Money, Dublin and the GAA

Started by IolarCoisCuain, October 04, 2016, 07:27:37 PM

dublin7

Quote from: mayoman dan on December 01, 2018, 02:03:34 PM

Did you go to the Mayo gaa team dinner in the Shelbourne hotel in DUBLIN last week? It's not like you had to spend much money following the team this summer

Doubt you had to spend much either....ya know seen as ye get more home games than everyone else

It's expensive following the dubs. They always reach the finals in league All Ireland and then the added expense of celebrating All Irelands

dublin7

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on December 01, 2018, 08:33:12 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on November 30, 2018, 10:01:51 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 30, 2018, 09:43:48 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on November 30, 2018, 09:14:00 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 30, 2018, 08:53:38 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on November 30, 2018, 07:43:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 30, 2018, 05:07:24 PM
Was looking at this article. No one from Dublin with all it's wealth of young talent feels there is a need to try their hand at the Aussie game?

http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/293096?fbclid=IwAR31Vc7NpjWJYoanPhoj7Urqw4ez60G3y7_TlRzjX5P7KbCgWCXjSLWekZs
Read it again.James Madden from Ballyboden signed for Brisbane.

One! Feck sake Leitrim even heric ave one lad doing trials!

Over the years Kevin Devine, Sean McGuinness, Declan O'Mahony, Karl Dias, Brian and David Stynes have played Aussie Rules.Ciaran Kilkenny played for a couple months but was homesick. Jack McCaffrey was over for a trial but wasn't interested in pursing a career in Oz. Eric Lowndes, Kevin Nolan, Cian O'Sullivan, James McCarthy, Cormac Costello, Gavin Burke, Shane Carthy and Niall Scully would had trials at various stages.

From your list and the list in the Article, it looks like Aussie Rule option has faded as a decent option for the young Dublin footballer in comparison to being a professional sportsman in their home town?

None of the Mayo lads have any perks/cars etc?

Did you go to the Mayo gaa team dinner in the Shelbourne hotel in DUBLIN last week? It's not like you had to spend much money following the team this summer
Did you get outside the M50 all summer?

It's a scary world out there
On the contrary I find most people are friendly and polite. Maybe you need to look at yourself and your behaviour if you think the world is such a frightening place

Quote from: dublin7 on December 02, 2018, 05:52:30 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on December 01, 2018, 08:33:12 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on November 30, 2018, 10:01:51 PM
Was looking at this article. No one from Dublin with all it's wealth of young talent feels there is a need to try their hand at the Aussie game?

http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/293096?fbclid=IwAR31Vc7NpjWJYoanPhoj7Urqw4ez60G3y7_TlRzjX5P7KbCgWCXjSLWekZs

Over the years Kevin Devine, Sean McGuinness, Declan O'Mahony, Karl Dias, Brian and David Stynes have played Aussie Rules.Ciaran Kilkenny played for a couple months but was homesick. Jack McCaffrey was over for a trial but wasn't interested in pursing a career in Oz. Eric Lowndes, Kevin Nolan, Cian O'Sullivan, James McCarthy, Cormac Costello, Gavin Burke, Shane Carthy and Niall Scully would had trials at various stages.

From your list and the list in the Article, it looks like Aussie Rule option has faded as a decent option for the young Dublin footballer in comparison to being a professional sportsman in their home town?

None of the Mayo lads have any perks/cars etc?

Did you get outside the M50 all summer?

It's a scary world out there
On the contrary I find most people are friendly and polite. Maybe you need to look at yourself and your behaviour if you think the world is such a frightening place
Not really
I'm still waiting to see the gaa invest a bit of money into schools gaa and small clubs

TheGreatest

This thread still going, latest gripe I( of course from a Mayo fan) only one Dublin player trials for Aussie Rules.

Couldn't make it up...

Quote from: TheGreatest on December 03, 2018, 09:53:13 AM
This thread still going, latest gripe I( of course from a Mayo fan) only one Dublin player trials for Aussie Rules.

Couldn't make it up...

Yeah you could not make it up, they know where the real gravy train is anymore.

mup

Quote from: dublin7 on December 02, 2018, 05:49:38 PM

Doubt you had to spend much either....ya know seen as ye get more home games than everyone else

It's expensive following the dubs. They always reach the finals in league All Ireland and then the added expense of celebrating All Irelands

Always? No they don't.

You have more or less admitted in writing that you've jumped on the bandwagon.

only when the GAA and government funded the Dublin gaa machine and forgot about the counties meant to compete with them

Right, I will bite. Which Dublin players are professional? You know, make their living by playing for Dublin

dublin7

Quote from: mup on December 04, 2018, 10:41:11 PM

Always? No they don't.

Well in the last 4 years it's been league final and All Ireland final. I didn't realise when you talk about current spending you expected Dublin fans to go back 5 years.

TheGreatest

Quote from: dublin7 on December 05, 2018, 06:33:57 PM
Quote from: mup on December 04, 2018, 10:41:11 PM

Always? No they don't.

Well in the last 4 years it's been league final and All Ireland final. I didn't realise when you talk about current spending you expected Dublin fans to go back 5 years.

And being a dual fan, its quite expensive, plenty of days out and Dublin is one of the most expensive Cities in the world. I always spend a few bob on matches home or away.