2018 National Football League Division 4

Started by Junior Ex Laoistalk, October 14, 2017, 11:40:53 PM

The PRO

Quote from: Giovanni on February 15, 2018, 05:20:32 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 15, 2018, 03:20:17 PM
Quote from: The PRO on February 15, 2018, 02:38:54 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 15, 2018, 10:50:05 AM
From the highlights, Evan O Carroll looks to have had a monster game last night for UCD.
Didn't score from play  ;)
Was involved in a lot of plays, carried good ball throughout by the looks.

We're a great auld county for dragging a lad down all the same. Thats two now, to one simple post.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMgvq3uAwJY

Have to agree with you on that Don. It's certainly a strange kind of support anyway.
I has a little wink thing after my post to be fair. Anyone kicking 5 points from frees and 45s in a Sigerson semi is doing grand by me.

Giovanni

Apologies if I misunderstood what you meant. Hopefully he can bring his college form to the county setup.

Laoisguy

Truth be told I have been critical of Evan in the past...and indeed I've felt the wrath of DD in this regard

Just watched those highlights and he certainly made a big impact on this game for sure
Freetaking outstanding

Seems fitter and more focused....good news for Laois

Clubber Lang

Evan has all the attributes to be an exellent footballer for Laois. The last few seasons he probably wasn't where he needed to be be physically to play inter-county championship football. This year he seems to have rectified that and having a run playing on UCD team will definitely stand to him. I expect O'Carroll to nail down starting position come the championship.

Tony

A few games into the league, the team for championship (barring injury), in my opinion, is coming together a bit like this:

Brody

Holland, Timmons, Attride,

Lillis, Begley, Dillon,

O' Loughlin, O' Reilly,

O Carroll, P Kingston, Donaher,

Lowry, D Kingston, Walsh

The PRO

Quote from: Tony on February 16, 2018, 05:20:07 PM
A few games into the league, the team for championship (barring injury), in my opinion, is coming together a bit like this:

Brody

Holland, Timmons, Attride,

Lillis, Begley, Dillon,

O' Loughlin, O' Reilly,

O Carroll, P Kingston, Donaher,

Lowry, D Kingston, Walsh
Yeah, hard to see it being much different from that Tony. Maybe Quigley will get back but hard to see it. O'Connor could also be in the running?

Tony

Yes Pro, O Connor if he gets back into it could slot into Attrides position with Stephen maybe moving to the wing in place of Lillis. Damien has lots of pace although I don't think the corner is his best position. I guess it all depends on injuries etc and also - maybe a few more lads will try to put a stamp on their position between now and the summer - the latter games of the league on harder ground will tell a lot. It would be excellent to get a league final but we can't get complacent yet - some tough tests ahead. I'm often reminded of how just a few more lads with real quality would impact the squad - for example if we had Cahir Healy, Merideth and Zach Tuohy back. Wishful thinking I suppose - we have to work with who we have available.

Having said that, I can't help but notice that this line up looks very good.

Brody,

Cahir Healy, Timmons, Attride,

Lillis, Begley, Dillon,

O Loughlin, O Reilly,

O Carroll, P Kingston, Zach Tuohy,

Conor Merideth, D Kingston, G Walsh.

Maybe one day  :)

jimbob2

My old computer is working again. I have enjoyed  reading Dons posts, he is the man!!!!!!!
Tony don't forget Davy Conway, a student of Ross for years and when fit in my opinion is our best left full forward ( if that position even exists any more in the new gaa game). As said before I am very reluctant to pass negative judgement on any of our players. As a former player of some years ago and having a few family members playing at different levels, criticisms should be carefully thought out. However advice should always be taken on board whether you are a player, manager or poster!!!!. From what I have seen so far this year the freshness of  a new set up has had a predictable result in the understudies racing from the blocks and giving the regulars a wake up call, which is always a positive.
I like The new manager and have watched him take charge of various under age laois teams and have been really impressed. Senior inter county is a different story  in the new era, we have finished up in a league where as a spectator I can go to a game and have some confidence that we are playing in a division where we can be competitive and win games and that's not a bad thing. As regards my opinion on the team, new players need lots of games and time to become consistent inter county players, I like young Holland, he reminds me a lot of a young Healy who only for injury had pledged to play for both hurlers and footballers this year, you might see him yet before the year is out. I have to say that at this stage with the needed wake up call and a fresh management team that the majority of the new players are not quiet ready to take the places of the majority of the reinvigorated established players, this will take more time in what is a very positive camp. Big Donies return was so necessary going forward, (purer class) and good to see paul has put up some weight and strength which will improve his game this year. I can see a positive year ahead and why not enjoy the prospect of a possible croke park appearance and our good friends Carlow maybe making it an interesting finale, and then progress as underdogs with a bite.

on the hop

Went to the sigerson final today and I think Lowry will push very hard for a place. Very good worker and a good passer, I thought he kicked two points but the reports had him with one. In a game where there was never really a full forward line on either team he played much deeper and was very direct. Not evan's best day, started as the lone full forward but was well beaten by the galway full back. Switched with McCarthy out the field which was the winning of the game and scored a good point. One brilliant pass in the second half for a score was the highlight but missed three frees when it was very tight and then drifted become being taken off.

A lot of real quality players on show. Barry from Kerry, comer, Mc Carthy, Cooke from galway. Casey from tipp is a gem and a player I would Laois to have. Big man, kickout option and also knocked over three points when it mattered.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Winners are not those who never fail, but those who never quit!

on the hop

He looked very stiff when he came on. Liam silke in the same both didn't come on for ucd

Laoisguy

Was at the game Evan found himself under pressure after a couple of early mistakes
Free taking was poor....seemed a bit tired after midweek exertions

Lowry played really well....I thought he got 2 scores to be honest
Great timing work rate and awareness

Seems well regarded tactically by teammates

gaastats

Laois winners & finalists in the Sigerson Cup.

Sigerson Cup
Winning teams:
1958 UCD Joe Fingleton (Park)
1960 UCD Joe Fingleton (Park)
1973 UCD Enda Condron (Ballylinan)
1974 UCD Enda Condron (Ballylinan)
1976 Maynooth Eamonn Whelan (Portlaoise) & Michael Dowling (Mountmellick -sub)
1980 UCG Paudie O'Riordan (Annanough)
1981 UCG Paudie O'Riordan (Annanough)
1992 UCG Tony Maher (Stradbally)
1999 ITT Noel Garvan (St Joseph's)
2006 DCU Cahir Healy (Portlaoise -sub)
2012 DCU Colm Begley (Stradbally)
2016 UCD Eoghan Keogh (Mountmellick) & Eoin Lowry (Killeshin)
2018 UCD Evan O'Carroll (Crettyard) & Eoin Lowry (Killeshin)

Finalists
1959 UCD Joe Fingleton (Park)
1974 UCG Jim Miller (Annanough)
1979 UCG Paudie O'Riordan (Annanough)
1981 TCD Jimmy O'Callaghan
1991 UCG Tony Maher (Stradbally)
1996 Garda Adrian Phelan (Portarlington)
1999 Garda Tom Bowe (Stradbally)
2001 UCD Brian McDonald (Arles-Killeen)
2008 Garda Barry Brennan (Graiguecullen -sub)
2009 DIT Billy O'Loughlin (Arles-Killeen -sub)
2012 Maynooth Paul Cahillane (Portlaoise)
2016 DCU Stephen Attride (Crettyard) & Colm Begley (Stradbally)

Anyone else? Was Lowry not on the panel in 2017, when UCD lost?

Heshs Umpire

Quote from: gaastats on February 19, 2018, 12:39:19 AM

Sigerson Cup
Winning teams:

Finalists

Attride is Killeshin not Crettyard. Interesting info.
Well I could keep it above
But then it wouldn't be sky anymore

O moore parklife

Quote from: gaastats on February 19, 2018, 12:39:19 AM
Did conor Meredith win one in 2015 with Begley
Sigerson Cup
Winning teams:

Finalists