think I remember Joe Mc saying that he only reacted here cos Walsh was winding him up
Post by: blanketattack on October 01, 2014, 05:51:44 PM
Tommy was only a small boy of 19 or 20 at the time of that photo. He's grown up big since then.
Post by: moysider on October 01, 2014, 08:12:07 PM
Quote from: Keane on October 01, 2014, 11:35:12 AM
That's a pretty bad picture but tbf Tommy and Joe have both said since they've had a laugh about it and don't view it badly.

They would say that wouldn t they?
Post by: foxcommander on October 02, 2014, 05:25:43 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 30, 2014, 03:18:37 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on September 30, 2014, 02:39:46 PM

That's why they were soft All Irelands.

Do try and keep up.

You were trying to keep up with Cork giving you savage beatings if I recall correctly. And Clare.... LOL
Post by: BennyHarp on August 03, 2015, 08:43:12 AM
So how is Tommy Walsh getting on his first season back? I dared suggest on here that he may possibly not have a huge impact on the Kerry team on his return and got shouted out of town. I realise there's still a few games left to get involved. I know he got a run yesterday but how likely is he to force his way into that Kerry forward line?
Post by: Sidney on August 03, 2015, 12:29:48 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 03, 2015, 08:43:12 AM
So how is Tommy Walsh getting on his first season back? I dared suggest on here that he may possibly not have a huge impact on the Kerry team on his return and got shouted out of town. I realise there's still a few games left to get involved. I know he got a run yesterday but how likely is he to force his way into that Kerry forward line?
He's done fook all.

That's meant as a personal insult to him, his family, his friends, Kerry GAA (football only obviously, they don't play hurling in Kerry) and all Kerry supporters, by the way.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 03, 2015, 12:39:59 PM

The thing is that Kerry haven't really needed him all that much this year with Moran and Maher at midfield and Donaghy in full-forward. However he is younger than all these so I wouldnt be surprised if he makes more of an impact next year and beyond (especially as Donaghy is odds on to retire at the end of this year)

He has definitely improved based on the brief glimpse we got yesterday. I can't help thinking he'd probably have got a lot more game time if he was in a county with a weaker team or played in different positions, given how well stocked Kerry are at midfield and in the forwards. There was one league game he got some minutes earlier on in the year and I thought he looked seriously rusty - seemed unsure where to move and the ball hopped off him once of twice.It would be interesting to go through all the lads who have come back from Oz and see how long it took them to get back to match sharpness. In Walsh's case I don't think he had actually played a game of proper football in 5 years. Anyone know if he has played much club football?
Post by: macdanger2 on August 03, 2015, 12:52:24 PM
With maybe two big games to come, he could make an impact yet....
Post by: Rois on August 03, 2015, 01:09:42 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on August 03, 2015, 12:39:59 PM

The thing is that Kerry haven't really needed him all that much this year with Moran and Maher at midfield and Donaghy in full-forward. However he is younger than all these so I wouldnt be surprised if he makes more of an impact next year and beyond (especially as Donaghy is odds on to retire at the end of this year)

Think David Moran is younger by a matter of months. 
Post by: twohands!!! on August 03, 2015, 01:47:32 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 03, 2015, 01:09:42 PM

Think David Moran is younger by a matter of months.

Yeah might be right there.
My main point is that I really wouldn't be writing off Tommy Walsh with Kerry yet.
I could see him being a very important player for them for a good couple of years yet.
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2015, 01:51:31 PM

He has definitely improved based on the brief glimpse we got yesterday. I can't help thinking he'd probably have got a lot more game time if he was in a county with a weaker team or played in different positions, given how well stocked Kerry are at midfield and in the forwards. There was one league game he got some minutes earlier on in the year and I thought he looked seriously rusty - seemed unsure where to move and the ball hopped off him once of twice.It would be interesting to go through all the lads who have come back from Oz and see how long it took them to get back to match sharpness. In Walsh's case I don't think he had actually played a game of proper football in 5 years. Anyone know if he has played much club football?

Walsh is older than Moran!? They were on the same minor team. On Googling it, Walsh is four months older than Moran.
Post by: ballinaman on April 28, 2016, 01:14:31 PM
Tommy Walsh to quit Kerry panel over lack of game time - reports
http://the42.ie/2740164
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 28, 2016, 01:21:25 PM
There's a vacant house in Straffan #justsaying
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 28, 2016, 01:45:56 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 28, 2016, 01:21:25 PM
There's a vacant house in Straffan #justsaying
Does he play hurling??
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 08:17:40 PM
I heard a little off hand comment from Parkinson on the radio about having a draft system for players who are not wanted by the stronger counties. I think he might be on to something especially if centrally funded pay for play ever happens.

My proposal is that each county is required to name a panel of something like 40 players  from their own county. Anyone not selected is then entitled to put themselves forward for a national draft in which division 4 teams can have 3 outside players, division 3 can have 2 picks and 1 for division 2 teams. Players putting themselves up for the draft can indicate their preferred regions to prevent Antrim taking Kerry players.
Just a thought, and could help alleviate any future Seanie Johnston incidences.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 28, 2016, 08:38:03 PM
Why was he not getting gametime? I saw him briefly early on when he was back and he did not look sharp at all. Has he not improved?

If he played like he did before he went away he'd have been a starter but he mustn't have reached the same heights.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 28, 2016, 08:40:24 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 08:17:40 PM
I heard a little off hand comment from Parkinson on the radio about having a draft system for players who are not wanted by the stronger counties. I think he might be on to something especially if centrally funded pay for play ever happens.

My proposal is that each county is required to name a panel of something like 40 players  from their own county. Anyone not selected is then entitled to put themselves forward for a national draft in which division 4 teams can have 3 outside players, division 3 can have 2 picks and 1 for division 2 teams. Players putting themselves up for the draft can indicate their preferred regions to prevent Antrim taking Kerry players.
Just a thought, and could help alleviate any future Seanie Johnston incidences.

Look there is an example of Good players being in New York and playing there, but not going forward to Play in the Connacht Championship for New York. Players of that level see it as below them to play for New York.

Do you think that Tommy Walsh would see it as below him to play for a Division 4 team? Would it be more attractive than sitting on the Kerry subs bench?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 08:59:37 PM
Not necessarily Tommy Walsh but there are surely a good amount of talented footballers from the likes of Kerry and Dublin who have no opportunity of playing inter-county football even though they have the talent. I propose that as soon as they are deemed unwanted by their home county they should have the option of putting themselves forward to the draft and given the opportunity of representing another county while giving weaker counties a boost.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 28, 2016, 09:04:18 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 08:59:37 PM
Not necessarily Tommy Walsh but there are surely a good amount of talented footballers from the likes of Kerry and Dublin who have no opportunity of playing inter-county football even though they have the talent. I propose that as soon as they are deemed unwanted by their home county they should have the option of putting themselves forward to the draft and given the opportunity of representing another county while giving weaker counties a boost.

Once again there is a snobbery there! Who would tog out for Carlow when talented players from their own county won't bother?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 09:07:20 PM
True enough but by making themselves available for the draft they would be demonstrating their willingness to slog it out for the likes of Carlow. Maybe their Hunger could become contagious.
A draft combine would be a bit of fun too.
Post by: Beffs on April 28, 2016, 09:17:29 PM
I'm sorry, but this draft idea is daft. I want lads from my county, playing for my county. I don't want a bunch of imports and mercenaries. And there would be mercenaries. You'd have players from non successful counties deliberately "falling out with their managers", getting dropped from the panel and hey presto, they reappear a year later, with another county. Lord knows what "inducements" would be offered to make that all happen. There would just be too much scope for abuse all around.
Post by: snoopdog on April 28, 2016, 09:25:36 PM
Another great footballer who has come back from aus sie rules a broken man. The GAA need quality like Tommy Walsh and marty Clarke playing at the highest level.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 28, 2016, 09:32:44 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 09:07:20 PM
True enough but by making themselves available for the draft they would be demonstrating their willingness to slog it out for the likes of Carlow. Maybe their Hunger could become contagious.
A draft combine would be a bit of fun too.

Then you have the nightmare Scenario. You are Longford, you blood a Dublin born player at 20/21 into championship for 2 to 3 years. He improves each year (holding down the place of a local Longford lad whose progress has halted and probably leaves disillusioned). Dublin see that this player is of a fine standard and approach him. He returns to Dublin fold a developed intercounty player. Meanwhile Longford are left having to replace this player with a player with less experience.

This would make the strong stronger and the weak weaker!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 09:42:47 PM
Good point, make it a prerequisite that after signing up to the draft that you can no longer tog out for the county of your birth ( maybe for 5 years or so) although this will reduce the standard of players available.

I am aware this is a silly idea but in the future if players are going to be remunerated and funded centrally there will need to be a mechanism to give all players an opportunity to make a living from the game regardless of where they are born. Otherwise there would be a free for all.

Back on topic though I wonder has there been a falling out as surely he would have been capable of doing a similar job  to what Donaghy has done this season in midfield.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 28, 2016, 09:56:38 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 09:42:47 PM
Good point, make it a prerequisite that after signing up to the draft that you can no longer tog out for the county of your birth ( maybe for 5 years or so) although this will reduce the standard of players available.

I am aware this is a silly idea but in the future if players are going to be remunerated and funded centrally there will need to be a mechanism to give all players an opportunity to make a living from the game regardless of where they are born. Otherwise there would be a free for all.

Back on topic though I wonder has there been a falling out as surely he would have been capable of doing a similar job  to what Donaghy has done this season in midfield.

He suffered a serious injury in Auz. Walsh tore the hamstring off his bone while in action for the Sydney Swans against Essendon and missed the remainder of that season along with the next year's pre-season campaign. He must have been crocked for Sydney to let him go?

check out from 0:50!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bL8gwQIRPHI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bL8gwQIRPHI)

Post by: Syferus on April 28, 2016, 09:59:24 PM
He was always in Donie Shine's shadow after that 2006 minor final anyways.
Post by: Jinxy on April 28, 2016, 10:01:07 PM
Yeah, we heard you the first time.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 10:04:44 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 28, 2016, 09:56:38 PM

He suffered a serious injury in Auz. Walsh tore the hamstring off his bone while in action for the Sydney Swans against Essendon and missed the remainder of that season along with the next year's pre-season campaign. He must have been crocked for Sydney to let him go?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bL8gwQIRPHI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bL8gwQIRPHI)

He never will be the same again after that but from what I've seen of him he has maintained some pace and footballing ability. Even if has stamina issues he would still be a good impact sub to have.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 10:10:39 PM

Tearing the hamstring off the bone is an injury closely associated with steroids. I believe Kevin Dyas did the same during his tenure in the AFL. Addison's disease is also closely linked with steroid abuse, which is what Marty Clarke suffers from.

I think it is a reasonable assumption that steroid abuse in the AFL is systematic and accepted across all the teams, how much the players actually are aware of it is another matter.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 28, 2016, 10:35:26 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 10:10:39 PM

Tearing the hamstring off the bone is an injury closely associated with steroids. I believe Kevin Dyas did the same during his tenure in the AFL. Addison's disease is also closely linked with steroid abuse, which is what Marty Clarke suffers from.

I think it is a reasonable assumption that steroid abuse in the AFL is systematic and accepted across all the teams, how much the players actually are aware of it is another matter.

Thats a serious accusation and I think you would be in trouble putting stuff like that on a public forum. If you had any sense you would remove that post. You're basically accusing 3 high profile GAA stars of using steroids. Cop on ffs.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on April 28, 2016, 10:39:22 PM

You are an arsehole!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 28, 2016, 10:41:13 PM
It is a terrible insinuation to make to be fair but there has to be some recognition that players who come back from Australia are at a higher risk of having doped given the terrible doping culture that exists in that sport, same goes for players on the fringes of professional rugby.
He was an incredible athlete when he went out there which is a point in his favour.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 11:12:36 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 28, 2016, 10:35:26 PM

Thats a serious accusation and I think you would be in trouble putting stuff like that on a public forum. If you had any sense you would remove that post. You're basically accusing 3 high profile GAA stars of using steroids. Cop on ffs.

I didn't accuse anyone of taking steroids.

I said that there seems to be a systematic problem of doping in AFL. One AFL team was caught up in a major drug scandal which saw 12 of their players receive drug bans. If you want to infer something about my comments then you go ahead and state your own inferences but a sport with major doping problems having players receiving injuries which are highly uncommon and highly associated with steroid abuse would suggest that there is a major doping problem.

I don't know how much the players know about this, they may be aware, they may not be aware - I have made no comment on that and I stated that rather clearly. However, you would want to be an ostrich to ignore what seems glaringly obvious - systematic doping is widespread in the AFL.

And to be clear, I haven't accused anyone of doping. I highlighted the doping problems in AFL, if you want to bury your head in the sand that the highly unusual injuries/ailments players who have played in the AFL endured are heavily associated with steroid abuse, then be my guest and wrap yourself up in your own ignorance. It seems to be systematic there, how much the players are in on is something I know nothing about.

Do you honestly believe that the AFL doesn't have a major doping problem?
Post by: 5 Sams on April 28, 2016, 11:18:48 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 11:12:36 PM

I said that there seems to be a systematic problem of doping in AFL. One AFL team was caught up in a major drug scandal which saw 12 of their players receive drug bans. If you want to infer something about my comments then you go ahead and state your own inferences but a sport with major doping problems having players receiving injuries which are highly uncommon and highly associated with steroid abuse would suggest that there is a major doping problem.

I don't know how much the players know about this, they may be aware, they may not be aware - I have made no comment on that and I stated that rather clearly. However, you would want to be an ostrich to ignore what seems glaringly obvious - systematic doping is widespread in the AFL.
I'd say Tommy Walsh and Marty Clarke would be interested in what you have to say...no matter how you try to justify it.
Post by: Jinxy on April 28, 2016, 11:19:57 PM

And to be clear, I haven't accused anyone of doping. I highlighted the doping problems in AFL, if you want to bury your head in the sand that the highly unusual injuries/ailments players who have played in the AFL endured are heavily associated with steroid abuse, then be my guest and wrap yourself up in your own ignorance. It seems to be systematic there, how much the players are in on is something I know nothing about.

;D ;D
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 11:24:45 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 28, 2016, 11:18:48 PM

I'd say Tommy Walsh and Marty Clarke would be interested in what you have to say...no matter how you try to justify it.

Do you deny the AFL has a doping problem?

Do you deny both Addison's Disease and tearing muscles off the bone have a strong association with steroid abuse?

If you don't then what's your problem?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 11:46:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 28, 2016, 11:19:57 PM

;D ;D

Yes.

That is what you call an inference.

All I have done is present facts.

Dyas and Walsh tore their hamstring off the bone - check.

Tearing muscles off the bone is a very uncommon injury and has a strong association with steroid abuse - check.

Martin Clarke suffers from Addison's disease - check.

Anabolic steroids are stronly linked to adrenal insufficiency - check.

All these players suffered these ailments while playing in the AFL - check.

The AFL has recently been caught up in a major doping scandal which was concurrent with Walsh, Dyas and Clarke's AFL careers - check.

I think it is a logical conclusion that the AFL has a major systematic doping problem, the bit that is unknown and which I wouldn't make any comment on is how much AFL players are actually aware with what seems to be occurring.

If people want to get offended by the facts I presented and their own inferences, then that is purely down to themselves.

Post by: 5 Sams on April 28, 2016, 11:48:58 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 11:24:45 PM

Do you deny both Addison's Disease and tearing muscles off the bone have a strong association with steroid abuse?

I don't know enough about the problems in the AFL or the stuff you are alleging to comment...but I do know that a lad from Tralee and another from Kilkeel wouldnt be very pleased about a keyboard warrior like yourself implicating them in steroid abuse..
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 11:56:40 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 28, 2016, 11:48:58 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 28, 2016, 11:24:45 PM

I don't know enough about the problems in the AFL or the stuff you are alleging to comment...but I do know that a lad from Tralee and another from Kilkeel wouldnt be very pleased about a keyboard warrior like yourself implicating them in steroid abuse..

Well if you don't know enough about the stuff I'm saying then why are you commenting?

Do you always butt in on matters you openly acknowledge you are ignorant to?

To clarify, and reiterate what I have said from the very first post you took issue with to this one here, I am not making any aspersions as to whether these players willingly used steroids. I'm just presenting facts that a logical conclusion of which, would say that steroid abuse in the AFL is systematic and widespread. The only thing that's getting your knickers in a twist would be your own inferences, maybe a lad from Kilkeel and another one from Tralee would not be too happy with your inferences of my posts?
Post by: Main Street on April 28, 2016, 11:58:25 PM
In case it has not been mentioned,  there is a strong connection with muscle tearing off the bone in athletes who don't take steroids.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 12:04:00 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 28, 2016, 11:58:25 PM
In case it has not been mentioned,  there is a strong connection with muscle tearing off the bone in athletes who don't take steroids.

Why is it not a common injury in GAA?
Post by: ballinaman on April 29, 2016, 06:21:46 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 12:04:00 AM

High hamstring avulsions often result from a mechanism which is more associated in AFL...ie you can be legally pushed in the back when bending to pick up the ball..high force + flexed spine / extended hip = risk for the hamstring common tendon. Now lads obviously get pushed in back in GAA but it's done with fairly watery force compared to AFL where you are allowed to mill a lad out of it
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 06:48:40 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 29, 2016, 06:21:46 AM

High hamstring avulsions often result from a mechanism which is more associated in AFL...ie you can be legally pushed in the back when bending to pick up the ball..high force + flexed spine / extended hip = risk for the hamstring common tendon. Now lads obviously get pushed in back in GAA but it's done with fairly watery force compared to AFL where you are allowed to mill a lad out of it

Tearing muscles off the bone happens when the muscles become stronger than the attachment. Anabolic steroids are a big factor in making muscles this strong and if you look at the sports/activities where tearing muscles off the bone are more prevalent - rugby, weightlifting, NFL and AFL - then you might see a correlation between them and the amount of participants who test positive for anabolic steroids when playing those sports. It's more likely to happen to people with disproportionate muscle mass and it certainly should not be happening to youngsters who have only been professional sportsmen for a small number of years.

It's not really the mechanism that causes muscle to tear clean off the bone, it is more the strength of muscles become far more powerful than its attachment. Hamstring injuries are very common in GAA, players tearing the muscle off the bone are not, thankfully. Those type of injuries should certainly raise eyebrows.
Post by: ballinaman on April 29, 2016, 07:07:00 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 06:48:40 AM

Tearing muscles off the bone happens when the muscles become stronger than the attachment. Anabolic steroids are a big factor in making muscles this strong and if you look at the sports/activities where tearing muscles off the bone are more prevalent - rugby, weightlifting, NFL and AFL - then you might see a correlation between them and the amount of participants who test positive for anabolic steroids when playing those sports. It's more likely to happen to people with disproportionate muscle mass and it certainly should not be happening to youngsters who have only been professional sportsmen for a small number of years.

It's not really the mechanism that causes muscle to tear clean off the bone, it is more the strength of muscles become far more powerful than its attachment. Hamstring injuries are very common in GAA, players tearing the muscle off the bone are not, thankfully. Those type of injuries should certainly raise eyebrows.
I haven't read that paper describing that as the main risk factor, has it been published in a peer review journal, throw up the link if you have it.
Post by: omaghjoe on April 29, 2016, 07:41:44 AM
I think we should maybe leave the outrage aside for a minute and drop the "none of our young lads would ever be involved in the like of that" attitude, and actually consider the possibility that what Bomber is saying might be correct.

Now I dont know much about the AFL or their doping culture but its a pro sport and we are all aware that chemical performance enhancement methods are used in pretty much every sport that they would be effective in so it would hardly be a surprise if it was the case for the AFL as well.

But if it is true and these lads are coming back with broken bodies, then maybe they should be having a word with the new recruits such as young Glass or McKenna as to what they are really getting themselves into.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 08:24:38 AM
As I have made clear from the outset, I have made no comment other than the injuries ailment suffered by GAA players while playing in the AFL have an extremely low occurrence in GAA. These injuries/ailments also have a much higher association withanabolic steroids. Couple this with the fact that there seems to be a systematic doping culture in AFL then you can draw logical conclusions.

How much the players are/were actually aware of this potential abuse is something I know nothing about and will not make comment on. It's more a comment explaining why such serious and uncommon sports  injuries may have occurred.

These types of injuries will always raise question marks.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 29, 2016, 09:25:25 AM
The cynic in me agrees with Il Bomber Destro, he made the same point I believe about Paul O'Connell and I would have argued against, although I can see the point Ballinaman is making as well. The pressure on players to succeed even at amateur level is ridiculous, from Joe Brolly public questioning a player's manliness to social media abuse (including this forum), the AFL has a doping problem, rugby has a doping problem (currently 15 lower league (effectively amateur) Welsh players suspended). So is it that inconceivable that ex-professionals were doping and that current amateurs in the GAA are doping, we could all probably sit down and draw up examples of players that have bulked up pretty quickly over a short period of time, and you have to ask how did you do that? 

Post by: Lucifer on April 29, 2016, 09:27:44 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 08:24:38 AM
As I have made clear from the outset, I have made no comment other than the injuries ailment suffered by GAA players while playing in the AFL have an extremely low occurrence in GAA. These injuries/ailments also have a much higher association withanabolic steroids. Couple this with the fact that there seems to be a systematic doping culture in AFL then you can draw logical conclusions.

How much the players are/were actually aware of this potential abuse is something I know nothing about and will not make comment on. It's more a comment explaining why such serious and uncommon sports  injuries may have occurred.

Your logical conclusion is entirely flawed because you are associating the incidence of an injury incurred in the AFL, with their prevalence in the GAA.

Post by: sid waddell on April 29, 2016, 10:11:54 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 29, 2016, 09:25:25 AM
The cynic in me agrees with Il Bomber Destro, he made the same point I believe about Paul O'Connell and I would have argued against, although I can see the point Ballinaman is making as well. The pressure on players to succeed even at amateur level is ridiculous, from Joe Brolly public questioning a player's manliness to social media abuse (including this forum), the AFL has a doping problem, rugby has a doping problem (currently 15 lower league (effectively amateur) Welsh players suspended). So is it that inconceivable that ex-professionals were doping and that current amateurs in the GAA are doping, we could all probably sit down and draw up examples of players that have bulked up pretty quickly over a short period of time, and you have to ask how did you do that?
There have already been doping cases in the GAA.

Post by: Ethan Tremblay on April 29, 2016, 10:22:11 AM
Great discussion at the moment.  The problem with drugs in AFL has been well documented over this past year with Essendon made to pay big time for it.  The distinct nature of the AFL also breeds competitiveness akin to the NFL in that the best youth are constantly being drafted into teams and selection is constantly under threat year on year.  This is a game judged on the fine margins and as a result I think players would knowingly take PED's to stay/get to the top if they can. 

As for the 3 GAA players mentioned, whether or not they were in this mind-set who knows? After all they were up for the most scrutiny, why would a team flog a dead horse when an 18 year old with more natural potential for the game is coming onto the team?
In Dyas situation he is bogged down with injuries year on year with Armagh so him tearing the hamstring would be right up his street and I wouldn't read too much into it.   
Clarke being diagnosed with a disease associated with PED's is similar to a non-smoker being diagnosed with emphysema; most people can add 1 + 1 and make 2 when it suits!
As for Walsh who knows? Perhaps the constant physical stress placed on his body had taken its toll?

The rate the GAA is going, it wouldn't surprise me if more intercounty players start to go down this avenue of needing to get to the top by any means necessary!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 10:23:14 AM
Quote from: Lucifer on April 29, 2016, 09:27:44 AM

Your logical conclusion is entirely flawed because you are associating the incidence of an injury incurred in the AFL, with their prevalence in the GAA.

No I'm associating the injuries with AFL. Dyas, Clarke and Walsh all suffered the injuries and ailments in their AFL career, concurrent with a doping scandal breaking out in that particular sport.
Post by: Lucifer on April 29, 2016, 10:55:52 AM

Another example of where you are trying to link an injury incurred in one sport, with the prevalence of that injury in a completely different sport.

I do not doubt there is a doping problem in AFL. However you have shown a correlation between 2 factors and are trying to create causation. There are a multitude of other factors involved here, which you seemingly ignore. For example, how prevalent is the injury itself in AFL?  Assuming you are correct that steroid use increases risk of this injury, by how much? Are players transferring from another sport, into a professional sport, with higher training loads and increased physicality, at a greater risk?

You have not created a logical conclusion. You have created speculation.
Post by: Jinxy on April 29, 2016, 11:02:12 AM
The average AFL recruit, at a similar age to Walsh, Dyas & Clarke would have had years of playing the game, which is played over a longer period, over a bigger pitch, with bigger hits and more running.
The Irish lads are going in (at least they used to) with a much lower training age, and are thrown in at the deep end from a physical perspective.
Brendan Murphy was rated a great prospect for the Sydney Swans but he was also badly affected by injuries in the end.
I get what Il Bomber Destro is saying here, but at the same time a much simpler and equally, if not more, likely cause of these injuries would be lads having to adapt to a training & playing load that their bodies can't handle, given that they're moving from an amateur environment in gaelic football to a professional environment in aussie rules.
Two completely different sports, with different physical demands.
Post by: Lucifer on April 29, 2016, 11:18:45 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 29, 2016, 11:02:12 AM
The average AFL recruit, at a similar age to Walsh, Dyas & Clarke would have had years of playing the game, which is played over a longer period, over a bigger pitch, with bigger hits and more running.
The Irish lads are going in (at least they used to) with a much lower training age, and are thrown in at the deep end from a physical perspective.
Brendan Murphy was rated a great prospect for the Sydney Swans but he was also badly affected by injuries in the end.
I get what Il Bomber Destro is saying here, but at the same time a much simpler and equally, if not more, likely cause of these injuries would be lads having to adapt to a training & playing load that their bodies can't handle, given that they're moving from an amateur environment in gaelic football to a professional environment in aussie rules.
Two completely different sports, with different physical demands.

It is a good point Jinxy, and worth as much consideration as the sexier steroid angle
Post by: illdecide on April 29, 2016, 11:37:54 AM
Think what's going on here is wrong and lads choosing their words carefully but still getting the message across that they took performance enhancing drugs without actually saying it...We all know that's what you mean but stop yourself short of doing so. Unless you can back up this theory then it's wrong to suggest it, I've no doubt that the AFL has drugs in their game and i'd say all Sports have it to a certain degree but without the proof it's best to say nowt.

There may well be just a very valid reason why these 3 men have had bad injuries and some guys have suggested a few which are every bit as believable as yours for drug taking. I actually think the recreational drugs in our society is more of a problem than the performance enhancing ones...
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 12:14:15 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 29, 2016, 11:37:54 AM
Think what's going on here is wrong and lads choosing their words carefully but still getting the message across that they took performance enhancing drugs without actually saying it...We all know that's what you mean but stop yourself short of doing so. Unless you can back up this theory then it's wrong to suggest it, I've no doubt that the AFL has drugs in their game and i'd say all Sports have it to a certain degree but without the proof it's best to say nowt.

There may well be just a very valid reason why these 3 men have had bad injuries and some guys have suggested a few which are every bit as believable as yours for drug taking. I actually think the recreational drugs in our society is more of a problem than the performance enhancing ones...

I have said that there is a strong basis for believing there is systematic doping in the AFL. I have stopped short of saying the players are in on it, that we don't know. This is my take on the matter and I think I have been pragmatic in putting that take forward. There are some who think that there should be no discussion on the matter.

My broader point is that lads who have gone to the AFL have experienced injuries and ailments associated with steroid use, this would suggest that there seems to be a doping problem in the AFL, especially coupled with the Essendon scandal.

Whether you disagree or not, it is extremely foolish and naive to dismiss the notion.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 29, 2016, 12:39:21 PM

It's no less common than it is in the AFL
Post by: DuffleKing on April 29, 2016, 12:40:31 PM

Tearing muscles off the bone happens when the muscles become stronger than the attachment
. Anabolic steroids are a big factor in making muscles this strong and if you look at the sports/activities where tearing muscles off the bone are more prevalent - rugby, weightlifting, NFL and AFL - then you might see a correlation between them and the amount of participants who test positive for anabolic steroids when playing those sports. It's more likely to happen to people with disproportionate muscle mass and it certainly should not be happening to youngsters who have only been professional sportsmen for a small number of years.

Only one of dozens of explanations
Post by: DuffleKing on April 29, 2016, 12:43:19 PM

Can you post links to studies to support your various assertions?
Post by: DuffleKing on April 29, 2016, 12:50:39 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 12:14:15 PM

I have said that there is a strong basis for believing there is systematic doping in the AFL. I have stopped short of saying the players are in on it, that we don't know. This is my take on the matter and I think I have been pragmatic in putting that take forward. There are some who think that there should be no discussion on the matter.

My broader point is that lads who have gone to the AFL have experienced injuries and ailments associated with steroid use,
this would suggest that there seems to be a doping problem in the AFL, especially coupled with the Essendon scandal.

Whether you disagree or not, it is extremely foolish and naive to dismiss the notion.

The injuries you highlighted are caused by trauma or biomechanical weakness infinitely more often than they are by the use of performance enhancing steroids.

That doesn't fit your narrative quite as neatly as the other unsubstantiated 'theories'.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 12:54:56 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 29, 2016, 12:50:39 PM

My broader point is that lads who have gone to the AFL have experienced injuries and ailments associated with steroid use,
this would suggest that there seems to be a doping problem in the AFL, especially coupled with the Essendon scandal.

The injuries you highlighted are caused by trauma or biomechanical weakness infinitely more often than they are by the use of performance enhancing steroids.

That doesn't fit your narrative quite as neatly as the other unsubstantiated 'theories'.

Tearing muscles off the bone are strongly associated with the use of anabolic steroid use. Do you deny this? You look at sports where tearing muscle off the bone is more common place - weightlifting, rugby, AFL and NFL - all Sports blighted by the illegal use of anabolic steroids.

Of course that may not fit in nicely with your unsubstantiated narrative either.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 29, 2016, 01:18:06 PM

I haven't got a narrative. You certainly have.

Don't know how many times you've been asked now... Post links to studies that support what you claim as 'accepted'
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 01:24:40 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 29, 2016, 01:18:06 PM

I haven't got a narrative. You certainly have.

Don't know how many times you've been asked now... Post links to studies that support what you claim as 'accepted'

You certainly have a narrative to suppress the very plausible and logical argument I put across.

I think we need you to clarify the specific facts that I have put forward which you contend with.
Post by: muppet on April 29, 2016, 01:31:04 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 29, 2016, 07:07:00 AM

I haven't read that paper describing that as the main risk factor, has it been published in a peer review journal, throw up the link if you have it.

Point well made.

There is a plethora of lads on here these days that make sweeping, sometimes vicious, allegations without the slightest bit of evidence. I am glad to see people calling out their research (or more often the lack of it) and looking for them to properly back up their claims.

Post by: Jinxy on April 29, 2016, 02:41:15 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 12:54:56 PM

Tearing muscles off the bone are strongly associated with the use of anabolic steroid use. Do you deny this? You look at sports where tearing muscle off the bone is more common place - weightlifting, rugby, AFL and NFL - all Sports blighted by the illegal use of anabolic steroids.

Of course that may not fit in nicely with your unsubstantiated narrative either.

You've established that,
a) Lads who play a particular sport are more likely to get a particular type of injury,
and,
b) Lads who play a particular sport are more likely to use performance enhancing drugs.
I agree with both of those statements, however, you can't just link the two together and say 'b' causes 'a' without providing some supporting evidence.
I'm referring specifically to the injury side of things btw, not conditions like Addison's disease.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 03:29:41 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 29, 2016, 02:41:15 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 12:54:56 PM

You've established that,
a) Lads who play a particular sport are more likely to get a particular type of injury,
and,
b) Lads who play a particular sport are more likely to use performance enhancing drugs.
I agree with both of those statements, however, you can't just link the two together and say 'b' causes 'a' without providing some supporting evidence.
I'm referring specifically to the injury side of things btw, not conditions like Addison's disease.

Are you a firm believer in happy coincidence?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 29, 2016, 03:56:58 PM
I am not really interested in what they get up to in Aussie Rules! Makes little or no difference to GAA bar the minute trickle that venture down there. You may be right but you cannot be throwing accusations and innuendos with out hard facts.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 29, 2016, 04:26:56 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 29, 2016, 07:07:00 AM

Any sign of these links Bomber? 
Post by: DuffleKing on April 29, 2016, 04:54:54 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 29, 2016, 01:24:40 PM
I think we need you to clarify the specific facts that I have put forward which you contend with.

Okay then....

Tearing the hamstring off the bone is an injury closely associated with steroids.

Where is this association credibly established?

Addison's disease is also closely linked with steroid abuse, which is what Marty Clarke suffers from.

Where is this link credibly established?

a sport with major doping problems having players receiving injuries which are highly uncommon and highly associated with steroid abuse would suggest that there is a major doping problem.

These injuries are not highly uncommon though. You may come up with a credible source for that claim while you're digging there

There's other nonsense in there from you but sure start with the basics there and see how you get on.
Post by: Rossfan on April 29, 2016, 05:11:09 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 29, 2016, 03:56:58 PMt you cannot be throwing accusations and innuendos with out hard facts.

Never stopped him before ::)
Post by: omaghjoe on April 29, 2016, 10:26:41 PM
TBH lads this isnt one where you should wait around for someone to prove something. Whatever about anything else, lets concentrate on these two things: Apparently there is a lot of drug use in AFL? Alot of our guys seem to be coming back from that sport with broken bodies?

Even lets put the drugs us aside, perhaps the GAA should look into why this is the case?

Post by: macdanger2 on April 29, 2016, 10:55:13 PM
You want the GAA to investigate injuries former GAA players pick up playing another sport?? :o
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 29, 2016, 11:43:42 PM
I'm looking forward to reading these studies.

Post by: omaghjoe on April 30, 2016, 12:19:19 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 29, 2016, 10:55:13 PM
You want the GAA to investigate injuries former GAA players pick up playing another sport?? :o
It would help give existing players and potential future stars a better picture of what they are getting into by partaking in that sport. You'll be waiting a while for the AFL to give themselves a bad name and put off potential players.
Post by: Rossfan on April 30, 2016, 12:27:50 AM
How many GAA people went to Rules?
How many got past Rookie stage?
How many Professionals came back?

If the GAA started saying don't go to AFL or you'll come back wrecked - they'd soon find themselves being sued.
Post by: omaghjoe on April 30, 2016, 04:37:57 AM
Well I wasn't thinking quite like that, more a before and after type thing. But you are right investigating another sport could leave the GAA in a precarious position. Dont know about getting sued tho but it might end strain relations with the AFL enough to put the Compromise rules to an end once and for all, so that might be a positive.

Anyway maybe a bit of investigative journalism might be a better way of shedding a bit of light of the darker side of Aussie rules. It would at least makes lads aware of whats at stake.

I know one thing, pretending there is not an issue is no way to go. There maybe an issue and young lads headed off there should have a right to know.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 30, 2016, 12:37:30 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on April 30, 2016, 12:19:19 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 29, 2016, 10:55:13 PM
It would help give existing players and potential future stars a better picture of what they are getting into by partaking in that sport. You'll be waiting a while for the AFL to give themselves a bad name and put off potential players.

Should the gaa similarly produce a document outlining the dangers of playing soccer, rugby, judo, drink, women, etc?
Post by: rrhf on April 30, 2016, 01:37:17 PM
Certainly there's a few could do with the women document.
Post by: Rossfan on April 30, 2016, 02:40:26 PM
That seems to be his point alright :-\
Post by: Jinxy on April 30, 2016, 02:52:32 PM
Most of the lads that go over are well-educated and surrounded by good people here who can advise them on the bigger picture.
It's ultimately their decision, however, and that's the way it should be.
Some will go, find it's not for them, and come home pretty quickly.
Some will go, give it a lash, pick up a few injuries and come home.
Some will go, give it a lash and just not make the cut and come home.
Some will go, give it a lash, make the cut and get to live as a pro sportsman for a few years.
Such is life.
The numbers that do go over are but a drop in the ocean.
No need for the GAA to get involved in any of it.
Post by: Jinxy on May 04, 2016, 09:24:15 PM
The Tommy Walsh that went to Australia would be a serious addition to this Kerry team.
The Tommy Walsh that came back from Australia would be little or no addition to this Kerry team.
Post by: Jinxy on May 05, 2016, 10:07:12 AM
Hopefully.
He won't get back the pace he lost though.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on May 05, 2016, 10:25:08 AM
Just in line with the earlier topic, I see Kevin Dyas has picked up another injury...
Post by: Syferus on May 05, 2016, 01:05:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 05, 2016, 10:07:12 AM
Hopefully.

Big helfers don't need much pace. The pace thing is being overplayed. I'd be more worried about his agility and ability to change directions.
Post by: rosnarun on May 05, 2016, 03:29:16 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 05, 2016, 01:05:30 PM
Hopefully.

Big helfers don't need much pace. The pace thing is being overplayed. I'd be more worried about his agility and ability to change directions.
I think youll find pace and ability to think quickly are the main difference between a intercounty player and a good club player 
Post by: Unlaoised on May 05, 2016, 05:05:09 PM
Colm Begely went for a good few years but came back and with out setting the world alight he certainly has been a decent servant to Laois

He was away for 5 years and came back in 2010 he has been a consistent performer for both Laois and DCU and also Parnells in dublin...

He has just rejoined his home club in Stradbally and will be a welcome addition I think he is still only 29
Post by: heffo on May 05, 2016, 06:00:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 05, 2016, 01:05:30 PM
Hopefully.

Have you not been watching IC Football for the last five years?
Post by: Jinxy on May 28, 2016, 12:50:41 PM
Just had a look at some of the aussie rules forums.
I think Mayo folk should probably give up on the idea of Hanley coming back to play for them at some point.
Sounds like he's struggling badly with chronic injury.
He's still playing every week but he's not half the player he was.
Post by: Syferus on May 28, 2016, 12:56:39 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 28, 2016, 12:50:41 PM
Just had a look at some of the aussie rules forums.
I think Mayo folk should probably give up on the idea of Hanley coming back to play for them at some point.
Sounds like he's struggling badly with chronic injury.
He's still playing every week but he's not half the player he was.

You could nearly be talking about either Hanley. He signed a contract that keeps him in Brisbane 'till 2019 recently so I wouldn't believe everything you read.

http://www.the42.ie/pearce-hanely-afl-2718894-Apr2016/