Cycling

Started by Jimmy, February 18, 2010, 10:20:27 PM

Sounds class, many do it? Hope you've it up on Strava til we get a look

Fair play to you that's some riding, even to compete it is a big achievement.  Having being out on the bike since the giro as I have a bit of a bug. I have new wheels ready to go on my bike but I have no energy to do even one mile.   On a plus I have nearly lost 6lb

Sounds class m4s. Would love to do something like that.

Anyone ever get a bad run of punctures? Haven't had one in 2 years then I've had 4 in the past month, all on the new bike too!!

Have you a good rim tape on the wheel Jim?  If it's a bit lacking (i.e shite or non-existent) it can cause punctures - run some electrical tape round the rim covering the spoke holes, can make a big difference.

Quote from: bennydorano on May 21, 2014, 10:10:05 PM
Have you a good rim tape on the wheel Jim?  If it's a bit lacking (i.e shite or non-existent) it can cause punctures - run some electrical tape round the rim covering the spoke holes, can make a big difference.
Yep, I had a run of punctures sorted with new rim tape.

The Mavics I'm using dont have spoke holes so it doesn't need rim tape. Strange

Would these be an option?

http://road.cc/content/review/81257-slime-smart-tube-self-healing-inner-tube

Considering them myself - first spin on the new bike there, got a puncture within a mile. There were ultremo zx's on the bike, good for racing, not for puncture protection by all accounts. Got two gatorskins there, hopefully will help, considering these tubes too.

Quote from: bennydorano on May 21, 2014, 05:50:47 PM
Sounds class, many do it? Hope you've it up on Strava til we get a look
I'll try and throw it up this evening. Would recommend it to anyone, there was about 100 of us on Sunday and then 45-50 of us for the other two days, most were staying on for the full week. Split into two groups each day, faster group averaging 31-33kph including p*ss stops. Stopped in a GAA club each day for grub and tea after about 90k.
Really well run event and relatively cheap, I paid €400 for the three days, that all in, accomodation, B&B, dinner and lunch, bus transfers and support vans. Think the full week was €1000. Great way to see the country and great craic the comradery and abuse was great, plenty of jibing

Bike sold :D

Might know a fella interested. I'll text him.

What you looking to buy instead?

Not sure yet Jim.  I love my Ribble 365 winter bike and the new Ribble Azzuro is a Summer version of it, so it's high on my list. That Planet X deal with full Ultegra 11 speed is a mighty deal and I could cycle to work scheme it.  I've fancied a CAAD 10 (or an Evo) for a while too though... or a Giant, Bianchi... etc.. too many to choose from.

I've that Ribble up on Gumtree & FB cyclist buy & sell (not live on gumtree yet)

Seen ur bike on Facebook.  Have to say I love my Ribble and I have yet to see another one if them around the Omagh area.  I must post a photo of it and my new cosmics. Great bike for the price   

Where can you buy the Ribbles?
I wouldn't be confident enough setting myself up to buy online so would still go into a shop to get guidence. Was looking at a Spezialized and a Frondriest for an upgrade.

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/bbg/road-track-bike/ribble-carbon-road-bikes?sub=conf_BBRC&type=RIBMO

Ribble bikebuilder, addictive. Plenty of sites offer bikebuilding. Dolan, Canyon, Rosebikes.

Quote from: bennydorano on May 23, 2014, 07:11:56 PM
Not sure yet Jim.  I love my Ribble 365 winter bike and the new Ribble Azzuro is a Summer version of it, so it's high on my list. That Planet X deal with full Ultegra 11 speed is a mighty deal and I could cycle to work scheme it.  I've fancied a CAAD 10 (or an Evo) for a while too though... or a Giant, Bianchi... etc.. too many to choose from.

I've that Ribble up on Gumtree & FB cyclist buy & sell (not live on gumtree yet)

An S Works as a treat for when u win the lotto! I absolutely love my Bianchi, would love some cosmics for it but no real need for them as I am not racing.