GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: highorlow on July 16, 2017, 07:15:11 PM

Title: We need to talk about Stephen Cluxton
Post by: highorlow on July 16, 2017, 07:15:11 PM
Made history today and will again the next day.

Changed the modern game and Dublin football.
Title: Re: We need to talk about Stephen Cluxton
Post by: macdanger2 on July 16, 2017, 10:54:27 PM
Class player. I've always wondered why more teams don't try to get at him though, say Donaghy or someone piling in on top of him and clattering him to get under his skin.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 17, 2017, 07:27:59 AM
Thankfully a decent thread about the Dubs. I'm sick of people complaining about the advantages they have. The same ones were always there. However, you have to hand it to Cluxton a super player. It will be interesting to see how Dublin will fare when he goes. Even now when he has wobbled, not often to be honest, the other teams seem to come closer.
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2017, 07:54:23 AM
In 20 or 30 years' time when the Dubs are surfing another one of their waves of mediocrity,  Cluxton will be remembered as one of the main men of this current great team. Will there be a Bernard Brogan the third? BB III.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 17, 2017, 08:14:01 AM
great player

I'm still waiting for a team to properly push up on his kickouts
Post by: valeman on July 17, 2017, 12:36:20 PM
Wonderful player. Totally revolutionised the position of goalkeeper, and in turn made the position an integral part of any good teams game plan.
Post by: Syferus on July 17, 2017, 12:38:15 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 17, 2017, 07:27:59 AM
Thankfully a decent thread about the Dubs. I'm sick of people complaining about the advantages they have. The same ones were always there. However, you have to hand it to Cluxton a super player. It will be interesting to see how Dublin will fare when he goes. Even now when he has wobbled, not often to be honest, the other teams seem to come closer.

They were getting millions more in grant money and sponsorships back in the 70s?

???
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2017, 01:16:18 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 17, 2017, 07:27:59 AM
As I said recently Farr, the Dubs are not to blame for the lucky position they find themselves in.
If Stephen Rochford had Jim Gavin's resources, do you think he wouldn't do the same?
Dublin GAA played no part in enticing thousands of people to gravitate towards the Greater Dublin Region, nor is he responsible for the widespread and most worrying phenomenon of rural depopulation.
Of course, for the long term benefit of the game, Dublin must be subdivided but there is very little to be gained from all other counties moaning about Dublin's superiority in every conceivable way over the chasing pack.
Has Mayo made any move to summit a development plan to HQ? I doubt it and if a progressive county like ours hasn't already done so, there's feck all chance that any other did either.'
Counties are going to have to face the inevitability of amalgamation.
Shag  History and Tradition, smoke screens for inertia.
What made sense in 1884 bears feck all relevance to the Ireland of today.
All that said, unless there are monstrumental changes, the rest of Ireland will go the way of Leinster and we can't blame Dublin for that.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 17, 2017, 01:33:54 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2017, 01:16:18 PM

I would hope by the time that inevitability rears its head, that the turkeys would feel compelled to vote against Christmas and go with a tiered Championship.
Post by: Taylor on July 17, 2017, 02:09:02 PM
Fantastic player.

It seems every Dublin player can be replaced or has competition for their place bar Cluxton.

Dubs looked vulnerable when he didnt play a few games earlier in the year
Post by: Syferus on July 17, 2017, 02:21:11 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on July 17, 2017, 01:33:54 PM

I would hope by the time that inevitability rears its head, that the turkeys would feel compelled to vote against Christmas and go with a tiered Championship.

Amalgamations would be preferable to creating ghettos where none exsisted before.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2017, 02:26:21 PM
I think by about 2025 when Dublin have won 19 out of the last 20 Leinsters something will have to be done.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 17, 2017, 03:07:49 PM
Is this a Stephen Cluxton thread? Was he manufactured in a secret lab in DCU or something?!
He has totally changed the game with his ability to restart the game so quickly and accurately. He can take two steps back and ping it 45 yards. That is his kick-outs alone which is now deemed the most important part of the intercounty keeper's game.
On top of that he then started taking long range frees and now that is the norm, even for club keepers to give it a go.
Then he rarely gets his angles wrong and is a good shot stopper. He also rarely fails to clear a ball in on top of him. He has to be the best in history.
Post by: westbound on July 17, 2017, 03:15:09 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 17, 2017, 03:07:49 PM
Is this a Stephen Cluxton thread? Was he manufactured in a secret lab in DCU or something?!
He has totally changed the game with his ability to restart the game so quickly and accurately. He can take two steps back and ping it 45 yards. That is his kick-outs alone which is now deemed the most important part of the intercounty keeper's game.
On top of that he then started taking long range frees and now that is the norm, even for club keepers to give it a go.
Then he rarely gets his angles wrong and is a good shot stopper. He also rarely fails to clear a ball in on top of him. He has to be the best in history.

Cluxton is top class, no doubt about that. Best in history? - probably.

But he wasn't the first keeper to come up taking frees. (He was the first keeper to kick the winning point in the all Ireland final in fairness!)

Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2017, 03:16:14 PM
He is the greatest keeper of all time at the moment, nobody can argue with what he has done to increase the standard of the game. Plenty are closing the gap to him though. Not much else to be said on the matter.
Post by: Syferus on July 17, 2017, 03:17:36 PM
Cluxton was far from the first to vary kick-outs either, despite what the frothing media machine would have you believe.

Also he is only a good, not great, shot stopper. Can get flustered if something goes wrong and then goes into full melt-down mode.
Post by: Hound on July 17, 2017, 03:21:25 PM
Problem is the rest of Leinster went to absolute shite for nearly a decade to exacerbate the gap that came with a Dublin team even better than the 70s lads. But we've never been too far ahead of Mayo and Kerry. Ironically, the one year I did think we were miles better than everyone else, Donegal didnt get the memo and kicked our asses. At that time if we'd gone 5 or 6 points up on any team in Leinster, they would have thrown the towel in.  So it was good to see Kildare not give up yesterday after the bad start. If Kildare and Meath aim to be as good as Mayo and Tyrone and Donegal, that's acheiveable and with that will come competitieness against the Dubs. We can only have 15 on the field at any one time.

Dublin v Tyrone semi final looks odds on this year, that'll be very interesting. I was glad not to have to play them the last 2 years. They are capable of making us run into cul-de-sacs and force us into Plans B and C which may us look a lot less comfortable. They're not always reliable enough at getting scores, but if they have a good day in front of the posts they'll take all the beating.

Also the workrate of Leinster teams doesn't match Tyrone, Donegal, Dublin, Mayo.

As Lar pointed out above, a big factor is population increase, increasing our pick. If a proper decentralisation policy had been brought in 20 years ago, maybe Con O'Callaghan would have been a Westmeath man. And he wouldn't have been any less talented. Maybe would have been more so as he may not have spent 50% of his GAA time with a hurl in his hand.

13 Leinsters for Cluxton. For me, he's the best Dublin player of all time. The best GAA keeper of all time. Not perfect, but nobody is. And like in any team sport, he relies on his teammates to make him look good too.
Post by: dublin7 on July 17, 2017, 03:24:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 17, 2017, 03:17:36 PM
Cluxton was far from the first to vary kick-outs either, despite what the frothing media machine would have you believe.

Also he is only a good, not great, shot stopper. Can get flustered if something goes wrong and then goes into full melt-down mode.

Cluxton started the trend in the early noughties with Shane Ryan a regular target. The cheer that goes up when a Cluxton kick out goes over the sideline shows how good he is. He can occasionaly get flustered (Kerry semi final last year) but in the 2nd half he was picking out Dublin players as if the 1st half never happened.

If you speak to any of the dublin players or read John Leonard (former sub keeper's) book they will tell you how hard he works on his game.

But I suppose Syf it's down to money as usual. ::)
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on July 17, 2017, 03:49:35 PM
He will be remembered as one of the greats, without a doubt. Quiet, unassuming etc etc. Had to overcome early-career f**k-ups too, but put them behind him to lead his team to numerous titles.

John O'Leary was the best keeper I saw live, but Cluxton has surpassed his now.
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 17, 2017, 04:42:05 PM
If I remember correctly, on his debut in 2001, Longford scored a goal direct from a 20 yard free. I remember thinking he won't be much good 8)
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2017, 04:50:35 PM
What was so good about John O'Leary? I remember him being there forever but I don't recall any greatness.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 18, 2017, 09:11:24 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 17, 2017, 02:21:11 PM

Amalgamations would be preferable to creating ghettos where none exsisted before.

A matter of opinion. My opinion would be that those under the threat of amalgamation would prefer to retain their very existence and play in a lesser, more competitive environment.
Post by: Syferus on July 18, 2017, 09:27:32 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on July 18, 2017, 09:11:24 AM

A matter of opinion. My opinion would be that those under the threat of amalgamation would prefer to retain their very existence and play in a lesser, more competitive environment.

Sam or bust. This sport is not hurling.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 18, 2017, 11:34:19 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 18, 2017, 09:27:32 AM

For once can you not just stick to the topic  - it's no wonder that there are so few Dublin contributors to this forum.
Post by: Syferus on July 18, 2017, 02:00:14 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 18, 2017, 11:34:19 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 18, 2017, 09:27:32 AM

For once can you not just stick to the topic  - it's no wonder that there are so few Dublin contributors to this forum.

Yeah, they prefer the echo chamber on RD. I doubt many here are too upset about that.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 18, 2017, 09:43:53 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2017, 04:50:35 PM
What was so good about John O'Leary? I remember him being there forever but I don't recall any greatness.

He did win 5 All-Star awards.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 19, 2017, 08:20:50 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 18, 2017, 09:43:53 PM

Yeah exactly the same as Cluxton, also won 8 Leinsters, 2 all Irelands and 3 leagues, but that doesn't matter to people who hate all things Dublin and can never give credit. O Leary was one the best.

Dublin have had 4 championship keepers since 74, Cluxton, O Leary and Cullen and a bonus point for the odd one out?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 19, 2017, 08:27:41 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on July 19, 2017, 08:20:50 AM

Yeah exactly the same as Cluxton, also won 8 Leinsters, 2 all Irelands and 3 leagues, but that doesn't matter to people who hate all things Dublin and can never give credit. O Leary was one the best.

Dublin have had 4 championship keepers since 74, Cluxton, O Leary and Cullen and a bonus point for the odd one out?

Byrne?
Post by: TheGreatest on July 19, 2017, 08:53:49 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 19, 2017, 08:27:41 AM

Byrne?

Gold star.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 19, 2017, 08:59:58 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on July 19, 2017, 08:53:49 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 19, 2017, 08:27:41 AM

Byrne?

Gold star.

Post by: Gael85 on July 19, 2017, 11:16:47 AM

Mick Kennedy played a couple championship games in goal and Brian Murphy played against Armagh 03 and Westmeath 04 when Cluxton was sent off.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 19, 2017, 12:23:03 PM
It's hilarious that Borgan hails Cluxton for being emotionless.

Was he emotionless when he had a meltdown against Kerry last year and chucked 2 goals away in a minute or two?

Was he emotionless when he had a meltdown in the closing stages of the drawn semi with Mayo in 2015?

Was he emotionless when he got himself sent off in a incident with Paddy McKeever in a Championship game with Armagh and Dublin exited?

Was he emotionless when he got himself sent off against Mayo for kicking out at Kevin McLoughlin in a league game.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 19, 2017, 01:30:45 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 19, 2017, 12:23:03 PM

Was he emotionless when he had a meltdown against Kerry last year and chucked 2 goals away in a minute or two?

Was he emotionless when he had a meltdown in the closing stages of the drawn semi with Mayo in 2015?

Was he emotionless when he got himself sent off in a incident with Paddy McKeever in a Championship game with Armagh and Dublin exited?

Was he emotionless when he got himself sent off against Mayo for kicking out at Kevin McLoughlin in a league game.

So we can demonstrate that Stephen is human. But he is also the most influential goalkeeper that I have ever seen.
Post by: Syferus on July 19, 2017, 01:38:27 PM
Backed by the most expensively assembled group of players the GAA has ever seen..
Post by: TheGreatest on July 19, 2017, 01:41:27 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 19, 2017, 01:38:27 PM
Backed by the most expensively assembled group of players the GAA has ever seen..

Good one. Original

Cluxton not only the best keeper of all time, possibly the greatest player of all time. Hopefully does the business this year and then retires.

Post by: dublin7 on July 19, 2017, 06:31:44 PM

It shows how good he is that you have to back to an incident which was nearly a decade ago!!!

In the 2nd half of the Kerry game Cluxton was brilliant and picked out Dublin players with ease. No one said he was perfect. Everyone makes mistakes occasionally. How many times was Tomas O'Se sent off for Kerry for example, but he can be considered one of the greats I feel sorry for you that your bitterness doesn't allow you to accept how good he is.
Post by: Syferus on July 19, 2017, 06:48:15 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 19, 2017, 06:31:44 PM

It shows how good he is that you have to back to an incident which was nearly a decade ago!!!

In the 2nd half of the Kerry game Cluxton was brilliant and picked out Dublin players with ease. No one said he was perfect. Everyone makes mistakes occasionally. How many times was Tomas O'Se sent off for Kerry for example, but he can be considered one of the greats I feel sorry for you that your bitterness doesn't allow you to accept how good he is.

Everyone accepts Dublin is good, great even. The reason why they are is what troubles anyone with love for the sport.
Post by: dublin7 on July 19, 2017, 07:13:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 19, 2017, 06:48:15 PM

Everyone accepts Dublin is good, great even. The reason why they are is what troubles anyone with love for the sport.

This thread is about Stephen Cluxton as a player and his consistency over the last 15 years (not the Dublin team)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 19, 2017, 07:16:30 PM
O'leary was a very good keeper; am suprised people questioning how good he was! Goalkeepers roles have changed alot past 10yrs! I always though the best of the ole keepers was Martin Furlong Offaly
Post by: Syferus on July 19, 2017, 07:53:08 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 19, 2017, 07:13:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 19, 2017, 06:48:15 PM

This thread is about Stephen Cluxton as a player and his consistency over the last 15 years (not the Dublin team)

Show me a keeper who can be great without a good team around him and I'll show you a liar. Of all the positions on the field it is the one that needs the most co-operation from other lines.

Who Cluxton has played with and the system of money doping he has benefited from will forever be linked with his success. No amount of platitudes will ever change that simple fact.

My only hope is we will look back on the madness of the current era in ten or twenty years time with a sense of what-fùck-were-they-thinking and that the great imbalance will not be allowed to continue.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 19, 2017, 09:10:51 PM

No, I'm referencing key moments where Cluxton was not the emotionless guy Brogan portrays him as.

2 of them happened in the last two seasons in the 5 or 6 serious games Dublin played in that time.
Post by: dublin7 on July 20, 2017, 02:51:38 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 19, 2017, 09:10:51 PM

No, I'm referencing key moments where Cluxton was not the emotionless guy Brogan portrays him as.

2 of them happened in the last two seasons in the 5 or 6 serious games Dublin played in that time.

You forget/chose to ignore the fact he regained his composure in the Kerry game. He's not a robot!!!
Post by: tonto1888 on July 20, 2017, 08:19:58 AM

I also think Brogan was referring to the Morgan incident and you don't see Cluxton get involved in that type of thing
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 20, 2017, 08:52:50 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 20, 2017, 08:19:58 AM

I also think Brogan was referring to the Morgan incident and you don't see Cluxton get involved in that type of thing

He said Brogan doesn't get involved in things like that as he is emotionless.

That's utterly false as he is very easy to rattle. Brogan must have a short memory.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 20, 2017, 09:20:44 AM
Have opponents ever gameplanned for a goalkeeper prior to Cluxton? I doubt it. He has revolutionised the position. At times he has been human but he has had a wonderful career of consistently high performance. His importance to Dublin shouldn't be underestimated. The two goals Donegal got in 2012 against them felt like 5 because there was almost an aura building up at the time that this man couldn't be beaten.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 21, 2017, 11:20:48 AM
Steven McDonnell has defended Niall Morgan after the Tyrone goalkeeper appeared to goad Down's Darragh O'Hanlon after he missed a goal chance during the first half of last Sunday's Ulster SFC final.

Former Dublin star Alan Brogan led the criticism of Morgan, claiming in a newspaper column that "that sort of behaviour is not what you see from Stephen Cluxton", but McDonnell feels too much has been made of the incident.

The ex-Armagh attacker told the Irish News: "It's an Ulster final where there's a lot at stake. It's a heat of the moment thing, a reaction that happens. It happens out the field all the time during matches, so I wouldn't be too concerned or worried about it if I was Niall Morgan.

"It's something that happens in football. It's here to stay for a while. I'd love to see it eradicated from the game and it's difficult for measures to stamp it out of the game."

McDonnell took issue with Brogan's assertion that Stephen Cluxton wouldn't engage in such behaviour.

"I've seen Stephen Cluxton react the way in games. I remember he punched Jason McAteer in a charity match when he wasn't getting it all his own way.

"He got sent off for striking out at me in 2003. Cluxton is no angel," he added.
Post by: dublin7 on July 21, 2017, 01:25:56 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 21, 2017, 11:20:48 AM
Steven McDonnell has defended Niall Morgan after the Tyrone goalkeeper appeared to goad Down's Darragh O'Hanlon after he missed a goal chance during the first half of last Sunday's Ulster SFC final.

Former Dublin star Alan Brogan led the criticism of Morgan, claiming in a newspaper column that "that sort of behaviour is not what you see from Stephen Cluxton", but McDonnell feels too much has been made of the incident.

The ex-Armagh attacker told the Irish News: "It's an Ulster final where there's a lot at stake. It's a heat of the moment thing, a reaction that happens. It happens out the field all the time during matches, so I wouldn't be too concerned or worried about it if I was Niall Morgan.

"It's something that happens in football. It's here to stay for a while. I'd love to see it eradicated from the game and it's difficult for measures to stamp it out of the game."

McDonnell took issue with Brogan's assertion that Stephen Cluxton wouldn't engage in such behaviour.

"I've seen Stephen Cluxton react the way in games. I remember he punched Jason McAteer in a charity match when he wasn't getting it all his own way.

"He got sent off for striking out at me in 2003. Cluxton is no angel," he added.

Ridiculous comparison to make. The incident with Stephen McConnell was 14 years ago. That Dublin team was completely different to this Dublin team. While Dublin team could certainly dish out the verbal diarrhoea back then they couldn't back it up. Also Cluxton was only starting out in his early 20s. He was crucified afterwaeds for getting sent off in that game. Even his then manager Tommy Lyons hammered him. I wish refs would clamp down on that sledging and start issuing black cards for it. No skill involved and only done to try and get the player to react and get sent off.

What Brogan pointed out is true. If that had happened against Cluxton he would have picked up the ball and looked for the quick kick out while the player was on the ground.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2017, 01:31:53 PM
(http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/article25213654.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/punch_i)
Post by: Taylor on July 21, 2017, 01:34:18 PM
So Morgan shouted in someones face at 26 years of age.
Cluxton boxed McAteer about 5 or 6 years ago. That would have left him 30 odd.

Complete bullshit Dublin 7
Post by: Fuzzman on July 21, 2017, 01:56:41 PM
The super fast quick kickout
http://gaelicstats.com/
Post by: TheGreatest on July 21, 2017, 01:58:02 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 21, 2017, 01:31:53 PM
(http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/article25213654.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/punch_i)

Great photo, deserved it.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 21, 2017, 02:17:25 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 21, 2017, 01:25:56 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 21, 2017, 11:20:48 AM

Ridiculous comparison to make. The incident with Stephen McConnell was 14 years ago. That Dublin team was completely different to this Dublin team. While Dublin team could certainly dish out the verbal diarrhoea back then they couldn't back it up. Also Cluxton was only starting out in his early 20s. He was crucified afterwaeds for getting sent off in that game. Even his then manager Tommy Lyons hammered him. I wish refs would clamp down on that sledging and start issuing black cards for it. No skill involved and only done to try and get the player to react and get sent off.

What Brogan pointed out is true. If that had happened against Cluxton he would have picked up the ball and looked for the quick kick out while the player was on the ground.

Cluxton got sent off against Mayo 2 years ago because he kicked out at Kevin McLaughlin all because he ran across him as Cluxton was getting ready to take a quick kickout.

You seem to be talking about both sides of your mouth here, a bit like Alan Brogan.
Post by: dublin7 on July 21, 2017, 02:33:19 PM
McDonnell never mentioned Kevin McLoughlin only went back to own one nearly 15 years ago. I don't know or care what happened with Jason McAteer but I doubt it was because his team was losing in a charity game.

Cluxton was rightly sent off for kicking McLoughlin. I fail to see a problem with Brogan criticising Morgan for sledging. This thread has turned ridiculous in that Cluxton who did nothing wrong is getting hammered but Morgan who had a go at the down player on the ground seems to be the victim
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 21, 2017, 02:37:37 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 21, 2017, 02:33:19 PM
McDonnell never mentioned Kevin McLoughlin only went back to own one nearly 15 years ago. I don't know or care what happened with Jason McAteer but I doubt it was because his team was losing in a charity game.

Cluxton was rightly sent off for kicking McLoughlin. I fail to see a problem with Brogan criticising Morgan for sledging. This thread has turned ridiculous in that Cluxton who did nothing wrong is getting hammered but Morgan who had a go at the down player on the ground seems to be the victim

The problem isn't Brogan criticising Morgan for sledging, the problem is putting Cluxton up on a pedestal for impeccable behaviour when it's far removed from fact.

Does Alan Brogan have selective amnesia of his former teammate?

Post by: Fuzzman on July 21, 2017, 02:44:15 PM
An Armagh man told me he was at that game and saw it from the stands.
He said McAteer had charged at Cluxton to get the ball back for a corner but Cluxton put his arms up in self defence and Jason dived.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 02:51:44 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on July 21, 2017, 01:58:02 PM

Makes me respect Cluxton a bit more to be honest ;D
Post by: TheGreatest on July 21, 2017, 03:51:37 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 02:51:44 PM

In fairness its funny, the look of satisfaction on cluxtons face.

Regarding the other comments, this is what happens when former players talk about incidents, Alan started it, McDonnell defended it, so on and so forth.

Again, we run away with ourselves sometimes and sensationalised  stuff, anything that happens now in GAA circles in sensationalised.

Bottom line of thread, Cluxton is up there as one of many great GAA players.
Post by: ONeill on July 21, 2017, 10:42:35 PM
(https://img.maximummedia.ie/sportsjoe_ie/eyJkYXRhIjoie1widXJsXCI6XCJodHRwOlxcXC9cXFwvbWVkaWEtc3BvcnRzam9lLm1heGltdW1tZWRpYS5pZS5zMy5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tXFxcL3dwLWNvbnRlbnRcXFwvdXBsb2Fkc1xcXC8yMDE2XFxcLzA4XFxcLzMxMTIzOTAwXFxcL2NsdXh0b24yLmpwZ1wiLFwid2lkdGhcIjo2NDcsXCJoZWlnaHRcIjozNDAsXCJkZWZhdWx0XCI6XCJodHRwczpcXFwvXFxcL3d3dy5zcG9ydHNqb2UuaWVcXFwvYXNzZXRzXFxcL2ltYWdlc1xcXC9zcG9ydHNqb2VcXFwvbm8taW1hZ2UucG5nP3Y9M1wifSIsImhhc2giOiI0M2QxYjk2NWEyM2Y4ZWFmYjkyZTg3MDM3NjA5NDliY2U5MzA5ZDZlIn0=/cluxton2.jpg)

He's an angel alright.
Post by: laoislad on July 21, 2017, 10:45:27 PM

Why? Because McAteer played soccer and Cluxton is a Gaa player?

Post by: Crete Boom on July 21, 2017, 10:53:05 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 21, 2017, 10:45:27 PM

Why? Because McAteer played soccer and Cluxton is a Gaa player?

No because somebody who runs their mouth all the time on a pitch regardless of what sport they play deserves the odd belt now and again!! Sports reflects life in a lot of ways!!

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 21, 2017, 10:54:18 PM
McAteer is an alright sort.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2017, 11:07:38 PM
I have to say Cluxton seems to get most things correct both on and off the field. He is not a natural people person and he shuns the camera. He just gets on with it! As goes with the high pressures of Inter-county football, he has had a few wobbles here and there. But that is life and his successes have well out weighed these/those. Opening a Topic on him is a bit of a waste of time. We know his value and just leaves the topic open to rubbish remarks (and images - I hold my hand up!!).

This is Cluxton after losing an AI semi final!

(https://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/p180/Library/SF275/219877.jpg)

Post by: rrhf on July 21, 2017, 11:38:33 PM
Was there an issue with dubs forwards sledging and pointing at the scoreboard in a game a few years ago.
Post by: ONeill on July 22, 2017, 12:24:34 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 21, 2017, 11:07:38 PM
I have to say Cluxton seems to get most things correct both on and off the field.

Do you have to say it and is that an achievement?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 09:18:05 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 22, 2017, 12:24:34 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 21, 2017, 11:07:38 PM
I have to say Cluxton seems to get most things correct both on and off the field.

Do you have to say it and is that an achievement?

Cluxton seems to get most things correct both on and off the field - Happy?
Post by: Gael85 on June 04, 2019, 07:45:01 PM
Stephen Cluxton will make history on Sunday and play 100th Championship game.
Post by: TheGreatest on June 05, 2019, 12:28:57 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on June 04, 2019, 07:45:01 PM

No point mentioning it, hes not rated by many on here.

To me, probably the greatest keeper and one of the great GAA players of all time in overall terms, ability, leadership, longevity, game smarts and silverware.
Post by: johnnycool on June 05, 2019, 01:11:21 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on June 05, 2019, 12:28:57 PM

No point mentioning it, hes not rated by many on here.

To me, probably the greatest keeper and one of the great GAA players of all time in overall terms, ability, leadership, longevity, game smarts and silverware.

Not a dub but he's some spud for this alone;

(https://cdn-04.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/article25213654.ece/f8647/AUTOCROP/w375/punch_i)
Post by: macdanger2 on June 06, 2019, 09:44:42 PM

Legend of the game tbf, hard to believe he doesn't have a FOTY award although I'm sure his 7 (?) all Irelands are a consolation to him
Post by: rrhf on June 06, 2019, 09:57:01 PM
If it's true that he's retiring after the 5-in-a-row then a number of things need acknowledged. The greatest keeper of all time and the man who lead a leaderless Dublin team to 7 all Ireland's.. 
Post by: rrhf on June 06, 2019, 09:59:06 PM
Quote from: rrhf on June 06, 2019, 09:57:01 PM
If it's true that he's retiring after the 5-in-a-row then a number of things need acknowledged. The greatest keeper of all time and the man who lead a leaderless Dublin team to 7 all Ireland's..
i think not only is he the greatest Dublin goalkeeper of all time, I think he is the greatest Dublin footballer of all time..
Post by: imtommygunn on June 06, 2019, 10:02:12 PM
He's changed the face of the game with his kick outs and the realisation by teams of how influential a good kick out strategy can be.

Two most influential players in that regard this century imo him and Dooher.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 06, 2019, 10:14:21 PM
Hard to believe its 2013 since his last All star.
Post by: weareros on June 07, 2019, 12:01:40 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 06, 2019, 10:14:21 PM
Hard to believe its 2013 since his last All star.

Are they picked by Irish GAA journalists? If so, then not hard to believe. A more vacuous lot you could not come across.
Post by: Gael85 on May 27, 2020, 03:01:40 PM
This day 19 years ago the great Stephen Cluxton made his Dublin debut in Leinster championship against Longford in Croke Park in 2001. Stephen has made a record breaking 106 championship appearances. He has also played a further 104 league games making league debut against Donegal in February 02.

Stephen Cluxtons honours
7 All Irelands(Captain for 6 AI titles)
5 National Leagues
15 Leinsters
1 Leinster minor
1 Leinster u21
1 Sigerson Cup
Footballer of the Year
6 All Stars
106 championship appearances
48 championship points
60 championship clean sheets
Captain Ireland in International Rules
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 28, 2020, 10:42:05 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on May 27, 2020, 03:01:40 PM
This day 19 years ago the great Stephen Cluxton made his Dublin debut in Leinster championship against Longford in Croke Park in 2001. Stephen has made a record breaking 106 championship appearances. He has also played a further 104 league games making league debut against Donegal in February 02.

Stephen Cluxtons honours
5 National Leagues
15 Leinsters
1 Leinster minor
1 Leinster u21
1 Sigerson Cup
Footballer of the Year
6 All Stars
48 championship points

Would 15 provincial titles be a record? A combination of longevity and dominance.
Post by: Gael85 on May 29, 2020, 12:24:54 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on May 28, 2020, 10:42:05 PM

Stephen Cluxtons honours
5 National Leagues
15 Leinsters
1 Leinster minor
1 Leinster u21
1 Sigerson Cup
Footballer of the Year
6 All Stars
48 championship points

Would 15 provincial titles be a record? A combination of longevity and dominance.

I'd say 15 is record for football.  Dan O'Keefe from Kerry has 13 titles. Not sure what record is for hurling
Post by: sid waddell on May 29, 2020, 01:11:28 AM
Cluxton looks like he's going to struggle to ever win a Leinster title in a year ending in 0.

It's something that has consistently eluded Dublin greats, with 1920 being the sole provincial winning team from the county in such years.

It's unlucky for Dubs when the year ends in 0.

Post by: imtommygunn on May 29, 2020, 07:08:51 AM
More championship games than league games is a surprising stat.
Post by: Gael85 on June 03, 2020, 09:42:04 PM
He only missed 7 championship games since debut. Dropped in 01 when Davy Byrne was fit for Meath, Sligo, Kerry ×2 games. Suspended for Westmeath 04, injured for 2018 Leinster final v Laois and rested in Super 8 clash v Tyrone last year.  He rotated with Brian Murphy, Paul Copeland and Mick Savage in his early league days.  Shane Supple only got a couple league games. Evan Comerford has played a good bit over last 3 years in league.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on June 03, 2020, 10:07:26 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on June 03, 2020, 09:42:04 PM
He only missed 7 championship games since debut. Dropped in 01 when Davy Byrne was fit for Meath, Sligo, Kerry ×2 games. Suspended for Westmeath 04, injured for 2018 Leinster final v Laois and rested in Super 8 clash v Tyrone last year.  He rotated with Brian Murphy, Paul Copeland and Mick Savage in his early league days.  Shane Supple only got a couple league games. Evan Comerford has played a good bit over last 3 years in league.

Yeah, it seems like Dublin have used the league more to keep the backup keeper interested rather than Clucko needing a rest
Post by: haranguerer on June 03, 2020, 10:47:20 PM
Definitely at the top table when it comes to the best to ever play the game.
Post by: Maiden1 on June 03, 2020, 11:14:45 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on May 29, 2020, 12:24:54 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on May 28, 2020, 10:42:05 PM

Stephen Cluxtons honours
5 National Leagues
15 Leinsters
1 Leinster minor
1 Leinster u21
1 Sigerson Cup
Footballer of the Year
6 All Stars
48 championship points

I'd say 15 is record for football.  Dan O'Keefe from Kerry has 13 titles. Not sure what record is for hurling
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hughie_O%27Reilly

Not sure how accurate. At least some of the ulster titles where as manager.

Edit: I guess if he made the 1923 team when was 19 he could still be playing in 1945 at 41. Which would be 19 titles.
Post by: Gael85 on June 04, 2020, 06:59:55 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on June 03, 2020, 10:07:26 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on June 03, 2020, 09:42:04 PM

Yeah, it seems like Dublin have used the league more to keep the backup keeper interested rather than Clucko needing a rest

Have started to use Comerford more in recent years to build up his experience and hopefully will be long term replacement for Cluxton.