GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 26, 2018, 11:04:28 PM

Title: Bord na Mona O’Byrne Cup 2019
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on September 26, 2018, 11:04:28 PM
The draws for the 2019 Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup have been made tonight by the Leinster Council.
In what is the only four team group, Group 1 sees Carlow facing Westmeath, Offaly and Kildare in the New Year, while in Group 2 Longford, Wicklow and Louth will all play each other.

Holders Meath are in Group 3 with John Sugrue's Laois side and Wexford.
Dublin have received a bye to the competition's semi-final stage.

2019 Bord na Mona O'Byrne Cup draws:   Dates: Dec 8, Dec 15, Jan 5.

Dublin a bye to Semi-Final
Semi-finals Jan 12.
Final Jan 18/19

Round 1      8.12.2018

Carlow v Westmeath
Offaly v Kildare
Longford v Wicklow
Laois v Meath
Louth v Wexford

Round 2     15.12.2018

Westmeath v Offaly
Kildare v Carlow
Wicklow v Louth
Wexford v Laois
Meath v Longford

Round 3       5.1.2019

Carlow v Offaly
Westmeath v Kildare
Longford v Louth
WexfordvMeath
Wicklow v Laois

Semi-Finals    12.1.2019

FINAL     18/19.1.2019

Title: Re: Bord na Mona O’Byrne Cup 2019
Post by: les Antiques on November 29, 2018, 03:11:46 PM
Would have liked to have seen the Meath game played somewhere other  than Portlaoise particularly at this time of year. Lots of options around the county with the facilities required to host an O'Byrne Cup match of a December night .
Post by: The PRO on November 30, 2018, 08:38:44 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 29, 2018, 03:11:46 PM
Would have liked to have seen the Meath game played somewhere other  than Portlaoise particularly at this time of year. Lots of options around the county with the facilities required to host an O'Byrne Cup match of a December night .
It probably will be outside O'Moore Park. That's been the pattern for a few years now. It's on a Saturday. With it being Meath, Portarlington makes most sense.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 30, 2018, 12:05:26 PM
Quote from: The PRO on November 30, 2018, 08:38:44 AM
It probably will be outside O'Moore Park. That's been the pattern for a few years now. It's on a Saturday. With it being Meath, Portarlington makes most sense.
Knowing our county board it will probably be Crettyard
Post by: The Monument Road on November 30, 2018, 02:23:09 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 30, 2018, 12:05:26 PM
No better place outside OMP than Cretty. From your inference you have a gripe with Crettyards pitch
Post by: SCFC on November 30, 2018, 02:44:44 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on November 30, 2018, 02:23:09 PM
No better place outside OMP than Cretty. From your inference you have a gripe with Crettyards pitch
Whether the previous poster has a gripe with Crettyard or not, I don't know. But Port is the nearest end of the county to Meath. Why drag them to Cretty?
Post by: les Antiques on November 30, 2018, 03:10:32 PM
Leinster Gaa fixture list has it down for O'Moore Park Saturday week at 6pm
Post by: Don Draper on November 30, 2018, 04:08:01 PM
Quote from: SCFC on November 30, 2018, 02:44:44 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on November 30, 2018, 02:23:09 PM
Whether the previous poster has a gripe with Crettyard or not, I don't know. But Port is the nearest end of the county to Meath. Why drag them to Cretty?
I'd drag the f**kers to hell for Flynns shite back in 91.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 03, 2018, 12:33:46 AM
The 2019 O'Byrne Cup gets underway next weekend with four first round games taking place.
Eleven of the 12 Leinster counties are taking part, with All-Ireland champions Dublin entering at the semi-final stage on January 12. The final is scheduled for Friday, January 18 and is set to televised by TG4.
The confirmed fixtures to date are as follows:

Round 1

Saturday, December 8
Longford v Wicklow, Newtownforbes, 7pm
Laois v Meath, O'Moore Park, 6pm
Louth v Wexford, Louth venue
Sunday, December 9
Carlow v Westmeath, Netwatch Cullen Park, 2pm
Thursday, December 20
Offaly v Kildare, Offaly venue

Round 2

Saturday, December 15
Westmeath v Offaly, Westmeath venue
Kildare v Carlow, Kildare venue
Wicklow v Louth, Wicklow venue
Wexford v Laois, St Patrick's Park, 2pm
Meath v Longford, Ashbourne, 5pm

Round 3

Saturday, January 5
Carlow v Offaly, Carlow venue
Westmeath v Kildare, Westmeath venue
Longford v Louth, Longford venue
Wexford v Meath, Wexford venue
Wicklow v Laois, Wicklow venue
Post by: Jd on December 03, 2018, 09:59:25 AM
I think it has to be in Portlaoise cos the lights there are the only ones of hurling standard in the county. Football works with weaker lights.
Post by: SCFC on December 03, 2018, 02:26:03 PM
Quote from: Jd on December 03, 2018, 09:59:25 AM
I think it has to be in Portlaoise cos the lights there are the only ones of hurling standard in the county. Football works with weaker lights.
am I missing something? OByrne cup is football.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 03, 2018, 03:49:06 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 03, 2018, 02:26:03 PM
Quote from: Jd on December 03, 2018, 09:59:25 AM
am I missing something? OByrne cup is football.

It's one of the new rule changes for secondary competitions in football next year:

1.6b: All secondary football competitions, such as the O'Byrne and McKenna cups, shall make use of a sliotar. Optionally, teams may chose to use a sliotar in the first half and a big ball in the second. Hurls will not be permitted.

Seemingly it's to encourage counties like Kilkenny to play more football.
Post by: Jd on December 03, 2018, 07:18:04 PM
And that's what I get for posting before I put my brain in gear!!!  Nice to see that someone  actually reads the posts  on here
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 05, 2018, 12:36:59 PM
Any word on new additions to the Laois panel for the O'Byrne cup?
Post by: The PRO on December 05, 2018, 05:35:46 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on December 05, 2018, 12:36:59 PM
Any word on new additions to the Laois panel for the O'Byrne cup?
Infuriating that our county board or website wouldn't even throw up a panel or something. We don't expect a starting 15 or anything.

I see our county board PRO got Leinster PRO of the year award and well deserved but there is plenty of room for improvement in some areas.
Post by: redsetanta on December 05, 2018, 09:09:48 PM
The Laois Gaa website is an embarrassment. Fine for club fixtures but absolutely useless for inter county.
Post by: Blow-in on December 05, 2018, 11:04:14 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on December 05, 2018, 09:09:48 PM
The Laois Gaa website is an embarrassment. Fine for club fixtures but absolutely useless for inter county.

Made query few weeks ago. New site incoming seemingly.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 06, 2018, 01:32:39 AM
Quote from: Batman!!! on December 05, 2018, 11:04:14 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on December 05, 2018, 09:09:48 PM

Made query few weeks ago. New site incoming seemingly.

And not before time, it must be one of the worse county websites in Ireland.
Thank god for Laois Today and this forum, without them we would know very little about the goings on in the county.
Post by: SCFC on December 06, 2018, 08:50:10 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 06, 2018, 01:32:39 AM
it must be one of the worse county websites in Ireland.

How many new sites have they gone through by now? Dreadful site. Mind you, there's a few more bad ones out there too. Last time I looked Kildare's was very user unfriendly.
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 06, 2018, 08:52:24 AM
There's no incentive for a quality site as there is no money in it, especially now Laois Today are hovering up sponsorship from around the county on their site and fair play to them, they do a great job. Only for LaoisToday we would be in the dark completely.
Post by: SCFC on December 06, 2018, 09:04:25 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on December 06, 2018, 08:52:24 AM
There's no incentive for a quality site as there is no money in it, especially now Laois Today are hovering up sponsorship from around the county on their site and fair play to them, they do a great job. Only for LaoisToday we would be in the dark completely.
Hang on. It's our county's GAA website. It's nothing to do with sponsorship. All people expect is a basic site, results, fixtures and news kept up to date. It's not supposed to generate money. It's supposed to give us the basic updated information that most other county's GAA sites do.
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 06, 2018, 09:15:07 AM
Why shouldn't it though?

Prime advertising and make money for CB ?
Post by: Don Draper on December 06, 2018, 09:56:17 AM
Setting up a website is grand, its the maintenance that'll get you. Its a shame there's not an energetic youngster out there who would take it on. Also they need a new website provider, as the current lads are obviously shite.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 06, 2018, 11:38:08 AM

Here here. It is a breath of fresh air. A genuinely young, fresh and energetic Laois focused voice that seems to have its finger on the pulse of what is going on. I hope they are doing enough to keep them going as it is not an easy business. They make the Leinster look like a 19th century pamphlet. As for Offaly radio 3.....
Post by: SCFC on December 06, 2018, 11:56:42 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on December 06, 2018, 11:38:08 AM

Here here. It is a breath of fresh air. A genuinely young, fresh and energetic Laois focused voice that seems to have its finger on the pulse of what is going on. I hope they are doing enough to keep them going as it is not an easy business. They make the Leinster look like a 19th century pamphlet. As for Offaly radio 3.....
It's good alright but there's a fierce focus on it on the area from Portlaoise to Stradbally to Port. I'd say it barely registers in terms of the south and south west of the county.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on December 06, 2018, 12:33:32 PM
Any team news at all?
Post by: Blow-in on December 06, 2018, 07:22:56 PM
Aren't the teams announced on a Thursday night or Friday morning? Plenty of lads getting cranky coming towards Xmas
Post by: les Antiques on December 06, 2018, 07:36:10 PM
The starting team in full is: Scott Osbourne (Portarlington); Adam Campion (St Joseph's), Denis Booth (The Heath), Damien O'Connor (Timahoe); Stephen Attride (Killeshin), Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen), Robbie Piggot (Portarlington), John O'Loughlin (St Brigid's, Dublin), Brian Daly (St Joseph's); Marty Scully (Ballyroan-Abbey), David Conway (Arles-Kilcruise), Sean Byrne (Portarlington); Eoin Lowry (Killeshin), Gary Walsh (Ballylinan), Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 07, 2018, 01:38:05 AM
This is amazing, I couldn't have imagined this happening so soon after we hit the depths of Div.4. We have a lot to thank John Sugrue for, we are so lucky to have him in charge and long may it last...

Laois defender speaks about fierce competition for places on intercounty setup
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/12/06/laois-defender-speaks-about-fierce-competition-for-places-on-laois-setup/
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 07, 2018, 08:28:52 AM
I have to say I'm looking forward to Laois footballers in advance of the 2019 season, as I said before I think Sugrue has a very tough job to get us further along the road but I trust him as manager and I really feel he will improve our players.

I can already see it from the Portlaoise lads who went in with the county, they came back better players for being in with Laois which has not always been the case. I reckon any player who throws his lot in with Laois will only see benefits from it.

Post by: redsetanta on December 07, 2018, 12:36:43 PM
3 lads from Port starting. A long time since they had such representation on a Laois senior team.
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 07, 2018, 12:52:03 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on December 07, 2018, 12:36:43 PM
3 lads from Port starting. A long time since they had such representation on a Laois senior team.
Is that a good thing or a bad thing ?
Post by: redsetanta on December 07, 2018, 12:54:57 PM
Well it's good for Port. And the club will benefit because lads on the county team beings interest and more younglads in to the club. The players will also improve.
Post by: Chrimtain on December 07, 2018, 01:41:13 PM
Good to see young guys like Scott Osbourne, Adam Campion, Brian Daly, Marty Scully and Sean Byrne all starting at the weekend. Hopefully others will get opportunities in subsequent matches.

It would have been interesting to see the names of those who impressed John Sugrue during the recent divisional tournament and have made it onto the panel, provisionally or otherwise.

We are lucky to have someone like Sugrue in charge. Long may it continue.
Post by: Chrimtain on December 07, 2018, 02:15:05 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 07, 2018, 01:38:05 AM
This is amazing, I couldn't have imagined this happening so soon after we hit the depths of Div.4. We have a lot to thank John Sugrue for, we are so lucky to have him in charge and long may it last...

Laois defender speaks about fierce competition for places on intercounty setup
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/12/06/laois-defender-speaks-about-fierce-competition-for-places-on-laois-setup/

Great to see young guys make comments like this: "Personally I love the challenge and it's always been a dream to play for Laois so whether it's a home training on by myself or down at the club, I try to build on that and try to match the lads here beside me.

"It was a brilliant year last year, especially for my first year in. For me the best achievement was to actually get onto the panel and that was fantastic in itself.

"It's been a lot of work but it's something I wanted to do."

Hopefully Ruaidhrí C Fennell will continue to improve and eventually make the starting fifteen.
Post by: SCFC on December 07, 2018, 03:16:50 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on December 07, 2018, 12:52:03 PM
There's our Kildare poster again. Full of positivity for Laois.
It's the Byrne Cup ffs. If there was 15 Port lads it wouldn't matter. You try lads and see if they have something about them.
On Scully, wasn't he used as a forward before and didn't really make it? Now after a really good year at centre back for the club, he's picked as a forward again!
Post by: Butch Cassidy on December 07, 2018, 03:25:47 PM
Isn't Byrne from Port a back too? Remember him playing backs for Laois minors.

Interesting to hear Munnelly is back. Has to be one of the most committed Laois footballers we ever had
Post by: Laois fan on December 07, 2018, 03:51:19 PM
Bryne often plays midfield for port now,i wondering are they experimenting with new rules and the mark putting him half forward
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 07, 2018, 10:48:15 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 07, 2018, 03:16:50 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on December 07, 2018, 12:52:03 PM
There's our Kildare poster again. Full of positivity for Laois.
It's the Byrne Cup ffs. If there was 15 Port lads it wouldn't matter. You try lads and see if they have something about them.
On Scully, wasn't he used as a forward before and didn't really make it? Now after a really good year at centre back for the club, he's picked as a forward again!
I might be a lot of things but I'm not a Kildare man. The question i asked wasn't meant to have a negative spin on it .
Post by: High Fielder on December 08, 2018, 10:33:09 AM
I don't know what's worse. Being from Kildare or denying you're from Kildare  :-[ Only kidding Laoiseabu.

Did we not get penalised for training this time last year? Club Championship aside, and even that, I have no love for Gaelic football at this time of the year. It really is no gauge of a player or team's ability and I have no idea what we're doing playing inter county football in early December. Madness.

Anyway, we are where we are and the team is experimental. There are lads on that team who need to work a lot harder to make it at this level. I'm sure they know that, and if they don't, Sugrue will tell them in short order. Aside from that, individual rather than team performances are what matter so early in the season. You're looking for lads all the time, and this is some of those lads' chance to start showing well
Post by: on the hop on December 09, 2018, 09:53:44 AM
well that didn't go to well, I actually thought we might be a bit better when I saw the team selected. The game was over at half time and we had half a chance of a goal just before the break when Gary Walsh one on one with the keeper and he decided to chip and the ball and it floated over the bar. at least a goal might have made the second half interesting. 1-3 to 0-3 in the second half and I think there was no score for the last 15 or 16 minutes from either side which was possibly a better view of the game. A bit like Westmeath this time last year Meath looked a bit further ahead of us in at present, not surprising looking at some of their upcoming games in the league and the fact that their management are under a bit of pressure after under performing last year. They are going hard for this trophy reflected by the amount of regulars they played and bringing on the likes of graham reilly when we were trying new guys. it was also obvious that there regulars are a bit ahead in fitness than our ones that played. I think 24 players had a run and it was always going to be that we were going to lack a bit of shape. certainly the game and the conditions suited a bigger meath team who bottled us up constantly in attack even if the ref gave them a bit of lee way in terms of physical tackling. At the same time our forwards were awful considering we started four regular enough players, the lack of ball winner killed us and there was little or no link up play. if we don't move the ball fast in the forwards the three hand pass rule is going to kill us as we have come to rely on handpassing quickly like most teams on it.

on a night when no one really did themselves any justice, campion tried hard in the corner. its hard to make your debut and find yourself marking a fast corner forward with half the field to run into. in fairness he stuck to his task. The rest of the defence were at sea bar Timmons in patches. We were swamped at midfield and the forwards were really poor though it would be good to look at Byrne and Scully again. Byrne looks to have a bit about him. Interesting to see how big the panel is at the moment. We togged out 24, Fennell was injured from the programme, so it would be interesting to see what others are to could back. obviously the likes of donie, Begley and evan will appear along with hopefully the likes of frank Flanagan, lillis, Dillon, boyle and a few others from portlaoise but I wonder if any players from o dempseys are training with the panel. I dont know what the position is with others like eoin buggie, Kelly from st. joes, moore and murphy from port is.
Post by: High Fielder on December 09, 2018, 10:41:59 AM
We probably have the makings of a decent U20 team this year, and that will muddy the waters a little as far as the Seniors are concerned. I personally would like to see Sugrue having control of everything because not only would he do a better job, but he'd also see that there are lads at that level who have more potential than a lot who togged out last night. I hate being ruthless, and I know lads can improve, but for one reason or another, a lot of lads who togged last night will never make it at this level.
Post by: on the hop on December 09, 2018, 10:48:59 AM
we would also have the makings of a decent junior team, but we don't bother entering that competition anymore.
Post by: High Fielder on December 09, 2018, 10:57:24 AM
True, but I guess resources and finance dictate that. In all honesty, the GAA would need to get a grip of itself. It's ridiculous asking amateur players to prepare at this time of the year. The whole structure needs to be streamlined and properly thought out. There are too many demands being placed on players and we have to remember, they do this for the love of the game. When you see the likes of Daniel Flynn walking away, it puts into perspective how threadbare this organisation is. In an overall context, it generally (unless you're a Dublin player) makes no meaningful contribution to your life and fortune. It should be something for the GAA to think about, but instead they're too busy feathering their own nests.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 11, 2018, 01:02:14 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 03, 2018, 12:33:46 AM
The 2019 O'Byrne Cup gets underway next weekend with four first round games taking place.
Eleven of the 12 Leinster counties are taking part, with All-Ireland champions Dublin entering at the semi-final stage on January 12. The final is scheduled for Friday, January 18 and is set to televised by TG4.
The confirmed fixtures to date are as follows:

Round 2

Saturday, December 15
Westmeath v Offaly, Westmeath venue
Kildare v Carlow, Kildare venue
Wicklow v Louth, Wicklow venue
Wexford v Laois, St Patrick's Park, 2pm
Meath v Longford, Ashbourne, 5pm

Round 3

Saturday, January 5
Carlow v Offaly, Carlow venue
Westmeath v Kildare, Westmeath venue
Longford v Louth, Longford venue
Wexford v Meath, Wexford venue
Wicklow v Laois, Wicklow venue

Laois' O'Byrne Cup Round 2 clash with Wexford will now take place on Saturday at 2pm in Kennedy Park, New Ross (note change of venue).
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 13, 2018, 04:58:07 PM
Saturday's game now takes place in New Ross, and throw in is at 2pm.

(https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/48359942_1956016131185443_3727776921367347200_n.jpg?_nc_cat=108&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=fef28240b4c3c37c87773a38b66a01dc&oe=5C9E273F)

Meaney returns as Sugrue names Laois team to take on Wexford
https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaelic-games/353149/meaney-returns-as-sugrue-names-laois-team-to-take-on-wexford.html
Post by: TheGiantSquid on December 13, 2018, 08:11:01 PM
Darren Strong has opted out of the panel it seems.
Post by: Don Draper on December 13, 2018, 09:01:01 PM
Quote from: TheGiantSquid on December 13, 2018, 08:11:01 PM
A decent servant, but not surprising. He did some good service, always committed.
Post by: LooseCannon on December 13, 2018, 09:04:13 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 13, 2018, 09:01:01 PM
A decent servant, but not surprising. He did some good service, always committed.
Has a business on his hands as well, and a good one at that.
Seems to be going well judging by the number of clubs with DS sports gear. More luck to him.
I still maintain that his shot went wide though! Thankfully the umpire and I were in agreement!
Post by: Blow-in on December 14, 2018, 09:52:03 AM

Pushed out with no return button from what I've heard.
Post by: Toomanygaels on December 14, 2018, 10:27:20 AM
Quote from: Batman!!! on December 14, 2018, 09:52:03 AM

Pushed out with no return button from what I've heard.

Yes I heard the same. A number of players were cut from the panel over the last few days and he was one of them. Surprised that the management didn't wait till after the O'Bryne Cup to cut the panel.
Post by: Laois Rising on December 14, 2018, 10:37:27 AM
In Kerry, Peter Keane gave a number of long time servants the chop a few weeks back without even giving those players a prior phonecall to thanks them for their contributions over the years . Sets an example to the panel/those trying to make panel for next year. You have to earn your place on the county panel and if you don't those reach a certain standard then you will be shown the exit door. It also reminds those on panel for a number of years that their spot is not guaranteed. Fair play to Sugru for showing strong leadership.   
Post by: Don Draper on December 14, 2018, 10:44:32 AM
Peter Keane since apologised for that, and there has been guidelines set up by Kerry GAA for handling this process in the future.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on December 14, 2018, 10:50:13 AM
Who else was cut from the panel?

Darren owes Laois nothing, very few train as hard and are as dedicated as Darren
Post by: Blow-in on December 14, 2018, 01:07:04 PM
Rumors of Gary Welsh gone also
Post by: les Antiques on December 14, 2018, 02:29:18 PM
If anyone is travelling to Wexford tomorrow the game is now back scheduled for Enniscorthy.  Definitely more convenient than New Ross if your travelling from Laois .
Post by: Helix. on December 14, 2018, 05:51:04 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on December 14, 2018, 01:07:04 PM
Rumors of Gary Welsh gone also

Isn't he seemingly up in UCD now doing law. I imagine priority with that and come back after sigerson.
Post by: redsetanta on December 15, 2018, 12:52:01 AM
Doing law?? Have we the right fella?
Post by: Helix. on December 15, 2018, 09:24:41 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/12/15/ballylinan-forward-walsh-cut-from-laois-senior-football-panel/

Cut anyways now so it seems.
Post by: Nameless on December 15, 2018, 11:57:24 AM
Game off today. Disappointed to see Walsh get cut but going by the comments from Sugrue, it seems that players who aren't putting in 100% are going to get dropped as the competition for places is savage. Trying to build a fit, fast, younger squad I think. In the past players have been able to get away with less than full effort because of their name, this is no longer the case, that has to be welcomed.
Post by: High Fielder on December 15, 2018, 12:09:21 PM
I don't like seeing players singled out in this way. Maybe it would be better if a full list was released or maybe no list at all. If a lad goes in and for whatever reason doesn't make the grade, then I'm not sure what benefit it is to Laois Today or any of us to know his business. I thank them all for giving it a go and I'm disappointed that a very good service would feel the need to single out Gary Walsh like that
Post by: Blow-in on December 15, 2018, 01:39:12 PM
Fully agree with above. Strong was also dropped but Laois today have said he retired which was wrong. At least report the truth if gonna report anything
Post by: Don Draper on December 15, 2018, 04:00:49 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on December 15, 2018, 01:39:12 PM
Fully agree with above. Strong was also dropped but Laois today have said he retired which was wrong. At least report the truth if gonna report anything
Laois GAA reported Darren as retiring, maybe wind your neck back in a little.
Post by: O moore parklife on December 15, 2018, 07:08:22 PM
Troublesome player with minimal championship playing time
Dropped by first manager in years with balls and who wants a culture change from players and county board.
Refreshing in my opinion.
Few more lads surviving on there name for a few years now time to give new lads a chance and let them create a competitive healthy culture.
Division 4 and a abysmal track record in Leinster didn't happen over night its breed from culture.
Very easy to give out from the ditch with a popular headline narrative that attracts mob mentality  instead of forming an opinion from fact and possible progression.
Post by: High Fielder on December 15, 2018, 08:12:57 PM
I have no problem with the majority of that post but you talk about the ditch and then call a lad troublesome. Troublesome or not, he went in there and did a job, and I don't think he should be dragged through the mud again when he will obviously be disappointed. I'm a big supporter of what Sugrue is doing but that article was poorly written in my opinion, and contained information which had no relevance to the fact that he was dropped. Just my opinion.
Post by: O moore parklife on December 15, 2018, 08:17:38 PM
Completely agree im fairly positive it was a click bait piece.
Some lads don't mould into a new system should be left at that and not shone publicly.
Well said

Post by: Don Draper on December 15, 2018, 08:44:01 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on December 15, 2018, 08:12:57 PM
I have no problem with the majority of that post but you talk about the ditch and then call a lad troublesome. Troublesome or not, he went in there and did a job, and I don't think he should be dragged through the mud again when he will obviously be disappointed. I'm a big supporter of what Sugrue is doing but that article was poorly written in my opinion, and contained information which had no relevance to the fact that he was dropped. Just my opinion.
The player in question did more damage to himself than that article ever could. Relax.
Post by: High Fielder on December 15, 2018, 11:29:13 PM
And always paid a price for the harm done or offence caused. It doesn't need to be slapped up to him every time he suffers a reverse in life. He is a footballer who doesn't fit into Sugrue's plans. Pure and simple. The stuff about the tweets and CB were irrelevant in the context of Sugrue's decision and he made no reference to either. For that reason, there was no need for the journalist to remind us. It sets the wrong tone completely and wasn't the time or place in my opinion.
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 16, 2018, 03:26:52 PM
Very strange situation.
Strong plays last week...."retires" mid week & lads saying he is dropped.
A fan of Sugrue, but Lillis would have been lambasted for a situation like this. Just saying.

Do you mean Brody's shenanigans that saw him dropped last year or is there a more recent event?
Post by: Don Draper on December 16, 2018, 08:17:16 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 16, 2018, 03:26:52 PM
Very strange situation.
A fan of Sugrue, but Lillis would have been lambasted for a situation like this. Just saying.

Do you mean Brody's shenanigans that saw him dropped last year or is there a more recent event?
You've some neck comparing Surgrue to Lillis!
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 16, 2018, 09:24:13 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 16, 2018, 08:17:16 PM
Very strange situation.

Ignore the ridiculous situation that has unfolded so, and jump in blindly with two feet to defend your beloved!
As I said I'm a fan of Sugrue. But this is a very strange situation!
Post by: Don Draper on December 16, 2018, 09:55:14 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 16, 2018, 09:24:13 PM
Very strange situation.

Ignore the ridiculous situation that has unfolded so, and jump in blindly with two feet to defend your beloved!
Your fanboying over your beloved Mick is the most disconcerting issue here. Whether Sugrue is wrong or right, comparing him to the clusterfuck that was Lillis is bizarre. Its not like he didn't have his own issues with this player you wish to allow peace to, yet continue to bring up on here.
Post by: Nameless on December 16, 2018, 10:02:37 PM
Sugrue is cutting out lads who don't fit into what he's looking for. They're not putting in enough in training or they don't fit the game plan he wants to implement. He's not afraid to drop big names, this in contrast to our previous few managers (Creedon was our last manager so I don't know why Lillis is being mentioned). Only time will decide if he's making the right calls but he appears to be making the squad a highly competitive place to remain, nevermind the starting 15.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 17, 2018, 07:42:32 PM
Leinster GAA have announced re-fixture details for the O'Byrne Cup clash between Wexford and Laois which was postponed last Saturday due to inclement weather.

The second round tie will take place in Enniscorthy on Thursday, December 20 (throw-in 8pm) having originally been scheduled for New Ross before being switched to the St Patricks Park venue on the Friday afternoon.
Post by: redsetanta on December 17, 2018, 08:44:20 PM
That's crazy having the game on Thursday before Christmas Day. Lads working and traffic around the town. Players maybe having to tell Sugrue they can't make it.
Post by: Keyser Söze on December 17, 2018, 11:31:32 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 16, 2018, 09:55:14 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on December 16, 2018, 09:24:13 PM
Very strange situation.

Your fanboying over your beloved Mick is the most disconcerting issue here. Whether Sugrue is wrong or right, comparing him to the clusterfuck that was Lillis is bizarre. Its not like he didn't have his own issues with this player you wish to allow peace to, yet continue to bring up on here.

I don't think I ever posted anything about Mick Lillis before? Could be wrong.
Don't even know the man!
"Fanboying"- get a life!
Post by: High Fielder on December 17, 2018, 11:49:48 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on December 17, 2018, 08:44:20 PM
That's crazy having the game on Thursday before Christmas Day. Lads working and traffic around the town. Players maybe having to tell Sugrue they can't make it.

Players? Sure what have they got to do with anything? Train/don't train, play/don't play, Kick it/handpass it, shite/don't shite. The players only do what they're told to do. Thank f**k for Sat Nav or God knows where they'd end up Thursday evening. The clowns in Croke Park talk about player welfare and burnout and yet here we are kicking ball and the turkey hasn't even been plucked. Love of God
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 18, 2018, 12:32:20 AM
Doesn't really matter where its on, the players would be training on Thursday if there was no match and they would all agree that a game beats training anytime...
Post by: High Fielder on December 18, 2018, 08:55:42 AM
It's 5 days before Christmas Junior. Young lads should be thinking about what pubs they want to go to and spending time with their families. There are too many demands being placed on lads' time and if playing football at Christmas is the answer, then the question has been framed incorrectly. If the GAA are serious about players' welfare, then they need to scrap meaningless competitions and/or restrict players to 3 teams played for in a year or 3 separate competitions. In my opinion, it makes no sense on any level to be playing hurling or football at this time of the year, and it has to be a factor in discouraging participation
Post by: Blow-in on December 18, 2018, 09:33:06 AM
Yep, we'll win all Ireland's in the pubs!
Post by: Don Draper on December 18, 2018, 10:28:47 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 18, 2018, 12:32:20 AM
Doesn't really matter where its on, the players would be training on Thursday if there was no match and they would all agree that a game beats training anytime...
Lads, pull easy here, no one in their right f**king mind would want to go to Enniscorthy to play a match on a Thursday night in December. This is madness and the Leinster Council should be ashamed of themselves.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 18, 2018, 11:29:10 AM
Nothing easy about trying to change our mentality, no one has any problem with getting a few Xmas drinks.  But you get the feeling that members of this Laois panel will be minding themselves over Xmas, more so with some quality players getting dropped from the panel.  It's a real step up in competition for places, Sugrue is firmly in control now.  Everyone will be more than happy to show up in Enniscorthy on Thursday.  This time last year a few lads were considering whether they would stay on the panel, now they are fighting to stay on it.   Is this not what we want ?
Post by: Don Draper on December 18, 2018, 01:04:48 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on December 18, 2018, 11:29:10 AM
Nothing easy about trying to change our mentality, no one has any problem with getting a few Xmas drinks.  But you get the feeling that members of this Laois panel will be minding themselves over Xmas, more so with some quality players getting dropped from the panel.  It's a real step up in competition for places, Sugrue is firmly in control now.  Everyone will be more than happy to show up in Enniscorthy on Thursday.  This time last year a few lads were considering whether they would stay on the panel, now they are fighting to stay on it.   Is this not what we want ?
There is no way in hell every Laois player, or ever the management team will be "happy" to get dragged to f**king Enniscorthy on a Thursday night, 5 days before Christmas. Its insanity. We'd be bitching about a County Board fixing an U21 final for 2/3 days before Christmas as it is.
Post by: High Fielder on December 18, 2018, 02:04:25 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on December 18, 2018, 11:29:10 AM

We're in a rat race now and the weakest fall by the wayside,  so we have to do it and Sugrue at least knows how. But in a broader sense, this is madness. These are amateur players with jobs and commitments outside of football. When you put it into context with Eddie Brennan's comments, I can certainly see why a lad wouldn't commit. It's all gone a little too professional without the obvious benefits of playing for a bigger county. I mean this sincerely when I say could you actually be bothered? I loves me county and all, but the GAA expects far too much from players
Post by: redsetanta on December 18, 2018, 02:04:54 PM
That's it simply. The timing of this game is very bad and I cannot think what either team will get out of it and I doubt there will be too much excitement about Wexford on Thursday. Lads are trying to finish jobs up before the holidays so this is totally un-necessary.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on December 18, 2018, 04:03:36 PM
What do the GPA do?? Surely they should be saying matches on a Thursday evening can't go ahead, it's ridiculous
Post by: les Antiques on December 18, 2018, 06:23:18 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on December 18, 2018, 04:03:36 PM
What do the GPA do?? Surely they should be saying matches on a Thursday evening can't go ahead, it's ridiculous

I don't think it's the  fact the match is scheduled for a Thursday night that is causing this frustration.  Plenty of pre season matches have been played on Thursday nights , it's just the fact this game is scheduled so close to Xmas .
Post by: High Fielder on December 18, 2018, 08:19:57 PM
The GAA may get rid of this romantic notion of sacrifice and privilege. There's a price to be paid for players making sacrifices. The privilege of playing for your county is in most cases outweighed by the sacrifices. I think it's downright insulting to expect this of players. The GPA me bollix
Post by: les Antiques on December 19, 2018, 03:43:46 PM
Both Laois and Wexford were given the option of playing this fixture on Saturday the 29th but have both decided tomorrow night would work better for them for whatever reasons.
Post by: Don Draper on December 19, 2018, 08:30:06 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on December 19, 2018, 03:43:46 PM
Both Laois and Wexford were given the option of playing this fixture on Saturday the 29th but have both decided tomorrow night would work better for them for whatever reasons.
Because it's saturday the f**king 29th of December maybe?
Post by: les Antiques on December 19, 2018, 10:18:45 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 19, 2018, 08:30:06 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on December 19, 2018, 03:43:46 PM
Because it's saturday the f**king 29th of December maybe?

You think !
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 21, 2018, 01:21:39 AM
Another defeat, hope he's learning a bit about what he has as regards lads to make a difference as things are not looking too good at present..

Second O'Byrne Cup defeat for Laois footballers
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/12/20/second-obyrne-cup-defeat-for-laois-footballers/
Post by: Don Draper on December 21, 2018, 09:32:17 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 21, 2018, 01:21:39 AM
Another defeat, hope he's learning a bit about what he has as regards lads to make a difference as things are not looking too good at present..

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/12/20/second-obyrne-cup-defeat-for-laois-footballers/

"Things are not looking too good"

Relax mate, its only the f**king O'Byrne Cup.
Post by: GAA-SMART on December 21, 2018, 09:39:33 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 21, 2018, 09:32:17 AM

Ridiculous to be reading anything into December football, Sugrue simply trying different lads out.
Post by: Don Draper on December 21, 2018, 09:41:20 AM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on December 21, 2018, 09:39:33 AM

Ridiculous to be reading anything into December football, Sugrue simply trying different lads out.
Jesus like, what hope has he to be trying lads out if fellas get up on his back with shit like "things are not looking too good" after a few mickey mouse defeats in shitty December weather.
Post by: les Antiques on December 21, 2018, 09:42:48 AM
Would not be overly concerned . Real stuff begins end of January . A lot can done before that . A lot lads getting an oportunity to show something , thats all the O'Byrne is good for .
Post by: South Laois man on December 21, 2018, 05:07:33 PM
So it's been confirmed that Cahir Healy is going in with the footballers. A man with a great attitude and a great option to have. Big loss for Eddie Brennan but great addition for John Sugrue.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 21, 2018, 05:31:13 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 21, 2018, 09:41:20 AM

Jesus like, what hope has he to be trying lads out if fellas get up on his back with shit like "things are not looking too good" after a few mickey mouse defeats in shitty December weather.

Don, you're a very excitable chap, cool down there like a good lad...
There is no-one getting on John Sugrue's back, I have nothing but respect for that man. I'll try and simplify it especially for you, ok....

What I'm saying is that he now knows what he has to work with besides his old, dependable lads who are around for a few years now.
All teams are trying out lads at this time of year, surely even you know that much. They are all playing in the same "shitty December weather" so that's no excuse. My point was that it's not looking good if there is so much competition for places on the panel yet no-one seems to be standing out in trying to convince him that they deserve that place.

I was at the Meath game and although the weather was atrocious the Meath lads handled both the conditions and the rule changes much better that our lads did but to be honest I am sure that they will get better as the year goes on. Whether they do or not I will still be there at most games supporting them as I have been for the past 35 years or so.
Post by: Don Draper on December 21, 2018, 09:47:14 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 21, 2018, 05:31:13 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 21, 2018, 09:41:20 AM

Don, you're a very excitable chap, cool down there like a good lad...
There is no-one getting on John Sugrue's back, I have nothing but respect for that man. I'll try and simplify it especially for you, ok....

What I'm saying is that he now knows what he has to work with besides his old, dependable lads who are around for a few years now.
All teams are trying out lads at this time of year, surely even you know that much. They are all playing in the same "shitty December weather" so that's no excuse. My point was that it's not looking good if there is so much competition for places on the panel yet no-one seems to be standing out in trying to convince him that they deserve that place.

I was at the Meath game and although the weather was atrocious the Meath lads handled both the conditions and the rule changes much better that our lads did but to be honest I am sure that they will get better as the year goes on. Whether they do or not I will still be there at most games supporting them as I have been for the past 35 years or so.
Don't be so patronising
Post by: Tony on December 22, 2018, 01:19:43 PM
One look at the team sheet and it's clear we're trying out a load of players. The results at this time of year do not matter at all. They're just more trial games. The league is where it will begin. The O'Byrne Cup is just glorified training sessions.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 04, 2019, 01:38:54 AM
Wicklow v Laois at 6pm on Saturday in Bray Emmett's.
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/01/03/laois-senior-football-team-named-for-final-obyrne-cup-game/

Laois Team:

Eoghan Keogh (Mountmellick)

David Seale (Portlaoise), Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen) Adam Campion (St Joseph's)

Eoin Buggie (Stradbally), Paddy O'Sullivan (Portarlington)Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen)

Rory Bracken (O'Dempsey's), John O'Loughlin (St Brigid's)

James Mullaney (Castletown), Conor Boyle (Portlaoise), Brian Byrne (Graiguecullen)

Michael Keogh (St Joseph's), Evan O'Carroll (Crettyard), Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen)
Post by: Chrimtain on January 04, 2019, 11:13:32 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 04, 2019, 01:38:54 AM
Wicklow v Laois at 6pm on Saturday in Bray Emmett's.
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/01/03/laois-senior-football-team-named-for-final-obyrne-cup-game/

Laois Team:

Eoghan Keogh (Mountmellick)

David Seale (Portlaoise), Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen) Adam Campion (St Joseph's)

Eoin Buggie (Stradbally), Paddy O'Sullivan (Portarlington)Trevor Collins (Graiguecullen)

Rory Bracken (O'Dempsey's), John O'Loughlin (St Brigid's)

James Mullaney (Castletown), Conor Boyle (Portlaoise), Brian Byrne (Graiguecullen)

Michael Keogh (St Joseph's), Evan O'Carroll (Crettyard), Donie Kingston (Arles-Killeen)

Good to see Seale and Boyle there.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 04, 2019, 05:24:46 PM
Two good players who will help strengthen this team.
The panel will be cut after this game so some lads will have to impress now or they're out.
This game is a dead rubber so they will be using it to finalise the panel for the year.
Post by: Don Draper on January 04, 2019, 07:20:11 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 04, 2019, 05:24:46 PM
Two good players who will help strengthen this team.
The panel will be cut after this game so some lads will have to impress now or they're out.
This game is a dead rubber so they will be using it to finalise the panel for the year.
Cut after playing a few minutes in a Mickey Mouse tournament with alien rules. Gway out of that.
Post by: Giovanni on January 04, 2019, 09:39:06 PM
http://hoganstand.com/Laois/Article/Index/293896

This article seems to agree with Junior.

Strong enough looking team. Good to see so many lads getting the experience
Post by: HURLING1 on January 04, 2019, 10:33:57 PM
I'd say Don knows better than Hoganstand
Post by: Don Draper on January 05, 2019, 09:33:03 AM
Quote from: Giovanni on January 04, 2019, 09:39:06 PM
http://hoganstand.com/Laois/Article/Index/293896

This article seems to agree with Junior.

Strong enough looking team. Good to see so many lads getting the experience
How so?
Post by: Giovanni on January 05, 2019, 01:07:41 PM
How so what?
Post by: Tony on January 05, 2019, 01:47:00 PM
Don, the notions of you. It's cringeworthy reading your posts. I think you just look at your Don Draper picture before you post and think that you're something you're not. You're a little auld lad posting online about an amateur sport in Ireland, just like the rest of us. Calm down. Junior is right - as the article says, the panel will be cut following this game.
Post by: Don Draper on January 05, 2019, 02:41:35 PM
Itnwill be cut, but the players won't be judged on those rules, they'll be judged on training. It would be incredibly unfair to judge a player on rules we will never see again.
Post by: Chrimtain on January 05, 2019, 07:42:33 PM
At last, a win in the O'Byrne Cup.......just about.....
Post by: Tony on January 05, 2019, 07:54:24 PM
Nobody cares about the o Byrne cup so it's ok. Season starts with the league. Let's find out about the squad then. The team named for the opener of the league will likely have about 9changes from the team that started today. Completely different. A lot more learned in training I'd say. It'll be interesting to see the league squad.
Post by: on the hop on January 05, 2019, 09:12:48 PM
It wasn't a bad game. Weather wasn't bad and the pitch was excellent. You definitely learn a bit about lads tonight. Wicklow pushed hard from the start and were very aggressive in the tackle. They certainly got leeway from the ref. Despite them been the better team they got two soft goals, especially the second one off the post. Evan was excellent in the first half. Completely different team in the second half and there lack of changes hit them as they ran out of steam. Super pass by donie to the brother for the first goal and a little Darby like nudge by Paul for the second got us over the line.

Keogh made a few excellent saves, Timmons was very good at full. Both corner backs were ok with campion having a great second half. Tried a load of half backs with buggie probably the best. Jol went off injured but we still him a partner for him. Tyrell is a bit raw but meaney wasn't to bad. Bar Evan and Paul Kingston the rest of the forwards worked hard without scoring. Donie kicked a few nice points when he was involved. Boyle will probably be the starting 11 as he is a very good passer. The panel is very big at the moment, it will be interesting to see who gets trimmed
Post by: Give and Go on January 05, 2019, 10:48:00 PM
Cup has been good to give game time and assess new lads.
Be fairly sure of back to back promotions. Nothing to fear in this division
Post by: High Fielder on January 05, 2019, 10:55:42 PM
It looked to me like a high tempo practice match with no physicality at all. On The Hop called it by saying Wicklow ran out of gas. They didn't deserve to lose but in fairness they struggled with our forwards. As for ourselves, we need to be tougher. Johnno is our only ball winner and it's not enough. Lads need to get their hands dirtier
Post by: Give and Go on January 06, 2019, 10:16:45 AM
Sugrue has done his pre season work very well with area team competition and an enlarged panel. Counties need to have new talent coming in and pressing existing players for places. He has looked at a lot of players in the O Byrne Cup and now knows exactly what he has to work with. Results were irrelevant.
No reason why Laois won't be in Div 2 at the end of this campaign.
Post by: High Fielder on January 06, 2019, 10:42:04 AM
I would agree with your post earlier when you said there is nothing to fear in this division. I'd imagine the other counties look at us similarly. I'd imagine we'll be targeted for our lack of physicality. I know if I was setting up against Laois, I'd certainly make it a factor
Post by: Don Draper on January 06, 2019, 10:47:28 AM
Quote from: Tony on January 05, 2019, 07:54:24 PM
Nobody cares about the o Byrne cup so it's ok. Season starts with the league. Let's find out about the squad then. The team named for the opener of the league will likely have about 9changes from the team that started today. Completely different. A lot more learned in training I'd say. It'll be interesting to see the league squad.
Ah so you agree with me old boy, good to hear. I'm sure you'll apologise in due course for you nasty lash out earlier.
Post by: Nameless on January 06, 2019, 11:15:00 AM
We won division 4 last year and in the championship, we beat Wexford, Westmeath and Carlow. Let's not get carried away with ourselves. It's been a problem in the past where we thought we were better than we were, that seeped through to players and they didn't put in the work required.
We've done nothing to prove we are far ahead of any team in division 3. We will not walk this. The first game away to Down is very difficult, we only have 3 home games. The last time we were in this division we came last! Complacency is one of the main reasons we ended up in division 4 and why our structures fell apart.
Having said that, it's encouraging to see the developments we are making. The number of players involved and who are fighting tooth and nail just to gain a place on the squad is a massive difference from what we have seen in the recent past. The competition for places can only be a good thing.
This will mean that we will be trying out different players in the league, another reason why it won't be a stroll in the park. It's about building for the championship, testing players out under better conditions and finding our best 15. Gaining promotion would be great but we need to be patient. Let Sugrue build his systems, his style of play and find the players he needs to implement it. It's exciting times!
Post by: The Boy Wonder on January 06, 2019, 12:00:32 PM
The GAA Master Fixtures Schedule 2019 on GAA.ie shows Laois away to Down on Sat 26-Jan but on Hoganstand and elsewhere it shows Offaly V Laois on Jan-27.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 06, 2019, 02:06:35 PM
Is Quigley part of the panel?
Post by: town1980 on January 06, 2019, 10:31:39 PM
I would like to compliment John with the fact first had the knowledge to drop both Darren and Garry but also he has everyone trying to play for laois we are not the strongest but he has instilled the discipline needed in one years work you need to compete at inter  county,,,,I admire and respect the work being done
Post by: Countyminor on January 07, 2019, 12:12:15 AM
I'm a long-time reader of this forum so I've decided to jump from off the fence and get involved in the discussion for once. Really looking forward to this year but I feel we might have to bide our time a little in Div 3. We lack physicality fom the half back line right up to our half forward line. Teams found it too easy last year to cut right through us, and if it wasn't for Brody's heroics we'd have been at the end of cricket scores vs Dublin and Monaghan in all honesty.

Midfield is, in my opinion at least, our biggest issue. We lack a fetcher and mobility, we've no midfielder who is capable of breaking opposition lines during transitions and we don't win enough primary possession from kickouts. This crippled us at times last year, particularly against Carlow in the league final and Dublin. We also seem to be very wasteful when it comes to taking scores which doesn't fix itself overnight.

Nevertheless John's building something great here. Given recent county board f**kups in appointing, at the very minimum, competent managers, bringing John in was the best thing to happen to us in years. The level of interest in our county team from players and supporters alike is unprecedented by our recent standards; maybe not all down to John, but a significant chunk regardless. We can really push for promotion but it'll be a tough ask.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 07, 2019, 12:50:45 AM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on January 06, 2019, 02:06:35 PM
Is Quigley part of the panel?
I'd say he is still involved. He was part of a group of Laois footballers that visited sick children in hospital over the Christmas period so that would suggest that he is involved at some level.
It would be great to have him back as we really need a midfielder of his calibre.
Post by: Tony on January 07, 2019, 09:34:55 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 06, 2019, 10:47:28 AM
Ah so you agree with me old boy, good to hear. I'm sure you'll apologise in due course for you nasty lash out earlier.
I agree with Junior that the squad was being cut after the game - this is simply fact. Of course the main decision points would have been made based on training (we all know that) but Junior's point was very valid. And I didn't lash out at you. I cringed at you; I have cringed at a number of your pretentious "tough mafia guy" posts each time I read them. They're laughable and cringey. Major difference.

Regarding this year and the League, each team will look at the opposition and think that they could have the chance to get promotoed. It's an evenly balanced league in the sense that, I wouldn't be surprised if any of the 8 teams get promoted. It's a huge incentive to get from Division 3 to 2. I'm glad that it will be competitive as it'll stand to us come championship time. Right now, I'd be happy if we finished midtable. Why? Because we're going through transition. We'll have some new and inexperienced faces for 2019; it'll take some time for it all to gel together. It wouldn't be a disaster if we retain Div 3 status.

Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 10:01:28 AM
Quote from: Tony on January 07, 2019, 09:34:55 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 06, 2019, 10:47:28 AM
I agree with Junior that the squad was being cut after the game - this is simply fact. Of course the main decision points would have been made based on training (we all know that) but Junior's point was very valid. And I didn't lash out at you. I cringed at you; I have cringed at a number of your pretentious "tough mafia guy" posts each time I read them. They're laughable and cringey. Major difference.

Regarding this year and the League, each team will look at the opposition and think that they could have the chance to get promotoed. It's an evenly balanced league in the sense that, I wouldn't be surprised if any of the 8 teams get promoted. It's a huge incentive to get from Division 3 to 2. I'm glad that it will be competitive as it'll stand to us come championship time. Right now, I'd be happy if we finished midtable. Why? Because we're going through transition. We'll have some new and inexperienced faces for 2019; it'll take some time for it all to gel together. It wouldn't be a disaster if we retain Div 3 status.
I would like to categorically state I am not part of any organised crime gang or 'family'. I would ask you to remove that accusation.
Post by: Tony on January 07, 2019, 11:04:35 AM
It's great that you're seeing the humour in it. I enjoy a good laugh at you as well. But there's nothing really funny about making a joke about how someone died from drug addiction is there, like you did on multiple posts? Like none of us have had drug addiction in our families. Did you think that was hilarious too? I think you're a joke but that one just showed that you're you're a joke and an asshole, too. Well done. 2 in 1.
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 11:05:31 AM
Are you refusing to remove your accusation?
Post by: The Monument Road on January 07, 2019, 03:20:42 PM
What accusation
Post by: Blow-in on January 07, 2019, 04:32:23 PM
Only solution here is a lunch time fight behind the school yard once and for all. First man to draw blood loses.
Post by: HURLING1 on January 07, 2019, 04:34:49 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on January 07, 2019, 04:32:23 PM
Only solution here is a lunch time fight behind the school yard once and for all. First man to draw blood loses.
only sensible solution.
Post by: clonadmad on January 07, 2019, 04:43:13 PM
Don doing his one armed waiter impersonation yet again

Well able to dish it out......
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 04:51:41 PM
Has anyone ever seen a one armed Waiter?
Post by: The Monument Road on January 07, 2019, 09:24:23 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 04:51:41 PM
yes I have
Post by: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 10:15:03 PM
Quote from: The Monument Road on January 07, 2019, 09:24:23 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 07, 2019, 04:51:41 PM
yes I have
Must be a hell of a thing
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 08, 2019, 02:50:35 AM
This forum has become a comedy forum lately 😂😂😂 sure f**k the football and Hurling
Post by: Tony on January 08, 2019, 07:27:32 AM
In fairness Laoisabu, it's a very quiet time of the year  ;D. Hurling or football this time of year is fairly dirt rough, especially on the county scene with such prestigious competitions as "The O'Byrne Cup". When the League starts up, normal service will resume. Really looking forward to heading to the opening game - Newry is relatively easy to get to and Down will be a great test to see where we are currently. Who will be on the squad? What will the starting 15 be?! It will all start then, right through the summer! I can't even guess what the panel or starting 15 will look like as I haven't heard who from Portlaoise will commit this year. If a large Portlaoise contingent show up, there could be 5 or 6 starters from Portlaoise.
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 08, 2019, 02:52:14 PM
I'd say the most will be 4 starters from Portlaoise maybe 5 at a push. Depends who commits
Post by: les Antiques on January 08, 2019, 02:56:59 PM
I know Healy has committed but I  honestly think his time has passed at Inter county level . Seale ,Lillis, Brody, Boyle all definite starter's in my opinion .
Post by: redsetanta on January 08, 2019, 04:13:43 PM
Dillon?
Post by: les Antiques on January 08, 2019, 04:39:26 PM
Sorry I knew I forgot him
Post by: les Antiques on January 08, 2019, 04:42:27 PM
With Sean Cotter on the line this year also there should  be no excuse for anyone from Town that are good enough not committing.
Post by: SCFC on January 08, 2019, 05:55:54 PM
Carroll got plenty of game time last year. Is he still involved? And Holland too? Finn refused a call up I heard.
Post by: Nameless on January 08, 2019, 07:02:57 PM
Competition for starting places will be tougher this year I think. Only Brody and Dillon are guaranteed starters from Portlaoise in my opinion, maybe Lillis too. Anyone know about the cuts, who's in and who's out?

GK: Brody, Keogh, Osbourne?

FB: Dillon, Timmons, Healy, Seale, Campion, Booth, O'Connor, Kelly, Fennell, Holland

HB: Attride, Begley, Crowley, Piggott, Murphy, Buggie, Collins, Nerney

MF: Meaney, O'Loughlin, Lillis, O'Reilly, Bracken

HF: Boyle, Daly, Scully, Barry, Farrell, Glynn, Carroll

FF: Kingston x2, Lowry x2, Munnelly, Murphy, O'Carroll, Keogh, Conway

What about Sheil and Cahilane? Who am I forgetting?
Post by: Nameless on January 08, 2019, 07:08:36 PM
Then the starting team will have 8 certain starters with 7 spots up for grabs?

___________Brody

???????___Timmons____ Dillon

Attride_____Begley__????????

___O'Loughlin_______???????

??????___???????_____???????

???????___Kingston___O'Carroll

Edit: I just put question marks in the free spots but I'll leave the faces.
Post by: SCFC on January 08, 2019, 07:18:03 PM
Quote from: Nameless on January 08, 2019, 07:02:57 PM
Competition for starting places will be tougher this year I think. Only Brody and Dillon are guaranteed starters from Portlaoise in my opinion, maybe Lillis too. Anyone know about the cuts, who's in and who's out?

FB: Dillon, Timmons, Healy, Seale, Campion, Booth, O'Connor, Kelly, Fennell, Holland

You forgot Hitchcock, Tyrell, James Mullaney, Eoin Dunne, Paddy O'Sullivan and Brian Byrne anyway. There's a couple of Courtwood and Emo lads in there too but I hear they'll be going back to under 20s squad.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 08, 2019, 08:55:23 PM
The u20s should be strong this year. Any word on how they are getting on?
Post by: Giovanni on January 08, 2019, 11:25:02 PM
Quote from: Nameless on January 08, 2019, 07:02:57 PM

I think I'd be more inclined to see Healy as a half back at this stage.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 09, 2019, 12:08:03 AM
Is Brendan Quigley an option at midfield this year, surely his injury must have healed by now ? ?
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 09, 2019, 10:34:27 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 08, 2019, 04:42:27 PM
With Sean Cotter on the line this year also there should  be no excuse for anyone from Town that are good enough not committing.
Any player that needs a clubman on the setup up to commit to Laois needs to seriously look at themselves in the mirror.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 19, 2019, 02:02:19 AM
Westmeath defeat Dublin in O'Byrne Cup Final

(https://res.cloudinary.com/dvrbaruzq/image/private/w_530,h_350,c_fill,g_auto,q_auto,f_auto/ihit0px6smltxxshjhjy.jpg)

https://www.gaa.ie/football/news/westmeath-defeat-dublin-in-o-byrne-cup-final/ (https://www.gaa.ie/football/news/westmeath-defeat-dublin-in-o-byrne-cup-final/)
Post by: redsetanta on January 19, 2019, 10:42:05 AM
Not that Dublin will lose any sleep over it but a good win for Westmeath
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 19, 2019, 02:02:44 PM
Exactly, very experimental Dublin team. Good win tho' Dublin teams at any level have always been hard to beat.
Post by: les Antiques on January 19, 2019, 02:18:01 PM
I would be more concerned if I was a Meath supporter after that result.
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 19, 2019, 06:40:54 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 19, 2019, 02:18:01 PM
And Meath bet us by 13 points two weeks before so we've enough on our plate ourselves without dragging other counties into it
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 19, 2019, 06:42:20 PM
Sorry 14 points
Post by: Don Draper on January 20, 2019, 09:21:27 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 19, 2019, 02:18:01 PM
Agreed. I'd be suicidal if I was a Meath supporter