Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: extra time on April 08, 2020, 09:42:15 AM

Title: Ryanair
Post by: extra time on April 08, 2020, 09:42:15 AM
Does anyone know if Ryanair are still operating. I havent heard anything for a while. I have flights booked to Faro in May and August. I definitely wont be going anywhere in May and i was wondering what they are doing.
Title: Re: Ryanair
Post by: screenexile on April 08, 2020, 10:04:40 AM
No decision has been made past April yet so as of now you're flight will still be going ahead.

It will depend on the FCO/DFA advice which currently states no international travel but this could well change between now and the end of May although nobody knows for sure.

If you're flying in April you can change your flight without a fee or get a full refund but no decision has been made for flights in May.

I'm in pretty much the same boat we've a holiday booked for Salou the last week in May. The campsite we're staying in have said they are gearing up for opening the day we're due to arrive but again that could change if things don't improve in Spain. It's all up in the air pretty much at this stage.

If your travel is not going ahead Ryanair say not to contact them they will contact you 2 weeks before your flight and advise the options you have based on the Government information at that time.
Post by: screenexile on April 08, 2020, 10:09:12 AM
Jet 2 have advised yesterday they are not going to start up again until June 17!
Post by: extra time on April 08, 2020, 12:18:09 PM
Thanks for that info
Post by: screenexile on April 08, 2020, 12:35:33 PM
Got an email just now saying we can change our flight to any other time up to 31st Aug 2020 without paying the fee for changing fare.

We still have to pay the difference in fares and can't change route.
Post by: Taylor on April 08, 2020, 12:41:06 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 08, 2020, 12:35:33 PM
Got an email just now saying we can change our flight to any other time up to 31st Aug 2020 without paying the fee for changing fare.

The bastids have you by the balls.

Easyjet done this a few weeks ago however you could book it on any route - only catch was every route had increased significantly in price.

Have decided not to do anything and hope they have to reimburse closer to the time or see what insurance company say
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2020, 12:46:08 PM
Quote from: Taylor on April 08, 2020, 12:41:06 PM

The bastids have you by the balls.

Easyjet done this a few weeks ago however you could book it on any route - only catch was every route had increased significantly in price.

Have decided not to do anything and hope they have to reimburse closer to the time or see what insurance company say

If the flight doesn't operate they have to refund you. End of. But they will wait to the bitter end to do that, for their own cashflow reasons.
You'll only be caught if the flight operates and you choose not to go.
Post by: Main Street on April 08, 2020, 12:58:11 PM

Cant change the route?  that's an out and out swindle, passengers should have an option of a voucher to be used on any route within a 12 months period.
I'd process a claim for a full refund via the credit card provider.

Not even Ryanair can cancel a flight and put restrictions on your consumer rights.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 08, 2020, 01:02:28 PM

Have heard nothing from the hoors and we have flights for London in early July. Did you contact them initially or was it a general email?
Post by: Taylor on April 08, 2020, 01:03:00 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 08, 2020, 12:58:11 PM

Cant change the route?  that's an out and out swindle, passengers should have an option of a voucher to be used on any route within a 12 months period.

I'd process a claim for a full refund via the credit card provider.

Be careful asking for a voucher - I wouldnt.

No guarantee some airlines will be in business after this rendering the voucher useless.

Push for a full refund if at all possible
Post by: screenexile on April 08, 2020, 01:34:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 08, 2020, 01:02:28 PM

Have heard nothing from the hoors and we have flights for London in early July. Did you contact them initially or was it a general email?

It was a general mail we haven't contacted them.
Post by: Pub Bore on April 08, 2020, 03:18:02 PM
Was due to fly with Ryanair on 22 Apr.  Got an email last week offering change of dates or a full refund.  I went for the latter, followed the link in the email and have applied for the refund.  Got an email a couple of days later to say that due to high demand it would take 10-12 days to process.
Post by: Taylor on April 08, 2020, 03:24:24 PM
Quote from: Pub Bore on April 08, 2020, 03:18:02 PM
Was due to fly with Ryanair on 22 Apr.  Got an email last week offering change of dates or a full refund.  I went for the latter, followed the link in the email and have applied for the refund.  Got an email a couple of days later to say that due to high demand it would take 10-12 days to process.

I would be delighted to have gotten that timeframe - the reality will be that airlines will stretch out paying the refunds for as long as they possible can
Post by: themac_23 on April 08, 2020, 03:26:51 PM
Quote from: Pub Bore on April 08, 2020, 03:18:02 PM

got the same, was due to fly to Italy end of the month, only got the email on friday which mentioned refund, maybe they are doing it a month before flights were due instead of all at once so that it gives the staff a chance to process the claims in some sort of order
Post by: extra time on April 09, 2020, 12:04:19 PM
Got an email yesterday but only offered a change of flight up to August 31 on the same route. Not much use to me as i have already booked to fly to Faro on 8th Aug returning 22nd. No option of a refund.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2020, 01:33:22 PM
A friend of mine has been due to fly out with Aer Lingus to Portugal tomorrow, he said the flights are still going ahead? Now he's not going and the accommodation has given him his money back.

I didn't realise these flights would still be going on and countries would be allowing no essential visitors
Post by: armaghniac on April 09, 2020, 02:23:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2020, 01:33:22 PM
A friend of mine has been due to fly out with Aer Lingus to Portugal tomorrow, he said the flights are still going ahead? Now he's not going and the accommodation has given him his money back.

I didn't realise these flights would still be going on and countries would be allowing no essential visitors

Is  the flight going ahead? There is no departure to Portugal on the Dublin airport website.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2020, 02:48:08 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 09, 2020, 02:23:42 PM

Is  the flight going ahead? There is no departure to Portugal on the Dublin airport website.

He said up till the other night Aer lingus was still going ahead (when he put in his booking number and name), surely they would have paid out of given him info as such?
Post by: screenexile on April 09, 2020, 04:31:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2020, 02:48:08 PM

He said up till the other night Aer lingus was still going ahead (when he put in his booking number and name), surely they would have paid out of given him info as such?

There's a travel advisory that there should be no international travel. There should be no commercial flights at the minute and if there are you are entitled to a refund if you don't want to travel as far as I'm aware!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2020, 06:08:09 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 09, 2020, 04:31:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 09, 2020, 02:48:08 PM

There's a travel advisory that there should be no international travel. There should be no commercial flights at the minute and if there are you are entitled to a refund if you don't want to travel as far as I'm aware!

He's going to check again tonight
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 14, 2020, 11:51:50 PM
Flight I had booked for next month is now cancelled. Got an email from Ryanair tonight saying I can apply for a full refund.
Post by: Rossfan on April 15, 2020, 12:00:31 AM
Same here....obviously we were both on the same mission ;D
Post by: imtommygunn on April 15, 2020, 10:57:11 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 14, 2020, 11:51:50 PM
Flight I had booked for next month is now cancelled. Got an email from Ryanair tonight saying I can apply for a full refund.

why do they not just give you a full refund without you applying >:(
Post by: Rossfan on April 15, 2020, 11:15:09 AM
Bacause its Ryanair ;).
There's a choice of refund or rebooking.
Post by: dublin7 on April 15, 2020, 12:01:25 PM
I was on to them myself this morning for flights in mid May. They are sending out refund e-mails on a weekly basis. Anyone flying in the 1st week of May got an e-mail this week. They will be sending out another batch of refund e-mails next week.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 16, 2020, 08:49:49 AM
So who is flying? If you look up you'll see the odd streak from a plane going by
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 16, 2020, 09:39:35 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 16, 2020, 08:49:49 AM
So who is flying? If you look up you'll see the odd streak from a plane going by

Nerd alert. Download Plane finder app . Shows all live flightsallover the world. Tap on the 'yellow plane' icon and it will tell you live flight data. You'll be amazed at the flights taking place during a global pandemic.
Post by: Taylor on April 16, 2020, 09:53:29 AM
The UK has 15,000 people arriving each day into their airports so plenty still getting about for some reason
Post by: Pub Bore on April 21, 2020, 11:07:27 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/travel/passenger-anger-after-fresh-ryanair-u-turn-on-refunds-1.4233483
Post by: Pub Bore on April 21, 2020, 05:00:02 PM
Just received the email saying they're not offering a refund and are offering vouchers that can be used against Ryanair flights (valid for 12 months). Complete feckin' gangsters!  Also contains this:

If you do not wish to accept this voucher option and wish to move your flight or request a refund, please click here to contact us. Please note that as our customer care agents are required to work from home to limit the spread of COVID-19 virus, payment security restrictions prevent us from processing refunds as quickly as we would like to.

So I clicked on the link scrolled to the bottom of the page to find this:

Can I receive a cash refund instead of voucher?
You can request a cash refund however bear in mind we will place your request in the cash refund queue until the COVID-19 emergency has passed.
We highly recommend using the refund voucher as these are readily available and you can book flights on all Ryanair Group airlines in over 200 destinations in Europe and the Middle East.

Who's the bigger cnut...O'Leary or Branson??

Post by: Pub Bore on April 23, 2020, 09:58:01 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/travel/airline-passengers-anger-mounts-as-government-considers-diluting-refund-rights-1.4235263

In very surprising move Shane Ross bends over backwards for O'Leary ::)
Post by: magpie seanie on April 23, 2020, 11:52:53 AM
I'm caught up in this too Pub Bore. On April 7th I got confirmation after applying for a refund (20 working days quoted). This morning that email with "my voucher". We were traveling to Romania for a karate competition my daughter was taking part in. Bad and all as Ryanair are, we're dealing with BlueAir for one of the legs. They're at the same lark....trying to push vouchers - no refund until 120 days after the end of the (ongoing) state of emergency in Romania.

I'm also due to go on holidays the end of May - from reading it looks like the family and I were going the same place as Screenexile. Resort are refunding less an admin fee but will have to go through all this with Ryanair again for those flights. Fun times.
Post by: themac_23 on April 23, 2020, 12:26:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 23, 2020, 11:52:53 AM
I'm caught up in this too Pub Bore. On April 7th I got confirmation after applying for a refund (20 working days quoted). This morning that email with "my voucher". We were traveling to Romania for a karate competition my daughter was taking part in. Bad and all as Ryanair are, we're dealing with BlueAir for one of the legs. They're at the same lark....trying to push vouchers - no refund until 120 days after the end of the (ongoing) state of emergency in Romania.

I'm also due to go on holidays the end of May - from reading it looks like the family and I were going the same place as Screenexile. Resort are refunding less an admin fee but will have to go through all this with Ryanair again for those flights. Fun times.

im the same, had gotten an email last month and filled in the form for a refund, got an email this morning with my voucher, there was a link that if you wanted your refund instead, when i clicked it it basically brought me to their site with how to redeem your voucher, making it very difficult to get money back
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 23, 2020, 12:50:37 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on April 23, 2020, 12:26:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 23, 2020, 11:52:53 AM

im the same, had gotten an email last month and filled in the form for a refund, got an email this morning with my voucher, there was a link that if you wanted your refund instead, when i clicked it it basically brought me to their site with how to redeem your voucher, making it very difficult to get money back

Presumably only offering refunds on flights they have cancelled? The missus and I were going to Wimbledon in July but that has been cancelled and we are waiting on a ticket refund which shouldn't be any hassle. Hotel already refunded and waiting on a theatre and Ryanair to let us know what they are doing. I wouldn't be surprised if these pricks started flying empty planes to avoid giving out refunds as it's makes it our decision not to fly with them.
Post by: Pub Bore on April 23, 2020, 02:26:58 PM
This was featured on Raidio Uladh's Talkback Programme at 1pm today.  The experts said that if an airline cancels your flight you are entitled to a full refund, so their advice if you want the cash back is to hold out and not accept the vouchers.  However they pointed out that Ryanair state that "You can request a cash refund however bear in mind we will place your request in the cash refund queue until the COVID-19 emergency has passed."  So what does "until the COVID-19 emergency has passed" mean and who decides when it's over...Michael O'Leary??

You can apply to your bank for what's called a "Section 75" (if you're in the North - there'll be an equivalent in the South as it's EU legislation) which puts the onus on the credit card company to raise the issue with Ryanair and they may give you a refund to shut you up.  But they pointed out the problem is that few airlines will have the cash to pay everybody.  I'm minded to hang on for the cash refund and see what happens...it's about €250 in total.  I'd also pre-paid the car parking (€40) at Dublin through Ryanair and these seem to be two feckin' separate claims ::)
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on April 23, 2020, 02:50:44 PM
Beyond me why anyone would book with Ryanair, shower of gangsters
Post by: screenexile on April 23, 2020, 03:25:32 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on April 23, 2020, 02:50:44 PM

Maybe people don't have the extra 500 it can cost for a family holiday???
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 23, 2020, 04:34:28 PM
Got an email telling me my refund was being processed. Got the voucher email this morning, sent a chat message through at 10.30 saying cash is fine within 7 days of the flight as per our agreement. I have been in a queue waiting for an agent since.

I get them being busy, but for fucks sake
Post by: magpie seanie on April 23, 2020, 06:10:55 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 23, 2020, 03:25:32 PM

Screenexile - we could have been supping pints of Estrella next to one another and we'd be none the wiser!
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on April 23, 2020, 06:54:07 PM
I've initiated a chargeback on my card for services not delivered, seems to have worked for others
Post by: screenexile on April 23, 2020, 09:40:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 23, 2020, 06:10:55 PM

Screenexile - we could have been supping pints of Estrella next to one another and we'd be none the wiser!

Now you're making me sad Seanie was looking forward to this trip!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on April 23, 2020, 10:27:39 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 23, 2020, 09:40:50 PM

So was I. Went last year for the first time. I'd heard loads about the place and have to say we loved it. I really wouldn't be into going back to the same spot but it was just so handy. We'll definitely go some other time, no doubt.
Post by: Pub Bore on April 24, 2020, 12:39:55 PM
Got an email from Ryanair this morning with a voucher for €40 for the car parking!
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 24, 2020, 01:48:10 PM
Like everyone else it seems I have been offered a voucher after applying for a refund. Premier Inn meanwhile gave me a full refund within 2 days of cancelling.
Post by: Taylor on April 24, 2020, 03:16:15 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 23, 2020, 10:27:39 PM

So was I. Went last year for the first time. I'd heard loads about the place and have to say we loved it. I really wouldn't be into going back to the same spot but it was just so handy. We'll definitely go some other time, no doubt.

What place is this gents?
Post by: Main Street on April 24, 2020, 09:26:25 PM
Quote from: Taylor on April 24, 2020, 03:16:15 PM

Drinking Estrella?  Must be a carpark outside an Asda?
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on April 26, 2020, 10:50:23 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on April 23, 2020, 06:54:07 PM
I've initiated a chargeback on my card for services not delivered, seems to have worked for others

money back in account

bankers, great bunch of lads ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on April 27, 2020, 09:33:16 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 24, 2020, 09:26:25 PM

Cambrils Park was where we were going. I figured from Screenexile's post he was going there too or maybe to the neighbouring Sanguli. Both near Salou.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 01, 2020, 02:19:51 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-52498691

O'Leary says people will get cash refund but will take at least 6 months...
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 01, 2020, 02:54:15 PM
So I was unable to get through to Ryanair customer service, and Ryanair wont take a complaint because I haven't exhausted the customer service route.

So I ranf the bank and instructed them to recall the fund. Imagine my surprise when I was told no, the 'law had changrd, the Government have banned any refunds over Covid 19'. When I picked my jaw up off the floor I pointed out a few flaws with that, off she went to the manager and lo and behold the recall request is in. Its not the youngwan who answthe phones fault, but my bank just blatantly lied to me, quoted non existent legislation and tried to block my consumer rights.
Post by: bennydorano on May 01, 2020, 02:58:29 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 27, 2020, 09:33:16 AM

Cambrils Park was where we were going. I figured from Screenexile's post he was going there too or maybe to the neighbouring Sanguli. Both near Salou.
I was in Sanguli last Summer, great spot.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2020, 02:59:07 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 01, 2020, 02:54:15 PM
So I was unable to get through to Ryanair customer service, and Ryanair wont take a complaint because I haven't exhausted the customer service route.

So I ranf the bank and instructed them to recall the fund. Imagine my surprise when I was told no, the 'law had changrd, the Government have banned any refunds over Covid 19'. When I picked my jaw up off the floor I pointed out a few flaws with that, off she went to the manager and lo and behold the recall request is in. Its not the youngwan who answthe phones fault, but my bank just blatantly lied to me, quoted non existent legislation and tried to block my consumer rights.

Was it a bank that has been bailed out by the government ?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 01, 2020, 03:47:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 01, 2020, 02:59:07 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 01, 2020, 02:54:15 PM

Was it a bank that has been bailed out by the government ?

Yes, and still majority owned.

I'm not sure am I more offended by the bank lying directly to my face or how terrible and easy to dismantle it was. I'm snarky enough to say hold on, there are loads put there who aren't.
Post by: screenexile on May 01, 2020, 03:53:36 PM

Supposed to be Sanguli... ah well hopefully next year!!
Post by: Rossfan on May 01, 2020, 04:58:31 PM
Was to be flying to London tomorrow for the big game in Ruislip.
Ros Co Board took vouchers from Aer Lingus for the €13,000 flight cost either for next year's trip to London or towards a trip to NY.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 01, 2020, 05:49:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 01, 2020, 04:58:31 PM
Was to be flying to London tomorrow for the big game in Ruislip.
Ros Co Board took vouchers from Aer Lingus for the €13,000 flight cost either for next year's trip to London or towards a trip to NY.
That was very shortsighted of them.
Post by: snoopdog on May 01, 2020, 10:06:47 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 01, 2020, 03:53:36 PM

Supposed to be Sanguli... ah well hopefully next year!!
Myself and the family were due to head to Cambrils pk 1st week of june. Have cancelled and booked for next june now. Been 4 times in last 5 years  kids love it and it is a great spot. We will miss it this year. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 02, 2020, 02:06:41 AM
Cambrils was brill great spot !
Post by: gallsman on May 02, 2020, 10:08:58 AM
At least drink Estrella Galicia instead of that other swill, you absolute philistines.
Post by: BenDover on May 04, 2020, 04:40:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 02, 2020, 02:06:41 AM

What type of accomodation in Cambrils would you reccommend for 2 adults and 4 kids? Had a look on the website there is this similar to an Al Fresco park type holiday, in that once you're inside the park you've access to all amenities?
Post by: snoopdog on May 04, 2020, 05:51:56 PM
Quote from: BenDover on May 04, 2020, 04:40:48 PM

What type of accomodation in Cambrils would you reccommend for 2 adults and 4 kids? Had a look on the website there is this similar to an Al Fresco park type holiday, in that once you're inside the park you've access to all amenities?
Accommodation is apartments and villa type chalets kitchens in all . Once in all swimming pools are all covered in cost. There are restaurants and a bar on site. Decent enough food. Take away shop off licence all on site.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2020, 08:43:24 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 04, 2020, 05:51:56 PM

Accommodation is apartments and villa type chalets kitchens in all . Once in all swimming pools are all covered in cost. There are restaurants and a bar on site. Decent enough food. Take away shop off licence all on site.

I stayed at this place, slightly more south of Cambrills, https://www.latorredelsol.com/en/home

It was a mixture of accommodation chalets/static types and tents and mobile vans, was on the beach also, the train station was very close to go were you need to go, we had a car that trip so was able to get about, but I'd rather not take a car again unless I was in the States.

I cant remember why we didn't go to the main one in Cambrills but it looks great, this was good and the kids loved it, they still talk about it. those trips we had were the best of memories, expense but glad we went!
Post by: screenexile on May 04, 2020, 09:21:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2020, 08:43:24 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 04, 2020, 05:51:56 PM

I stayed at this place, slightly more south of Cambrills, https://www.latorredelsol.com/en/home

It was a mixture of accommodation chalets/static types and tents and mobile vans, was on the beach also, the train station was very close to go were you need to go, we had a car that trip so was able to get about, but I'd rather not take a car again unless I was in the States.

I cant remember why we didn't go to the main one in Cambrills but it looks great, this was good and the kids loved it, they still talk about it. those trips we had were the best of memories, expense but glad we went!

We're lucky in that our schools take a week for the bank holiday at the end of May which makes all the Eurocamp/Alfresco holidays much cheaper than July/August.

The only issue we've had is it's been slightly colder in France and Italy just a bit below 20 which is grand but you'd like it a bit hotter which is why we booked Salou/Sanguli this time.

We go with 2 other couples and their kids and have to agree it's by far the best holiday you could have but "it's what it is" so waiting on confirmation for the same week next year all being well.
Post by: bennydorano on May 04, 2020, 09:28:14 PM
Our kids wanted a package deal holiday this year for a change, it's obviously all went tits up since but I know with them having grown up with the Keycamp / Eurocamp holiday set up I'm pretty sure they'd have realised how good those holidays actually were when stuck in a middling hotel with one jammed pool.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2020, 10:42:01 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 04, 2020, 09:28:14 PM
Our kids wanted a package deal holiday this year for a change, it's obviously all went tits up since but I know with them having grown up with the Keycamp / Eurocamp holiday set up I'm pretty sure they'd have realised how good those holidays actually were when stuck in a middling hotel with one jammed pool.

Oh for sure! When they grow up though they think the package holidays are great till they get there!

The sites had everything even for older kids, if I put it my kids now , 19 and 17 I think they would choose a keycamp style holiday
Post by: armaghniac on December 03, 2020, 04:13:24 PM
O'Leary to bail out Boeing by buying a rake of  737 Max, no doubt at about half list price.
As his pilots are not too busy right now, lets hope he trains them in how to fly it.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 04, 2020, 01:20:54 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 03, 2020, 04:13:24 PM
O'Leary to bail out Boeing by buying a rake of  737 Max, no doubt at about half list price.
As his pilots are not too busy right now, lets hope he trains them in how to fly it.

He is buying to lease them.