GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: TheGreatest on February 20, 2019, 09:28:40 AM

Title: Limerick Hurling - A Billionaire's playground.
Post by: TheGreatest on February 20, 2019, 09:28:40 AM
Dublin's financial wealth is always under the spotlight and is well documented in the media and in particularly on this forum (mainly by Mayo men). Rightly or wrongly so.

However, another county has had multi million Euro investments since 2004 and the senior team running costs, in  particular the Hurling, is one of the highest in the country, and has increased considerably over the last couple of years. Limerick have increased participation rates across the county and have transformed the GAA in limerick, but would it possible without the money.

A good decent GAA man, J.P McManus has been at the forefront of the Sporting Limerick brand. Everyone remembers his generous gift to the clubs last year following Limericks All Ireland success.

However, the question is, does his and others backing of Limerick financially give them a financial edge over their rivals in preparation of their teams? Some might say yes.

He has given Millions to Limerick, and even before he started to sponsor them in 2004, he gave them a 5 million donation to ease a dept. burden.

I was talking to a work colleague, from Munster, who's says limericks All Ireland success and recent underage success is tainted, as they have the edge over other teams financially.

Myself personally, I think its great he's there and counties would only dream of such financial backing.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/mcmanus-astonishes-limerick-gaa-with-5m-gift-157000.html

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/288300/limerick-gaa-top-brass-and-sponsor-jp-mcmanus-clear-air-over-finances.html

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/board-wont-shirk-treatys-financial-needs-859427.html

https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/hurling-news/shane-dowling-blasts-stupid-comments-13605706

Title: Re: Limerick Hurling - A millionaires playground.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 20, 2019, 09:42:38 AM
Thats fine.
its not coming from GAA HQ so other teams aren't being denied
its a pity a few more wealthy individuals around the country wouldn't do the same.
I don't approve of him not being tax resident however

in fact, there should be tax incentives for donations to sporting organisations to build physical infrastructure, that would be open to any sport to use.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2019, 10:16:01 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on February 20, 2019, 09:42:38 AM
Thats fine.
its not coming from GAA HQ so other teams aren't being denied
its a pity a few more wealthy individuals around the country wouldn't do the same.
I don't approve of him not being tax resident however

in fact, there should be tax incentives for donations to sporting organisations to build physical infrastructure, that would be open to any sport to use.

Post by: armaghniac on February 20, 2019, 12:43:00 PM
Perhaps someone from Offaly or Wexford won the Euromillions and they'll throw in 10% for the hurlers!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2019, 02:42:01 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 20, 2019, 12:43:00 PM
Perhaps someone from Offaly or Wexford won the Euromillions and they'll throw in 10% for the hurlers!

Nope, in the Naul. Fecking Dublin again!
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2019, 03:21:54 PM
Winning the hurling all Ireland after years of shite is a fantastic experience

https://youtu.be/SaPNnVTRgE8

I wouldn't begrudge Limerick
They have a great tradition as well

https://youtu.be/jfFnL_o8QS0
Post by: TheGreatest on February 20, 2019, 04:01:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 20, 2019, 03:21:54 PM

That they do, great county, great tradition, but not a tradition of winning All Irelands though, only the next couple of years will tell
Post by: seafoid on February 20, 2019, 04:25:08 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on February 20, 2019, 04:01:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 20, 2019, 03:21:54 PM

I don't really care as long as the big 3 are out of the picture

That they do, great county, great tradition, but not a tradition of winning All Irelands though, only the next couple of years will tell
Post by: MoChara on February 20, 2019, 04:28:52 PM
How come there is no sponsorship logo on the Limerick jersey this year? I just noticed it at the weekend there.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2019, 04:35:53 PM
Quote from: MoChara on February 20, 2019, 04:28:52 PM
How come there is no sponsorship logo on the Limerick jersey this year? I just noticed it at the weekend there.

JP is the sponsor, and for years he put Sporting Limerick. This year he's just decided to put nothing on, like the old days.
Post by: LooseCannon on February 20, 2019, 06:45:54 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 20, 2019, 12:43:00 PM
We mightn't have billionaires, but one generous businessman, who's now retired contributed €250k+ to the Faithful Fields project development.
I'll give y'all a hint. (CONCRETE)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2019, 07:18:49 PM
Limerick got over the line. They've always had a decent hurling team with great tradition but always in the shadows of the Cats Tipp and Cork. McManus is a huge sponsor within the county and his club. South Liberties, as JP's horses run in his clubs colours. They are years behind what Dublin gets as seen from their current success and both coded playing Div1 and competing!

The money won't make Limerick better hurlers, you need more than being a gym bunny to win All Ireland's, lifting weights won't make you a better hurling, it's about the skills
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2019, 07:51:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2019, 07:18:49 PM
Limerick got over the line. They've always had a decent hurling team with great tradition but always in the shadows of the Cats Tipp and Cork. McManus is a huge sponsor within the county and his club. South Liberties, as JP's horses run in his clubs colours. They are years behind what Dublin gets as seen from their current success and both coded playing Div1 and competing!

The money won't make Limerick better hurlers, you need more than being a gym bunny to win All Ireland's, lifting weights won't make you a better hurling, it's about the skills

No but the money certainly helps the coaching setups and top quality academies. Limerick's development in hurling has been flagged up for a good few years, with a fair few bob going to lads like Anthony Daly to help out.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2019, 08:08:07 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 20, 2019, 07:51:29 PM

No but the money certainly helps the coaching setups and top quality academies. Limerick's development in hurling has been flagged up for a good few years, with a fair few bob going to lads like Anthony Daly to help out.

Yes and if the money is used correctly then they'll reap from it, currently they are standing above the rest. Wonder when the big 3 will get back?
Post by: johnnycool on February 21, 2019, 01:14:00 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 20, 2019, 07:51:29 PM

Is Daly still with the Limerick development squads?

I thought he left a few years back.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 21, 2019, 01:35:14 PM
I see Eamon O'Shea is back with the Tipperary hurling setup

plenty of money being spent there too
Post by: seafoid on February 21, 2019, 03:41:50 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on February 21, 2019, 01:35:14 PM
I see Eamon O'Shea is back with the Tipperary hurling setup

plenty of money being spent there too
Last year was a catastrophe for Tipp. They hadn't even the hay saved and they were out 
Post by: burdizzo on February 23, 2019, 12:09:52 AM
Ah now, 'twas aisy save the hay last year!
Post by: TheGreatest on March 25, 2019, 03:27:53 PM
Limerick in their first league final in 13 years.
Post by: johnnycool on April 01, 2019, 10:04:08 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on March 25, 2019, 03:27:53 PM

That was some goal scored by Guillane there yesterday from a driven ball in from defence, just flicked in totally caught the keeper off guard.
Limerick are a serious outfit with a good chance of putting two AI's together. If they can get out of Munster.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 01, 2019, 08:39:54 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 01, 2019, 10:04:08 AM

That was some goal scored by Guillane there yesterday from a driven ball in from defence, just flicked in totally caught the keeper off guard.
Limerick are a serious outfit with a good chance of putting two AI's together. If they can get out of Munster.
Yeah, I think getting out of Munster with a healthy squad will be tough
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 01, 2019, 10:14:44 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 01, 2019, 10:04:08 AM

Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2019, 12:27:27 PM

Injuries could determine who wins this year

This is quite interesting re Limerick

https://mobile.twitter.com/offtheball/status/1113932004461031425
Post by: TheGreatest on August 27, 2019, 08:52:16 AM
I wonder if a recent social media video of a player on a certain team doing something they shouldnt being doing on a night out doenst get as much traction in the media because they are not high profile enough, imagine a player from Dublin or Tyrone caught doing the same, national news, a but sure the hurlers, lovely fellas , role models etc.
Post by: johnnycool on August 27, 2019, 10:54:02 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on August 27, 2019, 08:52:16 AM
I wonder if a recent social media video of a player on a certain team doing something they shouldnt being doing on a night out doenst get as much traction in the media because they are not high profile enough, imagine a player from Dublin or Tyrone caught doing the same, natioanl news, a but sure the hurlers, lovely fellas , role models etc.

Is is appropriate to ask you to spill the beans?
Post by: TheGreatest on August 27, 2019, 12:55:30 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 27, 2019, 10:54:02 AM
I wonder if a recent social media video of a player on a certain team doing something they shouldnt being doing on a night out doenst get as much traction in the media because they are not high profile enough, imagine a player from Dublin or Tyrone caught doing the same, natioanl news, a but sure the hurlers, lovely fellas , role models etc.

I wouldnt, its floating around whatsapp, thats were i seen it, i dont want to name and shame, just making the comparison, some are lovely fellas, some are tyrants in the eyes of the media and public.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 27, 2019, 01:55:09 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on August 27, 2019, 12:55:30 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 27, 2019, 10:54:02 AM

I wouldnt, its floating around whatsapp, thats were i seen it, i dont want to name and shame, just making the comparison, some are lovely fellas, some are tyrants in the eyes of the media and public.

I take it he's an Limerick hurler.. so that narrow's it down to 30 possibly
Post by: imtommygunn on August 27, 2019, 02:15:12 PM
There are a few things of dubious source this guy has posted before if he's the same person I am thinking of...
Post by: johnnycool on August 27, 2019, 02:24:16 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 27, 2019, 02:15:12 PM
There are a few things of dubious source this guy has posted before if he's the same person I am thinking of...

Is he sitting on a barstool rubbing some young wans arm?
Post by: TheGreatest on August 27, 2019, 02:28:45 PM

Its a video i seen which is going around, im sure others have seen it.. Sin e.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 27, 2019, 10:07:19 PM
 https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0827/1071272-limericks-casey-posts-drug-test-result-to-clear-name (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0827/1071272-limericks-casey-posts-drug-test-result-to-clear-name)
Absolutely scurrilous remarks on this thread
Post by: Franko on August 27, 2019, 11:12:12 PM
I wonder if a recent social media video of a player on a certain team doing something they shouldnt being doing on a night out doenst get as much traction in the media because they are not high profile enough, imagine a player from Dublin or Tyrone caught doing the same, national news, a but sure the hurlers, lovely fellas , role models etc.

This aged well.

T**ser.
Post by: TheGreatest on August 28, 2019, 08:59:51 AM
Doesnt prove anything to me.

Anyway he seems like a nice guy so let it be.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 28, 2019, 09:03:30 AM

Who TheGreatest? Who claims James Horan got 70k from Mayo from a 'source' without backing it up with one shred of evidence?
Post by: TheGreatest on August 28, 2019, 01:18:26 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 28, 2019, 09:03:30 AM

Who TheGreatest? Who claims James Horan got 70k from Mayo from a 'source' without backing it up with one shred of evidence?

Doesnt mean its not true.
Post by: Franko on August 28, 2019, 03:14:55 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on August 28, 2019, 08:59:51 AM
Doesnt prove anything to me.

Anyway he seems like a nice guy so let it be.

Figures.  It gave the rest of us a good laugh though.  :D
Post by: imtommygunn on August 28, 2019, 03:16:20 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on August 28, 2019, 01:18:26 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 28, 2019, 09:03:30 AM

Doesnt mean its not true.

Are you in the flat earth society too?
Post by: TheGreatest on December 14, 2020, 02:56:22 PM
Bump.

They will win a lot more. How long will it take for the " discussion to happen"
Post by: Taylor on December 14, 2020, 03:03:28 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on December 14, 2020, 02:56:22 PM
Bump.

They will win a lot more. How long will it take for the " discussion to happen"

The discussion will only happen if the GAA pump millions & millions into Limerick GAA.

I would say we are safe enough
Post by: imtommygunn on December 14, 2020, 03:16:44 PM
Do they get any more than Dublin do funding wise in the hurling? (They may do - I don't know but just putting it out there).

2 out of 3 isn't a sustained period of dominance. (Though to be fair I am worried that could happen)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2020, 03:33:12 PM
Where people worried about Kilkenny's dominance?
Post by: TheGreatest on December 14, 2020, 03:42:05 PM
Personally i have no problem with sustained periods of dominance, i am biased of course.

It happens in all sports. Counties etc. Nothing lasts forever etc etc,.

My opinion this current Limerick team will go on to at least another 4 or so.
Post by: johnnycool on December 14, 2020, 03:50:01 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 14, 2020, 03:16:44 PM
Do they get any more than Dublin do funding wise in the hurling? (They may do - I don't know but just putting it out there).

2 out of 3 isn't a sustained period of dominance. (Though to be fair I am worried that could happen)

funding from Croke Park?

I'd say they get much less as there'd be nowhere near the same number of GDO's in Limerick as there would be in Dublin.

JP and their development squads and senior hurlers through Sporting Limerick probably isn't on the same plane as AIG, but probably the next best going in the GAA world.

Post by: imtommygunn on December 14, 2020, 03:52:36 PM
I wouldn't have thought so.

I don't think great teams coming along and dominating is something that is an issue. Kilkenny in their era just had a lot of great players. Sure there were periods when TJ Reid couldn't get on, allbeit he was young, but look at him now.

Post by: Ash Smoker on January 06, 2021, 11:11:02 AM
I might be wrong but I don't think Limerick will ever have the same drive or focus as the great Kilkenny team at it's peak under Cody.
In counties that aren't as used to success they are quicker to drop their standards after winning an All Ireland.
Post by: johnnycool on January 06, 2021, 01:42:27 PM
Quote from: Ash Smoker on January 06, 2021, 11:11:02 AM
I might be wrong but I don't think Limerick will ever have the same drive or focus as the great Kilkenny team at it's peak under Cody.
In counties that aren't as used to success they are quicker to drop their standards after winning an All Ireland.

A lot of these Limerick lads are now heroes with their 2 AI medals and a handful of Munster championships whilst there'd be lads in Kilkenny with that and no one would look at them twice.

The right soundings are coming from Hannon, Kiely and the lads but we'll have to wait and see if the hunger is still there for their third AI medal.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 06, 2021, 02:07:38 PM
He does remind me of Jim Gavin a bit. Very business like and follows a "process". Though to be fair he does show a bit more emotion when the win. Very shrewd operator Kiely and if anyone can keep them at it I think it's him.

Also it's not like they'll be able to go out on the rip regularly any time soon to overdo their celebrations...
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 06, 2021, 05:19:02 PM
I can't see Limerick staying on year after. top for a sustained period as there are at least a half dozen teams of roughly equal merit.
In no particular  order, Galway, Tipp, Kilkenny, Clare, Waterford or Wexford, with Dublin as a long shot, could win next year.
Post by: johnnycool on January 07, 2021, 03:08:19 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 06, 2021, 05:19:02 PM
I can't see Limerick staying on year after. top for a sustained period as there are at least a half dozen teams of roughly equal merit.
In no particular  order, Galway, Tipp, Kilkenny, Clare, Waterford or Wexford, with Dublin as a long shot, could win next year.

Nah, it's between Limerick and Galway for me with Waterford next. The rest are a bit off that standard IMO.
Post by: marty34 on January 07, 2021, 05:53:23 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 07, 2021, 03:08:19 PM

Nah, it's between Limerick and Galway for me with Waterford next. The rest are a bit off that standard IMO.

Not sure about Galway - i think they need an injection of youth and pace.  The thing is that they have loads of talent coming though - serious underage talent.

Tipp are similar to Galway - a good few lads have won a couple of All-Ireland and the squad needs a freshen up but they have 3 or 4 lads who'll come straight in also.
Post by: johnnycool on January 08, 2021, 11:15:11 AM
Quote from: marty34 on January 07, 2021, 05:53:23 PM

Not sure about Galway - i think they need an injection of youth and pace.  The thing is that they have loads of talent coming though - serious underage talent.

Tipp are similar to Galway - a good few lads have won a couple of All-Ireland and the squad needs a freshen up but they have 3 or 4 lads who'll come straight in also.

Fresh impetus is always a requirement but for my mind Galway went toe to toe with Limerick the longest and were hit with Mannions injury as he was having a big impact on their gameplan and it kinda went astray a bit when he had to leave the field. The extra weeks rest stood to Limerick, Galway had a tough slog against Tipp on a sodden Gaelic grounds the Saturday before.

With both fresh I think Galway would be best placed to give Limerick a serious rattle.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2021, 11:43:42 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 08, 2021, 11:15:11 AM

Fresh impetus is always a requirement but for my mind Galway went toe to toe with Limerick the longest and were hit with Mannions injury as he was having a big impact on their gameplan and it kinda went astray a bit when he had to leave the field. The extra weeks rest stood to Limerick, Galway had a tough slog against Tipp on a sodden Gaelic grounds the Saturday before.

With both fresh I think Galway would be best placed to give Limerick a serious rattle.

Did the goals dry up for these teams? strong defenders or they are happy enough to tag on the points and not be drawn into goals..

I know Tipp and Waterford chased the goals, I could be entirely wrong and someone will throw up a stat to show that but, just thinking back
Post by: marty34 on January 08, 2021, 12:31:26 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2021, 11:43:42 AM

Did the goals dry up for these teams? strong defenders or they are happy enough to tag on the points and not be drawn into goals..

I know Tipp and Waterford chased the goals, I could be entirely wrong and someone will throw up a stat to show that but, just thinking back

Limerick don't need goals, they'll target 30 pts a game I'd say.  If goals come, they come but they'll not force it.

When your half-forwards are hitting 10 - 12 points from play, it's hard to beat in fairness.  That's the bulk of their scoring and with Gillane hitting 5 or 6 frees and Byrnes hit a couple way back the field, they're nearly at the 20 point mark.
Post by: marty34 on January 08, 2021, 12:48:11 PM

I always though Limerick were holding Galway at arm's length - never looked like they were going to beat them.

Galway were very lucky to beat Tipp - Harte, of all people, got the goal very near the end - at the death.  Up to that, it was 50/50.  Two similar matched teams.

Probably main point from that game was the sending off of Barret.  Had he not got the second yellow, Tipp would have won I think.  There's very little between Tipp and Galway, as recent games have shown.

Limerick are a good bit ahead, especially in age profile.  They only need one or two to break onto the panel.  Look at their bench - Peter Casey, Pat Ryan and Reidy etc. Never mind the two lads in defence coming back into the full back line. Flanagan, on as a sub in recent games but stars and get full forward and keeps his place.  Serious competition for places.

Can't say the same for Galway or Tipp.  Tipp and Galway need a serious injection of youth.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2021, 04:44:24 PM
Limerick were the real deal two years ago after winning it, but hit a banana skin and were bate..

You have to be on top form (and they have been to be fair) every minute, as momentum is key, once a goal and couple of points are put in against ya its difficult enough to put the afterburners on.

The age profile and and the style they play will be hard to break down, you can make the ball as heavy as you want but they are big enough to knock it further than the rest.

Teams will have to match their intensity and fitness/physicality if they are serious, their skill level is the same as the top 5, Tipp, Galway Kilkenny, Waterford Clare all have gifted hurlers, but what they lacked this year was the speed and strength. Match that and their desire to win then you've a game.

Big push on teams this year for S&C, pushing the limits
Post by: imtommygunn on January 08, 2021, 04:59:12 PM
Galway were never beating Limerick in that game. I think they are a good bit off and aren't improving.

I would say last year 9 times out of 10 Limerick beat KK. KK just came with an intensity(they were like men possessed) Limerick just didn't expect. It was a bit like Tyrone Kerry in 03.
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2021, 05:25:36 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 08, 2021, 12:48:11 PM

I always though Limerick were holding Galway at arm's length - never looked like they were going to beat them.

Galway were very lucky to beat Tipp - Harte, of all people, got the goal very near the end - at the death.  Up to that, it was 50/50.  Two similar matched teams.

Probably main point from that game was the sending off of Barret.  Had he not got the second yellow, Tipp would have won I think.  There's very little between Tipp and Galway, as recent games have shown.

Limerick are a good bit ahead, especially in age profile.  They only need one or two to break onto the panel.  Look at their bench - Peter Casey, Pat Ryan and Reidy etc. Never mind the two lads in defence coming back into the full back line. Flanagan, on as a sub in recent games but stars and get full forward and keeps his place.  Serious competition for places.

Can't say the same for Galway or Tipp.  Tipp and Galway need a serious injection of youth.

You'd presume with galway winning 3 in a row minors 17-19 and potentially the  20202 u20 and with tipp wining the u21 in 18 and u20 in 19 the injection of youth is on its way.
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2021, 05:27:59 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 08, 2021, 05:25:36 PM

You'd presume with galway winning 3 in a row minors 17-19 and potentially the  2020 u20 and with tipp wining the u21 in 18 and u20 in 19 the injection of youth is on its way.

This rush to anoint Limerick as the new Kilkenny 06-15 might be a tad premature
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2021, 05:31:42 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 08, 2021, 04:59:12 PM
Galway were never beating Limerick in that game. I think they are a good bit off and aren't improving.

I would say last year 9 times out of 10 Limerick beat KK. KK just came with an intensity(they were like men possessed) Limerick just didn't expect. It was a bit like Tyrone Kerry in 03.

I would say that was true in that game, Limerick did look to have another gear, timing though is everything and remember the odd time when Kilkenny were bate back in the day, once against Galway and once against Wexford, a burst of goals after both teams managed to stay with the Cats.

Limericks defence is stopping those avenues, I expect a tougher challenge for Limerick this year, they ain't GAA answer to Dublin football..

They better watch out for the Saffs!!
Post by: marty34 on January 08, 2021, 05:34:07 PM

You'd presume with galway winning 3 in a row minors 17-19 and potentially the  20202 u20 and with tipp wining the u21 in 18 and u20 in 19 the injection of youth is on its way.

But it'll take these minors and U20's a couple of years to get into it right - wait and see.  It'll not be to they're 24 or 25, at least before you see them develop properly.
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2021, 06:35:38 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 08, 2021, 05:34:07 PM

But it'll take these minors and U20's a couple of years to get into it right - wait and see.  It'll not be to they're 24 or 25, at least before you see them develop properly.

Some of those lads played in 2020 championship and didn't look out of place,Evan Niland being one,I'd expect 2/3 to come in,in both counties this year and make an impact
Post by: marty34 on January 08, 2021, 07:44:19 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 08, 2021, 06:35:38 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 08, 2021, 05:34:07 PM

Some of those lads played in 2020 championship and didn't look out of place,Evan Niland being one,I'd expect 2/3 to come in,in both counties this year and make an impact

Did he play in the NHL this past couple of years?

Concannon also has been floating about this past couple of years but has made a huge impression this championship.
Post by: macker15 on March 01, 2021, 09:34:25 PM
Is Dowling due back with Na Piarasigh this year?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 01, 2021, 11:17:53 PM
Quote from: macker15 on March 01, 2021, 09:34:25 PM
Is Dowling due back with Na Piarasigh this year?

I hope so, one of my favourite hurlers club and county
Post by: imtommygunn on March 10, 2021, 06:37:08 PM
I thought he was retired completely? Bad injuries he had.
Post by: macker15 on March 10, 2021, 11:55:16 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 10, 2021, 06:37:08 PM
I thought he was retired completely? Bad injuries he had.

Think was returning to club action.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 12, 2021, 10:14:10 PM
I see on this subject he just put on Twitter he'd just had his fourth operation and was hoping to be walking pain free in a few months. That sounds like a lot to go through  :o
Post by: TheGreatest on August 22, 2021, 04:20:00 PM
Bump. And will win a few more ....
Post by: seafoid on August 24, 2021, 09:51:40 AM
Eamonn Cregan in dreamland as Limerick revel in golden era
Former player, coach and manager says county's academy was key to the startling transformation
about an hour ago Updated: 38 minutes ago

Seán Moran

Limerick captain Declan Hannon celebrates with the Liam MacCarthy Cup at Croke Park. "I'm delighted for him because things weren't always easy for him," says Cregan. Photograph: Laszlo Geczo/Inpho

Ten years ago it started, says Eamonn Cregan.
"It was Shane Fitzgibbon's idea. 'Lifting the Treaty' was intended to improve young players in an academy, preparing them to be able to compete at the highest levels."
Fitzgibbon immediately recruited Cregan and other interested Limerick hurling people to take teams. He said at the time that Cregan had so much to offer the county still, as the only man from the county to have won an All-Ireland both on the field and as a manager.
The groundbreaking work was so successful that another major name, Joe McKenna, was approached to see if he would become involved with an expanded operation and, having interested his friends JP McManus and brother Gerry, the great Limerick production line was up and running with McKenna in charge.
Cregan's intercounty involvement spanned over 50 years as an under-age player, senior hurler (and at one stage, footballer) as well as coach and manager until he signed off in 2016 having taken Mary Immaculate College in Limerick to a first Fitzgibbon Cup nearly a quarter of a century after being persuaded to get involved with the college's camogie team.
"What the academy did was pick up players who would never have been picked up before," he says.
"Cathal O'Neill is now on the senior panel. He's a young fella from Crecora and they were a junior club but at under-age he began to shine in the academy. That's what we wanted to do, pick up everyone."
He stresses the importance of late developers in the process.
"In 2007 Shane Dowling and Dan Morrissey were on the Forristal team (under-14 intercounty). We called up 100 players and I'd say three of them came through but we knew that. Everyone wanted to be involved with the county panel. I spent three years with them and we would have had the Darragh O'Donovans and the Richie Englishs but they were only on the B team.
•   Peter Keane taking nothing for granted as Kerry remain wary of Tyrone threat
•   Awesome Limerick reach new heights as they complete back-to-back triumphs
•   Limerick v Cork: Throw-in times, TV details and team news
"I think about eight of the panel that won the first All-Ireland in 2018 had been on B teams at the Forristal stage (under-14)."
As a constant presence in Limerick and key influence on the county's 1973 win – by stark irony, he managed Offaly to beat his county in the 1994 All-Ireland final – he was used to lamenting the failure to step up: the 'one All-Ireland since 1940' narrative continued all the way to 78 years before John Kiely's team bridged the gap in 2018.
In dreamland
He is in dreamland at this stage after the county completed a third MacCarthy Cup in four years at the weekend with a team featuring many of those he had seen grow and develop over the years.
"They came up through primary schools and secondary like Ardscoil, Castletroy, Doon CBS – Séamus Flanagan played Harty Cup with West Limerick colleges.
"That's how they all got to know each other and began to play the same type of game. To watch yesterday and see how they played was unbelievable. The arrival of Paul Kinnerk, John Kiely and their backroom team was really significant. I don't have enough praise for them."
He marvels at the multi-faceted modern management teams.
"I would never be able to do that because I wouldn't have the tools and the amount of analysis that's needed would drive me nuts. I wouldn't be able for it as I'm not tech-friendly the way everyone is these days."
He is particularly proud of the input of his former Mary I charges. Limerick captain Declan Hannon and player of the year-elect Cian Lynch are two.
"Cian Lynch is so far ahead of everyone and when he gives you a hand pass, there's often something on, like the two goals yesterday. That's how he played even as a young fella. Hand passing can be overdone but it has its uses.
"When we won in 2016, we went to extra time and extra-extra time. He scored the two points that won it for us – off his left side. You can pick out the leaders. David Reidy was another and Darragh O'Donovan, Richie English (all in Sunday's match panel). They were Mary I."
Immense final
He's particularly happy for Hannon, who had an immense final at centre back and entered the history books as the first man to captain three All-Ireland-winning teams since Christy Ring. Eight years previously he had endured a difficult semi-final when Limerick lost to eventual champions Clare.
"We had him full forward on the Mary I team and switched him to right corner forward. We were hand-passing too much, the sort I don't like: five hand passes to get the ball out of defence and then a long ball into the forwards. Declan was waiting and waiting and the full back is fouling the hell out of him.
"We shifted him out so that we could then hit in the high ball and he could come in at speed. We said to the backs, one hand pass and then drive the ball. Corner backs hate a moving corner forward. In 55 minutes of the final he hit 1-12. Five were frees but 1-7 from play. He's comfortable anywhere because he has that ability, good first touch and strikes well off the left and the right. You saw that on Sunday.
"I'm delighted for him because things weren't always easy for him."
Did he think he'd ever see the day when Limerick were so dominant?
"Did I? No, I didn't! It's great though".
Title: Re: Limerick Hurling - A Billionaire's playground.
Post by: Don Cockburn on September 06, 2021, 12:32:12 PM
Other counties will simply copy what Limerick do best and then improve on it.
Post by: seafoid on October 02, 2022, 08:55:16 PM
https://twitter.com/mrwinnie97/status/1576264681869541376?s=48&t=yZVobJwoblJoYNiYfPJqJA
Post by: imtommygunn on October 03, 2022, 09:58:44 PM
Completely made up and he's said it himself. Who does this kind of shit.
Post by: clonadmad on October 04, 2022, 07:51:25 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 03, 2022, 09:58:44 PM
Completely made up and he's said it himself. Who does this kind of shit.

A lad when he's on the beer with his mates in the pub
Post by: Ash Smoker on October 04, 2022, 10:58:45 AM
McManus is 71 now. The magic money tree won't go on forever in Limerick.
Post by: johnnycool on October 04, 2022, 01:08:00 PM
Quote from: Ash Smoker on October 04, 2022, 10:58:45 AM
McManus is 71 now. The magic money tree won't go on forever in Limerick.

There's no pockets in a shroud either Ash.
Post by: seafoid on March 28, 2023, 12:47:51 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2023/03/28/all-ireland-winning-hurler-charged-with-perjury/

An All Ireland-winning hurler has been arrested on suspicion of committing perjury before a court arising out of an internal Garda probe into the alleged squaring away of road traffic offences.

The man, in his 20s, appeared by appointment at a Garda station in Limerick on Tuesday morning.

Gardaí have charged the well known sportsman who is due to appear before Limerick District Court later on Tuesday.

"As part of an ongoing criminal investigation Gardaí this morning charged a male and is due to appear before Limerick District Court today," said a Garda spokesman.
Post by: keep her low this half on March 30, 2023, 09:58:39 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 28, 2023, 12:47:51 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2023/03/28/all-ireland-winning-hurler-charged-with-perjury/

An All Ireland-winning hurler has been arrested on suspicion of committing perjury before a court arising out of an internal Garda probe into the alleged squaring away of road traffic offences.

The man, in his 20s, appeared by appointment at a Garda station in Limerick on Tuesday morning.

Gardaí have charged the well known sportsman who is due to appear before Limerick District Court later on Tuesday.

"As part of an ongoing criminal investigation Gardaí this morning charged a male and is due to appear before Limerick District Court today," said a Garda spokesman.
Not another one in bother with the guards! They are great on the pitch but they get into a right few scrapes off the field
Post by: johnnycool on March 30, 2023, 03:52:50 PM
Quote from: keep her low this half on March 30, 2023, 09:58:39 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 28, 2023, 12:47:51 PM

Not another one in bother with the guards! They are great on the pitch but they get into a right few scrapes off the field

Named as Pat Ryan, who's off the panel the last year or more;

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/all-ireland-winning-hurler-charged-in-connection-with-garda-corruption-probe-1454409.html (https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/all-ireland-winning-hurler-charged-in-connection-with-garda-corruption-probe-1454409.html)
Post by: imtommygunn on March 31, 2023, 09:46:34 AM
The same boy as was arrested for the headbutt that time.
Post by: johnnycool on March 31, 2023, 10:28:43 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 31, 2023, 09:46:34 AM
The same boy as was arrested for the headbutt that time.

Believe so.

I would have swore that on the Pat Ryan case a few Gardai were also being disciplined for covering up speeding tickets etc etc.
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on April 01, 2023, 09:20:42 AM
JP must be injecting the players with testosterone!
Post by: toby47 on April 05, 2023, 09:26:53 AM
Anyone needing 2 x tickets to the League Final? 25 Euro for the pair.
Post by: johnnycool on November 24, 2023, 01:28:36 PM
Kyle Hayes in a bit of bother in court in Limerick, assault charges..
Post by: Armagh18 on November 24, 2023, 04:56:23 PM
Was it not just abit of row outside a nightclub?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 24, 2023, 07:14:05 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 24, 2023, 04:56:23 PMWas it not just abit of row outside a nightclub?
Booting some lad on the ground (allegedly) isn't a good luck.
Post by: Kidder81 on November 24, 2023, 07:25:55 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 24, 2023, 04:56:23 PMWas it not just abit of row outside a nightclub?

It's called assault
Post by: imtommygunn on November 24, 2023, 07:33:56 PM
There's a pretty detailed article on it in one of the Irish papers. "Do you know who the f**k I am" said. Doesn't read well for him.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 24, 2023, 08:17:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 24, 2023, 07:14:05 PM
Booting some lad on the ground (allegedly) isn't a good luck.
Thats different. Thought it was just a fight. Wouldn't like a belt off him, or any of them other Limerick hurlers. 
Post by: marty34 on November 24, 2023, 08:41:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 24, 2023, 07:33:56 PMThere's a pretty detailed article on it in one of the Irish papers. "Do you know who the f**k I am" said. Doesn't read well for him.

From reading reports, do they not all know each other?
Post by: johnnycool on November 27, 2023, 08:44:59 AM
Quote from: marty34 on November 24, 2023, 08:41:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 24, 2023, 07:33:56 PMThere's a pretty detailed article on it in one of the Irish papers. "Do you know who the f**k I am" said. Doesn't read well for him.

From reading reports, do they not all know each other?

Don't think so as they followed the lad out from the nightclub wanting to know his name.

I think the girls in question know both parties and that is the link, but Hayes didn't know this lad evidently.

Big choices now for Kiely as they booted Pat Ryan off the panel for his legal indiscretions...
Post by: imtommygunn on November 27, 2023, 09:10:16 AM
He didn't Gillane though. From what I could gauge from reading it Ryan was involved in a lot of stuff. This is a fight on night out - allbeit it doesn't read well but I don't think he has previous.
Post by: Saffrongael on November 27, 2023, 09:25:33 AM
It's also a lot easier to drop a fringe player than someone like Hayes or Gillane, I would say about Hayes - this happened in 2019, so he would have been 19/20. Probably not the same person he is now
Post by: imtommygunn on November 27, 2023, 09:28:26 AM
Ryan was up to his neck in stuff too.
Post by: seafoid on December 01, 2023, 05:01:39 PM
Sentencing 19 Jan

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2023/1201/1419595-kyle-hayes-assault-trial/

Five-time All Ireland winning Limerick hurler Kyle Hayes has been found guilty of two counts of violent disorder - one inside the Icon nightclub and one count outside the nightclub - on 28 October 2019.
Post by: blasmere on December 01, 2023, 05:12:41 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 01, 2023, 05:01:39 PMSentencing 19 Jan

Five-time All Ireland winning Limerick hurler Kyle Hayes has been found guilty of two counts of violent disorder - one inside the Icon nightclub and one count outside the nightclub - on 28 October 2019.

What's the typcial punishment for that?
Post by: johnnycool on December 04, 2023, 12:22:26 PM
Quote from: blasmere on December 01, 2023, 05:12:41 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 01, 2023, 05:01:39 PMSentencing 19 Jan

What's the typcial punishment for that?

He wasn't found guilty of the assault charge even when two coppers saw him do it..

I'm not expecting a custodial sentence, community service and a few €'s of a fine.
Post by: Saffrongael on December 04, 2023, 12:54:25 PM
The judge said he "should expect a custodial sentence"
Post by: johnnycool on December 04, 2023, 04:56:03 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on December 04, 2023, 12:54:25 PMThe judge said he "should expect a custodial sentence"

"suspended for x years"  ;)
Post by: johnnycool on December 14, 2023, 11:39:13 AM
JP and Noreen open the wallets in a big way!

€1M (https://extra.ie/2023/12/14/sport/gaa/jp-mcmanus-donate-gaa-counties)
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on December 14, 2023, 02:22:40 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 14, 2023, 11:39:13 AMJP and Noreen open the wallets in a big way!

He is eroding one of Limerick's big advantages a little bit.
Must be very confident they won't be caught!
Post by: johnnycool on December 14, 2023, 03:18:07 PM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on December 14, 2023, 02:22:40 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 14, 2023, 11:39:13 AMJP and Noreen open the wallets in a big way!

He is eroding one of Limerick's big advantages a little bit.
Must be very confident they won't be caught!

It's a drop in the ocean as to what goes into hurling development and the Limerick county hurlers.

Post by: seafoid on December 17, 2023, 12:21:26 PM
How much has he spent on the Limerick hurlers?
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on December 17, 2023, 09:22:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 17, 2023, 12:21:26 PMHow much has he spent on the Limerick hurlers?
He gifted the county board millions to finish the Gaelic Grounds. He gave every player 100k when they won the All Ireland in 2017. Probably throws about a million a year into the running costs as well.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 17, 2023, 09:29:07 PM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on December 17, 2023, 09:22:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 17, 2023, 12:21:26 PMHow much has he spent on the Limerick hurlers?
He gifted the county board millions to finish the Gaelic Grounds. He gave every player 100k when they won the All Ireland in 2017. Probably throws about a million a year into the running costs as well.

Jaysus. Some touch for them lads.
Post by: seafoid on January 20, 2024, 09:03:52 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 04, 2023, 04:56:03 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on December 04, 2023, 12:54:25 PMThe judge said he "should expect a custodial sentence"

"suspended for x years"  ;)

Sentencing 20 March

Kiely gave a character reference but on the night in question
https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2024/01/19/judge-wonders-if-kyle-hayes-sheltered-from-realities-of-life-during-sentencing-hearing/
 "when the victim was chatting to 2 women he became aggressive and asked "do you know who I am" before launching an unprovoked attack which caused facial injuries .
Judge Sheehan asked how many hours a week players like Hayes spent in training. "About 30" said Kiely. Did such a heavy training burden leave Hayes sheltrered from the realities of life, the judge wondered. Perhaps if he had the chance of socialise more he would have had the good sense to leave the scene. this was aperson who, for all his achievements, had limited socialisation " added the judge"
In his closing submission, Mr McInerney produced what he described as "eight or nine incredibly significant" arguments why Hayes' offence was at "the lower end of the scale." Judge Sheehan, however, made it clear that he disagreed with this assessment.
The impact of the case on Limerick's season is still up in the air.

Very interesting
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2024, 11:22:41 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 17, 2023, 09:29:07 PM

His club South Liberties were in the All Ireland intermediate club semi final one year, and they had huge incentives (money, holidays) to get into the final, they were very unlucky against the eventual winners that day after a herculean effort.

Incentives can defo give that extra % of effort into the 100% effort you'd give to reach and win a final
Post by: 5times5times on January 23, 2024, 01:41:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2024, 11:22:41 AM

His club South Liberties were in the All Ireland intermediate club semi final one year, and they had huge incentives (money, holidays) to get into the final, they were very unlucky against the eventual winners that day after a herculean effort.

Incentives can defo give that extra % of effort into the 100% effort you'd give to reach and win a final

Just like his business in Ireland, avoiding tax on this no doubt, the players this time?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2024, 01:44:05 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on January 23, 2024, 01:41:54 PM

Just like his business in Ireland, avoiding tax on this no doubt, the players this time?

They didn't win the semi so no need to worry about paying tax?
Post by: 5times5times on January 23, 2024, 01:52:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2024, 01:44:05 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on January 23, 2024, 01:41:54 PM

They didn't win the semi so no need to worry about paying tax?

This comment "He gave every player 100k when they won the All Ireland in 2017"

Brolly done a great podcast on the irish media fawning over McManus, when he fecks off to Switzerland most of the year.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2024, 02:02:52 PM
Sorry, was thinking you were responding to my post
Post by: seafoid on January 24, 2024, 09:48:53 AM
This is an excellent legal summary of the Kyle Hayes case.

https://youtu.be/tsO7a0kKYaI

Kiely is peerless on the sideline  in Croke Park but he was hooked in the court room.
Post by: seafoid on March 20, 2024, 12:13:33 PM
2 years suspended and a fine of €10,000

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2024/03/20/limerick-hurler-kyle-hayes-ordered-to-pay-10000-compensation-for-violent-disorder/
Post by: Armagh18 on March 20, 2024, 12:56:38 PM
Lucky boy.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 20, 2024, 03:28:44 PM
I wonder who'll pay that fine?
Post by: johnnycool on March 20, 2024, 03:42:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 20, 2024, 03:28:44 PMI wonder who'll pay that fine?

Hayes is quite affluent allegedly according to the Judge, so €10K won't be much of a hardship..
Post by: yellowcard on March 20, 2024, 03:44:17 PM
I'm not getting into the rights or wrongs of what Hayes did but it was a good day for Limerick hurling in terms of trying to win 5 in a row anyway. Kyle Hayes now cleared to play and the news was buried somewhat due to Varadkars resignation. It has worked out well for John Kiely who played this very well by standing by his man although some people may say that it has tarnished his reputation in doing so.     
Post by: Kidder81 on March 20, 2024, 04:31:43 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 20, 2024, 03:42:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 20, 2024, 03:28:44 PMI wonder who'll pay that fine?

Hayes is quite affluent allegedly according to the Judge, so €10K won't be much of a hardship..

It's to be paid in two €5k instalments
Post by: johnnycool on March 20, 2024, 04:38:01 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on March 20, 2024, 04:31:43 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 20, 2024, 03:42:40 PM

It's to be paid in two €5k instalments

JP maybe gave him a few inside tips for Cheltenham.
Post by: LC on March 20, 2024, 06:07:53 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 20, 2024, 03:44:17 PMI'm not getting into the rights or wrongs of what Hayes did but it was a good day for Limerick hurling in terms of trying to win 5 in a row anyway. Kyle Hayes now cleared to play and the news was buried somewhat due to Varadkars resignation. It has worked out well for John Kiely who played this very well by standing by his man although some people may say that it has tarnished his reputation in doing so.   

Very true
Post by: Capt Pat on March 21, 2024, 06:11:29 PM
He got off lightly I think. Maybe he should have got actual prison time.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 21, 2024, 06:25:46 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on March 21, 2024, 06:11:29 PMHe got off lightly I think. Maybe he should have got actual prison time.

Agreed. Plenty that did similar have served time in prison.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 21, 2024, 08:35:47 PM
If we were locking people up for fights in nightclubs there wouldn't be much room left in prisons.
Post by: Saffrongael on March 21, 2024, 09:20:05 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 21, 2024, 08:35:47 PMIf we were locking people up for fights in nightclubs there wouldn't be much room left in prisons.

Have you read any of what happened ?
Post by: seafoid on March 22, 2024, 01:05:52 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 21, 2024, 06:25:46 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on March 21, 2024, 06:11:29 PMHe got off lightly I think. Maybe he should have got actual prison time.

Agreed. Plenty that did similar have served time in prison.

He got away with a warning but if his anger erupts again he will pay the full price.
He will probably be unmercifully sledged over the summer
Post by: Armagh18 on March 22, 2024, 01:44:13 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on March 21, 2024, 09:20:05 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 21, 2024, 08:35:47 PMIf we were locking people up for fights in nightclubs there wouldn't be much room left in prisons.

Have you read any of what happened ?
Gave a fella a bit of a hiding on a night out?