Tyrone County Football and Hurling

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, April 01, 2007, 05:58:31 PM

easty88

Our noisy neighbours looked impressive in Croke Park at the weekend. I was impressed. They seem to have their house in order the past 4/5 years and now have eyes firmly fixed on the big prize. Can we make any impact on Ulster and the Sam Maguire challenge this year? I think we still could have a say!
Tyrone Abu!

thebigfullforward

Quote from: easty88 on April 05, 2024, 01:22:34 PMOur noisy neighbours looked impressive in Croke Park at the weekend. I was impressed. They seem to have their house in order the past 4/5 years and now have eyes firmly fixed on the big prize. Can we make any impact on Ulster and the Sam Maguire challenge this year? I think we still could have a say!
Dont think we have the athleticism or squad depth to match the top 3. Derry and Dublin have the squad depth, footballing abiltiy and athleticism required and any team that has David and Paudie Clifford in it will always be in up there in contention. Those 3 teams are just ahead of everyone else at the momement

An Watcher

Derry and squad depth don't go together.  They didn't have it last year and I know MH has tried to rectify it this year but let's see how they cope with an injury to one of their big midfielders or mcguigan.  Not convinced at the moment

Truthsayer

That quiz question: who was first player to score for Tyrone in Croke Park: Ans: Tom Sullivan, a point, in 1947 All Ireland minor final (semi-final was in Dundalk).
Was also Tyrone's first All Ireland title: beat Mayo 4-4 to 4-3.
Tom from Coalisland passed away this morning. He was 93 or so.
Tom Sullivan RIP 🙏

Sorry to hear that. Tom was Coalisland for a long time.

Great stat.

Club Tyrone annual members' night next Thursday 18th at Garvaghey.

We have a good panel lined up for a chat, including a Derry man!

Jim Bob

Quote from: Rois on April 09, 2024, 01:00:54 PMClub Tyrone annual members' night next Thursday 18th at Garvaghey.

I bet ye Peter Canavan will be on that panel

Derryman forever

Quote from: Rois on April 09, 2024, 01:00:54 PMClub Tyrone annual members' night next Thursday 18th at Garvaghey.

I haven't been invited.

Quote from: Jim Bob on April 09, 2024, 06:48:56 PM

Nope

Jim Bob

Quote from: Rois on April 09, 2024, 08:03:06 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on April 09, 2024, 06:48:56 PM

Nope

He ll not like that or maybe he's across the road getting the grub ready for the Club Tyronners

easty88

Nipped over to the island tonight to watch the U20s play. Monaghan had a weakened team on but still I thought Tyrone were excellent on a tough night conditions wise. Be nice to see this team go all the way. I think they can!
Tyrone Abu!

Goals_Will_Come

Quote from: easty88 on April 10, 2024, 10:23:58 PMNipped over to the island tonight to watch the U20s play. Monaghan had a weakened team on but still I thought Tyrone were excellent on a tough night conditions wise. Be nice to see this team go all the way. I think they can!
Monaghan played the second string tonight as they had nothing to play for. Couldn't get top spot and had their Quarter Final berth secured.
Tyrone still impressive in awful conditions. Defence very much on top and littered with outstanding talents and Callum Daly anchors the whole thing really well. Tyrone's squad men definetly put their hands up for selection going forward. Some wealth of options in having Ruairi McCullagh and Noah Grimes putting pressure on that starting forward line.

NotedObserver

Daly a class act and the half back line would be fairly strong as well with all impressing tonight. Ohare electric pace which is hard to handle at any level

easty88

Yeah. The Omagh CBS lads look very impressive. Savvy move of Paul to bring McNulty in there with his knowledge of those players. This same team should've walked the all-Ireland at minor level and would be nice for them to put that right. Derry look like main threat in Ulster to me.
Tyrone Abu!

Dark_Arts_Master

Quote from: NotedObserver on April 10, 2024, 10:40:34 PMDaly a class act and the half back line would be fairly strong as well with all impressing tonight. Ohare electric pace which is hard to handle at any level

Brolly & O'Hare always willing runners on the wing. Rafferty quality through the centre. Gormley will be a major loss if injury keeps himon the sidelines going into the knockout rounds. MCCullagh McCann & Grimes off the bench are quality assets to have