Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

Very bad. Dunno what to say. Peter Canavan seems pissed.

Derryman forever

Ye are not pissed now.
Great 2nd half.

Quarterbackk

Excellent second half.  How can this management team leave Mc Curry on the bench.....

NotedObserver

Quote from: Quarterbackk on February 24, 2024, 09:18:00 PMExcellent second half.  How can this management team leave Mc Curry on the bench.....

McCurry on the bench surely isn't tactical I hope. Mayo v poor and trying players but great to see a step up in intensity in the second half. Love to see Oguz go at players as got the size and speed. Conn a distracting player at times. Cullen brought something to the second half and one the new fellas who brings a bit of size

Keeping 1/2 players up front really worked wonders in the second half.

Conn won a couple of frees from long balls in. Darragh was on fire today, won nearly every ball in, and sometimes one-handed. With another ref, the opposition would have built up a rack of yellows or worse on Darragh.

The defence though really stepped up in the second half and were far less passive. Harrassed Mayo and turned the ball over repeatedly which sucked the life out of Mayo. Big Kennedy was prominent second half and dominated the middle third.

Derryman forever

Any word on how Young O'Donnel is.
Hope the injury is not too bad.

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Encouraging second-half last night. McCurry really added to the attack but there was an intensity and focus throughout the team. For the first time in a while Tyrone looked like they knew what they were trying to do. Hard games coming up but something to build on there.

Hope O'Donnell is OK, looked nasty. He has been showing up well so far too.

southtyronegael

Very heartened by that second  half. Team had shape,aggression, moved the ball much quicker especially with  the foot. Needs to be our template  going forward.never want to see another  half of football like the first half, particularly our attack.

Don't think I've seen it mentioned but thought Petey Harte put in a serious shift yesterday. Best I've seen him play in a long time.

Mikhailov

Quote from: southtyronegael on February 25, 2024, 10:09:26 AMVery heartened by that second  half. Team had shape,aggression, moved the ball much quicker especially with  the foot. Needs to be our template  going forward.never want to see another  half of football like the first half, particularly our attack.

Very unfair to blame our attack in the first half when the build up is slow & ponderous.
The difference in the second half with quicker ball to the forward line and more pace in the middle third was key.

Quote from: Mikhailov on February 26, 2024, 02:57:11 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on February 25, 2024, 10:09:26 AMVery heartened by that second  half. Team had shape,aggression, moved the ball much quicker especially with  the foot. Needs to be our template  going forward.never want to see another  half of football like the first half, particularly our attack.

Very unfair to blame our attack in the first half when the build up is slow & ponderous.
The difference in the second half with quicker ball to the forward line and more pace in the middle third was key.
The most sensible comment I have read here in a while.  We started the game with a forward line full of midfielders and half backs, even then we failed to supply them quick. We finished with a forward line and we supplied them quick.  Quick is the most underused shout in gaelic football these days...

southtyronegael

Would  love to see a bigger unit in the full forward line to compliment mc curry/canavan. Either of mc Shane, mattie donnelly or mc gleenan would  be worth a go when available.

ClubScene13

Quote from: southtyronegael on February 27, 2024, 11:33:52 AMWould  love to see a bigger unit in the full forward line to compliment mc curry/canavan. Either of mc Shane, mattie donnelly or mc gleenan would  be worth a go when available.

Wouldn't have McShane on the radar again until your shown otherwise. What's the craic with McShane has been asked some times in the last few years.

square_ball

From what we've seen of McGleenan so far I'm not sure he is ready yet either for that level.

Mikhailov

The possibility of Tyrone having 3 out and out forwards starting is remote, to say the least.

Only one starter v Galway (Darragh) and the same v Mayo until needs must and Dazzler entered the fray and immediately we all could see the difference.

I think that will be it. Two at most. Dooher was shouting constantly at McCurry last Saturday to trek back as that is what he expects.

The other lads (Daly, Kilpatrick, Oguz, Devlin, O'Donnell, Kennedy, Harte, etc) are essentially middle third players who contribute a lot to the team and are a necessity in the Dooher game plan.

But I cannot see more than 2 out and out forwards ever starting (if even 2) - I honestly hope I am wrong but I can't see it.