GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Mossy Bruce on March 10, 2019, 06:51:33 PM

Title: 2019 Joe McDonagh Cup
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 10, 2019, 06:51:33 PM
Participants
Laois
Uíbh Fhailí
An Iarmhí
Aontroim
Ciarraí

11-12 May 2019 (Sat/Sun)
Round 1
Uíbh Fhailí v Laois
Aontroim v Ciarraí

An Iarmhí Bye

18-19 May 2019 (Sat/Sun)
Round 2

Laois v Aontroim
An Iarmhí v Uíbh Fhailí

Ciarraí Bye

25-26 May 2019 (Sat/Sun)
Round 3A

An Iarmhí v Ciarraí

Laois, Uíbh Fhailí & Aontroim Bye

01-02 June 2019 (Sat/Sun)
Round 3B

Uíbh Fhailí v Aontroim

Laois, An Iarmhí & Ciarraí Bye

08-09 June 2019 (Sat/Sun)
Round 4

Aontroim v An Iarmhí
Ciarraí v Laois

Uíbh Fhailí Bye

15-16 June 2019 (Sat/Sun)
Round 5

Laois v An Iarmhí
Ciarraí v Uíbh Fhailí

Aontroim Bye

30 June 2019 (Sun)
Final

1st Placed Team v 2nd Placed Team

From the GAA's "Master Fixture Schedule 2019 (Version 27.11.2019)"
Title: Re: 2019 Joe McDonagh Cup
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 10, 2019, 10:51:08 PM
I see the Round 2 match against Antrim is in Laois.
That's good.
Post by: merman on April 14, 2019, 07:34:59 PM
Rumours abound that Ross King will return to the Laois panel this week.
Brilliant news if true. A huge boost.
Post by: Ogie on April 14, 2019, 08:46:03 PM
Roddy back at training this morning
Post by: redsetanta on April 15, 2019, 10:24:09 AM
Brilliant news. Hopefully the CB doesn't allow a situation like this to arise again and instructs referees to be a lot tougher on players who carry out such attacks on the field of play.

King will be very important to us if we are to win the McDonagh cup. Our wides tally against Limerick shows the need for someone of his talent.
Post by: Don Draper on April 15, 2019, 10:25:16 AM
We're gonna walk this McDonagh Cup yoke.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on April 15, 2019, 11:42:53 AM
Quote from: Ogie on April 14, 2019, 08:46:03 PM
Roddy back at training this morning

Great news. Shows some character given what he was subjected to last year. I really feel that if we can win the first game against Offaly we will get to the final at least.
Post by: Zooming around on April 15, 2019, 07:16:35 PM
One of The wags is on having a say on Twitter
Post by: Unlaoised on April 16, 2019, 12:07:22 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on April 15, 2019, 07:16:35 PM
One of The wags is on having a say on Twitter

what?
Post by: The PRO on April 16, 2019, 03:08:33 PM
Ross King has some character to go back. Fair play to him. If I was in his shoes, I wouldn't walk into a dressing room with anyone from Camross in it. He's a bigger man than many I think.
Post by: redsetanta on April 16, 2019, 03:47:59 PM
I wouldn't completely tar all the Camross lads with the same brush. The main protagonists are not involved with Laois and I would assume that any Camross man with an ounce of integrity would condemn what happened to Ross. I would also think that those Camross lads in with Laois knew there would be fall out and bad blood over the incident but still committed. They are wearing the county jersey along side Rathdowney lads for a common purpose. From what i've seen this year they're doing well.

Delighted to see Ross King back.
Post by: SCFC on April 16, 2019, 05:08:16 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on April 16, 2019, 03:47:59 PMI would assume that any Camross man with an ounce of integrity would condemn what happened to Ross.
Unfortunately it didn't happen though. Did anyone from Camross come out and condemn the stuff on social media?
Post by: burdizzo on April 16, 2019, 05:20:33 PM
A big ask, in fairness.

Nevertheless, it's great to hear he'll be back - fair play to him, and I hope it goes well for him.
Post by: Don Draper on April 16, 2019, 05:39:02 PM
Time to let it go lads. Roddy has.
Post by: burdizzo on April 16, 2019, 05:43:29 PM
Exactly.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on April 16, 2019, 09:36:39 PM
Does anybody recall whether any 2018 Joe McDonagh Cup matches were broadcast by TG4?
Post by: ardtole on April 16, 2019, 10:00:39 PM
They weren't
Post by: Mossy Bruce on April 16, 2019, 10:32:37 PM
Quote from: ardtole on April 16, 2019, 10:00:39 PM
They weren't
I figured as much. Thanks, Ardtole.

Well, one can only hope for some airtime in 2019.  :)
Post by: ardtole on April 16, 2019, 10:53:24 PM
Very tight competition last year and I'd guess it will be as competitive this year, definitely deserves much more coverage.
Post by: Don Draper on April 17, 2019, 09:42:37 AM
Quote from: ardtole on April 16, 2019, 10:53:24 PM
Very tight competition last year and I'd guess it will be as competitive this year, definitely deserves much more coverage.
Coverage? The f**kers only announced the fixtures yesterday. Not two fucks are given about this by the GAA
Post by: G@@ on April 18, 2019, 01:43:18 PM
Was the final not televised last year? Or was it RTE Player only?
Post by: Don Draper on April 18, 2019, 04:33:49 PM
Quote from: G@@ on April 18, 2019, 01:43:18 PM
Wasn't it on the same day as the provincial hurling finals?
Post by: marty34 on April 18, 2019, 05:00:42 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on April 18, 2019, 04:33:49 PM
Quote from: G@@ on April 18, 2019, 01:43:18 PM
Wasn't it on the same day as the provincial hurling finals?

Yes. It was played just before the drawn Leinster Final between Galway and Kilkenny in Croke Park.  Early July I think.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 05, 2019, 08:50:48 PM
Any news from the last week or two on how things are shaping up for next Saturday's match?
Post by: redsetanta on May 09, 2019, 09:32:50 PM
Team announced and Roddy starts in the full forward line. Good team and hopefully off to a winning start.
Post by: merman on May 10, 2019, 10:19:47 AM
Aaron Dunphy, Neil Foyle, Picky Maher and PJ Scully look the big omissions; not sure if they are available for Saturday but we've great forward options if they are on the bench.

Happy with the team in general. I would have concerns about one or two individuals but I think we'll score well in Tullamore. It's a 50-50 game down there and if we can handle their physicality, I hope our forwards can give us the edge.

I don't completely agree with starting Ross King but if the players in the panel were happy to have him back, it's probably the right call. I have such admiration for him for coming back after all he's been through. Exceptional commitment.

I also think it's worth mentioning the fact that Offaly will be a completely different animal now compared to when we met them in the league. Kevin Martin will know our hurlers and if we are anyway complacent, they'll do us. I do think we are slightly ahead of Offaly but any marginal advantage there is evened up by travelling to Tullamore, not a happy hunting-ground for Laois teams.

This is going to be a close one and Offaly arguably carry a better goal threat. My gut-feeling is that we might come through but I've a niggling doubt.

A win here and I'd fancy us to make a final. A loss and I'd be extremely worried about staying up.
It's going to be an incredibly tight championship and it's infuriating that the coverage and promotion will be so abysmal/non-extinct from the GAA and national media.
Post by: burdizzo on May 10, 2019, 11:50:33 AM
I think there was something about Dunphy having a shoulder injury and not being ready for this game. I'd certainly have had him on if he was fit.
Post by: seafoid on May 10, 2019, 01:56:24 PM
Quote from: merman on May 10, 2019, 10:19:47 AM
Aaron Dunphy, Neil Foyle, Picky Maher and PJ Scully look the big omissions; not sure if they are available for Saturday but we've great forward options if they are on the bench.

Happy with the team in general. I would have concerns about one or two individuals but I think we'll score well in Tullamore. It's a 50-50 game down there and if we can handle their physicality, I hope our forwards can give us the edge.

I don't completely agree with starting Ross King but if the players in the panel were happy to have him back, it's probably the right call. I have such admiration for him for coming back after all he's been through. Exceptional commitment.

I also think it's worth mentioning the fact that Offaly will be a completely different animal now compared to when we met them in the league. Kevin Martin will know our hurlers and if we are anyway complacent, they'll do us. I do think we are slightly ahead of Offaly but any marginal advantage there is evened up by travelling to Tullamore, not a happy hunting-ground for Laois teams.

This is going to be a close one and Offaly arguably carry a better goal threat. My gut-feeling is that we might come through but I've a niggling doubt.

A win here and I'd fancy us to make a final. A loss and I'd be extremely worried about staying up.
It's going to be an incredibly tight championship and it's infuriating that the coverage and promotion will be so abysmal/non-extinct from the GAA and national media.
I was looking at the Irish Times website and in the hurling section they have articles going back as far as March but nothing about the Joe McDonagh
I don't think they have the budgets for it any more because they have cut back in other areas as well eg Northern Ireland
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 11, 2019, 09:01:50 PM
JAYZ, what a CRACKER of a match! god, I wish that was televised.
Years ago, there was a lad, back there, who would take video of Laois matches and sell them on DVD. Is he still around doing that?
Post by: G@@ on May 11, 2019, 09:18:04 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on May 11, 2019, 09:01:50 PM
JAYZ, what a CRACKER of a match! god, I wish that was televised.
Years ago, there was a lad, back there, who would take video of Laois matches and sell them on DVD. Is he still around doing that?

I think it might be this lad... https://www.facebook.com/BrophyVideography/

What a result tonight, wasn't at the game owing to family commitments - but listening to it on MR103 for the second half!

WOW! Full value for the €10 entrance fee in Tullamore for those who went.

I'm delighted for the lads, a never say die attitude and fair play to Offaly too who showed the same never-say-die attitude.

What a showdown it would be if we got a repeat for the final!

A long road to go yet, but confidence must be brimming now going into the next three games. I see Antrim gave Kerry a bit of a hiding up in the glens too.

Post by: Jd on May 11, 2019, 09:54:19 PM
Rte just summed up the attitude towards the Joe Mcdonagh........ covered everything up to Munster ladies first round and not a mention of Joe Mcdonagh on 9 o clock sports news. Laois game probably  the game of the weekend.
Post by: burdizzo on May 11, 2019, 10:14:39 PM
Yes, indeed, thrilling game, and fantastic result. Looked bad when we went 1-6 tom 0-5 down midway through the first half, but in fairness, lads who had been shaky - Phelan, King - knuckled down and we steadied the ship. Should almost have been ahead at half-time. Second half, though - some game. When we got the goals at the start of the second half, it was crucial we scored next, but each time, Offaly got a point back, and we seemed vulnerable when their forwards ran through on goal. Matthew Whelan was tremendously brave blocking one shot, with the ball hitting his head. He was down for a good while, but had a great finale, catching a couple of good balls into the square. Jack Kelly seemed to be carrying an injury into the game - and I hope he's all right - but he certainly wasn't as good as he can be. Padraig Delaney will be sore, too - borderline red-card pull on him - but he got up after lengthy attention, and soldiered on. Good second half from the forwards, and nice passing (Cha's might've been a throw!) for some of the goals, with Ross really coming alive.
Offaly weren't great, and made a few simple errors themselves, even when not under pressure. However, the harrying from the Laois lads was top-class, and resulted in a good few turn-overs. You almost expected Laois to come away with it out of a ruck.
Antrim, I think, had a big win over Kerry, so the job is far from done. A great start, though, and hopefully lads like Matthew and Padraig Delaney will be fit for it.

Oh, and I should just add that Ryan Mullaney was outstanding - probably man of the match, just pipping Mark Kavanagh.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 12, 2019, 03:14:10 AM
Quote from: G@@ on May 11, 2019, 09:18:04 PM

I think it might be this lad... https://www.facebook.com/BrophyVideography/

What a result tonight, wasn't at the game owing to family commitments - but listening to it on MR103 for the second half!

WOW! Full value for the €10 entrance fee in Tullamore for those who went.

I'm delighted for the lads, a never say die attitude and fair play to Offaly too who showed the same never-say-die attitude.

What a showdown it would be if we got a repeat for the final!

A long road to go yet, but confidence must be brimming now going into the next three games. I see Antrim gave Kerry a bit of a hiding up in the glens too.
Thanks, G@@! I will check to see if this is the guy.

If Laois can narrow in some of those wides they will be formidable.

I wonder how Carlow are going to do, this afternoon--eh, I'm getting ahead of myself.
Post by: MasterJ on May 12, 2019, 08:18:00 AM
Some goal fest!!!!! Why isn't there any media coverage of the Joe McDonagh cup. Like that was some intense game. Although Antrim slaughtered Kerry by 3-19 to 0-14. Antrim next in O'Moore Park. Another win needed!
Post by: CruiseCigar on May 12, 2019, 10:31:21 AM
Fair play to laois. Nice to see a few goals going in. Sounds very poor media coverage indeed
Post by: Countyminor on May 12, 2019, 11:25:57 AM
Huge credit to Ryan Mullaney. On a wretched week personally to go and hurl like he did is testament to the character of the man. Good to see Paddy back hitting the onion bag, Ross back into the fold, Mark Kav outstanding and a great impact from the bench. Would be nice if RTÉ gave it a mention (however unlikely) tonight and perhaps approached it from the angle of Laois being good instead of Offaly being awful and in decline.
Post by: G@@ on May 12, 2019, 01:48:51 PM
Quote from: Countyminor on May 12, 2019, 11:25:57 AM
Huge credit to Ryan Mullaney. On a wretched week personally to go and hurl like he did is testament to the character of the man.

Absolutely - well said and it deserves to be acknowledged.
Post by: seafoid on May 12, 2019, 02:24:37 PM
Super and historic win for Laois . Well done
Post by: Unlaoised on May 12, 2019, 05:52:07 PM
Good win a joy to be at the game...Laois should have won by more we were 8 points the better team but Offaly are hard to shake off and our lads shot selection really kills us a times we must have had close to 20 wides.

Ryan and Matthew were superb.

Not great support over there which was a bit disappointing .Foyle looks in no shape to be even a sub pity he is such a talent!
Post by: redsetanta on May 12, 2019, 07:05:39 PM
I thought the Laois support was decent enough.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 12, 2019, 08:54:20 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on May 12, 2019, 05:52:07 PM
Not great support over there which was a bit disappointing .Foyle looks in no shape to be even a sub pity he is such a talent!

They were complementing the size and vocal nature of the Laois support over on the Offaly site.

Fabulous win. Only the 2nd time we have beaten Offaly in the championship in the last half century so we should be delighted. Strong possibility we will face them again if both teams hurl like they did last night.

Nice to see the contributions from so many lads last night, starters and subs. The lads stood up to be counted and there were leaders everywhere. A great start for Eddie and crew.
Post by: Giovanni on May 12, 2019, 09:38:41 PM
For sure, any win in the championship against Offaly is a good win! Some very good performances from the likes of Ryan Mullaney (who was superb) and Mark Kavanagh who has some skill levels.

Agree with Unlaoised about the poor shot selection at times. We could easily have been 8 points up at half time but for some poor shooting. If we could cut the misses in half, we'd be giving ourselves a good chance in most games.

I must say I found a few things odd. I thought the midfield didn't function all that well and when you have so many good forwards, I would have thought that Paddy Purcell and even Roddy would be better options there.

I also thought that the backs were left isolated one on one against bigger forwards too often. I would have thought that there could have been a bit more work done by the midfielders in that area. Eric Killeen did well when he came on back there.
Post by: Helix. on May 12, 2019, 09:54:38 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on May 12, 2019, 09:38:41 PM
For sure, any win in the championship against Offaly is a good win! Some very good performances from the likes of Ryan Mullaney (who was superb) and Mark Kavanagh who has some skill levels.

Agree with Unlaoised about the poor shot selection at times. We could easily have been 8 points up at half time but for some poor shooting. If we could cut the misses in half, we'd be giving ourselves a good chance in most games.

I must say I found a few things odd. I thought the midfield didn't function all that well and when you have so many good forwards, I would have thought that Paddy Purcell and even Roddy would be better options there.

I also thought that the backs were left isolated one on one against bigger forwards too often. I would have thought that there could have been a bit more work done by the midfielders in that area. Eric Killeen did well when he came on back there.

Fantastic win first and foremost. Regardless  of state of Offaly hurling they still had to be beaten and good boost to win away from home. The diagonal ball inside the full forward line caused us a lot of problems. We were definitely the better side and great to see fitness levels and our first touch improving which Eddie has definitely brought improvement with.
Thought Offaly lucky to have 15 men on the field. Think it was the wing back who wildly swung in second half under the stand. Clumsy but wreckless on the same hand. We hassles and harried all through game and couldn't fault the work rate from the lads.
Antrim at home next hopefully can improve shot selection and tighten up at the back for next day. Offaly's 2nd and 3rd goal very soft ones to give away and hopefully we'll improve with games.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 16, 2019, 04:02:50 AM
I saw a post on Twitter, today, that said the Irish Daily Star ran a story claiming that RTE offered to air the Joe McDonagh Cup Final but the GAA turned them down. WTF?!?!
Post by: Laois Rising on May 16, 2019, 03:04:51 PM
It was because the game would have to start at 11.30am for rte to show it live. Munster final at 2pm and Leinster final at 4pm. With the possibility of the game going to extra time it would mean a ridiculously early throw in time. As far as I am aware, TG4 will be showing coverage of the final at 2pm coinciding with the Munster Final.   
Post by: redsetanta on May 16, 2019, 04:05:22 PM
Bruce if we get to the final you should fly over and make a holiday of it.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 16, 2019, 08:22:44 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on May 16, 2019, 03:04:51 PM
It was because the game would have to start at 11.30am for rte to show it live. Munster final at 2pm and Leinster final at 4pm. With the possibility of the game going to extra time it would mean a ridiculously early throw in time. As far as I am aware, TG4 will be showing coverage of the final at 2pm coinciding with the Munster Final.
Fair enough.
I do hope TG4 will be covering it.

Thanks, Laois Rising.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 16, 2019, 08:26:48 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on May 16, 2019, 04:05:22 PM
Bruce if we get to the final you should fly over and make a holiday of it.
god, that would be fantastic.
Unfortunately, we've be hammered with a number of mishaps, this year, that have drained our vacation fund.
When Laois are in the Leinster Final, in a year or two, we should be ready to head back there.  ;)
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 17, 2019, 08:18:07 AM
Another big match tomorrow. Antrim had a huge win in the first round. Win this and we will probably qualify for the final if we win one out of our last two. Should be a good crowd given the result last week in Tullamore.

Any news on injuries or the team?
Post by: MasterJ on May 17, 2019, 08:20:27 AM
Eddie has named the same starting fifteen for Antrim match tomorrow as he did for Offaly game last weekend.
1. Enda Rowland
2. Donnacha Hartnett
3. Matt Whelan
4. Joe Phelan
5.Padraig Delaney
6. Ryan Mullaney
7. Lee Cleere
8. John Lennon
9. Jack Kelly
10. Charles Dwyer
11. Willie Dunphy
12. Paddy Purcell
13. Mark Kavanagh
14. Eanna Lyons
15. Ross King
Post by: MasterJ on May 17, 2019, 08:21:49 AM
You can get it on Laois GAA on Twitter.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 17, 2019, 12:43:31 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on May 17, 2019, 08:20:27 AM
Eddie has named the same starting fifteen for Antrim match tomorrow as he did for Offaly game last weekend.
1. Enda Rowland
2. Donnacha Hartnett
3. Matt Whelan
4. Joe Phelan
5.Padraig Delaney
6. Ryan Mullaney
7. Lee Cleere
8. John Lennon
9. Jack Kelly
10. Charles Dwyer
11. Willie Dunphy
12. Paddy Purcell
13. Mark Kavanagh
14. Eanna Lyons
15. Ross King

If everyone is fit, hard to see how he would make changes. Was sceptical about one or two of the forward decisions last week but hard to argue with it this week after last week's performances. Looking forward to it. Antrim will give nothing easy.
Post by: G@@ on May 18, 2019, 05:58:22 PM
Great result. Hat tip to Rowland who was excellent in between the posts this afternoon. First touch from Laois was fantastic and to see our forwards harassing the Antrim backs was brilliant.
Post by: Chrimtain on May 18, 2019, 06:15:17 PM
I don't watch the hurlers much, but I enjoyed that today. Some great scores taken. It looks like Westmeath will be the main threat now.
Post by: burdizzo on May 18, 2019, 08:54:24 PM
Yeah, you'd wonder - did Offaly put all their effort into the Laois match, and once they lost that, they're just flat? But Westmeath are definitely on the up, and they beat us underage with this bunch, too, so they'll have no fear of us at all.
Anyway, good to see such a professional job done today. It was in the bag at half-time - even with the wind, Antrim weren't going to overturn a 10 point deficit - but it was nice to see them so steady and composed to see out the game. Yes, Rowland was in excellent form, but he'll be disappointed with a couple of his puck outs. Good to see Jack Kelly back on song, and a good game from Cha, too. Keep the composure for the Kerry game, and we'll through to the final.
Well done all!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 18, 2019, 09:06:02 PM
I am hoping today, at Mullingar, was a case of Offaly playing extra poorly (compared to last Saturday) than a Westmeath team playing extra sharp.
Post by: G@@ on May 18, 2019, 09:26:11 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on May 18, 2019, 09:06:02 PM
I am hoping today, at Mullingar, was a case of Offaly playing extra poorly (compared to last Saturday) than a Westmeath team playing extra sharp.

Westmeath are on an upward curve all right. But Offaly and Laois are a rivalry so the sight of a Laois jersey in Tullamore revved up the Offaly men last day out. Reading elsewhere there seems to be a bit of trouble in the Offaly camp and today's result in Mullingar isn't all that surprising.

Westmeath have to travel up north on June 8th to face Antrim who will have met Offaly the week before in Tullamore. Should Antrim beat Offaly, I'd imagine there would be some bite in the Westmeath V Antrim game on June 8th to see who joins Laois in the final (if we beat Kerry in Tralee that is).

I'd imagine the Laois V Westmeath game on June 15th would be a dead rubber if Westmeath coast past Antrim.
Post by: G@@ on May 18, 2019, 10:23:07 PM
Buff Egan has a good bit of scoring coverage from today's match on Snapchat.
Post by: zoner on May 18, 2019, 11:05:02 PM
Where's Picky these days? Injured?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 19, 2019, 01:54:40 AM
Quote from: G@@ on May 18, 2019, 10:23:07 PM
I don't have Snapchat but it might be time to sign up for it. Thanks, G@@!
Post by: Don Draper on May 19, 2019, 07:33:55 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on May 19, 2019, 01:54:40 AM
Quote from: G@@ on May 18, 2019, 10:23:07 PM
I don't have Snapchat but it might be time to sign up for it. Thanks, G@@!
Do it quick, stories only last 24 hours. Buff is iconic.
Post by: Goku on May 20, 2019, 10:58:42 AM
Good start to the campaign anyway, whats the story with Picky and Scully, Neither seem to be getting a look in at all?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 20, 2019, 11:49:15 AM
A few things stood out for me on Saturday. Firstly, when we played well we were way better than Antrim and way better than we have been in a few years. Our touch, fitness and hunger for the ball was excellent. However we dropped off the intensity big time when we were well ahead. Eddie Brennan was jumping up and down on the sidelines with some of our carelessness. We didn't get caught by Antrim but could have. Secondly, nearly everyone is playing well. Cha is coming back to himself and the front 8 all scored well. We are not reliant on one or two players. I thought some of them played well within their abilities but didn't need to do much more. Mullaney, Cleere and Kavanagh were fine but not at the same level as against Offaly. Great to see so many others step up. Purcell was excellent at full forward and looked very dangerous. Aaron Dunphy was lightening when he came on. Big game against Kerry and we will have a day out in Croker.
Post by: Laois Rising on May 20, 2019, 05:14:19 PM
Our recent head to head against Kerry isn't great. Kerry are not a bad side and will be looking to rectify the poor performance they put in in their opening game with Antrim. They have a knack of scoring goals so it will be a good test of our fullback line and how they deal with the threats of players of the caliber of Conway and the Boyles running at them. Eddie needs to make sure complacency does not set in and it was good to hear him be critical of our second half performance. He is demanding higher standards of the players and they are responding. Hopefully Laois continue to progress and remain injury free over the course of the next few games.   

If Laois are to win the McDonagh Cup we need to reduce the amount of goal scoring opportunities we are presenting teams. A poor Offaly team were handed a few soft goals and only for Enda the last day we could easily have leaked another 3/4. Westmeath are a serious side at this level and have definitely improved on last year's showing. I fear we won't get away with it if we present them with those kind of opportunities considering the form shown by the two Doyles and McNicholas so far this year. 
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 20, 2019, 05:36:34 PM
Yep, I get a bit nervous when Laios have an away game in Kerry. I hope the lads stay in top form and give it to Kerry at 100%.
Post by: Zooming around on May 21, 2019, 01:26:06 PM
Laois going very well right now in terms of the rate of improvement. I love how our first touch is much better and is very crisp. For a few years, i think our managements have taken the basic skills almost for granted. The work rate is very high with a large number of hooks and blocks. This all stems from a good attitude which is undoubtedly created by management. Well done to everyone involved.
Post by: Don Draper on May 24, 2019, 10:58:51 AM
We need to really keep a hard eye on Westmeath here boys

Their physio is giving them a real head start I believe

He's got a right grip on the lad(s)

And he will choke the life out of them if it means getting them to the happy ending they crave

He's a right dick, but he's happy to put himself out there to get (a)head

Post by: burdizzo on May 24, 2019, 04:20:08 PM
You may need to elaborate a little...
Post by: SCFC on May 24, 2019, 04:23:12 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on May 24, 2019, 04:20:08 PM
You may need to elaborate a little...
Some things are best left unsaid.
Post by: Don Draper on May 24, 2019, 05:34:23 PM
He's purple in the head throttling the lad(s).
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 25, 2019, 04:46:46 PM
Wow! I am stunned by the outcome of the Westmeath/Kerry match.  :o
I thought Westmeath were going to run over Kerry. We've got quite a match coming up in two weeks.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on May 25, 2019, 05:27:34 PM
After Westmeath's great win last week this result was certainly a big shock.
This is a reminder if any was needed that Laois need to be on top of their game to come away from Tralee with a win
Post by: Keyser Söze on May 25, 2019, 08:38:31 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 25, 2019, 05:27:34 PM
After Westmeath's great win last week this result was certainly a big shock.
This is a reminder if any was needed that Laois need to be on top of their game to come away from Tralee with a win

And likewise with the final game v Westmeath!
Post by: smcder on May 25, 2019, 09:28:50 PM
Really puts Offaly in a bad spot. They need to beat antrim and Kerry to avoid finishing joint bottom.
What way does it work if teams finish level on pts

Post by: burdizzo on May 25, 2019, 09:40:55 PM
Head to head. I assume.
Post by: Don Draper on May 26, 2019, 07:30:32 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on May 25, 2019, 09:40:55 PM
Head to head. I assume.
Westmeath already out in front by a head
Post by: MasterJ on May 27, 2019, 07:30:49 AM
This the table currently:
Laois : +/- 12 : Pnts 4
Westmeath: +/- 11: Pnts 2
Antrim: +/- 6: Pnts 2
Kerry: +/-  -12: pnts 2
Offaly; +/-  -17: Pnts 0
Post by: MasterJ on May 27, 2019, 07:32:48 AM
Does anyone know when Ben Conroy is due to return?
Post by: burdizzo on May 27, 2019, 07:46:27 AM
He'll be back for Slieve Bloom's relegation match in the autumn! At least, that's what they're hoping. He had quite a bad knee injury last autumn.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 27, 2019, 10:25:32 AM
Quote from: MasterJ on May 27, 2019, 07:30:49 AM

Looking like that even a draw in one of the last 2 matches would be good enough to see us in a final. However, I would be disappointed if we didn't win all our matches. We seem to be the best team in it going by the results so far.
Post by: Don Draper on May 27, 2019, 10:48:53 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on May 27, 2019, 10:25:32 AM

Looking like that even a draw in one of the last 2 matches would be good enough to see us in a final. However, I would be disappointed if we didn't win all our matches. We seem to be the best team in it going by the results so far.

A defensive Kerry side in Tralee fills me with trepidation. We've struggled historically down there. A win in that one would be a serious marker.
Post by: MasterJ on May 28, 2019, 06:36:17 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on May 27, 2019, 10:48:53 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on May 27, 2019, 10:25:32 AM

A defensive Kerry side in Tralee fills me with trepidation. We've struggled historically down there. A win in that one would be a serious marker.

So true  Kerry will have confidence after huge win in Mullingar. They have a big chance of making final as their two final games are in Tralee, us first then Offaly. We have two chances to make the final, with a win securing us in final. A draw might not do it as  all teams(bar Offaly) have 2 points with 2 rounds remaining.

It is great to see TG4 is now showing the Joe MCdonagh games highlights. I saw the Kerry win highlights on GAANOW. Hopefully it is not once off.
Post by: MasterJ on May 28, 2019, 06:37:57 PM
You can get GAANOW on GAA.ie.
Post by: burdizzo on May 28, 2019, 09:48:46 PM
Brendan Cummins was at the Laois v Antrim game, too. He made out he was there in his capacity as a Sunday Game analyst, but I think he double-jobs as Kerry selector, doesn't he? He'll have being trying to suss us out, I'd say, eh!?
Post by: Don Draper on May 29, 2019, 10:22:06 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on May 28, 2019, 09:48:46 PM
Brendan Cummins was at the Laois v Antrim game, too. He made out he was there in his capacity as a Sunday Game analyst, but I think he double-jobs as Kerry selector, doesn't he? He'll have being trying to suss us out, I'd say, eh!?
Cummins was on the line with Kerry above in Mullingar. For him to be at a Laois game as a Sunday Game analyst then they'd have to f**king analyse our games, so don't bother with that fuckacting.

Here he is in that capacity this year.

https://www.sportsfile.com/id/1628176/
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 29, 2019, 10:58:08 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on May 29, 2019, 10:22:06 AM
Cummins was on the line with Kerry above in Mullingar. For him to be at a Laois game as a Sunday Game analyst then they'd have to f**king analyse our games, so don't bother with that fuckacting.

What's the big deal? Completely normal to send managers / selectors to watch a rival playing. I'd be very disappointed if we didn't have someone in Mullingar last Saturday. No what if he is a TV analyst??
Post by: Don Draper on May 29, 2019, 11:14:43 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on May 29, 2019, 10:58:08 AM

What's the big deal? Completely normal to send managers / selectors to watch a rival playing. I'd be very disappointed if we didn't have someone in Mullingar last Saturday. No what if he is a TV analyst??
No big deal, merely confirming a query. Why so confrontational?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 29, 2019, 12:41:36 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on May 29, 2019, 11:14:43 AM

Chill. Very sensitive.
Post by: Don Draper on May 29, 2019, 12:45:27 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on May 29, 2019, 12:41:36 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on May 29, 2019, 11:14:43 AM

Chill. Very sensitive.
Are we cool bro?
Post by: MasterJ on May 29, 2019, 04:30:19 PM
Eanna Lyons not going as well as he was doing in league.
Post by: Don Draper on May 29, 2019, 04:59:22 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on May 29, 2019, 04:30:19 PM
Eanna Lyons not going as well as he was doing in league.
Would a rake of laps help do you reckon? Maybe a public flogging?
Post by: MasterJ on May 29, 2019, 06:52:55 PM
Very sensitive.
Post by: burdizzo on May 29, 2019, 10:53:00 PM
In fairness, he is just back from a serious injury, and often in that scenario it's hard to rediscover your form "just like that". However, the good thing is that we have options in the forwards.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 30, 2019, 09:26:14 PM
I was looking into the promotion/relegation procedure between the Joe McDonagh Cup and Leinster Championship and was surprised to see there is automatic promotion and relegation--no type of play off, at all. With the current strength of the top four counties in Leinster, I can see Laois, Westmeath, or (in 2021) Carlow being promoted to the Leinster Championship, lasting one year, then being relegated again--over and over. With the current setup, it is unlikely that any Joe McDonagh Cup winner can last in Leinster for more than one year--at least for the foreseeable future. There really needs to be a relegation/promotion match.

(Unless Galway implodes without Joe Canning.)
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 30, 2019, 09:41:29 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on May 30, 2019, 09:26:14 PM
I was looking into the promotion/relegation procedure between the Joe McDonagh Cup and Leinster Championship and was surprised to see there is automatic promotion and relegation--no type of play off, at all. With the current strength of the top four counties in Leinster, I can see Laois, Westmeath, or (in 2021) Carlow being promoted to the Leinster Championship, lasting one year, then being relegated again--over and over. With the current setup, it is unlikely that any Joe McDonagh Cup winner can last in Leinster for more than one year--at least for the foreseeable future. There really needs to be a relegation/promotion match.

(Unless Galway implodes without Joe Canning.)

Correct and right. Maybe some sort of seeding system that counts league and championship performance might work. Tough one to crack. Provincial championship dying a slow death anyway.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 31, 2019, 08:31:04 PM
What branch of the GAA comes up with competition structure changes (like automatic promotion/relegation and the hideously stupid, new structure for NHL, Division 1) and when do they do this? Are there records available that show the discussions (pros and cons) and proceedings for these?

I'd love to be able to grasp the logic the GAA has for some of these structural changes.  ???
Post by: Giovanni on May 31, 2019, 08:33:10 PM
A lot of excellent questions in there...
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 31, 2019, 08:54:39 PM
I just downloaded the "Official Guide - Part 1" (a hefty tome). I found a small part of my answer on page 112:
"The regulations governing the composition, timing, promotion, relegation, play-offs and all other matters pertaining to the National Hurling and Football Leagues, shall be decided by the Central Council, on the advice of the Central Competitions Control Committee."

I'm going dig in a little further to see what I can find.

Edit added:
"3.47 The Central Competitions Control Committee
(a) It shall consist of a Chairperson and one member from each of the four Provinces, appointed by the Management Committee."

Well, it looks like there's lots of representation of the smaller hurling counties, here.  :(

And a little more from an article published two months ago:

“In other words the new format [for league—and, in my opinion, Leinster] pretty much insulates the top counties from relegation.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/seán-moran-next-year-s-hurling-league-change-is-regressive-and-unfair-1.3839509
[you might have to copy and paste this URL as the link from here won’t work.]

Post by: smcder on June 01, 2019, 12:33:18 AM
Gaa now (is it?). Stream Joe mcdonagh cup games now. Offaly antrim on tomorrow and  tg4 showing the final live
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 01, 2019, 02:03:31 AM
Quote from: smcder on June 01, 2019, 12:33:18 AM
Gaa now (is it?). Stream Joe mcdonagh cup games now. Offaly antrim on tomorrow and  tg4 showing the final live

As far as I've seen, GAA Now has video of bits of highlights (none longer than 2 minutes or so) but I have yet to see anything close to a full match on it. (I do appreciate some highlights as it is better than nothing.)
https://www.gaa.ie/gaa-now/

Definitely, looking forward to seeing the final live (and seeing a certain county in it).
Post by: smcder on June 01, 2019, 02:13:35 AM
Was sure woolie said on his hurling podcast they were streaming it.
After looking at the site and can see nothing about it though
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on June 01, 2019, 12:03:51 PM
With the mcdonagh  final, leinster final and munster final all on the same day I hope they use their head and let all hurling followers be able to see all 3. Why not put games at 1pm, 3pm and 5pm. Croke park games at 1 and 3 then show munster final on the big screen in croke park at 5?
Post by: South Laois man on June 01, 2019, 02:15:52 PM
Won't happen. That would make too much sense.
Post by: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 02:56:08 PM
Quote from: South Laois man on June 01, 2019, 02:15:52 PM

Haha so true!

But antrim v offaly is currently live here:https://www.gaa.ie/gaa-now/
Post by: redsetanta on June 01, 2019, 03:01:43 PM
If they are streaming the games why the lack of any highlights on Sunday game? Ffs the cameras are there!
Post by: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 03:19:36 PM
This isn't rte this is gaanow . Antrim down a man though!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 01, 2019, 03:28:16 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 02:56:08 PM
Quote from: South Laois man on June 01, 2019, 02:15:52 PM

Haha so true!

But antrim v offaly is currently live here:https://www.gaa.ie/gaa-now/
I can see they are streaming the match live but all I get is a black screen. It appears it is not available for viewing in the States, which is typical but sucks.
Post by: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 03:44:57 PM
Antrim with 14 men but leading at break by 2-10 to 1-11. Great first half!!
Post by: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 04:18:32 PM
Red for offaly. Antrim leading by 2-16 to 2-15
Post by: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 04:42:45 PM
Offaly doomed to Christy Ring after 3-23 to 4-18 defeat!!!!!!
Post by: smcder on June 01, 2019, 04:48:55 PM
Kerry and westmeath need a point each to relegate offaly.

Two draws for us maybe 😉
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 01, 2019, 04:50:45 PM
That was a cracking game - well done to Antrim !
GAA Now commentator said that both games next week will be shown on GAA Now (Antrim/Westmeath and Kerry/Laois).
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 01, 2019, 06:23:39 PM
Before today, it was important for Laois to beat Ciarraí. But now that Aontroim have two wins under their belt, it is essential that Laois go visit the Kingdom, kick some serious butt, and rack up a lot of points in the process.

You can do it, Laois!
Post by: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 06:44:59 PM
Buff Egan will probably be at laois v kerry
Post by: SCFC on June 01, 2019, 07:03:23 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 06:44:59 PM
You're not selling it well...
Post by: Mad Mentor on June 01, 2019, 07:39:13 PM
All the young lads love Buff. They were sitting around him last year like he was a God, my own lad included. I'll be interested to see if he's grown up in the year. (My lad, not Buff). In fairness to Buff he's probably done more than the GAA, RTE etc. to raise the profile of second tier hurling.
Post by: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 07:43:31 PM
Quote from: SCFC on June 01, 2019, 07:03:23 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 01, 2019, 06:44:59 PM
You're not selling it well...

I was just saying that. Of course GAANOW will have better coverage.
Post by: marty34 on June 01, 2019, 08:40:00 PM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on June 01, 2019, 07:39:13 PM
All the young lads love Buff. They were sitting around him last year like he was a God, my own lad included. I'll be interested to see if he's grown up in the year. (My lad, not Buff). In fairness to Buff he's probably done more than the GAA, RTE etc. to raise the profile of second tier hurling.

Yeah, he's been fantastic. Not everybody's cup of tea but his coversge is first class.  Anyone who puts in the work he does deserves credit.

Compare him and The Sunday Game re: Mc Donagh Cup. No comparsion at all. He travels everywhere for games.

Keep 'er lit Buff!
Post by: MasterJ on June 02, 2019, 09:37:05 AM
I would happily say that Offaly are going to the Christy Ring Cup next year.
Post by: SCFC on June 02, 2019, 03:50:58 PM
Quote from: marty34 on June 01, 2019, 08:40:00 PM

Yeah, he's been fantastic. Not everybody's cup of tea but his coversge is first class.  Anyone who puts in the work he does deserves credit.

Compare him and The Sunday Game re: Mc Donagh Cup. No comparsion at all. He travels everywhere for games.

Keep 'er lit Buff!
Ah I dunno. To me it's a case of young lads laughing at him not with him. He's obviously a bit simple but sure I suppose he's doing no harm.
Post by: marty34 on June 02, 2019, 06:16:49 PM
Quote from: SCFC on June 02, 2019, 03:50:58 PM
Quote from: marty34 on June 01, 2019, 08:40:00 PM

Keep 'er lit Buff!
Ah I dunno. To me it's a case of young lads laughing at him not with him. He's obviously a bit simple but sure I suppose he's doing no harm.

Nice language for 2019!!! I could'nt care what his IQ level is.

He's a good interest in hurling, promotes it well - every level so fair play to him.

Fair play to him.
Post by: G@@ on June 02, 2019, 07:17:47 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 01, 2019, 03:28:16 PM
I can see they are streaming the match live but all I get is a black screen. It appears it is not available for viewing in the States, which is typical but sucks.

Some VPN software should sort that - are you viewing on a laptop, tablet or iPad?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 02, 2019, 07:48:29 PM
Hi, G@@.

That's what I would have thought but on a thread in "GAA Discussion" a lad in England said he was going through a VPN and he got the same black, silent screen--and he tried it on two devices.

At the time, I was trying to view it on my iPad.

I'm not giving up yet, though.

Edit added: I just found a VPN that has a server in Ireland. I'll give it a gamble.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 03, 2019, 12:21:08 AM
Well, crap! >:(  I signed up with a highly recommend VPN service, pick a server in Ireland, clicked the Sunday Game on the RTÉ Player, and still got the message, "This programme cannot be streamed due to rights restrictions."

What's interesting is that there is a streaming service in Denmark that limits the programs available for viewing outside of the country. When a pick I server there, in Denmark, I can see all the shows they usually restrict.

I guess I'm stuck watching live football in Denmark, then.  :'(

Post by: MasterJ on June 03, 2019, 08:24:13 AM
Quote from: G@@ on June 02, 2019, 07:17:47 PM

Some VPN software should sort that - are you viewing on a laptop, tablet or iPad?
You could go to TG4 player and watch the highlights there!!!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 03, 2019, 03:25:06 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 03, 2019, 08:24:13 AM
Quote from: G@@ on June 02, 2019, 07:17:47 PM

You could go to TG4 player and watch the highlights there!!!
Yes, that's what I will be doing.

I emailed GAAGO to try to pursuade them to stream the full matches that are shown on GAA Now. We'll see if that goes anywhere. Thanks for the suggestions, MasterJ.
Post by: burdizzo on June 04, 2019, 12:59:30 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on May 27, 2019, 07:32:48 AM

Actually, it seems from LaoisToday that he's in contention for a place this weekend, which would be good going! However, Mark Kavanagh is out w/ a knee injury of his own. Quite a blow considering how good he's been this season.
Post by: Don Draper on June 04, 2019, 01:43:55 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on June 04, 2019, 12:59:30 PM

Actually, it seems from LaoisToday that he's in contention for a place this weekend, which would be good going! However, Mark Kavanagh is out w/ a knee injury of his own. Quite a blow considering how good he's been this season.
Kavanagh is on crutches, given his history, I'd be very worried for him. Poor kid.
Post by: Helix. on June 04, 2019, 03:10:54 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 04, 2019, 01:43:55 PM

Kavanagh is on crutches, given his history, I'd be very worried for him. Poor kid.

A right kick in the balls for Mark. Speedy recovery whatever the outcome of the injury is!
Post by: burdizzo on June 04, 2019, 04:05:07 PM

Terrible, absolutely terrible. He is probably the most skilful Laois have had in years. Suppose Ross King will go on frees, but who will take the sidelines?
Post by: redsetanta on June 04, 2019, 04:17:48 PM
Ah FFS and Kavanagh has been playing really well. The hurlers haven't fared great with injuries the past few seasons. Ben Conroy back is a big plus though. Cruciate in October and available to play in June is fair going.
Post by: merman on June 04, 2019, 04:39:11 PM
I think LaoisToday were premature re Ben. He's back training about a week.
He has an outside chance of being available for any Final or subsequent play-off but he's not in contention for Kerry or Westmeath matches. PJ Scully and Steven Dunphy both left the panel since the Kerry game.
Post by: Giovanni on June 04, 2019, 04:50:40 PM
Very sorry for Mark Kavanagh.

Agree with the Burdizzo about his skill levels. He's added a serious workrate this year too, which has made him a really valuable player.

Does anyone know how long he's likely to be out. Terrible news.
Post by: redsetanta on June 05, 2019, 10:35:49 AM
Beat Kerry this weekend and we have a final at the end of the month. Draw with them and we're still in pole position also Offaly's relegation is confirmed. A defeat and a victory for Westmeath in Dunloy puts 4 teams on 4 points going in to the last round.

Hard to see Westmeath beating Antrim up there but McDonagh games are very unpredictable at the best of times.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 05, 2019, 04:59:04 PM
I just got an email from the GAA Digital Content Manager regarding live streaming of matches on GAA Now. She said the games were not geo-blocked and should be viewable anywhere. So, it must be a technical issue on my end or somewhere in between here and there. I sure hope I can get it figured out before Saturday.  :(
Post by: Giovanni on June 05, 2019, 05:49:56 PM
I blame the Russians  ;D
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 05, 2019, 08:26:19 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 05, 2019, 05:49:56 PM
I blame the Russians  ;D
Messing with our elections, over here in The States, is one thing but if they're going to interfere with me watching Laois hurling---well, that's just going too far!  >:(
Post by: Mad Mentor on June 06, 2019, 07:21:21 AM
Maybe Donald can do something while he's over here. Or better still, I'm sure Shane Ross would love to be seen with Paddy Purcell lifting the Joe McDonagh Cup.
Post by: burdizzo on June 06, 2019, 09:50:07 PM
Kavanagh named on the team, after all that.
Post by: Giovanni on June 06, 2019, 10:25:23 PM
Great news on Mark Kavanagh. Is Lee Cleere injured?
Post by: merman on June 06, 2019, 11:36:26 PM
Delighted to hear Kavanagh is OK.
To my memory, the team named in advance has always started to date so I wouldn't expect any changes.

Lee Cleere has picked up a recurrence of a shoulder injury and is a doubt for the rest of the games. A huge blow as I think he's having a great year.

Aaron Dunphy back is a great boost and Picky Maher is also included on the bench for the first time.
Post by: redsetanta on June 06, 2019, 11:42:19 PM
Our forwards should be good enough to win this if they get half enough ball.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 07, 2019, 10:43:57 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 06, 2019, 11:42:19 PM

Will be all about possession. Kerry have been able to handle us in recent years because they won a huge percentage of the puck outs. This year Laois have moved on physically, are winning more ball and are turning the opposition over frequently. If we work hard for 70 minutes I can see us winning with some style.
Post by: Don Draper on June 07, 2019, 12:41:02 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on June 06, 2019, 09:50:07 PM
Hard to see him start.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 07, 2019, 03:30:43 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on June 07, 2019, 10:43:57 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 06, 2019, 11:42:19 PM

Will be all about possession. Kerry have been able to handle us in recent years because they won a huge percentage of the puck outs. This year Laois have moved on physically, are winning more ball and are turning the opposition over frequently. If we work hard for 70 minutes I can see us winning with some style.

They'll need to rein in those wide shots, too.
Post by: Mad Mentor on June 07, 2019, 05:19:14 PM
I'm looking forward to this. Tralee is always nice to visit. Last year was a big wake-up call with us being favourites and then how easily we were beaten. Hopefully we are better prepared this year.
Post by: Don Draper on June 08, 2019, 02:55:37 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 07, 2019, 12:41:02 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on June 06, 2019, 09:50:07 PM
Hard to see him start.
As expected Mark is sadly out. Foyle in for him.
Post by: on the hop on June 08, 2019, 03:12:54 PM
Can't get the stream working so listening on radio jerry. Great start
Post by: G@@ on June 08, 2019, 03:13:48 PM
Useless live stream isn't broadcasting.
Post by: MoChara on June 08, 2019, 03:45:04 PM
The antrim Live Stream was having issues as well but came back on for the last 20 minutes of the second half
Post by: MoChara on June 08, 2019, 03:49:13 PM
Stream seems to be working, but its deferred coverage

Post by: G@@ on June 08, 2019, 04:48:46 PM
Great result. Hope Mossy Bruce got to see it even though there was a huge chunk of the game missing between 20 mins and 50 mins.
Post by: smcder on June 08, 2019, 07:30:14 PM
Ruthless with our goal changes. Great to see. Anyone know why Conway for Kerry kept hitting the ball of the ground when running with it?
Post by: G@@ on June 08, 2019, 07:51:18 PM
Quote from: smcder on June 08, 2019, 07:30:14 PM
Ruthless with our goal changes. Great to see. Anyone know why Conway for Kerry kept hitting the ball of the ground when running with it?
Because he could? He probably idolised DJ Carey as a chap growing up.

Nice to see all the goals from Laois, no doubt it's Eddie's influence there.

Post by: G@@ on June 08, 2019, 08:10:00 PM
There are interesting permutations about who will join Laois in the Final.

If Kerry beat Offaly and we beat Westmeath then there are three teams on four points: Westmeath, Antrim and Kerry. In this scenario scoring difference comes into play.

Westmeath are on +19
Antrim are on 0
Kerry are on -20

If Laois beat Westmeath by 19pts and Kerry beat Offaly by 20pts there would be some headache for the GAA!

Antrim will be hoping for a Kerry and a Laois win - but Laois to destroy Westmeath by 20pts at a minimum to see them progress.

Kerry likewise are looking for Laois to trash Westmeath and for themselves to trash Offaly to make the final.

Interesting games next weekend and for once there isn't an ounce of pressure on us. I presume that Brennan will make a few changes for the game as it is most likely to be a rehearsal for the final on June 30th.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on June 08, 2019, 08:33:46 PM
Quote from: G@@ on June 08, 2019, 07:51:18 PM
Quote from: smcder on June 08, 2019, 07:30:14 PM
Because he could? He probably idolised DJ Carey as a chap growing up.

Nice to see all the goals from Laois, no doubt it's Eddie's influence there.

Dont remember DJ doing that very often.

More likely that he was doing it because he had used his play of the ball and wanted to catch it again.
He did seem to do it early so maybe he was resetting his number of catches to zero to maximise how many plays of ball that he could make later in his run.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 08, 2019, 11:32:22 PM
Quote from: G@@ on June 08, 2019, 04:48:46 PM
Great result. Hope Mossy Bruce got to see it even though there was a huge chunk of the game missing between 20 mins and 50 mins.
A Saturday couldn't be better!
1. My first grandchild was born! [I watched the full match later without knowing the result beforehand.]
2. I get to watch a full match of Laois hurling.
3. I get to watch Laois pulverize Kerry in Tralee.
4. Laois will be in the Joe McDonagh Cup Final!

It doesn't get better than this.  :D
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 09, 2019, 04:42:09 AM
I'm thrilled at the depth of the panel that Laois is developing.

So, a dumb question from a spectator way out wesht--how does Laois cultivate a strong second-string goalie if another lad isn't sub'd in there every once in awhile. We'd be foooked if Enda Rowland got injured.
Post by: redsetanta on June 09, 2019, 09:57:04 PM
Brilliant win and we continue to score goals which was a huge problem even under Cheddar. Can't wait for June 30th to see these lads in Croke Park.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 10, 2019, 11:21:08 AM
How will Eddie approach Saturday's match against Westmeath?

Obviously we will want to win but not at any cost. Will he give lads a run? Will he try to build momentum? Will we play a different style so as not to teach WH ahead of the final? It's a tough one.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 10, 2019, 07:07:01 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on June 10, 2019, 11:21:08 AM
...Will we play a different style so as not to teach WH ahead of the final?...

This is the approach I would chose--and get some new lads on the pitch to gain some experience.

In my opinion, it would be okay win by a point or two, draw, or lose by a point or two so as to not give Westmeath too much to go on as to what to expect from Laois in the Final.
Post by: MasterJ on June 10, 2019, 07:19:17 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 10, 2019, 07:07:01 PM

This is the approach I would chose--and get some new lads on the pitch to gain some experience.

In my opinion, it would be okay win by a point or two, draw, or lose by a point or two so as to not give Westmeath too much to go on as to what to expect from Laois in the Final.

I dont agree.If we lose, we lose momentum and give Westmeath momentum.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 10, 2019, 08:31:06 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 10, 2019, 07:19:17 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 10, 2019, 07:07:01 PM

I dont agree.If we lose, we lose momentum and give Westmeath momentum.
You are right. Momentum is important but so is doubt. Westmeath have yet to play Laois under Mr. Brennan. Other than watching video of this year’s past Laois matches, Westmeath have nothing to go on. They haven’t met Laois shoulder to shoulder, yet. If Laois play a number of new lads, this Saturday, Westmeath still won’t be sure who their real opposition will be for the Final. Even if they win by a point or so this Saturday, there will be doubt within them as to what to expect in the match that really counts. Understand, I am not saying let them mop up the pitch with us.

Also, by getting some new lads out there to gain some real intercounty experience, it will strengthen the panel even more for the upcoming Final and possibly the Leinster Quarter-Finals.

Sometimes, it is a good strategy to concede a battle if it will increase your chances of winning the war.

Anyway, no more than an opinion from this spectator.  :)

P.S. I remember when Laois played a strong match against Galway in the NHL in late January. I read a lot about the Galway line-up being second- and third-string players. This left me with a lot of doubt about how strong or weak Galway really was—and how strong Laois really was. Let’s do that to Westmeath.

Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 10, 2019, 11:17:08 PM
It's time for the GAA to scrap the provincial structure
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0610/1054518-its-time-for-the-gaa-to-scrap-the-provincial-structure/

"There's automatic promotion and relegation between Leinster and the Joe McDonagh if the winner is from Leinster or is Antrim...

How's that fair? The answer is that it's not and it's a situation that will create a small number of yo-yo teams, probably Carlow, Westmeath and Laois, that will bounce between the two competitions, not spending more than a year in the top tier."
Post by: redsetanta on June 11, 2019, 09:44:40 AM
Hard to know what's the best strategy for Westmeath. I think eddie will go with more of the same and go for goals whenever possible. It's great to have competition for places and that strengthens teams. Being able to bring in Foyle and Picky against Kerry was a big boost. When you have lads like that fighting for places standards won't drop. It's great for Laois hurling that these lads stayed training hard even without a starting place. In other times lads would leave the panel.

Beat Westmeath on Saturday and plan for the final. Westmeath have a knack of upsetting the form book (e.g. Antrim at the weekend) but we're in a good place this year.
Post by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 09:47:36 AM
Throw this game. Send out a few Camross lads to flake all round them, and throw it.
Post by: Zooming around on June 11, 2019, 10:02:29 AM
Is there any realistic way that the final won't be Laois v Westmeath?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 11, 2019, 10:38:34 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on June 11, 2019, 10:02:29 AM
Is there any realistic way that the final won't be Laois v Westmeath?

Not realistically. We would have to hammer WH and Kerry would have to hammer Offaly. Neither are likely.

Westmeath unlikely to put out a weakened team against us as they can't afford to be beaten well. I would guess that if Eddie has a Brian Cody type mentality he will put out our strongest team and try to get the psychological advantage over WH that comes through winning. Of course, the risk is huge if you lose and also will give WH an opportunity to learn. I just don't think it's in Eddie to hold back.

I believe that despite getting beaten by Kerry at home, Westmeath are the form team. They hammered Offaly, much easier than we did. They were very comfortable over Antrim in Dunloy. They have some fine hurlers who have managed to beat Laois before at U21 and senior level as well as beating Eddie Brennan's Kilkenny at U-21. They also carry the pain of narrowly losing the final last year. We will have to step it up to beat them. We have stuttered too much through many of the games that we should have won well. Kerry exposed us badly in defence and only for the goal-fest we were in trouble. Saying all that, we have come on a show since last year and if we play to our potential we should shade it. It's going to be ding-dong as they say.
Post by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 11:13:38 AM
You'd want your head examined to go play your first team this weekend. I'd ask PJ, Packie and few of the lads to tog out for this one.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 11, 2019, 12:58:58 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 11:13:38 AM
You'd want your head examined to go play your first team this weekend. I'd ask PJ, Packie and few of the lads to tog out for this one.

It's a wonder you weren't called in as a selector.....
Post by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 01:00:13 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on June 11, 2019, 12:58:58 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 11:13:38 AM

It's a wonder you weren't called in as a selector.....
Tommy is doing a grand job, don't be rocking the boat.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 11, 2019, 02:04:37 PM
The relegation/promotion set up is not right.
There is a simple solution.
Carlow v Waterford and the loser relegated. If Waterford were relegated and Laois (or another Leinster team) promoted, there is also a simple solution, Galway to Munster.
There is no reason for a Munster team to be shielded from relegation.
There is also no reason why Galway couldn't be moved between the provinces to maintain 5 & 5 in each.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on June 11, 2019, 02:56:45 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on June 11, 2019, 02:04:37 PM
The relegation/promotion set up is not right.
There is a simple solution.
Carlow v Waterford and the loser relegated. If Waterford were relegated and Laois (or another Leinster team) promoted, there is also a simple solution, Galway to Munster.
There is no reason for a Munster team to be shielded from relegation.
There is also no reason why Galway couldn't be moved between the provinces to maintain 5 & 5 in each.

Good idea
Post by: MasterJ on June 11, 2019, 03:45:41 PM
Laois have not played hurling in croker since 2005 and the only ones that have are the 2013 minor players. Westmeath were there last year and they will not be as nervous. However, brennan knows the place well and should be able stop the nerves.
Post by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 03:54:36 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 11, 2019, 03:45:41 PM
Laois have not played hurling in croker since 2005 and the only ones that have are the 2013 minor players. Westmeath were there last year and they will not be as nervous. However, brennan knows the place well and should be able stop the nerves.
Matt Whelan has lifted silverware in Croke Park.
Post by: redsetanta on June 11, 2019, 04:16:10 PM
What silverware was that?
Post by: Don Draper on June 11, 2019, 04:50:27 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 11, 2019, 04:16:10 PM
What silverware was that?
He captained Ireland to the Shinty in 2015 alongside Zane and Reilly.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on June 11, 2019, 06:36:18 PM
Is there any way that the 3 games on June 30th can be seen by all hurling followers or are some of the games clashing?
Could we have:
1pm Mcdonagh final
2.45pm Leinster Final
4.15pm Munster Final
Or similar
Post by: MasterJ on June 11, 2019, 07:12:23 PM
I don't think they clash. You may miss the build-up though :D :D
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on June 11, 2019, 09:58:53 PM
Fairly certain they clashed last year.
Post by: smcder on June 12, 2019, 12:19:32 AM
Mcdonagh cup on at same time as munster final I think.
Post by: redsetanta on June 12, 2019, 12:59:29 AM
It is which is a joke. Should be different weekends.
Post by: smcder on June 12, 2019, 03:51:27 AM
Not really. Having it on before the Leinster final to have it on before a big game.
And they have the munster and Leinster finals on the same day to have a big day of hurling. And it evens up the breaks between the following fixtures.
Post by: MasterJ on June 12, 2019, 07:31:58 AM
Was the Joe McDonagh Cup final on live TV last year?
Post by: Don Draper on June 12, 2019, 09:50:08 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 09, 2019, 04:42:09 AM

So, a dumb question from a spectator way out wesht--how does Laois cultivate a strong second-string goalie if another lad isn't sub'd in there every once in awhile. We'd be foooked if Enda Rowland got injured.
You never got an answer to this Mossy. Its a tricky one, you need to give the sub goalie a few games here and there, but its a tricky one to balance given in our situation we were bedding in a few new backs this year, who needed a solid keeper behind them. You can only hope you don't need him this time out and that next year he can get a bit of a run out. But the position of sub goalie in a county like Laois where we have Rowland in the hurling and Brody in the football is an unforgiving one. Generally as a result sub keepers don't hang around for long. Its a lot of effort for little reward. Kind of like an intercounty player from a weaker county really.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 12, 2019, 02:52:18 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0612/1054950-joe-mcdonagh-cup-set-for-final-day-blockbuster/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0612/1054950-joe-mcdonagh-cup-set-for-final-day-blockbuster/)

I am a reading this wrong or is this just a complete lazy ass mis-reading of the McDonagh cup permutations by RTE?

Is he suggesting that if Laois beat Westmeath then Antrim will be in the final? This can't be true UNLESS Laois hammer Westmeath by more than 19 points and Kerry beat Offaly but don't pass out Antrim on goal difference. If Kerry don't win then the Westmeath result is irrelevant as it comes down to head-head between Westmeath and Antrim which Westmeath won.

I think that the only drama left is who gets relegated - Offaly or Kerry.

Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 12, 2019, 08:32:16 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 12, 2019, 09:50:08 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 09, 2019, 04:42:09 AM

You never got an answer to this Mossy. Its a tricky one, you need to give the sub goalie a few games here and there, but its a tricky one to balance given in our situation we were bedding in a few new backs this year, who needed a solid keeper behind them. You can only hope you don't need him this time out and that next year he can get a bit of a run out. But the position of sub goalie in a county like Laois where we have Rowland in the hurling and Brody in the football is an unforgiving one. Generally as a result sub keepers don't hang around for long. Its a lot of effort for little reward. Kind of like an intercounty player from a weaker county really.
Thanks for answering, Don. All good points. It would be tricky since you can let a few fly over the bar trying out new lads in defense but you can't ever really take a chance on anything hitting the back of the net.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 12, 2019, 09:56:22 PM
I've seen a couple of lads mention the Joe McDonagh Cup Final will be aired by TG4. However, when I go to their "Live Sport" page (https://www.tg4.ie/en/live-sport/gaa-beo/) it says, "GAA Beo returns on July 3rd with the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U20 Hurling Championship."

Does anyone have any more info on who (if anyone) will be broadcasting the Final live?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 12, 2019, 11:32:11 PM
As far as I can gather TG4 will be streaming it live as they did last year but it won't be live on TV.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 13, 2019, 01:57:39 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 12, 2019, 11:32:11 PM
As far as I can gather TG4 will be streaming it live as they did last year but it won't be live on TV.
Okay. Thanks!
Post by: MasterJ on June 13, 2019, 07:55:45 AM
I will be at the game anyway.
Post by: Leixlad on June 13, 2019, 09:52:14 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMpOcHZ1Btg

A good chat between Wolly and Cheddar regarding what Joe McDonagh teams ect need to do to bridge the gap to next level. Passion Cheddar has is incredible, not just for Laois but hurling in general. Unfortunately not too many people in the GAA want to listen to him and his plans - then again why would they when our own county board wouldn't. Sigh.
Post by: Don Draper on June 13, 2019, 10:05:35 AM
Quote from: Leixlad on June 13, 2019, 09:52:14 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMpOcHZ1Btg

A good chat between Wolly and Cheddar regarding what Joe McDonagh teams ect need to do to bridge the gap to next level. Passion Cheddar has is incredible, not just for Laois but hurling in general. Unfortunately not too many people in the GAA want to listen to him and his plans - then again why would they when our own county board wouldn't. Sigh.
Some lads despise Cheddar because he's a successful go getter. These sort of fellas would be happy swamping around in their own filth day in day out, while the likes of Cheddar will look to the stars. There's plenty of them on here like that too.
Post by: High Fielder on June 13, 2019, 10:31:15 AM
You can't but admire the enthusiasm. You can see he thinks everything is possible. I always think numbers are what make the GAA so imbalanced. Big clubs and counties are able to leave behind players who are not quite good enough, while smaller clubs/counties have to persist. Im not sure that's a balance that can ever be fully achieved. Good interview though, and a man whose opinion always matters
Post by: redsetanta on June 13, 2019, 11:16:46 AM
It annoys me to think that only for Wolly's show we'd be hearing nothing from Cheddar. We have the COE, a senior hurling team doing well, some decent minors coming through, GAA in the county on a high and now is the time to have someone like Cheddar pushing the whole thing on. A smart man and one of our own who wants nothing but the best for Laois hurling and the wider hurling community. He knows the limitations but has his plans.

I still think that if Laois businesses invested in Cheddar he would return the investment. Croke Park should be shamed into doing something because Cheddar would have a plan that fits Laois so it wouldn't be cap in hand, there would be an overall benefit.

Post by: Zooming around on June 13, 2019, 10:42:48 PM
Ryan Mullaney, Cha, Paddy Purcell, Donnchadha Hartnett amongst others all injured for Sunday. Hopefully they'll be back for the final
Post by: MasterJ on June 14, 2019, 07:06:10 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on June 13, 2019, 10:42:48 PM
Ryan Mullaney, Cha, Paddy Purcell, Donnchadha Hartnett amongst others all injured for Sunday. Hopefully they’ll be back for the final
Cha, Paddy, Hartnett and Ryan all injured. How? They all played last Saturday. Now a few younger lads will surely start
Post by: Brandon on June 14, 2019, 11:26:19 AM
Anyone tell me where mark Cavanagh is ? Is he injured ?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 14, 2019, 11:35:41 AM
Quote from: Brandon on June 14, 2019, 11:26:19 AM
Anyone tell me where mark Cavanagh is ? Is he injured ?

He was injured before Kerry match and I would imagine that he and anyone else with niggles is being rested for the final.
Post by: burdizzo on June 14, 2019, 12:57:40 PM
Is he in contention to play in the final? Kavanagh, that is?
Post by: Don Draper on June 14, 2019, 01:05:23 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on June 14, 2019, 12:57:40 PM
Is he in contention to play in the final? Kavanagh, that is?
Yerrah I tried to tell you he wouldn't play against Kerry and you were having none of me. I'll say nothing, there's Westie spies around.
Post by: burdizzo on June 14, 2019, 02:23:24 PM
I suppose. Why make it easy for them?
Post by: Gmac on June 14, 2019, 05:08:10 PM
Don't live in Ireland anymore but might make final as I'm in country , the last time I saw Laois play championship hurling was in the mid 80s and I think it was s double header in Carlow and not sure who they played but I do remember paddy prendergast of Kilkenny being airlifted out of there after a bad injury.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 14, 2019, 08:09:34 PM
Straight from TG4,

"Hi Bruce a chara,

Tá súil agam go bhfuil tú go maith.

Yes we will be providing a live stream of the Joe McDonagh Cup Final on the 30th of June. This stream will be available worldwide via our SPORT TG4 YouTube page."
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 14, 2019, 11:25:31 PM
Well done TG4, where would we be without this great service...
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 15, 2019, 03:28:11 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 14, 2019, 11:25:31 PM
Well done TG4, where would we be without this great service...
Yes. TG4 — God bless 'em.
Post by: marty34 on June 15, 2019, 08:56:14 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 14, 2019, 08:09:34 PM
Straight from TG4,

"Hi Bruce a chara,

Tá súil agam go bhfuil tú go maith.

Yes we will be providing a live stream of the Joe McDonagh Cup Final on the 30th of June. This stream will be available worldwide via our SPORT TG4 YouTube page."

An excellent service - especially at club level during the autumn/winter.

They put the big 'broadcasters' to shame.
Post by: smcder on June 15, 2019, 03:06:21 PM
can anyone find it on gaa now?
Post by: MasterJ on June 15, 2019, 03:14:29 PM
Neither offaly or laois stream are working. They may come on in a few minutes.
Post by: MasterJ on June 15, 2019, 04:41:46 PM
Fair result 1-22 a piece. Poor shooting but some of the younger lads stepped up. Jack was super scored 3 points and gave plenty of ball in with one of them resulting in Mark Dowling's goal. Offaly relegated to Christy Ring Cup. Final is going to be interesting!!!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 15, 2019, 05:38:18 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 15, 2019, 04:41:46 PM
...Jack was super scored 3 points and gave plenty of ball in with one of them resulting in Mark Dowling's goal...
Definitely impressive.

I saw a few new names (at least new to me) on the pitch, today, which was great.

Was that Westmeath's strongest team out there or did they hold a few lads back for this match due to injury or strategy?
Post by: redsetanta on June 15, 2019, 06:09:31 PM
Great result with all the changes. Good to see the lads who came in, subs included, stepping up. Played out well for a 'dead rubber' game. Set up nicely now for the final.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 15, 2019, 07:23:42 PM
Best of luck in the final. I'd like to see Laois in the Leinster championship next year. You seem to be moving in the right direction with good men at the helm. I've no doubt that should you  win, you will more than hold your own next year. All the best.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 15, 2019, 08:57:55 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 15, 2019, 07:23:42 PM
Best of luck in the final. I'd like to see Laois in the Leinster championship next year. You seem to be moving in the right direction with good men at the helm. I've no doubt that should you  win, you will more than hold your own next year. All the best.

Thank you. Very gracious considering the day you are having. No hurling people took pleasure in what happened Offaly in Tralee today. Fair play to Kerry, they are a fine side with some super hurlers. I'm sure Offaly will restore themselves so we can do battle again in a few years.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 15, 2019, 09:54:41 PM
I imagine that some of our elder statesmen such as Bergin, Dooley, Colin Egan and Mahon will go.
It mightn't probe to be a bad thing yet. Yes, it's terrible. We appear to have a good u20 set up, and I think that a lot of the older lads will be brought in with the seniors. Intensive S&C work once their season is done. The start of a rebuilding process. It's time that some other players step up.

That being said, an awful lot of work has to be done off the field, with various things being needed to be done. My best wishes are genuine. I know I give you a hard time over certain individuals, you all know who (Hint: he walked out on his actual club, thanks Keyser Soze), but I wish you well.

Hopefully some day soon we'll be playing in the Leinster championship. Wishful thinking, I know.

Alas, Que Sera Sera
Post by: MasterJ on June 16, 2019, 12:53:19 PM
I was looking at the Offaly GAA forum and they have a topic, Christy Ring Cup 2020. Laois probably wont play Offaly till 2021 as they ( Offaly) went down to Division 2 and the Christy Ring Cup. It may be the end of the Rivalry.
Post by: smcder on June 16, 2019, 02:25:52 PM
Not an end to the rivalry. They will come back up. Probable easier come back up from Christy ring than from division 2. But it's a huge stretch to say the rivalry is at an end. When they were well ahead of us there was still a rivalry.
Post by: marty34 on June 16, 2019, 04:27:16 PM
Quote from: smcder on June 16, 2019, 02:25:52 PM
Not an end to the rivalry. They will come back up. Probable easier come back up from Christy ring than from division 2. But it's a huge stretch to say the rivalry is at an end. When they were well ahead of us there was still a rivalry.

Offaly could have difficulty coming up back from the Christy Ring.  If they lose a few elder statesmen (which, in itself) mightn't be a bad thing.

They'll have to regroup and rebuild. A year or two in the Christy Ring will do Offaly no harm.

Also, if they come straight up again, they'll probably come back down again.

That's my take.
Post by: Mad Mentor on June 16, 2019, 05:16:36 PM
I would imagine Meath will win the Christy Ring this year and replace Offaly in the Joe McDonagh, but I wouldn't put my house on it. You would expect Offaly would have enough to come straight back up, but similarly to the Leinster championship/Joe McDonagh there is likely to be a large amount of yo-yoing between the two for certain counties - ourselves included. Whoever wins the Joe McDonagh final will more than likely face the same fate as Carlow did this year. Dublin defeating Galway yesterday probably signals the end of hopes that there was at least one team you might fancy your chances against on any given day. As a Laois supporter, the Joe McDonagh has been very enjoyable this summer but that leap into the top ten is still a big one. The re-structuring of the league format has only made this worse.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 16, 2019, 05:46:09 PM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on June 16, 2019, 05:16:36 PM
I would imagine Meath will win the Christy Ring this year and replace Offaly in the Joe McDonagh, but I wouldn't put my house on it. You would expect Offaly would have enough to come straight back up, but similarly to the Leinster championship/Joe McDonagh there is likely to be a large amount of yo-yoing between the two for certain counties - ourselves included. Whoever wins the Joe McDonagh final will more than likely face the same fate as Carlow did this year. Dublin defeating Galway yesterday probably signals the end of hopes that there was at least one team you might fancy your chances against on any given day. As a Laois supporter, the Joe McDonagh has been very enjoyable this summer but that leap into the top ten is still a big one. The re-structuring of the league format has only made this worse.

Agree.

To eliminate this upcoming yo-yo phenomenon between the Joe McDonagh and Leinster competitions, all the GAA has to do is hold a match between the team up for promotion and the team facing relegation. Winner goes up, loser goes down. The solution seems so simple, unless I’m completely missing something.
Post by: marty34 on June 16, 2019, 05:47:07 PM

Good point.
Post by: Ogie on June 16, 2019, 07:31:28 PM
Lads we are having one of our best years hurling in a long time, let's enjoy it and talk about our own hurlers, let Offaly worry about their own.
I doubt the posters on Uibh Fhaili.com would be worried about us if we went down!

Really looking forward to the Laois hurling community getting a day out in Croke Park with a genuine chance of winning in Croke Park!
Post by: Don Draper on June 16, 2019, 08:18:09 PM
f**k Offaly
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 16, 2019, 08:23:47 PM
The concluding words from the article, "Brennan reckons Laois have plenty to work on ahead of Joe McDonagh Cup final" on LaoisToday.com

"... Among these new faces were Mark Dowling, who was on the end of a crucial goal and Eoin Gaughan, whose last-minute free resulted in the late equaliser for the Laois men.

Their performances, as well as Jack Kelly's and a number of others, has certainly made the selection process that much harder ahead of the Joe McDonagh final in two weeks time."

What a great problem to have! I hope it keeps getting more and more difficult in the future.  :)
Post by: LooseCannon on June 16, 2019, 08:40:43 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 16, 2019, 08:18:09 PM
f**k Offaly
Thank God that not all people from Laois are like you and your ilk.
Luckily there's decent people who I have PMed during my time on this.

One thing is for certain, and I mean this with the utmost of respect: you sir/madam are a can of piss. Worse still, an awful lot of people on here think similar of you.

Post by: Don Draper on June 16, 2019, 09:29:06 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 16, 2019, 08:40:43 PM
f**k Offaly

One thing is for certain, and I mean this with the utmost of respect: you sir/madam are a can of piss. Worse still, an awful lot of people on here think similar of you.
Forgive me if this hurts you, but f**k you too. Offaly never cared for us, why should we care for Offaly. Offaly's wounds are self inflicted. I take no joy in your demise, I just won't be worrying too much about it, we've our own problems. No Offaly man I ever met wanted a Laois mans sympathy, why would you?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 16, 2019, 09:40:42 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 16, 2019, 05:46:09 PM

Agree.

To eliminate this upcoming yo-yo phenomenon between the Joe McDonagh and Leinster competitions, all the GAA has to do is hold a match between the team up for promotion and the team facing relegation. Winner goes up, loser goes down. The solution seems so simple, unless I'm completely missing something.

I completely agree with this. If you are not good enough yet to beat the worst team at the next level, then you are probably better off in the Joe McD. Same goes for Christy Ring. A few years ago they tried this in the league when Westmeath had to play Laois in a playoff, which we won. There was murder and it was removed. Personally I would rather see Laois hurl at a competitive level until we are truly ready. In 2 years of this experiment no Joe Mc team has won a game when promoted. We or Westmeath will be the same next year. Meath or Down will probably be returned to the Christy Ring in 2020 with interest too.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 16, 2019, 09:57:00 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 16, 2019, 09:29:06 PM
f**k Offaly

Forgive me if this hurts you, but f**k you too. Offaly never cared for us, why should we care for Offaly. Offaly's wounds are self inflicted. I take no joy in your demise, I just won't be worrying too much about it, we've our own problems. No Offaly man I ever met wanted a Laois mans sympathy, why would you?

Did I ask for sympathy?
I wished Laois the best of luck.
There's a fairly basic concept called respect. It's generally thought to be an intrinsic part of a somewhat normal society.
All I did was pull you up on your lack of a grasp for this basic concept. A lack of class.
There's more maturity in a slice of red cheddar in the fridge than there is in you.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 16, 2019, 10:26:10 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on June 16, 2019, 09:40:42 PM

Agree.

To eliminate this upcoming yo-yo phenomenon between the Joe McDonagh and Leinster competitions, all the GAA has to do is hold a match between the team up for promotion and the team facing relegation. Winner goes up, loser goes down. The solution seems so simple, unless I'm completely missing something.
... If you are not good enough yet to beat the worst team at the next level, then you are probably better off in the Joe McD. Same goes for Christy Ring...
Exactly!
Post by: Don Draper on June 16, 2019, 10:41:14 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 16, 2019, 09:57:00 PM
f**k Offaly

Did I ask for sympathy?
There's a fairly basic concept called respect. It's generally thought to be an intrinsic part of a somewhat normal society.
All I did was pull you up on your lack of a grasp for this basic concept. A lack of class.
There's more maturity in a slice of red cheddar in the fridge than there is in you.
Dry your eyes mate. The sun comes up tomorrow.
Post by: burdizzo on June 16, 2019, 10:46:39 PM
Jaysus, Don, you're a surly enough auld whore betimes!
Post by: LooseCannon on June 16, 2019, 11:24:29 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 16, 2019, 10:41:14 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 16, 2019, 09:57:00 PM
f**k Offaly

Did I ask for sympathy?
Dry your eyes mate. The sun comes up tomorrow.
I'm well aware of that. No one was killed. I've gone through enough grief and real tragedies off the field be it through my club, friends and former colleagues. So if you think it's the be all and end all, I worry about you.  I don't need a lecture from a young pup sitting behind a keyboard. I'd say you'd be no use handling a burdizzo anyway.
A know it all who's probably never played to a middling standard, if even.

To the genuine people on here, I apologise for firstly having to put up with this gobshite, and secondly for posting in your forum. I'm not going to waste any more of my precious time on this earth to this smartass piece of work.
Sin sin agus go n-éirí libh.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 12:28:20 AM
Silly stuff.
No need for it.
I agree that Offaly never worried about or cared for Laois' woes. The disappointments of the early 80s etc. I remember two days in particular.
Croke Park in 1996 and O' Connor Park in 2004.
On both days we had high hopes. Seemed to be moving well. In 1996 we had reached a league semi final (beating Kilkenny and running Tipp to 4/5 points). I think our half forward line that day was Declan Rooney, Declan Conroy & David Cuddy. We still had Taylor, Dollard and PJ going fairly well. I had really high hopes that day!
In 2004 we had gone reasonably well in the league, and relegated Offaly.
Two serious beatings.
On both occasions I remember having a few drinks after wards and the jeering from the Offaly crowd, who had arrived fairly nervous.
In Tullamore one fella kept roaring "lock the gates and make them watch it!" as the Laois crowd filed out with 15/20 minutes to go.

Despite this, its childish and ill befitting to be chastising someone for posting here. Ignore the posts or do whatever you have to, but the constant attacks etc are silly.
Post by: Leixlad on June 17, 2019, 08:45:21 AM
Well done to Laois finished league section unbeaten and getting a few lads a run which will benefit in long run no doubt. Im not familiar enough with Westmeath - did they do the same does anyone know?
Really looking forward to Croke Park - the only time i seen Laois hurl there (minor final aside a few years ago) was Wexford in 2005. I remember going in hope that year after beating Dublin handily in Nowlan park (I think?!) Should be a great occasion with Wexford v KK on afterwards (strange having the curtain raiser on second!!) My only hope now is fixtures fall my way for club championship - sadly the county i live in now have no regard for Laois playing in Croke park on Sunday 30th and there is a round of hurling championship scheduled that weekend.  :-[

I have to admit i didn't feel sorry for Offaly going down. You make your own bed - they wouldn't feel sorry for us. Its a sad sight Offaly in tier 3 however. My only hope and perhaps in one way i was hoping they would get relegated is maybe it might provoke the GAA to act not just with Offaly but to all teams of that level now (Laois, Antrim, Westmeath Carlow ect) and set up a strategic plan and proper funding and it might benefit us in the long run. Maybe thats wishful thinking however. Or maybe Offaly will get all the funding and over take us again and il regret seeing them relegated in the first place!!
Post by: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 09:42:45 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on June 16, 2019, 10:46:39 PM
Jaysus, Don, you're a surly enough auld whore betimes!
I just dont get it. I have huge time for Offaly hurling, but its a thundering disgrace whats been let happen to it. Donal Óg nailed it last night, they've had their warnings and done sweet f**k all about it to arrest it. Carlow deserve more attention than them, Laois do too, as do Westmeath. Kerry deserve massive credit for what they've done. Offaly have it tough much like ourselves, a dual county living off scraps, but jesus, make an effort will you?

Anyway, a thread can be set up to discuss it, this is the time nor the place.
Post by: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 10:16:56 AM
I think Offaly are the best example of a dual county with a small population who can no longer expect to be competitive in either code. Much like ourselves, they rely on a bumper crop every now and then. Unfortunately, this current crop are just not good enough, but Donal Og was spouting shite last night. This can happen. It will happen to us. It already did by dropping to Division 4 in football. Offaly, ourselves and a few more like us don't have the numbers. I'd be edified to see how and why Offaly contributed to their downfall. I sincerely doubt that we're doing things any differently. Sometimes you just get a bunch that are not up to it, and of course lads walk away from that too. Offaly and ourselves are constantly playing the numbers game. They will be back, but only luck will put them where they were before. Same as ourselves. I take no pleasure in their demise because there but for the grace of God and all that.
Post by: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 10:24:52 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 10:16:56 AM
I think Offaly are the best example of a dual county with a small population who can no longer expect to be competitive in either code. Much like ourselves, they rely on a bumper crop every now and then. Unfortunately, this current crop are just not good enough, but Donal Og was spouting shite last night. This can happen. It will happen to us. It already did by dropping to Division 4 in football. Offaly, ourselves and a few more like us don't have the numbers. I'd be edified to see how and why Offaly contributed to their downfall. I sincerely doubt that we're doing things any differently. Sometimes you just get a bunch that are not up to it, and of course lads walk away from that too. Offaly and ourselves are constantly playing the numbers game. They will be back, but only luck will put them where they were before. Same as ourselves. I take no pleasure in their demise because there but for the grace of God and all that.
I disagree. If you continue to develop players, have good structures, you should be able to stay well away from the bottom. We fell to D4 in the league as a result of sheer neglect of the adult set ups, it had f**k all to do with crops of players. Practically the same crop of players put us in D1, then into D4, and then back into D2, all under vastly differing set ups.

No farmer looks into a field and expects it to nurture itself.
Post by: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 10:44:56 AM
Bad analogy. In between there was ageing, walkouts, ill discipline and so much more. Yeah Sugrue has changed the philosophy, but he has only managed so far to get the best out of us, and as we saw the last day, that's a long way short. Brennan is doing the same. Nothing wrong with either, but we don't have the players in either code to be competitive.
Post by: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 10:50:03 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 10:44:56 AM
Bad analogy. In between there was ageing, walkouts, ill discipline and so much more. Yeah Sugrue has changed the philosophy, but he has only managed so far to get the best out of us, and as we saw the last day, that's a long way short. Brennan is doing the same. Nothing wrong with either, but we don't have the players in either code to be competitive.
Yes, but we have the players not to hit rock bottom. We have the players to compete much closer to the top tier than we have. Offaly have too. To just throw your hands up at it and give up because, shur we're at nothing is quitter talk. Why were there walk outs in between? Why was there ill discipline? Players react to a professional set up and approach. Give  them that, give them structures to develop, and you're on to something. To just expect St Brendans Birr to hand you a generation every now and then is weak and foolish. You have to work at it, scratch the ground, give them something to believe in. You think its down to luck, lucks got f**k all to do with it.
Post by: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 11:09:11 AM
I disagree. Portlaoise are an example at one end of the scale and let's take Courtwood at the other end. Can Courtwood seriously expect to be as competitive forever as they are now? I hope they do by the way. And for the opposite reasons, Portlaoise will always be strong. Getting a good batch in a small club or county is good luck and getting a bad crop is bad luck. Coaching only enhances what is already there 
Post by: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:12:22 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 11:09:11 AM
I disagree. Portlaoise are an example at one end of the scale and let's take Courtwood at the other end. Can Courtwood seriously expect to be as competitive forever as they are now? I hope they do by the way. And for the opposite reasons, Portlaoise will always be strong. Getting a good batch in a small club or county is good luck and getting a bad crop is bad luck. Coaching only enhances what is already there
No, but Courtwood can continue to do things the right way, and develop what they have. And its not a good analogy, as Courtwood are a small area who may or may not get 15 good footballers through. Laois and Offaly are working off populations of thousands, good coaching and structures will always get you 15. Coaching will enhance what is already here in Laois because we have a larger population than Courtwood. Your example is poor.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 11:16:23 AM
No luck involved as such.
As Don said there is constant hard work and organisation needed. Constant reviewing, improving and evolving too. And after all that, given our numbers, all we can hope for is to be consistently competitive MOST YEARS at underage and to bring through 2-3 players from each age grade.
The problems for Offaly and Laois are when even a handful of the 2/3 good enough from each grade decide not to commit. It kills us both.
4/5 players that are good enough between the ages of 20 & 28 deciding not to commit could realistically be irreplaceable for us.

It is hard to see a way out of this cycle. 

A huge review is needed of the GAA's priorities in terms of spending money. In general, the GAA has an admirable and open model. One the of the main problems with funding GDAs, club coaches etc is that matching funding is generally required. What Laois, Offaly, Carlow etc can afford and what Dublin can afford are on different planets.
International Rules, Fenway Classics, Wild Geese, maybe even All Star Trips......what is the point?
What is to gain from spreading our wings like this?

Anyways, while I still have a problem with Eddie Brennan sitting on the Sunday Game panel, he has organised and energised this team. I really think this our level anyways (best of the rest), but it doesn't just happen when management are lazy/substandard (as was proved over last year or two).

We should be rightly confident heading to Croke Park.
We want to remain "amateur". Therefore it is not sustainable to have teams on different continents competing with each other.
Those abroad are glad to be involved in GAA there, it's admirable, but the odd jolly for the chosen few does f**k all for them, nor should it be a priority.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 11:19:27 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:12:22 AM
No, but Courtwood can continue to do things the right way, and develop what they have. And its not a good analogy, as Courtwood are a small area who may or may not get 15 good footballers through. Laois and Offaly are working off populations of thousands, good coaching and structures will always get you 15. Coaching will enhance what is already here in Laois because we have a larger population than Courtwood. Your example is poor.

Courtwood is to Laois GAA, what Laois, Offaly, Carlow etc are to National GAA. There is nothing wrong with the example.
Courtwood will be able to put out 15 as long as they want to. At times, fellas who are not good enough to play at the level they are at will be given a jersey. The same happens with Laois. It's not the players/managers/clubs fault.
But it doesn't/won't happen in Portlaoise (football), or in the counties with larger playing numbers.
Post by: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 11:23:10 AM
Thank you. You made the point better than I could. Good debate lads but I get nervous on the hurling forum so that's enough from me
Post by: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:23:17 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 11:19:27 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:12:22 AM

Courtwood is to Laois GAA, what Laois, Offaly, Carlow etc are to National GAA. There is nothing wrong with the example.
Courtwood will be able to put out 15 as long as they want to. At times, fellas who are not good enough to play at the level they are at will be given a jersey. The same happens with Laois. It's not the players/managers/clubs fault.
But it doesn't/won't happen in Portlaoise (football), or in the counties with larger playing numbers.
I disagree. Any small club will tell you there's times when you will struggle to put out 15. That wont happen at intercounty level. It shouldn't happen at intercounty level IF your structures are correct. Have good structures, have good systems, have good management, and you wont give intercounty jerseys to players not up to the level.
Post by: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:25:39 AM
I was somewhat disappointed to see Eddie there last night, but such is life. Hard to see what is gained from it from a Laois pov, but thats not why he's there.

Anyway, two days to go til our first day out in Croker in a long time. And the chance of a crack off Dublin in a preliminary quarter final. Thats gotta be looked forward to.
Post by: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 11:32:10 AM
On your last point Don, I think we have to give jerseys to lads who are not up to county standard. It depends what standard we're talking about. Are you an inter county footballer or hurler just because you're on a panel? I don't believe you are. I think we only have 3 or 4 players who are proper inter county players
Post by: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:34:45 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 11:32:10 AM
I think we only have 3 or 4 players who are proper inter county players
Holy f**k.

I'm going to leave you off on that note.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 11:36:12 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:23:17 AM
I disagree. Any small club will tell you there's times when you will struggle to put out 15. That wont happen at intercounty level. It shouldn't happen at intercounty level IF your structures are correct. Have good structures, have good systems, have good management, and you wont give intercounty jerseys to players not up to the level.

Correct, you won't struggle to put out 15 players at intercounty level.
You will struggle to put out 15 intercounty players at intercounty level.
Post by: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:45:55 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 11:36:12 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:23:17 AM

Correct, you won't struggle to put out 15 players at intercounty level.
You will struggle to put out 15 intercounty players at intercounty level.
But you see you shouldn't, not if they're developed properly within the right structures. Some lads think we're going to get 15 DJ's. Other people would lambaste a player like Michael Dara McAuley and call him well short of intercounty footballer standard. Its simply not that easy. Teams are made up of different strengths. If you have the structures, you'll bring forth the players. You may not contest All Ireland's, but you can be competitive. Which is where this all began, with a poster claiming Offaly are where they are because their luck ran out.
Post by: Joeythelips on June 17, 2019, 11:47:35 AM
I strongly disagree with this, one of the main complaints this year is 'How are Carlow meant to develop when they only get one year against the big boys" They had the structure you suggest in place in the league for years and it only stopped counties such as Carlow developing as they are playing at one level and all of a sudden have to compete at an entirely different level, they would never make the next step.

I remember for several seasons this went on where Laois/Offaly/ Antrim would avoid going down the division of Carlow, Meath, Kerry etc as they had a playoff safety net. So these team although finished bottom were playing the likes of Dublin, Galway, Clare etc and now had to play a team that beat Kerry in a final.

I actually think the hurling modal is perfect for Football also, the only issue is the provincials which are basically redundant, they should be scrapped in place of a fairer seeded system. So in hurling instead of Leinster it should be 2 seeded groups. Seedings would be based on last years championship and this years league. Bottom 2 from each group playoff for relegation to JMD cup unlike now where Munster teams are safe.

Also people slate the JMD cup need to realise its not that awful a standard as Offaly found out. Just one year ago Offaly beat Dublin comfortably in Croke Park in the league. The GAA needs to invest in these counties, Carlow have a team worth following so now invest in coaching in the county while the iron is hot.

I think the JMD Cup does a number of things, it gives teams some serious hurling rather than going in cold against a team like Galway/Limerick etc. This gives them a taste of the standard so they have all winter to prepare for next season where they will have 4 high level championship games.

Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 16, 2019, 10:26:10 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on June 16, 2019, 09:40:42 PM

Agree.

... If you are not good enough yet to beat the worst team at the next level, then you are probably better off in the Joe McD. Same goes for Christy Ring...
Exactly!
Post by: High Fielder on June 17, 2019, 11:57:54 AM
Leave me off all you want but we were stuffed last day out against a team who are no great shakes. It's very obvious that we have serious deficiencies
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 01:15:33 PM
Agreed Joey,
No problem with some system that allows a team two years minimum (but don't see how it would work without the competition swelling to huge numbers).
The idea of there being a safety net is one thing.
The idea that the team who won the division below has to win the right to get up is plain wrong. It's quite self serving actually at this moment in time too. Suits Laois right now. If we swapped Laois & Carlow's positions at this moment I don't think too many would be calling for this safety net.
The most effective way to halt development/improvement in any of the tier two counties would be to see them win the Joe McDonagh Cup, lose the play off to go up and face back into Joe McDonagh the following year. What would they have won it for?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 17, 2019, 05:30:51 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 01:15:33 PM
Agreed Joey,
No problem with some system that allows a team two years minimum (but don't see how it would work without the competition swelling to huge numbers).
The idea of there being a safety net is one thing.
The idea that the team who won the division below has to win the right to get up is plain wrong. It's quite self serving actually at this moment in time too. Suits Laois right now. If we swapped Laois & Carlow's positions at this moment I don't think too many would be calling for this safety net.
The most effective way to halt development/improvement in any of the tier two counties would be to see them win the Joe McDonagh Cup, lose the play off to go up and face back into Joe McDonagh the following year. What would they have won it for?
First, I think a system of having a match to determine who will be relegated and who will be promoted should be in place, right now, for Carlow (and I am no fan of Carlow). I'd love to see Laois or Westmeath battle Carlow to see who's truly Leinster Championship material. And I would hardly call this system a "safety net." The downward-heading Leinster team has to prove they are still Championship material.

However, in reading the postings in favor of the current system (or slight variations of) and looking at this from a different perspective, I now see that each year it is guaranteed that a team with battle experience in Leinster will be dropping down to the Joe McDonagh Cup and bringing that strength with them. All the second-tier teams will get exposure to this first-tier intensity and it can only make those teams stronger.

(Changed my mind.)
:)
Post by: steven seagal on June 17, 2019, 09:08:06 PM
The promotion relegation playoff is already in place Munster. If Kerry were to win the Joe McDonagh, they would then have to beat the fifth placed team in Munster to get promoted. This rule does not apply to any other team in the McDonagh Cup, which is shockingly biased against Kerry.

The reason things are as they currently are is because they needed two groups of five. Munster already had five good teams all roughly around the same level, but none of them wanted to be relegated, so they had one set of rules for them. Leinster only has four decent teams, so they get supplemented with a rotating fifth team. The McDonagh Cup winners will be expected to get relegated every year, and the GAA will be happy for this to continue ad infinitum because the hurling championship is churning out top class games at the moment and that means its easier to attract sponsors and charge more for tv rights etc.

The only thing that will prompt a change in this is if one of Dublin, Galway, Wexford or Kilkenny somehow end up in 5th place in Leinster.
Post by: burdizzo on June 17, 2019, 09:23:07 PM

Remember the Laois SHC had that rule, in the mid-00s, that a team couldn't be relegated after one year in senior. Clonad played Ballyfin in a relegation play-off, and beat them, but because Ballyfin were only one year up at that stage they couldn't be relegated! So, the senior championship was expanded to 13 teams the next year!

Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 17, 2019, 09:48:57 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 11:16:23 AM
Anyways, while I still have a problem with Eddie Brennan sitting on the Sunday Game panel, ...
Quote from: Don Draper on June 17, 2019, 11:25:39 AM
I was somewhat disappointed to see Eddie there last night, but such is life. Hard to see what is gained from it from a Laois pov, but thats not why he's there.

Is there a precedence for a active manager to also being a paid commentator on RTÉ?

It just doesn't seem quite appropriate but what do I know.
Post by: burdizzo on June 17, 2019, 09:58:23 PM
Brendan Cummins does it, and he a Kerry selector.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 11:45:20 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 17, 2019, 05:30:51 PM
First, I think a system of having a match to determine who will be relegated and who will be promoted should be in place, right now, for Carlow (and I am no fan of Carlow). I'd love to see Laois or Westmeath battle Carlow to see who's truly Leinster Championship material. And I would hardly call this system a "safety net." The downward-heading Leinster team has to prove they are still Championship material.

However, in reading the postings in favor of the current system (or slight variations of) and looking at this from a different perspective, I now see that each year it is guaranteed that a team with battle experience in Leinster will be dropping down to the Joe McDonagh Cup and bringing that strength with them. All the second-tier teams will get exposure to this first-tier intensity and it can only make those teams stronger.

(Changed my mind.)
:)

No offence, but as somebody pointed out above, we had this system in the league a couple of years ago.
In 2016 Laois lost every game in Division 1B, by an average of over 10 points, finsihing 6th.
They then played Kerry, who finished 5th and had already beaten them by 7 points, in a relegation playoff.
Laois lost the relegation play off by 11 points.
Surely at this stage they were relegated? Not a chance!

Westmeath, meanwhile were ripping it up in Division 2A, winning their first 4 games. They lost to Carlow in a dead rubber of a game in the 5th round, and lost by 2 points. Both teams met again 6 days later and Westmeath reversed the result and the margin, winning by 2 points.
Surely at this stage they were promoted? Not a chance!

Instead Westmeath would have to beat Laois in a playoff to secure promotion. Laois having failed to get a single win or draw (Played 6, Lost 6, Scoring Difference -64) beat Westmeath by 7 points, and won the right to play in Division 1B again the following year.
Westmeath beat everyone in Division 2A, winning 5 of the 6 games they played and got absolutely no reward.

I would call this the dictionary definition of a safety net!
Morally wrong!

There is one thing wrong the current Leinster/Munster set up and I mentioned it a few days ago. Carlow should be playing off with Waterford to see who gets relegated. If Carlow happened to win, Waterford play Joe McDonagh next year and Galway move to Munster. Laois or Westmeath join Carlow in Leinster.

For the integrity of our competitions every team should start out with the same chance of winning, and same chance of relegation/promotion.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 17, 2019, 11:49:40 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on June 17, 2019, 09:58:23 PM
Brendan Cummins does it, and he a Kerry selector.

Not quite the same. Brennan accepted the role of Laois manager, and you can be sure he is being remunerated appropriately for it. He is doing the job well. He isn't doing us "a favour" by managing us.
If I were on the selection committee, rightly or wrongly, it would have been a prerequisite of him being offered the job.

Do you think if he went for the Kilkenny job and suggested keeping on the role on TV he would get within an asses roar?
It doesn't sit well with me. I said so very early in the year.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 18, 2019, 12:07:26 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on June 17, 2019, 09:23:07 PM

Remember the Laois SHC had that rule, in the mid-00s, that a team couldn't be relegated after one year in senior. Clonad played Ballyfin in a relegation play-off, and beat them, but because Ballyfin were only one year up at that stage they couldn't be relegated! So, the senior championship was expanded to 13 teams the next year!

Ye i think it was 2007 that happened, and for 2008 when we operated the 4 groups of 3 format we had to have one group of 4.
That format (with 12 teams) was very enjoyable tbh. 3 teams in a group and 2 come out of it. There were some very competitive groups. I remember The Harps going in as one the pre championship favourites one year and failing to come out of a group that also contained Ballinakill and Castletown.
Do we have 12 teams now to make it competitive? You'd probably end up with one interesting group.
Post by: smcder on June 18, 2019, 01:02:57 AM
Don't think we have 12 teams for that. Can remember Colt getting a few trimmings one year. There were others as well a nice bit below the standard. Abbyleix were for a few years I think as well.  Think 8 teams makes it competitive.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 18, 2019, 09:33:31 PM
Everyone probably already knows this but let's post it:

Weekend 6/7 July
All-Ireland preliminary quarter-finals
Dublin v Winners of Westmeath v Laois
Cork v Losers of Westmeath v Laois

Weekend 13/14 July
All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals
Leinster beaten finalist v Cork/Joe McDonagh Cup runner-up
Munster beaten finalist  v Dublin/Joe McDonagh Cup winner
Post by: clonadmad on June 18, 2019, 11:48:33 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 18, 2019, 09:33:31 PM
Everyone probably already knows this but let's post it:

Weekend 6/7 July
All-Ireland preliminary quarter-finals
Dublin v Winners of Westmeath v Laois
Cork v Losers of Westmeath v Laois

Weekend 13/14 July
All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals
Leinster beaten finalist v Cork/Joe McDonagh Cup runner-up
Munster beaten finalist  v Dublin/Joe McDonagh Cup winner

Win it and play Dublin who we shouldn't fear,if you got to a quarter final you'd fear for our lads,but still would be great to get there
Post by: G@@ on June 19, 2019, 01:21:11 AM
Quote from: Joeythelips on June 17, 2019, 11:47:35 AM
I actually think the hurling modal is perfect for Football also, the only issue is the provincials which are basically redundant, they should be scrapped in place of a fairer seeded system.

I generally don't talk nasty but I'd ware a hurl off your hole for daring to even think of scrapping them, let alone saying it.
Post by: Don Draper on June 19, 2019, 08:19:35 AM
There's a place for the Provincials, do away with the NHL, keep the provincials, and then go on with a proper structured AIHC.
Post by: Joeythelips on June 19, 2019, 02:09:43 PM
They still have a place just about in football, but its still an unfair system, a seeded system would make much more sense. We could have provincials instead of the league but there would still be an imbalance there. I get that at least there is something tangible for teams to win with current provincial system as we seen with Roscommons win so there is value from that perspective but the imbalance remains. A system that is seeded based on match performances would be fairer and over time better in my opinion. Bring in bonus points so even if teams are getting well beaten they still have something to play for which will help their seedings.

If we look at the Joe McDonagh Cup I think it has a good format, teams play sides at their level or seeding for a trophy. The finalists are into the AI series proper for that season and the winners get promoted. Currently in football Dublin could be drawn against Wicklow in the Leinster Championship, in the hurling system this could not happen unless Wicklow won their grade and advanced up the ladder. The only thing holding hurling back from being totally fair is the Munster Championship but again historically its one of hurlings biggest draws but this is only based on the fact that its usually the most competitive.

Quote from: G@@ on June 19, 2019, 01:21:11 AM
Quote from: Joeythelips on June 17, 2019, 11:47:35 AM
I actually think the hurling modal is perfect for Football also, the only issue is the provincials which are basically redundant, they should be scrapped in place of a fairer seeded system.

I generally don't talk nasty but I'd ware a hurl off your hole for daring to even think of scrapping them, let alone saying it.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 19, 2019, 09:31:44 PM
Time code 1:26 to 1:36 -- That's what I was wanting to hear.  ;D

https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/joe-quaid-post-laois
Post by: Don Draper on June 20, 2019, 08:56:34 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 19, 2019, 09:31:44 PM
Time code 1:26 to 1:36 -- That's what I was wanting to hear.  ;D

https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/joe-quaid-post-laois
Joe is an auld rogue, don't pay him any heed.
Post by: redsetanta on June 21, 2019, 10:09:34 AM
Great to hear there are plenty of tickets being bought from the county offices. It will be great to see a good hurling crowd in Croke PArk for the firt time in a long time. Shite though if you're not living in Laois as you cannot buy over the phone. Anyhow someone has done me a favour and got me tickets. The gaa website is a bit of a lottery and you could end up among a heap of cats laughing at our 'minor' match.
Looking forward to an eventful day and hopefully a win and a trophy at the end of it.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 21, 2019, 10:29:11 PM
Just can't seem to get excited about this maybe as it gets closer and I'm on the train croker bound it will.
I was much more up for the minor final few years back ...
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 22, 2019, 04:32:17 AM
I'M EXCITED!
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on June 22, 2019, 11:03:00 AM
Yeah Im definitely excited. Great to go to Croke Park with a big chance of winning , a big crowd and a team to be proud of.
Post by: merman on June 22, 2019, 11:15:03 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on June 21, 2019, 10:29:11 PM
Just can't seem to get excited about this maybe as it gets closer and I'm on the train croker bound it will.

Jesus I was excited when I was booking the train ticket!
Post by: MasterJ on June 22, 2019, 01:01:35 PM

You aren't excited!?!?! It is great to play in Croker again. It is great that we have a good chance of lifting silverware in croker. And if we win we will have a game at home to Dublin and be back to tier 1 hurling where we belong!!
Post by: MasterJ on June 22, 2019, 04:07:50 PM
Meath promoted to Joe McDonagh after beating Down by 2-15 to 4-19.
Post by: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 01:17:08 PM
Bruce you auld hoore, you're only famous now I see.
Post by: Giovanni on June 24, 2019, 01:18:12 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/24/meet-the-american-laois-hurling-fanatic-who-has-never-seen-the-omoore-men-play/

This man is a legend! We have to get him home for the preliminary quarter final!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on June 24, 2019, 01:26:02 PM
Not that I am even mad about hurling but if MossyBruce will come we should do a GoFundMe.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 24, 2019, 01:26:35 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 24, 2019, 01:18:12 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/24/meet-the-american-laois-hurling-fanatic-who-has-never-seen-the-omoore-men-play/

This man is a legend! We have to get him home for the preliminary quarter final!
That's a nice read and a great story. Fair play.
Post by: redsetanta on June 24, 2019, 01:48:25 PM
Fair play Bruce. You'll have to get over to Laois and catch a few Harps club games in August/September. Too late I would think for next Sundays final. Either that or start planning for next year. How did Laois Today get a hold of ya?
Post by: Giovanni on June 24, 2019, 01:50:57 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on June 24, 2019, 01:26:02 PM
Not that I am even mad about hurling but if MossyBruce will come we should do a GoFundMe.

Mossy?
Post by: laoislad on June 24, 2019, 01:56:27 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 22, 2019, 01:01:35 PM

You aren't excited!?!?! It is great to play in Croker again. It is great that we have a good chance of lifting silverware in croker. And if we win we will have a game at home to Dublin and be back to tier 1 hurling where we belong!!
Have to say I'm looking forward to it immensely also.
Great to have Laois hurlers back in Croke Park
Post by: laoislad on June 24, 2019, 02:00:27 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 24, 2019, 01:18:12 PM

Yes excellent read. I'm from Durrow myself originally. I know a few families living there with the surname Bowe.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 24, 2019, 03:41:01 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 24, 2019, 01:17:08 PM
Bruce you auld hoore, you're only famous now I see.
Haha! My 15 minutes.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 24, 2019, 03:50:29 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 24, 2019, 01:48:25 PM
Fair play Bruce. You'll have to get over to Laois and catch a few Harps club games in August/September. Too late I would think for next Sundays final. Either that or start planning for next year. How did Laois Today get a hold of ya?
Early in the year, I emailed LaoisToday to thank and compliment them on their hurling coverage. Alan asked if I was Mossy Bruce. He wanted to do a story for their Laois Abroad (their section about Laois people overseas) and I told him I've never been to Laois. That really caught his interest.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 24, 2019, 04:12:00 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 24, 2019, 01:50:57 PM

Mossy?
Extremely thoughtful, lads.
I'll be getting back there, next year or so.  :)
Post by: HURLING1 on June 24, 2019, 05:00:08 PM
Brilliant story Mossy.
Post by: Mad Mentor on June 24, 2019, 08:01:39 PM
Quote from: HURLING1 on June 24, 2019, 05:00:08 PM
Brilliant story Mossy.

Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 24, 2019, 04:12:00 PM

Mossy?
I’ll be getting back there, next year or so.  :)
As long as you're not a catfish playing us poor innocent Laois people. ;D
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 24, 2019, 08:28:26 PM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on June 24, 2019, 08:01:39 PM
Quote from: HURLING1 on June 24, 2019, 05:00:08 PM
Brilliant story Mossy.

Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 24, 2019, 04:12:00 PM

Mossy?
I'll be getting back there, next year or so.  :)
As long as you're not a catfish playing us poor innocent Laois people. ;D
Damn! You're on to me.  :(
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 24, 2019, 08:52:28 PM
Has anyone heard of how Mark Kavanagh and the other lads out on injury are doing?
Post by: merman on June 24, 2019, 09:46:04 PM
Mark Kav is back in full training.
Post by: MasterJ on June 25, 2019, 09:19:23 PM
It will be interesting to see what the team is for Sunday.
Post by: Ogie on June 26, 2019, 09:36:58 AM
Really excited and looking forward to Sunday, to be travelling to Croke Park at long last with our hurling community & travelling with hope & a chance.
Sounds like there is a huge Laois crowd travelling, trains booked out from Ballybrophy & Portlaoise, lots of clubs taking buses up.
Hopefully Eddie is able to keep the lads ready for the game and not just the big occasion

Few big calls to be made on the team, which management will be delighted with, their decisions this far have worked out and got the response they require, ie leaving Cha out after his sending off, making Foyle & Picky work harder to get into the 26/15. giving Podge Delaney enough game
time to settle in, etc

Having said all of the above I am nervous about Westmeath they have some fine hurlers and maybe even a few more  mature hurlers and won't want to lose two in a row.

A win Would obviously be brilliant  to keep hurling moving forward and to keep kids & adults seeing laois win in Croke Park on the hurling bandwagon !

My team for Sunday would be
                Enda
Donnacha Hartnett Matt Lee Cleere
Jack Kelly Ryan Mullaney Podge Delaney
John Lennon Paddy purcell
Aaron Dunphy Cha Picky
Roddy, Foyle, Mark Kav

Lee Cleere ahead of Joe Phelan on recent form, Eric Killeen &  Colm Stapleton also Hurling well
John Lennon improving every game, Eddie also seems keen on Conor Phelan and will likely see game time, I would not object to Roddy out midfield either with the accurate game we are playing
The man to lose out for up front for me would be Willie dunphy although he too hurled well in Kerry & I think Eddie prob will start him at the expense of Aaron or Foyle
I would start Aaron for his pace on that wing & we most certainly need someone to occupy Tommy Doyle on the edge of the Westmeath square, I know Cha may also do that, I think foyle would also free up cha more and as usual bring the others into the game.

Anyway, enjoy the build up and the day Laois Hurling people! Here's hoping we see laois men walking the steps about 3:15pm Sunday!!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 26, 2019, 12:11:42 PM
I have also been imagining what the team will be. It is not that easy which is a great problem to have and a sign of how things have changed. It is going to be a full on match in Croker with lots of things at play such as nerves, experience playing on the surface, Westmeath's hunger having lost last year etc.

I think some things won't change. Joe Phelan will be preferred in one corner. Paddy Purcell will probably be at full forward as they have built a bit of a system around him there. I also doubt he will push Donnacha and Podge onto sides that they are less comfortable with.

My guess:
Rowland
Phelan Matt Hartnett
Delaney Mullaney Cleere
Kelly Lennon
A. Dunphy Cha Picky
Roddy Purcell Kavanagh

Post by: burdizzo on June 26, 2019, 04:28:34 PM
I think wing-back is probably Kelly's best position. I'd also agree w/ Ogie about Cleere for Phelan. Would be surprised to see Foyle starting, though I understand the rationale.

It looks like we'll have a good team, hurling well. You'd always be afraid, though! I hope they'll be confident, but not overly so.
Post by: MasterJ on June 26, 2019, 06:59:43 PM
My team prediction is:
1.Rowland
2.Cleere
3.Whelan
4.Hartnett
5.Kelly
6.Mullaney
7.Delaney
8.Lennon
9.Dwyer
10.A.Dunphy
11.W.Dunphy
12.Purcell
13.Kavanagh
14.Foyle
15.King

And it will give us some big names to come in off the bench such as Phelan, Lyons and Maher.
Post by: merman on June 26, 2019, 08:13:22 PM
Willie Dunphy is a certainty in my opinion. His work ethic is exceptional, sets a very physical tone for a lad his size.
I've a sneaky feeling Picky might have to make do with a spot on the bench. He seems to have responded very well to not starting the first 2 games, he could have sulked and walked but he's knuckled down and I think he'd be a serious option off the bench when things were opening up.

Seems so harsh on Joe Phelan but I'm inclined to agree with Ogie. I'd love to see Cleere on the wing but I think he's our best corner back right now. Jack Kelly, on current form, deserves a start, otherwise it'd have been a tight call between him and Joe for me.

Interesting where Aaron Dunphy starts.
I think he's going to be our best forward within the next couple of years. A brilliant talent.
I think John Lennon will start but if he was squeezed out, I wouldn't be completely flabbergasted if he didn't. The option to start Picky and move King to midfield would appeal personally.

For me:

Rowland

Hartnett
Matthew
Cleere

Podge
Mullaney
Kelly

Purcell
Lennon

Cha
Kavanagh
W Dunphy

A Dunphy
Foyle
Roddy

I cannot wait! See ye all in Quinns!

Post by: redsetanta on June 26, 2019, 09:24:54 PM
Merman if you like a pint give Quinn's a miss. For lads looking for a decent pint at a decent price with a bit of room head to the Findlater close to Dorset/Eccles st junction. It's my local and a good crowd. Bit longer of a walk and maybe not ideal if you're in Cusack stand but a good pub. Should be plenty of parking in St Joseph's place/parade beside it.
Post by: G@@ on June 26, 2019, 10:00:11 PM
Lovely article on LaoisToday there Bruce! Well done.

There's gonna be some Laois crowd in Croker on Sunday, lots of folk got their tickets. I really hope that the lads don't let the occasion get to them on Sunday, it's has all the ingredients for a great game.

Reading some of the suggestions on the teams really drives it home on how well Eddie Brennan has brought this group of lads on, together.

I'd be fearful of Jack Kelly starting though. I watched him closely in O'Moore Park on June 15th and while I couldn't fault his tenacious tackling and marking, he was very poor in his passing. There is something of an anti-climax of watching a lad burst through three Westmeath lads, and win a ball he has no right to, only to pass it back 20 yards to the opposition.

I hope Cha is back, his energy gives our game another dimension, he lifts everyone else around him.

Anyways, I'm sure Eddie has a plan. Looking forward to Sunday in Croker!!!
Post by: johnnycool on June 27, 2019, 09:13:59 AM
Some lad on a hurling threads looking Laois supporters for something or other, says its paid...

Irrespective of who wins on Sunday both teams have an AI quarterfinal to look forward to, Cork or Dublin.

When are they set to be played?
Post by: Don Draper on June 27, 2019, 09:19:32 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 27, 2019, 09:13:59 AM
Some lad on a hurling threads looking Laois supporters for something or other, says its paid...

Irrespective of who wins on Sunday both teams have an AI quarterfinal to look forward to, Cork or Dublin.

Next weekend. The lads will sober up on Thursday, find the hurls on Friday, and turn up Saturday to fulfill the fixture. Yerah.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 27, 2019, 09:58:17 AM
Quote from: G@@ on June 26, 2019, 10:00:11 PM
I'd be fearful of Jack Kelly starting though. I watched him closely in O'Moore Park on June 15th and while I couldn't fault his tenacious tackling and marking, he was very poor in his passing. There is something of an anti-climax of watching a lad burst through three Westmeath lads, and win a ball he has no right to, only to pass it back 20 yards to the opposition.

Not sure we were watching the same game G@@. He did make two hand passing errors but the game plan is to pass short to a man in space and they were all making errors in the first half. They all seemed to go to hand in the second half when we upped the pace which is encouraging. Jack Kelly will DEFINITELY start if he is fit. He was a clear man of the match against Westmeath, won every ball that landed within 30 yards of him and scored some lovely points. For me it is only a question of where he starts.  You'd be mental not to start him.
Post by: MasterJ on June 27, 2019, 10:33:19 AM
I would say Jack Kelly will start in wing-back. He is much better there. He had a poor performance against Offaly in Midfield. He then was started in wing-back for the rest of the rounds and played well.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 27, 2019, 02:57:03 PM

Preliminary quarter-finals, July 6th and 7th
Post by: clonadmad on June 27, 2019, 03:57:53 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 27, 2019, 02:57:03 PM

Laois will be in Portlaoise regardless,we win on Sunday,its Dublin,we lose its Cork
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 27, 2019, 05:34:06 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on June 27, 2019, 03:57:53 PM

Laois will be in Portlaoise regardless,we win on Sunday,its Dublin,we lose its Cork
The dubs in O'Moore Park -- that would be a cracker!
Post by: clonadmad on June 27, 2019, 08:08:23 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 27, 2019, 05:34:06 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on June 27, 2019, 03:57:53 PM

The dubs in O'Moore Park -- that would be a cracker!

I would give us a reasonable chance against the dubs at home to spring a surprise

Not a hope against Cork even with their dodgy full back line
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 27, 2019, 11:59:24 PM
Wow! The most I have ever seen written up about Laois hurling in the national media.

"Landlocked in battle: The Midlands balance of power"
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0627/1057830-landlocked-in-battle-the-midlands-balance-of-power/
Post by: MasterJ on June 28, 2019, 08:36:26 AM
Enda Rowland won Poc Fada last night. Noah Quinlan from the minors won the u16.
Post by: redsetanta on June 28, 2019, 10:54:47 AM
Should be a big crowd in for the McDonagh game. With KK and Wex in the minor final it will be a long day for the hard core but should bring in a quite a crew of supporters from both counties along with the Laois and Westmeath crowd. WIll be the biggest crowd that these hurlers have played in front of.

The betting has Laois at 1/2 so hot favs. The great thing about this year is that we will have decent options on the bench. Looking forward to Sunday and the joy will be walking down Jones Road to a sea of blue and white heading into Croke Park and it's not the footballers. Hopefully an entertainiing high scoring game with a Laois victory. 
Post by: Don Draper on June 28, 2019, 11:05:41 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 28, 2019, 10:54:47 AM
Looking forward to Sunday and the joy will be walking down Jones Road to a sea of blue and white heading into Croke Park
That gave me a little tingle there red, beautiful.
Post by: MasterJ on June 28, 2019, 11:17:09 AM
Should be a big crowd in for the McDonagh game. With KK and Wex in the minor final it will be a long day for the hard core but should bring in a quite a crew of supporters from both counties along with the Laois and Westmeath crowd. WIll be the biggest crowd that these hurlers have played in front of.

The betting has Laois at 1/2 so hot favs. The great thing about this year is that we will have decent options on the bench. Looking forward to Sunday and the joy will be walking down Jones Road to a sea of blue and white heading into Croke Park and it's not the footballers. Hopefully an entertainiing high scoring game with a Laois victory. 

I would say it will be high scoring. Laois have lots of forward options on bench, not so good though for the backs.
Post by: clonadmad on June 28, 2019, 11:37:40 AM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 28, 2019, 08:36:26 AM
Enda Rowland won Poc Fada last night. Noah Quinlan from the minors won the u16.

Did I see correctly on Twitter that only 4 u16's turned up for it

Apathy strikes again
Post by: Giovanni on June 28, 2019, 12:44:25 PM
For Mossy and the lads that can't make it:

TG4 Youtube, 1.40pm: Laois v Westmeath, Joe McDonagh Cup final (Throw in 2pm) Link: https://youtu.be/S5MXW3aBxG4
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 28, 2019, 03:05:15 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 28, 2019, 12:44:25 PM

TG4 Youtube, 1.40pm: Laois v Westmeath, Joe McDonagh Cup final (Throw in 2pm) Link: https://youtu.be/S5MXW3aBxG4
Thanks for the link, Giovanni!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 28, 2019, 03:19:34 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 28, 2019, 11:17:09 AM

I would say it will be high scoring. Laois have lots of forward options on bench, not so good though for the backs.
Eric Killeen, Colm Stapleton and possibly one of our regular backs (depending on where Jack Kelly is picked) will be on the bench. All did well against Westmeath in Portlaoise. We have options everywhere for a change.
Post by: redsetanta on June 28, 2019, 03:35:07 PM
And neither is short of experience at this level either.
Post by: G@@ on June 28, 2019, 05:07:58 PM
Excellent video previewing Sunday: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xG_U8CKIEY0
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 28, 2019, 07:03:11 PM

Giovanni, I am REALLY glad you posted that link! I just assumed I could go to the "Sport TG4" YouTube page (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUds-3OqMdVufEjNmdiYL-w) and find a link on game day. But in going to their YouTube page I don't see it. How did you find that link?
Post by: MasterJ on June 28, 2019, 07:45:42 PM
Mossy you can watch via GAA.ie :

Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 28, 2019, 08:01:09 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on June 28, 2019, 07:45:42 PM
Mossy you can watch via GAA.ie :

Sweet! Now we outlanders have a couple of options for watching. Thanks, MasterJ!
Post by: MasterJ on June 28, 2019, 08:56:22 PM
No prob Mossy!

Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 28, 2019, 09:00:23 PM
Quote from: G@@ on June 28, 2019, 05:07:58 PM
Excellent video previewing Sunday: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xG_U8CKIEY0
Good Stuff! The commentary was better than "The Sunday Game."
Post by: G@@ on June 28, 2019, 09:58:23 PM
(https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/62455132_2254644811322572_1228327158795993088_n.jpg?_nc_cat=103&_nc_oc=AQkjog70Ii8gUOkjYllkae11NbBHKkqspNVpqrdDiMqjlHPsAe7-QTqR2hdhgceBkdU&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=9dd8acad934c86cf0f46f98d2a0e5853&oe=5D7A4CF5)

Interesting team selection.
Post by: Giovanni on June 28, 2019, 10:18:51 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 28, 2019, 07:03:11 PM

Giovanni, I am REALLY glad you posted that link! I just assumed I could go to the "Sport TG4" YouTube page (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUds-3OqMdVufEjNmdiYL-w) and find a link on game day. But in going to their YouTube page I don't see it. How did you find that link?

Got it from the Hoganstand website Mossy.
Post by: Keyser Söze on June 28, 2019, 11:21:19 PM
Likelihood of starting as selected?
Strong team.
2/3 strong subs to come in.
3/4 guys around the county who should be there to make things even stronger (1 club in particular are guilty).
Goes to show that we are capable of a seat at the top table.
Drive it on Laois.
Post by: redsetanta on June 29, 2019, 01:17:46 AM
Like that team. Solid defense and and a set
Of forwards who can all take their own scores. There's goals in that team!
Post by: MasterJ on June 29, 2019, 08:39:44 AM
Phelan, Lyons and Foyle left on bench. Kavanagh in Centre-Forward is a risk. Otherwise strong defence  and a good attack!!
Post by: MasterJ on June 29, 2019, 08:42:55 AM
The Westmeath team is in:
Conor Lynch
Darragh Egerton 
Tommy Doyle 
Gary Greville 
Liam Varley
Aonghus Clarke (Captain)
Paul Greville 
Shane Clavin 
John Gilligan 
Joey Boyle 
Killian Doyle 
Cormac Boyle
Alan Devine 
Darragh Clinton 
Robbie Greville 
Post by: G@@ on June 29, 2019, 05:26:14 PM
Score predictions?

Laois 3-21 v 2-19 Westmeath
Post by: MasterJ on June 29, 2019, 05:51:17 PM
Quote from: G@@ on June 29, 2019, 05:26:14 PM
Score predictions?

Laois 3-21 v 2-19 Westmeath

Laois 2-23 Westmeath 2-18
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 29, 2019, 06:24:58 PM
Oh, don't tempt fate there, lads.  ;)
Post by: Mad Mentor on June 30, 2019, 05:39:38 AM
It's only 5:37am and I'm already impatient to get going. So looking forward to today it's like I'm ten again.  ;D
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 30, 2019, 06:20:52 AM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on June 30, 2019, 05:39:38 AM
It's only 5:37am and I'm already impatient to get going. So looking forward to today it's like I'm ten again.  ;D
Haha! It's 05:39:19 AM Irish time but 10:36 pm here in Oregon, right now. I need to get some sleep, somehow, so I can get up at 5:30 am, get some coffee in me to be awake by 2:00 pm Irish time--game time--kick some Westmeath arse time!

LAOIS ABÚ!
Post by: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 07:44:44 AM
This is the day the cuckoo likes and so do I

I'll cross the Seven Oceans
forever more I'll wander
'Til she has cast her loving spell on me.

Laois Abu
Post by: MasterJ on June 30, 2019, 07:49:24 AM
Heading on bus in few hours. Just cant wait.

LAOIS ABÚ
Post by: Giovanni on June 30, 2019, 09:11:24 AM
Mossy throw in's at 1.45. The time on that link I posted yesterday was incorrect
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 30, 2019, 01:44:25 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 30, 2019, 09:11:24 AM
Mossy throw in's at 1.45. The time on that link I posted yesterday was incorrect
Whew! Good catch. Just in time. Thanks, Giovanni!
Post by: Helix. on June 30, 2019, 02:32:32 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 30, 2019, 01:44:25 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 30, 2019, 09:11:24 AM
Whew! Good catch. Just in time. Thanks, Giovanni!

Hopefully keep it going. Another gear in Laois need to see Picky and Willie Dunphy get I to game. Purcell having great game so far!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 30, 2019, 03:25:35 PM
Fantastic! I expected Laois to win but not by that kind of margin!
Those lads did Laois proud! What a year.
Time to rattle some dubs! 8)
Post by: SCFC on June 30, 2019, 03:59:09 PM
Keeping a close eye on the Leinster final now as the winners will be our semi final opponents after we play Dublin and Tipp. 😉
Post by: Mad Mentor on June 30, 2019, 04:09:05 PM
I'm ready for bed now after all the excitement. What a performance.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 30, 2019, 04:26:52 PM
After Tipps performance today Laois should be confident that they can be, at the very least, be competitive
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 30, 2019, 06:20:50 PM
Maybe I’m a little heady from the quality of play for this Joe McDonagh run and with the decisive results of today’s match but if we can run the dubs real close, next weekend, that will send quite the signal for Leinster, next year.

Hats off to Mr. Brennan, his staff, and lads in blue and white! What a joy to follow!
Post by: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 06:25:46 PM
2 unbeaten teams left, ourselves and Wexford. We're on the up.
Post by: G@@ on June 30, 2019, 07:06:52 PM
I was giving us a 60/40 chance today, but getting a eleven point win was unreal.

Well done everyone involved, thank you ever so much, great memories created today.

Thought Paddy Purcell's speech was very fitting.

(https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/fr/cp0/e15/q65/65746171_2273290019451771_7180112182678388736_o.jpg?_nc_cat=110&_nc_oc=AQk6unMn_WrqFM98la3hKYAqKOy1EYlDSmm1O0GsoA53s4EK8l0x6d6maLyn2kuraOU&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=553a18cc8e417a78db4973adb6af6e69&oe=5DB22142)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 30, 2019, 08:44:49 PM
Highlights on TG4 from 8.30 to 9.30 tonight..
Post by: laoislad on June 30, 2019, 09:44:40 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 06:25:46 PM
Only 3 counties can still do the double! Laois Cork and Dublin....
Post by: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 09:47:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 30, 2019, 09:44:40 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 30, 2019, 06:25:46 PM
Only 3 counties can still do the double! Laois Cork and Dublin....
Hard to see Cork manage it
Post by: Giovanni on June 30, 2019, 11:35:49 PM
Don't think Eddie Brennan has really got enough credit for the wonderful job he's done with this team. That was one of the best performances I've seen from a Laois team for years. You could see the preparation that had been done. Rowland's puck outs, especially in the first half, were pretty much perfect. All of the backs did well. Paddy Purcell was just outstanding and he was ably assisted by John Lennon who also had a very good game. The pace and work rate of the forwards was great to see and the bench really turned the screw, Eanna Lyons in particular playing an important role. Even Paddy's speech was well prepared! Very proud of them today. Just a shame that there's not a bit more tome to prepare for the next game. Is there any chance of a double header next weekend?

Well done to players and management. Fantastic achievement!
Post by: Countyminor on July 01, 2019, 01:26:48 AM
Delighted for all Laois hurling people. Have to say, Paddy Purcell's speech really tug at the heartstrings. The way he called up Pat Delaney to lift the trophy was a real class touch. A great bunch of lads
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 01, 2019, 08:45:24 AM
Enjoyed that yesterday and delighted for the players. Huge Laois crowd and a great performance. It was definitely a day for the forwards in the first half but the backs became dominant in the second half. Aaron Dunphy's goal, Mark Kavanagh's point scoring, Paddy Purcell's control of the middle were a joy to behold. It really did surprise me how much more superior we were on the day and I actually think we played well within ourselves. Naturally, we weren't perfect but that is for another day. As a team we have come a long way in 12 months. This is quite a young group so they aren't at their peak yet. It is so obvious how hard this team has worked and how bonded they are. Eddie and his team have done a great job. In particular, our fitness, first touch and self belief has come one in leaps and bounds. We have not been beaten in this competition this year and I hope we give Dublin a right rattle next weekend.

Paddy Purcell is the Usain Bolt of hurling according to Brendan Cummins on the Sunday Game!! I'd say he is not half getting abuse for that today.
Post by: MasterJ on July 01, 2019, 08:46:10 AM
Pat Delaney lifting cup. Wow what a day!!!
Post by: LOVEGAA on July 01, 2019, 09:45:47 AM
What a great day for Laois. What stood out for me was the growth in confidence of this team.

The amount of goals scored this year was great to see.
Eddie Brennan has brought a sense of belief to this team and long may it continue
Post by: Ogie on July 01, 2019, 09:47:09 AM
A Magic day for all of us, young & old.
Congrats & well done to panel & management !
A day to remember !
Post by: redsetanta on July 01, 2019, 09:57:52 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=74&v=BeNs2WLFDJYv (https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=74&v=BeNs2WLFDJYv)

Pat Delaney talking about lifting the cup. A great moment yesterday.
Post by: MasterJ on July 01, 2019, 10:07:38 AM
Hard to see them beat the Dubs.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 01, 2019, 01:18:16 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on July 01, 2019, 10:07:38 AM
Hard to see them beat the Dubs.

If all our players perform to their ability and we close them down with the intensity we have shown in some of our matches this year, I honestly think we won't be far off in our own back yard.
Post by: Unlaoised on July 01, 2019, 09:07:55 PM
Delight to be there yesterday great win and some classy performances

Good support helped by the cats fans getting behind us too

Ross Kings goal set the tone
Post by: burdizzo on July 01, 2019, 10:35:56 PM
It was only when the third goal went in they really relaxed and expressed themselves - and how great that was to see! Well done to them all, and to Eddie Brennan for getting this out of them. Perhaps 'the best' is still to come?!
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 01, 2019, 11:57:12 PM
In fairness Westmeath completely gassed out in that last quarter. That third goal killed them off. There was no intensity in the game after that.

Post by: MasterJ on July 02, 2019, 10:30:38 AM
It will be hard to beat anyone next year in Leinster and even if they did, the way it went this year the would need to win twice at least!
Post by: MasterJ on July 02, 2019, 12:41:48 PM
A wonderful summing up of Sunday:
https://www.gaa.ie/news/watch-a-fly-on-the-wall-view-of-the-mcdonagh-cup-final/
Post by: Mossy Bruce on July 02, 2019, 05:46:43 PM
Quote from: MasterJ on July 02, 2019, 12:41:48 PM
A wonderful summing up of Sunday:
https://www.gaa.ie/news/watch-a-fly-on-the-wall-view-of-the-mcdonagh-cup-final/
Great video! Thanks for posting this link.
Post by: burdizzo on July 02, 2019, 06:11:03 PM
I have to say I enjoyed it to. It showed Kavanagh giving match-day ball to his mum.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on July 04, 2019, 03:30:42 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on July 02, 2019, 06:11:03 PM
I have to say I enjoyed it to. It showed Kavanagh giving match-day ball to his mum.
Thanks for pointing that out.

I love that video footage, about 30 seconds in, of him taking a practice free. Great filming.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 04, 2019, 09:19:42 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on July 04, 2019, 03:30:42 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on July 02, 2019, 06:11:03 PM
Thanks for pointing that out.

I love that video footage, about 30 seconds in, of him taking a practice free. Great filming.

Lovely touch. It also shows what it means to the players and their families when you can see them up front. Being recognized as the best among your peers is nice. Of course we would love to be battling with the top teams but for years there was no silverware for being the 'best of the rest'. The McDonagh is competitive and a good competition for developing a team. Just need to sort out the Leinster championship yo-yo next.
Post by: Laois Rising on October 24, 2019, 02:32:52 PM
It is a disgrace that the GAA have disbanded the Joe McDonagh All-Stars. Laois could easily have up to 9 players on an All-Star selection after their performances this year in the competition and now their efforts will go unrecognised. It's another example of the lip-service shown to actually developing and promoting hurling in the second and third tier. While Laois defeated Dublin this year, the reality is that in most cases the Joe McDonagh Cup winners will not progress past the preliminary quarter final game and as a consequence players from the Joe McDonagh winning sides will not reckon in the All-Star selections.

I feel it reflects poorly on the organisation that no recognition is given to the J McD hurlers to acknowledge their efforts and performances throughout the year. Due reward for being asked to play in a competition that removes them from their provincial championship.

I'm surprised more hasn't been made of this and counties objecting to this plan 
Post by: marty34 on October 24, 2019, 02:37:38 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on October 24, 2019, 02:32:52 PM
It is a disgrace that the GAA have disbanded the Joe McDonagh All-Stars. Laois could easily have up to 9 players on an All-Star selection after their performances this year in the competition and now their efforts will go unrecognised. It's another example of the lip-service shown to actually developing and promoting hurling in the second and third tier. While Laois defeated Dublin this year, the reality is that in most cases the Joe McDonagh Cup winners will not progress past the preliminary quarter final game and as a consequence players from the Joe McDonagh winning sides will not reckon in the All-Star selections.

I feel it reflects poorly on the organisation that no recognition is given to the J McD hurlers to acknowledge their efforts and performances throughout the year. Due reward for being asked to play in a competition that removes them from their provincial championship.

I'm surprised more hasn't been made of this and counties objecting to this plan

Do Laois players not go into Liam Mc Carty Allstars?
Post by: Laois Rising on October 24, 2019, 02:47:27 PM
They do. But that's not the point to my post. The GAA talk about the Joe McDonagh as a national competition and it should be treated as that- with individuals acknowledged for their outstanding performances in the competition.

19/20 times a Joe McDonagh winning side will not progress past game against third place side from Munster/Leinster and therefore no Joe McDonagh playing players will even come into the discussion for an All-Star. This year Laois broke the mold but I wouldn't be optimistic of that being repeated too often (especially now that counties have been forewarned what might happen if they take eye off the ball).   

I also can't see the problem someone like Enda Rowlands deserving a Joe McDonagh All- Star and a Liam McCarthy nomination/All-Star in the one year. 
Post by: marty34 on October 24, 2019, 02:52:19 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on October 24, 2019, 02:47:27 PM
They do. But that's not the point to my post. The GAA talk about the Joe McDonagh as a national competition and it should be treated as that- with individuals acknowledged for their outstanding performances in the competition.

19/20 times a Joe McDonagh winning side will not progress past game against third place side from Munster/Leinster and therefore no Joe McDonagh playing players will even come into the discussion for an All-Star. This year Laois broke the mold but I wouldn't be optimistic of that being repeated too often (especially now that counties have been forewarned what might happen if they take eye off the ball).   

I also can't see the problem someone like Enda Rowlands deserving a Joe McDonagh All- Star and a Liam McCarthy nomination/All-Star in the one year.

Rowland in with a good shout for All Star.  Jack Kelly nominated also.

I understand - there should be an All Star 15 for Joe McD but GAA, as you know, did nothing to promote a super competition.  It's a magic competition but 30sec. mention on The Sunday Game was a joke.

They should let TG4 do a live Joe Mc D game every week to showcase it.

Eddie will be looking to get a few more lads back on board to push on in 2020.  The trip to Nowlan Park should be good.
Post by: redsetanta on October 24, 2019, 03:06:45 PM
All the other competitions have an all star selection, Ring, Rackard, Meagher. McDonagh the only tier without one.  Aside from Laois the likes of Westmeath, Carlow etc should also be recognised.
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 24, 2019, 03:43:36 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on October 24, 2019, 03:06:45 PM
All the other competitions have an all star selection, Ring, Rackard, Meagher. McDonagh the only tier without one.  Aside from Laois the likes of Westmeath, Carlow etc should also be recognised.
Really? I shouldnt be shocked but I am.. thats absolutely lousy on players.

Some times you just have to dispise the GAA top brass. They do not give a flying f**k about tier 2 hurling.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on October 24, 2019, 03:52:14 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on October 24, 2019, 03:43:36 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on October 24, 2019, 03:06:45 PM
Really? I shouldnt be shocked but I am.. thats absolutely lousy on players.

Some times you just have to dispise the GAA top brass. They do not give a flying f**k about tier 2 hurling.

They are f*&king idiots.

1) What would it have cost them just to do it?
2) They are trying to promote tier 2 for football. Their track record about how they promote tier 2 hurling is shocking.
Post by: redsetanta on October 24, 2019, 03:56:27 PM
https://www.gaa.ie/hurling/news/champion-15-announced-for-mcdonagh-ring-rackard-and-meagher-championships-2018/ (https://www.gaa.ie/hurling/news/champion-15-announced-for-mcdonagh-ring-rackard-and-meagher-championships-2018/)

Winners from last year.

A bullshite decision.
Post by: portlaoisekid on October 24, 2019, 04:04:35 PM
It would make you sick, it would have been a small gesture to recognise these players but massive to each player and their county.

I love my club and county but by god I hate the GAA. They see anything beyond the big boys in inter county hurling and football as the sh!t on their shoes.

From the GAAs perspective the sooner they have 8 teams in senior hurling and football the better and the rest be they county or club can rot.

Post by: Chrimtain on October 24, 2019, 04:49:34 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on October 24, 2019, 04:04:35 PM
It would make you sick, it would have been a small gesture to recognise these players but massive to each player and their county.

I love my club and county but by god I hate the GAA. They see anything beyond the big boys in inter county hurling and football as the sh!t on their shoes.

From the GAAs perspective the sooner they have 8 teams in senior hurling and football the better and the rest be they county or club can rot.

Well said