More Dissident-Republican Activity

Started by sammymaguire, November 19, 2009, 06:02:24 PM

The Omagh bombing lead to people not pandering to these loonies. Let's hope this tragedy does likewise.

DUP bastards and Jim Allister falling over themselves to try and make political hay out of it. Gobshites.

RIP Lyra McKee.

Sheugh Water

Quote from: gallsman on April 19, 2019, 07:50:28 PM
DUP b**tards and Jim Allister falling over themselves to try and make political hay out of it. Gobshites.

RIP Lyra McKee.

As were Sinn Féin Mary Lou really is hard to stomach.

Was in creggan today and it all smacked of political opportunism. Mary Lou with rainbow flag in hand, hugging Gregory Campbell who had the audacity to show his face in creggan after lambasting the Bloody Sunday victimS

Poor Lyra, God rest her poor soul . A waste of a strong intelligent woman in her prime.

Get back to work ffs Sinn Féin and Dup

Quote from: armaghniac on April 19, 2019, 07:48:02 PM
The Omagh bombing lead to people not pandering to these loonies. Let's hope this tragedy does likewise.

You might be right. Omagh put a stop to the "Cokes" since groups like that can't function without a decent amount of support. The Omagh bomb was 21 years ago, so there's a generation of hot-headed lads in their late teens/early twenties who have no memory of how awful that was. If this becomes the Omagh of this generation then I hope it finishes off physical force Republicanism for good and we're not sitting here in 20 years having the same discussion about another atrocity. It's just a shame that something like this has to happen before these people realize they're not playing a f***ing 1st-person shooter video game, and that real people die when you start using deadly weapons in the real world.

What an awful business. RIP.

It's generating attention/media/publicity. That's what they crave, they couldn't give a rats ass to that ladies death

Quote from: ziggysego on April 19, 2019, 05:27:19 PM
Lyra was a dear friend of mines and my heart is broken today. Please don't be fueling rumours. In enough pain.

Sorry ziggy. Can't make out what these scummy c***ts get out of all this. Appalling act by appalling people. RIP Lyra McKee.

charlieTully

Quote from: Sheugh Water on April 19, 2019, 08:30:21 PM
DUP b**tards and Jim Allister falling over themselves to try and make political hay out of it. Gobshites.

RIP Lyra McKee.

Was in creggan today and it all smacked of political opportunism. Mary Lou with rainbow flag in hand, hugging Gregory Campbell who had the audacity to show his face in creggan after lambasting the Bloody Sunday victimS

Poor Lyra, God rest her poor soul . A waste of a strong intelligent woman in her prime.

Maybe just maybe they are truly sickened by what happened and want to show that. You would hope it's more than just opportunism. Maybe I'm naive. f**king sickening act.

RIP Lyra McKee.

What do you mean "back"?!

maggie

Quote from: ziggysego on April 19, 2019, 05:27:19 PM
Lyra was a dear friend of mines and my heart is broken today. Please don't be fueling rumours. In enough pain.

Ziggy-so sorry for your loss. Lyra sounded like an amazing lady who had such a bright future ahead of her. Take care of yourself too as I'm sure the next few days/weeks/months ahead will be very tough. Just heartbreaking. RIP Lyra

RIP Lyra McKee.

Sorry for you loss Zigg. It's actually all our loss In fairness chief that's a load of bollix. SF has steadfastly stood for the peace process and also for the rights of the LGBT and other minorities. I agree that seeing Gregory there was quite sickening given what he stands for but love her or hate her you can't tar ML with the same brush

Sheugh Water

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 20, 2019, 12:32:19 AM

RIP Lyra McKee.

Sorry for you loss Zigg. It's actually all our loss In fairness chief that's a load of bollix. SF has steadfastly stood for the peace process and also for the rights of the LGBT and other minorities. I agree that seeing Gregory there was quite sickening given what he stands for but love her or hate her you can't tar ML with the same brush

Most striking aspect of community event today in creggan was that there was very few locals. Once sinn Féin appeared, people got well put off. And that dear sir is your issue in a nutshell.
Sinn fein have no cred anymore in working class derry. Nobidy believes them. Nobody trusts them. Yes they correctly championed LGBT rights but today was not the time to grab the flag

The economic system gives nothing to ordinary people. SF can't do anything about it.
Violence won't help either. We need a new system.

smelmoth

Thankfully there are elections coming. Excellent opportunity for the political wing of these people to step forward, explain their actions and set out their economic plan.

We are told time and time again that the Creggan is the poorest electoral ward in UK and this explains or possibly even justifies the support for these armed and active groups. I do not doubt the level of poverty in the area and the real and perceived lack of opportunity. I don't doubt that the current economic system isn't working for a lot of people and there is a lot of such people concentrated in one area.

What I really struggle with is how anyone in the Creggan thinks that sheltering, supporting, providing cover for or indeed taking instructions from a group willing and able to play around with guns and bombs on their doorstep, deal in drugs and enforce gangland punishments on other dealers is ever going to address the economic problems?

Right now playing with guns involves stepping from the shadows and shooting wildly into a crowd. The results are tragic. If the bullet had hit a copper would it have served that community any better?

Time for the people of Creggan to wake up to what's going on.

Quote from: Sheugh Water on April 20, 2019, 12:59:56 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 20, 2019, 12:32:19 AM

RIP Lyra McKee.

Most striking aspect of community event today in creggan was that there was very few locals. Once sinn Féin appeared, people got well put off. And that dear sir is your issue in a nutshell.
Sinn fein have no cred anymore in working class derry. Nobidy believes them. Nobody trusts them. Yes they correctly championed LGBT rights but today was not the time to grab the flag

Not from the area, only pass through when at matches in Celtic Park. SF certainly have their failings but why the mistrust? Is it purely a socio-economic thing? People feeling they are left behind? Keen to understand.

Young nationalists have a gateway out of poverty through education - some great schools in Derry. Unlike young loyalists who generally aren't so lucky!

I know some from round the "north west" feel sf sold out by signing up to the gfa. McGuinness meeting the queen would also not be welcomed by die hards. Die hard republicans wouldn't believe in sf any more I think.

Teenagers arrested on this. They need to weed out the leaders >:( Stirring up people who don't know any better to get involved in this shit and now someone has died plus their lives will be ruined >:(