Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 05:28:53 PM

Title: Christmas presents for Girlfriends
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 05:28:53 PM
Right lads I'm completely stuck on what to get my girlfriend for Christmas.  We have only being going out a few months but I want to get something soon and not leave it until the last minute.  And ideas or tips?

Also what are ye getting for your other half this Christmas?
Title: Re: Christmas presents for Girlfriends
Post by: AZOffaly on November 29, 2007, 05:30:09 PM
Has she an iPod, or an iPod Nano or something? If you're only going out a few months, don't go crazy unless she is high maintenance. You know the girl, obviously, but some can be spooked by a big pressie early on. (I've heard :D)

Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 05:37:25 PM
Youd never fit in it hardstation.

Ive got my wife her present, no idea what to get the girlfriend.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 29, 2007, 05:38:40 PM
www.myzeno.ie

Post by: Sky Blue on November 29, 2007, 05:40:07 PM
A weekend away always goes down well with my missus. Then I can spend the weekend in the pub watch sport.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 05:44:19 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 05:28:53 PM
Right lads I'm completely stuck on what to get my girlfriend for Christmas.  We have only being going out a few months but I want to get something soon and not leave it until the last minute.  And ideas or tips?

CD
Post by: theskull1 on November 29, 2007, 05:47:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 05:44:19 PM
CD

Is that a typo pints :)

Button to the right....no? :)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 05:49:23 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 29, 2007, 05:47:34 PM
CD

Huh   ???
Post by: ONeill on November 29, 2007, 05:51:46 PM
CD

She got that last year
Post by: Square Ball on November 29, 2007, 05:51:59 PM
CD

::) ::) :D
Post by: JimStynes on November 29, 2007, 05:52:16 PM
Got her an ipod for her main present last year. Getting her perfume and GHD straighteners this year.
Post by: Chrisowc on November 29, 2007, 05:52:33 PM
A rabbit.

Girls love rabbits 8)
Post by: full back on November 29, 2007, 05:53:08 PM
You cant go wrong with a bracelet or necklace, but FFS dont even think about getting a ring

Mind you GB, you could get her a jersey with Mc Geady or O Shea on the back & you could fantasize about them as you............well you know the rest ;)
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 05:53:42 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 29, 2007, 05:52:16 PM
Got her an ipod for her main present last year. Getting her perfume and GHD straighteners.

What are GHD straighteners?

Quote from: Chrisowc on November 29, 2007, 05:52:33 PM
A rabbit.

Girls love rabbits 8)

Youll never get a look in - you'd need to get one for yourself too.
Post by: Square Ball on November 29, 2007, 05:54:05 PM
the elbow until after Christmas
Post by: full back on November 29, 2007, 05:56:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 05:53:42 PM

A rabbit.

Girls love rabbits 8)

They straighten your hair puckoon - big thing with the ladies

Do you know he isnt talking about the furry animals :o
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 05:57:29 PM
Got her an ipod for her main present last year. Getting her perfume and GHD straighteners this year.

they're a £100.00 you know!  (cant believe you never heard of them puckoon!)

My woman's got jewerly for almost every birthday, christmas and anniversery - I have to say, I'm getting stuck  :-\
Post by: full back on November 29, 2007, 06:01:32 PM
I hope you are taking the piss pog
You arent giving your woman a cd for Christmas?
Why dont you give her a good going over to release all your anger ;)
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 06:03:25 PM
Quote from: full back on November 29, 2007, 05:56:39 PM

A rabbit.

Girls love rabbits 8)

Full back, I was born at night, but it wasnt last night. ;)

Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 05:57:29 PM

My woman's got jewerly for almost every birthday, christmas and anniversery - I have to say, I'm getting stuck  :-\

Maybe shes waiting for the one piece of jewellry she has yet to get

Quote from: full back on November 29, 2007, 06:01:32 PM
I hope you are taking the piss pog
You arent giving your woman a cd for Christmas?
Why dont you give her a good going over to release all your anger ;)

Hes got more rage than stamina.
Post by: JimStynes on November 29, 2007, 06:06:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 05:57:29 PM

i got them on ebay for just under £75. I wouldnt pick jewerly for a woman, they are to fussy and i would rather let her pick something she wanted rather than me pick her something shite but she has to pretend to like it.
Post by: full back on November 29, 2007, 06:06:45 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 06:03:25 PM
Quote from: full back on November 29, 2007, 05:56:39 PM

A rabbit.

Girls love rabbits 8)

Full back, I was born at night, but it wasnt last night. ;)

Must have been the night before then if you havent heard of GHD's ;)
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 06:09:38 PM
Fullback - touche.

Post by: JimStynes on November 29, 2007, 06:10:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 29, 2007, 06:09:02 PM
Splash out a bit lads.

(http://img.alibaba.com/photo/11081295/Sony_Playstation_3_60gb_Game_Console__Brand_New.jpg)

Jesus i would love to. Imagine the slap you would get if she opened her present to find a PS3
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 06:20:56 PM
Quote from: full back on November 29, 2007, 05:53:08 PM
You cant go wrong with a bracelet or necklace, but FFS dont even think about getting a ring

Mind you GB, you could get her a jersey with Mc Geady or O Shea on the back & you could fantasize about them as you............well you know the rest ;)

That was my first choice full back, but she doesn't like jerseys. :(

I was thinking jewelry, but shes very picky and she might not like what I get her.  An I-Pod is out of the question, she would never use it.

An other option is perfume, but I wouldn't know which one to get her.  Lads I'm very bad at this sort of thing.
Post by: full back on November 29, 2007, 06:26:20 PM
If you dont know enough about her to know what she wants/needs take her shopping - let her pick what she wants & everyone goes home happy.
Unless of course she is one of these ones that say there is no 'thought' involved if you dont pick it. If this is the case you are fcuked & you need to get rid of her asap
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 06:33:56 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 06:20:56 PM
Quote from: full back on November 29, 2007, 05:53:08 PM

That was my first choice full back, but she doesn't like jerseys. :(

I was thinking jewelry, but shes very picky and she might not like what I get her.  An I-Pod is out of the question, she would never use it.

An other option is perfume, but I wouldn't know which one to get her.  Lads I'm very bad at this sort of thing.

You'd need to get better right and quick.
It gets easier as you get older. If shes high maintenance, get out of dodge quick. Any woman worth her salt will at least pretend to be overjoyed by whatever you get her. Heres a few staples you cant go wrong with (unless shes the aforementioned high maintainence):
1. Nice underwear - doesnt have to be super naughty or anything, but stay away from these -
(http://www.mizrak.com/catalog/images/WHITE%20PANTY.JPG)

2. Buy her tickets to a concert/west end show and take her to london sometime in the new year.
3. Get a hold of her sister/friend and ask them to come shopping with you - when she finds out you made that effort its win win win all around.
4. Nice diamond necklace - chicks love them

Whatever you do dont get her any kind of kitchen utensil, house cleaning appliance.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 06:38:36 PM
Quote from: full back on November 29, 2007, 06:26:20 PM
If you dont know enough about her to know what she wants/needs take her shopping - let her pick what she wants & everyone goes home happy.
Unless of course she is one of these ones that say there is no 'thought' involved if you dont pick it. If this is the case you are fcuked & you need to get rid of her asap

I dont think she will go for the "let her pick option".  No I know enough about her, but I know whe is very hard to shop for.  I'm thinking jewlery maybe or perfume.
Post by: JimStynes on November 29, 2007, 06:49:37 PM
Theres a girl from work who is away to New York for a few days. Shes getting my woman Abercrombie and Fitch perfume apparently you cant get it over here, that should build up some brownie points.
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 06:51:06 PM
Hardstation, Ive sampled the top two out of those three, Mrs Puck gets bored with perfumes easily, so she has about 8 3/4 full bottles on the shelf.
Thank god for Parfum1.com. Top brands, cheap prices.
Post by: longball on November 29, 2007, 07:14:42 PM
i got my woman a DS for her birthday its what she wanted shes 20 by the way! got her couple of games for Xmas and also getting a mobile phone and a few bits and peices but enuf about her whats she getting me?!?
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:15:34 PM
Christ, whats a DS?
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 07:16:30 PM
Oh jaysus you're all hilarious on this!!!

Galwaybhoy, if I was going out with you and you got me a big present after a couple of months, I'd run for the hills.  

GHDs are the job but the £75-ebay ones are the old (Mk3) model (I presume, at that price) - there's a new MK4 model out now which is much better.  Obv check if she has them first as many (most) who want them have them at this stage.  And if they break, they're guaranteed for years.

Jewellery - hmmm, not sure about this one.  I don't really wear jewellery so wouldn't thank you for it.  

Perfume - very useful but not wildly personal.  Just buy it if you've been going out with her for ages and don't have to impress.

Me: would def prefer wkend away (to coincide with an away National League game but then not all girls would want that) if I was going out with you for a while or a new Tyrone jersey if it was a new relationship  :P.

I'd also quite like to go on a wine-tasting course so if you could find that (about £80 with Direct Wine Shipments in Belfast for four sessions).

Run a few more past me there..

Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 07:21:12 PM
We have already talked about a weekend away and have decided on doing that between us already.

Dont even mention GAA Rois, thats not her thing at all. :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 07:21:36 PM
Me: would def prefer wkend away (to coincide with an away National League game but then not all girls would want that) if I was going out with you for a while or a new Tyrone jersey if it was a new relationship 

But what if your boyfriend hates weekends away because the hotel or nothing is up to the standard he expects and he spends the entire time complaining to the point you just want to kill him - for example.

He doesn't like wine either.

What would you want then?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 07:23:36 PM
Also Rois what would you consider a "big" (no pun intended) present, jewellery surely wouldnt fall under this category would it?
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:24:03 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 29, 2007, 07:16:30 PM

Galwaybhoy, if I was going out with you and you got me a big present after a couple of months, I'd run for the hills.  

GHDs are the job but the £75-ebay ones are the old (Mk3) model (I presume, at that price) - there's a new MK4 model out now which is much better.  Obv check if she has them first as many (most) who want them have them at this stage.  And if they break, they're guaranteed for years.

Jewellery - hmmm, not sure about this one.  I don't really wear jewellery so wouldn't thank you for it.  

Perfume - very useful but not wildly personal.  Just buy it if you've been going out with her for ages and don't have to impress.

Me: would def prefer wkend away (to coincide with an away National League game but then not all girls would want that) if I was going out with you for a while or a new Tyrone jersey if it was a new relationship  :P.

I'd also quite like to go on a wine-tasting course so if you could find that (about £80 with Direct Wine Shipments in Belfast for four sessions).

With the present, or after returning it?

What would you like the year after?

Quote from: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 07:21:12 PM
We have already talked about a weekend away and have decided on doing that between us already.

Galwaybhoy - what kind of an operation are you running?

Wouldn't use an ipod?
Doesn't like the GAA
Wouldn't want to pick her own stuff.
Appears either very high maintenance, or very low.

Is this your girl?

(http://www.custardpie.co.uk/images/23/21137_big.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:25:01 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 07:21:36 PM
Me: would def prefer wkend away (to coincide with an away National League game but then not all girls would want that) if I was going out with you for a while or a new Tyrone jersey if it was a new relationship 

But what if your boyfriend hates weekends away because the hotel or nothing is up to the standard he expects and he spends the entire time complaining to the point you just want to kill him - for example.

A new boyfriend Id imagine.

Also, surely if the boyfriend was responsible for buying the hotel - he'd be an absolute clown to pick one he didnt like?
Post by: Square Ball on November 29, 2007, 07:25:26 PM
Hardstation

have you a CD fetish or something  :D
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:27:58 PM
A CD fetish? You know that CD is the accepted vernacular for cross dressers in the personal ads?

snowed under told me that
Post by: Square Ball on November 29, 2007, 07:28:44 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:24:03 PM

Wouldn't use an ipod?
Doesn't like the GAA

Is this your girl?

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 07:29:13 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:25:01 PM

Also, surely if the boyfriend was responsible for buying the hotel - he'd be an absolute clown to pick one he didnt like?
:(

He mighten like anything other than his own bed!
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:30:27 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 07:29:13 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:25:01 PM

:(

Then Ive rehighlighted in bold as appropriate.

Plus Im assured most establishments have sausages on hand these days.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 07:30:35 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 07:24:03 PM

GHDs are the job but the £75-ebay ones are the old (Mk3) model (I presume, at that price) - there's a new MK4 model out now which is much better.  Obv check if she has them first as many (most) who want them have them at this stage.  And if they break, they're guaranteed for years.

Jewellery - hmmm, not sure about this one.  I don't really wear jewellery so wouldn't thank you for it. 

Perfume - very useful but not wildly personal.  Just buy it if you've been going out with her for ages and don't have to impress.

Me: would def prefer wkend away (to coincide with an away National League game but then not all girls would want that) if I was going out with you for a while or a new Tyrone jersey if it was a new relationship  :P.

Wouldn't use an ipod?
Doesn't like the GAA

Is this your girl?

:D :D
Shes just not really sporty, wouldnt be into I-Pods or technical stuff.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 29, 2007, 07:31:35 PM

Translated as he's a tight hungry hoor  ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 07:33:25 PM
No, he's not!

In fact, he'd happily pay to stay at home.
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 07:36:36 PM
Big - over £100 (€150) - actually even at that, that's a bit "big".  Jewellery would be OK but are you sure you know what she'd wear?  What colours/styles are in?  

As someone suggested, going out with someone who liked neither GAA nor wine would make me seriously question the relationship as that's what I spend most of my weekends doing (playing/watching GAA and drinking wine, obv not at same time).

POG, feel very sorry for your woman...

What would I buy a fella?  A few years ago I had lined up tickets to see Arsenal at home for what is now (and was by Christmas) an ex.  Bought him a flying lesson at one stage too.  Now that I think about it, I'd def go for the experience present.  
I'd trust myself to buy clothes for a fella too.  
Post by: full back on November 29, 2007, 07:38:54 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 06:33:56 PM
3. Get a hold of her sister/friend and ask them to come shopping with you - when she finds out you made that effort its win win win all around.

This is a superb idea puckoon.It is good for 2 reasons.

1. puckoon's reason as above or
2. if it turns out you give her the boot, you have already done a bit of digger work for your next legover ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 07:40:07 PM
QuotePOG, feel very sorry for your woman...

Yeah, God love her, she doesn't have an easy life  :(
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 07:44:38 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 29, 2007, 07:40:53 PM

Did you (supposed to) accompany him?

It didn't get that far - prob would have told him to take a friend to the match but let me come to London.  Pity for him it didn't last a bit longer, I now know Arsenel's CEO's son...

I did go on the flying lesson though (pure chance).
Post by: Sky Blue on November 29, 2007, 07:46:11 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 29, 2007, 07:42:42 PM
Pints are you not buying your missus a puncture repair kit and a pump. I hear she has been a bit down lately.
(http://www.partystuffonline.co.uk/largeimages/9318smiffy.jpg)

:D :D :D Excellent 5Times!!
Post by: ONeill on November 29, 2007, 07:46:53 PM
I'm buying her a trip to The Emirates.
Post by: full back on November 29, 2007, 07:47:03 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 29, 2007, 07:44:38 PM
I now know Arsenel's CEO's son...

You know him, or you know him Rois?
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 07:49:52 PM
Quote from: full back on November 29, 2007, 07:47:03 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 29, 2007, 07:44:38 PM
I now know Arsenel's CEO's son...

You know him, or you know him Rois?

Don't be cheeky now  ;)

In fairness, I prob wouldn't "know" him if I was still going out with the other boyo.
Post by: Square Ball on November 29, 2007, 07:50:31 PM
I think hes in love with Rois now
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 07:50:55 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 29, 2007, 07:42:42 PM
Pints are you not buying your missus a puncture repair kit and a pump. I hear she has been a bit down lately.
(http://www.partystuffonline.co.uk/largeimages/9318smiffy.jpg)
:-\
Post by: Square Ball on November 29, 2007, 07:54:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 29, 2007, 07:52:59 PM
You could do worse.

who, POG or O'Neill
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 08:05:56 PM
OMG, totally forgot about a handbag!!!

Get her a Radley handbag - you can get them in Debenhams, House of Fraser (there's one in Dundrum for the Dubs), or in some boutique shops like one down the street at the back of Boots in Belfast.

The bags with the little Scottie dogs.

www.radley.co.uk

There are some highly dodgy ones in the collection though so have a browse and I'll tell you if I think a normal girl would like it.

(ps I was on secondment to Radley last year for a few months, I know lots and lots about them...and would still buy their handbags)

Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 29, 2007, 08:09:57 PM
When buying a present for a woman it seems that £100 is the price threshold below which a Christmas present is deemed unacceptable.

I discovered this last year when I bought my missus an Electrolux Speedy Press Mark III electric steam iron.  It's a top notch model but it only cost £90 and I assume this was the reason that my missus took the big time hump with me and never spoke to me until St Patrick's Day.  

I'm not going to get caught out like that this year though.  No way hose.  I've spent £120 on a Qualcast Concorde Cylinder Lawnmower.  I can't wait to see the look on her little face when she opens it on Christmas morning.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 08:10:50 PM
Oh oh oh!

I got my woman a handbag one...christmas I think it was.

granted, the woman in the shop picked it but still!!

and you felt sorry for her rois!
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 08:13:55 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 08:10:50 PM
Oh oh oh!

and you felt sorry for her rois!

Good man yourself, and you get extra points for asking the woman in the shop rather than picking it yourself.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 29, 2007, 08:14:27 PM
Gift vouchers are your only man! She'll love you for ever! £100 M&S hard to beat.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 08:16:54 PM
QuotePints, I hope you said that you picked it yourself.
Yeah, but I think she knew.
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 08:18:05 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 08:16:54 PM
Yeah, but I think she knew.

I bet you she knew 100% and loved you all the more for it
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2007, 08:20:11 PM
*blushes*
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 29, 2007, 08:23:23 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 29, 2007, 08:05:56 PM

Get her a Radley handbag - you can get them in Debenhams, House of Fraser (there's one in Dundrum for the Dubs), or in some boutique shops like one down the street at the back of Boots in Belfast.

www.radley.co.uk

There are some highly dodgy ones in the collection though so have a browse and I'll tell you if I think a normal girl would like it.

(ps I was on secondment to Radley last year for a few months, I know lots and lots about them...and would still buy their handbags)

Yeah will have a look through there later on, and I will pick out ones that I think are nice, you can let me know what you think thanks.  A mate just told me a few minutes ago I'm worrying over nothing!

As for her not liking GAA, well I dont play hurling or football now (I'm only 22) so it dosent matter if she likes it or not.
Post by: Square Ball on November 29, 2007, 08:28:01 PM
Give her options, see what ones she likes and then pick one, your happy, shes happy and the element of surprize is still there.

Post by: JimStynes on November 29, 2007, 09:36:47 PM

No Rois i double checked they are the new ones. Some deal i got, the new ones are well over £100 i think.
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 09:43:36 PM
God Jim you def did well!

Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 09:47:59 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 29, 2007, 08:05:56 PM

www.radley.co.uk

I knew Mrs Puck backed a winner. ;D ;D ;D

Went for coach rois, this one. Should I take it back, or wrap it up?

(http://www.pursepage.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/10/coachhandbag5.jpg)

Post by: SeanSouth on November 29, 2007, 10:12:15 PM
I just give her some green and she buys clothes with it, saves any hassle.
Post by: Rois on November 29, 2007, 10:24:50 PM
Depends on the age Puckoon...

If Mrs Puck is a 27-year-old then take it back.

If she's over 50, she'll prob like it.
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2007, 10:26:21 PM
 :-[ :-\ :'(

T Fearon possessed me for a while there.

Well, its better than a CD.

I guess we will have to see on Christmas morning, Ive lost the receipt.
Post by: Bensars on November 29, 2007, 10:28:22 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 29, 2007, 10:24:50 PM
Depends on the age Puckoon...

If Mrs Puck is a 27-year-old then take it back.

If she's over 50, she'll prob like it.

;D ;D ;D   Unlucky Puckoon, looks like another trip to the store
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 30, 2007, 09:43:43 AM
Lads, it's simple, buy her something practical that she can use again and again and will speed up the "process" when ur heading out. But her a................

Ladyshave................
Post by: SeanSouth on November 30, 2007, 09:53:04 AM
You would need to be a right silly fcuker to buy her one of those handbags for about £300.........
Post by: Rois on November 30, 2007, 10:03:31 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 29, 2007, 11:52:52 PM

How do we know Rois is actually a woman and not ONeill on the wind up?

I can assure you I'm female and not O'Neill.

I don't know why you think it's hilarious - that bag, my mum might use, I (27 year old) wouldn't.  Simple honest truth.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 10:08:30 AM
Rois them GHD's will wreck your hair.
Most decent hairdressers will tell you that.

I've been married too long  :)
Post by: Rois on November 30, 2007, 10:11:51 AM
Sure I know that - had to dye my hair back to brown from blonde cause it broke all over the place due to heat exposure (and bleach)!

Still use the ghds though!
Post by: Donagh on November 30, 2007, 10:13:54 AM
Boyzone tix went on sale this morning.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 10:15:08 AM
Quote from: Donagh on November 30, 2007, 10:13:54 AM

Yeah but if you get her them you will probably have to go with her!!
Post by: Rois on November 30, 2007, 10:33:11 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 30, 2007, 10:26:06 AM
I'm still laughing at her reply to Puckoon.
Take a bow, Rois.

But it's the truth!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 30, 2007, 12:34:33 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 30, 2007, 10:13:54 AM

No no no!
I nearly had to go to a westlife concert one time.

Rois, on the GHDs - you can get this spray you put on your hair before you use them and it protects your hair.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 12:40:12 PM
Protects it to an extent Pints, but regular use will still wreck it.

Feck what are we talking about, I'm off to spit on the ground and eat some raw beef!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 30, 2007, 12:42:15 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 12:40:12 PM
Protects it to an extent Pints, but regular use will still wreck it.

Feck what are we talking about, I'm off to spit on the ground and eat some raw beef!!

NOt if you use conditioners and stuff.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 12:43:59 PM
f**k you Pints just f**king f**k you!!  >:(
GHDs are bad for your hair no matter what.
Bastard!!!  >:(
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 30, 2007, 12:46:35 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 12:43:59 PM
f**k you Pints just f**king f**k you!!  >:(
GHDs are bad for your hair no matter what.
Bastard!!!  >:(

No they're not! 
My woman uses them all the time and according to my four year old nephew she has "beautiful hair"  :D
Post by: charlie on November 30, 2007, 12:47:19 PM
Girls cant live without GHD's. so if she hasnt got them, it would be a brilliant present...
Post by: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 01:01:07 PM
Quote from: charlie on November 30, 2007, 12:47:19 PM
Girls cant live without GHD's. so if she hasnt got them, it would be a brilliant present...

Seriously, my ,missus had one and used it a bit along with the protective products.

Her hairdresser told her to get rid, said its terrible for your hair. She pays top dollar getting the hair done and seems that the better and more reputable hairdresser they are, the more anti ghd they are.

Pints you should smack your 4 year old nephew for encouraging it!  ;)
Post by: behind the wire on November 30, 2007, 01:03:36 PM
think il maybe go for an ipod myself. wheres the best place to get one sort of reasonably priced?..... and dont say jonesborough.

Bensars, where did your boobs go?
Post by: charlie on November 30, 2007, 01:07:42 PM
Yi hairdressers do say that, but take it from me, when a girl goes anywhere for a night the first thing she takes is the straighteners... There a must have... Its like drink, its bad for you but we still do it!!!
Post by: SeanSouth on November 30, 2007, 01:08:20 PM
Well my gf's cousin works in some poncey hairdresser's in Lisburn Road and she gets the ghsd straigteners cheap,beacuse they are in the business, so not all hairdressers are hell bent against them. On a related note my missus uses them and some girl stopped her in the shop and asked her who did her hair.........
Post by: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 01:14:33 PM
Dont get me wrong, they make ur hair look nice and it could be years before you see the difference.
Re hairdressers, many sell them so wont speak ill of them, many dont know the full details either.

But if you go to any top of the range hairdresser, they will say avoid like the plague.

My missus used to use it quite a bit before she was warned off it (not just by one hairdresser either), so no disrespect Charlie but it aint a must have for all girls.
My missus is hoping to still have a nice head of hair in 20 years time  ;)
Post by: full back on November 30, 2007, 03:45:27 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 30, 2007, 01:14:33 PM
But if you go to any top of the range hairdresser, they will say avoid like the plague.

OK, they might not be the best for a lady's hair, but them hairdressers who charge a fecking mortgage payment to do your hair would say that so you have to keep coming back to them
They may just have another agenda...
Post by: Lecale2 on November 30, 2007, 04:11:11 PM
Last year I signed her up to the local Gym. £25 a month. Spreads the cost of Christmas. I thought it was a great idea but it didn't go down well!
Post by: full back on November 30, 2007, 04:12:54 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 30, 2007, 04:11:11 PM
Last year I signed her up to the local Gym. £25 a month. Spreads the cost of Christmas. I thought it was a great idea but it didn't go down well!

Suprised you are still walking - cheeky b4stard :D
Post by: Silky on November 30, 2007, 04:44:32 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 30, 2007, 04:11:11 PM
I wonder why?? I suppose it could have been worse - signed up to weight watchers!

:D :D :D
Post by: Rois on November 30, 2007, 05:00:40 PM
You're all great craic with the ghd chat.

Yes of course it ruins hair - I can tell someone who uses them a lot - their hair breaks at the top and they have little flyaway hairs all along the top layer.  But obv it depends on how strong your hair is.  I spend a clean FORTUNE on my hair, protector sprays, intensive conditioners at £6 per single treatment, hair repair sessions, blah blah blah. 

Haidressers will maintain that if you can dry someone's hair well enough, you don't need them.

When ceramic straighteners first came out, I got a free pair from my previous (male) hairdresser in exchange for getting him a ticket to Armagh's AIF victory in 2002.
Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2007, 06:25:47 PM
There are far too many blokes on here that know way toooooooooo much about hair products, its my wife, yeah right!! ;D
Post by: JimStynes on November 30, 2007, 06:40:46 PM
All the spice boys from the other end of the town use straighteners. You can spot a prod a mile off, hair died, spiked up every road and straightened of course.
Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2007, 06:44:39 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 30, 2007, 06:40:46 PM
All the spice boys from the other end of the town use straighteners. You can spot a prod a mile off, hair died, spiked up every road and straightened of course.
Diddnt realise that there were so many prods living in Wes Belfas
Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2007, 06:50:20 PM
Nope

just stating that there are a hell of a lot of guys who fit that bill living in West Belfast (the none protestant part)
Post by: give her dixie on November 30, 2007, 07:16:15 PM
Lads, what about giving a donation to charity on her behalf. Concern and Trocaire have amazing gifts at all prices, and if she doesn't like it, then dump her as it will show her true character. Have been giving to charity for a few years now instead of presents, and it always goes down a treat.
Off course, give her some small token gift as well just to keep her sweet.......
Happy shopping
Post by: SeanSouth on November 30, 2007, 09:34:38 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on November 30, 2007, 07:16:15 PM
Lads, what about giving a donation to charity on her behalf. Concern and Trocaire have amazing gifts at all prices, and if she doesn't like it, then dump her as it will show her true character. Have been giving to charity for a few years now instead of presents, and it always goes down a treat.
Off course, give her some small token gift as well just to keep her sweet.......
Happy shopping

Did they tell you how much of your donation is absorbed on "administration" costs?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 01, 2007, 02:34:15 AM

A five night Cruise in Mexico i believe is on the cards, her Birthday is Boxing day to boot
  so all bases should be covered.......... i think ;)

Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 01, 2007, 01:31:29 PM
dont trusth that lad dixie i think he works for concern. Dont give him any money.
Post by: give her dixie on December 01, 2007, 07:13:03 PM
Aye, I wrk for concern all right. 
Since you are from Armagh, a bottle of Buckfast will keep your mot happy and the poor can starve.
Post by: Lecale2 on December 01, 2007, 09:43:16 PM
Maybe he has a point. 2nd post and you're straight in there.
Post by: his holiness nb on December 02, 2007, 11:58:20 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 01, 2007, 02:34:15 AM

A five night Cruise in Mexico i believe is on the cards, her Birthday is Boxing day to boot
  so all bases should be covered.......... i think ;)

That should keep you in the good books for a month or so!
Post by: Hashtag on November 17, 2011, 09:37:57 AM
What's everyone getting their other halves for Christmas. Terrible at buying pressies so I am. Nowadays if someone wants something they just go out and buy it themselves. Impossible to buy for anyone.

Also we are doing secret Santa at work, balls, I have drawn a girl. Spend limit is 10GBP. Advice?
Post by: Sky Blue Gael on November 17, 2011, 09:59:12 AM
Hate getting presents for the woman. She's all in to her fashion and what's in and that shite where as i dont have a clue about that stuff. Anybody any advice on stuff to get her?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 17, 2011, 10:09:07 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 17, 2011, 09:37:57 AM
What's everyone getting their other halves for Christmas. Terrible at buying pressies so I am. Nowadays if someone wants something they just go out and buy it themselves. Impossible to buy for anyone.

Also we are doing secret Santa at work, balls, I have drawn a girl. Spend limit is 10GBP. Advice?

Take her down the street for some shopping.  It's hell for half a day but at least you can get her to pick what she wants
Post by: Rois on November 17, 2011, 10:15:24 AM
Secret Santa for a tenner - a Yankee Candle would go down well, think you can get the smaller ones for that. 

A well-chosen handbag is always a great present but only if you're spending significant money on it.  Or a nice dress or something from a reputable shop - for example, Ted Baker has a 20% off sale on today, if you went in there and asked someone they'd def help you (and I am loving the stuff in there at the mo), plus they could exchange after Christmas if it didn't fit.  Swap Ted Baker for any girls' clothing (Karen Millen, Reiss etc). 
Post by: Radda bout yeee on November 17, 2011, 10:23:58 AM
I need help too. I'm going out with her a few years now and i'm stuck every christmas. No point buying clothes as basically everything she takes out of the wardrobe has to be de labelled! Got perfume last year with GHD's and clothes so thats all those options out the window!!  >:(

Also what would be a good budget? We both earn good salaries but we both have over £1,000 to fork out at Christmas for skiing holiday in March!

HELP!
Post by: Rois on November 17, 2011, 10:32:14 AM
A new ski jacket?

www.twoseasons.co.uk - shop in Vic Sq in Belfast

We're off on hols to the US in December so I will not be expecting much, nor spending much in return. 

Post by: Radda bout yeee on November 17, 2011, 10:47:45 AM
Quote from: Rois on November 17, 2011, 10:32:14 AM
A new ski jacket?

We're off on hols to the US in December so I will not be expecting much, nor spending much in return.

That could be a good idea! She said that we shouldn't spend very much on each other considering the hol - but does she really mean this???  :-\
Post by: Hashtag on November 17, 2011, 11:00:20 AM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on November 17, 2011, 10:47:45 AM
A new ski jacket?

That could be a good idea! She said that we shouldn't spend very much on each other considering the hol - but does she really mean this???  :-\

We have said this every year for the past four years, never works out. If you did decide not to spend much you will get THAT LOOK on Christmas morning.
Post by: Sky Blue Gael on November 17, 2011, 11:32:58 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 17, 2011, 11:00:20 AM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on November 17, 2011, 10:47:45 AM
A new ski jacket?

We have said this every year for the past four years, never works out. If you did decide not to spend much you will get THAT LOOK on Christmas morning.

Its almost like shes sayin "i'm not going to spend much on you but feel free to spend as much as you want on me"
Post by: Olly on November 17, 2011, 12:17:14 PM
Christmas is a religious festival. You are meant to show Christian values.

For all my relatives I purchase gift cards from them to charity operations, the main one being http://www.thedonkeysanctuary.ie/ the Donkey Sanctuary in Cork. There's a new initiative where you can get people to sign a legal document which results in them leaving a percentage of their legacy to the Donkey Sanctuary. It's called The Donkey Will.

Last year I got all my brothers, sisters and parents that document which donate 10% of their assets to the donkeys when they DIE. I did pick up a vibe after the 4th envelope was opened around the Christmas coffee table that their disappointment was twofold.
1) They knew what they were getting. The 7th, 8th and 9th recipients didn't even open their envelopes. It may have been the thinking of death and wills.
2)They wanted something to eat, drink or wear which is the WRONG FEELINGS to have at Christmas.

It whole day sorta fell flat after that although the slideshow on the donkey welfare I did maybe halted the festive hilarity.

My point is - if your wife or girl or partner is a good person they'll accept a donation in their name to a charity and the donkeys is just one idea. If she does not accept this and reacts badly or violently to your chosen gift then she should be told to leave your life. It'll only get worse and she may be in it for your money. It's a good litmus test for families to try out this Christmas. Or is it Christmas any more?
Post by: Up The Middle on November 17, 2011, 03:53:19 PM
Quote from: Olly on November 17, 2011, 12:17:14 PM
Christmas is a religious festival. You are meant to show Christian values.

For all my relatives I purchase gift cards from them to charity operations, the main one being http://www.thedonkeysanctuary.ie/ the Donkey Sanctuary in Cork. There's a new initiative where you can get people to sign a legal document which results in them leaving a percentage of their legacy to the Donkey Sanctuary. It's called The Donkey Will.

Last year I got all my brothers, sisters and parents that document which donate 10% of their assets to the donkeys when they DIE. I did pick up a vibe after the 4th envelope was opened around the Christmas coffee table that their disappointment was twofold.
1) They knew what they were getting. The 7th, 8th and 9th recipients didn't even open their envelopes. It may have been the thinking of death and wills.
2)They wanted something to eat, drink or wear which is the WRONG FEELINGS to have at Christmas.

It whole day sorta fell flat after that although the slideshow on the donkey welfare I did maybe halted the festive hilarity.

My point is - if your wife or girl or partner is a good person they'll accept a donation in their name to a charity and the donkeys is just one idea. If she does not accept this and reacts badly or violently to your chosen gift then she should be told to leave your life. It'll only get worse and she may be in it for your money. It's a good litmus test for families to try out this Christmas. Or is it Christmas any more?

Thats deep
Post by: Puckoon on November 17, 2011, 04:39:20 PM
Luckily for me, herself dropped her Nintendo DS in the bathtub in the summer. Will be replacing that and giving her the Lego Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows game.

Sorted.
Post by: the waffler on November 17, 2011, 05:33:16 PM
couple yrs back bought her the exact same watch 2 yrs running fukin put my head away the shoping  nothing but a bullbate
Post by: armaghniac on November 17, 2011, 06:01:27 PM
Put her to work

(http://www.myredpacket.co.uk/shopimages/products/thumbnails/pink_tookkit.jpg)
Post by: Hashtag on November 17, 2011, 07:54:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 17, 2011, 04:39:20 PM
Luckily for me, herself dropped her Nintendo DS in the bathtub in the summer. Will be replacing that and giving her the Lego Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows game.

Sorted.

:o what the hell age is your girlfriend?
Post by: Puckoon on November 17, 2011, 08:50:14 PM
31, why?
Post by: heganboy on November 17, 2011, 09:04:14 PM
From the post - 16 wouldn't have been a surprising response- I think thats where he was going
Post by: The Iceman on November 17, 2011, 09:13:58 PM
Lads lads lads yous all complain about wives and girlfriends not wanting to watch sports or getting annoyed if you even mention the PS3 or XBOX and here is a man who's wife actually plays video games and you heckle!?!?!!?!?

Post by: Puckoon on November 17, 2011, 09:15:16 PM
Fair play to her, its not my cup of tea at all. She does a fair bit of travelling and footering about waiting on the football to be over - and enjoys the puzzle games on the DS.

It'd be great if she was younger, but alas - you take what you can get.
Post by: Orangemac on November 17, 2011, 09:41:45 PM
Quote from: Olly on November 17, 2011, 12:17:14 PM

I'd say some were hoping for a goat from Bothar, would explain their disappointment.

I hope you reminded them that a donkey is for life and not just for Christmas ;D
Post by: Sanchez on November 17, 2011, 10:59:39 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on November 17, 2011, 10:23:58 AM
I need help too. I'm going out with her a few years now and i'm stuck every christmas. No point buying clothes as basically everything she takes out of the wardrobe has to be de labelled! Got perfume last year with GHD's and clothes so thats all those options out the window!!  >:(

Also what would be a good budget? We both earn good salaries but we both have over £1,000 to fork out at Christmas for skiing holiday in March!

HELP!

Romantic!!!

Also the line in bold, you're some what of a toff now???
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 18, 2011, 12:25:01 AM
Necklace. Can't go wrong with a bit of bling.
Post by: maggie on November 18, 2011, 12:49:58 AM
Pandora bracelets always seem to be popular (although it may be a safe card), then u can always buy the charms/beads to add to it on diff occasions.

Personally I'd prefer vouchers for me to choose something I actually liked, eg. From house of fraser/ beauticians/hairdresser etc rather than a pressie or else I would have dropped a few 'subtle' hints lying around.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 18, 2011, 01:09:06 AM
Vouchers are for people who don't get into the spirit of gift-giving. The whole point of it is you know the person well enough that you know something they'll like.
Post by: thebigfella on November 18, 2011, 01:15:02 AM
Boob job. She asked, why refuse.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 18, 2011, 03:30:35 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on November 18, 2011, 01:15:02 AM

You could just try exercising to lose them
Post by: Hashtag on November 18, 2011, 11:34:25 AM
Quote from: heganboy on November 17, 2011, 09:04:14 PM
From the post - 16 wouldn't have been a surprising response- I think thats where he was going

I can confirm this is what I was thinking.

#garyglitter

Post by: Hashtag on November 18, 2011, 11:36:19 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on November 18, 2011, 01:15:02 AM

Going to be VAT on boob jobs now. About an extra £1000 on it. Let her get one done just.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 18, 2011, 12:46:00 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 17, 2011, 09:15:16 PM
Fair play to her, its not my cup of tea at all. She does a fair bit of travelling and footering about waiting on the football to be over - and enjoys the puzzle games on the DS.

It'd be great if she was younger, but alas - you take what you can get.
Quote of the week!
Post by: Hashtag on November 30, 2011, 12:11:38 PM
What do you think would be the last day for ordering pressies online in order for them to be here for Christmas?
12th?
Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2011, 12:29:04 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on November 30, 2011, 12:11:38 PM
What do you think would be the last day for ordering pressies online in order for them to be here for Christmas?
12th?

they usually give the date, but it would depend on the size and where its coming from.
Post by: ardal on December 04, 2011, 04:39:45 PM
Anybody know a site to order Perfume / creams etc christmas packs.

Know exactly what to get but the cost of postage adds almost another €100
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 04, 2011, 05:06:58 PM
Anyone been in the Jack Wills shop in Belfast? What's it like? Going to get herself something from there possibly. Meant to be like Hollister expect more expensive.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 04, 2011, 05:21:41 PM
Quote from: maggie on November 18, 2011, 12:49:58 AM
Personally I'd prefer vouchers for me to choose something I actually liked, eg. From house of fraser/ beauticians/hairdresser etc rather than a pressie or else I would have dropped a few 'subtle' hints lying around.
Most women wouldn't be too impressed with a voucher i'd imagine.
Post by: Christmas Lights on December 04, 2011, 08:30:02 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 04, 2011, 05:06:58 PM
Anyone been in the Jack Wills shop in Belfast? What's it like? Going to get herself something from there possibly. Meant to be like Hollister expect more expensive.

Hollister / Jack Wallis  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Most Overpriced, over-hyped places......EVER

All the kids just want them because of the name, there are better clothes shops out there in my opinion for half the price.
Marketing geniuses though  :-\
Post by: trileacman on December 04, 2011, 08:45:53 PM
Hardy Bucks box set. Sorted.  ;)
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 04, 2011, 08:54:44 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on December 04, 2011, 08:30:02 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 04, 2011, 05:06:58 PM

Hollister / Jack Wallis  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Most Overpriced, over-hyped places......EVER

All the kids just want them because of the name, there are better clothes shops out there in my opinion for half the price.
Marketing geniuses though  :-\
Couldn't agree more. I'd take Jack Jones anyday over those two.
I can get Hollister stuff off the back of a lorry though but apart from that I wouldn't wear the stuff, complete rip off.
Post by: southdown on December 05, 2011, 12:11:59 PM
Just started going with a girl and dont know what to get her for xmas - dont want to go overboard as I have only started going with her.  Also, its her birthday 4 days before xmas, should i just get her one really gift to cover the 2, or 2 average enough gifts?
Post by: sammymaguire on December 05, 2011, 12:19:06 PM
Quote from: southdown on December 05, 2011, 12:11:59 PM
Just started going with a girl and dont know what to get her for xmas - dont want to go overboard as I have only started going with her.  Also, its her birthday 4 days before xmas, should i just get her one really gift to cover the 2, or 2 average enough gifts?

depends how much you want to impress her.... you know the answer to that and thus the question itself, you dont need to ask anyone.  :-\
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on December 05, 2011, 02:45:04 PM
Quote from: ardal on December 04, 2011, 04:39:45 PM

http://www.megashopbot.com/
Post by: Denn Forever on December 05, 2011, 03:15:44 PM

Could you not ask your local chemist if they could get them for you?  They may be already stocking items from the same manufacurer and so could get them for you?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on December 05, 2011, 03:18:47 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 05, 2011, 03:15:44 PM

Could you not ask your local chemist if they could get them for you?  They may be already stocking items from the same manufacurer and so could get them for you?

Debenhams make up xmas boxes of creams.  Just tell them how much you are willing to part with and they'll sort the rest
Title: FAO Rois
Post by: Hashtag on December 05, 2011, 03:28:26 PM
Finally got the wife's presents sorted:
GHD's
(http://hairandbeautyreviews.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/ghd-hair-straighteners.jpg)

Westlife tickets (this is annivesary weekend so I'm claiming this is part of that as well)
(http://www.yourticketmarket.com/eventimages/westlife_big.jpg)

A dress
(http://cdn.priceprobe.net/i/7603788.88434e0f0fa493c568.62278335)

Urban Decay Eye Shadow
(http://www.temptalia.com/images/fall2010/urbandecay_nakedpalette007.jpg)
Post by: Don Johnson on December 05, 2011, 03:41:53 PM
How much was the urban decay stuff?

I would be wary about buying a dress or any clothes. Two reasons, dunno what size and dunno if they would like it.
Post by: Up The Middle on December 05, 2011, 03:44:28 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on December 05, 2011, 03:41:53 PM

I would be wary about buying a dress or any clothes. Two reasons, dunno what size and dunno if they would like it.

I paid £50 for that stuff on Saturday, pure rip off
Post by: Hashtag on December 05, 2011, 03:48:18 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on December 05, 2011, 03:41:53 PM

£31.50 in debenhams. Free delivery. Came two days after I ordered. Happy enough with that. Her wee sister recommended it.

Agreed regarding clothes. Hate trying to buy them but have took a chance. Dunno if she will even like it but......

Post by: fitzroyalty on December 05, 2011, 06:41:02 PM
Always a good excuse to start private mailing the mates, this time of year.

Hastag I might steal your idea of make up as my Jack Wills gift idea now has been shelved.
Post by: Hashtag on December 05, 2011, 07:45:43 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 05, 2011, 06:41:02 PM

Hastag I might steal your idea of make up as my Jack Wills gift idea now has been shelved.

#thumbsup
Post by: trileacman on December 05, 2011, 11:19:53 PM
Why not get her something she'll never expect . . . . . . . . .

(http://www.easter-eggs.org.uk/uploaded_images/crunchie1-725185.jpg)
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 09:41:43 AM
Anyone any ideas for pressies for brother, mother and father?

Post by: haranguerer on December 06, 2011, 01:48:21 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 09:41:43 AM

Give them your computer
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 02:26:00 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 06, 2011, 01:48:21 PM

Give them your computer

But how would I contribute to the online world of gaaboard messaging forum?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2011, 02:27:26 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 02:26:00 PM

Give them your computer

It's the present that keeps on giving.
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 02:28:08 PM

I can sell you two Westlife tickets for Croke Park, 23rd June 2012. I bought 4 at the time but only needed two for the missus. Was going to sell the other two to my cousin but I don't think he would want to spend as much. Only thing is the seats are beside the misses and myself. I don't want to have to speak to you before/during or after the concert.
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 02:32:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 06, 2011, 02:27:26 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 02:26:00 PM

Give them your computer

It's the present that keeps on giving.

(http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/41596_163001940377830_6669_n.jpg)
Post by: Don Johnson on December 06, 2011, 04:49:43 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 02:28:08 PM

I can sell you two Westlife tickets for Croke Park, 23rd June 2012. I bought 4 at the time but only needed two for the missus. Was going to sell the other two to my cousin but I don't think he would want to spend as much. Only thing is the seats are beside the misses and myself. I don't want to have to speak to you before/during or after the concert.

How much are the tickets?
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 06, 2011, 05:00:02 PM

I think I'd rather shit myself than have to sit through that.
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 05:04:49 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on December 06, 2011, 04:49:43 PM

How much are the tickets?

The robbing w***** were 80 Euro. I paid via my bank card. Four cost me £309.42. Below is a copy and paste from my online Ulster Bank Account

11 Nov 2011 POS 3856 09NOV11 , TICKETMASTER.IE , DUBLIN IE , EUR 352.39, RATE 1.1718, CHARGE 0.75, ERTF 7.97 -  309.42
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 06, 2011, 05:07:52 PM
You must really love her
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 05:14:39 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 06, 2011, 05:07:52 PM
You must really love her

Due to the fact that I married her or that I bought Westlife tickets?

Two for sale, come on Fitzroyalty- me and you- Hogan Stand- Shane and the boys. I can see it.
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 06, 2011, 05:22:27 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 05:14:39 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 06, 2011, 05:07:52 PM
You must really love her

Due to the fact that I married her or that I bought Westlife tickets?

Two for sale, come on Fitzroyalty- me and you- Hogan Stand- Shane and the boys. I can see it.
Bringing her to Westlife.  :-X

While tempting as it is, Don Johnson seems intersted - puke him into going.
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 06:23:45 PM
You seem a more fun, cost price for you, an extra 20 needed for Don.
Title: Re: FAO Rois
Post by: Orangemac on December 06, 2011, 09:26:35 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on December 05, 2011, 03:28:26 PM
Finally got the wife's presents sorted:
GHD's
(http://hairandbeautyreviews.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/ghd-hair-straighteners.jpg)

Westlife tickets (this is annivesary weekend so I'm claiming this is part of that as well)
(http://www.yourticketmarket.com/eventimages/westlife_big.jpg)

A dress
(http://cdn.priceprobe.net/i/7603788.88434e0f0fa493c568.62278335)

Urban Decay Eye Shadow
(http://www.temptalia.com/images/fall2010/urbandecay_nakedpalette007.jpg)
Fair play to you Hashtag. Out of these

1) Have heard of GHDS I think

2) Westlife - big sacrifice on your part.

3) Dress  - wouldn't know where to start.

4) What???
Post by: Hashtag on December 06, 2011, 09:32:12 PM
Nothing was bought without running it past a panel of females at work. Think I have done well. Think its the first time ever going into christmas where everything is a surprise. Usually make her pick the things and I pay for them.
Post by: Don Johnson on December 06, 2011, 09:53:33 PM
I wouldn't mind seeing Westlife they have some good tunes. The woman isn't as big a fan of them as I am though I think so I'm out.

This Christmas I am going to just get her a good few wee things, no major presents. Have got her an ipod, a tv, GHDs etc previous christmases, birthdays so she has done ok out of it so far. Got to the stage now where we realised it was too much pressure on each other to spend ridiculous money on the other.

Though I think I have heard her mention that urban decay stuff before so might run it by her sister to get the yay or nay for it.

Don't really buy many other presents. My ma will get her customary bottle of perfume and my da his customary bottle of Baileys.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 06, 2011, 09:59:43 PM
Hard to bate Primark PJs the women love them. Mightn't do much to set the wild fires of passion off in the bedroom mind you. A nice15% off all fragrances in Debenhams too at the moment
Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2011, 12:30:53 AM

Are they still available? I'll take them. The wife is hymming and hawing but SaffronSam2 says he'll go with me if she pulls out. That ok?
Post by: Puckoon on December 07, 2011, 01:03:29 AM
Post by: Hashtag on December 07, 2011, 07:58:43 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 07, 2011, 12:30:53 AM

Are they still available? I'll take them. The wife is hymming and hawing but SaffronSam2 says he'll go with me if she pulls out. That ok?

No problem. Sounds good:
Seat location: Hogan Stand section LOW333, row KK, seats 17-20
Post by: mikasas on December 07, 2011, 10:03:35 AM
I call first dibs on Hashtags spare Westlife tickets. I can guarantee that no one will dare speak to you when there.
Post by: Hashtag on December 07, 2011, 10:17:59 AM
Quote from: mikasas on December 07, 2011, 10:03:35 AM
I call first dibs on Hashtags spare Westlife tickets. I can guarantee that no one will dare speak to you when there.

The tickets have yet to arrive from Ticketmaster. I was hoping they would be here before Christmas.
Post by: mikasas on December 07, 2011, 11:20:01 AM
Not a bother if they don't arrive before Christmas, So long as they are promised to me for when you do get them? Deal? £160 for the two?
Post by: Hashtag on December 07, 2011, 11:24:11 AM
With money like that I will be a millionaire.
Let me think it over. I want to talk to a couple of family members first to see if any of them want them, if not I will take your £160. You have a possible deal. May I suggest we celebrate are new found arrangement over a glass of mulled wine?
Post by: mikasas on December 07, 2011, 11:39:16 AM
If you are in the Belfast Area i would take you up on that offer at the Christmas market.
Post by: Hashtag on December 07, 2011, 12:02:40 PM
Quote from: mikasas on December 07, 2011, 11:39:16 AM
If you are in the Belfast Area i would take you up on that offer at the Christmas market.

Will not be in the Smoke this week but I know a guy who is. I could send him as my substitute. You don't have any problem with people of the Asian persuasion?
He may or may not wish to make love to you after, depending on if you are goodlooking enough.
Post by: Hashtag on December 08, 2011, 11:57:48 AM
I have come to an agreement with Mikasas in regards to the sale of the two spare Westlife tickets. We are having a problem of how to do an exchange as I don't actually physically have the tickets yet. I think he is in fear of a double cross. He was keen to know if we had a deal before the Belfast show goes on sale tomorrow. How do I convince him that I am good to my word?
Post by: tyrone girl on December 08, 2011, 12:51:06 PM
If you promise us all ul feck off somewhere and never come back we would all buy westlife tickets for Mikasas. Thats the best way round it i think.
Post by: Don Johnson on December 08, 2011, 12:58:27 PM
Quote from: Hashtag on December 08, 2011, 11:57:48 AM
I have come to an agreement with Mikasas in regards to the sale of the two spare Westlife tickets. We are having a problem of how to do an exchange as I don't actually physically have the tickets yet. I think he is in fear of a double cross. He was keen to know if we had a deal before the Belfast show goes on sale tomorrow. How do I convince him that I am good to my word?

Maybe start up a separate forum for the two of you and reveal each other's personal info on it so you know it is genuine?
Post by: Hashtag on December 08, 2011, 01:14:59 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on December 08, 2011, 12:51:06 PM
If you promise us all ul feck off somewhere and never come back we would all buy westlife tickets for Mikasas. Thats the best way round it i think.

???  :'(

I'm starting to think you have a disliking of me. I have only ever commented directly to you about twice.

Also if we go with your idea can you leave the money with me and collect the tickets for Mikasas?
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 14, 2011, 08:07:04 PM
Got her a big sparkly diamond ring on Sunday and she said yes!! So she is getting nothing for Christmas, well ok, maybe a selection box!!  :D
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2011, 11:04:42 PM
Good man - congratulations.  :)
Post by: orangeman on December 14, 2011, 11:11:03 PM
Quote from: leaveherinsir on December 14, 2011, 08:07:04 PM
Got her a big sparkly diamond ring on Sunday and she said yes!! So she is getting nothing for Christmas, well ok, maybe a selection box!!  :D

You'll rue that ya boya !!

But congratulations anyway !!  ;)
Post by: Armaghgeddon on December 14, 2011, 11:13:22 PM
Got mine a kitten at long last. Have to give it to her early though.
Post by: Hashtag on December 15, 2011, 08:37:34 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on December 14, 2011, 11:13:22 PM
Got mine a kitten at long last. Have to give it to her early though.

Could you not of keep it at someone elses house to Christmas morning?

Quote from: leaveherinsir on December 14, 2011, 08:07:04 PM

Good man, well done!
Post by: Hashtag on December 16, 2011, 08:46:29 AM
Planning on going to Belfast tomorrow shopping. I imagine it will be mental though.
Post by: Lecale2 on December 16, 2011, 08:52:14 AM
Thanks for the warning.
Post by: Hashtag on December 16, 2011, 08:53:11 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on December 16, 2011, 08:52:14 AM
Thanks for the warning.

Thumbs up!
Post by: ONeill on January 05, 2012, 09:20:51 PM
Just a heads up for next year. This went down a treat:

(http://www.goinglocal-info.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/03/08/htsm_cover.jpg)
Post by: Maguire01 on January 05, 2012, 09:30:43 PM
You talk, she shovels?
:P
Post by: ONeill on January 05, 2012, 09:48:15 PM
(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSJmh4z-5eT9w9qQsL3eljmBIgxf9E_4IHvPb3ecXuKw2B-Jl2SPoahZW372g)
Post by: pullhard on December 02, 2012, 10:14:50 AM
Whats the craze these year for the fairer sex?
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2012, 01:27:12 PM
There's a photo I took she likes, so I've got it blown up, mounted and framed.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 02, 2012, 06:11:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 02, 2012, 01:27:12 PM

Enough about the rubber doll. What are you doing with the picture?
Post by: Lecale2 on December 02, 2012, 07:03:20 PM
 :) very good Norf!
Post by: laoislad on December 02, 2012, 07:07:19 PM
I'm taking the wife out of the country for a weekend in January for her Christmas present.
Somewhere foreign like Belfast.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2012, 08:08:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 02, 2012, 07:07:19 PM
I'm taking the wife out of the country for a weekend in January for her Christmas present.
Somewhere foreign like Belfast.
We welcome immigrants from 3rd World economies up here.
Post by: Rois on December 02, 2012, 09:50:02 PM
My list from which he can pick one (£100- self-imposed limit) includes:
Sports sunglasses (suggest pink framed Oakleys) for skiing and running
North Face gilet
Trainers

But if I hadn't already got one, I'd have put a Barbour jacket on the list - I love mine.
Post by: ziggysego on December 03, 2012, 09:41:01 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on December 02, 2012, 06:11:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 02, 2012, 01:27:12 PM

Enough about the rubber doll. What are you doing with the picture?

Cheeky sh*te!  ;D
Post by: Under Lights on November 20, 2013, 10:50:02 AM
Need to start shopping for the other half? Any ideas?
Cecelia Ahern's new book 'How To Fall In Love' is available nationwide for £7.00
Post by: Cold tea on November 20, 2013, 01:05:26 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on November 20, 2013, 10:50:02 AM
Cecelia Ahern's new book 'How To Fall In Love' is available nationwide for £7.00

Get her a few scratchcards too - bring it up to a tenner.  :)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 20, 2013, 01:36:32 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on November 20, 2013, 01:05:26 PM

Buying a book called 'How to fall in love' would raise uncomfortable questions

Ditch her and save a fortune........... in the long run
Post by: Under Lights on November 20, 2013, 01:47:05 PM

I wasn't suggesting the book was the main present. Part of the stocking filler.

People give details of the bargains you are getting. Share and Share alike.
Post by: J OGorman on November 20, 2013, 02:08:24 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on November 20, 2013, 01:47:05 PM

I wasn't suggesting the book was the main present. Part of the stocking filler.

People give details of the bargains you are getting. Share and Share alike.

I photo book with the past years adventures in it always goes down well. (Though keep stag do and lads night out photos to a minimum ;-) )
Post by: Under Lights on November 20, 2013, 02:31:24 PM
Not a bad idea. It's been quite the adventurous year too.
Post by: CD on November 20, 2013, 03:32:43 PM
Pair of Converse - always go down well with my good lady. Make sure you get the right size!
Usually pick up a new 'cool' handbag as well - something leather - read the reviews on Amazon for best bags - last year I got a nice overnight bag and popped a weekend in Paris in there. Too pregnant for anything that ambitious this year!
Post by: armaghniac on November 20, 2013, 05:18:00 PM
T-shirt?

(http://image1.spreadshirt.com/image-server/v1/products/15790605/views/1,width=378,height=378,appearanceId=404/Natural-You-Look-Good-Enough-for-a-Poke-T-Shirts.png)
Post by: pullhard on October 17, 2014, 09:55:03 AM
Coming up to this time of the year again. Subtle hints have been given and missed!
Ideas suggestions ?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 17, 2014, 10:25:44 AM
Im gonna try to refrain from getting sucked into this thread.
Blood pressure and all.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 17, 2014, 10:33:42 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 17, 2014, 10:25:44 AM
Im gonna try to refrain from getting sucked into this thread.
Blood pressure and all.

saw Brick had posted, thought "this wont be good";

well played chap on your restraint  :)
Post by: muppet on October 17, 2014, 10:34:14 AM
Quote from: pullhard on October 17, 2014, 09:55:03 AM
Coming up to this time of the year again. Subtle hints have been given and missed!
Ideas suggestions ?

It is a tempting swap in fairness.
Post by: Under Lights on October 17, 2014, 10:42:26 AM
Get her an iPad.
Post by: pullhard on October 17, 2014, 11:22:11 AM
Thinking a new loo brush and marigolds
Post by: BenDover on October 17, 2014, 11:25:54 AM
L'Oreal steam pods are on the list for the OH this year, apparently there all the rage
Post by: Aristo 60 on October 17, 2014, 11:28:07 AM
This is to be our last Christmas together as boyfriend/girlfriend and she's suggested inexpensive presents as we've the cost of the wedding next year.

What do people think? Is this a trap?

(I mean the presents not the wedding)

She already has marigolds.
Post by: pullhard on October 17, 2014, 11:34:38 AM
Quote from: BenDover on October 17, 2014, 11:25:54 AM
L'Oreal steam pods are on the list for the OH this year, apparently there all the rage

FFS i got her GHD's last year. I don't recall mention of these things, that not to say she didn't mention it! Big bucks.

Quote from: Aristo 60 on October 17, 2014, 11:28:07 AM
This is to be our last Christmas together as boyfriend/girlfriend and she's suggested inexpensive presents as we've the cost of the wedding next year.

Congrats Aristo, When is the wedding? We got married this year so last christmas fairly skinny, I just got her bits for the honeymoon, Mini shampoo's, lotions and potions and few good books for the beach and a guidebook for the area. Cheap thoughtful crap! Seemed happy enough alright

She already has marigolds. Glad to hear it.
Post by: muppet on October 17, 2014, 11:34:51 AM

It is a serious trap.

If she breaks the rule to surprise you, you better have done so as well.
Post by: laoislad on October 17, 2014, 11:52:04 AM

Break up with her and call off the wedding. You won't have to get her anything then.
Post by: Mikhailov on October 17, 2014, 12:12:46 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 17, 2014, 11:34:51 AM

It is a serious trap.

I agree 100% - this is a definite trap in the making...she is really testing your mettle now....

Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 17, 2014, 12:13:47 PM
Ye can be guaranteed she will break the rule and splash out. Its a given.
They do that. Say one thing and mean the opposite. And ye can be guaranteed yer the f**ker when she sees that ye didn't splash out.
Him: "whats wrong with ye?"
Her: "Nothin, nothing at all, im fine"
Him: "Ok, Grand." (Continues about his business, back to normal, ates away at his sandwich/continues to scratch balls/gets back to watching the match etc)

Her raging and fuming and him oblivious to it all.
Why don't they just say im "f**ked off at ye for pissin round the toilet seat/leavin toenails on bathroom floor/throwin dirty undercrackers on floor" etc?
It would make things easier. And don't for one minute go suggesting that if ye truly cared ye would know whats wrong with her. Ye cant be a f**kin mindreader all the time.

Don't waste yer time agonising over what ye 'think' she wants. Just ask her outright.
That fails, then ask her ma or sisters. Or send them to get it and give them the money.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on October 17, 2014, 12:22:49 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on October 17, 2014, 12:12:46 PM

It is a serious trap.

I agree 100% - this is a definite trap in the making...she is really testing your mettle now....
we were in the exact same situation last year with the wedding coming up and a similar agreement was made.
I thought 'im not falling for that' so broke the rule and got her the usual bigger present.
Trouble was , she had stuck to the rule money wise, but put alot of thought into it.
I was then in the bad books for spending more than we agreed.

moral of the story: you cant win
Post by: gallsman on October 17, 2014, 01:55:25 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 17, 2014, 12:22:49 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on October 17, 2014, 12:12:46 PM

It is a serious trap.

we were in the exact same situation last year with the wedding coming up and a similar agreement was made.
I thought 'im not falling for that' so broke the rule and got her the usual bigger present.
Trouble was , she had stuck to the rule money wise, but put alot of thought into it.
I was then in the bad books for spending more than we agreed.

moral of the story: you cant win

Plus, you could have used the money on something better, like a new TV or an Xbox.
Post by: Rois on October 17, 2014, 03:31:37 PM

Not a trap. Suggest a January holiday instead....
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 17, 2014, 03:36:17 PM
When they drop hints at a last minute trip to New York does that mean they really want it??  :o
Post by: Boycey on October 17, 2014, 03:42:17 PM
Jesus lads what's wrong with yis its the 17th of October ffs.

There is plenty of time for worrying about stuff like this on Christmas Eve
Post by: Bingo on October 17, 2014, 03:44:52 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 17, 2014, 03:42:17 PM

I've still to get last years present.
Post by: pullhard on October 17, 2014, 04:14:03 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 17, 2014, 03:42:17 PM

If its not done soon it'll be forgot about and i'll have to fork out big online!
Post by: stew on October 17, 2014, 11:08:54 PM
A big battery operated dildo does the trick every time! Can't go wrong with a bug battery operated dildo. ;)
Post by: muppet on October 18, 2014, 12:24:24 AM
Quote from: stew on October 17, 2014, 11:08:54 PM
A big battery operated dildo does the trick every time! Can't go wrong with a bug battery operated dildo. ;)

Stew, this is about a present for the other half, not yourself.
Post by: ziggysego on October 18, 2014, 12:18:51 PM

http://youtu.be/4F4qzPbcFiA (http://youtu.be/4F4qzPbcFiA)
Post by: Max Payne on October 28, 2014, 09:07:31 PM

What in the bejaysus are these? It's Halloween. That means it's time to start panicking. Especially considering she has my presents all sorted.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 28, 2014, 10:03:46 PM
get the girlfriend nothing - if the wife finds out you're fucked !
Post by: armaghniac on October 28, 2014, 10:22:29 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 28, 2014, 10:03:46 PM
get the girlfriend nothing - if the wife finds out you're fucked !

if you don;t get something you may not be fucked n 2015.
Post by: BenDover on October 29, 2014, 08:14:09 AM
Quote from: Max Payne on October 28, 2014, 09:07:31 PM

What in the bejaysus are these? It's Halloween. That means it's time to start panicking. Especially considering she has my presents all sorted.

The next generation in hair straighteners http://www.amazon.co.uk/LOreal-LOr%C3%A9al-Professionnel-SteamPod/dp/B00BBYN2S6
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 30, 2014, 03:31:05 AM
If anyone has anyone's xmas pressie bought in October, that is cause for dumping right there.
Post by: pullhard on October 30, 2014, 10:38:32 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on October 30, 2014, 03:31:05 AM
If anyone has anyone's xmas pressie bought in October, that is cause for dumping right there.

Nonsense, saves last minute run around shops which are ramped, hot and don't have what you were after anyway.

Are there any decent fiction books for WAGs this? (boy with dragon tattoo few got me decent points)
Post by: maggie on November 27, 2014, 11:56:15 PM
What kinds of things do you lads ask your wives/girlfriends for? Need some inspiration.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 28, 2014, 01:36:24 AM
A threesome. 

But sure you never get what you really want, do you?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 28, 2014, 02:46:41 AM
Quote from: maggie on November 27, 2014, 11:56:15 PM
What kinds of things do you lads ask your wives/girlfriends for? Need some inspiration.
Peace and quiet
Post by: Under Lights on November 28, 2014, 07:52:59 AM

Something TV related- if you don't have sky get him a Now TV Box with a subscription on it- or get one of them Amazon Fire boxes or something. Love/Hate will be out on DVD soon so get that as well.
Post by: laoislad on November 28, 2014, 08:57:07 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on November 28, 2014, 01:36:24 AM
A threesome. 

Post by: muppet on November 28, 2014, 09:03:05 AM
A threesome. 

Be careful what you ask for.  ;D

Post by: illdecide on November 28, 2014, 02:32:32 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 28, 2014, 09:03:05 AM
A threesome. 

Be careful what you ask for.  ;D

When she lands home with a 6'6" guy hung like a horse and says "well you wanted a threesome...here it is, lets go" don't be complaining just bite the blanket ;)
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on November 28, 2014, 02:46:43 PM
Good points, lads.  Clearly I need to be more specific.
Post by: muppet on November 28, 2014, 03:00:58 PM

Ok.

You could tell him you got him something really important this year.

Then give him this online course: https://www.udemy.com/approaching-and-talking-to-women-for-beginners/?dtcode=rvLQXzR1WdDS (https://www.udemy.com/approaching-and-talking-to-women-for-beginners/?dtcode=rvLQXzR1WdDS)

But you'd better back it up with something big! Say pre-order the Apple Watch or if that is too expensive there are loads of cool gadgets at reasonable prices that he might not have, e.g. wireless speakers, parrot in the car etc., that are not too expensive.

Or you could get a few low priced useful things like a smartphone holder for the car (deadly handy!) or this dashboard cam for the car: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mobius-WIDE-Actioncam-Full-HD-1080P-Sport-Cam-POV-Action-Camera-Ships-from-USA-/161461757030?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2597dee466 (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mobius-WIDE-Actioncam-Full-HD-1080P-Sport-Cam-POV-Action-Camera-Ships-from-USA-/161461757030?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2597dee466)

It is the business but not for everyone.

Also you could google the sites of bands/performers that he likes, and may not know are touring, and organise a trip to see one of them.
Post by: gallsman on November 28, 2014, 03:03:10 PM

Concert/comedy tickets.
Nice whiskey.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 28, 2014, 03:03:38 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 28, 2014, 08:57:07 AM
A threesome. 

;D ;D
Post by: blewuporstuffed on November 28, 2014, 03:05:01 PM
QuoteAlso you could google the sites of bands/performers that he likes, and may not know are touring, and organise a trip to see one of them.

That always goes down well in my book
Title: Re: Christmas presents for Wives
Post by: Puckoon on December 18, 2017, 03:24:55 PM
Well the Official Daddy Thread has been augmented by the Official Granda Thread - so maybe Christmas Presents are for wives now instead of girlfriends (if we're all growing up).

Absolutely at a loss this year.  Can't think of a Christmas Gift for herself.
Post by: supersarsfields on December 18, 2017, 03:26:34 PM
Feck your starting early, what's the rush?
Post by: Puckoon on December 18, 2017, 03:36:14 PM
Well I'll wanna play golf on Saturday and Sunday...
Post by: Boycey on December 18, 2017, 03:47:55 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 18, 2017, 03:36:14 PM
Well I'll wanna play golf on Saturday and Sunday...

Theres your answer, there is bound to be something suitable in the pro shop ;)
Post by: laoislad on December 18, 2017, 03:47:55 PM
I think I'm at the point in my marriage now (7 years + 3 kids) where it seems a bit silly getting the wife anything. Wouldn't the money be better spent on the ESB bill or something like that.
I haven't told her yet but sure we'll see how it goes.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2017, 03:51:56 PM
Just take them out to town, buy them what they want, they've picked it, have dinner and few drinks, everyone a winner.. Then you can get her a less expensive prezzie to open up on xmas day but there's no pressure on that as they have already got what they were looking for!
Post by: screenexile on December 18, 2017, 04:27:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 18, 2017, 03:51:56 PM
Just take them out to town, buy them what they want, they've picked it, have dinner and few drinks, everyone a winner.. Then you can get her a less expensive prezzie to open up on xmas day but there's no pressure on that as they have already got what they were looking for!

You must be one of those lucky lads whose wife has a bit of cop on and tells you what she wants. . .  if I hear "surprise me" one more Christmas or birthday I think I may explode!!!

Haven't a f**king scooby doo what to get her!!
Post by: armaghniac on December 18, 2017, 04:49:01 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 18, 2017, 03:47:55 PM
I think I'm at the point in my marriage now (7 years + 3 kids) where it seems a bit silly getting the wife anything. Wouldn't the money be better spent on the ESB bill or something like that.

Could you not run a wire past the ESB meter!
Post by: theskull1 on December 18, 2017, 04:56:55 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 18, 2017, 04:27:07 PM

You must be one of those lucky lads whose wife has a bit of cop on and tells you what she wants. . .  if I hear "surprise me" one more Christmas or birthday I think I may explode!!!

Haven't a f**king scooby doo what to get her!!

SIL's are a good go to for ideas
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 18, 2017, 05:01:11 PM
Go and look at the warpaint cabinet. Check which tubs are getting low. Job done.
Post by: theskull1 on December 18, 2017, 05:03:00 PM
http://www.british-gypsum.com/products/plaster-products (http://www.british-gypsum.com/products/plaster-products)

Post by: Seany on December 18, 2017, 05:11:55 PM
Definitely the funniest thread on the board. A few laugh out loud posts on here.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 18, 2017, 05:15:27 PM
https://www.theirishstore.com/?aff=ppc_us_brand&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI-PL6_4aU2AIVYbftCh2WXAAhEAAYASAAEgILrfD_BwE

Bit late for internet shopping, but you truthfully say it's in the post.
Post by: Avondhu star on December 18, 2017, 05:25:31 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 18, 2017, 03:47:55 PM

Im not sure how that will work out. I am going to buy mine  a new iron as she needs to improve on her ironing skills and is always blaming the old iron. I can't wait to see her little eyes light up when she opens her present.
Post by: laoislad on December 18, 2017, 05:27:49 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 18, 2017, 05:15:27 PM
https://www.theirishstore.com/?aff=ppc_us_brand&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI-PL6_4aU2AIVYbftCh2WXAAhEAAYASAAEgILrfD_BwE

Aye get her an Aran jumper. What every woman wants.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 18, 2017, 06:35:57 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 18, 2017, 05:27:49 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 18, 2017, 05:15:27 PM

Aye get her an Aran jumper. What every woman wants.
The boy done good.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on December 18, 2017, 07:56:24 PM
Always go with a personalised gift or a nice bit of artwork

http://blackhendesigns.com/ (http://blackhendesigns.com/)

that was my choice this year.
women love that shit
Post by: armaghniac on December 18, 2017, 08:35:48 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on December 18, 2017, 07:56:24 PM
Always go with a personalised gift or a nice bit of artwork

http://blackhendesigns.com/ (http://blackhendesigns.com/)

that was my choice this year.
women love that shit

Especially the Great Tit one might get the message across.
Post by: rrhf on December 18, 2017, 10:13:32 PM
Some of you boyos would me more into Ann summers shopping than Aran sweaters. Taking euro for sterling in Belfast lads, drive carefully..
Post by: Avondhu star on December 18, 2017, 11:27:25 PM
Quote from: rrhf on December 18, 2017, 10:13:32 PM
Some of you boyos would me more into Ann summers shopping than Aran sweaters. Taking euro for sterling in Belfast lads, drive carefully..

Some Ann Summers products and a Mary Lou mask will liven things up in the bedroom department
Post by: johnneycool on December 19, 2017, 10:17:18 AM

I was that soldier a week or so ago and she tells me she wants a Rab coat. Never heard of them TBH, but f**k do they know how to charge the c*nts. Luckily they didn't have the one she wanted in her size and she settled for a different version, trespass or whatever which was on sale.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 19, 2017, 10:19:46 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on December 19, 2017, 10:17:18 AM

I was that soldier a week or so ago and she tells me she wants a Rab coat. Never heard of them TBH, but f**k do they know how to charge the c*nts. Luckily they didn't have the one she wanted in her size and she settled for a different version, trespass or whatever which was on sale.

Madness!!
Post by: GJL on December 19, 2017, 10:24:49 AM
Her indoors talking about an apple watch 3. Anyone have one or know what they are like? She runs and cycles a lot so I'm thinking it will be good for this?
Post by: Don Johnson on December 19, 2017, 11:36:56 AM
I looked into getting one but the charging every night put  me off. Girl in work has one as well and she seems to have it sitting on the charger more than it is on her wrist.
Post by: Rois on December 19, 2017, 11:37:16 AM
If she doesn't have one, an Amazon Echo is brilliant craic and I love mine - you can play cheesy music to dance to while you do the ironing  :P

Rab jackets are the North Down upgrade to North Face...invested in a Canada Goose gilet myself there in the summer and it'll last forever but is def pricey (got mine new on eBay).

Neither of us wants anything specific so I'm going down the city break route (don't be telling him Aristo60).  I'm getting my sister a night away in a hotel without her husband and wee one (again, a present for me and her) but know that will def go down well.
Post by: Franko on December 19, 2017, 05:47:45 PM
Quote from: Rois on December 19, 2017, 11:37:16 AM
If she doesn't have one, an Amazon Echo is brilliant craic and I love mine - you can play cheesy music to dance to while you do the ironing  :P

Rab jackets are the North Down upgrade to North Face...invested in a Canada Goose gilet myself there in the summer and it'll last forever but is def pricey (got mine new on eBay).

Neither of us wants anything specific so I'm going down the city break route (don't be telling him Aristo60).  I'm getting my sister a night away in a hotel without her husband and wee one (again, a present for me and her) but know that will def go down well.

Sounds good Rois... but a question... Can you stream Youtube songs on the Echo, or do you have to have a Spotify/Apple Music account or some such?
Post by: Rois on December 19, 2017, 06:47:48 PM
I actually don't know - I did sign up to Amazon music. I think Prime already gives pretty good music.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 19, 2017, 06:50:10 PM
Amazon firestick is losing its access to the youtube app at the end of the year, so I'd be surprised if the amazon echo continued to have access.
Post by: foxcommander on December 19, 2017, 06:55:05 PM
Get the woman in your life a Trump Stamp

(https://i0.wp.com/thecuriousbrain.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/unnamed.jpg?resize=488%2C363)
Post by: Franko on December 20, 2017, 01:53:35 PM
Quote from: Rois on December 19, 2017, 06:47:48 PM
I actually don't know - I did sign up to Amazon music. I think Prime already gives pretty good music.

Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 19, 2017, 06:50:10 PM
Amazon firestick is losing its access to the youtube app at the end of the year, so I'd be surprised if the amazon echo continued to have access.

Thanks guys.
Post by: screenexile on November 26, 2020, 02:20:21 PM
Right... any ideas???!!!
Post by: illdecide on November 26, 2020, 02:24:29 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 26, 2020, 02:20:21 PM
Right... any ideas???!!!

Got the wife a new fitbit (£199 brick) but there are loads other wans
Post by: laoislad on November 26, 2020, 02:33:56 PM
Right... any ideas???!!!
Just ask her what she wants and buy that. Or else just give her money. Thats what I do.
Post by: Rois on November 26, 2020, 03:41:41 PM
Right... any ideas???!!!
I'm definitely no use.

As we entered the world of parenthood in September, all I want is a fluffy dressing gown.

Leisure wear, that's all everyone's wearing these days.  Fabletics, Sweaty Betty etc. 
Post by: BennyCake on November 26, 2020, 03:54:38 PM
Cup of tae and a foot rub. Do her rightly  ;D
Post by: Main Street on November 26, 2020, 03:56:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 26, 2020, 03:41:41 PM
Right... any ideas???!!!
I'm definitely no use.

As we entered the world of parenthood in September, all I want is a fluffy dressing gown.

Leisure wear, that's all everyone's wearing these days.  Fabletics, Sweaty Betty etc. 
Way too risky to buy clothes as a gift.     
Looks can kill.    (There is no if....)
Post by: Rois on November 26, 2020, 04:38:02 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 26, 2020, 03:56:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on November 26, 2020, 03:41:41 PM
Right... any ideas???!!!
I'm definitely no use.

Way too risky to buy clothes as a gift.     
Looks can kill.    (There is no if....)
True. I don't even trust himself to buy the dressing gown.
Post by: JimStynes on November 26, 2020, 04:44:07 PM
That Charlotte Tillbury magic skin cream. £70 quid I think.
Post by: andoireabu on November 26, 2020, 05:35:09 PM
My Mrs seems to be big into Cloud 10 make up at the minute. She would be very good at doing her own make up so is particular enough about what she uses. She like the Naked make up pallettes as well
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 26, 2020, 06:08:13 PM
Making me sick reading this lads. Grow a set ffs. Boys knowing brands and all
Post by: BennyCake on November 26, 2020, 06:26:21 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 26, 2020, 06:08:13 PM

Yup. And I never understood these big gestures bollix. Spending stupid amounts of money on things like a seven and a half month anniversary or the dogs birthday. Mental.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2020, 06:27:43 PM
I've been spoilt this year as she has bought herself stuff from me. I might stretch to a card.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 26, 2020, 06:41:02 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 26, 2020, 06:26:21 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 26, 2020, 06:08:13 PM

Yup. And I never understood these big gestures bollix. Spending stupid amounts of money on things like a seven and a half month anniversary or the dogs birthday. Mental.

Boys must be desparate for a bit or something. I just scoot up the town Xmas Eve, she bes pissed off until about lunch time on Xmas day but after 2 baileys apparently I'm a "big ride" again..Happily married years now
Post by: armaghniac on November 26, 2020, 08:08:19 PM
(https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/800/cpsprodpb/2A16/production/_115547701_gettyimages-1229654243.jpg)

His and hers vaccine kit, and two long haul tickets to Tahiti?
Post by: laoislad on November 26, 2020, 08:20:16 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2020, 06:27:43 PM
I've been spoilt this year as she has bought herself stuff from me. I might stretch to a card.
She's a keeper.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 26, 2020, 08:23:48 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 26, 2020, 08:08:19 PM
(https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/800/cpsprodpb/2A16/production/_115547701_gettyimages-1229654243.jpg)

His and hers vaccine kit, and two one long haul ticket to Tahiti?

Fixed that
Post by: seafoid on November 26, 2020, 08:27:56 PM
Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel
Post by: armaghniac on November 26, 2020, 08:30:37 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on November 26, 2020, 08:23:48 PM
Fixed that

Quite the romantic at Xmas, then.
Post by: Main Street on November 26, 2020, 10:47:29 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 26, 2020, 08:30:37 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on November 26, 2020, 08:23:48 PM
Fixed that

Quite the romantic at Xmas, then.
There's nothing romantic in divorce papers being served. My condolences, Armaghniac.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2020, 10:56:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 26, 2020, 08:20:16 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2020, 06:27:43 PM
She's a keeper.
Foolproof way to get what you want.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on November 28, 2020, 03:28:35 PM
Voucher for hotel stay. Hopefully she'll use it with yourself
Post by: manfromdelmonte on November 28, 2020, 03:30:00 PM
You can never go wrong with a spa day at a hotel.
They can drag a friend or two along and hopefully you get a full days freedom to go for a decent cycle, a few beers or a match
Post by: Rois on November 28, 2020, 04:34:00 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on November 28, 2020, 03:30:00 PM
You can never go wrong with a spa day at a hotel.
They can drag a friend or two along and hopefully you get a full days freedom to go for a decent cycle, a few beers or a match
Wouldn't thank you for a spa day, but there's a place in Stewartstown (Tyrone) doing wine tasting experiences, much more up my street  ;D