America`s Gun Culture

Started by Wildweasel74, December 14, 2012, 06:00:57 PM

Quote from: trileacman on August 29, 2015, 07:06:51 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 29, 2015, 02:13:54 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 29, 2015, 01:42:24 PM
I fair say i know alot more about the cold war than you, Americas paranoid on communism is well documented. maybe if you didn't put Nuclear weapons sites in turkey leading to the Cuban missile crisis the cold war mightn't have kicked off. Am surprised you know, since most Americans seem stuck back in 1791, in a way alot like Northen Ireland half them are still stuck back with King Billy in 1690

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_killings_under_Communist_regimes

I'm sure the 80-100 M people who died under communist dictatorships would respectfully disagree with you
And the millions slaughtered under by U.S. Forces and capitalist banana republics would disagree with you ya f**king idiot.

LOL-Stalin, Mao , Pol Pot. US doesn't hold a candle to them. Someone must have stolen the history books out of your bag my friend.

FFS it took 3 yanks to stop the gunman on the train last week while the French train guards hid in their booth

don't forget the brit whitey- 4 of them got the Legion of Honor medal.

Listen lads if you think its your business, or if your opinion (which you are completely entitled to BTW) makes any odds to Americans' opinions, or the laws their government creates, your sadly mistaken.

Whats more, if your opinion had any weight it would likely be viewed negatively and get people's back up even more.

The gun culture in America is nuts of course, but remember your looking at it from your own perspective.

I'll harp back again to the thing of individualism, its a lot stronger in America than it is in Ireland where people tend to look at their community and country as more of a collective. So in America, if you tell one guy with guns that is doing no harm to anyone, that you are gonna take his guns away because someone else done something bad, he will not understand it. He really literally wouldn't understand or get that it is for the greater good. Whereas in Ireland I think that there is be more of an acceptance of "takin one for the team" or whatever.

That of course only deals with individuals opinions tho, which despite the facade of democracy is actually irrelevant to the laws. The real reason there is no gun control in America is because the lobby groups have so many politicians in their pockets.

Anyway since getting rid of the guns unfortunately appears to be off the table, debating it to death is futile and only causes more division. A more productive approach might be to float some alternative solutions to America's societal problems.

Quote from: omaghjoe on August 30, 2015, 04:21:36 AM
Listen lads if you think its your business, or if your opinion (which you are completely entitled to BTW) makes any odds to Americans' opinions, or the laws their government creates, your sadly mistaken.

Whats more, if your opinion had any weight it would likely be viewed negatively and get people's back up even more.

The gun culture in America is nuts of course, but remember your looking at it from your own perspective.

I'll harp back again to the thing of individualism, its a lot stronger in America than it is in Ireland where people tend to look at their community and country as more of a collective. So in America, if you tell one guy with guns that is doing no harm to anyone, that you are gonna take his guns away because someone else done something bad, he will not understand it. He really literally wouldn't understand or get that it is for the greater good. Whereas in Ireland I think that there is be more of an acceptance of "takin one for the team" or whatever.

That of course only deals with individuals opinions tho, which despite the facade of democracy is actually irrelevant to the laws. The real reason there is no gun control in America is because the lobby groups have so many politicians in their pockets.

Anyway since getting rid of the guns unfortunately appears to be off the table, debating it to death is futile and only causes more division. A more productive approach might be to float some alternative solutions to America's societal problems.

If you think that any of us are under any impression that our opinions make any odds to the laws of the United States, then you are sadly mistaken. You appear to be under the impression that 99.9% of Americans support the status quo on guns and again, despite living there, you are sadly mistaken.

Your point about the futility on the debate of the issues is pathetic and amounts to "it's a difficult issue to confront, so let's not even bother". If more people thought like that blacks would still be picking cotton under slavery, women wouldn't be allowed vote, Catholics couldn't get jobs and Mandela would have died in prison. Embarrassing.

Quote from: heganboy on August 29, 2015, 08:48:29 PM
don't forget the brit whitey- 4 of them got the Legion of Honor medal.

Jaysus Hegan, if I start praising Tans as well they'll lose the plot completely

Quote from: gallsman on August 30, 2015, 07:36:15 AM

If you think that any of us are under any impression that our opinions make any odds to the laws of the United States, then you are sadly mistaken.

If you dont that's fine but Armaghniac's post would appear to directly contradict that.

You appear to be under the impression that 99.9% of Americans support the Saturdays quo on guns and again, despite living there, you are sadly mistaken.

Why do I appear to be under that impression? I never said anything of the sort

Your point about the futility on the debate of the issues is pathetic and amounts to "it's a difficult issue to confront, so let's not even bother". If more people thought like that blacks would still be picking cotton under slavery, women wouldn't be allowed vote, Catholics couldn't get jobs and Mandela would have died in prison. Embarrassing.

No it doesnt amount to that, the guns issue is confronted over and over again and goes nowhere and there appears to be no clear route to dealing with it sanely. There are multiple reasons for violence in American society, the most weighting in my opinion would be wealth disparity, individualism and lack of community, all of which I would rate ahead of gun availability, but none of those have even been floated as a root cause in the mainstream debate.

BTW if you keep it on topic you'll probably be less embarrassed and feel less pathetic

Quote from: whitey on August 29, 2015, 08:36:57 PM
I fair say i know alot more about the cold war than you, Americas paranoid on communism is well documented. maybe if you didn't put Nuclear weapons sites in turkey leading to the Cuban missile crisis the cold war mightn't have kicked off. Am surprised you know, since most Americans seem stuck back in 1791, in a way alot like Northen Ireland half them are still stuck back with King Billy in 1690

I'm sure the 80-100 M people who died under communist dictatorships would respectfully disagree with you
And the millions slaughtered under by U.S. Forces and capitalist banana republics would disagree with you ya f**king idiot.

LOL-Stalin, Mao , Pol Pot. US doesn't hold a candle to them. Someone must have stolen the history books out of your bag my friend.

FFS it took 3 yanks to stop the gunman on the train last week while the French train guards hid in their booth

My Cold War history is a little sketchy Whitey.. Remind me... Was America intervening in countries to stop genocide taking place? Because I dont think they bothered with any of those ones you mentioned above, in fact the last one you mentioned, I believe they created the conditions for it.

Your also forgetting the French guy who decided to remain anonymous on that train in France

winghalfun

All the arguments need to be viewed in the context of the US historical record in military "intervention" -Here's a list of them http://academic.evergreen.edu/g/grossmaz/interventions.html

As George Carlin said - We like war, we are war like people. We like war, because we are good at it. You know why we are good at it? Because we did a lot of practice. This country is only 200 years old and already we have had 10 major wars. We average a major war every 20 years in this country, so we are good at it! And that is good thing we are, we are not very good in anything else anymore. Can't built a decent car, can't make a TV set or VCR where the f**k. Got no steel industry left, can't educate our young people can't get health care for our old people, but we can bomb the shit out of your country alright?!

Quote from: omaghjoe on August 31, 2015, 07:12:16 AM
Quote from: whitey on August 29, 2015, 08:36:57 PM

My Cold War history is a little sketchy Whitey.. Remind me... Was America intervening in countries to stop genocide taking place? Because I dont think they bothered with any of those ones you mentioned above, in fact the last one you mentioned, I believe they created the conditions for it.

Your also forgetting the French guy who decided to remain anonymous on that train in France

Cold War was about limitimg spread of Communism and diminishing the influence of China and Soviet Union in SE Asia (among a humber of places)....thats where the roots of the Korean and Vietnamese war lie.  And if you think America was paranoid about the evil of Communism, do you think the 75-100 M killed the,selves

So it was to prevent the spread of Communism/Socialism/left wing governments, nothing to do with preventing genocides, dictatorships or supporting democracy then.

Glad we could clear that up.

Quote from: gallsman on August 30, 2015, 07:36:15 AM

If you think that any of us are under any impression that our opinions make any odds to the laws of the United States, then you are sadly mistaken. You appear to be under the impression that 99.9% of Americans support the Saturdays quo on guns and again, despite living there, you are sadly mistaken.

What is embarrassing is your use of the term blacks!

Black is offensive? I thought it was just a colour! Is White Offensive?

I'd have thought coloured was way more offensive.

I like the NRA.

I think everyone should carry a loaded gun, everywhere, at all times.

It would make both matches in Croker next weekend waaayyyyy more interesting. Also road rage, air rage and closing time would be much more entertaining. And imagine the Ulster Championship!

Cool......

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 01, 2015, 11:46:18 AM
Black is offensive? I thought it was just a colour! Is White Offensive?

I'd have thought coloured was way more offensive.

I recall an episode of Scrubs - not an authority on these things, but the anecdote is as good as any - where a Boston Brahmin-type character used the term 'African-American' and was gently told that 'black' was the accepted term these days.