The Horse racing thread

Started by maddog, December 19, 2006, 03:02:32 PM

Insane Bolt

TV reports that he said he thought he was being redirected past the fence😩

Quote from: Insane Bolt on April 25, 2018, 07:40:48 AM
Clearly he decided to skip the fence. The question is what made him suddenly think that? Was it lads on the side of the course shouting, was it another jockey shouting, was it the small red flag on the fence (which is always there apparently) or was it something that just popped into his head?

Quote from: Hound on April 25, 2018, 07:49:17 AM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on April 25, 2018, 07:40:48 AM
Clearly he decided to skip the fence. The question is what made him suddenly think that? Was it lads on the side of the course shouting, was it another jockey shouting, was it the small red flag on the fence (which is always there apparently) or was it something that just popped into his head?

If you watch the replay he he glances over his shoulder and it looks like the 2 horses behind him are veering to the right so perhaps he thought they were going around it as well

Avondhu star

Quote from: Therealdonald on April 24, 2018, 09:57:53 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 24, 2018, 09:41:00 PM
Second race situation becoming very prevalent. Mullinsfavourite 11/10 beaten 20 lengthy Mullins outsider. Other race Mullins and Elliott had six runners each. Both great trainers but puntersbeing turned off

There was a difference in 500 in attendance which can be attributed to the weather. Unless you've another stat to back up the fact that punters are being turned off? Everyone goes to see a horse win, whether it was a 20/1 outsider or not, maybe Draconien just had his day today. What a load of dung about trainers, Dublin are dominating GAA, is the All Ireland Final attendance down???
Punchestown will always get the crowd. Go to the meetings in Roscommon  Wexford and see what turns up and the age profile.
A situation where two thirds of horses in a race come from just two stables is a bad reflection on the industry
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

Orchard park

Second race situation becoming very prevalent. Mullinsfavourite 11/10 beaten 20 lengthy Mullins outsider. Other race Mullins and Elliott had six runners each. Both great trainers but puntersbeing turned off

There was a difference in 500 in attendance which can be attributed to the weather. Unless you've another stat to back up the fact that punters are being turned off? Everyone goes to see a horse win, whether it was a 20/1 outsider or not, maybe Draconien just had his day today. What a load of dung about trainers, Dublin are dominating GAA, is the All Ireland Final attendance down???

the load of dung is from you............

how many high profile trainers have retired in recent years. The industry is at the behest of a mercenary capitalist airline owner and a international currency dealer now......... if you think 2 trainers dominating the sport is healthy you are living in cloud cuckoo land. Go to a normal meeting and see whats happening, the ring is dead, 50 is young, no bookies, there are more attending point to point meetings than some race meetings nowadays

Avondhu star

Quote from: Orchard park on April 25, 2018, 12:37:18 PM

how many high profile trainers have retired in recent years. The industry is at the behest of a mercenary capitalist airline owner and a international currency dealer now......... if you think 2 trainers dominating the sport is healthy you are living in cloud cuckoo land. Go to a normal meeting and see whats happening, the ring is dead, 50 is young, no bookies, there are more attending point to point meetings than some race meetings nowadays

Spot on. I don't know if racing is attractive to young people anymore. Leopardstown is pushing the Bulmer Summer evening meetings which gets a young enough crowd but then they spend more time drinking than watching the horses

Therealdonald

Quote from: Avondhu star on April 25, 2018, 01:25:42 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on April 25, 2018, 12:37:18 PM

Spot on. I don't know if racing is attractive to young people anymore. Leopardstown is pushing the Bulmer Summer evening meetings which gets a young enough crowd but then they spend more time drinking than watching the horses

Boys quit complaining, they were saying the same thing in England 10 years ago Nicholls and look where he's at now. Do you go to watch the racing or do the owners annoy you? Formula 1 was dominated by McClaren and Ferrari for years? Did it lose numbers? It is attractive to young people, look at the numbers for Cheltenham, Aintree, Fairyhouse. Don't use smaller meetings as a barometer for interest. Will we judge this years interest in the GAA on the FBD or McKenna Cup attendances.

Some men just want to see the world burn.

Orchard park

Nicholls never dominated like the current monopoly.

He went back to the pack because of a number of reasons not least his own ignorance, his inability not to shag most women in the yard,  and a group of obnoxious owners  like Clive smith.

NH Racing has never been dominated by so few to the exclusion of so many. check out the Irish national for gigginstown, elliott and Mullins as example

I made a good living for many years in the game and its on it's on its f**king knees now whether you accept it or not

You seem the sort to say f**k the club it's all about Sam in September

Therealdonald

Quote from: Orchard park on April 25, 2018, 08:08:00 PM
Nicholls never dominated like the current monopoly.

He went back to the pack because of a number of reasons not least his own ignorance, his inability not to shag most women in the yard,  and a group of obnoxious owners  like Clive smith.

NH Racing has never been dominated by so few to the exclusion of so many. check out the Irish national for gigginstown, elliott and Mullins as example

I made a good living for many years in the game and its on it's on its f**king knees now whether you accept it or not

You seem the sort to say f**k the club it's all about Sam in September

Let me tell you Orchard that I can safely say that during the last 15 years or more I've done as much for the club as any other volunteer...even though it has no relevance to the argument.

Nicholls dominated both the QM and the GC for a period of 3 years, not forgetting farming the World Hurdle.

Just to clarify, you don't like O'Leary, or Rich Ricci or McManus or Clive Smith? Have you a chip on your shoulder about successful owners?

I'm going to use Samcro as an example-  did Gigginstown breed, break in etc him? Or was he bred, bought and reared somewhere else? If you want to compete with the big boys then don't sell your star stock to them. Its simple.

Instead of moaning and crying, why not embrace the success that is happening at the moment. Messrs Elliot, Mullins and O'Brien's success should be lauded instead of this nonsense about killing the game.

Orchard park

No Chip on my shoulder  at all.....  Ricci is a really good card as his his racing  brains Joe Chambers , I know JP since cheltenham 1978 and to his credit he is keeping a lot of small stables afloat,  gentleman to the tips of his goes but owning 10% of the nh horses  in the country isnt healthy no matter how altruistic he is. Eddie o'leary is a stereotypical clongowes lad spending family money and Clive Smith is history

But  winning champion chases and gold cups in  the golden years for Nicholls doesn't equate to the lobsided nature of runners in  the Irish grand national....look at the stayers hurdle in punchestown 5 mullins runners

Have a look at the trainers championship prize money table
The top 2 have won more than the next 18 combined.....

A good friend trained the winner of the mares bumper in aintree, the owner is his stable lad , he turned down a fortune for her from all the main Irish dominates and thankfully his balls / stupidity was rewarded. To me it was a much more enjoyable spectacle and much more important to the long term  future of irish nh racing than Ryanair winning a grand national and standing a drink to the plane load for free advertising .

Ps the breeder of samcro is a multimillionaire already Douglas Taylor who didn't need to sell but everything has a price......

I despair that anyone thinks the industry is healthy . It is for max 4 weeks a year but try standing any other week in the ring and you are at a wake....

Avondhu star

It is not healthy. Small trainers can only  hope they pick up prospect on the point to point scene and sell on. Charlie Swan gave up the training as well as lesser known names. Hard to see where the next Tom Foley and Danoli story will come from

Orchard park

today Willie has 30 runners and Gordon has 15 runners........... 45 out of a total of 127 runners over 1/3

in any other business and this is a business as much as a sport that would be monopolies commission territory............. It has never before been so lobsided in the history of the sport even when Tom Dreaper and Vincent O'Brien were at their peaks. Tom Dreaper i would venture never had more than 30 horses in his yard total but less able to run that amount in a single day.

but there is nothing wrong, the holly drinkers will show up today and this week and everyone smiles til galway

Mickey Linden

ardchieftain

Can't see Samcro beating Melon over 2 miles.

Footpad has now become my favourite horse in training, enjoyed watching that today.

SHEEDY

Great to see faugheen back in the winners enclosure, footpad won with ease, 2 great horses.
nil satis nisi optimum