Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: imtommygunn on August 28, 2018, 10:03:10 PM

Title: Primark fire in belfast
Post by: imtommygunn on August 28, 2018, 10:03:10 PM
Really sad to see this today. The damage done on the building is horrendous. I don't know what will happen for the poor employees.

Walked past the fire fighters near the odyssey this evening. They seemed to be running the hoses from there all the way up donegal quay to the fire. You had to feel for them looking at them as they must have put in some shift today.

Title: Re: Primark fire in belfast
Post by: Walt Jabsco on August 28, 2018, 10:32:01 PM
Yes ITG very sad to see. Demolition a distinct possibility. The NIFRS are using river water from the Lagan to augment the supply from the water network, however this puts a large strain on the network and demand management is implemented. There are possibly domestic properties experiencing loss of supply due to reduced pressure from the fire fighting operation water demand. Given the volume of water required it is not a requirement that high quality water is needed water from other sources is just as effective if it is reasonably close by.

The majority of fire fighters in the city must be attending this one lets hope that nothing more major happens  in the city and if it were to happen would there be enough resources to cope
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 28, 2018, 10:33:49 PM
With all the polyester and acrylic clothing inside it's no wonder the fire spread so quickly
Post by: Minder on August 28, 2018, 10:38:26 PM
Just after a £30m renovation too, feel sorry for the staff involved, uncertain times for them you would think
Post by: RedHand88 on August 28, 2018, 10:48:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 28, 2018, 10:41:51 PM
I feel sorry for these two:

https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/news/belfast-news/belfast-primark-fire-survivors-tell-15083278

"A fella then came over and said the doors at the front were blocked with cages so we couldn't get out that way. A fella with us who was with a child joked that if it was a real fire we'd all be dead."
Post by: Don Johnson on August 28, 2018, 10:51:46 PM
Is that how you two get your kicks, taking the piss out of school children? Good stuff.
Post by: Orior on August 28, 2018, 11:15:02 PM
1) Sad for all those who lost their jobs

2) Sad, I suspect, for the contractor who was doing the refurb

3) Plenty of material to shame Snarlene with
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 28, 2018, 11:19:04 PM
Don't get the third point
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2018, 11:26:32 PM
Watched it today, couldn't help think about how it will affect everyone employed there and the surrounding area, mourne food restaurant Kelly Cellars and any other businesses in Castle Street!

The damage and possible destruction to that famed building will be hard to take also, irs been a landmark building in  Belfast which stood out as well as City Hall in my opinion, hopefully it can be salvaged, I thought it was gone when I heard a almighty boom during the afternoon
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 29, 2018, 12:25:26 AM
That was just the gas cyclinders going off; heard 3 large bangs over the hour from 12 to 1pm
Post by: Orior on August 29, 2018, 12:41:51 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on August 28, 2018, 11:19:04 PM
Don't get the third point

Various jibes about RHI boilers and that Primark supported the LGBT community.
Post by: seafoid on August 29, 2018, 05:47:37 AM
Quote from: Orior on August 28, 2018, 11:15:02 PM
1) Sad for all those who lost their jobs

2) Sad, I suspect, for the contractor who was doing the refurb

3) Plenty of material to shame Snarlene with
Is there no property insurance in NI?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 29, 2018, 07:34:14 AM
You would have thought that the premiums etc will go up a lot for said contractor.

Interesting walt. It looked like a serious operation getting the water from the lagan.
Post by: general_lee on August 29, 2018, 08:55:46 AM
Is it just me or is there something dodgy about it?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 29, 2018, 09:19:48 AM
I don't think so. The rumours have already been circling as to how it happened and there's nothing dodgy about the rumours. Stupidity and mistakes.
Post by: Mourne Red on August 29, 2018, 09:23:51 AM
Quote from: general_lee on August 29, 2018, 08:55:46 AM

Nothing dodgy about it, Welders set it on fire by accident - were doing work on the 5th floor and something caught fire, thats the word from few of the primark staff that were out on the street yesterday
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 29, 2018, 10:28:37 AM
I'm no fire fighting expert, but when I was round that way at around 1.00 pm I thought the fire looked as if it was being contained to the roof / upper floor. Was really taken aback when I seen the inferno some two hours later!

Very sad to see it, and for the employees, but the bottom line is that there were no fatalities or serious injuries. 
Post by: general_lee on August 29, 2018, 10:59:01 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on August 29, 2018, 09:23:51 AM
Quote from: general_lee on August 29, 2018, 08:55:46 AM

Nothing dodgy about it, Welders set it on fire by accident - were doing work on the 5th floor and something caught fire, thats the word from few of the primark staff that were out on the street yesterday
What were they welding? A jerry can full of petrol?
Post by: Over the Bar on August 29, 2018, 12:35:18 PM
They obviously didn't carry out much of a risk assessment.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 29, 2018, 12:40:23 PM
Jet fuel doesn't melt steel beams.
Post by: Last Man on August 29, 2018, 12:46:16 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on August 29, 2018, 12:35:18 PM
I heard it was caused by an unattended propane torch being used on the roof. You don't come across too many through other sites these days, I'd be surprised if there wasn't RAMS in place. Sometimes you can't legislate for a lad taking a shortcut though, feel sorry for all involved.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 29, 2018, 01:00:39 PM
I'm sure the contractors will be going though all risk assessments, method statements and permits to work with a fine toothcomb today.
Post by: bennydorano on August 29, 2018, 01:11:35 PM
Hot works permits inspection, but you can't legislate for good oul fashioned laziness / taking shortcuts. The HSE will be there for a while.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2018, 01:16:43 PM
Puting roof felt down I heard. probably stopped for tea break at 10.30 and left it on. Not sure if there was a lot of stock in the building but they would have increased the fuel for sure.

Sprinklers probably off due to the work going on, combination of carelessness and bad luck!
Post by: general_lee on August 29, 2018, 03:01:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2018, 01:16:43 PM
Puting roof felt down I heard. probably stopped for tea break at 10.30 and left it on. Not sure if there was a lot of stock in the building but they would have increased the fuel for sure.

Sprinklers probably off due to the work going on, combination of carelessness and bad luck!
Sprinklers off? If that was the case Belfast has somehow escaped a potentially lethal catastrophe.
Post by: Franko on August 29, 2018, 05:12:22 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on August 29, 2018, 12:35:18 PM

There's always one.  The paperwork brigade.

You can fill in as many stupid forms as you like.  If a contractor leaves a blowtorch going and heads off for his tea it's most likely gonna end in tears.

Risk assessment or not.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 29, 2018, 05:22:37 PM
I have actually seen sthing like this before; men leaving the torch on as they go to lift insulation for laying down; or cutting edging trims and leave torch handing ovet the edge@ more common in the flat roofing profession than u think! Never seen them left unattended though@
Post by: Franko on August 29, 2018, 05:30:49 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 29, 2018, 05:22:37 PM
I have actually seen sthing like this before; men leaving the torch on as they go to lift insulation for laying down; or cutting edging trims and leave torch handing ovet the edge@ more common in the flat roofing profession than u think! Never seen them left unattended though@

Not my line of work WW but I don't doubt it!

It's the "filling out another form will fix it" attitude that drives me mad.  And it's getting more and more prevalent these days.  More and more H&S staff having to justify their existence.
Post by: bennydorano on August 29, 2018, 05:37:04 PM
Jesus Franko, this is hardly the tread to be pushing that argument - as its the paying attention to / following the guidance on the forms that actually makes all the difference.     
Post by: red hander on August 29, 2018, 05:48:39 PM
Believe the actual extension wasn't too badly affected by the blaze, if not the smoke. I would walk past it every night up Castle Street after midnight home from work and they would be still battering away, seemed a 24-hour job for the last year or so, plenty of south Derry boys judging by the accents. That being the case, hopefully they can rebuild quickly. There are a few empty buildings in city centre, maybe Primark can use one of them in meantime so nobody loses their job
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2018, 05:54:06 PM
Quote from: red hander on August 29, 2018, 05:48:39 PM
Believe the actual extension wasn't too badly affected by the blaze, if not the smoke. I would walk past it every night up Castle Street after midnight home from work and they would be still battering away, seemed a 24-hour job for the last year or so, plenty of south Derry boys judging by the accents. That being the case, hopefully they can rebuild quickly. There are a few empty buildings in city centre, maybe Primark can use one of them in meantime so nobody loses their job

There's a decent size building over in East Belfast not being used
Post by: Therealdonald on August 29, 2018, 05:56:24 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 29, 2018, 05:37:04 PM
Jesus Franko, this is hardly the tread to be pushing that argument - as its the paying attention to / following the guidance on the forms that actually makes all the difference.   

No Franko has hit the nail on the head here. Paperwork fixes nothing. It just makes someone responsible.
Post by: Orior on August 29, 2018, 06:26:59 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on August 29, 2018, 05:56:24 PM

No Franko has hit the nail on the head here. Paperwork fixes nothing. It just makes someone responsible.

Careful. That requires a hard hat.
Post by: Franko on August 29, 2018, 06:34:51 PM

Why not?  What thread should I do it on?  There were no injuries or fatalities so I don't see it as being in any way disrespectful.

Regarding the part in bold  - In all honesty, it's not really.  It's about having some common sense and not being careless.  If you have to read the risk assessment to know not to leave the blowtorch on when you go for your tea, you probably shouldn't be there.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 29, 2018, 06:38:43 PM
Quote from: Franko on August 29, 2018, 06:34:51 PM
It's about having some common sense and not being careless.  If you have to read the risk assessment to know not to leave the blowtorch on when you go for your tea, you probably shouldn't be there.

Exactly.

The world would be an awful lot better place if there was room for common sense within law. Of course, lawyers couldn't have that. Hence drowning in paperwork.
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 29, 2018, 06:49:47 PM
Who was the contractor?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 29, 2018, 08:18:13 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 29, 2018, 06:38:43 PM
It's about having some common sense and not being careless.  If you have to read the risk assessment to know not to leave the blowtorch on when you go for your tea, you probably shouldn't be there.

Exactly.

The world would be an awful lot better place if there was room for common sense within law. Of course, lawyers couldn't have that. Hence drowning in paperwork.
If it's a high risk activity ie working with a source of ignition on top of a building full of people and flammable goods, then it wouldn't be just a matter of reading a risk assessment and you'd be required to put control measures in place. In our place all hot work requires a fire watcher.
Post by: WT4E on August 29, 2018, 10:01:08 PM

Been a bad year for Derry to be fair
Post by: bennydorano on August 29, 2018, 10:02:56 PM

Why not?  What thread should I do it on?  There were no injuries or fatalities so I don't see it as being in any way disrespectful.

Regarding the part in bold  - In all honesty, it's not really.  It's about having some common sense and not being careless.  If you have to read the risk assessment to know not to leave the blowtorch on when you go for your tea, you probably shouldn't be there.
Not because of sensitivities but because it's a strange position to push in this instance. You're arguing about H&S gone mad on a thread where not following H&S procedure has directly lead to this situation. Risk Assessments & procedures are there for good reason and not all workers are rocket scientists so paying heed might by a good idea. The person allegedly the cause of it may well be an apprentice who needs all the guidance he can get.
Post by: Franko on August 30, 2018, 07:41:40 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 29, 2018, 10:02:56 PM

Not because of sensitivities but because it's a strange position to push in this instance. You're arguing about H&S gone mad on a thread where not following H&S procedure has directly lead to this situation. Risk Assessments & procedures are there for good reason and not all workers are rocket scientists so paying heed might by a good idea. The person allegedly the cause of it may well be an apprentice who needs all the guidance he can get.

That's exactly my point.  No amount of risk assessments are going to stop that.  But when an incident like this happens, you always have the H&S brigade crowing about some other form that could have been filled in to stop the like of this.  Which is total nonsense.

Quite honestly, the appropriate response here is to sack the person responsible.  Anyone who does something like that has no business on a building site.  But the actual response will be to introduce more method statements/codes of practice/signage/toolbox talks which say 'all blowtorches must be turned off when unattended'.  ::)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 30, 2018, 08:04:17 AM
How about waiting for the investigation before coming to any conclusions. The likelihood is that this is human error and it is correct that no amount of form filling will prevent that but the thing is that if a bit more care is exercised when 'form filling' or more specifically training the people in the jobs so that the forms can be be filled then less accidents will happen. Safety at work laws are pretty stringent deliberately but they do not account for human error and also lack of human consideration.
Post by: seafoid on August 30, 2018, 08:14:38 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 30, 2018, 08:04:17 AM
How about waiting for the investigation before coming to any conclusions. The likelihood is that this is human error and it is correct that no amount of form filling will prevent that but the thing is that if a bit more care is exercised when 'form filling' or more specifically training the people in the jobs so that the forms can be be filled then less accidents will happen. Safety at work laws are pretty stringent deliberately but they do not account for human error and also lack of human consideration.
Fires are a fact of life. This is why there is property insurance.
Thankfully nobody died in this case.
Post by: Insane Bolt on August 30, 2018, 08:27:35 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 30, 2018, 08:04:17 AM

Reminds me of the classic line......computer error will never replace human stupidity 😂
Post by: johnnycool on August 30, 2018, 08:40:25 AM
Quote from: Orior on August 29, 2018, 06:26:59 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on August 29, 2018, 05:56:24 PM

Careful. That requires a hard hat.

And goggles and gloves.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 30, 2018, 09:00:54 AM

How far did the extension go back down Castle Street, Red? From my view point this morning, looking down Fountain Street towards it, there seems to be considerable damage - certainly at roof level - just at the Fountain Street junction, which is a good bit back from the front.
Post by: illdecide on August 30, 2018, 10:27:47 AM
Jasus you men are ott... No one knows for sure what happened or how yet (unless it's out and I haven't heard it) it could have been anything from human error to faulty equipment, we just don't know yet. Ffs yous have it norrowed down to some apprentice from South Derry 🤔. Wise up, sure what you don't know make it up.
As for the paper work side of things.. The company I work for are so big into H&S you nearly need to do a risk assessment to take a sh*t, but all the paper work only reduces the risk but does not guarantee it won't happen...
What am I about to do?
What could go wrong?
How can I control the risk?
What can I do to reduce the risk?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 30, 2018, 01:56:03 PM
Saw these on Facebook this morning

(https://s22.postimg.cc/m16b2k60h/40259666_2177495129241008_3414829566772903936_o.jpg)

(https://s22.postimg.cc/hfa6u7zwx/40269328_2177495135907674_2123574222193164288_o.jpg)

(https://s22.postimg.cc/vlpxph5n5/40277229_2177495032574351_5026408030464376832_o.jpg)

(https://s22.postimg.cc/6sgdoup7l/40293596_2177495052574349_8235345162943856640_o.jpg)

(https://s22.postimg.cc/g08m5k3zl/40298019_2177495042574350_4448013817028280320_o.jpg)

(https://s22.postimg.cc/gd00br9ep/40310758_2177495212574333_537187378075271168_o.jpg)

(https://s22.postimg.cc/gprehyett/40351932_2177495145907673_236016317000318976_o.jpg)

(https://s22.postimg.cc/6sgdowudd/40351951_2177495225907665_5434811999580061696_o.jpg)
Post by: red hander on August 30, 2018, 04:13:05 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 30, 2018, 09:00:54 AM

How far did the extension go back down Castle Street, Red? From my view point this morning, looking down Fountain Street towards it, there seems to be considerable damage - certainly at roof level - just at the Fountain Street junction, which is a good bit back from the front.

Just going on reports I heard. It must be a fair size considering the amount of time they were working at it and the length of time Castle Street was down to one one-way lane. Think it might go beyond Fountain St junction, tbh
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 30, 2018, 04:20:06 PM
Quote from: red hander on August 30, 2018, 04:13:05 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 30, 2018, 09:00:54 AM

Just going on reports I heard. It must be a fair size considering the amount of time they were working at it and the length of time Castle Street was down to one one-way lane. Think it might go beyond Fountain St junction, tbh

The original building goes back past fountain st, the extension was quite considerable going back further.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 10:28:46 AM
45m cordon in place around the building could be in place for up to four months. Currently no businesses inside that can trade. BCC say they'll actively try to shrink the cordon.

I'm all for preserving old buildings but if that's how it's going to be, knock the fecking down asap. I doubt there'd be many complaints from Primark.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2018, 12:21:26 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 10:28:46 AM
45m cordon in place around the building could be in place for up to four months. Currently no businesses inside that can trade. BCC say they'll actively try to shrink the cordon.

I'm all for preserving old businesses but if that's how it's going to be, knock the fecking down asap. I doubt there'd be many complaints from Primark.

4 months is madness! I'd a fella from the department of Infrastructure in my place the other day (as there is a knock on problem with our buisness because of the fire) and he was explaining to me that they had hoped that the road will be open for in the next few weeks, Castle junction is a major road through the town, they'd hardly want that closed for 3/4 months!
Post by: trailer on September 06, 2018, 02:34:15 PM
Should be flattened. Belfast traders will feel the across the city not just those closed because of it. But sense never prevails in these situations. Someone is earning a tank of cash carrying out surveys and shite.
Post by: Orior on September 06, 2018, 03:09:37 PM
I'm into history and shit, and I think it should be flattened asap.
Post by: bennydorano on September 06, 2018, 04:12:13 PM
Who was yer man on BBCNI news yesterday, Jesus he wasn't impressed.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 04:13:12 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 06, 2018, 04:12:13 PM

Was it the CEO of Argento, the jewellery store that can't open? Saw him on the BBC website.
Post by: lurganblue on September 06, 2018, 04:15:55 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 06, 2018, 03:09:37 PM

I agree. If it is a potential risk for 4 months then just flatten it and build something new and shiny.
Post by: general_lee on September 06, 2018, 04:21:28 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 04:13:12 PM

Was it the CEO of Argento, the jewellery store that can't open? Saw him on the BBC website.
My heart bleeds for this poor millionaire
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2018, 04:37:23 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on September 06, 2018, 04:15:55 PM

I agree. If it is a potential risk for 4 months then just flatten it and build something new and shiny.

Will that not also create as much hassle? 4 months is a bit extreme to be honest, no where near that I'd assume
Post by: lurganblue on September 06, 2018, 06:03:11 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2018, 04:37:23 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on September 06, 2018, 04:15:55 PM

Will that not also create as much hassle? 4 months is a bit extreme to be honest, no where near that I'd assume

Don't think so. I'm by no means an expert but surely you wouldn't need to cordon off such a large area while building a safe new structure.
Post by: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 06:41:58 PM
Quote from: general_lee on September 06, 2018, 04:21:28 PM

Maybe you could consider the employment and well-being of the employees in the store, genius.
Post by: trailer on September 06, 2018, 07:13:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 06, 2018, 06:41:58 PM

Maybe you could consider the employment and well-being of the employees in the store, genius.

A very poor comment. Ordinary everyday people will suffer. And this will last over the busy Christmas period. Some of the shops effected will lay people off. Others will close as footfall won't be the same.
I know when we go to Belfast, Zara is always somewhere we go. If it's not open, it's unlikely we will go to Belfast at all. That's the knock on effect.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 06, 2018, 09:24:53 PM
Were the fire brigade equipped for the fire?

I saw some of the footage and it looked like the reach of the hose spray was no where near high enough when the fire was on the top story
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2018, 10:13:14 PM
Maybe I'm wrong, but an iconic building? Had you asked anyone to list the top 20 iconic buildings in Belfast 2 months ago, Primark would not have been mentioned. Google iconic buildings in Belfast. Knock the fcuker down.
Post by: Rois on September 06, 2018, 10:36:13 PM

A good Strabane man who knows the value of business to his staff. Not a silver spoon millionaire.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 06, 2018, 11:09:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 06, 2018, 10:13:14 PM
Maybe I'm wrong, but an iconic building? Had you asked anyone to list the top 20 iconic buildings in Belfast 2 months ago, Primark would not have been mentioned. Google iconic buildings in Belfast. Knock the fcuker down.

Yes it would have - don't be silly
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2018, 11:13:15 PM
Wud it now
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2018, 11:25:54 PM
The place to meet your date, well there or City hall depending on what side of town she came from, very much an iconic building, not that many people walk around Belfast that actually lift their heads high enough to see the buildings above shop front height. Unfortunately we blew a good few buildings up over the years.
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2018, 11:39:02 PM
See this place to meet your date shit.

1. Who said I'm meeting my date?
2. Who met their ride at Primark?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 06, 2018, 11:55:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 06, 2018, 11:39:02 PM

You met there to get 2 t-shirts for a tenner before heading to Cornmarket to buy a packet of lighters and some white sax.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 07, 2018, 12:41:53 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 06, 2018, 11:39:02 PM

1. Who says it has to meet your standards or google of iconic status
2. Who says it had to be in the top ten

It is/was a marvelous building and need to demonise a beautiful building to justify knocking it down, its a miracle it is still standing and everything within reason should be done for it to be saved.

When people's jobs are at risk tho its obiviously something that would not be in its favour.

Dont think its just a case of simply knock the thing down tho.

Post by: haranguerer on September 07, 2018, 08:59:52 AM
This is the sort of shit that happens when you create a massive amount of drama over a burning building. You'd think it had been 9/11. And businesses doing good turns for the emergency services which they conveniently videoed  ::). The hyperbolic shite and self promotion made me sick
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 07, 2018, 09:08:14 AM
Quote from: Rois on September 06, 2018, 10:36:13 PM

A good Strabane man who knows the value of business to his staff. Not a silver spoon millionaire.

Haven't met him but his daughter is my daughters friend and I've met his wife a few times at dancing festivals over the years and they are the nicest, most down to earth people you'd meet. Perceptions are mad really. He has every right to be pissed off.
Post by: general_lee on September 07, 2018, 09:19:59 AM

They've been relocated, I don't see the big deal. It's four months. Not ideal, but tearing down what's left of one the city's most iconic buildings so they can get back to trading ASAP would be a much greater shame.
Post by: gallsman on September 07, 2018, 09:26:22 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 07, 2018, 09:19:59 AM

They've been relocated, I don't see the big deal. It's four months. Not ideal, but tearing down what's left of one the city's most iconic buildings so they can get back to trading ASAP would be a much greater shame.

You're on a roll. What about all the Zara staff? Have they been relocated too?
Post by: Armamike on September 07, 2018, 09:30:20 AM
His anger is understandable.  Pete Boyle started Argento from nothing (a market stall).  Like many others he would have built his business with a lot of blood, sweat and tears and a lot of initiative.  He's a good guy who gives a lot back.  Why wouldn't he be frustrated if something outside of his control is threatening his business and the livelihood of his staff.
Post by: general_lee on September 07, 2018, 05:29:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 07, 2018, 09:26:22 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 07, 2018, 09:19:59 AM

You're on a roll. What about all the Zara staff? Have they been relocated too?
If there were fatalities would he have been so keen to rip what's left of it down? Apologies for caring about preserving what's left of Belfast's built heritage. It's 4 f**king months. Again, I'm sure multinationals like Zara will cope
Post by: gallsman on September 07, 2018, 05:33:34 PM
Again you miss the point. What about their employees?

I'm sure you'd be happy to be out of a job for 4 months.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 07, 2018, 06:42:19 PM
Quote from: Armamike on September 07, 2018, 09:30:20 AM
His anger is understandable.  Pete Boyle started Argento from nothing (a market stall).  Like many others he would have built his business with a lot of blood, sweat and tears and a lot of initiative.  He's a good guy who gives a lot back.  Why wouldn't he be frustrated if something outside of his control is threatening his business and the livelihood of his staff.

You obviously never worked for him, or watched him in action with any managers who displeased him!
Post by: screenexile on September 07, 2018, 07:46:26 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on September 07, 2018, 06:42:19 PM
Quote from: Armamike on September 07, 2018, 09:30:20 AM

You obviously never worked for him, or watched him in action with any managers who displeased him!

Read all about it . . . Boss gives out to employees shocker!!!
Post by: general_lee on September 07, 2018, 09:28:24 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 07, 2018, 05:33:34 PM

What about them? 0 hour contracts and minimum wage? How many of the 300 staff are full time? They're being paid for the rest of the year regardless. Tearing the thing down and rebuilding isn't exactly an overnight job either
Post by: gallsman on September 08, 2018, 12:04:07 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 07, 2018, 09:28:24 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 07, 2018, 05:33:34 PM

What about them? 0 hour contracts and minimum wage? How many of the 300 staff are full time? They're being paid for the rest of the year regardless. Tearing the thing down and rebuilding isn't exactly an overnight job either

What, all the employees in the 14 businesses that can't trade are being paid to the end of the year?

You know this how exactly?
Post by: RedHand88 on September 12, 2018, 08:54:54 AM
Saw a tour guide with a bunch of rain soaked Americans the other day at the top of Donegall place pointing down the street saying "this is Belfasts biggest shopping street, we will meet back here in an hour".
She was deadly serious too. I pitied them.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 09:02:49 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 12, 2018, 08:54:54 AM
Saw a tour guide with a bunch of rain soaked Americans the other day at the top of Donegall place pointing down the street saying "this is Belfasts biggest shopping street, we will meet back here in an hour".

Victoria Square would be the biggest shopping area in Belfast, well the area with the most amount of retailers and decent places to eat!
Post by: Tyrdub on September 12, 2018, 09:06:54 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 09:02:49 AM

Victoria Square would be the biggest shopping area in Belfast, well the area with the most amount of retailers and decent places to eat!

that's gonna change soon, "Royal Exchange", the area from Royal Avenue round to North Street and Donegall Street, will be given the go ahead to be redeveloped. this will involve lots of demolition, realigning roads and rebuilding
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 09:57:33 AM
Quote from: Tyrdub on September 12, 2018, 09:06:54 AM

that's gonna change soon, "Royal Exchange", the area from Royal Avenue round to North Street and Donegall Street, will be given the go ahead to be redeveloped. this will involve lots of demolition, realigning roads and rebuilding

Aye heard about that, badly needed in that area, and then they can take those dirt bags off the streets..

Had an incident with a pair of them yesterday in my branch, I was in the kitchen area and heard the door opening, thought it was the postman dropping off mail, looks round and two cracked out alcoholics where checking the rooms and looking for gods knows what! Had to remove them, could have got nasty but I was lucky enough that they left with little fuss, but I did have to phyiscally usher them out!
Post by: HiMucker on September 12, 2018, 10:16:08 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 09:57:33 AM

Aye heard about that, badly needed in that area, and then they can take those dirt bags off the streets..

Had an incident with a pair of them yesterday in my branch, I was in the kitchen area and heard the door opening, thought it was the postman dropping off mail, looks round and two cracked out alcoholics where checking the rooms and looking for gods knows what! Had to remove them, could have got nasty but I was lucky enough that they left with little fuss, but I did have to phyiscally usher them out!
What a show of humanity  ::)
Post by: trailer on September 12, 2018, 10:21:53 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 12, 2018, 10:16:08 AM

What should he have done?
Post by: imtommygunn on September 12, 2018, 10:37:58 AM
House of fraser going away will fairly dent victoria square too.

The city centre is a mess at the minute. Made it down castle street the other day - those businesses are not doing too well down there by the sounds of it and there certainly weren't too many about.
Post by: HiMucker on September 12, 2018, 11:01:49 AM
Quote from: trailer on September 12, 2018, 10:21:53 AM

Maybe just do the above without referring to alcoholics as "dirt bags"? Also I have never had any interaction with street alcoholics and my first thought was that I am lucky it didnt turn nasty. Generally its more like I am lucky not to be in their shoes.
Post by: Keyser soze on September 12, 2018, 11:40:23 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 12, 2018, 11:01:49 AM

Maybe just do the above without referring to alcoholics as "dirt bags"? Also I have never had any interaction with street alcoholics and my first thought was that I am lucky it didnt turn nasty. Generally its more like I am lucky not to be in their shoes.

Maybe he was referring to them as dirtbags because they came onto his premises looking to steal whatever they could!!
Post by: HiMucker on September 12, 2018, 12:01:20 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on September 12, 2018, 11:40:23 AM

Maybe he was referring to them as dirtbags because they came onto his premises looking to steal whatever they could!!
Fair enough. That's not the way I interpreted it, though I am sure I could be wrong.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 12:39:01 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 12, 2018, 12:01:20 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on September 12, 2018, 11:40:23 AM

Fair enough. That's not the way I interpreted it, though I am sure I could be wrong.

They came into the premises to steal, looking petty cash, or anything else that they could put their hands on, proper dirt bags no excuses for it, smelt of crap and booze and wiped out at 8.40am on a Tues morning, looked like they had been just kicked out of the shelter.. If you know the area, its full of them and its not getting any better..

If you never had any interaction with the street junkies in Belfast your are doing alright, When I'm in my place of work (on my own) with two junked up hopeless not a care in the world people who are looking money for their next fix then I'll call them what I want, I'll not think at that point that I'm glad I'm not on the streets and I've a better life than them. Thats been a choice that may have been taken out off their hands for whatever circumstances
Post by: Dire Ear on September 12, 2018, 12:53:36 PM
Think you were right Himucker
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 01:21:19 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on September 12, 2018, 12:53:36 PM

I'm sure you'll greet them with a hearty handshake and give them your last £20 note

I'll call them what they are, thieving dirt bags. Ive a business to run and if I'm out of work due to a dust up or something worse I'll know where to call for a hand out ::)
Post by: general_lee on September 12, 2018, 02:09:23 PM
I'm with milltown. All well and good being on your high horse until you find one of these undesireables trespassing looking for something to steal so they can pawn it to get more drink and drugs. Had it plenty of times, wander into our yard hoping to find a door lying open so they can sneak in and help themselves to whatever they can get their hands on. Have had c***ts making their way into the attic before!
Post by: Dire Ear on September 12, 2018, 03:14:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 01:21:19 PM

I'm sure you'll greet them with a hearty handshake and give them your last £20 note

I'll call them what they are, thieving dirt bags. Ive a business to run and if I'm out of work due to a dust up or something worse I'll know where to call for a hand out ::)
You don't have to explain it, I get your personality from the numerous threads you post on and the type of posts you put up.  Good luck
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 04:53:48 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on September 12, 2018, 03:14:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2018, 01:21:19 PM

You don't have to explain it, I get your personality from the numerous threads you post on and the type of posts you put up.  Good luck

Ah, the honest frank posts that don't really pander to the norm? No problem, right or wrong thats me. different generation possibly
Post by: Minder on September 12, 2018, 05:32:15 PM
Have to agree with MR2, remember last year reading about a restaurant in Fountain St having to close and the owner saying that people openly shooting up in broad daylight at the front of your premises isn't good for business, regardless of the other problems a business might have.

Would anyone feel too safe walking down Castle St after 6pm? The problem of homelessness and addiction is a totally separate argument and we will always have our virtue signallers posing for photos with a homeless person so they can stick it on their Facebook but that particular area of Castle Street/King St/Fountain St isn't having it easy with the amount of addicts on their doorstep.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 12, 2018, 06:05:08 PM
Down round tomb street is probably the worst of them all. Even from an early stage of the day you do get a bit worried you may get jumped. Worst area in city centre by a long way.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 12, 2018, 06:46:52 PM
& that's only the Royal Mail staff.