TV Show recommendations

Started by Archie Mitchell, June 23, 2009, 11:32:19 PM

Quote from: aontroim on September 11, 2017, 09:58:14 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 02, 2017, 08:32:51 AM
Narcos 3 was released on Netflix yesterday anyone had a peek yet? Not sure how it'll work without Pablo.

Series 3 was fantastic.  Lack of Pablo didn't let it down in the slightest.
Absolutely fantastic series

Quote from: Gold on September 18, 2017, 10:55:42 PM
Quote from: aontroim on September 11, 2017, 09:58:14 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 02, 2017, 08:32:51 AM
Narcos 3 was released on Netflix yesterday anyone had a peek yet? Not sure how it'll work without Pablo.

Series 3 was fantastic.  Lack of Pablo didn't let it down in the slightest.
Absolutely fantastic series

Thanks lads...on the list...

The Deuce - new on HBO - from the creators of the Wire. I'm sure a few here will be interested.

QuoteThe Deuce tells the story of the legalization and ensuing rise of the porn industry in New York beginning in the 1970s. Themes explored include the violence of the drug epidemic and the resulting real estate booms and busts that coincided with the change.

First feature length episode is a slow burn. It's almost cocky in how willing they are to not extend themselves in an effort grab you. It being the Wire creator should tell you immediately it's not going to be something the titillation chasers here are after no matter the synopsis.

Waiting for the football to be half over so I can fast forward through it and I accidentally turned on Eastenders. Ian Beale appears to have somehow passed out Cathy Beale (in age terms).   

mrdeeds

Mr Mercedes starting tonight on RTE1. Anyone watch and recommend?

Quote from: mrdeeds on September 19, 2017, 09:06:57 PM

I'm 6 episodes in.. it's good.. I'd recommend it.. it's slow paced but I like it, id reccomend you don't watch it with your mother ( you'll see why if you watch it) the main actor in it other than brendan Gleson is a creepy look alike of Stephen Cluxton ..

I like Season 3 of Narcos better than the other two to be honest. I always preferred Pena as a more thoughtful character who is much more aware of the shite going on and yet knows he needs to get in the mud.
Season 4 had a major issue already with a location scout murdered in Mexico. I am surprised in that I thought they wouldn´t go into hot zones or at least have serious security with any crew if they did.

Re The Deuce David Simon is sure to have a slow burn classic. Plus Maggie Gyllenhall is a class actress and an exec producer along with Franco. Solid scene setter in episode one.

Thought the same with Vinyl and the hoors cancelled it.

Gorging on old Curb your Enthusiasms in preparation for the new series. Gloriously funny show.

Haven't seen anyone mention it on here yet but watched the first few episodes of The Sinner tonight and it is very good so far.

Quote from: leenie on September 19, 2017, 09:39:52 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on September 19, 2017, 09:06:57 PM

I'm 6 episodes in.. it's good.. I'd recommend it.. it's slow paced but I like it, id reccomend you don't watch it with your mother ( you'll see why if you watch it) the main actor in it other than brendan Gleson is a creepy look alike of Stephen Cluxton ..

You flatter Cluxton, this psycho  in Mr Mercedes has way more personality :)

Gleeson disappoints in parts with the staged aspects of the angry grumpy jackeen character who's on a permanent hangover. Even the grumpiest most downtrodden drunken dub has a bit of humour,  let's say he's no Rashers Tierney.

Overall it's good and comes in currently in second place to The Deuce on my viewing list.

Very promising opening from the new Star Trek on Netflix. Not a Treky per say here but enjoy a bit of sci fi and the effects and story are well done. No messing aroubd and you get straight into it with tge odd bit of flashback.

Just finished Narcos season 3. Some show! Much better than the first 2 seasons.

False Flag on Fox is pretty good.  Israeli espionage show, subtitled.

BBC Earth have released a trailer for Blue Planet II. If it's half as good as Planet Earth II it'll still be exceptional.