Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: AustinPowers on October 23, 2023, 04:31:01 PM

Poll
Question: What percentage of your transactions are in cash?
Option 1: 100% cash (don't use cards or apps)
Option 2: 90 - 99% cash
Option 3: About 75% cash
Option 4: About 50% cash / 50% card (or apps)
Option 5: About 25% cash
Option 6: 1 - 10% cash
Option 7: Don't use cash (all transactions are cards or apps)
Title: How much of your transactions are in cash?
Post by: AustinPowers on October 23, 2023, 04:31:01 PM
Apparently,  the number of cash transactions has gone up  for the first time in over a decade. 

Possibly due to  it being easier to budget (particularly during this cost of living crisis),  less chance of being scammed electronically, the ending of covid restrictions , or people realising a cashless society would give banks and governments  too much power etc etc.

Anyway, I just thought I'd  see how  much cash transactions the GAA Board  members use.

Also, do you have  any thoughts on the using  of cash? The push for a cashless society?  Your reasons for using  cash as much (or as little) as you do?
Title: Re: How much of your transactions are in cash?
Post by: Joeythelips on October 23, 2023, 05:55:28 PM
I put in 1-10% usage but its very much towards the 1% end of the scale. Cash obviously has its benefits but once you get used to using contactless payments it seems odd using cash in all honesty. Most things accept contactless payments now also.

Id imagine the majority of businesses/individuals who prefer cash are either ones who launder cash, i.e criminals, or ones who don't want to declare all their earnings for tax purposes.
Post by: Armagh18 on October 23, 2023, 06:09:38 PM
Would have been close to 100% card/contactless. Making a conscious effort now to use cash only though so will be close to 100% cash in future I hope. Card fees are a killer for businesses.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 23, 2023, 06:25:10 PM
Would tend to bring cash on holidays, that way I know what I've spent, physically lol! Tap most days for pure convenience would generally have a ton in wallet, just in case.

Restaurants, generally tap and pay tip in cash.

At pub try and use cash.

My kids wouldn't thank me for giving them cash, they never use cash for anything, no cards all phone usage
Post by: imtommygunn on October 23, 2023, 06:28:22 PM
I'm just waiting on the conspiracy theories...
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2023, 07:03:55 PM
Minimal cash (1-10%). Predominantly I tap away in shops, pubs etc. Some local businesses and tradesmen are cash only and have no issue taking out cash when I know it's needed but keep some in the wallet "just in case". I tip in cash as I don't trust owners to pass them on if not entirely visible to staff.

Revolut, Uber app and a bit of cash on holidays.
Post by: AustinPowers on October 23, 2023, 08:00:07 PM
I use  cash about 99% of the time.

I just find it   much easier to deal with. You know what you have , and  less chance of being scammed.

I usually pay the car/house insurance by card . Maybe book the summer holiday (Airbnb or campsite) as there's no other way , as it needs reserving in advance

I buy on  average 3 or 4 things a year  on eBay through card.  And maybe if  something went wrong with the car, or household appliance, I might  put that   on the card , and pay if off, if I don't have  the funds  at the time.

Other things like the odd match ticket, concert  ticket etc would be  put on card , as again, there might be   no alternative .
Post by: general_lee on October 23, 2023, 08:07:53 PM
I'm about 50/50.
As they say, cash is king, but sometimes card is just far handier.
If it's grocery shop or paying for something in a big name chain Halford's or whatever, I pay card.
Bars and restaurants I always pay cash or at least always tip in cash.
I always end up taking out too much though and then feel the need to spend it all!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2023, 08:28:31 PM
I must try to make a more conscious effort to use cash in my local coffee shop etc. The wee girls that work in look at you sideways if you give them cash, whereas the owner would no doubt encourage it!
Post by: RedHand88 on October 23, 2023, 08:37:06 PM
Only when absolutely necessary (Chinese and barbers).
Use card 100% the rest of the time, usually contactless on the phone.
Hate using cash. I feel like do much of your cash ends up as coins left at your arse, whereas with contactless those extra coins never leave your account.

I don't understand the "I use cash because you know what you have" argument when you can have online banking on your phone.
Post by: AustinPowers on October 23, 2023, 08:42:15 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 23, 2023, 08:28:31 PMI must try to make a more conscious effort to use cash in my local coffee shop etc. The wee girls that work in look at you sideways if you give them cash, whereas the owner would no doubt encourage it!

Was at the takeaway Recently .  woman went to pay with card,  but the machine was down. The ATM had been damaged,  and she had no cash. I says to her, the post office is still open, you might get  cash there (not sure how she faired out)

The two young girls working there,  said they rarely use cash, but I says  but it would pay off in a situation like this, wouldn't it?  They thought about it, and  one says "aye , right enough".

I'd like to think I  converted the two of them  to using cash , but I doubt it. Probably tapping away like  two eejits
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 23, 2023, 08:50:03 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 23, 2023, 08:00:07 PMI use  cash about 99% of the time.

I just find it   much easier to deal with. You know what you have , and  less chance of being scammed.

I usually pay the car/house insurance by card . Maybe book the summer holiday (Airbnb or campsite) as there's no other way , as it needs reserving in advance

I buy on  average 3 or 4 things a year  on eBay through card.  And maybe if  something went wrong with the car, or household appliance, I might  put that   on the card , and pay if off, if I don't have  the funds  at the time.

Other things like the odd match ticket, concert  ticket etc would be  put on card , as again, there might be   no alternative .

99% but listed a lot that you pay by card?

It's near impossible to get things other than using card.

Cash in restaurants bar shop garage would be your lot.

Post by: clarshack on October 23, 2023, 08:51:53 PM
One thing that's annoying is that to get into most championship games  (in Tyrone it's all) these days you have to pay by card only but once you are in the ground it's cash only if you want to buy a programme or go to the shop.
Post by: AustinPowers on October 23, 2023, 09:13:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 23, 2023, 08:50:03 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 23, 2023, 08:00:07 PMI use  cash about 99% of the time.

I just find it  much easier to deal with. You know what you have , and  less chance of being scammed.

I buy on  average 3 or 4 things a year  on eBay through card.  And maybe if  something went wrong with the car, or household appliance, I might  put that  on the card , and pay if off, if I don't have  the funds  at the time.

Other things like the odd match ticket, concert  ticket etc would be  put on card , as again, there might be  no alternative .

99% but listed a lot that you pay by card?

Those card transactions  amounts to maybe 20-30 a year. If that. There are a few times a week where  I could  have 10-20 cash transactions daily.

QuoteIt's near impossible to get things other than using card.

Maybe a flight, concert ticket, hotel  etc , but most of your everyday products  can be got  with cash

QuoteCash in restaurants bar shop garage would be your lot.
Post by: Saffrongael on October 23, 2023, 09:20:10 PM
Chinese is about the height of it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 23, 2023, 09:37:55 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on October 23, 2023, 09:20:10 PMChinese is about the height of it

Cause their machine is always broken  ;) like our local Indian takeout!

The chippy only recently got card reader recently

Strange food places were slower to convert lol
Post by: NAG1 on October 24, 2023, 09:20:59 AM
Unsure how you would be scammed tapping for things like drinks/ food, instant text alert to your phone to let you know how much you were just charged so would make it more difficult to scam I would have thought.

I'm sure those businesses relying on people paying card or cash will have this built into their pricing structure and I would say for the convenience most people happy to accept this.

As has been said above, those business which are cash only or encouraging cash have their own reasons for doing so  ;)
Post by: LeoMc on October 24, 2023, 09:41:52 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 23, 2023, 06:28:22 PMI'm just waiting on the conspiracy theories...

That is why I dipped into the thread, but it is an interesting enough topic.

When you factor in Direct debits for the likes of the mortgage the %of cash would be away down.
Post by: Armagh18 on October 24, 2023, 09:51:29 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 24, 2023, 09:41:52 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 23, 2023, 06:28:22 PMI'm just waiting on the conspiracy theories...

When you factor in Direct debits for the likes of the mortgage the %of cash would be away down.
Yeah obviously the unavoidables like that and phone contracts and stuff. But everyone should be using cash in shops/restaurants/bars etc
Post by: Itchy on October 24, 2023, 10:22:23 AM
Recently, in the last 6 months I suppose, I have started to use Cash more. Its my own little protest I suppose against the banks who are basically trying to move people away from cash, making it difficult to lodge it and having no tellers in banks to talk to people even having "no cash" banks.
Post by: Taylor on October 24, 2023, 10:25:28 AM
Would use very little cash - in fact when going to pay the likes of the window cleaner or kids looking money for school lunch I find myself scraping around for it.

Where small business say they prefer cash I would try to make sure I pay in cash - unless the customer service is horrible, then I will pay by card deliberately
Post by: Armagh18 on October 24, 2023, 11:09:07 AM
Quote from: Itchy on October 24, 2023, 10:22:23 AMRecently, in the last 6 months I suppose, I have started to use Cash more. Its my own little protest I suppose against the banks who are basically trying to move people away from cash, making it difficult to lodge it and having no tellers in banks to talk to people even having "no cash" banks.
Disgraceful that imo. Same as gaa venues turning away people with cash. 
Post by: trailer on October 24, 2023, 11:20:21 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 24, 2023, 11:09:07 AM
Quote from: Itchy on October 24, 2023, 10:22:23 AMRecently, in the last 6 months I suppose, I have started to use Cash more. Its my own little protest I suppose against the banks who are basically trying to move people away from cash, making it difficult to lodge it and having no tellers in banks to talk to people even having "no cash" banks.

Ahhy but it is good practice, it removes risk around transferring the cash from venue to the bank and of course the odd sticky fingers.
My business is 100% card. Never get paid in cash and it's a pain paying the window cleaner and office cleaner in cash. I have to take cash out for things, like some of the kids activities.
Post by: Itchy on October 24, 2023, 12:25:44 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 24, 2023, 11:20:21 AM

Ahhy but it is good practice, it removes risk around transferring the cash from venue to the bank and of course the odd sticky fingers.
My business is 100% card. Never get paid in cash and it's a pain paying the window cleaner and office cleaner in cash. I have to take cash out for things, like some of the kids activities.

Is it not true that legally you are obliged to take cash payment if your customer wishes. Down south the NCT centres tried to go non cash a few months back and were forced by government to undo it and provide facility to take cash.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 24, 2023, 12:28:08 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 24, 2023, 09:51:29 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 24, 2023, 09:41:52 AM

Yeah obviously the unavoidables like that and phone contracts and stuff. But everyone should be using cash in shops/restaurants/bars etc
Why?
Post by: Blowitupref on October 24, 2023, 12:38:35 PM
Cash as much as possible. Was Ulster bank customer and since they left I haven't bothered getting a new credit card.

Can't make sense why Gaa don't accept cash at the gate for club and county games. Have regularly seen old folks turned away at the gate but once you enter you can buy programs, tea and coffee with cash.
Post by: trailer on October 24, 2023, 01:03:51 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 24, 2023, 12:25:44 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 24, 2023, 11:20:21 AM

Is it not true that legally you are obliged to take cash payment if your customer wishes. Down south the NCT centres tried to go non cash a few months back and were forced by government to undo it and provide facility to take cash.

I'd take cash if anyone would give it to me but nobody ever does. I actually asked a guy who I thought might have a bit of cash lying around if you get me, to pay me in notes and he looked at me as if I was completely f**king mental. 
Post by: bennydorano on October 24, 2023, 01:13:24 PM
Cashless payments are no doubt convenient, but I like to have cash and I know some local small businesses in Armagh have a bit of promotion on to try to get people to pay in cash to avoid bank fees.

Trying to sell supermarket self check out as 'convenience' is one of the biggest f**king scams ever tho, I despise it with a passion, I don't mind a few items but the first time I'm asked to scan a full trolley it will be left there & my last visit to that store.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 01:20:46 PM
I take cash, cheques and card, mostly card due to the sums, farmers like the aul cash or cheque book. Get a lot of payments through BACS,

Prefer taking it via machine, then I'm not running around with a lot of cash to bank.

But it will be cashless soon enough, as soon as the banks stop charging for the use of cards and transactions, I'm not sure why they do if the system is up and running, it shouldn't cost the punters at this stage!

Benny, I always use the self scanny thingy in Tesco, no hanging about at the counter waiting on some twat counting out his pennies, while having a conversation about pure shite!
Post by: thebigfella on October 24, 2023, 02:45:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 01:20:46 PMI'm not sure why they do if the system is up and running, it shouldn't cost the punters at this stage!

Seriously? You have maintenance and op ex costs, integration with card providers, regulatory requirements, AML, constantly moving target in cyber security etc....

Payment systems are complex. Someone has to pay for it and was alway gonna get passed onto retailers and customers while deposits are low.
Post by: AustinPowers on October 24, 2023, 02:49:14 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 24, 2023, 09:20:59 AMUnsure how you would be scammed tapping for things like drinks/ food, instant text alert to your phone to let you know how much you were just charged so would make it more difficult to scam I would have thought.

I'm sure those businesses relying on people paying card or cash will have this built into their pricing structure and I would say for the convenience most people happy to accept this.

As has been said above, those business which are cash only or encouraging cash have their own reasons for doing so  ;)

Not all businesses who  prefer cash are  on the fiddle. 

Remember listening to radio a while back about  cash/card payments. One  businessman, think he was a small business west of Ireland. Said a lot  of his  sales was smaller items, possibly a coffee, newspaper,  milk, bread etc... maybe between 5-10 Euro.  He said he had to  stop  accepting cards because the  fees were just too  much for  a small transactions  like his.

Another recently , a chip shop I think it was , he  said his card machine fees were usually around 200 a month.  Lately it's 800-900. I'm not sure if that's due to  banks upping their fees , or more people paying by card. Either way , that's a big  rise in a short timeframe . So, it's understandable why some prefer cash.

On a different sort of angle ,  a man dropped his  teen kids off at a concert.  The Aviva or somewhere.  The kids just had cash , no card. They were  there for hours, and couldn't get anything to eat  or drink because it was cashless.  What if one kid was  diabetic and needed something to  eat or drink to control  their sugar levels?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 02:56:47 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 24, 2023, 02:49:14 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 24, 2023, 09:20:59 AMUnsure how you would be scammed tapping for things like drinks/ food, instant text alert to your phone to let you know how much you were just charged so would make it more difficult to scam I would have thought.

Remember listening to radio a while back about  cash/card payments. One  businessman, think he was a small business west of Ireland. Said a lot  of his  sales was smaller items, possibly a coffee, newspaper,  milk, bread etc... maybe between 5-10 Euro.  He said he had to  stop  accepting cards because the  fees were just too  much for  a small business like his.

Another recently , a chip shop I think it was , he  said his card machine fees were usually around 200 a month.  Lately it's 800-900. I'm not sure if that's due to  banks upping their fees , or more people paying by card. Either way , that's a big  rise in a short timeframe . So, it's understandable why some prefer cash.

On a different sort of angle ,  a man dropped his  teen kids off at a concert.  The Aviva or somewhere.  The kids just had cash , no card. They were  there for hours, and couldn't get anything to eat  or drink because it was cashless.  What if one kid was  diabetic and needed something to  control  their sugar levels?

If your kid is diabetic you be a shit parent if you didn't have something with them for their sugar levels

As for the chip shop, if they have upped their prices because of the rise in using machines, surely if you pay cash they could offer a lower price to the cash user?

As for the the upkeep of the banks maintenance and op ex costs, integration with card providers, regulatory requirements and so on if we just pulled out of the banks which charge the most would it create a cheaper provider thus bringing down the hidden/extra cost that we are being billed for?

Post by: AustinPowers on October 24, 2023, 02:58:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 01:20:46 PMBenny, I always use the self scanny thingy in Tesco, no hanging about at the counter waiting on some twat counting out his pennies, while having a conversation about pure shite!

I don't be in the big supermarkets that much ( I prefer to shop local  as much as possible) but I refuse to use them self  service tills. Even if it means  waiting for 10 more  minutes  , I'll do it.
Post by: trailer on October 24, 2023, 03:05:01 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 24, 2023, 02:58:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 01:20:46 PMBenny, I always use the self scanny thingy in Tesco, no hanging about at the counter waiting on some twat counting out his pennies, while having a conversation about pure shite!

I don't be in the big supermarkets that much ( I prefer to shop local  as much as possible) but I refuse to use them self  service tills. Even if it means  waiting for 10 more  minutes  , I'll do it.

It's only a matter of time until there are no tills. And those shops definitely won't take cash. Times are a changing.
Post by: AustinPowers on October 24, 2023, 03:15:57 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 02:56:47 PMAs for the chip shop, if they have upped their prices because of the rise in using machines, surely if you pay cash they could offer a lower price to the cash user?

I'm not sure if they upped their prices  because of card payments  increasing.  But that's a good  point.  I'd be happy enough to see that sort of thing to  increase cash use. Fish supper £X with cash, £X + 10% with card.

The other  thing pushing cashless is insurance.  It seems to be  more common for businesses to  be quoted very high premiums for  handling cash , or insurance companies refusing to insure  them.
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 24, 2023, 03:30:12 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 24, 2023, 03:15:57 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 02:56:47 PMAs for the chip shop, if they have upped their prices because of the rise in using machines, surely if you pay cash they could offer a lower price to the cash user?

I'm not sure if they upped their prices  because of card payments  increasing.  But that's a good  point.  I'd be happy enough to see that sort of thing to  increase cash use. Fish supper £X with cash, £X + 10% with card.

The other  thing pushing cashless is insurance.  It seems to be  more common for businesses to  be quoted very high premiums for  handling cash , or insurance companies refusing to insure  them.
There's a PR issue there. Needs to be framed right. They need to say 10% discount for cash. If you put 10% on the the price for card transactions, then you get the Karen's on Facebook giving out about bout it and how big a disgrace it is. Small businesses like that live and die by good relations.
Personally only even use cash when there is no option for card. Changed to one of those small wallet things now as hardly ever have cash in me pockets.
T'was handy excuse when the neighbouring clubs used to call at the door with Tickets, til they pulled a bloody card reader from their pockets!! 
Post by: Would ye whist on October 24, 2023, 03:50:19 PM
Interesting

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/co-antrim-cafe-goes-cash-only-due-to-cost-of-living-crisis/a1437578900.html
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 24, 2023, 04:48:36 PM
I use cash to pay for petrol because there's a dodgy station near us that gives you a big discount for it. We also have a cleaner that comes to our house a couple of times a month and we pay her cash, although we're switching that to electronic soon. And if we're buying second hand stuff on FB Marketplace that's another place where cash is the only option, but even then most people take Paypal or Venmo now. Everything else is tap or autopay.

I find paper money a big pain in the neck. You have to go and get it from a machine while checking over your shoulder, you have to get the right denominations for the stuff you're buying if the other person doesn't have change. And as RH says a lot of it leaks out in small change that never gets used. I don't see the attraction of it. And I certainly don't get the tinfoil hat stuff about "government control." I'm sure Uncle Sam has bigger fish to fry than how much I'm spending on groceries.
Post by: JoG2 on October 24, 2023, 05:05:01 PM

I was in the Sainsburys in Derry City last week, first time in a couple of years (we do all our shopping in Lidl)... Where once there was probably about 15 manned tills and maybe half a dozen basket self service tills, they now have 3 (!) manned tills and a load of self service tills, including weekly shoppers with the full trolleys. It was around 6.30pm on a Swt, it was noticeably quieter than I expected it to be ... I won't be back near it
Post by: bennydorano on October 24, 2023, 05:08:14 PM
Do u get charged for cash withdrawals ftom atms in the states? Probably the way they'll try to wean us off cash here eventually. They did try to introduce it here (UK as opposed to NI) years ago but there was a huge back lash & it died a death.
Post by: Armagh18 on October 24, 2023, 05:37:18 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 24, 2023, 05:05:01 PM

I was in the Sainsburys in Derry City last week, first time in a couple of years (we do all our shopping in Lidl)... Where once there was probably about 15 manned tills and maybe half a dozen basket self service tills, they now have 3 (!) manned tills and a load of self service tills, including weekly shoppers with the full trolleys. It was around 6.30pm on a Swt, it was noticeably quieter than I expected it to be ... I won't be back near it
Self service is grand for a few items but ffs trolley loads? They'd want to be paying you a wage to scan all thag
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 24, 2023, 05:37:54 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 24, 2023, 04:48:36 PMI use cash to pay for petrol because there's a dodgy station near us that gives you a big discount for it

That was one thing I noticed when I was driving in that area - the gas stations had different prices if you paid in cash or paid by card. It was only 10 to 15 cents a gallon saving

(https://i.postimg.cc/XNQyrB9q/Screenshot-2023-10-24-123705.jpg)

Post by: dec on October 24, 2023, 05:41:43 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 24, 2023, 05:08:14 PMDo u get charged for cash withdrawals ftom atms in the states? Probably the way they'll try to wean us off cash here eventually. They did try to introduce it hear (UK as opposed to NI) years ago but there was a huge back lash & it died a death.
Yes, usually the only ATMs that you can get money out of without an extra charge are those belonging to you own bank.

Just did my largest ever cash transaction, the guy doing a bunch drywall, painting and plumbing work for us wanted to be paid in cash.
Post by: marty34 on October 24, 2023, 06:12:38 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 24, 2023, 04:48:36 PMI use cash to pay for petrol because there's a dodgy station near us that gives you a big discount for it. We also have a cleaner that comes to our house a couple of times a month and we pay her cash, although we're switching that to electronic soon. And if we're buying second hand stuff on FB Marketplace that's another place where cash is the only option, but even then most people tkae Paypal or Venmo now. Everything else is tap or autopay.

I find paper money a big pain in the neck. You have to go and get it from a machine while checking over your shoulder, you have to get the right denominations for the stuff you're buying if the other person doesn't have change. And as RH says a lot of it leaks out in small change that never gets used. I don't see the attraction of it. And I certainly don't get the tinfoil hat stuff about "government control." I'm sure Uncle Sam has bigger fish to fry than how much I'm getting spending on groceries.

There's more chance somebody scamming you on-line or by text etc. than somebody robbing you at a cash machine I'd say.
Post by: marty34 on October 24, 2023, 06:17:38 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 24, 2023, 03:30:12 PM

There's a PR issue there. Needs to be framed right. They need to say 10% discount for cash. If you put 10% on the the price for card transactions, then you get the Karen's on Facebook giving out about bout it and how big a disgrace it is. Small businesses like that live and die by good relations.
Personally only even use cash when there is no option for card. Changed to one of those small wallet things now as hardly ever have cash in me pockets.
T'was handy excuse when the neighbouring clubs used to call at the door with Tickets, til they pulled a bloody card reader from their pockets!! 

Would there be many clubs going door to door now?

Pre Covid there would have been a good few iirc, selling 1 for £20 and 3 for £50 etc.

Maybe too much hassle now for clubs and it's all about the corporate funding raising now.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 06:40:07 PM

The missus got caught with this too last year. We genuinely never have cash in the house and there ones round selling club tickets and when she said we had no cash he pulled out a wee SumUp machine.
Post by: RedHand88 on October 24, 2023, 06:51:47 PM
Quote from: marty34 on October 24, 2023, 06:17:38 PM

Pre Covid there would have been a good few iirc, selling 1 for £20 and 3 for £50 etc.

Maybe too much hassle now for clubs and it's all about the corporate funding raising now.

Yes I had one recently. I said I didn't have cash and he pulled out a card machine!!
Told him I wasn't interested.
Post by: RedHand88 on October 24, 2023, 06:54:00 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on October 24, 2023, 03:50:19 PMInteresting

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/co-antrim-cafe-goes-cash-only-due-to-cost-of-living-crisis/a1437578900.html

Quote from: AustinPowers on October 24, 2023, 02:49:14 PM

Remember listening to radio a while back about  cash/card payments. One  businessman, think he was a small business west of Ireland. Said a lot  of his  sales was smaller items, possibly a coffee, newspaper,  milk, bread etc... maybe between 5-10 Euro.  He said he had to  stop  accepting cards because the  fees were just too  much for  a small transactions  like his.

On a different sort of angle ,  a man dropped his  teen kids off at a concert.  The Aviva or somewhere.  The kids just had cash , no card. They were  there for hours, and couldn't get anything to eat  or drink because it was cashless.  What if one kid was  diabetic and needed something to  eat or drink to control  their sugar levels?

Bring a Glucagon hypokit.
Post by: marty34 on October 24, 2023, 08:47:21 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on October 24, 2023, 06:51:47 PM

Yes I had one recently. I said I didn't have cash and he pulled out a card machine!!

I'd always try and buy a gaa ticket if people came to my door.

Such a thankless task on wet wintery nights and usually from a club miles and miles away.

Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 09:22:26 PM
Quote from: marty34 on October 24, 2023, 08:47:21 PM

Such a thankless task on wet wintery nights and usually from a club miles and miles away.

Even when they're 100 quid?
Post by: marty34 on October 24, 2023, 11:18:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 09:22:26 PM
Quote from: marty34 on October 24, 2023, 08:47:21 PM

Even when they're 100 quid?

They'll not take £100 off you. You can pay bit by bit.

The draw usually isn't for 12 months down the line.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 24, 2023, 11:23:44 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 24, 2023, 05:08:14 PMDo u get charged for cash withdrawals ftom atms in the states? Probably the way they'll try to wean us off cash here eventually. They did try to introduce it here (UK as opposed to NI) years ago but there was a huge back lash & it died a death.

Only if you use a machine outside of your bank's network. We use a credit union, and all the different credit union ATMs are on the same network, so no fees as long as we use them.

There are small commercial ATMs in bars and shops, but they charge quite a bit for withdrawals. I never use them unless it's some sort of emergency, which is never nowadays.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 24, 2023, 11:30:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 01:20:46 PMI take cash, cheques and card, mostly card due to the sums, farmers like the aul cash or cheque book. Get a lot of payments through BACS,

Prefer taking it via machine, then I'm not running around with a lot of cash to bank.

But it will be cashless soon enough, as soon as the banks stop charging for the use of cards and transactions, I'm not sure why they do if the system is up and running, it shouldn't cost the punters at this stage!

Benny, I always use the self scanny thingy in Tesco, no hanging about at the counter waiting on some twat counting out his pennies, while having a conversation about pure shite!

The only reason I don't use the self checkout is it's not much faster than the service checkout. You have to put each item in the bagging area before you can scan the next one, but the cashier at their checkout can just go rapid fire through all the items.

I like the idea of the scan-as-you-go that the Dutch have and I saw in Tesco last time I was home. It hasn't arrived stateside yet, which doesn't surprise me, because this place is always ten years behind with this sort of thing.

I saw a video going around the other day about tills in Japan. All the products have some sort of RFID tags in them. Set your basket on the till and it instantly knows everything that's in there, you press a few buttons on the screen to confirm and pay and away you go. I'd be okay with that.

Does anybody here remember a store in America called Fresh & Easy? It was Tesco's attempt to crack the US market. They had tills that could be self service or full service. A lot of innovations, and a good place to shop, but it didn't catch on.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 24, 2023, 11:34:11 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 24, 2023, 05:37:54 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 24, 2023, 04:48:36 PMI use cash to pay for petrol because there's a dodgy station near us that gives you a big discount for it

That was one thing I noticed when I was driving in that area - the gas stations had different prices if you paid in cash or paid by card. It was only 10 to 15 cents a gallon saving

(https://i.postimg.cc/XNQyrB9q/Screenshot-2023-10-24-123705.jpg)

It adds up quickly if you drive a lot, which people in America do
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 11:43:28 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 24, 2023, 11:30:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 01:20:46 PMI take cash, cheques and card, mostly card due to the sums, farmers like the aul cash or cheque book. Get a lot of payments through BACS,

The only reason I don't use the self checkout is it's not much faster than the service checkout. You have to put each item in the bagging area before you can scan the next one, but the cashier at their checkout can just go rapid fire through all the items.

I like the idea of the scan-as-you-go that the Dutch have and I saw in Tesco last time I was home. It hasn't arrived stateside yet, which doesn't surprise me, because this place is always ten years behind with this sort of thing.

I saw a video going around the other day about tills in Japan. All the products have some sort of RFID tags in them. Set your basket on the till and it instantly knows everything that's in there, you press a few buttons on the screen to confirm and pay and away you go. I'd be okay with that.

Does anybody here remember a store in America called Fresh & Easy? It was Tesco's attempt to crack the US market. They had tills that could be self service or full service. A lot of innovations, and a good place to shop, but it didn't catch on.

I scan and go, it's a hell of a lot quicker. I'm generally going at lunchtime Fridays so no real time to hang about. I generally pick what's on offer. Tesco is a dear hole
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 07:31:24 AM
Smart shop is the way forward. The technology in the Sainsburys app is very fast and picks up the barcode very quick. I thought it would be a pain in the hole but you can fly round scanning and putting the stuff directly into bags, scan the barcode at the till, pay and then leave 9 times out of 10. The odd time they'll do a security check.
Post by: trailer on October 25, 2023, 08:37:18 AM

As a fellow Gael I always buy the tickets. GAA people going out of a cold night to raise money for their club and community. Least anyone can do as fellow GAA person is buy a ticket. Had a club round a week ago.
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 25, 2023, 08:42:59 AM
Quote from: trailer on October 25, 2023, 08:37:18 AM

As a fellow Gael I always buy the tickets. GAA people going out of a cold night to raise money for their club and community. Least anyone can do as fellow GAA person is buy a ticket. Had a club round a week ago.
Some clubs take the p!ss. To be fair, the last one was Dromore and only £20 tickets so not so bad. 3 for 40.
Post by: trailer on October 25, 2023, 08:47:49 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 25, 2023, 08:42:59 AM
Quote from: trailer on October 25, 2023, 08:37:18 AM

Some clubs take the p!ss. To be fair, the last one was Dromore and only £20 tickets so not so bad. 3 for 40.

£20 is fair. I bought 3 for £40 of the last club.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 08:52:12 AM
If its a £100 ticket, not everyone is in a position (nowadays) to fork that out, but certainly I'd rather be giving my money to the club if I can.

I'd a neighbour many years ago him and his wife bought a club ticket, now he was a local from Newtownabbey and she was from Armagh, she bought a £100 ticket for a house and the feckers won it lol!

Magheralin I think, ya never know! They at the time had just bought the house facing us, what a boost to win a house, needles to say they sold the house and moved, and made good money of their own house that they were in for 3 years.
Post by: thebigfella on October 25, 2023, 12:20:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 02:56:47 PMAs for the the upkeep of the banks maintenance and op ex costs, integration with card providers, regulatory requirements and so on if we just pulled out of the banks which charge the most would it create a cheaper provider thus bringing down the hidden/extra cost that we are being billed for?

There are plenty of payment service providers competing in the space but ultimately they are not banks (they are have no banking license and regulated differently), so they are intermediaries and cannot offer additional banking services which are needed e.g. accounts.

Ultimately it's the same issue, someone has to pay and unfortunately that gets passed onto the customer in most cases. Modernisation programmes for banks and new providers make it easier to maintain platforms but ultimately the majority of ongoing cost will come down to keeping ahead of constantly moving regulatory, fraud and cyber security.
Post by: AustinPowers on October 25, 2023, 12:49:20 PM
Re: ATM's  charging for cash withdrawals .

You can  withdraw cash for free  in the Post office.  Not sure you can do so with all bank  cards/accounts, but there's a number   of them you can withdraw for free there.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 01:15:25 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 25, 2023, 12:20:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 02:56:47 PMAs for the the upkeep of the banks maintenance and op ex costs, integration with card providers, regulatory requirements and so on if we just pulled out of the banks which charge the most would it create a cheaper provider thus bringing down the hidden/extra cost that we are being billed for?

There are plenty of payment service providers competing in the space but ultimately they are not banks (they are have no banking license and regulated differently), so they are intermediaries and cannot offer additional banking services which are needed e.g. accounts.

Ultimately it's the same issue, someone has to pay and unfortunately that gets passed onto the customer in most cases. Modernisation programmes for banks and new providers make it easier to maintain platforms but ultimately the majority of ongoing cost will come down to keeping ahead of constantly moving regulatory, fraud and cyber security.
Their modernisation programmes must be glacial as I know people still maintaining IBM mainframes in the banking industry.
Post by: thebigfella on October 25, 2023, 09:14:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 01:15:25 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 25, 2023, 12:20:02 PM

Their modernisation programmes must be glacial as I know people still maintaining IBM mainframes in the banking industry.

Plenty still maintain mainframes for number a reasons. They and the software running on them have evolved over decades so it's a  massive job to replace or even worthwhile as they should only be dealing with back office tasks (accounts, customer records, transactions etc...).

Payments/ATM systems integrate with the mainframes. Likewise all other systems as part of a digital modernisation roadmaps all integrate not replace.
Post by: AustinPowers on November 05, 2023, 03:49:45 PM
The Austrians (and the Germans) love  their cash:

https://apnews.com/article/austria-cash-constitution-proposal-e63078b1682b375a84d0132857374e43
Post by: AustinPowers on January 24, 2024, 12:11:20 AM
New proposed legislation   on cash availability

https://www.rte.ie/news/2024/0123/1428107-cash-ireland/
Post by: trailer on January 24, 2024, 08:47:37 AM
Is it me or are there definitely more places insisting on card only. Was at a hotel over the New Year and they only took card. No cash at all.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2024, 08:52:19 AM
Quote from: trailer on January 24, 2024, 08:47:37 AMIs it me or are there definitely more places insisting on card only. Was at a hotel over the New Year and they only took card. No cash at all.
Have seen a number of small businesses now have signs up saying they prefer cash and one saying if you want to use a card they'll charge extra to cover the cost of the transaction. It is perfectly understandable that busy bars only want cards so the punter can tap and go.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2024, 08:55:02 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2024, 08:52:19 AM
Quote from: trailer on January 24, 2024, 08:47:37 AMIs it me or are there definitely more places insisting on card only. Was at a hotel over the New Year and they only took card. No cash at all.
Have seen a number of small businesses now have signs up saying they prefer cash and one saying if you want to use a card they'll charge extra to cover the cost of the transaction. It is perfectly understandable that busy bars only want cards so the punter can tap and go.

It also helps with opportunity of the bar losing money from the till ;)

Not sure what the problem is with cash no cash, what are the benefits of just cash?
Post by: trailer on January 24, 2024, 08:58:31 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2024, 08:52:19 AM

Yeah having said that I have also seen the inverse. Places that only take cash. I think that there should be an onus on places accommodate both.
Post by: AustinPowers on January 24, 2024, 09:54:04 AM
I remember hearing a while ago that Dublin (might  be more places) taxi drivers  legally have to provide  the card payment  option or else they can't  be on the road.

Well, if that's the case, I think   That  every shop or business should be required to  take cash  or else they can't trade.

I would welcome this  new cash availability  legislation, but what's the point providing  cash machines if more and more businesses  are  legally within their rights to refuse cash?
Post by: Armagh18 on January 24, 2024, 10:01:40 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 24, 2024, 09:54:04 AMI remember hearing a while ago that Dublin (might  be more places) taxi drivers  legally have to provide  the card payment  option or else they can't  be on the road.

Well, if that's the case, I think   That  every shop or business should be required to  take cash  or else they can't trade.

I would welcome this  new cash availability  legislation, but what's the point providing  cash machines if more and more businesses  are  legally within their rights to refuse cash?
Wouldn't set foot in a place that doesnt take cash tbh.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2024, 10:16:45 AM
What are the benefits of cash?

You don't get into debt as there's no credit?
Avoiding bank fees?  (though getting cash out in some places you get charged)
Better to budget?

Just not convinced that using cash over card will make life easier or cheaper for that matter
Post by: Square Ball on January 24, 2024, 10:27:49 AM
A lot of take outs on the Ormeau road only take cash. Personally I try to use cash mostly but always have the card in reserve.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2024, 10:28:31 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on January 24, 2024, 10:27:49 AMA lot of take outs on the Ormeau road only take cash. Personally I try to use cash mostly but always have the card in reserve.

Are you paid in cash?
Post by: imtommygunn on January 24, 2024, 10:34:37 AM
I don't think I know any chinese takeaways that do card.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2024, 10:37:32 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 24, 2024, 10:34:37 AMI don't think I know any chinese takeaways that do card.

Hopefully they have their tax returns done by end of month!

Post by: clonian on January 24, 2024, 11:07:17 AM
I don't understand the big issue with having to use your card to pay for something if you have used your card to withdraw cash before that. If you're getting paid in cash fair enough but the majority of people aren't paid in cash. I have no issue with a company saying they only take cash but it can be annoying if they don't make it known beforehand.

I don't get any cash from the work I do and I can't be arsed carrying cash about to end up with change that you don't use anymore.

I am glad that tapping your card in a bar/night club wasn't a thing when I was younger - that could wipe you out for the week on a Friday night.
Post by: naka on January 24, 2024, 11:49:22 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 24, 2024, 10:34:37 AMI don't think I know any chinese takeaways that do card.
wife says she doesnt know too may hair dressers who take the card

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2024, 12:01:01 PM
Quote from: naka on January 24, 2024, 11:49:22 AM

Depends were you go I suppose, wife always uses card, card machines were not about when I went to the barbers lol

Post by: Square Ball on January 24, 2024, 12:02:05 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2024, 10:28:31 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on January 24, 2024, 10:27:49 AMA lot of take outs on the Ormeau road only take cash. Personally I try to use cash mostly but always have the card in reserve.

Are you paid in cash?

Nope, are many paid in cash?
Post by: AustinPowers on January 24, 2024, 12:21:26 PM
Quote from: clonian on January 24, 2024, 11:07:17 AMI don't understand the big issue with having to use your card to pay for something if you have used your card to withdraw cash before that. If you're getting paid in cash fair enough but the majority of people aren't paid in cash. I have no issue with a company saying they only take cash but it can be annoying if they don't make it known beforehand.

I don't get any cash from the work I do and I can't be arsed carrying cash about to end up with change that you don't use anymore.

I am glad that tapping your card in a bar/night club wasn't a thing when I was younger - that could wipe you out for the week on a Friday night.

I'll have it!  ;D

I find it's alwsys handy  to have loose change around the house or car.. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2024, 12:32:06 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 24, 2024, 12:21:26 PM
Quote from: clonian on January 24, 2024, 11:07:17 AMI don't understand the big issue with having to use your card to pay for something if you have used your card to withdraw cash before that. If you're getting paid in cash fair enough but the majority of people aren't paid in cash. I have no issue with a company saying they only take cash but it can be annoying if they don't make it known beforehand.

I'll have it!  ;D

I find it's alwsys handy  to have loose change around the house or car..

Handy to have 1ps 2ps and 5ps in your pocket, car or house is about as handy as a slap in the gub lol!

I've always cash in the wallet, but I'll use the card every time when at the shop, cash is mainly used for tips, don't do takeaways (very rarely) so wouldn't be lost there, and the local Indian takeaway (eventually, though sometimes card machine isnt working lol) has a machine.

Probably best use cash most when away on Hols as I can budget it better, take a grand in Euros and see where that takes me! But hate when pocket is filled with coins..

If I started getting things cheaper using cash I'll use it
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 24, 2024, 01:11:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2024, 12:01:01 PM
Quote from: naka on January 24, 2024, 11:49:22 AM

Depends were you go I suppose, wife always uses card, card machines were not about when I went to the barbers lol

Cards, cash, my wife's doesn't mind. She'll make it disappear either way.
Post by: Taylor on January 24, 2024, 01:29:39 PM
For small independent local shops I would try to use cash.

For the larger/corporate businesses I use card
Post by: Norm-Peterson on January 25, 2024, 11:25:36 PM
I use card when using a self checkout which is 75% of the time. I use them in supermarkets as I don't like small talk with cashier's.
If I go to somewhere like a petrol station I use cash, I don't trust cards to work as I have had bad experiences in the past with chips not working. It is not worth the embarrassment so I use cash on those occasions.
I recall once in Toomebridge, Co. Antrim I got diesel and went in to pay and realised I had brought the wrong credit card with me so I had no way to pay. I had to give the cashier my phone to prove that I would return with the money. I would have thought she would have trusted me to pay as I was a regular customer.
Post by: illdecide on January 26, 2024, 08:57:31 AM
Yes, card is handy. No doubt in that but what a lot of you don't see is the small businesses who are charged a fortune by the banks for transactions. The tips in bars and restaurants are gone now too so as much as it's handy for the punter all you're doing in making the banks richer and eventually closing the small businesses. In 10-20 years time there will not be a small business open anywhere, they simply can't afford the high wages (min wage is £11:50 p/h soon. Anything they make is paid back to government in tax and VAT.
Go to Tesco and other major Supermarkets and they're all pushing you down the self-service route and as time goes they reduce the amount of self-service that uses cash too forcing you to pay by card or stand in the long queue, eventually there will be only a handful of people working in these stores just to stack shelves etc. Taking cash out of society is wrong and a lot of people are suffering for it but it's handy as feck for us the punters
Post by: Keyser soze on January 26, 2024, 09:41:51 AM
Supermarkets and other small businesses esp bars and restaurants cannott get enough people to work for them, high wages or not.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 26, 2024, 10:18:41 AM
Spoke to staff at local Spar and and they brought in 3 self checkouts, they have employed more people, self checkouts not having a knock on effect with staffing.

Post by: AustinPowers on January 26, 2024, 11:24:32 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 26, 2024, 08:57:31 AMYes, card is handy. No doubt in that but what a lot of you don't see is the small businesses who are charged a fortune by the banks for transactions. The tips in bars and restaurants are gone now too so as much as it's handy for the punter all you're doing in making the banks richer and eventually closing the small businesses. In 10-20 years time there will not be a small business open anywhere, they simply can't afford the high wages (min wage is £11:50 p/h soon. Anything they make is paid back to government in tax and VAT.
Go to Tesco and other major Supermarkets and they're all pushing you down the self-service route and as time goes they reduce the amount of self-service that uses cash too forcing you to pay by card or stand in the long queue, eventually there will be only a handful of people working in these stores just to stack shelves etc. Taking cash out of society is wrong and a lot of people are suffering for it but it's handy as feck for us the punters

Totally agree. Every time  you pay by card , a bank is making  money. 

I never use  self service tills. Not that I be in the big stores very often anyway , but the smaller  shops  have them now too. I'd rather queue for a few minutes than  use them.

I have noticed  the amount of cash checkouts decreasing though in big stores . More and  more card only.  They  will all eventually become card only .  I won't go into   a shop that refuses cash. But  in time, if people  just begrudgingly  accept card only, and shops are allowed to legally refuse cash  , then  it will  disappear quicker.
Post by: the_daddy on January 26, 2024, 12:00:36 PM
The banks get everyone, every way. A shopowner told me the rates were cheaper for him to use his own cash to fill the in-store ATM, and keep the ATM free, than it was to lodge it in the bank. However, if I'm expected to pay to withdraw cash from an ATM then why should I take the hit rather than the retailer? It's probably at the stage that card payments need to be factored into the price and give discount accordingly for cash.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 26, 2024, 12:34:11 PM
Quote from: the_daddy on January 26, 2024, 12:00:36 PMThe banks get everyone, every way. A shopowner told me the rates were cheaper for him to use his own cash to fill the in-store ATM, and keep the ATM free, than it was to lodge it in the bank. However, if I'm expected to pay to withdraw cash from an ATM then why should I take the hit rather than the retailer? It's probably at the stage that card payments need to be factored into the price and give discount accordingly for cash.
F**king hate those charges on the ATMs. Refuse to pay them. I'll walk 1/2 a mile to get another machine than pay £1.25 to withdraw my own money.
I tend to be more card now. To the extent it's a nightmare getting £1's for afterschool/ clubs etc. got one of those new thin wallets with no room for coins so rarely have cash at all. Keep the shrapnel in the car for parking/ tolls etc. love the factor bars are card now. Saves a lot of hassle!!
Post by: thebigfella on January 26, 2024, 12:38:04 PM
What's the comparison with the transaction fees vs all the other hidden costs with dealing with cash?

Having to have use 2 staff at a time to lodge cash into a bank account, storing cash until it's lodged, insurance premiums for holding cash on premises and transporting to bank, transport etc.... are all hidden costs that amount up.

No doubt the "payment providers" are making money but then again they are accruing a portion of the risk from electronic payment processing. With cash until it's lodged, then risk is all on the business.
Post by: Taylor on January 26, 2024, 02:56:57 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 26, 2024, 12:34:11 PM
Quote from: the_daddy on January 26, 2024, 12:00:36 PMThe banks get everyone, every way. A shopowner told me the rates were cheaper for him to use his own cash to fill the in-store ATM, and keep the ATM free, than it was to lodge it in the bank. However, if I'm expected to pay to withdraw cash from an ATM then why should I take the hit rather than the retailer? It's probably at the stage that card payments need to be factored into the price and give discount accordingly for cash.
F**king hate those charges on the ATMs. Refuse to pay them. I'll walk 1/2 a mile to get another machine than pay £1.25 to withdraw my own money.
I tend to be more card now. To the extent it's a nightmare getting £1's for afterschool/ clubs etc. got one of those new thin wallets with no room for coins so rarely have cash at all. Keep the shrapnel in the car for parking/ tolls etc. love the factor bars are card now. Saves a lot of hassle!!

This + 1000
I would walk a mile rather than pay to take my own money out.

Robbing fucks
Post by: AustinPowers on January 26, 2024, 03:20:47 PM
Quote from: Taylor on January 26, 2024, 02:56:57 PM

This + 1000

Robbing fucks

Yeah, same here

Cash withdrawals in the Post office   are free though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 26, 2024, 03:40:47 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 26, 2024, 03:20:47 PM

This + 1000

Robbing fucks

Yeah, same here

Aye plenty Post offices open in the town around midnight when you run out of cash and don't want to pay by card at the pub, so walk a mile to find one to come back and pub is closed lol
Post by: AustinPowers on January 26, 2024, 05:48:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 26, 2024, 03:40:47 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 26, 2024, 03:20:47 PM

This + 1000

Robbing fucks

Yeah, same here

Aye plenty Post offices open in the town around midnight when you run out of cash and don't want to pay by card at the pub, so walk a mile to find one to come back and pub is closed lol

Is that  how you got away with   buying a round of drinks?  ;D
Post by: gallsman on January 26, 2024, 08:58:07 PM

This + 1000

Robbing fucks

"Robbing fucks". Catch a grip ffs.

It's like any other service you pay for. Take it out of the bank for free. Can't be arsed to go to the bank, or aren't carrying the cash to cover your needs after hours? Pay for the convenience.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 26, 2024, 09:36:59 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 26, 2024, 08:58:07 PM

This + 1000

Robbing fucks

It's like any other service you pay for. Take it out of the bank for free. Can't be arsed to go to the bank, or aren't carrying the cash to cover your needs after hours? Pay for the convenience.

No I understand it's a service. I'm just saying, I make a point of avoiding it. I know the logic might not make a lot of sense given I'd have easier options to save 1.25, but I never claimed to be logical.
Post by: AustinPowers on February 01, 2024, 02:04:57 PM
Question for those who  rarely or never use cash....

Would you  use cash more to pay for goods/shopping  if you were getting a discount?

Here's a video from the US , with  businesses offering  discount  (some up to 10%) to customers if they pay in cash, as  it  works out cheaper for  them without  bank charges

Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 01, 2024, 02:47:31 PM
Thats daft, everyone would do something different if it worked out cheaper, but it will be a cashless society soon enough
Post by: Taylor on February 01, 2024, 03:52:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 26, 2024, 08:58:07 PM

This + 1000

Robbing fucks

Absolutely robbing fucks - £1.25 for an automated transaction?

I gauge robbing fucks on if they are fleecing people or not (same as any product or service I purchase or decide not to for the above reason).
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 01, 2024, 03:57:11 PM
Someone has to pay for the upkeep of the automation, the filling it, the supplying it, the maintenance of it, making and it and so on ..

I'd be more concerned with interest rates and what you actually pay for a mortgage over 25/30 years! The bastids
Post by: thebigfella on February 01, 2024, 04:40:40 PM
As I said, there are loads of hidden costs and risks if dealing with cash, and when not evading tax. I'd like someone to do a realistic comparison, and not just the usual hyperbole about how a the payment providers are screwing them.

Yes I want a cash discount if you are going to avoid putting its through the books as one you are not paying VAT and should not be collecting it etc....

Post by: AustinPowers on February 01, 2024, 06:10:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 01, 2024, 02:47:31 PMThats daft, everyone would do something different if it worked out cheaper, but it will be a cashless society soon enough

It will be with that  attitude   ;)
Post by: marty34 on February 01, 2024, 06:21:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 01, 2024, 02:47:31 PMThats daft, everyone would do something different if it worked out cheaper, but it will be a cashless society soon enough

Apart from queue at a Go Service Station.  ;D
Post by: AustinPowers on March 16, 2024, 06:11:21 PM
Tesco and Sainsbury's  card machines and contactless facilities  are fecked .

People are  far too reliant on technology . Maybe this will encourage  more people to use cash

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-68584235 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-68584235)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 16, 2024, 06:19:33 PM
Sure it's do hard to get cash these days, hence it drives the amount of spend on cards.
Post by: AustinPowers on March 20, 2024, 12:30:21 PM
Tesco and Sainsbury's affected recently, then Mc Donalds. Now, it's  Greggs  who are affected by   card payment outages

I don't get why  they needed to shut  some stores  though. I mean , is  cash no longer  considered legal tender?  :o

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-68614636
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 20, 2024, 12:46:10 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 20, 2024, 12:30:21 PMTesco and Sainsbury's affected recently, then Mc Donalds. Now, it's  Greggs  who are affected by   card payment outages

I don't get why  they needed to shut  some stores  though. I mean , is  cash no longer  considered legal tender?  :o

If you are running a business and you are losing a third of your custom because they haven't any cash on them your business will lose a lot of money

During 2021 there were 23.1 million consumers who used cash only once a month or not at all, a significant increase from 13.7 million consumers the previous year. At the same time, there were 1.1 million consumers who mainly used cash when doing their day-to-day shopping.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2024, 02:06:01 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 20, 2024, 12:30:21 PMTesco and Sainsbury's affected recently, then Mc Donalds. Now, it's  Greggs  who are affected by   card payment outages

Read the article. These aren't old style tills. It says the till display had an error which meant none of the stock items were displayed on the touchscreen so it wasn't just a payment issue, it was also a product selection issue before even getting to payment. There is little in the way of a plan B for companies when their tech lies down as most stock doesn't even have a price on it nowadays
Post by: LeoMc on March 20, 2024, 10:03:03 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2024, 02:06:01 PM

Read the article. These aren't old style tills. It says the till display had an error which meant none of the stock items were displayed on the touchscreen so it wasn't just a payment issue, it was also a product selection issue before even getting to payment. There is little in the way of a plan B for companies when their tech lies down as most stock doesn't even have a price on it nowadays

If is was simply a payment issue, those without cash could go old skool and get cash.
Post by: thebigfella on March 20, 2024, 11:38:00 PM
There are PCI DSS 4.0 requirements which much be adopted before 1st April, otherwise you would lose your PCI Compliance and in turn creates a lots of headaches plus potential financial penalties.

Taking a complete stab in the dark I'd guess the offending updates (which caused the outages) could be related to the usual last minute "PCI compliance change", despite having 2 years, being rushed out the door. Can't see it being a Payment Gateway provider issue as they all would have significant redundancy.
Post by: tonto1888 on March 21, 2024, 07:45:40 AM
I generally only use cash to pay my tattooist