GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 05, 2011, 12:35:29 PM

Title: Celebrity Bainisteoir
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 05, 2011, 12:35:29 PM
 ;D from the hogan stand

Celebrity Bainisteoir managers revealed
05 July 2011
Former Irish soccer star Tony Cascarino, ex-Eurovision winner Dana and comedian PJ Gallagher are among those who have signed up to the new series of Celebrity Bainisteoir series.

They will be joined by RTE Radio's Brenda Donoghue, Gillian Quinn - wife of Sunderland FC chairman Niall - and former TD Paul Gogarty. The names of two other celebrities won't be unveiled until the GAA clubs they are managing are told first.

The first match next month will see PJ Gallagher's St. Patrick's from Donabate take on Oughterard from Galway, who are managed by Paul Gogarty. Tony Cascarino, meanwhile, will take charge of Killeshin from Laois.

Gogarty said: "I met my team at the weekend and I got a great reception. I'm from Lucan in Dublin but my granny was from Roundstone in Conamara."

The popular series will return to RTE in September with the final set to be aired in November.
Title: Re: Celebrity Bainisteoir
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2011, 01:17:55 PM
Kilcullen are involved managed by Brenda Donoghue
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2011, 01:43:17 PM
Quotetake on Oughterard from Galway, who are managed by Paul Gogarty

My sympathies to the Oughterard lads.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 05, 2011, 01:56:39 PM
I know St. Patricks, Dromard of Sligo are in this and will face Aughrim in their quarter final. AFAIK they are only finding out who will manage them on Sunday. Speculation that it could be Tommy Gorman of RTE.

Paul Gogarty should be funny anyway. As for Dana - that's just not right.
Post by: Boycey on July 05, 2011, 03:24:17 PM
Always wondered whats in it for the clubs beside a bit of cheap publicity, I presume there is a financial carrot somewhere?? I can only imagine the slagging some of our lads would get over a pint on a Saturday night if they were on telly getting a team talk from Dana. Hardly good for the dignity ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 03:33:03 PM
I've wondered that myself recently; I presume there's some income from advertising (TV) passed on, and I suppose the clubs sell some local advertising.  But outside that, I have no idea ...
Post by: liihb on July 05, 2011, 04:00:23 PM
I would have thought they would have a good bit of craic too in fairness to them. A lot of the clubs that enter it haven't won anything for a while, so its an opportunity for them to go on a bit of a journey and bring the community together
Post by: Bogball XV on July 05, 2011, 04:06:33 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 03:33:03 PM
I've wondered that myself recently; I presume there's some income from advertising (TV) passed on, and I suppose the clubs sell some local advertising.  But outside that, I have no idea ...
Lads, with comments like that I wonder whether you're involved in a club at all.  Sure isn't it all one giant pissing contest, as long as your club has done something that the other shower of fcukers down the road haven't, isn't that all that matters!!  It doesn't matter what it is or how spurious, as long as ye can boast about it and stick the pictures up on the clubhouse walls (assuming you have one by now).  I'd say it'd be great craic for all the clubs and players involved.
Post by: ross matt on July 05, 2011, 04:10:46 PM
It's a typical load of RTE shite. Look at the candidates for FFS.
Dana? The She-God. PJ Gallagher? The man that laughs at his own jokes cause nobody else will.
And Brenda loudmouth Donogue? Gobshite Gogarty? Niall Quinn's missus? On a summer break from the back page of the Sindo.  Cascarino? He'd definitely be able to advise them on negotiating the parish rule!
This only reinforces the gombeen media portrayal of GAA. You'd think the clubs involved would have more cop on. If they put the same time and effort in to trying to win their own championship for instance.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 04:12:10 PM
I woulda thought Cascarino would be managing Roma Gaels or Naomh Napoli.

Aren't you supposed to have some connection to the county of the club? What's his Laois connection? In fact, what's his Irish connection?
Post by: Boycey on July 05, 2011, 04:21:22 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 05, 2011, 04:06:33 PM
Lads, with comments like that I wonder whether you're involved in a club at all.  Sure isn't it all one giant pissing contest, as long as your club has done something that the other shower of fcukers down the road haven't, isn't that all that matters!!  It doesn't matter what it is or how spurious, as long as ye can boast about it and stick the pictures up on the clubhouse walls (assuming you have one by now).  I'd say it'd be great craic for all the clubs and players involved.

Something to boast about  :D, thats exactly the point I'm making, its not something to boast about is it?? Its a competition designed to make the "celebs" look good not the poor eejits that are playing. Its something that others will use as a stick to beat you for years to come "sure the only thing ye ever won was Celebrity Bainisteor, ho ho".

It'd sit on the committee in the club and we'd be fairly proactive in fundraising and the like and if someone came in with the idea of doing that all I can say is it'd take some selling to us. Only possible benefit I can see is possbly bring new people into the club but whether they'd stay when the cameras would be gone would remain to be seen :)
Post by: Billys Boots on July 05, 2011, 04:27:26 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 05, 2011, 04:21:22 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 05, 2011, 04:06:33 PM

Something to boast about  :D, thats exactly the point I'm making, its not something to boast about is it?? Its a competition designed to make the "celebs" look good not the poor eejits that are playing. Its something that others will use as a stick to beat you for years to come "sure the only thing ye ever won was Celebrity Bainisteor, ho ho".

It'd sit on the committee in the club and we'd be fairly proactive in fundraising and the like and if someone came in with the idea of doing that all I can say is it'd take some selling to us. Only possible benefit I can see is possbly bring new people into the club but whether they'd stay when the cameras would be gone would remain to be seen :)

Or worse, ye couldn't even win Celebrity Bainisteoir.  I prefer to have my pissing contests in the relative privacy of the local.  Or I wonder am I missing some of the infamous Nordie sarcasm/wit?
Post by: liihb on July 05, 2011, 04:36:40 PM
I've watched it, and I don't think any of the clubs have come out of it badly to be honest
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2011, 04:49:23 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 05, 2011, 01:56:39 PM
I know St. Patricks, Dromard of Sligo are in this and will face Aughrim in their quarter final. AFAIK they are only finding out who will manage them on Sunday. Speculation that it could be Tommy Gorman of RTE.

I heard it's Áine Chambers.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2011, 04:51:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 05, 2011, 04:49:23 PM

Please let that be true.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 05:22:01 PM
At least Paul Gogarty won't have to apologise for f**king and blinding all around him in Oughterard.

I thought this was a great yoke the first few years, and I think a lot of the clubs that had good runs in it went on to have decent years as well, which was positive.

But they are scraping the bottom of the barrel this past few years with celebrities and their tenuous links to the counties. Sure Cascarino can't have great ties with Laois for jaysus' sake. As for Dana? What odds from Paddy Power that one of the programmes will feature the footballers down saying the rosary before training/a match?
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2011, 07:06:45 PM
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/THOR1.jpg)
Post by: Rav67 on July 05, 2011, 07:29:18 PM

I remember chatting to a fella from Faughanvale (Derry) a few years back after they were on it.  I had assumed they got some sort of revenue from it but he said they didn't get anything for it and it cost them money in the end up as the club spent loads of dough on massive flags, bunting and the like to impress the cameras.
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2011, 07:30:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 05:22:01 PM
At least Paul Gogarty won't have to apologise for f**king and blinding all around him in Oughterard.

I thought this was a great yoke the first few years, and I think a lot of the clubs that had good runs in it went on to have decent years as well, which was positive.

But they are scraping the bottom of the barrel this past few years with celebrities and their tenuous links to the counties. Sure Cascarino can't have great ties with Laois for jaysus' sake. As for Dana? What odds from Paddy Power that one of the programmes will feature the footballers down saying the rosary before training/a match?

That's never stopped him before.  :D
Post by: Drummerboy on July 05, 2011, 08:12:36 PM
I know it was a positive experience for Ballymun Kickhams, got the whole community behind the club. Over 9,000 turned up for the final in Parnell Park. Couple of the players now on Dublin minor team and a few more have stepped up to clubs Senior team. So positives all around.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 05, 2011, 10:00:16 PM
Quote from: ross matt on July 05, 2011, 04:10:46 PM
It's a typical load of RTE shite. Look at the candidates for FFS.
Dana? The She-God. PJ Gallagher? The man that laughs at his own jokes cause nobody else will.
And Brenda loudmouth Donogue? Gobshite Gogarty? Niall Quinn's missus? On a summer break from the back page of the Sindo.  Cascarino? He'd definitely be able to advise them on negotiating the parish rule!
This only reinforces the gombeen media portrayal of GAA. You'd think the clubs involved would have more cop on. If they put the same time and effort in to trying to win their own championship for instance.

Well said Matt. Couldn't agree more.
Post by: TonesAbú on July 05, 2011, 10:04:41 PM
Dana is over Lissan in Derry, met her first last friday
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2011, 10:14:15 PM
What sort of training does she have you doing?
All kinds of everything?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 10:16:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 05, 2011, 10:14:15 PM
What sort of training does she have you doing?
All kinds of everything?
That reminds me of something, but I don't know what.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 05, 2011, 10:20:27 PM
Dana is in Lissan, a junior club in Derry, right on the Tyrone border.
Post by: Rav67 on July 05, 2011, 10:26:14 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on July 05, 2011, 10:20:27 PM
Dana is in Lissan, a junior club in Derry, right on the Tyrone border.

They are intermediate- I think the clubs that have been involved before have always been intermediate as well.  I would think any club with a decent chance of winning an intermediate championship wouldn't bother with it given the time of year it's on.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 10:31:27 PM
Maryland won the Westmeath championship the same year they won CB I think.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 06, 2011, 09:11:51 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2011, 04:51:40 PM

Oh that would be priceless, I might even watch it now.  :)

Please let that be true.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 06, 2011, 10:23:42 AM
Love to see Dana doing this before a game :D

Let's be havin' you!!!  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_8JLkwzpd0)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 06, 2011, 11:37:07 AM
Quote from: Boycey on July 05, 2011, 03:24:17 PM
Always wondered whats in it for the clubs beside a bit of cheap publicity, I presume there is a financial carrot somewhere?? I can only imagine the slagging some of our lads would get over a pint on a Saturday night if they were on telly getting a team talk from Dana. Hardly good for the dignity ;D

I didn't think the GAA had snobs until now! So fcuk if a team enters it, it's a bitta craic with no harm done. Teams get slagged no matter what and if a club gets publicity over it then what harm. Have only watched it a couple of times but find it amusing and the players all seem to enjoy it but try real hard to win it. Again what harm?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 06, 2011, 11:38:15 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2011, 04:51:40 PM

Please let that be true.

That would be absolutely hilarious but I reckon you're taking the piss.
Post by: Boycey on July 06, 2011, 12:04:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 06, 2011, 11:37:07 AM

I didn't think the GAA had snobs until now! So fcuk if a team enters it, it's a bitta craic with no harm done. Teams get slagged no matter what and if a club gets publicity over it then what harm. Have only watched it a couple of times but find it amusing and the players all seem to enjoy it but try real hard to win it. Again what harm?

Jaysus I've been called a lot of things in my life but a GAA snob is a new low for me :D

I must have led a sheltered life, I had to google Aine Chambers there to see who she was :o :o :o
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2011, 12:12:40 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2011, 10:31:27 PM
Maryland won the Westmeath championship the same year they won CB I think.

They did indeed win the Intermediate Championship for the first time in donkeys years that year and have pushed on to become a very competitive team at senior level so positives all round for them. Well apart from the "generous" mascot who had his supporters car burnt out...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2011, 12:15:45 PM
Apparently the Lissan lads were something other than overwhelmed when they got word on Friday night!  :D
Post by: Billys Boots on July 06, 2011, 01:21:32 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 06, 2011, 12:15:45 PM
Apparently the Lissan lads were something other than overwhelmed when they got word on Friday night!  :D

At the risk of repeating myself, I can't for the life of me understand how anyone involved with a club would be anything other than underwhelmed by the prospect of being exploited to enhance the 'profile' of some Z-list nobody. 
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2011, 01:31:00 PM
I think it's fairly self explanatory why a bunch of 24 young(ish) fellas would be happy to see Glenda Gilsenan, Emma O'Driscoll or whatever come into the dressing room.

Dana, Nell McCafferty and that hag from Leitrim? I'm not so sure of.
Post by: Jinxy on July 06, 2011, 01:31:27 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 06, 2011, 12:04:59 PM

Jaysus I've been called a lot of things in my life but a GAA snob is a new low for me :D

I must have led a sheltered life, I had to google Aine Chambers there to see who she was :o :o :o

She's a hell of a woman.
She really put Sligo on the map.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2011, 02:30:46 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 06, 2011, 01:21:32 PM

At the risk of repeating myself, I can't for the life of me understand how anyone involved with a club would be anything other than underwhelmed by the prospect of being exploited to enhance the 'profile' of some Z-list nobody.

That's one way of looking at it and this would probably be seen as a nuisance by any of the big senior clubs out there. However its been a Godsend to all those Intermediate clubs who have just been threading water for years with no championship finals to get excited about. Great excuse to get the bunting up and get more people involved with the club. Putting up with the Z-list nobody is unfortunately part of the package but that's what the producers and focus groups think we're all interested in these days.
Post by: laoislad on July 06, 2011, 02:37:07 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 05, 2011, 04:12:10 PM
I woulda thought Cascarino would be managing Roma Gaels or Naomh Napoli.

Aren't you supposed to have some connection to the county of the club? What's his Laois connection? In fact, what's his Irish connection?

Loads of Cascarino's in Laois! Well they are now named Casey but sure its close enough  ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on July 06, 2011, 02:41:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 06, 2011, 11:37:07 AMI didn't think the GAA had snobs until now!
Jaysus, munster and parts of leinster is full of hurling snobs (maybe even north antrim too).
Post by: laoislad on July 06, 2011, 02:45:52 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 06, 2011, 01:31:27 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 06, 2011, 12:04:59 PM

She's a hell of a woman.

Right up there with Sligo Rovers as the best thing to come out of the county in years.
Post by: Jinxy on July 06, 2011, 03:10:54 PM
I'd never even heard of Sligo until Áine took the internet by storm.
Post by: thejuice on July 06, 2011, 03:39:53 PM
Was funny the reaction John Waters got whenever he was on. No-one knew who he was.

I haven't watched it since and that was the only time seeing it.

Would only know Tony Cascarino and Dana. Wouldn't pick any of the others from a crowd but then I suppose that's why they want to be part of the show.
Post by: muppet on July 07, 2011, 03:01:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 06, 2011, 01:31:27 PM
She's a hell of a woman.

....until she sat on it.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2011, 07:03:00 PM
I never understood why the photographer was always lying on the ground behind her.
She always looked so surprised.
Post by: Declan on July 12, 2011, 01:58:53 PM
One of the Sligo lads in here reckons Tommy Fleming is looking after the Sligo team
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2011, 02:09:35 PM
Quote from: Declan on July 12, 2011, 01:58:53 PM
One of the Sligo lads in here reckons Tommy Fleming is looking after the Sligo team

I wonder will he have a black pot on the sideline ?
Post by: muppet on September 25, 2011, 07:16:40 PM
This would be much better if the Celebrity was the referee instead of the bainisteoir..
Post by: Jinxy on September 25, 2011, 07:30:29 PM
It'd be much better if the celebrity was an actual celebrity.
Post by: ross4life on September 25, 2011, 09:44:21 PM
If only all managers looked that good.
(http://www.southtipptoday.ie/webimage/istt_20_07_11_celeb_bainisteoir_bc_2_1_2884715!image/1761341173.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_595/1761341173.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on September 25, 2011, 09:50:03 PM
Niall Quinn is a lucky, lucky man.
Post by: mckieran on September 26, 2011, 05:15:16 PM
QuoteAt the risk of repeating myself, I can't for the life of me understand how anyone involved with a club would be anything other than underwhelmed by the prospect of being exploited to enhance the 'profile' of some Z-list nobody. 

In fairness, there is more to it than that. I knew a few of the lads involved in one of the teams last year. They didnt have any home matches, and were saying how great it was to go away for the match, felt like they were professional footballers, staying in hotels etc.
Post by: Niall Quinn on September 26, 2011, 05:37:02 PM
Anyone know how long it takes to boil spuds?
Post by: ross4life on September 26, 2011, 08:00:00 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on September 26, 2011, 05:37:02 PM
Anyone know how long it takes to boil spuds?
15-20mins but would take longer to boil spuds the poster.
Post by: muppet on September 27, 2011, 02:26:09 PM

First they get Dana.

She does a Mary O'Rourke on it and who do they get as a replacement?

Daniel O'Donnell's wife!

They are probably wondering what they did to deserve being treated like that.

If Mrs O'Donnell isn't up to it maybe they can get Iris Robinson? That would be a bit of craic.
Post by: Bingo on September 27, 2011, 02:29:37 PM
What grade are these clubs that play in it - senior, intermediate or junior?

Wasn't it Ballymuns Junior B team that played in it last year or previous?
Post by: Drummerboy on September 27, 2011, 03:48:59 PM
It was Ballymuns 2nd team – Intermediate team. A couple of lads from that team has advanced to the Senior teams this year, while another couple played in the All-Ireland minor final for the Dubs against Tipp. John Small and Eoin Archibald. Overall it was a great boost for the club and local community. For intermediate players, playing in front of 8,000 plus crowd in Parnell Park will never be forgotten.
Post by: muppet on September 27, 2011, 04:40:56 PM
Quote from: Drummerboy on September 27, 2011, 03:48:59 PM
It was Ballymuns 2nd team – Intermediate team. A couple of lads from that team has advanced to the Senior teams this year, while another couple played in the All-Ireland minor final for the Dubs against Tipp. John Small and Eoin Archibald. Overall it was a great boost for the club and local community. For intermediate players, playing in front of 8,000 plus crowd in Parnell Park will never be forgotten.

Where are you going with your positive upbeat comments?

Ya can't be doin' that!
Post by: gerry on October 02, 2011, 10:31:23 PM
One dublin team winning a year is plenty
Post by: BennyCake on October 02, 2011, 10:39:49 PM
Quote from: gerry on October 02, 2011, 10:31:23 PM
One dublin team winning a year is plenty

It's one too many if you ask me.
Post by: Jinxy on October 03, 2011, 12:08:33 AM
Would have liked to see Donabate win.
PJ Gallagher seemed like a genuinely decent fella.
Gogarty on the other hand.....
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2011, 04:41:19 PM
When is the Cascarino v Gillian Quinn (yum yum) game?
I know who won!
Post by: Gold on October 03, 2011, 10:47:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 03, 2011, 12:08:33 AM

He came accross great--far better than that dick with the Galway team
Post by: AZOffaly on October 16, 2011, 04:18:25 PM
Killeshin won the Laois Intermediate Championship today. That's them and Maryland that have won their respective county championships the same year they appeared in CB. Any others?
Post by: Jinxy on October 16, 2011, 04:33:41 PM
Teams will be queuing up for this.
Nobber won the Intermediate last year too.
Post by: haze on October 16, 2011, 06:22:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 16, 2011, 04:18:25 PM
Killeshin won the Laois Intermediate Championship today. That's them and Maryland that have won their respective county championships the same year they appeared in CB. Any others?

And Killeshin were very impressive in doing so today. Very fit and well drilled team. Think they have only lost 1 competitive game out of 20 this year..

Must create a great buzz around a club and among players when it's announced at start of year that the club has been selected to take part.
Post by: BennyCake on October 16, 2011, 07:37:01 PM
How did big Cas get on?
Post by: muppet on October 16, 2011, 08:07:48 PM

Kiltimagh made the All-Ireland final afaik.
Post by: spuds on October 16, 2011, 08:43:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 16, 2011, 08:07:48 PM

Kiltimagh made the All-Ireland final afaik.
Kiltimagh were in first Celebrity Bainisteoir in 2008, won the Mayo junior in 2009 getting beaten in all Ireland junior club final by Castlegregory of Kerry the following Paddy's day.

EDIT: They were relegated to junior the year they did Celebrity Bainisteoir
Post by: Jinxy on October 23, 2011, 09:53:59 PM
Some savage scores kicked in the Killeshin v St Pats game.
The no.18 that came on for Killeshin scored one of the best frees from distance off the ground I've ever seen and then scored an outrageous point from the wing with the outside of his boot.
The full forward and wing forwards looked like very good players.
I'd say they'll win it out.
p.s. Tommy Fleming.  :-[
Post by: Gold on October 24, 2011, 09:53:58 PM
Some scores kicked alright!

Sligo teams FF was skilful. 3 Great scores at start from Laois wing forward

Fleming wtf?

Cas has come on well

Post by: Orangemac on October 24, 2011, 11:46:10 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 03, 2011, 10:47:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 03, 2011, 12:08:33 AM

He came accross great--far better than that dick with the Galway team
Showed a clip of the 2 of them being introduced to their teams on Republic Of Telly. Gallagher removes motorbike helmet to racous cheering, Gogarty enters dressing room to complete silence, "Hello lads", cue tumbleweed. Cringe isn't the word.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 24, 2011, 11:47:26 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 24, 2011, 09:53:58 PM
Some scores kicked alright!

Sligo teams FF was skilful. 3 Great scores at start from Laois wing forward

Fleming wtf?

Cas has come on well
Padraic Clarke, very good player, was u21 this yr and played for sligo u21s, should make an impact for sligo seniors or juniors this yr.

It was a cracking game, the  scores of killeshin were unreal, serious quality in the game, Pats did us proud, we played pats u20s and they had 23 togged out for 13 a side so hopefully CB will have a positive knock on effect and winning u20b championship would be a good start.

PS Tommy Fleming total bluffer
Post by: Jinxy on October 25, 2011, 01:20:03 PM
The thing that bugs me is the ones that walk into a dressing-room after a lifetime of zero sporting experience and start spouting cliches like "Losing is not an option".  ::)
Big Cas would make a good manager alright.
He understands how players think for a start.
Post by: orchard 8195 on October 25, 2011, 01:32:01 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 23, 2011, 09:53:59 PM
The no.18 that came on for Killeshin scored one of the best frees from distance off the ground I've ever seen and then scored an outrageous point from the wing with the outside of his boot.
There also didnt seem to be a big breeze as there was a few long rangers kicked at the other end 2. Anybody know the name of that number 18, that free was abs unreal and then the score after was just as impressive. Killeshin seemed to have some extremely talented players for a intermediate side.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on October 25, 2011, 01:49:13 PM
Are spoilers allowed on here?
Post by: haze on October 25, 2011, 11:14:48 PM
Quote from: orchard 8195 on October 25, 2011, 01:32:01 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 23, 2011, 09:53:59 PM
There also didnt seem to be a big breeze as there was a few long rangers kicked at the other end 2.
Anybody know the name of that number 18, that free was abs unreal and then the score after was just as impressive. Killeshin seemed to have some extremely talented players for a intermediate side.
Shane Lowry I think is the player you are talking about. Started in the county final last week which was surely on the back of that cameo. Those scores were outrageous. His brother who is out of the country, Damien played minor and under 21 for Laois and would be a better player.

Their full forward and free taker Cathal Brennan is their main man
Post by: Jinxy on October 26, 2011, 12:03:47 AM
Yeah he was very accurate with the frees from the hand.
A lot of them were a long way out too.
Very impressive display of shooting all round.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on October 26, 2011, 09:43:22 AM
Heard that a few of the Lissan lads spent an extra night or two around galway to clear up a dispute they had with bouncers after the match!  ;D
Post by: HiMucker on October 26, 2011, 10:16:48 AM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on October 26, 2011, 09:43:22 AM
Heard that a few of the Lissan lads spent an extra night or two around galway to clear up a dispute they had with bouncers after the match!  ;D
It must have been the tyrone lads playing for them  ;) Hallions!
Post by: Radda bout yeee on October 26, 2011, 11:15:20 AM
Well I'll claim them on the principle of consistency seeing as its an all tyrone first round in the senior ulster club this sunday in Omagh!  ;)
Post by: HiMucker on October 26, 2011, 02:14:21 PM
I suppose Ballinderry is your only hope of success in the Ulster club :-*
Post by: gerry on October 27, 2011, 04:18:50 PM
Just watched it, some scores by number 18 
Post by: Jinxy on October 30, 2011, 09:38:10 PM
It's blatantly obvious the Oughterard lads can't stand Gogarty.
Thought the language out of wee Daniels missus during training was hilarious.
Post by: Gold on October 31, 2011, 01:59:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 30, 2011, 09:38:10 PM

That man had to concentrate so hard when he was clapping to make sure his 2 hands conncected with each other. Watch it again.

Did you see him shouting 'come on' like a wee girl before the game in the changing room  --eyes closed and hands in the air in full camp pose

Cringeworthy stuff--thing is those boys always seem to win their games.

Hope Cas rolls his team over (although harsh on the Galway team as some of their players seem 100%) to stop him from running around saying he managed a team to victory.
Post by: Gold on November 06, 2011, 06:55:24 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 31, 2011, 01:59:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 30, 2011, 09:38:10 PM

That man had to concentrate so hard when he was clapping to make sure his 2 hands conncected with each other. Watch it again.

Did you see him shouting 'come on' like a wee girl before the game in the changing room  --eyes closed and hands in the air in full camp pose

Cringeworthy stuff--thing is those boys always seem to win their games.

Hope Cas rolls his team over (although harsh on the Galway team as some of their players seem 100%) to stop him from running around saying he managed a team to victory.
What sort of camp singing is he at now.

F uck me
Post by: muppet on November 06, 2011, 06:57:25 PM
Final on now.

Gogarty singing I've got a feeling. This is truly a multi-untalented man.
Post by: Jinxy on November 06, 2011, 09:03:13 PM
See the way the Oughterard lads look at him?  :o
Sheer loathing!
Killeshin were the best team in it and Big Cas came across as a gent.
Post by: INDIANA on November 06, 2011, 09:06:48 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 06, 2011, 06:57:25 PM
Final on now.

Gogarty singing I've got a feeling. This is truly a multi-untalented man.

You cant be an Irish politician and be talented.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 06, 2011, 09:37:30 PM
Would like to see more sports people on CB.

Dearbhla O'Rourke
Tony Ward
Denis Irwin
John Tracey
Michael Curruth
Padraig Harrington
Sean Kelly
Ken Doherty
Kevin O'Brien

With sport celebrities, i fell there can be more experience of their descipline, commitment, psychology and confidence brought to the table. They may not know the ends and out of Gaelic football. But i'd be more interested in the different views they might bring to the game.

I find the TV celebrities to out of touch with sport in general, and offer these nothing more than media attention!
Post by: INDIANA on November 06, 2011, 09:41:35 PM
I'd still have the Seoiges in charge of some team. Have to have something to look at!
Post by: From the Bunker on November 06, 2011, 09:44:44 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 06, 2011, 09:41:35 PM
I'd still have the Seoiges in charge of some team. Have to have something to look at!

Suppose they would guarantee a good turn out for training!
Post by: muppet on November 06, 2011, 11:26:25 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 06, 2011, 09:37:30 PM
Would like to see more sports people on CB.

Dearbhla O'Rourke
Tony Ward
Denis Irwin
John Tracey
Michael Curruth
Padraig Harrington
Sean Kelly
Ken Doherty
Kevin O'Brien

With sport celebrities, i fell there can be more experience of their descipline, commitment, psychology and confidence brought to the table. They may not know the ends and out of Gaelic football. But i'd be more interested in the different views they might bring to the game.

I find the TV celebrities to out of touch with sport in general, and offer these nothing more than media attention!

You don't know the ins and outs of your idioms. :P
Post by: AZOffaly on November 07, 2011, 03:43:32 PM
Why was Matthew Clancy only a sub? He was wearing 18 anyway. And he seemed to do wreck when he came on.
Post by: muppet on November 07, 2011, 03:57:07 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 07, 2011, 03:43:32 PM
Why was Matthew Clancy only a sub? He was wearing 18 anyway. And he seemed to do wreck when he came on.

You'll have to translate for us slow westerners.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 07, 2011, 03:58:29 PM
He caused a lot of damage when he came on. Score 3 points in extra time I think?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 07, 2011, 04:22:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 07, 2011, 03:43:32 PM

He was carrying an injury. Only came on for extra-time. Scored 0-3 almost immediately. Could well have been the difference had he been fit to play the whole game alright. Oughterard also lost their other best player Joe Joe Greaney before extra-time which is why Killeshin suddenly started winning lots of possession.
Title: Celebrity Bainisteoir
Post by: The Biff on October 15, 2012, 11:45:34 AM
If there is a new Thread on this somewhere covering this year's series, then I cant find it.  But I suppose I've been absent for quite a long while from these parts, so maybe I've forgotten where to look.

Anyway .... here's the most Prime-Time-scheduled GAA-related show on RTE at the moment and there seems to be feck-all interest on it around these parts.  Do the purists among you really have no interest?

Are there any players here who have actually taken part in this in the past, i.e. their team has featured?  Given the lack of any useful knowledge of this year's crop of Bainisteoirí, I presume that the teams are really relying on their own Training resources.  This year's TV programmes seem to spend more time showing the "Celebrities" making eejits of themselves AWAY from the field, and even less action than before.  But I suppose the series is hoped to appeal to the non-GAA devotees, so that's understandable.

The main lesson learned from last night's show ..... Sandwiches are best made by the ladies.   ;)
Post by: Hardy on October 15, 2012, 11:59:57 AM
I don't know if I could be considered a purist, Biff, but I certainly have no interest in this shite. It starts from the disadvantage that it's "reality TV" and so is shite by definition. Maybe I'm prejudiced by my pathological loathing of this format in general, but I think it cheapens the sport to have this shoddy showbiz nonsense promoted as if it were a real competition.

I don't like it.
Post by: Hardy on October 15, 2012, 12:06:26 PM
P.S. I'm sorry I missed the alliterative possibilities of "shoddy showbiz shite" in the above. Shucks.
Post by: ballinaman on October 15, 2012, 12:17:12 PM
I was working with Tramore in their match with Tullow in the 1st round this year. The team were locked out of the dressing room at half time for 5 minutes in the driving rain while they set up cameras to film them coming in. Absolute joke.
Post by: Asal Mor on October 15, 2012, 12:28:32 PM
I must confess to enjoying this show. It is utter shite but once you get past that it can be quite enjoyable. It means a lot to the teams involved and the GAA teams always come out of it well i think. They show a lot of patience and kindness to the idiot bainisteoiri and even humor them by cheering their awful motivational speeches. It usually goes something like "Listen lads, I know nothing about this game, but I'll put my heart and soul into this". Not surprising since a lot of the celebs have come from the reality TV music shows where contestants are forever telling us that " I really put my heart and soul into that song". They're all heart and soul, these people.
Post by: johnneycool on October 15, 2012, 01:10:30 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on October 15, 2012, 12:17:12 PM
I was working with Tramore in their match with Tullow in the 1st round this year. The team were locked out of the dressing room at half time for 5 minutes in the driving rain while they set up cameras to film them coming in. Absolute joke.

Well it is a TV show.
Post by: sheamy on October 15, 2012, 01:14:11 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 15, 2012, 11:59:57 AM
I don't know if I could be considered a purist, Biff, but I certainly have no interest in this shite. It starts from the disadvantage that it's "reality TV" and so is shite by definition. Maybe I'm prejudiced by my pathological loathing of this format in general, but I think it cheapens the sport to have this shoddy showbiz nonsense promoted as if it were a real competition.

I don't like it.

Only a Looney could create such a show
Post by: armaghniac on October 15, 2012, 01:18:11 PM
QuoteOnly a Looney could create such a show

The fact that they continue to show it suggests that they have a reasonable audience. So it meets the requirements of a TV programme. I think it is positive enough in GAA terms, showcasing things to a general audience and providing a bit of a boost to the clubs involved.
Post by: Asal Mor on October 15, 2012, 01:29:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 15, 2012, 01:18:11 PM
QuoteOnly a Looney could create such a show

The fact that they continue to show it suggests that they have a reasonable audience. So it meets the requirements of a TV programme. I think it is positive enough in GAA terms, showcasing things to a general audience and providing a bit of a boost to the clubs involved.

Yeah I'd say ya wouldn't get too many GAA fans waching but celebrity fans would love it.
Post by: The Biff on October 15, 2012, 01:37:29 PM
I do think the GAA Clubs involved are coming out fairly well out of it.  The Community spirit displayed is always very strong, and the Celebs all seem to learn to preach a glowing positive message about their new-found love for the game.

I never doubt that it is first-and-foremost a TV show.  But even in that regard, it's a pity to hear about that "lock-out" experience mentioned above.  That's the part I'd like to hear more about, i.e. where the TV aspect actually interfered with the Training and/or matches.  That's not good.

Last night also showed Ciaran Whelan showing Mary Byrne some footage of herself bleating at the Ref in the previous game.  My first thought ... Uh Oh, here's the GAA Hierarchy "hijacking" this programme to preach their "Respect the Refs" campaign.  But then it seemed that Calum Best did the same thing in the match, so maybe not.

I wonder did the Moy Davitt's lads actually eat any of those sandwiches.   :o

The matches themselves come out fairly well, although they have obviously been editted down to leave out all the missed frees that feature in most Junior games.  Even the scrapping doesn't look too bad.

Next week has Roz training them Longford hoors and she wearing next to nathin'.  Even you'd watch that Hardy.  Come on now, admit it.   :P
Post by: magpie seanie on October 15, 2012, 03:46:56 PM
It's GAA for non-GAA people.
Post by: ballinaman on October 15, 2012, 03:49:46 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 15, 2012, 03:46:56 PM
It's GAA for non-GAA people.
GAA Lite
Post by: Gazzler on October 28, 2012, 11:19:38 PM
Mayo finally win an All Ireland.