Money, Dublin and the GAA

Started by IolarCoisCuain, October 04, 2016, 07:27:37 PM

priceyreilly

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on February 20, 2019, 06:44:16 PM
Quote from: priceyreilly on February 20, 2019, 06:18:21 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on February 20, 2019, 06:08:26 PM
Sigh. You need to justify your 'doping' allegations. Are these funds exclusive to Dublin?

The one million a year sports council grant? The multi million euros bonanza given to Dublin? You don't even know the basics!!

Again, what counties were denied 80c per head by the sports council?

;D The one million fund was just for Dublin! Look, you obviously haven't a single clue about any of this. Go look up some information and then come back to me.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: priceyreilly on February 20, 2019, 06:51:00 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on February 20, 2019, 06:31:51 PM
Pricey you should just stop. You whinge about Dublin and their successes but as everyone points out you haven't put forward any plan for how you would spend the money. That's like punishing New Zealand for being consistently brilliant a rugby. Your fantasy world approach seems to be give everyone loads of money and dont give dublin anymore without any oversight or plan in place as how it should be invested. That doesn't have a history of working well in Ireland.

You've probably been too busy stalking the Dublin football team training in DCU so far this year to notice, but the on going fiasco in this country in relation to building the children's hospital is what happens when you just throw money at something without a clear plan and leadership.

;D The Dubs are just pathetic, a never ending stream of deflection! But since you brought it up, I will give you a brief outline of the plan.

Firstly, the monster must be slain. Dublin gets split into the 4 counties, Fingal, Dublin city, South Dublin, Dun Laoighaire/Rathdown.

Similar to what Dublin got, every county gets a strategic development officer and various other officers answering to them.

A development plan is drawn up for each county. What problems each county face, how to deal with them, how to promote the game, how to increase playing numbers, how to increase competitivity in both codes and so on.

All counties will be given appropriate funding to implement the plans drawn up.

The development officers will have targets to reach and progress will be monitored.

That's just a brief outline. It would ensure all counties compete on an equal footing. It would be fair and equatable.

What is stopping any of this happening now in the other 31?

priceyreilly

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on February 20, 2019, 07:19:26 PM
Pricey you should just stop. You whinge about Dublin and their successes but as everyone points out you haven't put forward any plan for how you would spend the money. That's like punishing New Zealand for being consistently brilliant a rugby. Your fantasy world approach seems to be give everyone loads of money and dont give dublin anymore without any oversight or plan in place as how it should be invested. That doesn't have a history of working well in Ireland.

You've probably been too busy stalking the Dublin football team training in DCU so far this year to notice, but the on going fiasco in this country in relation to building the children's hospital is what happens when you just throw money at something without a clear plan and leadership.

;D The Dubs are just pathetic, a never ending stream of deflection! But since you brought it up, I will give you a brief outline of the plan.

Firstly, the monster must be slain. Dublin gets split into the 4 counties, Fingal, Dublin city, South Dublin, Dun Laoighaire/Rathdown.

Similar to what Dublin got, every county gets a strategic development officer and various other officers answering to them.

A development plan is drawn up for each county. What problems each county face, how to deal with them, how to promote the game, how to increase playing numbers, how to increase competitivity in both codes and so on.

The development officers will have targets to reach and progress will be monitored.

That's just a brief outline. It would ensure all counties compete on an equal footing. It would be fair and equatable.

You can't implement a plan like this without finance! It's as simple as that. It wouldn't have worked in Dublin without the huge resources pumped in and it won't work anywhere else. Counties have gone to HQ with plans to improve their development and have had the door slammed in their faces. It's time we claimed our games back from the money men. Whatever way we go about it, we can't continue on the path we're on. It's destroying Gaelic games in many counties.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: priceyreilly on February 20, 2019, 07:31:07 PM

You can't implement a plan like this without finance! It's as simple as that. It wouldn't have worked in Dublin without the huge resources pumped in and it won't work anywhere else. Counties have gone to HQ with plans to improve their development and have had the door slammed in their faces. It's time we claimed our games back from the money men. Whatever way we go about it, we can't continue on the path we're on. It's destroying Gaelic games in many counties.

Now you are being special. Dublin did the much mocked Blue Wave document and then got funding.

Name one county that had 'the door slammed in their faces'?

dublin7

Nothing stopping any county putting a plan together tomorrow if they wanted to, but you can't expect to get funding without one. That's like applying for a mortgage without any proof you can repay the bank.

If you're going to split Dublin in 4 you're also going to have to increase funding and build additional grounds in the capital AND THATS EXPENSIVE. I mean where will they play their games? Can't all play in croke park or Parnell park at the same time

Dublin were ridiculed for publishing the blue wave, but followed through on it. In offaly a few years ago a group of former players/coaches got together to create a long term plan/project to re-establish hurling in the county. Alot of work went into it and when it was presented to the county board they said thanks, completely ignored it and implemented none of it.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on February 20, 2019, 07:46:04 PM

Now you are being special. Dublin did the much mocked Blue Wave document and then got funding.

Name one county that had 'the door slammed in their good?

Fermanagh?

priceyreilly

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on February 20, 2019, 07:46:04 PM

Name one county that had 'the door slammed in their faces'?

I've heard some clueless Dublin supporters discuss this topic before but you have to be up there with the worst.  ;D The Blue wave document was in 2011. The doping began in 2005.

Fermanagh and Laois for a start.

priceyreilly

Quote from: dublin7 on February 20, 2019, 08:31:55 PM

Nothing stopping any county putting a plan together tomorrow if they wanted to, but you can't expect to get funding without one. That's like applying for a mortgage without any proof you can repay the bank.

If you're going to split Dublin in 4 you're also going to have to increase funding and build additional grounds in the capital AND THATS EXPENSIVE. I mean where will they play their games? Can't all play in croke park or Parnell park at the same time

Dublin were ridiculed for publishing the blue wave, but followed through on it. In offaly a few years ago a group of former players/coaches got together to create a long term plan/project to re-establish hurling in the county. Alot of work went into it and when it was presented to the county board they said thanks, completely ignored it and implemented none of it.

The GAA didn't approve any other county because they didn't feel they'd get a return on it. They are a business. That's why they bankrolled Dublin, to get a return. It worked but only short term. This is not what the GAA is meant to be about. Money is important but putting that ahead of the health of our games. Not right.

The whole plan is expensive! Unfortunately, there's not much option left. We can't just let a doped up county continue unabated.

The blue wave document was 2011, what are you lads on about?

The only comparison of Dublin to NZ is the sponsor both share

All this 'leadership' was only put in place after Dublin GAA were promised the money by Bertie

What's funny, is that if you read the Dublin strategic development plans they actually include numerous aerial shots of Croke Park.
Which apparently isn't actually their home ground

I could probably come up with a detailed and costed coaching development plan for next 5 years for our county in about 2 weeks.
However, whats the point? When I know there's no funding available.
Dublin put together their plans knowing they were going to get funding!and extra funding to match any club who wants to fund a full time gda

There is a partnership at play here! The GAA finished building an unmerciful monster in 2004. Ironically Laois and Westmeath were in the Leinster Final that year. It was a stretch to get a decent crowd for the First game and the place was half empty for the Replay on a Saturday afternoon. The GAA were not going to pay the Mortgage on the Building on minnows getting to provincial finals. Galway, Kerry and Cork no matter how well they were doing would only fill Croker in dribs and drabs. So another Monster had to be created to feed the monster. Ulster was the only anomaly, they will support and they will support in droves with success. Then there is Mayo, the other golden goose. Mayo fans have pumped some amount of money in League and Championship games since 2011. The Super 8's were invented to scrape the last shilling over the summer out of Mayo supporters. I was delighted when we failed to qualify last year. It guaranteed the almost failure of the money grabbing Super 8's. To be fair Mayo out of the Championship was the end of the medias interest in the Championship. It's got to a sad state that Mayo a burned out group were still the only hope for anything other than another Dublin All Ireland.

So we are where we are. The Dubs are unstoppable. Helped with funding, hard work and dedication. It's not their fault they get so much funding, have home games at a canter and enjoy every advantage. Their fans suffered from 1983 to 2011 with only one All Ireland. Many of the Dublin lads here began to watch football during this era. Loads of near misses, great players, good teams getting to the business end and being mocked and ridiculed to coming short at the top table. Now the tables have turned. The smug Kerry man looks vulnerable and talk of Kerry rebuilding with Dublin on the verge of 5 in a row must be frightening for them (Kerry). This is not Tyrone which were a problem more than a decade ago for Kerrys mantle. This Dublin team is rejuvenating itself. Talk of players like Flynn, Brogan and O'Gara retiring - and who will replace them? Are Laughable. They are already replaced.

Anyway, money has made a difference. How can it not? But don't expect Dublin to apologise for this. No more than you can expect a Mayo man to apologise to a Leitrim man for his county having a bigger population.  Dublin were given the hand out used it properly. Now to be fair when you get so much money, you are bound to do something right.

The GAA have now ended up with one of the most dominant evolving Champions the game has ever seen. There is no quick fix to this. Changing rules, tinkering with ideas on the pitch only worsens what we already have and provides a sort of Red Herring to the real problems.

So what of the average fans? In my case the Season ticket is gone. I felt it hypocritical paying into something that disgusted me. Club is always there, thank god. And especially, underage Club! The gas thing is the bubble has not burst in Mayo. There is still (false) hope! Everybody still goes, still talks about the new players coming through and still thinks there is one last fight in this group. No one talks of Parsons injury, that this team will be two years older since the 2017 final, that we have not won a provincial final in 3 years, that we are have a groups of lads with loads of mileage, injuries and bad experience. No body sees the huge money going into Dublin football. The average Joe soap Mayo supporter does not have a clue of this! And you wonder how the average Dub should know. God only knows what other counties think?

as a parallel development... before Abromovich and the Sheiks arrived to english football Chelsea had won the league title once, in 1954/55 and City had won it twice, last in 1967/68

Dublin had won the All Ireland championship once since 1983 (1995) when the financial injection to Dublin GAA started around 2004

Arra musha Jesus Christ Bunker. I hope Parke win the Intermediate championship this year to cheer you up a bit. Seriously.

Anyway, Clucko, MDMA, Philly, Kev McM are 2 years older than 2017 too. I'm not yet convinced the players coming through are quite as good. Cue the Dubs such as The Greatest lecturing me about certain underage panels hammering the shite out of everyone.

Quote from: priceyreilly on February 20, 2019, 05:19:44 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 20, 2019, 05:03:32 PM
Again, you're just not listening because you've no interest in listening.

Did Cluxton go from talented hot head to the best keeper of all time because of money?
It's moronic nonsense to even suggest it. First, he copped himself on. Second, he worked his arse off so his god given talent could give the results that came. He's an absolute freak of a man. A genius. A nutter. A hero. Money was and is completely and utterly irrelevant.

We'd no reliable freetaker in the pre Gilroy years. Mossy Quinn, Wayne McCarthy, Johnny McNally, Ray Cosgrove and a few more were all given the job, and were all not quite reliable enough. Almost impossible to win an All Ireland without a good freetaker.
I guarantee that no player in Ireland has put more practice into freetaking that Dean Rock. Living and working in Dublin has helped that considerably. Money has been irrelevant.
We'd no reliable full back for a good few years too. Trying the likes of Barry Cahill and Denis Bastick there!
But then came along Rory O'Carroll to make an enormous difference. Money again irrelevant.

New tactics from Gavin has allowed us to get away with playing 3 corner backs since Rory moved away. I also think opposition managers may have missed a trick in not going after what I think has been Dublin's biggest weakness these last few years.

The GDOs have had practically zero influence on all Dublin hurlers and footballers. As I've said, our lads do get looked after very well, as do Mayo, Kerry, Kilkenny, Limerick and others. And we've no travel.

We have an amazing bunch of players and the crop is only growing due to population, not money. But boy, we're going to miss Clucko when he's gone, and I doubt the next guy up after Rock will be as prolific.

It's the other way round, you're not listening because you don't want to.

I've heard all these excuses before. The money isn't irrelevant, Cluxton is irrelevant. Was he not a genius prior to 2011? Along came a host of new players from the production line. Look up your defence from that year, that's what won you that All Ireland.

Again, these players you are talking about came through the system! They were created by top class coaching. That includes Rock, O'Carroll and a host of others. You can't have a highly financed elite player pathway put in place on one hand and then denying it had anything to do with creating elite level players on the other!

Apart from actually creating top class talent, having your underage system bankrolled has freed up funds for other areas. Hiring a professional basketball coach is one area that has paid dividends. Having a whole list of other paid coaches and backroom staff also helps.

I have provided tables which show exactly what paid coaches and a highly financed system can bring to a county. I see you've ignored the club one I just posted. Ignoring it won't make it go away. Denying millions upon millions of euro has had a huge effect on Dublin GAA is like claiming black is white.
The elite player pathway has NOTHING to do with the millions in games development funding.
Unpaid ex-player volunteers coach the Dublin development panels. GDOs don't go next nor near them.
Yes, they are well looked after with meal plans, dieticians, etc but same as many other counties.
And if they get to senior panel, there's a plethora of coaches, and some of them are getting well paid, but again same as Kerry, Mayo, etc, although i'd say we have more and pay more, but again totally irrelevant to the GDO funds which goes to clubs

If the GDO funding stopped, it wouldn't impact one iota on the funding for the elite teams. Completely different pots. If the GDO funding stopped, we'd just halve the number of GDOs, clubs would likely band together to have one between two.

Club game is flourishing in Dublin. As I said, it's a numbers games.  More players, more members, more contributions, so super facilities. Huge numbers of volunteer coaches.  Very good organization of club games in the county (exception being the U21s). We have most of the biggest clubs in the country, clubs with huge picks, will inevitably win many club AllIrelands over the next decade in both codes.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 21, 2019, 07:21:24 AM
Arra musha Jesus Christ Bunker. I hope Parke win the Intermediate championship this year to cheer you up a bit. Seriously.

Anyway, Clucko, MDMA, Philly, Kev McM are 2 years older than 2017 too. I'm not yet convinced the players coming through are quite as good. Cue the Dubs such as The Greatest lecturing me about certain underage panels hammering the shite out of everyone.

My brother has a lad on Dublin development U15 panel, and last year they beat Offaly by some ridiculous score, 15-10 to 0-2 , or something along those lines. Scary stuff. But Kilmacud Crokes probably have as a big a pick as Offaly these days.

Given the numbers and the efforts by the (volunteer!) coaches, Dublin seriously underachieve at minor. Thankfully really! I think it's probably down to not having a settled line up until just before. It's very hard to predict what the minor team will be prior to the first championship game, because of the large pick. I honestly never much care about minor All Irelands, unless i've a clubman on the team.  For me, the most important, is the couple of lads each year who might improve the senior team.

With all the threads about the Dubs, it is funny that there's never any talk on the board about what other counties can do to copy Kerry. Their recent minor success is absolutely amazing. What can other counties do to try and replicate it?
God almighty, imagine the crying if Dubs were achieving at minor!

TheGreatest

Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 21, 2019, 07:21:24 AM

I think that's a fair comment. Too early to tell but what I know and see there would not be a panel close to the current one for quite some time. Personally I think Kerry will do a Dublin over the next decade, hopefully only after this year!