GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: yellowcard on September 13, 2017, 11:03:39 AM

Title: Gooch Cooper testimonial dinner
Post by: yellowcard on September 13, 2017, 11:03:39 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gooch-deserves-reward-for-his-efforts-but-are-testimonials-a-step-too-far-for-amateur-players-36127070.html

Is this the new thing in the GAA. Testimonial dinners for ex players as a pay off for years of service. Dressed up as a charity event with full approval from Padraig Duffy.
Title: Re: Gooch Cooper testimonial dinner
Post by: Minder on September 13, 2017, 11:14:57 AM
Yeah and only the chosen few will have the profile to pull this off 

He basically said he is trying to cash in now as he will be yesterday's news very soon
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 13, 2017, 11:34:58 AM
Nobody is forced to go to it. If he can make a good few quid for services rendered then good luck to him.
Post by: five points on September 13, 2017, 11:36:11 AM
The money isn't for him, but goes to charidee. 

A PR racket.
Post by: Hound on September 13, 2017, 04:55:14 PM
Quote from: five points on September 13, 2017, 11:36:11 AM

A PR racket.
All the money goes to him. Then he decides how much of it to give to charity.

What has been publicly confirmed is that the charity portion will be split 50/50, not all the money will go to charity, and that Gooch and Gooch alone will decide how much of the takings goes to charity.

Heard Dessie Farrell talk previously about when the GPA was doing a deal with Club Energise to benefit all intercounty players, that Lucozade tried to scupper it by offering individual contracts to big name players. Peter Canavan, Seamus Moynihan and DJ Carey among those who turned down big amounts of money from Lucozade, according to Dessie, but the Gooch cashed in.
Post by: Syferus on September 13, 2017, 05:11:08 PM
Far easier to stomach than the Dublin/Mayo 'breakfasts' that are being used to tout AI final tickets. If he can do it, fair play. Even with sponsorships it's still an amateur sport where people of this profile in any other sport would have made millions over their careers.

It would be a nice touch if in future a percentage of the money raised from these things went into a fund for retiring players so that more than the big names get something more than a kick up the arse on the way out the door. Would be more appropriate than a charity honestly.
Post by: five points on September 13, 2017, 05:12:03 PM
Quote from: Hound on September 13, 2017, 04:55:14 PM
Quote from: five points on September 13, 2017, 11:36:11 AM

A PR racket.
All the money goes to him. Then he decides how much of it to give to charity.

Thanks. I stand corrected, having swallowed whole the initial media spin.
Post by: Fat Angry Motorist on September 13, 2017, 05:27:12 PM
"That will always be the elephant in the room," he said. "Like, the aim of the night wasn't to raise funds for Colm Cooper albeit that people might have different views on that. We wanted to have a GAA celebration because we've seen all these sporting stars in Ireland have these nights."

Does Colm think we're feckin stupid?

"We're saying, 'Well our GAA people are very much to the forefront of every community so why shouldn't we be doing if for our own people?' - so that's where it's kind of breaking ground a little bit. And obviously the charities were very much to the fore of it as well.

Nearly forgot there Colm!

Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on September 13, 2017, 06:32:54 PM
What exactly is the problem here?
Post by: Hound on September 14, 2017, 08:25:01 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on September 13, 2017, 06:32:54 PM
What exactly is the problem here?
I don't think it's something that can be stopped or should be stopped.

The problem from a GAA perspective, is whether the money generated is new money given by corporates/individuals, or whether those individuals/corporates have a budget to give to GAA causes (e.g. sponsoring club events, etc) that now Cooper will gobble up for himself and so there'll be less money spent elsewhere.

The charity element is something that can or can't be taken with a pinch of salt, bearing in mind his previous mé feiner history.

Also interesting that he's having it in Dublin rather than Kerry.
Post by: T Fearon on September 14, 2017, 10:17:48 AM
€500 for a ticket? Deep pockets required
Post by: Beffs on September 14, 2017, 10:40:55 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 14, 2017, 10:17:48 AM

Don't think it's aimed at individuals. Just deep pocketed companies, who have no problem coughing up five grand for a table. It's easy enough to get accountants to write it all off as taxable expenditure, if they know what they are doing.

The likes of Kerry Group, Eir, Supervalu, Littlewoods, AIB, Independent Media, & loads of other companies who have close ties to the GAA, Cooper or to Kerry in particular, are well able to come up with the money. They'll give the tickets to their own pot bellied CEO's and MD's, who will revel in the chance to rub such close shoulders with a GAA legend, on such a night. (D'aul corporate box in Croker on All Ireland Final day, is so impersonal and well....corporate.  ::) )

They'll also trot out their armies of "brand ambassadors" on the night, so it will look like a bunch of GAA greats all out to honour one of their own, because they all admire him so dang much. It's all a bit of a racket !
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 14, 2017, 10:44:33 AM

sure an oul months rent from yer property portfolio will take care of that. just don't do with cooper like ye did with Rodgers, slag him off and then change yer tune as soon as ye meet the fella
Post by: macdanger2 on September 14, 2017, 10:49:26 AM
Quote from: Beffs on September 14, 2017, 10:40:55 AM

Don't think it's aimed at individuals. Just deep pocketed companies, who have no problem coughing up five grand for a table. It's easy enough to get accountants to write it all off as taxable expenditure, if they know what they are doing.

The likes of Kerry Group, Eir, Supervalu, Littlewoods, AIB, Independent Media, & loads of other companies who have close ties to the GAA, Cooper or to Kerry in particular, are well able to come up with the money. They'll give the tickets to their own pot bellied CEO's and MD's, who will revel in the chance to rub such close shoulders with a GAA legend, on such a night. (D'aul corporate box in Croker on All Ireland Final day, is so impersonal and well....corporate.  ::) )

They'll also trot out their armies of "brand ambassadors" on the night, so it will look like a bunch of GAA greats all out to honour one of their own, because they all admire him so dang much. It's all a bit of a racket !

Yeah, seems like a bit of a racket alright
Post by: vallankumous on September 14, 2017, 10:58:02 AM
It's best to have no expectations from a player once retired.
They're civilians again.
Post by: Rossfan on September 14, 2017, 11:05:44 AM
Pity they couldn't organise something to pay for or  provide accomodation for some if the families living in Hotel rooms.
Post by: lurganblue on September 14, 2017, 12:00:06 PM
Fair play to him. Cash in if there are people stupid enough to pay for this shite.
Post by: Syferus on September 14, 2017, 02:06:39 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on September 14, 2017, 12:00:06 PM
Fair play to him. Cash in if there are people stupid enough to pay for this shite.

I hear that's Ulster GAA's approach to games too.
Post by: lurganblue on September 14, 2017, 02:21:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 14, 2017, 02:06:39 PM

Def the same approach Armagh County board has to club championship games.
Post by: OgraAnDun on September 14, 2017, 07:07:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 14, 2017, 02:06:39 PM

They're just cashing in on the AI medals that have come to the province over the past 25 years or so.
Post by: yellowcard on September 24, 2017, 08:16:14 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/i-think-its-an-extremely-disappointing-development-joe-brolly-takes-issue-with-colm-coopers-testimonial-dinner-36161741.html

According to Cooper it appears as though Padraig Duffy has sanctioned this which is worrying. However it's entirely consistent with the direction the GAA has taken under himself and O' Fearghail with the maximisation of revenue streams being at the forefront of their plans. The GAA window dress their aims by stating that their primary concern are the clubs, Cooper has window dressed this event as a charity night. For as long as there is no direction from the top this problem is only going to increase.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on September 24, 2017, 08:32:54 AM
I fully agree with Brolly's comments on this. I find the greed a bit sickening to be honest. Cooper is probably a player who has generated a lot greater financially than most of his peers throughout his career, he will continue to benefit financially after it. This just stinks of pure greed, defending it or not - that's what it is.

I suppose it won't be long until Fine Gael have him on their election ticket.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 24, 2017, 09:55:42 AM
Some people are just greedy. We can't change it. The world would be a much better place if this wasn't the case but sadly it is. And greed begets greed - "if he's doing it then why shouldn't I".
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2017, 02:29:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 24, 2017, 09:55:42 AM
Some people are just greedy. We can't change it. The world would be a much better place if this wasn't the case but sadly it is. And greed begets greed - "if he's doing it then why shouldn't I".

Such nonsense to expect private citizens not to look to earn money in a capitalist society because of some vague sense of duty.

Has Brolly ever taken on a case he didn't believe in, I wonder?
Post by: Itchy on September 24, 2017, 02:39:35 PM
I don't blame Cooper, I blame the stupid gobdhitrs that would pay into it
Post by: longballin on September 24, 2017, 02:40:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 24, 2017, 02:29:10 PM

Such nonsense to expect private citizens not to look to earn money in a capitalist society because of some vague sense of duty.

The greed came with the Celtic Tiger which has breed that mindset, how can I fill my pockets with money and made it's way into the GAA big-time.
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2017, 02:56:22 PM
How long have the GAA been charging people  to see games?
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2017, 03:38:49 PM
Quit I have already had the pleasure and privilege of meeting Gooch on two occasions.The last was three years ago in the Hospitality suite at Old Trafford during a Man Utd V Liverpool game.My admiration for him is boundless.Good luck to the lad,he has given the GAA and Kerry so much.If he makes a few bob,great,he deserves every penny.
Post by: longballin on September 24, 2017, 03:45:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2017, 02:56:22 PM
How long have the GAA been charging people  to see games?

club games? county games? wat u on about?
Post by: seafoid on September 24, 2017, 03:57:06 PM
It reminds me of an Alexei Sayle joke. Everything would have been fine if Hitler had invaded the Soviet Union for charity.
Post by: longballin on September 24, 2017, 04:00:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 24, 2017, 03:57:06 PM
It reminds me of an Alexei Sayle joke. Everything would have been fine if Hitler had invaded the Soviet Union for charity.

Did he tell any other jokes?  :o
Post by: Rudi on September 24, 2017, 09:03:07 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on September 24, 2017, 08:32:54 AM
I fully agree with Brolly's comments on this. I find the greed a bit sickening to be honest. Cooper is probably a player who has generated a lot greater financially than most of his peers throughout his career, he will continue to benefit financially after it. This just stinks of pure greed, defending it or not - that's what it is.

I suppose it won't be long until Fine Gael have him on their election ticket.

Well said and fair play to Brolly for calling Copper out on this.
Post by: Gold on September 24, 2017, 09:12:10 PM
I agree with Brolly...just because Cooper was good why should he get paid for playing our amateur sport?

He will earn a handsome wage with RTE for as long as he needs. Gooch will regret this i feel
Post by: Syferus on September 24, 2017, 09:15:32 PM
Quote from: Gold on September 24, 2017, 09:12:10 PM
I agree with Brolly...just because Cooper was good why should he get paid for playing our amateur sport?

He will earn a handsome wage with RTE for as long as he needs. Gooch will regret this i feel

On what planet will he regret getting 200k for a dinner dance? It won't be this one.
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2017, 11:00:40 PM
I see nothing wrong with this.I remember the GAA elite,from many counties,coming together and presenting Joe Kernan with a top of the range brand spanking new Merc,back in the noughties.
with a personalised number plate too.
No one is forced to buy tickets,so good luck to the Gooch.
Post by: Itchy on September 24, 2017, 11:26:58 PM
http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/joe-brolly-colm-cooper-will-live-to-regret-decision-to-enrich-himself-36162020.html

Nail on the head by Brolly.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on September 24, 2017, 11:54:34 PM
There's a lot of money to be made by GAA players with the right profile nowadays.

Players don't get that much out of playing the game in a financial sense but there are plenty of avenues available to the high profile ones.

Dublin players seem to all be very well looked after but after that there seems to be a few high profile players in the other counties who make a killing while the rest don't really fair out as well.

I don't know how well it would sit with me if I was a Mayo player for instance and Aidan O'Shea is probably milking the guts of €50k a year (as well as driving around in a top of the range car sponsored for free) in endorsements and promotional deals and the like, similarly if I was a Galway hurler and Joe Canning was milking that kind of money. There must be a sense of resentment there I'd imagine.

My own view is Gooch should be a bit embarrassed by this, I'd say he's fairly well off - he would have made a fair packet of his own endorsements as a player, has a nice cushy job, a few other relatively handy gigs in media. What in the world does he need this for? It just portrays him, in my eyes anyway, as a rather shameless money grabber. He has built up this cult personality over the years though so I'd expect plenty of vitriol against Brolly for speaking out against it.

If it was me in that position, I'd be a bit embarrassed.

Post by: ONeill on September 25, 2017, 12:37:36 AM
Quote from: Itchy on September 24, 2017, 11:26:58 PM
http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/joe-brolly-colm-cooper-will-live-to-regret-decision-to-enrich-himself-36162020.html

Does Joe give the substantial figure he gets for writing about GAA away?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 08:25:43 AM
Quote from: longballin on September 24, 2017, 02:40:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 24, 2017, 02:29:10 PM

The greed came with the Celtic Tiger which has breed that mindset, how can I fill my pockets with money and made it's way into the GAA big-time.

Aye. And this hilarious so called "capitalist society" fairly went out the window when the big boys needed bailing out! Capitalist my hole.
Post by: currychip on September 25, 2017, 08:30:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 25, 2017, 12:37:36 AM

Does Joe give the substantial figure he gets for writing about GAA away?  What Brolly gets is pay , for doing something, not a handout.
Post by: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 09:06:32 AM
It's an odd thing for Brolly to give off about. The nature of his profession is that there are probably hundreds of barristers across Ireland who could sit in his SG chair and deliver intelligent, entertaining insights into football. But because he was talented enough to play the game at the highest level, it has provided only him the high profile meal ticket. Whether he's contracted or not isn't a concern for me. I doubt very much that a testimonial dinner was Gooch's idea; I'd expect that a GAA partner or two looked at creating an opportunity for exposure and perhaps a little profit. That such an event can only take place with Gooch's blessing and involvement surely deems him worthy of a wage from it.

I'd love to know Joe's interpretation of how many degrees of separation from the games are required before getting paid indirectly from them becomes acceptable. Then why.

—�-

I don't believe Gooch will have the magnetism/charisma to last more than a couple of years as a pundit. He wouldn't appear to have the God complex needed to be a manager. Making his way into a paid administration post might actually involve a pay cut.

So, if he can use this one opportunity at the end of his career to line his pockets from his Gaelic footballing abilities, then fair play to him.

By the way, I'd expect that by this stage of his media career, Pat Spillane has banked over 7 figures from the public purse, and a large percentage of it for running down our games and delivering thoughtless, unprepared drivel. I also say fair play to Pat for milking that cow. But i fail to see how that's a more noble or reputable way to derive income from a previous life as an outstanding amateur.
Post by: Hound on September 25, 2017, 09:10:33 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 24, 2017, 08:16:14 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/i-think-its-an-extremely-disappointing-development-joe-brolly-takes-issue-with-colm-coopers-testimonial-dinner-36161741.html

According to Cooper it appears as though Padraig Duffy has sanctioned this which is worrying. However it's entirely consistent with the direction the GAA has taken under himself and O' Fearghail with the maximisation of revenue streams being at the forefront of their plans. The GAA window dress their aims by stating that their primary concern are the clubs, Cooper has window dressed this event as a charity night. For as long as there is no direction from the top this problem is only going to increase.
Duffy didn't sanction it. Gooch met him to let him know about it, and Duffy looked into whether he could stop it. The legal eagles in Croke Park decided that they probably couldnt stop it. But they have come out and clearly said they are playing no part in it.
Post by: seafoid on September 25, 2017, 09:12:46 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on September 24, 2017, 11:54:34 PM
There's a lot of money to be made by GAA players with the right profile nowadays.

Players don't get that much out of playing the game in a financial sense but there are plenty of avenues available to the high profile ones.

Dublin players seem to all be very well looked after but after that there seems to be a few high profile players in the other counties who make a killing while the rest don't really fair out as well.

I don't know how well it would sit with me if I was a Mayo player for instance and Aidan O'Shea is probably milking the guts of €50k a year (as well as driving around in a top of the range car sponsored for free) in endorsements and promotional deals and the like, similarly if I was a Galway hurler and Joe Canning was milking that kind of money. There must be a sense of resentment there I'd imagine.

My own view is Gooch should be a bit embarrassed by this, I'd say he's fairly well off - he would have made a fair packet of his own endorsements as a player, has a nice cushy job, a few other relatively handy gigs in media. What in the world does he need this for? It just portrays him, in my eyes anyway, as a rather shameless money grabber. He has built up this cult personality over the years though so I'd expect plenty of vitriol against Brolly for speaking out against it.

If it was me in that position, I'd be a bit embarrassed.
If you look on Twitter an awful lot of players are in the commercial grey zone for cars, suits, nutrition and a Blankety Blank chequebook and pen. Conor McManus would be a role model for a lot of young people for example. So would Joe Canning  . The GAA is very commercial these days. Aogan O Fearghail would say that the patrons are never happy and are always moaning about something.
Post by: seafoid on September 25, 2017, 09:15:22 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 25, 2017, 12:37:36 AM

Does Joe give the substantial figure he gets for writing about GAA away?
If Joe was from Throne there would be omerta.

And we do this all day
Welcome to St Rabane

https://youtu.be/Kh2FRFhS7QY
Post by: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 09:19:42 AM
I would also expect that any footballer / hurler who has a problem with Connolly / O'Shea / Canning etc. making money from their profile is not a teammate you would want to have.

Firstly, they're only high-profile enough because they're good enough to win games by themselves, which means that if you train 51.5 week's a year, you've a much better chance of reward. As long as they're training hard and playing well, then how they earn a living is their own business.

Secondly, this is a faucet, and there is a trickle down effect. Sponsors follow sponsors. If you've the 29th highest profile on a panel, you probably won't see much of the trickle down. But in a successful team (which generally will have high profile players), most of the starters will enjoy some of the effects.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 09:37:08 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 09:19:42 AM
I would also expect that any footballer / hurler who has a problem with Connolly / O'Shea / Canning etc. making money from their profile is not a teammate you would want to have.

Firstly, they're only high-profile enough because they're good enough to win games by themselves, which means that if you train 51.5 week's a year, you've a much better chance of reward. As long as they're training hard and playing well, then how they earn a living is their own business.

Secondly, this is a faucet, and there is a trickle down effect. Sponsors follow sponsors. If you've the 29th highest profile on a panel, you probably won't see much of the trickle down. But in a successful team (which generally will have high profile players), most of the starters will enjoy some of the effects.

Seriously?
Post by: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 09:47:24 AM
Yep Seanie.

Surely you'd accept that the difference in the noughties between Sligo being a D3/D4 side, and one that could beat D1 sides, was the presence of Eamon O'Hara?

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on September 25, 2017, 09:58:10 AM

All those players are players in a team game that does not directly financially reward you. The likes of Canning and O'Shra are the high profile players but are they their team's most important players. I don't think so and in Mayo's case I would have O'Shea a fair length down in Mayo's best performers over the past 5 years or so.

I'd imagine if you were a Jason Doherty or Kevin McLoughlin, guys who have given a lot up over the past few years and arguably been as important to Mayo as O'Shea has in that time, they would be slightly resentful to O'Shea making a killing out of his profile as a Mayo player and them getting very little back in return.
Post by: Last Man on September 25, 2017, 11:14:26 AM
Why not give it all to charity?? He has good job in AIB, a great profile and will always be one of the all time greats of football. As Brolly says he will always be "looked after" where ever he goes in this country. Really scratching my head about this and can only surmise that Cooper isnt the only one cashing in. Hopefully some other big name will step up to head line an event with all the money raised going to charity, that might pull the rug from under them.
Post by: 6th sam on September 25, 2017, 11:14:42 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 09:37:08 AM

Seriously?

Wobbler , always gives an honest well thought out viewpoint, and this concept is valid for most professional sports. Where I would differ, and agree with Brolly on this one, is that though the GAA should learn from other sports , we need to remember that the GAA is different. The GAA is unique worldwide, as there is no other comparable indigenous organisation that has units in virtually every area in the country, owning their own facilities , and providing healthy activity for all who want it. We are at a massive disadvantage in that we don't have and never will have the global appeal and publicity of other sports. We would not survive without the work of thousands of volunteers, many of whom are motivated by the GAA's special ethos of amateur status, inclusivity, sense of place, irishness. Those that underestimate or undermine the importance of those ideals, are playing a very dangerous game. I enjoy and respect other sports, but In my opinion, if we operate the GAA like any other sport, e.g. AFL, soccer, we can never compete on so many comparable levels. The reason why we currently thrive is because we are different. Those that would dilute our ethos , should be careful what they wish for.
Post by: seafoid on September 25, 2017, 11:18:14 AM
Quote from: 6th sam on September 25, 2017, 11:14:42 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 09:37:08 AM

Seriously?

Wobbler , always gives an honest well thought out viewpoint, and this concept is valid for most professional sports. Where I would differ, and agree with Brolly on this one, is that though the GAA should learn from other sports , we need to remember that the GAA is different. The GAA is unique worldwide, as there is no other comparable indigenous organisation that has units in virtually every area in the country, owning their own facilities , and providing healthy activity for all who want it. We are at a massive disadvantage in that we don't have and never will have the global appeal and publicity of other sports. We would not survive without the work of thousands of volunteers, many of whom are motivated by the GAA's special ethos of amateur status, inclusivity, sense of place, irishness. Those that underestimate or undermine the importance of those ideals, are playing a very dangerous game. I enjoy and respect other sports, but In my opinion, if we operate the GAA like any other sport, e.g. AFL, soccer, we can never compete on so many comparable levels. The reason why we currently thrive is because we are different. Those that would dilute our ethos , should be careful what they wish for.
Global appeal would destroy the GAA. Money has broken soccer. Chelsea and Liverpool sell identity to young men in Asia and buy the cream of world talent. They don't develop local soccer . England are shit even though they have the richest league 
Post by: general_lee on September 25, 2017, 11:57:03 AM
This isn't something that sits well with me and while I'm quite sure the Gooch himself wasn't the brainchild behind it, I'm surprised someone with his modesty has agreed to it. Most high profile county players, especially in a county like Kerry, are more than well looked after. Jobs handed to them from sponsors, driving the latest Audi or BMW, not to mention the gear, meals, hotels, training facilities provided by their county boards and clubs and whatever else comes their way. Unless he's seriously in debt I can't really see any justification for this kind of thing in the GAA
Post by: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 12:03:22 PM
Let's take the case of David Clifford.

Before the minor final roughly every 20 out of 30 column inches about the final were devoted to him. After the final that went up to about 25 out of 30.

Should he avoid the lure of Oz, he will never need a student loan to complete his degree. He will never have to look for work and will hit 6-figures early in his career, for what will be a part time job (so long as he avoids injury). He will never again buy boots or gloves out of his own pocket.

The second best minor player in the country might have been on show last weekend and nobody outside his parish will be aware of this fact, and he will be unlikely to enjoy even remotely similar trappings.

But does anyone really think that one player in the Kerry squad will ever resent David Clifford benefitting in such a way from his ability? They after all each benefitted as much as you can in the game just from happening to be born in age group in his county. They'll have happy memories forever because of that.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 12:20:02 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 09:47:24 AM
Yep Seanie.

Surely you'd accept that the difference in the noughties between Sligo being a D3/D4 side, and one that could beat D1 sides, was the presence of Eamon O'Hara?

That's an entirely different statement than "they're good enough to win games by themselves". Eamonn was brilliant, best I've ever seen in a Sligo jersey, but he was around a long time before we eventually won something. Kearins similarly though I never saw him play. No man can win a game "by themselves". They can be the best player on the pitch but without your 14 teammates you'll win zero.
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 12:44:57 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 12:03:22 PM
Let's take the case of David Clifford.

Before the minor final roughly every 20 out of 30 column inches about the final were devoted to him. After the final that went up to about 25 out of 30.

Should he avoid the lure of Oz, he will never need a student loan to complete his degree. He will never have to look for work and will hit 6-figures early in his career, for what will be a part time job (so long as he avoids injury). He will never again buy boots or gloves out of his own pocket.

The second best minor player in the country might have been on show last weekend and nobody outside his parish will be aware of this fact, and he will be unlikely to enjoy even remotely similar trappings.

But does anyone really think that one player in the Kerry squad will ever resent David Clifford benefitting in such a way from his ability? They after all each benefitted as much as you can in the game just from happening to be born in age group in his county. They'll have happy memories forever because of that.

Kerry would have won all their minor AIs with or without Clifford. The hype seems to have missed the point he's been on a team filled with minor stars.
Post by: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 01:47:31 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 12:20:02 PM
Yep Seanie.

That's an entirely different statement than "they're good enough to win games by themselves". Eamonn was brilliant, best I've ever seen in a Sligo jersey, but he was around a long time before we eventually won something. Kearins similarly though I never saw him play. No man can win a game "by themselves". They can be the best player on the pitch but without your 14 teammates you'll win zero.

Okay so it's the semantics you disagree with. It takes 15 players to field a team and at most of them or the races to make it competitive. But even at the highest level, one outstanding player can be the difference between winning and losing. Not just for their individual efforts but for how teammates raise their games and change their way of playing because of him. Maybe not "winning games by himself". But perhaps "the difference between winning and losing".

Syferus. We've just seen possibly the finest juvenile player in history, but you reckon his county would still win every game without him. Who am I to deny you an opinion, even if you're clearly mad?
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 01:56:25 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 01:47:31 PM
Yep Seanie.

Okay so it's the semantics you disagree with. It takes 15 players to field a team and at most of them or the races to make it competitive. But even at the highest level, one outstanding player can be the difference between winning and losing. Not just for their individual efforts but for how teammates raise their games and change their way of playing because of him. Maybe not "winning games by himself". But perhaps "the difference between winning and losing".

Syferus. We've just seen possibly the finest juvenile player in history, but you reckon his county would still win every game without him. Who am I to deny you an opinion, even if you're clearly mad?

Do you seriously think they wouldn't have beaten Derry without Clifford? Explain the first year they won the AI where he wasn't involved at all, then? Or the next one? I cannot believe how willing you are to deify a single player when it's clear to anyone looking at Kerry that they built a conveyor belt of talent that extends far beyond a single player.

Take a step back on this one.
Post by: Orchard park on September 25, 2017, 01:59:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 01:56:25 PM
Yep Seanie.

Do you seriously think they wouldn't have beaten Derry without Clifford? Explain the first year they won the AI where he wasn't involved at all, then? Or his own first one when he was a kid? I cannot believe how willing you are to deify a single player when it's clear to anyone looking at Kerry that they built a conveyor belt of talent that extends far beyond a single player.

In fairness Sfyerus you name checked Evan Murphy of Galway as the outstanding minor of 2017 a few months ago........
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 02:00:45 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on September 25, 2017, 01:59:42 PM
Yep Seanie.

Do you seriously think they wouldn't have beaten Derry without Clifford? Explain the first year they won the AI where he wasn't involved at all, then? Or his own first one when he was a kid? I cannot believe how willing you are to deify a single player when it's clear to anyone looking at Kerry that they built a conveyor belt of talent that extends far beyond a single player.

In fairness Sfyerus you name checked Evan Murphy of Galway as the outstanding minor of 2017 a few months ago........

I take it you need to have not seen him very much to say he's not outstanding. Stop trying to derail another thread.
Post by: joemamas on September 25, 2017, 02:18:36 PM
Quote from: Last Man on September 25, 2017, 11:14:26 AM
Why not give it all to charity?? He has good job in AIB, a great profile and will always be one of the all time greats of football. As Brolly says he will always be "looked after" where ever he goes in this country. Really scratching my head about this and can only surmise that Cooper isnt the only one cashing in. Hopefully some other big name will step up to head line an event with all the money raised going to charity, that might pull the rug from under them.

Posted by: general_lee
« on: Today at 11:57:03 AM »
Insert Quote

"This isn't something that sits well with me and while I'm quite sure the Gooch himself wasn't the brainchild behind it, I'm surprised someone with his modesty has agreed to it. Most high profile county players, especially in a county like Kerry, are more than well looked after. Jobs handed to them from sponsors, driving the latest Audi or BMW, not to mention the gear, meals, hotels, training facilities provided by their county boards and clubs and whatever else comes their way. Unless he's seriously in debt I can't really see any justification for this kind of thing in the GAA "

I took the liberty of trying to copy two comments, I may have messed it up.

But I agree with both, especially the point that he is not the only one cashing in.

You may have hit the nail on the head.

PR folks and event organizers are licking their lips at the future prospects of having a half a dozen or more of these a year going forward. A stretch, maybe, maybe not.

As a footballer and a modest individual, I have the utmost respect for what he has achieved on the pitch and all the work and effort off the field to help him to achieve same.

But I really have a problem with this. The guy could write columns and be a presenter on the TV for the next twenty years ala Pat Spillane, Colm O Rourke, Ciaran Whealan, and I would say good luck to him for monetizing his success and popularity. But if the folks on here think that this is a one and done, dream on.

IMO it is wrong on so many levels.

If a player or former player falls on hard times and does not have the possibility of supplementing his income and genuinely needs help, I have no problem with that.

Lastly, I am curious, have the GPA made any comment on this.
Post by: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 02:23:58 PM
Syferus.

If I asked you to pen a list of matches won by teams without their identifiably best player, it would stretch from here to the sun.

If I asked you to pen a list of All Ireland championships won by teams who played the season without their identifiably best player, I'd guess you wouldn't need to borrow a pen.
Post by: Orchard park on September 25, 2017, 02:33:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 02:00:45 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on September 25, 2017, 01:59:42 PM
Yep Seanie.

I take it you need to have not seen him very much to say he's not outstanding. Stop trying to derail another thread.

i'm highlighting your appreciation of minors isn't the best. Murphy is a fine footballer, i have seen him play last year and this year and when you went highlighting him as the outstanding minor of the year a few months ago I also then name checked David Clifford .

not derailing just calling out keyboard waffle
Post by: yellowcard on September 25, 2017, 03:28:14 PM
Anyone involved at the coalface of clubs will realise the increasing difficulty of getting people to give of their free time in keeping clubs ticking over. Events like this only help alienate the elite county players from the grass roots. Most people I have spoken to have a major issue with this. Clubs often run events for players out of work following operations, for bereaved family members and communities come together if someone falls on difficult times. This is just a 'me me' attitude and I suppose people's opinions on this matter depends on your own personal philosophy to a large extent. To the best of my knowledge Gooch is not struggling financially. He appears not to be breaking any rules but it's the opportunistic 'take take' attitude that is most disappointing.     
Post by: general_lee on September 25, 2017, 03:28:29 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 12:03:22 PM

But does anyone really think that one player in the Kerry squad will ever resent David Clifford benefitting in such a way from his ability? They after all each benefitted as much as you can in the game just from happening to be born in age group in his county. They'll have happy memories forever because of that
Do you not think there is more to sport than benefitting financially? Do you not think the amateur ethos needs protecting?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 03:40:58 PM
Yep Seanie.

There's a big difference.
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 03:45:03 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 02:23:58 PM
Syferus.

If I asked you to pen a list of matches won by teams without their identifiably best player, it would stretch from here to the sun.

If I asked you to pen a list of All Ireland championships won by teams who played the season without their identifiably best player, I'd guess you wouldn't need to borrow a pen.

I'm afraid this hypothetical isn't anywhere near as convincing as you think it is.
Post by: Esmarelda on September 25, 2017, 03:50:31 PM
I've been mulling this one over for a while as I wasn't sure what I thought of it.

Ultimately, however, I think I agree with Brolly, even though there's an element of hypocrisy in what he says, as is per usual with him.

Cooper is gaining financially from his status in the game following a great career. He is expending none of what made him great for this reward. I don't like it and it'd be great if Cooper saw this and reversed his decision to take some of the money.

Post by: screenexile on September 25, 2017, 04:20:49 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 25, 2017, 03:50:31 PM
I've been mulling this one over for a while as I wasn't sure what I thought of it.

Ultimately, however, I think I agree with Brolly, even though there's an element of hypocrisy in what he says, as is per usual with him.

Cooper is gaining financially from his status in the game following a great career. He is expending none of what made him great for this reward. I don't like it and it'd be great if Cooper saw this and reversed his decision to take some of the money.

I don't think there is Joe makes no secret that he doesn't need any of the money he receives from the the GAA and quote me if I'm wrong but the fees he receives from SG and his Indo work is donated to charity. I think in this case he is on the right side of the argument.

A testimonial dinner for a player?? Seriously lads it's not like he's struggling and badly needs the money. I can understand people getting sick/falling on hard times and using the GAA to help out of course but this is greed and I don't agree with it!
Post by: seafoid on September 25, 2017, 04:26:24 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 25, 2017, 03:50:31 PM

An awful lot of people put time and effort into mol an óige and they do it for free.
The GAA has a  turnover of €60m but the work put in could be worth €300m

https://youtu.be/yBZV_n2eRcM

The GAA never had money to.pay everyone. That is not the point of the GAA. The point is playing . And sometimes playing against the best. And bating them.

I presume CC won't be paying any of his u12/14/16/21 coaches for their time, advice or encouragement
Post by: yellowcard on September 25, 2017, 05:17:28 PM
Let's say he clears a quarter of a million from this event, can he avail of the small gift scheme where any person can gift another up to €3k tax free in a year. If each individual was said to be gifting him the €500 then he could effectively walk away with all of the proceeds less whatever he gives to the 2 charities. It would make a huge difference to the total amount he will be able to trouser from running the event.
Post by: Esmarelda on September 25, 2017, 05:19:29 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 25, 2017, 05:17:28 PM
Let's say he clears a quarter of a million from this event, can he avail of the small gift scheme where any person can gift another up to €3k tax free in a year. If each individual was said to be gifting him the €500 then he could effectively walk away with all of the proceeds less whatever he gives to the 2 charities. It would make a huge difference to the total amount he will be able to trouser from running the event.
Colm Cooper won't have to pay tax on the money raised from his upcoming testimonial dinner.

It was reported yesterday that the Revenue Commissioners will not tax the estimated €250,000 that will be made from the event, which is the first of its kind for a GAA player. The cost of booking a table of 10 for the dinner on Friday, October 27 at the Intercontinental Hotel in Ballsbridge is €5,000.

Revenue confirmed money earned is not taxable where the player was not obliged - either "contractually or by custom" - to hold a testimonial.

Some of the proceeds from the event, which many see as another step on the road to a professional game, will go towards the Kerry Cancer Support Group and Our Lady's Hospital for Sick Children in Crumlin.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=276148
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2017, 05:30:30 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 25, 2017, 02:23:58 PM
Syferus.

Kerry 2014
Dublin 2016

That's two of the last four.
Post by: seafoid on September 25, 2017, 06:20:49 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 25, 2017, 05:19:29 PM
Colm Cooper won't have to pay tax on the money raised from his upcoming testimonial dinner.

It was reported yesterday that the Revenue Commissioners will not tax the estimated €250,000 that will be made from the event, which is the first of its kind for a GAA player. The cost of booking a table of 10 for the dinner on Friday, October 27 at the Intercontinental Hotel in Ballsbridge is €5,000.

Revenue confirmed money earned is not taxable where the player was not obliged - either "contractually or by custom" - to hold a testimonial.

Some of the proceeds from the event, which many see as another step on the road to a professional game, will go towards the Kerry Cancer Support Group and Our Lady's Hospital for Sick Children in Crumlin.

Some.
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2017, 07:14:09 PM
How does an ex Co player creaming money from eejits put us on "the road to a professional game"?
We'll hardly get enough eejits to put up €70k p.a. for around 900 footballers and maybe 350 hurlers.
Post by: macdanger2 on September 25, 2017, 08:20:05 PM
Quote from: general_lee on September 25, 2017, 11:57:03 AM
This isn't something that sits well with me and while I'm quite sure the Gooch himself wasn't the brainchild behind it, I'm surprised someone with his modesty has agreed to it. Most high profile county players, especially in a county like Kerry, are more than well looked after. Jobs handed to them from sponsors, driving the latest Audi or BMW, not to mention the gear, meals, hotels, training facilities provided by their county boards and clubs and whatever else comes their way. Unless he's seriously in debt I can't really see any justification for this kind of thing in the GAA

Agree completely
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 25, 2017, 09:26:07 PM

[/quote]Some.
I heard today what the "some" or in this case "sum" is and a lot of lads are not happy. The GPA should make a statement or have they declared their position:
Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 09:53:34 PM
He has gone down in my estimation based on what appear to be the facts of this dinner. I hope there's more to it than meets the eye.
Post by: sid waddell on September 25, 2017, 10:01:08 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 09:53:34 PM
He has gone down in my estimation based on what appear to be the facts of this dinner. I hope there's more to it than meets the eye.
The rib-eye steaks are all going to be well done?
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 10:03:02 PM
Gooch is joining luminaries such as Aaron Rodgers and myself in Magpie Seanie's bad books.

Cooper has done nothing wrong and has nothing to even concern himself with here. Best thing he can do is ignore the people trying to throw stones and not get into a public spat over it, as Brolly so dearly wants him to.
Post by: Orchard park on September 25, 2017, 10:09:34 PM
And from talking to my Galway mates, he wasn't quite so outstanding vs Cavan.

Not knocking a minor but pointing out the tripe you trot.  Not saying the minor all star selectors got it right but they saw more minor football than you  maybe
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2017, 10:13:31 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on September 25, 2017, 09:26:07 PM

Some.
I heard today what the "some" or in this case "sum" is and a lot of lads are not happy. The GPA should make a statement or have they declared their position:
I presume that as he's no longer a County footbalker he's no longer a member of the GPA?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on September 25, 2017, 10:25:22 PM
Was he ever a member? If so I can't imagine he was popular considering he went against them when taking Lucozade money at the time the GPA had their deal with Club Energise. Another example of his greed.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on September 25, 2017, 10:33:18 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 10:03:02 PM
Gooch is joining luminaries such as Aaron Rodgers and myself in Magpie Seanie's bad books.

Cooper has done nothing wrong and has nothing to even concern himself with here. Best thing he can do is ignore the people trying to throw stones and not get into a public spat over it, as Brolly so dearly wants him to.

He may not have done anything wrong as you put it but he has shown us that's he's a money grabber and has little shame in it.
Post by: vallankumous on September 26, 2017, 12:29:01 PM
I was looking to see where tickets are for sale but don't see it anywhere. Any know?

I'm not going I just wanted to see the sales pitch.
Post by: Halfquarter on September 26, 2017, 01:52:10 PM
Very sorry to see the Gooch going down this road, find it hard to believe really,especially from a Kerryman.
I wonder who will be next up, Bernard Brogan maybe? He would sell a fair few tables.
Post by: brianboru00 on September 26, 2017, 01:54:11 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 25, 2017, 05:19:29 PM

Em . . . Though I'm not a qualified accountant I'd be 99.999% sure that this is complete and utter horseshite.
Whatever is earned here will of course be taxed. Its income pure and simple.

In simple terms I could receive €20000 as a gift when I retired as club chairman after 42 years in the job. I have not contract, there is no custom of giving such gifts - that does not mean I'm exempt from same.
The one situation where I think there is a blind eye turned is whereby someone receives money towards cancer treatment or similar >> and often times a charity is set up which is exempt from tax AFAIK.

But If Cooper earns €150000 then he'll have to pay the tax man €75 000 of that approximately...
Post by: yellowcard on September 26, 2017, 02:31:46 PM
Leaving aside the rights and wrongs of Gooch's own decision, how can anybody feasibly justify charging €500 for the simple privilege of eating your dinner in the same room as a retired GAA player. I had a pint whilst standing in the same pub as Anthony Tohill not so long ago but luckily enough that was free. I know it's a big corporate affair and individuals will not be likely to be forking out the money but rather banks, insurance companies, investment firms etc but it's ludicrous the amount of money squandered by these firms when you consider the financial hardship some of these institutions put the people of the country through.
Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2017, 02:35:50 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 26, 2017, 02:31:46 PM
Leaving aside the rights and wrongs of Gooch's own decision, how can anybody feasibly justify charging €500 for the simple privilege of eating your dinner in the same room as a retired GAA player. I had a pint whilst standing in the same pub as Anthony Tohill not so long ago but luckily enough that was free. I know it's a big corporate affair and individuals will not be likely to be forking out the money but rather banks, insurance companies, investment firms etc but it's ludicrous the amount of money squandered by these firms when you consider the financial hardship some of these institutions put the people of the country through.
For a good while they couldn't afford a corporate box in Croker
Post by: Rossfan on September 26, 2017, 03:42:27 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on September 26, 2017, 01:52:10 PM
Very sorry to see the Gooch going down this road......especially from a Kerryman.

He's following a proud mercenary tradition from that County.
Post by: Maiden1 on September 26, 2017, 04:05:24 PM
Someone offered him 250000 to give a talk for a couple of hours.  He asked the guy organising it if he thought there would be enough people in Dublin willing to pay 500 EUR each.  Money for old rope he'd be mad not to.
Post by: JoG2 on September 26, 2017, 04:10:06 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on September 26, 2017, 04:05:24 PM
Someone offered him 250000 to give a talk for a couple of hours.  He asked the guy organising it if he thought there would be enough people in Dublin willing to pay 500 EUR each.  Money for old rope he'd be mad not to.

there's a lot of mad folk on here by the looks of it
Post by: Syferus on September 26, 2017, 06:17:52 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on September 26, 2017, 04:10:06 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on September 26, 2017, 04:05:24 PM

there's a lot of mad folk on here by the looks of it

Very easy to express strong morals in the abstract.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on September 26, 2017, 06:21:48 PM
Think of all the players with the similar length playing careers who step away quietly having had sufficient fulfilment from playing the game and representing their counties. They would have given the same dedicated service and made the same personal sacrifices as CC. Most would have enjoyed few if any medals, All Star awards, team holidays etc.

I think Colm Cooper's head has been turned by attending similar junkets for retired professional sportsmen like BOD.
Post by: Rossfan on September 26, 2017, 06:28:34 PM
Off with his head!!!
Cooper the mane hoor cashing in on his fame as a footballer.
Unlike all the lads who travel the highways and by ways over the winter presenting medals etc.
Post by: vallankumous on September 27, 2017, 09:24:48 AM
This should be in the non GAA section
Post by: Esmarelda on September 27, 2017, 09:33:00 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 26, 2017, 06:28:34 PM
Off with his head!!!
Unlike all the lads who travel the highways and by ways over the winter presenting medals etc.
You may have a point. Maybe it's the sum of money between this case and the example you highlight that makes the difference.
Post by: vallankumous on September 27, 2017, 09:37:49 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 27, 2017, 09:33:00 AM
Off with his head!!!
You may have a point. Maybe it's the sum of money between this case and the example you highlight that makes the difference.

Never seen anyone get more than expenses for handing out medals.
Post by: thewobbler on September 27, 2017, 09:41:42 AM
Off with his head!!!

Of course he has a point.

Someone has identified a way to make himself and Gooch a pot load of cash each for one night's work. Cash that would never otherwise have found its way into the GAA. Cash that has absolutely no bearing on future fundraising efforts by his club or county (both of which no doubt he will spearhead in the short to medium term).

Yet some still believe he is greedy / immoral / unsporting / ungrateful to take it. Only they know why.

—�

By the way, while Gooch has no doubt enjoyed the benefit of many excellent coaches, mentors and advisors throughout his career, he has also no doubt had to endure plenty of characters who assumed those roles but really should have. Those who are suggesting that this is two fingers to the mam who washed his club's under-12 kit should accept that he she probably only did that because half of his management team at under-12 (I'm guessing) were only there because they recognised they could be part of a championship set-up if Gooch is playing, and brought nothing to the table at all.
Post by: armaghniac on September 27, 2017, 10:12:21 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 27, 2017, 09:41:42 AM

Someone has identified a way to make himself and Gooch a pot load of cash each for one night's work. Cash that would never otherwise have found its way into the GAA. Cash that has absolutely no bearing on future fundraising efforts by his club or county (both of which no doubt he will spearhead in the short to medium term).

I think this kind of thing will start attracting at least some money that might otherwise have made its way into the GAA proper. You could imagine Mayo (say) having a dinner at this time of year with players attending in order to raise funds for next year. If a dinner is needed for testimonials then there could be a displacement effect.
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2017, 10:13:37 AM
Quote from: vallankumous on September 27, 2017, 09:37:49 AM
Off with his head!!!

Never seen anyone get more than expenses for handing out medals.
Right.
I've never seen a Co manager getting paid anything more than expenses.
Post by: Franko on September 27, 2017, 10:15:54 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 27, 2017, 09:41:42 AM
Off with his head!!!

Of course he has a point.

Yet some still believe he is greedy / immoral / unsporting / ungrateful to take it. Only they know why.

—�

By the way, while Gooch has no doubt enjoyed the benefit of many excellent coaches, mentors and advisors throughout his career, he has also no doubt had to endure plenty of characters who assumed those roles but really should have. Those who are suggesting that this is two fingers to the mam who washed his club's under-12 kit should accept that he she probably only did that because half of his management team at under-12 (I'm guessing) were only there because they recognised they could be part of a championship set-up if Gooch is playing, and brought nothing to the table at all.

This is definitely not true.  Businesses have a budget for this sort of carry on - if they blow 5k on a table at this jolly for Cooper alone, the next boy coming to the door selling a 500 euro table for his club's gala or looking a couple of hundred for a sign around the pitch is going to have a fair job getting it signed off.
Post by: Esmarelda on September 27, 2017, 10:31:51 AM
thewobbler, can you explain the second part of your last post? I've read it over and over and still can't make out what it is you're saying. The part I mean is "..... he she probably only did that because half of his management team at under-12 (I'm guessing) were only there because they recognised they could be part of a championship set-up if Gooch is playing, and brought nothing to the table at all."
Post by: The Gs Man on September 27, 2017, 10:36:22 AM
Took me a couple of reads, but I'm assuming he meant that Gooch's coaches at U12 level spotted his talent early on and were therefore glory-hunters.
Post by: vallankumous on September 27, 2017, 10:36:30 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 27, 2017, 10:31:51 AM
thewobbler, can you explain the second part of your last post? I've read it over and over and still can't make out what it is you're saying. The part I mean is "..... he she probably only did that because half of his management team at under-12 (I'm guessing) were only there because they recognised they could be part of a championship set-up if Gooch is playing, and brought nothing to the table at all."

I'm confused too
Post by: thewobbler on September 27, 2017, 10:42:07 AM

A number of times on this thread people have mentioned that the only reason Gooch has got where he is because of the legion of volunteers throughout his life. The intimation being that making a personal gain (after his career is over)is an affront to these volunteers. It would seem that some observers would support this fundraiser if the funds could be sent back down the chain.

I'm suggesting that in gooch's case, I'd expect that more than a few volunteers rode on his shirt tails.

Not all, probably not even many. But definitely some.
Post by: Esmarelda on September 27, 2017, 11:06:04 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 27, 2017, 10:42:07 AM

A number of times on this thread people have mentioned that the only reason Gooch has got where he is because of the legion of volunteers throughout his life. The intimation being that making a personal gain (after his career is over)is an affront to these volunteers. It would seem that some observers would support this fundraiser if the funds could be sent back down the chain.

I'm suggesting that in gooch's case, I'd expect that more than a few volunteers rode on his shirt tails.

Oh right.

You think that some of the volunteers on Gooch's underage teams got/stayed involved because they saw talented player and wanted the slaps on the back when he inevitably became a great adult player?

Obviously I can't say you're wrong but it's a strange argument, presumably without any evidence.

If it's true then we'll just say the other half, the ones that didn't do it for the glory, are the people that other posters are talking about.
Post by: thewobbler on September 27, 2017, 11:18:55 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 27, 2017, 11:06:04 AM

Oh right.

You think that some of the volunteers on Gooch's underage teams got/stayed involved because they saw talented player and wanted the slaps on the back when he inevitably became a great adult player?

Obviously I can't say you're wrong but it's a strange argument, presumably without any evidence.

If it's true then we'll just say the other half, the ones that didn't do it for the glory, are the people that other posters are talking about.

But I don't understand why anyone who had a genuine interest or hand in Gooch's development would feel aggrieved at him earning money. It's not like he let down any of those volunteers in terms of fulfilling his playing potential, or in terms of career longevity. Why on earth would anyone feel displaced from this?
Post by: Esmarelda on September 27, 2017, 11:48:54 AM
That's a fair enough opinion. I wasn't one of those that brought that particular point up.  It doesn't really account for your view on some of the volunteers' motives though.
Post by: johnneycool on September 27, 2017, 12:58:26 PM
Considering the Crokes won several Kerry and Munster club titles before finally winning an AI last year, these same coaches must have done a bit of work with the other lads as well. Gooch couldn't do it all on his own or he would have been like Declan Brown in Tipp, very talented but didn't have the team around him to push on for titles.

Hope some recognition goes to his team mates who were every bit as responsible for some of his AI medals as he was.

The media do love a forward though!
Post by: yellowcard on September 27, 2017, 02:06:02 PM
http://www.murrayspelman.ie/colm-gooch-cooper-testimonial-dinner/

Unfortunately it looks like it's invitation only this event.
Post by: Syferus on September 27, 2017, 02:29:59 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 27, 2017, 12:58:26 PM
Considering the Crokes won several Kerry and Munster club titles before finally winning an AI last year, these same coaches must have done a bit of work with the other lads as well. Gooch couldn't do it all on his own or he would have been like Declan Brown in Tipp, very talented but didn't have the team around him to push on for titles.

Hope some recognition goes to his team mates who were every bit as responsible for some of his AI medals as he was.

public.
Post by: vallankumous on September 27, 2017, 02:49:00 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 27, 2017, 02:06:02 PM

Who owns the image rights to the Kerry jersey?

Not that I'd expect the Kerry County board to object. Just wondering.
Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2017, 02:49:32 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 27, 2017, 02:06:02 PM

Colm 'Gooch' Cooper was on the Kerry senior football team for over 15 years winning an incredible 5 All Irelands,

2 against cork
2 against Mayo
1 against Donegal
0 against Dublin
0 against Tyrone

I would say it will be sold as a great networking opportunity
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2017, 02:56:59 PM
Good to see the riff raff will be kept away.
Some of them might turn up with NO TIE! !!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on September 28, 2017, 06:49:55 AM
Can we all just agree that Gooch is a shameless money grabber and move on. It's clear as day that he feels he deserves to earn a packet because he was a decent player back in the day and what he is doing is unprecedented in the game.

I don't think managers getting paid is right but it's a very time consuming job. You're probably looking at 20-25 hrs a week combined with what can be a lot of pressure and stick.

Gooch is just handing out a begging bowl to top us his retirement fund. It is shameless but I'm not all that surprised, despite his goody two shoes media image, he's always been a bit of a duplicitous snake.

Those defending his actions as anything other than selfish and greedy need to give themselves a good shake.
Post by: johnneycool on September 28, 2017, 10:29:16 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 27, 2017, 02:29:59 PM

public.

Joe public maybe, but some of us with a little more in depth knowledge know it takes more than the wee fancy dans to win games.

Post by: Syferus on September 28, 2017, 11:59:04 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 28, 2017, 10:29:16 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 27, 2017, 02:29:59 PM

public.

Joe public maybe, but some of us with a little more in depth knowledge know it takes more than the wee fancy dans to win games.

In the end it's easier to teach a player how to defend than it is how to attack. You could be stone useless as a footballer but still be a decent back - the same cannot be said of a forward.
Post by: Rossfan on September 29, 2017, 12:05:15 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2017/0928/908171-kieran-donaghy/
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 29, 2017, 01:06:04 AM
Why's it in Dublin, not Tralee/Killarney? It's all a bit strange. Black tie as well.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 29, 2017, 08:33:36 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on September 29, 2017, 01:06:04 AM
Why's it in Dublin, not Tralee/Killarney? It's all a bit strange. Black tie as well.

All the big Kerry money men are in Dublin!

It is a good question.
Post by: vallankumous on September 29, 2017, 12:26:34 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on September 29, 2017, 01:06:04 AM
Can you imagine holding this in Tralee?
Telling your team mates it's €5000 a table and even if you can afford it we'd rather you didn't go as the Kingspan and Three want to buy those tables.
Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2017, 01:43:27 PM
I think it is very grubby
Post by: Halfquarter on September 30, 2017, 12:23:59 AM

His career is not over, he is playing very well for Dr Crokes.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on November 06, 2017, 11:07:37 PM
According to Spillane, Kerry CB and Dr Crokes have been told by GAA HQ that will not be allowed to accept money from Gooch's big dinner.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/pat-spillane-ive-been-informed-that-kerry-gaa-and-dr-crokes-wont-benefit-from-colm-cooper-testimonial-36294252.html (https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/pat-spillane-ive-been-informed-that-kerry-gaa-and-dr-crokes-wont-benefit-from-colm-cooper-testimonial-36294252.html)

Post by: rosnarun on November 07, 2017, 10:00:14 AM
Quote from: longballin on November 06, 2017, 11:34:58 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on November 06, 2017, 11:07:37 PM
According to Spillane, Kerry CB and Dr Crokes have been told by GAA HQ that will not be allowed to accept money from Gooch's big dinner.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/pat-spillane-ive-been-informed-that-kerry-gaa-and-dr-crokes-wont-benefit-from-colm-cooper-testimonial-36294252.html (https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/pat-spillane-ive-been-informed-that-kerry-gaa-and-dr-crokes-wont-benefit-from-colm-cooper-testimonial-36294252.html)

Wouldn't be hard for him to donate money to his club... lining his own pockets was the purpose of that exercise.
Very misleading headline
'Wont benefit' should read 'not willing to accept benefit'
Post by: Dire Ear on November 07, 2017, 10:42:47 AM
Is the Gooch actually taking money from this or is all for charity?  Haven't been following it.
Post by: vallankumous on November 07, 2017, 10:43:38 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on November 07, 2017, 10:42:47 AM
Is the Gooch actually taking money from this or is all for charity?  Haven't been following it.

A percentage to charity. I think it's undisclosed though.
Post by: Dire Ear on November 07, 2017, 10:52:28 AM
Quote from: vallankumous on November 07, 2017, 10:43:38 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on November 07, 2017, 10:42:47 AM

A percentage to charity. I think it's undisclosed though.
Is that the issue, %?
Post by: vallankumous on November 07, 2017, 10:54:45 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on November 07, 2017, 10:52:28 AM

Is that the issue, %?

I don't think so. It's a side point.
Post by: Dire Ear on November 07, 2017, 11:04:46 AM
Quote from: vallankumous on November 07, 2017, 10:54:45 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on November 07, 2017, 10:52:28 AM

Is that the issue, %?

I don't think so. It's a side point.
Ok, cheers
Post by: yellowcard on November 07, 2017, 11:21:08 AM
Apparently it turns out both his club and the kerry county board are not getting any of the money. Will this meam more money for the charities or will it be additional funds for the gooch to trouser away. Normally there are formal cheque presentations where charities benefit but I suspect we might not see that in this instance since it would be too transaprent what the gooch got for himself then.
Post by: vallankumous on November 07, 2017, 11:34:36 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on November 07, 2017, 11:21:08 AM
Apparently it turns out both his club and the kerry county board are not getting any of the money. Will this meam more money for the charities or will it be additional funds for the gooch to trouser away. Normally there are formal cheque presentations where charities benefit but I suspect we might not see that in this instance since it would be too transaprent what the gooch got for himself then.

I didn't see anything to suggest they were to get or might expect something.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 07, 2017, 11:34:57 AM
Quote from: longballin on November 06, 2017, 11:34:58 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on November 06, 2017, 11:07:37 PM

Wouldn't be hard for him to donate money to his club... lining his own pockets was the purpose of that exercise.
Have to say I'm a bit ambivalent here. I'd I'd hate to see other players following Gooch's example but I'm not in a position to judge him or anybody else.
Could well be that he is facing medical problems in the years ahead and needs the money to meet his bills. He's been sidelined a good deal of the time with injuries picked up playing football and, AFAIK, the gaa won't give a damn. It's a player's own responsibility to  provide his own medical clover, which isn't fair or reasonable in my view.
Dunno what's the case now but a few years ago, Bernie Flynn, Jinxy, made the news.
He was in his forties at the time and claimed he was afflicted with arthritis. He blamed the injuries he picked up playing football for this and he further said that the GAA didn't want to hear about it.He had to meet his medical bills and he wasn't too happy about this.
He's not the only one I've heard complain about the GAA's refusal to help meet the burden of medical bills for injuries picked up playing football either.
Anyway, I don't know if Gooch is afraid that he may/will find himself in the same position as Jinksy but whatever, he owes the game nothing. If people were prepared to fork out the cost of attending his testimonial, you'd have to say they were consenting adults and no one forced them to dig deep in their pockets to do so.
We wouldn't have the GPA, or the CPA either if players concerns were heeded they weren't treated as serfs by the GAA in general.
There will be more testimonials I'm afraid and we live in a democracy of sorts, many players will feel they've given enough to the game and deserve some sort of reward for their troubles.
Post by: vallankumous on November 07, 2017, 11:42:26 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 07, 2017, 11:34:57 AM

Have to say I'm a bit ambivalent here. I'd I'd hate to see other players following Gooch's example but I'm not in a position to judge him or anybody else.
Could well be that he is facing medical problems in the years ahead and needs the money to meet his bills. He's been sidelined a good deal of the time with injuries picked up playing football and, AFAIK, the gaa won't give a damn. It's a player's own responsibility to  provide his own medical clover, which isn't fair or reasonable in my view.
Dunno what's the case now but a few years ago, Bernie Flynn, Jinxy, made the news.
He was in his forties at the time and claimed he was afflicted with arthritis. He blamed the injuries he picked up playing football for this and he further said that the GAA didn't want to hear about it.He had to meet his medical bills and he wasn't too happy about this.
He's not the only one I've heard complain about the GAA's refusal to help meet the burden of medical bills for injuries picked up playing football either.
Anyway, I don't know if Gooch is afraid that he may/will find himself in the same position as Jinksy but whatever, he owes the game nothing. If people were prepared to fork out the cost of attending his testimonial, you'd have to say they were consenting adults and no one forced them to dig deep in their pockets to do so.
We wouldn't have the GPA, or the CPA either if players concerns were heeded they weren't treated as serfs by the GAA in general.
There will be more testimonials I'm afraid and we live in a democracy of sorts, many players will feel they've given enough to the game and deserve some sort of reward for their troubles.

Yes, it's up to him and whoever wants to attend.
As far as the GAA are concerned this is a private matter and none of their business.
It's unfortunate they have to be dragged into it but they've said their piece and that's that.
If Spillane or Brolly or anyone else have a problem with it then that's a private matter too. Let them and Cooper argue about it among themselves.
Post by: Syferus on November 07, 2017, 12:46:37 PM
This is still the most embarassing bit of hand wringing I've seen in the GAA in a long time. Make as much as you can while you can. No one person is the moral guardian of another, let alone of a sport that treats amateur players like livestock at times.
Post by: Minder on November 07, 2017, 12:55:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 07, 2017, 12:46:37 PM
This is still the most embarassing bit of hand wringing I've seen in the GAA in a long time. Make as much as you can while you can. No one person is the moral guardian of another, let alone of a sport that treats amateur players like livestock at times.

Livestock don't have a choice
Post by: Syferus on November 07, 2017, 01:10:37 PM
Quote from: Minder on November 07, 2017, 12:55:34 PM

Most players don't think about choice when college, county and club want their pound of flesh the same week either. And if they did say no they'd be vilified by someone for it. Don't act like pressure to acquiesce isn't implied and applied on players in equal measure. None of which is any excuse for shunting players around like cattle. It's supposedly all about the greater good yet every link on the chain doesn't seem to care that much about the individual or what's best for them long term.

If Gooch can make a bit of money, he's perfectly entitled to do it. In the absence of someone else looking after you, you damn well better make sure you do it yourself.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 07, 2017, 02:26:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 07, 2017, 01:10:37 PM

Most players don't think about choice when college, county and club want their pound of flesh the same week either. And if they did say no they'd be vilified by someone for it. Don't act like pressure to acquiesce isn't implied and applied on players in equal measure. None of which is any excuse for shunting players around like cattle. It's supposedly all about the greater good yet every link on the chain doesn't seem to care that much about the individual or what's best for them long term.

If Gooch can make a bit of money, he's perfectly entitled to do it. In the absence of someone else looking after you, you damn well better make sure you do it yourself.
Post by: Therealdonald on November 07, 2017, 07:59:17 PM

I think it says all that can be said about this Gooch dinner when you compare his outlook with the O'Se's and their fundraiser for their club. Chalk and Cheese just. Actually a typical townie vs culchie outcome.
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 07, 2017, 08:22:40 PM
It does dilute the overall amount of money within Kerry GAA this year. The Centre of Excellence still due a pound for the loan-interest and Mr Tralee businessman has spent his spare-budget on the Gooch's dinner.
Post by: sligoman2 on November 07, 2017, 09:03:18 PM
What a load of begrudgers..
Why do we care how much he makes or where it goes?

More power to him and fcuk the begrudgers...
Post by: Rudi on November 08, 2017, 02:26:19 PM
Proceeds should be taxed at 99.9%. Greedy man. Fair play to the 3 O Sheas.
Post by: Orchard park on November 08, 2017, 03:50:22 PM

Do you genuinely believe Gooch was poorly treated by club, county or employer over the last 15 years
Post by: Syferus on November 08, 2017, 04:09:01 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on November 08, 2017, 03:50:22 PM

Do you genuinely believe Gooch was poorly treated by club, county or employer over the last 15 years

Do you genuinely believe the system's interest is any individual player? They're the livestock, and yes they are treated as such many, many times throughout their careers. Just because Gooch happened to be so good that he is able to draw money in for a testimonial is no excuse for anyone to begrudge him it.

It's so easy for people to be hurlers on the ditch when they have no skin in the game. You either accept the ground rules of capitalism or you don't, it's really that simple.
Post by: Orchard park on November 08, 2017, 04:27:24 PM
direct question.

was gooch treated poorly by employer, county or club.

I know numerous who were but trust me Gooch wasn't one and in fairness to him before his head was turned by crass capitalism I would have rated him one of the decent guys.

a crew of us living in limerick though are taking a table at the gaeltacht fundraiser due to the true club and community ethos shown by the 3 brothers. And i know its opportunistic by the club but fair dues to them for spotting the free advertising opportunities....

Post by: Avondhu star on November 08, 2017, 04:41:47 PM

If he wasn't nicknamed Gooch he wouldn't have got half the headlines. Give me Stephen O Neill or Canavan any day of the week
Post by: general_lee on November 08, 2017, 04:51:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 08, 2017, 04:09:01 PM

Do you genuinely believe the system's interest is any individual player? They're the livestock, and yes they are treated as such many, many times throughout their careers. Just because Gooch happened to be so good that he is able to draw money in for a testimonial is no excuse for anyone to begrudge him it.

It's so easy for people to be hurlers on the ditch when they have no skin in the game. You either accept the ground rules of capitalism or you don't, it's really that simple.
Oh piss off. County players are treated like royalty. For so-called "amateurs" they're more than looked after. Cushy jobs handed to them (permanent teaching jobs are virtually guaranteed as soon as you graduate), all sorts of scholarships/money thrown at them by universities, free gym membership/training, £100s worth of free gear each year, free car, sponsorship deals, expenses, trips paid for to play/drink the head of themselves in NY, free team holidays. Not to mention a lifetime of jersey-tuggers following them around.

I'd hazard a guess the gooch was near top of the pile when it came to being looked after.
Post by: yellowcard on November 08, 2017, 05:00:10 PM
Livestock? Don't make me laugh. Such a sweeping generalisation. To bracket a corner back from Leitrim in the same category as a multiple AI winner and All Star is ludicrous. You might have a case saying that the Leitrim corner back gets relatively little in return for the sacrifice he puts in. The likes of Gooch though has done and will continue to do well due to his profile as a top GAA player. That is only as it should be, but don't pretend that poor Gooch was treated shabbily by the GAA, he wasn't. Privately I think the O'Se's would not have been happy with his blatant money grab and it's no co-incidence that this event is taking place so soon after Cooper's only highlighting his greed moreso.
Post by: Syferus on November 08, 2017, 05:27:29 PM
Quote from: general_lee on November 08, 2017, 04:51:12 PM

Oh piss off. County players are treated like royalty. For so-called "amateurs" they're more than looked after. Cushy jobs handed to them (permanent teaching jobs are virtually guaranteed as soon as you graduate), all sorts of scholarships/money thrown at them by universities, free gym membership/training, £100s worth of free gear each year, free car, sponsorship deals, expenses, trips paid for to play/drink the head of themselves in NY, free team holidays. Not to mention a lifetime of jersey-tuggers following them around.

I'd hazard a guess the gooch was near top of the pile when it came to being looked after.

Being an IC player is a full time job you aren't paid for. Trying to point to the odd kickback totally misses the point that in any other sport the level of commitment involved would mean the player was a professional, and still get everything you're pointing to on top of it.

The Irish do begrudgry better than anyone else. It's a bit embarrassing to watch over a fûcking dinner dance, though.
Post by: armaghniac on November 08, 2017, 05:32:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 08, 2017, 05:27:29 PM
Being an IC player is a full time job you aren't paid for. Trying to point to the odd kickback totally misses the point that in any other sport the level of commitment involved would mean the player was a professional, and still get everything you're pointing to on top of it.

But it isn't any other sport, that is the whole point. The issue arising because Gooch is undermining the GAA.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 08, 2017, 05:33:12 PM
Syf, your point is generally valid. It's hard for IC players to hold down jobs in our industry for example. Multinational Inc doesn't care about Kerry v Cork and if developer A wants to take a day off on a Monday to recover, he'd better fecking request it in time, and don't be leaving early for training either, unless you work the hours back.

However, many IC players land in positions and jobs where their profile is deemed advantageous, and those jobs most certainly accommodate the needs of a top IC player. Gooch works for a bank, and he's far from the only player working for banks and being front and centre in promo campaigns etc. In reality his profile as a player helped his career, and his employer was happy to accommodate him as he played because he was intrinsically linked with them.
Post by: Therealdonald on November 08, 2017, 06:29:58 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 08, 2017, 05:32:12 PM

But it isn't any other sport, that is the whole point. The issue arising because Gooch is undermining the GAA.

Armaghniac makes the point. How many young boys grow up with dreams to play in Croker and win the All-Ireland with their county or captain their club to a championship? Now how many boys grow up to become a great player so they can have a testimonial dinner (I wonder btw did Gooch come out for the 2nd half of the dinner, saying as he went missing in many a 2nd half of a big game). The GAA is always greater than its individual parts and thats its beauty. Gooch is another mercenary. No better than them managers squeezing the life out of counties and clubs for big dough.
Post by: Rossfan on November 08, 2017, 06:46:55 PM
Former Inter County top player gets buckets of money from people voluntarily forking it out to ate a bit a mate and a few spuds in his company.
Good luck to him but I won't be partaking.
Rest of ye either go to the dinner or don't.
Then move on.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 08, 2017, 06:54:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 08, 2017, 06:46:55 PM
Former Inter County top player gets buckets of money from people voluntarily forking it out to ate a bit a mate and a few spuds in his company.
Then move on.

Sure it's well over by now isn't it?
Post by: Therealdonald on November 08, 2017, 07:16:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 08, 2017, 06:54:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 08, 2017, 06:46:55 PM
Then move on.

Sure it's well over by now isn't it?

Last I heard Gooch had set up a business HQ on the Channel Islands...
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 08, 2017, 08:33:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 08, 2017, 05:33:12 PM
Syf, your point is generally valid. It's hard for IC players to hold down jobs in our industry for example. Multinational Inc doesn't care about Kerry v Cork and if developer A wants to take a day off on a Monday to recover, he'd better fecking request it in time, and don't be leaving early for training either, unless you work the hours back.

However, many IC players land in positions and jobs where their profile is deemed advantageous, and those jobs most certainly accommodate the needs of a top IC player. Gooch works for a bank, and he's far from the only player working for banks and being front and centre in promo campaigns etc. In reality his profile as a player helped his career, and his employer was happy to accommodate him as he played because he was intrinsically linked with them.

AZ, Gooch is quite different to a lot of the other stars employed by banks in that he is actually advancing a bona fide banking career.  Sure one "star" is reportedly dyslexic - while unfortunate, but banking is hardly an optimal career path with that condition.

Post by: manfromdelmonte on November 08, 2017, 09:40:53 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on November 08, 2017, 08:33:26 PM

AZ, Gooch is quite different to a lot of the other stars employed by banks in that he is actually advancing a bona fide banking career.  Sure one "star" is reportedly dyslexic - while unfortunate, but banking is hardly an optimal career path with that condition.
he must be some banker with no qualifications in business, maths or other related field
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 08, 2017, 09:53:23 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on November 08, 2017, 09:40:53 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on November 08, 2017, 08:33:26 PM

he must be some banker with no qualifications in business, maths or other related field

What are the "normal" entry requirements into banking these days?  Back in my day, you got in based on leaving cert and two interviews.  You were expected to study for "bank exams" once on board.  Has it changed much at entry level? 
Post by: Avondhu star on November 09, 2017, 08:04:51 AM

The Irish do begrudgry better than anyone else. It's a bit embarrassing to watch over a fûcking dinner dance, though.

Are you prepared to pay more do that these gents are professional players? Over rated most of them
Post by: general_lee on November 09, 2017, 01:52:54 PM

I don't know too many full time jobs you can swan in and out of as you please. I don't know too many full time jobs where you can turn round and say thanks for employing me but I'm away for the summer  to drink he head of myself (and get paid to do so) but I might come back to ya around November time when it suits me. And don't mistake this for begrudgery, fair fucks to any man good enough to play ball for his county and get all the add ons that come with it. But don't bullshit this about them having a hard life, no one puts a gun to their head, they know the commitment needed and if they don't like it they can and do fuxk off if and when it gets too hard for them. Gaelic football and hurling players are NOT full time professionals so stop pretending they are
Post by: Avondhu star on November 09, 2017, 02:28:12 PM
The last poster is spot on. Too many of these inter-county players believe their own publicity. How manyy of them will insist on playing for their clubs when the county boss says not to. Most counties will have 10 or less games a year. Would they last in the professional world of 35 to 45 games a season?