Recommend An Irish Bar In NYC For Sport On TV And Craic

Started by galwayman, September 15, 2010, 03:09:31 AM

Hi.
I will be in New York next weekend.
I've been before but have actually never gone to any of the Irish bars...
This time though I would like to go to a bar to watch some of the games on Saturday & Sunday (Premiership, Magners & of course the AI football final).
Can anyone recommend a good bar where i (will be on my own) can watch these games and where the atmosphere would be decent - as I would probably wait on after the games for a few bevvies as it will be my last night in NYC.
Thanks

where are you staying, how many of ye are there and will you be wanting fed?

Staying in Hilton garden inn on west 35th street.just myself and no food necessary.cheers

dec

http://www.premiumsportsinc.com/venues.html

Search Results

Bar/Venue    Playwright 49th Street
Address    202 W.49th St (Between 7th & B'way)
City    Manhattan, NY 10019
Phone    212-262-9229
Website    www.playwrightirishpub.com
Distance    0.87 miles (approx.) [map]

Bar/Venue    Patrick Kavanaghs
Address    497 3rd Avenue
City    Manhattan, NY 10016
Phone    212-889-4304
Distance    1.25 miles (approx.) [map]

Bar/Venue    McCormack's
Address    365 3rd Avenue
City    Manhattan, NY 10016
Phone    212-683-0911
Website    www.mccormacks.net
Distance    1.25 miles (approx.) [map]

Bar/Venue    Mulligan's (Hoboken)
Address    159 1st Street
City    Hoboken, NJ 07030
Phone    201-876-4101
Website    www.mulligansonfirst.com
Distance    2.2 miles (approx.) [map]

Bar/Venue    Parlour, The
Address    250 West 86th St (near Broadway)
City    Manhattan, NY 10024
Phone    212-580-8923
Website    www.theparlour.com
Distance    2.32 miles (approx.) [map]

Bar/Venue    Kinsale Tavern
Address    1672 3rd Avenue & 95 Street
City    Manhattan, NY 10128
Phone    212-348-4370
Website    www.kinsale.com
Distance    2.95 miles (approx.) [map]

mccormacks or the kinsale would be your best bet, but you could hop on a subway (NUMBER 7) from times square or grand central  out to woodside or sunnyside (15 minutes) where there would be more people watching. the starting gate in woodside or the gaslight on queens boulevard both would be good spots with a few heads knocking around.

118cmal

Quote from: galwayman on September 16, 2010, 12:50:57 AM
Staying in Hilton garden inn on west 35th street.just myself and no food necessary.cheers

Galwayman, stayed here myself in June.  Good choice, great hotel in a great location.  Few Irish bars around there that I watched the world cup in.  To be honest I didn't find any of them to have a great atmosphere.

superblues

would head out to queens starting gate will be packed for the all ireland should be good craic in there

I'd have to recommend McCormacks for the game tomorrow- would be there myself if I could.