Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

oileain blues

You will never be able to get rid of any one at the top table while the current system of voting exists as was Bourne out when Seamus oHanlon stood against Devaney, the latter was up 17 votes plus his clubs 3 votes before it went to the floor ,therefore in reply to one question as to why certain individuals who headed up the Burrenbridge debacle are still at the top table and are representing our county at Ulster and national level.
It wasn't some business heads who decided to turn down a phenomenal amount of money for St Patrick's park and drive our county into a further 660 k of debt, it was individuals who were way out of their depth , they were full of good intentions but failed miserably.
Much has been said on the subject but in order to achieve success in the future we must learn from our mistakes in the past and it seems we haven't learned from our mistakes if some of the people who made these mistakes still sit at the top table.
One more item, there is a very important meeting on Thursday to discuss and implement changes to the league calendar for 2017 , interesting only two club representatives allowed with one vote per club!!
After Thursday this forum should be lively.

wobbller

Quote from: oileain blues on January 24, 2017, 07:08:55 AM
You will never be able to get rid of any one at the top table while the current system of voting exists as was Bourne out when Seamus oHanlon stood against Devaney, the latter was up 17 votes plus his clubs 3 votes before it went to the floor ,therefore in reply to one question as to why certain individuals who headed up the Burrenbridge debacle are still at the top table and are representing our county at Ulster and national level.
It wasn't some business heads who decided to turn down a phenomenal amount of money for St Patrick's park and drive our county into a further 660 k of debt, it was individuals who were way out of their depth , they were full of good intentions but failed miserably.
Much has been said on the subject but in order to achieve success in the future we must learn from our mistakes in the past and it seems we haven't learned from our mistakes if some of the people who made these mistakes still sit at the top table.
One more item, there is a very important meeting on Thursday to discuss and implement changes to the league calendar for 2017 , interesting only two club representatives allowed with one vote per club!!
After Thursday this forum should be lively.
Quote from: cut the crap on June 30, 2016, 10:22:05 PM
To all the nodding dogs , the puppets and the supporters of the Burrenbridge brigade, this is my suggestion of the way forward with our finances because if we can sort this subject out we maybe able to pay our bills on time and every time and propress the notion of a centre of excellence.
Firstly to take a step forward we have to realise where we are and why we got here.
When the Burrenbridge brigade decided to go of on a solo without the backing of the full county board and the support of Croke Park (this is key),they acted as if they were property moguls which they certainly werent and their inexperience in dealing with this type of deal ultimately lead us to losing 550k, coupled with the fact that 2 possibly 3 of them had failed in business, therefore in all probability they were never going to succeed, they were well intentioned but clueless .
But where you are now asking did the other 1million of debt come from, ah for that answer you would need a forensic accountant to examine the finances of Pairc Esler , i for one like many others paid a monthly amount for 5 yrs, no big deal but there were many who questioned where this money and the money of the club down then went, im not suggesting any skull duggery but more of mis management of resources.
So the men in charge suddenly needed a few bob to finish the job, in steps Croke Park and hey presto we get the job done, oh and Newry Shamrocks own the fecking thing, side issue.
Now back to Burrenbridge where we handed over a non refundable deposit of 425k ,and then threw125k in fees at it,back to Croke Park who knew nothing of what was going on and were not a bit pleased, so much so that we now pay 10k a month for the next 20yrs to Croke Park, but according to Sean og i mmean the executive we have a good deal, eh no we dont by my maths we will be paying 2.4miliion back how the f  k is that a good deal, our association made 56million profit  last year,so the answer is quite simple we as members ask for the loan to be interest free , we extend the term to 100yrs , paying 15k back a year not 120k , we can then begin to invest in our youth,and our training facilities and breathe a little.Now to succeed in a debt restructuring like this we need hard nosed business people skilled in the art of restructuring debt.
I know there are people reading this saying 100yrs catch yourself on but if we went to Croke park and told them this is it take it or leave, they cant kick us out, its either give us the money or accept the request , so there you have it.
This is from the board in June and is as good a description of what went wrong.

Brick Tamlin

Can anyone who was there on Friday night in The Canal Court give the rest of us a brief synopsis of what went on, who spoke, what was discussed or proposed?

What is the sole purpose of this latest reincarnation? Is it to fund a centre of excellence, pay off existing debt, fund current teams ?
How will the new Club Down function alongside the existing Down GAA Club Draw for instance?
If people are already subscribed to the Club Draw do the powers-that-be realistically expect people to also subscribe to Club Down?
Was it not essentially the introduction of this draw which sounded the death knell for the previous Club Down, and what will be the big difference this time around?

mightymad

people can sit behind the screen all day while giving people abuse, its about time they come out and man up and stop hiding behind a computer screen all day.

DownFanatic

2017 Managers

Division 1

Kilcoo - Paul McIver   
Burren - Paddy O'Rourke   
Castlewellan - Mark Doran
Mayobridge - Benny Coulter/Francie Poland
Cumann Pheadair Naofa - Niall McAleenan   
Bryansford - Brian Burns     
Clonduff - Rpss Carr
Ballyholland - Stephen Poacher
Downpatrick - Conor Deegan
Glenn - ?     
Longstone - Keith Kelly
An Riocht - ?

Division 2

Rostrevor - ?   
Ballymartin - Frank Dawson
Annaclone - Justin Lynch
Saval - Sean Ward
Loughinisland - Brendan Mason   
Darragh Cross - Liam Hardy   
Bredagh - Jody Gormley 
St John's Drumnaquoile - Benny Corrigan 
Carryduff - Paddy Doherty   
Liatroim - Gary Farrell   
Newry Shamrocks - Danny Hughes   
St Colman's Drumaness - John Morgan   

Division 3

Clann na Banna - Paddy Feeney/Mickey Feeney   
Tullylish - Eamonn Morgan     
Atticall - ?   
Saul - Donnan Ritchie 
Bosco - Darren Quinn
Drumgath - Ronan Sexton
Glasdrumman - Jim Magorrian   
Teconnaught - Dan Rice   
Dundrum - Francie Toner
St Paul's - Kevin Blaney

Division 4

Dromara - ?   
Kilclief Ben Dearg GAC - ?   
Ardglass - Ryan Kelly
Bright - Noel Burke
Mitchels - ?
St Michael's GAC, Magheralin - ?
Aughlisnafin - ?
Aghaderg - ?
Ballykinlar - ?

Brick Tamlin

Quote from: mightymad on January 24, 2017, 11:33:48 AM
people can sit behind the screen all day while giving people abuse, its about time they come out and man up and stop hiding behind a computer screen all day.

I asked genuine questions all day so I hope that wasn't aimed at me all day.
So it is.

wobbller

So what's your name mightymad?

Aristo 60

Quote from: wobbller on January 24, 2017, 01:05:31 PM
So what's your name mightymad?

Its only 4 posts old so its subject to change!

turkey+ham

Fixtures to run every week basically from start of league in april until early august, unless you get a run in championship. four months of competitive football for div three and four, slightly longer for div 1 & 2. no break for july fortnight, 8 months off season. who seriously thinks this is a good idea?

gaaman2016

SamFever

Quote from: turkey+ham on January 24, 2017, 04:36:16 PM
Fixtures to run every week basically from start of league in april until early august, unless you get a run in championship. four months of competitive football for div three and four, slightly longer for div 1 & 2. no break for july fortnight, 8 months off season. who seriously thinks this is a good idea?
The clubs will all have to vote for/against this but before this happens on Thursday night what do you think would be a better plan?

turkey+ham

I think that the idea to have regular fixtures is good, but July/summer break still necessary to ensure club players with families can continue to have holiday during summer hols. Would extend season too. Also feel that divisions & 1& 2 should be reduced to ten teams. But then that will go down like a lead balloon! Would increase number of games in division 3 and 4 and might even help these clubs develop some players for the county team. Club players not involved in co team need to be looked after as well.

supersub

Club players not involved with county teams are getting a game every week for 6/7 months! I'd say if you asked any of them they would rather play than train!

Lecale Gael

fortnights break in july needs to be re-instated

did the same two years and then bumped the two fixtures that fell in that period to end of season. last year they had the break included

2016 Prediction Competition 3rd place :)

mightymad

All you deluded supporters are only good for running down our county, all sit on their back sides every game waiting to read match reports to try figure out who played well and what we should change about our team. its about time yous all got of your high horse and got out and support our county to help motivate our lads in what we need so much, to help give down players that drive again that they need. RANT OVER