Fave Films/Hated films

Started by The Corporal, October 17, 2007, 12:21:36 PM

Having read sleepers, I cant bring myself to watch it. Same with american history X.

The Corporal

Sleepers is fantastic, havent seen American History X!

Oh totally forgot about the Saw trilogy, love them movies!! 4th one is out next week!!

American History X is difficult viewing. A very powerful and though provoking film. I'd highly recommend it. Ed Norton at his best. Yes, even more so than Fight Club!

I think your coma is gratuitous.

I didnt enjoy the notebook. For me to sit through a chick flick, there must be some degree of erm, spunk to it. Sweet home alabama and about a boy come to mind.
I really struggle with flat out romance/hard luck stories.

Now theres a few movies have left me really bummed out:

Pay it forward.  :'(

Fishbat

Most of the best shows have been listed,

Easy Rider is a good film and scarface. And of course anything with messers Laurel and Hardy,

Still love the tarzan films too - memories of summer holidays at 8 in the morning

Theres a really good jack nicholson film that ye don't see much, think its called "the last detail"

Always end up laughing at Deuce Bigalow "holy sheet its bigfoot!"

Something about Mary, frank or beans?

Blazing saddles - classic - "we don't want the irish"

Little Nicky - ket,

Borat - boring played out shite

the island of doctor moreau - diabollockle

congo - give ye the flu

last but not least - Joe/dog Dirt - excrement

The Corporal

Agree with Fishbat, island of dr moreau and congo were pure dog drivel!!

Few more good films you could add to yer list:
Layer Cake
Lost Boys - bit of a classic horror
The Departed

whiskeysteve

Somewhere, somehow, someone's going to pay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pPhISgw3I2w

Quote from: ziggysego on October 18, 2007, 01:32:24 AM
American History X is difficult viewing. A very powerful and though provoking film. I'd highly recommend it. Ed Norton at his best. Yes, even more so than Fight Club!

AHX was on the TV last night, I figured it would be well edited, so I watched it. Really good movie. strange pace, but great movie.

FAVOURITES

1 Platoon
2 Goodfellas
3 Zulu
4 Glory
5 Guns of Navarone

DISLIKES(to name a few)

1 Braveheart( I just never liked it)
2 Pulp Fiction (massively overrated)
3 All Austin Powers movies
4 Zoolander
5 Zodiac

5 Movies to recommend that you propably havent seen.

1 There is only one Jimmy Grimble
2 Mike Bassett England Manager
3 State of Grace
4 Angels with Dirty Faces
5 Devils Own.

The Police

Quote from: Canalman on October 19, 2007, 08:13:42 PM

5 Movies to recommend that you propably havent seen.

1 There is only one Jimmy Grimble
2 Mike Bassett England Manager
3 State of Grace
4 Angels with Dirty Faces
5 Devils Own.

This is The Police. Do not move.

That is a sweeping assumption. Do you think we were born in a bubble, meandering down the River Maine? Did you know that it flows in the opposite direction, yet parallel to, the River Bann? It's 'probably' and 'haven't' as well.

Have you not got homes to go to?

CiKe

is the Devil's Own that Brad Pitt IRA yoke with Harrison Ford? Christ it's the biggest load of crap. His accent rivals Tom Cruise's for being up there with the worst Oirish accent ever on screen

some of my faves

The Burbs
Goodfellas
Assault on Precinct 13
Analyze That
Analyze This
American Pie
Ferris Bueller's Day Off
Enemy at the Gates
Full Metal Jacket
Hotel Rwanda
SHooting Dogs
Heat
Old School
Pear Harbour (battle scenes)
THe Perfect Storm
Remember the Titans
Cinderella Man
Miracle
Road Trip
Saving Private Ryan
Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby
Blades of Glory
Tears of the Sun
Twister
United 93
The Untouchables
The Usual Suspects
The Italian Job

The worst film ever committed to celluloid is without doubt Peter's Friends starring Stephen Fry and all those other 'luvvies' (you know them). 

The worst actor in the world by a huge margin is Hugh Grant.