The Late Late show

Started by T O Hare, January 30, 2009, 01:50:33 PM

Quote from: Itchy on October 03, 2021, 10:09:59 AM
To qualify for soup taking joke you have to have been one thing and changed to another. Geldoff has always been an unsufferable west brit know all and hypocrite. I'm not sure what food type should be associated with that.

I'm interested to know why you think he's a West Brit.  I've never really taken an interest in Geldof or his music, and  other than him being involved with Live Aid and hearing him on  the odd interview, I don't know too much about him, his background or  his beliefs.

I dont know how to put images up here but Google geldoff & thatcher, Google geldoff and 1916 rising and then see for yourself. Google geldoff handing back freedom of Dublin in protest but no issue holding onto his knighthood when you tbink of some of the scumbags that held that title. He has nothing but contempt for Ireland.

Quote from: Itchy on October 03, 2021, 12:45:06 PM
I dont know how to put images up here but Google geldoff & thatcher, Google geldoff and 1916 rising and then see for yourself. Google geldoff handing back freedom of Dublin in protest but no issue holding onto his knighthood when you tbink of some of the scumbags that held that title. He has nothing but contempt for Ireland.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishcentral.com/news/famine-beginning-of-irish-nation-geldof.amp

The Republic of Telly show could not make this thread any more Irish

sid waddell

Just a tip, folks.

"West Brit" is not an argument or even a good barb. It only ever makes the person who aims it look like the gobshite.

If you want to persuade people about why they should dislike somebody or something, using "West Brit" about them as a substitute for an argument is an automatic fail.

Again, Sir Bob is a national treasure.

...in your opinion.

West Brit works well for me in that i know exactly what the person is trying to say when they use it

sid waddell

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on October 03, 2021, 08:31:58 PM
...in your opinion.

West Brit works well for me in that i know exactly what the person is trying to say when they use it
Aiming "West Brit" at somebody is ethnonationalist name calling which demands a voluntary ossification of the mind and a crushing conformity and deference to an imaginary, fake, pastiche version of "Irishness" which is in fact viciously anti-Irish, because it rejects all the diversity and non-conformity which encompasses real Irishness.

It's the exact same as Trump and supporters of the party of Q shrieking "they hate America" at (insert the name of any non-Trumpist/s).

Sir Bob is a far greater Irishman than any of the pastiche Irishness merchants, he's one of our greatest real Irishmen.

Genuinely sorry i responded now. Ive read that twice and now my head hurts. Ill know for again

Quote from: sid waddell on October 03, 2021, 08:43:21 PM
...in your opinion.

Aiming "West Brit" at somebody is ethnonationalist name calling which demands a voluntary ossification of the mind and a crushing conformity and deference to an imaginary, fake, pastiche version of "Irishness" which is in fact viciously anti-Irish, because it rejects all the diversity and non-conformity which encompasses real Irishness.

It's the exact same as Trump and supporters of the party of Q shrieking "they hate America" at (insert the name of any non-Trumpist/s).

Sir Bob is a far greater Irishman than any of the pastiche Irishness merchants, he's one of our greatest real Irishmen.

Bringing Trump into the Late Late thread! Sid strikes again. Obsessed.

sid waddell

Quote from: RedHand88 on October 03, 2021, 09:17:24 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on October 03, 2021, 08:43:21 PM
...in your opinion.

Bringing Trump into the Late Late thread! Sid strikes again. Obsessed.
What's the difference between Trump shrieking "they hate America" at the likes of AOC, Farage shrieking about Remainers being agents of an evil EU "empire" and lads here shrieking "West Brit" at Bob Geldof?

It's a serious question.

The answer of course, is there is none.

All of them are the scoundrelism of fake "patriots" with nothing to say and nothing to offer.

If you could offer a serious riposte as to why shrieking "West Brit" is in any way different to the poison that comes out of the mouths of Trump and Farage I'd be all ears.

Quote from: sid waddell on October 03, 2021, 09:36:24 PM
If you could offer a serious riposte as to why shrieking "West Brit" is in any way different to the poison that comes out of the mouths of Trump and Farage I'd be all ears.

Because it is true, and Farage and Trump are talking bollix?

sid waddell

Quote from: armaghniac on October 03, 2021, 10:03:07 PM

That's not an argument. There's no reasoning there.

We all know the main "reason" Bob Geldof gets called a "West Brit" here and elsewhere is because he was fervently anti-PIRA.

Same reason Bono gets the same abuse from the same people.

Quote from: sid waddell on October 03, 2021, 10:44:40 PM

We all know the main "reason" Bob Geldof gets called a "West Brit" here and elsewhere is because he was fervently anti-PIRA.

Geldof left the country and moved to Britain first chance he got. You cannot say that of Bono.

sid waddell

Quote from: armaghniac on October 03, 2021, 11:06:50 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on October 03, 2021, 10:44:40 PM

Geldof left the country and moved to Britain first chance he got. You cannot say that of Bono.
So did half the country! And fair play to them!

Snapchap

This is the bit that sums Bob up for me - charging $100k to deliver a speech about ending poverty (the below taken from a newspaper article in Australia at the time):

ANTI-poverty campaigner Sir Bob Geldof has charged Australian organisers $100,000 to give a speech about world suffering.

Geldof, 54, spoke about the tragedy of Third World poverty and the failure of governments to combat the crisis at a Crown casino function in Melbourne on Thursday night.

But he charged about $100,000 for his troubles - a speakers fee that included the cost of luxury hotel rooms and first-class airfares.

Fellow activist, World Vision CEO the Reverend Tim Costello, spoke for free. An event insider said the Geldof payments, which included the costs of a minder, appeared hypocritical.