Hatchet Men In Soccer

Started by ONeill, December 11, 2015, 10:57:52 PM

In the 80s I don't think any GAA players could have done a chin up.

Tommy Smith and Paul Madeley; that is all.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 12, 2015, 10:07:23 PM
In the 80s I don't think any GAA players could have done a chin up.

Watch this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8zn6prYChI

A player from a famous GAA family appears near the end.

mikehunt

Quote from: 5 Sams on December 12, 2015, 01:30:29 AM
in fairness lads they were all puffs (excuse the 70s derogatory reference to effeminate people) compared to Mick Lyons, Brian Mullins, Páidí Sé, Ciaran Duff, McGilligan, Blaney....not to mention the Grimleys.

Not sure why you include Kieran Duff in that list, he was a cowardly thug who gave sly digs.

ziggy90

Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on December 12, 2015, 01:17:03 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 11, 2015, 11:33:40 PM
Norman Hunter was notorious.

I remember  a lad called Mark Dennis back in the 80s. Southampton and QPR if I remember  correctly
Mark Dennis is a great call, remember him at Southampton alright during the 80's, he was one hard b**tard for sure.

He played in the same Birmingham team as Tony Coton, Noel Blake, Robert Hopkins, Howard Gayle and Mick Harford. All hard as nails and very nasty with it. Kenny Samson wouldn't have got half of his England caps if Mark Dennis had even one screw tightened properly!!
Questions that shouldn't be asked shouldn't be answered

Tommy Smith was plain mental.  Hard and dirty.  Stuart Pearce was a hard f**ker too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dgzd7oHyeBY

Souness was a dirty, hard player. Lovely tackle here from his Rangers days.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygVgxYa3mlo

He also broke a Romania players jaw in a European tie at Anfield but its off camera.

My favourite tackle was Steve McMahon and Vinny Jones in that FA Cup final. Jones goes in late and hard, McMahon goes down but both players straight back up and get on with it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdsJnQrI-kU

Julian Dicks. Mental case. David Speedie was a nasty wee fecker as well.

Brave few Liverpool men so far...could do with one now :'(

ziggy90

Quote from: AZOffaly on December 14, 2015, 05:12:30 PM

Both former Birmingham players. A pattern emerging?  ;)
Questions that shouldn't be asked shouldn't be answered

Quote from: AZOffaly on December 14, 2015, 05:12:30 PM
David Speedie still plays now and then for an over 40's team in Finglas.
There's I guy in a place I work that plays with him.
He's a mad fcuker according to yer man.

Surprised no mention of Kevin Muscat.