Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 118cmal on November 24, 2008, 03:22:48 PM

Title: Na Gardaí
Post by: 118cmal on November 24, 2008, 03:22:48 PM
I am in final year of college at the moment and I am seriously considering training to be a Garda.  I am from the north, however, so I don't know anyone who has recently trained.  I tried to register my interest at publicjobs.ie but cannot since I don't have a PPs number! 

Can anyone advise how long it normally takes to train and how often recruitment takes place?  Also, is it hard to get in?

In addition, if anyone who is a Garda could give me any advice that would be great.

Thanks in advance
Title: Re: Na Gardaí
Post by: thejuice on November 24, 2008, 03:41:13 PM
did you try e-mailing them;

appointments@garda.ie
Post by: 118cmal on November 24, 2008, 03:48:17 PM
Thanks juice, missed that, I'll do it now.

Would still like to hear from any Gardaí or anyone familiar with the application process though if possible!
Post by: Donagh on November 24, 2008, 03:58:28 PM
Don't know much about the application process but have a mate from Fermanagh who finished training about two years ago around the same time another mate was passing out at Garnerville. Got the impression it was handier all round to get through the Garda training.
Post by: behind the wire on November 24, 2008, 04:33:13 PM
Her name is Anna, shes from Buncrana
Post by: Hardy on November 24, 2008, 04:56:18 PM
With ginger frizzy hair and one eye looking over there

next ...
Post by: Maguire01 on November 24, 2008, 05:14:13 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 24, 2008, 03:58:28 PM
Got the impression it was handier all round to get through the Garda training.
Does that mean the PSNI has better trained officers?
Post by: Donagh on November 24, 2008, 05:25:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 24, 2008, 05:14:13 PM

Dunno, they maybe have their own specialties. From what I understand the PSNI spend more time on human rights and physical fitness. The Garda might spend more time on learning how to solve crime - no bad thing in a police officer.
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 24, 2008, 05:30:04 PM
Ring Pillar in Fitzgibbon Street and ask him to fix you up. You will be able to get in free to all the games in Croker and you might even get to manage the Dubs.  If you are only into Club Football and like a bit of a shindig every weekend then Laois club football is for you in which case ring Darren Rooney.  If hurling is your only man then Eddie (Speedy) Brennan from the Cat's is in Portlaoise and he might get you fixed up in Kilkenny.  Fail to live up to the Cat's standards and you are on your way to the Innishowen Peninsula without as much as a warning so that one may not be a good option.

If you click on this link I think you will find the info you require: http://www.kilroyscollege.ie/course.php?courseid=31&ad=53&gclid=CJ2apYyrjpcCFQ2IMAodIAir8Q (http://www.kilroyscollege.ie/course.php?courseid=31&ad=53&gclid=CJ2apYyrjpcCFQ2IMAodIAir8Q)

Best of luck.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 24, 2008, 05:33:35 PM
Quote from: Donagh on November 24, 2008, 05:25:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 24, 2008, 05:14:13 PM

Dunno, they maybe have their own specialties. From what I understand the PSNI spend more time on human rights and physical fitness. The Garda might spend more time on learning how to solve crime - no bad thing in a police officer.
I'd say given NI's history, and the current immigration, an emphasis on Human Rights is pretty appropriate.

Funny that you mention physical finess - have you ever seen a fat PSNI officer? Some of the Gardai are a disgrace - does physical fitness cease to become an issue once you qualify? Surely it should be as much part of a job appraisal as any other competence?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 24, 2008, 05:57:03 PM
I was as close to becoming a Garda as can be,I done the aptitude test,interviews and medical and had a date to start in Templemore
I decided against it in the end and took a apprenticeship which I have never regretted thank God
Pm me if you want advice 118cmal as most of my family and in laws are in the Guards and I would be able find out a lot of info for you
Post by: The Blegard on November 24, 2008, 06:52:47 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on November 24, 2008, 03:22:48 PM
I am in final year of college at the moment and I am seriously considering training to be a Garda.  I am from the north, however, so I don't know anyone who has recently trained.  I tried to register my interest at publicjobs.ie but cannot since I don't have a PPs number! 

Can anyone advise how long it normally takes to train and how often recruitment takes place?  Also, is it hard to get in?

In addition, if anyone who is a Garda could give me any advice that would be great.

Thanks in advance

You can obviously type and find your way around the internet. you will go a long way. All you need is a small moustahe some big personal issues and take it out on the shams. No celtic tiger people to be jealous about anymore so youll  be top dog.
For Gods sake try something else especially just out of college. Go Backpacking
Post by: Saffrongael on January 25, 2013, 10:51:48 PM
Reports of a detective being shot dead in a hold-up in Dundalk
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 25, 2013, 10:53:15 PM
Sky have confirmed it.

>:(
Post by: ONeill on January 25, 2013, 11:03:40 PM
Hardy's the man to question here.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2013, 11:06:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 25, 2013, 11:03:40 PM
Hardy's the man to question here.
Or do the questioning.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 25, 2013, 11:23:46 PM
BBC mentioned that the PSNI have been informed. Dissidents?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2013, 11:34:24 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 25, 2013, 11:23:46 PM
Not necessarily, if close to the border could be regular scumbags from north of the border.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 26, 2013, 12:00:00 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 25, 2013, 11:40:48 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 25, 2013, 11:23:46 PM
Whoever was responsible, they've probably legged it up north.

Not necessarily, it's all just the general (small) area -- if it had happened close to, say, the Monaghan border, the Gardaí there would have been alerted as a matter of routine too.
Post by: T Fearon on January 26, 2013, 12:05:08 AM
At Lordship Credit Union near Cooley.Fair old track across the border relatively speaking from there,even through Ravensdale.Having said that Forkhill Credit Union was done twice in the weeks leading up to Christmas,so it could well be the same scumbags.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 26, 2013, 12:07:08 AM
There's always a boat Tony, not everyone has to think of parking a car somewhere!  ;)
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 26, 2013, 12:28:30 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 26, 2013, 12:05:08 AM
At Lordship Credit Union near Cooley.Fair old track across the border relatively speaking from there,even through Ravensdale.Having said that Forkhill Credit Union was done twice in the weeks leading up to Christmas,so it could well be the same scumbags.

This same Credit Union was robbed last year, the dead Garda lived just out the road.

Edited to add. He was on the committee of St Patricks GFC, Lordship, I believe he played for them a while back.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 26, 2013, 05:01:21 AM
RIP
Post by: washed_up on January 26, 2013, 06:46:34 AM
Shocking news-R.I.P.
Post by: Bingo on January 26, 2013, 08:23:09 AM
RIP terrible news. Condolesences to his family and colleagues.
Post by: EC Unique on January 26, 2013, 08:40:25 AM
Hearing of a shooting in Omagh last night too involving a PSNI officer but not the same tragic outcome.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 26, 2013, 09:10:46 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 26, 2013, 08:40:25 AM
Hearing of a shooting in Omagh last night too involving a PSNI officer but not the same tragic outcome.

Where abouts did this happen EC? No word of it on the news.
Post by: T Fearon on January 26, 2013, 09:28:42 AM
2 arrested in connection with the murder,in Whitehall (Dublin).
Post by: EC Unique on January 26, 2013, 09:41:37 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 26, 2013, 09:10:46 AM

Coolnaguard (SP)  as far s I heard.
Post by: Rossfan on January 26, 2013, 10:13:46 AM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0126/364604-garda-adrian-donohoe/

RIP.
I thought we'd seen the last of those days.
Post by: Tubberman on January 26, 2013, 11:11:17 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 26, 2013, 09:28:42 AM

Seems to be conflicting reports on that. I saw it in The Irish Times, but then on RTE the report said nobody has been arrested in connection with this killing so far.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2013, 11:34:51 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 26, 2013, 11:11:17 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 26, 2013, 09:28:42 AM

Seems to be conflicting reports on that. I saw it in The Irish Times, but then on RTE the report said nobody has been arrested in connection with this killing so far.
RTÉ tend to run a bit behind.

Terrible news.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 26, 2013, 11:47:02 AM
The Guard was orginally from Kilnaleck Cavan.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 26, 2013, 11:55:14 AM
Shocking news, terrible to hear this.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 26, 2013, 12:25:54 PM
He was a former Minor and u21 player with Cavan.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 26, 2013, 04:54:44 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 26, 2013, 09:41:37 AM

It was Coolnagard. They found an under car bomb in a laneway nearby on Kevlin rd.
Post by: EC Unique on January 26, 2013, 08:22:21 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 26, 2013, 04:54:44 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 26, 2013, 09:41:37 AM

It was Coolnagard. They found an under car bomb in a laneway nearby on Kevlin rd.

Pity the bullets did not connect with intended targets!

RIP to the poor Garda. Hope the scum are caught.
Post by: T Fearon on January 27, 2013, 01:37:27 PM
Why oh why did they have cash deliveries organised at the same time every week in this Credit Union?
Post by: armaghniac on January 27, 2013, 01:39:18 PM
QuoteWhy oh why did they have cash deliveries organised at the same time every week in this Credit Union?

it wasn't a delivery, it was the closing time of the CU when someone would have been going to the bank night safe.
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2013, 01:40:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 27, 2013, 01:37:27 PM
Why oh why did they have cash deliveries organised at the same time every week in this Credit Union?

Why oh why do we tolerate the scum that everyone knows are behind this type of thing?
Post by: T Fearon on January 27, 2013, 07:41:18 PM
Sorry,but the news said delivery.

Know of a scenario where a financial institution was robbed at gunpoint,staff terrified etc,one of the staff members identified the culprit,but Police warned her before the Court Case and testimony that they could not guarantee her future safety,and as a result she inevitably didn't proceed to testify against him in Court.Other staff members received statutory compensation, except the staff member in question, due to her unwillingness to testify! What's that about the law being an ass, administered by assholes?
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2013, 10:04:43 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 27, 2013, 07:41:18 PM
Sorry,but the news said delivery.

Know of a scenario where a financial institution was robbed at gunpoint,staff terrified etc,one of the staff members identified the culprit,but Police warned her before the Court Case and testimony that they could not guarantee her future safety,and as a result she inevitably didn't proceed to testify against him in Court.Other staff members received statutory compensation, except the staff member in question, due to her unwillingness to testify! What's that about the law being an ass, administered by assholes?

If it were 'statutory' then they would have to get it.
Post by: The Subbie on January 27, 2013, 10:53:21 PM
I knew the man from my Dundalk days, he started working in the Gardai just as i finished me time in the RTC, he was a class mate of a housemate of mine.
A hell of a nice fella, not your typical "guard" type at all, good crack, big into his football and enjoyed a few recreational beers same as the rest of us.

I last spoke to him over three years ago on a day/night out in Dundalk the Christmas before heading to Oz, hadn't seen him in 6/7 years but he was straight over and going over old times, slagging away about football and the St Pats Vs  St Macartan's school rivalry.( he was an ex St Pats, Cavan Man)

I'm just in shock that this man is no longer with us for the sake of a few euro.

RIP Susie.

Post by: Bingo on January 28, 2013, 12:11:01 PM
Hard to figure out this killing and its clear that it was a shoot to kill policy from the gang.

Did they under estimate the amount on cash that was in the place? Did they then panic and leave behind what was there?

To shoot someone like that, you'd have to think that they were cold hearted and ruthless killers who have done it before.

Hopefully they are brought to justice.
Post by: NAG1 on January 28, 2013, 12:35:51 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 28, 2013, 12:11:01 PM
Hard to figure out this killing and its clear that it was a shoot to kill policy from the gang.

Did they under estimate the amount on cash that was in the place? Did they then panic and leave behind what was there?

To shoot someone like that, you'd have to think that they were cold hearted and ruthless killers who have done it before.

Hopefully they are brought to justice.

We always claim on here that life appears to be cheap in different places around the world, but the price of 4000E for a family man's life is just unthinkable.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 28, 2013, 12:50:15 PM
RIP Garda Donohoe. I hope the guys who did this suffer for it.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on January 28, 2013, 12:52:38 PM
A woeful bit of phrasing here in the Indo.  ::)

"GARDAI are satisfied that their murdered colleague Adrian Donohoe was lured into a trap and deliberately ambushed."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-was-lured-into-trap-and-deliberately-ambushed-3368162.html
Post by: Orior on January 28, 2013, 01:21:59 PM
RIP Garda Donohoe

Post by: seafoid on January 28, 2013, 01:32:53 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on January 28, 2013, 12:52:38 PM
A woeful bit of phrasing here in the Indo.  ::)

"GARDAI are satisfied that their murdered colleague Adrian Donohoe was lured into a trap and deliberately ambushed."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-was-lured-into-trap-and-deliberately-ambushed-3368162.html
I think that is an Indo speciality

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-arrest-man-in-his-20s-after-aoifes-body-is-found-3286148.html

"Officers are satisfied that Aoife was collected by her killer shortly after she was last seen on October 25. She was then beaten to death."
Post by: AZOffaly on January 29, 2013, 01:45:17 PM
What does this mean?

QuoteA hell of a nice fella, not your typical "guard" type at all, good crack, big into his football and enjoyed a few recreational beers same as the rest of us.

Most of the Gardai I know would broadly fall into that same description. A guard on duty is not the same as a guard off duty, he or she are just a normal person trying to do the best job they can, in 90% of the cases at least.

RIP Detective Donohoe. Ar Dheis Dé go raibh a anam Dilís.
Post by: Bingo on January 30, 2013, 12:59:25 PM
Funeral today.

Just heard Paul Williams on Radio saying that arrests are expected in next few days and that the gang responsible for it are from the Crossmaglen area. Had heard this talked about but very surprised its been so publicly declared. Trying to smoke them out perhaps?
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 30, 2013, 07:43:40 PM
The weather was a lot kinder out in Lordship for the burial. May he rest in peace.
Title: RIP
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2013, 11:20:37 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BB5MXRzCQAA3mnR.png:large)
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 31, 2013, 03:26:47 PM
Although I haven't seen it myself,  have been told that at least one daily newspaper has all but named the ringleader of the gang responsible. This is the lowlife who robbed the credit union about 18 months ago and as can be seen here, he isn't the kind of person you want living beside you. http://www.u.tv/news/Man-charged-over-Newry-rape/b66bc272-cd2f-4f9d-af35-97cdc912985d

As part of his bail conditions on the above charge he has to live at an address in Tullydonnell, Silverbridge.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 31, 2013, 11:19:36 PM
Rumours of arrests going round South Armagh. Has anyone else heard anything of this nature?
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 31, 2013, 11:54:27 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 31, 2013, 11:19:36 PM
Rumours of arrests going round South Armagh. Has anyone else heard anything of this nature?

They are only rumours I'm afraid.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 10, 2014, 12:38:39 AM
Too much cover up bull happened,  protecting a murderer ffs
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 10, 2014, 12:44:59 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 10, 2014, 12:38:39 AM

Who do you think is being protected and why?
Post by: rodney trotter on January 10, 2014, 04:48:42 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 10, 2014, 12:44:59 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 10, 2014, 12:38:39 AM

Who do you think is being protected and why?

Was referring to the the girlfriend making up a story to the PSNI before they fled.
Post by: Oraisteach on January 10, 2014, 05:19:48 PM
Thanks, lads. 
Post by: Agent Orange on January 14, 2014, 10:00:13 AM
Judge Smithwick hit the nail on the head when he said Gardai had a culture of circling the wagons within senior ranks to protect its reputation. He may have been  referring to the murders of Breen and Buchannon almost a quarter of a century ago, but nothing has changed in the mean time and the chickens have well and truly come home to roost for the Gardai in Dundalk over the last twelve months.
The murder of Garda Donohoe was a shocking crime, but to listen to the Gardai and indeed the media over since the events in Bellurgan you would think it was the only murder in the country, to a certain extent we have been here before in the north when there was a hierarchy of victims. Some murders got much more coverage than others, it was as if some lives were worth more than others. I am not trying to make excuses for Donohoes murder, but his murder could have been prevented.
The same credit union was robbed by the same gang eighteen months previously and while it wasn't their first robbery it was probably their most lucrative. The guards knew almost immediately who was responsible, these young lads were flashing a lot of cash and letting everyone know where the money came from. On another thread on this board the subject of stolen tractors has come up. This same gang has been stealing tractors, plant, machinery, cars and committing other robberies for quite some time, but the cops just didn't want to know. In fact the deceased  Garda actually caught some of them with stolen tractors and plant less than two miles from the scene of the murder. All charges were dropped.
Recently Gardai issued an appeal about a robbery that took place at Dundalk stadium, surprise, surprise, the same gang was involved, in fact the bookmaker who was robbed actually named one of this gang, but again no charges were brought. http://www.thejournal.ie/robbery-racecourse-dundalk-1177154-Nov2013/
The events in Bellurgan weren't the first time this gang had shot someone, they had already used their shotgun in a robbery at Morgan Fuels, close to the border at Edentubber. http://www.independent.ie/regionals/argus/news/fresh-appeal-for-robbery-information-28907916.html
Previously in this thread there is mention of a rape charge in Newry. Two people were charged and were due to be sentenced in October after pleading guilty, but the case his disappeared, no longer listed, no records, nothing. Even the media, who had reported all previous court appearances in this case have gone unusually quiet. A detective from Dundalk was sent to the court in Newry on the day this pair were due to be sentenced, he sat in the court all day waiting for the pair to appear, but no one bothered to tell him that their names had been removed from the court list on the previous day. You won't hear that story after the next cross border police summit in the Crowne Plaza. ;)
I could spend most of the morning listing crimes and cases were these guys were caught red handed, but then I would also have to try to explain why no charges were ever brought, or why charges were suddenly dropped and to be honest there is no logical explanation. Not long after the Donohoe murder one of these boys who had been charged with rape in the north appeared in court in Carrickmacross on a charge of affray. He attacked a former friend with a bottle leaving him with head wounds that needed 35 staples. Yet again he walked, but only after he was ordered to apologise and shake hands with the victim. The row was over a woman, who this thug has just had a child with, the victim was an ex boyfriend.

The Gardai have played the media and the general public like a fiddle, they have used every excuse in the book as to why they have been unable to bring anyone to justice for Garda Donohoes murder, but they need to look closer to home when they are looking for someone to blame. A good place to start would be to look in the mirror. Donohoe may still be alive if these boys hadn't been allowed to run. Why were they allowed to run? Who made the decision to allow them to commit scores, even hundreds of crimes.

If the ghosts of Breen and Buchannon haunt Dundalk Garda station, they may well be singing "Karma Police, arrest this man."
Post by: orangeman on January 14, 2014, 10:05:39 AM
Agent Orange- that's shocking if all your claims are true.

How can such serious charges be suddenly removed from a court listing ?

This is mad.
Post by: NAG1 on January 14, 2014, 03:35:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 14, 2014, 10:05:39 AM
Agent Orange- that's shocking if all your claims are true.

How can such serious charges be suddenly removed from a court listing ?

This is mad.

Im thinking exactly the same thing and am baffled as to what in the day in age would give this gang the impunity to operate in this way around the border area?
Its not like it was 20 - 25 years ago so what stopping them being stopped?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 14, 2014, 03:56:20 PM
Whatever about the rest of Agent Orange's post, it is an undeniable fact that a murder of a Garda is deemed a more serious offence than the murder of a private citizen.

I think part of this is because a Garda in the line of duty is protecting other citizens, so an attack on him is effectively an attack on all citizens.
Also, an attack on a Garda can be deemed to be an attack on the state.

This is also the view in many western societies, not sure about other cultures. In America, a 'Cop Killer' has an extremely low survival prognosis..
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 14, 2014, 06:21:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 14, 2014, 03:56:20 PM
In America, a 'Cop Killer' has an extremely low survival prognosis..

We are not in America.

In the north a cop killer has a good chance of ending up in government.

Looks like the rape charge hasn't disappeared. http://www.newrydemocrat.com/articles/news/38017/rape-case-set-back-again/

It should be noted that the O'Callaghan mentioned in the above article has been in custody since he was first charged almost 2 years ago and is not a suspect in the murder of detective Donohue.
Post by: Keyser soze on January 15, 2014, 09:43:32 AM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 14, 2014, 06:21:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 14, 2014, 03:56:20 PM
In America, a 'Cop Killer' has an extremely low survival prognosis..

We are not in America.

In the north a cop killer has a good chance of ending up in government.

Looks like the rape charge hasn't disappeared. http://www.newrydemocrat.com/articles/news/38017/rape-case-set-back-again/

It should be noted that the O'Callaghan mentioned in the above article has been in custody since he was first charged almost 2 years ago and is not a suspect in the murder of detective Donohue.

And in the south as well.
Post by: Agent Orange on January 28, 2014, 05:44:08 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-25933355

Three former Irish police officers have challenged the findings of an inquiry into alleged collusion with the IRA.

Judge Peter Smithwick found, on balance of probability, that an un-named officer of the Garda Síochána (Irish police) had tipped off the IRA when two senior Royal Ulster Constabulary officers left Dundalk garda station.

Chief Supt Harry Breen and Supt Bob Buchanan were then ambushed and killed.

They were the most senior RUC members to be killed in the Troubles.

The murders took place in south Armagh in March 1989.

The three former senior garda officers, all of whom served in Dundalk at various stages in their careers, say the Smithwick finding is not based on fact and have called on the Irish government to reject the judge's conclusions as "a matter of urgency and justice".

Critique
A day after the Smithwick report was published the Garda Commissioner, Martin Callinan, apologised to the families of the two RUC officers and said he "accepted" the findings but did not go as far as saying he agreed with the findings or believed them.

The three former gardai, retired Chief Supt John O'Brien, former Chief Supt Michael Staunton and retired Chief Supt Michael Finnegan, have written a 30-page critique that they have sent to, amongst others, the Irish prime minister, Enda Kenny, and the justice minister, Alan Shatter.

Breen_&_Buchanan_murder_scene
Harry Breen and Bob Buchanan were murdered in south Armagh in March 1989
They suggest the finding of collusion "undermines the capacity of the state to actively pursue the many substantiated acts of collusion committed in the conflict".

They also say the findings impugn the good name of the Garda Siochana and the work it did in fighting paramilitarism.

After analysing the report "line by line" they criticise the Smithwick inquiry both for its conclusions and its methods.

Colluded
The three believe Judge Smithwick should have given greater weight to the statements of former IRA members that the killings resulted from a long-standing surveillance operation in which there was no garda involvement.

The IRA gave evidence to the inquiry but no member appeared in person to allow themselves to be cross-examined and challenged about their version of what happened.

The officers accuse Judge Smithwick of accepting information given in private by PSNI Assistant Chief Constable Drew Harris that unidentified garda members had colluded in the murders.

Commissioner Callinan's senior counsel described that Drew Harris evidence to the tribunal as "nonsense on stilts".

Despite this clash the two police services say they are fully united in the cross-border battle against crime and dissident republicans.
Post by: Agent Orange on August 29, 2014, 10:08:02 PM
As quick as you can say cross border cooperation http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mi5-discover-rogue-garda-leaking-information-to-ira-30546886.html
Post by: Agent Orange on March 30, 2015, 09:39:20 PM
A former garda sergeant, has been awarded €390,000 for post-traumatic stress after a masked man pointed a gun at him and told him to "get the f**k out of here, or else"
Now matter how thorugh your training, and how much you accept the occupational hazzards of confronting gun crime in a police force, the reality of facing a loaded weapon is almost certainly very different than in theory, and there's no accounting for an individual's response.
Still, is it entirely unfair to suggest a garda who was so profoundly traumatised by the sight of a gun that he was unable to work again might, possibly, have been in the wrong job?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 18, 2020, 02:26:24 AM
A Garda shot in Castlerea County Roscommon shortly before midnight tonight, he has what is to believed to life threatening injuries. One man has been arrested.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on June 18, 2020, 06:24:49 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 18, 2020, 02:26:24 AM
A Garda shot in Castlerea County Roscommon shortly before midnight tonight, he has what is to believed to life threatening injuries. One man has been arrested.

RTE reporting he has passed away. May he rest in peace

Thoughts with his family, friends and colleagues. This is desperate stuff
Post by: Blowitupref on June 18, 2020, 06:30:51 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on June 18, 2020, 06:24:49 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 18, 2020, 02:26:24 AM

RTE reporting he has passed away. May he rest in peace

Thoughts with his family, friends and colleagues. This is desperate stuff

Awful news RIP https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0617/1148139-garda-shooting/
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2020, 08:22:24 AM
Terrible news. RIP and sincere condolences to his family.
Post by: Hound on June 18, 2020, 10:29:14 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2020, 08:22:24 AM
Absolutely awful.

With the recent events in America, him having a gun was a complete handicap. Both the Garda and the sc**bag would have realised there's no way the Garda can use a gun on an unarmed man. Once the sc**bag gets it, the rules change.

There would have been protests on the streets had the Garda shot the sc**bag. Especially if the sc**bag turns out to be from a particular community.

Devastating for the family and for the Gardai.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 10:44:35 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 18, 2020, 10:29:14 AM
Absolutely awful.

With the recent events in America, him having a gun was a complete handicap. Both the Garda and the sc**bag would have realised there's no way the Garda can use a gun on an unarmed man. Once the sc**bag gets it, the rules change.

There would have been protests on the streets had the Garda shot the sc**bag. Especially if the sc**bag turns out to be from a particular community.

I agree 100%. The poor man was as much a victim of the recent hysteria as of the lowlife who shot him.
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2020, 11:01:38 AM
Sad news. RIP Garda Horkan.
A Mayoman from Charlestown.
Post by: J70 on June 18, 2020, 11:02:05 AM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 10:44:35 AM
Absolutely awful.

I agree 100%. The poor man was as much a victim of the recent hysteria as of the lowlife who shot him.

"Hysteria"?
Post by: Taylor on June 18, 2020, 11:06:05 AM
Seems he was responding to a domestic incident
Post by: J70 on June 18, 2020, 11:09:00 AM
Absolutely awful.

Yes, it is utterly tragic, but given that there is no history of the Gardai killing unarmed people, why would there be protests?

Cops kill people in the US every day and continue to do so. Vast majority of these pass without any comment. It's when film emerges of some completely unjustifiable killing, along with often no consequences for the cop involved, that public outcry results.

Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 11:09:48 AM
It's a terrible tragedy and the Garda was obviously the victim but surely Gardai other than those in armed repsonse units should not be carrying firearms? Particularly when it's in a fairly rural town in a county like Roscommon.

I think this should prompt a look at gun control in relation to Gardai, I think guns are far more likely to inflame a situation than bring control to it.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:24:44 AM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 11:09:48 AM
It's a terrible tragedy and the Garda was obviously the victim but surely Gardai other than those in armed repsonse units should not be carrying firearms? Particularly when it's in a fairly rural town in a county like Roscommon.

I think this should prompt a look at gun control in relation to Gardai, I think guns are far more likely to inflame a situation than bring control to it.

Vctim blaming.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 18, 2020, 11:27:40 AM

Only detectives are armed in the Garda and apparently Mr Horkan was promoted to the rank of detective only a few months ago. 
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2020, 11:33:04 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 18, 2020, 11:01:38 AM
Reminded me of Morley and Byrne. 2 Mayomen based in Castlerea
Post by: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 11:34:31 AM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 10:44:35 AM
Absolutely awful.

Some weird views in bold here. We don't even know the full facts surrounding this very tragic incident, yet some people are more interested in using the incident to demonstrate their hatred of Travellers or anti-racism protestors.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:41:37 AM
In your world Sid, everything is hatred. In everyone else's there's a dead Guard and a grieving family and colleagues.
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2020, 11:42:18 AM
Maybe we could all wait till some facts emerge and out of respect for the man who died before pontificating etc.
Post by: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 11:45:51 AM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:41:37 AM
In your world Sid, everything is hatred. In everyone else's there's a dead Guard and a grieving family and colleagues.

There is indeed a dead Guard and a grieving family and colleagues.

And your first thought was to use them as a weapon against anti-racism protestors.

Now that's hatred.

Weird, very weird.

Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 11:45:55 AM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:24:44 AM

Vctim blaming.

Nothing to do with victim blaming.

Why was a garda in Roscommon carrying a gun? I'm not blaming the victim here but surely Gardai should be looking at their own policies on firearms. Outside of gangland crime which armed response units already deal with, there is next to no gun crime on this state.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:47:09 AM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 11:45:55 AM

Why was a garda in Roscommon carrying a gun?
I'm not blaming the victim here but surely Gardai should be looking at their own policies on firearms. Outside of gangland crime which armed response units already deal with, there is next to no gun crime on this state.

The irony.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:48:04 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 11:45:51 AM

And your first thought was to use them as a weapon against anti-racism protestors.

Now that's hatred.

Weird, very weird.

No, its you who are weird. And obsessed, so badly that most people here no longer even react to your garbage.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:48:27 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 18, 2020, 11:42:18 AM
Maybe we could all wait till some facts emerge and out of respect for the man who died before pontificating etc.

They didn't do that with George Floyd. Why would they start now?
Post by: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 11:51:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 18, 2020, 11:33:04 AM
Tony Golden who I think was the last Garda to die on duty was from Mayo as well.

As was Garda Michael Padden who was one of two Gardai to die when they were hit by a stolen car on the Stillorgan dual carriageway in 2002.
Post by: HiMucker on June 18, 2020, 11:53:44 AM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:47:09 AM

I'm not blaming the victim here but surely Gardai should be looking at their own policies on firearms. Outside of gangland crime which armed response units already deal with, there is next to no gun crime on this state.

The irony.
I honestly don't see the victim blaming? He is questioning police policy, and if that policy is totally necessary. I think its an interesting debate.
Post by: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 11:58:13 AM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:48:04 AM

Now that's hatred.

Weird, very weird.

No, its you who are weird. And obsessed, so badly that most people here no longer even react to your garbage.

There's nothing weird about objecting to you using (and that's the only word one can use) a dead Garda and his grieving family as a weapon for your deranged little far right political agenda.

Gemma O'Doherty-esque.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:58:58 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 11:58:13 AM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:48:04 AM

Now that's hatred.

Weird, very weird.

There's nothing weird about objecting to somebody using (and that's the only word one can use) a dead Garda and his grieving family as a weapon for your deranged little far right political agenda.

Gemma O'Doherty-esque.
;D ;D ;D
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 12:01:59 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on June 18, 2020, 11:53:44 AM

The irony.
I honestly don't see the victim blaming? He is questioning police policy, and if that policy is totally necessary. I think its an interesting debate.

"There is next to no gun crime on this state" is some comment all the same.
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 12:03:11 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 12:01:59 PM

The irony.

Correct it so.

Outside of gangland crime, which is dealt with by armed response units (as I've already stated), there is next to no gun crime in the free state.

Post by: Geoff Tipps on June 18, 2020, 12:03:47 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 11:51:46 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 18, 2020, 11:33:04 AM
Tony Golden who I think was the last Garda to die on duty was from Mayo as well.

As was Garda Michael Padden who was one of two Gardai to die when they were hit by a stolen car on the Stillorgan dual carriageway in 2002.

As were Detective John Morley and Garda Henry Byrne who were conicidentally also based in Castlerea.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 12:08:54 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 12:03:11 PM

The irony.

Correct it so.

Outside of gangland crime, which is dealt with by armed response units (as I've already stated), there is next to no gun crime in the free state.
And the "dissident republicans"?  As for gangland, it's nationwide now: https://www.thejournal.ie/readme/opinion-ireland-is-the-homicide-by-firearm-capital-of-the-eu-so-why-is-our-government-so-complacent-4615315-May2019/
Post by: J70 on June 18, 2020, 12:14:25 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 11:48:27 AM

8+ minute video of a cop kneeling on a guy's neck while he cried for his mother and slowly struggled for breath, lost consciousness and ended up dying caused the outcry.

Are there some facts that have been missed or are still to come out?
Post by: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 12:15:01 PM

The irony.
Surely the real issue here is that Detective Horkan appears to have had no back up?

I think back in 2015, Garda Golden attended a domestic situation unarmed without back up and had a gun pulled on him by Adrian Crevan Mackin.

Whether a Garda is armed or unarmed it's easy to see how such a situation can be fraught with danger.

Post by: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 12:18:34 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 18, 2020, 12:14:25 PM

8+ minute video of a cop kneeling on a guy's neck while he cried for his mother and slowly struggled for breath, lost consciousness and ended up dying caused the outcry.

Facts tend to be inconvenient for somebody intent on using any incident to push a far right political agenda.
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2020, 12:21:50 PM

"They".
You're the main culprit FFS!!
Post by: J70 on June 18, 2020, 12:24:49 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 12:15:01 PM

The irony.
Surely the real issue here is that Detective Horkan appears to have had no back up?

I think back in 2015, Garda Golden attended a domestic situation unarmed without back up and had a gun pulled on him by Adrian Crevan Mackin.

Whether a Garda is armed or unarmed it's easy to see how such a situation can be fraught with danger.

That is obviously a major question.

Do Gardai typically respond to these type of incidents alone?
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 12:26:48 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 12:08:54 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 12:03:11 PM

The irony.

Correct it so.

And the "dissident republicans"?  As for gangland, it's nationwide now: https://www.thejournal.ie/readme/opinion-ireland-is-the-homicide-by-firearm-capital-of-the-eu-so-why-is-our-government-so-complacent-4615315-May2019/

I believe I've already established that armed response units deal with gangland crimes, but you've confirmed a high degree of stupidity by ignoring that.

Dissident republicans? Can't really recall too many dissident republican actions in the 26 in recent years.

So maybe you can address the actual question I've asked rather than a different one?

Outside of gangland crime which is responded to by armed response units, show me examples of high levels of gun crime in the 26 that would necessitate your rank and file detectives, particularly in fairly rural, low-crime outposts in Roscommon, to carry firearms?
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 12:30:06 PM

The irony.

The big issue in the Crevin case is that he was a Garda informant and would have been known to the some in the Gardai to possess or have access to firearms. Would the Garda have gone out to the house with the girl alone if he really knew the type of person he would have been dealing with? I severely doubt it.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 12:57:54 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 12:26:48 PM

Dissident republicans? Can't really recall too many dissident republican actions in the 26 in recent years.

My apologies, I must have imagined all those ATM raids.  Maybe it's my high degree of stupidity.  ::)
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 01:10:06 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 12:57:54 PM

My apologies, I must have imagined all those ATM raids.  Maybe it's my high degree of stupidity.  ::)

So dissidents are carrying out armed ATM raids? I haven't seen any reports claiming that the people who carried out these raids were armed so maybe you can back that up. I also don't think there is any concrete links to dissidents, more a cross-border criminal gang with a few tenuous links to ex Provos.

You seem to be all over the shop here.

Apart from gangland crime, show me instances of gun crime in the 26, a simple question you are not answering.

My issue is that there does not seem to be any need for a Garda to be armed with a firearm in the 26 other than armed response units.

Post by: Itchy on June 18, 2020, 01:17:37 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 18, 2020, 12:24:49 PM

The irony.

That is obviously a major question.

Do Gardai typically respond to these type of incidents alone?

Terrible event and condolences to the family of Det Horkan.

The reports seem to indicate he was going alone to deal with an issue and I also thought that Gardai were not supposed to do that. Something similar happened up in Louth too with a domestic and I have a vague recollection that the garda going on his own was one of the issues there - although he was unarmed.
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2020, 01:19:15 PM
Angelo  can't you just leave it for another day?
As far as I know all Detectives carry a firearm on duty.
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 01:23:22 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 18, 2020, 01:19:15 PM
Angelo  can't you just leave it for another day?
As far as I know all Detectives carry a firearm on duty.

Look, it's terribly sad but that is what happens when firearms are in the equation.

The Garda just seemed to be doing his job but hopefully it now makes Garda HQ think long and hard about the need for their officers to carry deadly weapons and the consequences of such.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 02:02:53 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 01:10:06 PM

So dissidents are carrying out armed ATM raids? I haven't seen any reports claiming that the people who carried out these raids were armed so maybe you can back that up. I also don't think there is any concrete links to dissidents, more a cross-border criminal gang with a few tenuous links to ex Provos.

You seem to be all over the shop here

More irony.
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 02:24:51 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 02:02:53 PM

More irony.

You're a mess and I'm still waiting for you to back up what you've said.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 02:27:11 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 02:24:51 PM

More irony.

That the dissidents are or aren't, in your own words, "a cross-border criminal gang with a few tenuous links to ex Provos"?
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 03:07:11 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 02:27:11 PM

More irony.

That the dissidents are or aren't, in your own words, "a cross-border criminal gang with a few tenuous links to ex Provos"?

You're still trying to divert away from the question which I will ask you again.

Apart from gangland crime, show me instances of gun crime in the 26?
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 03:15:57 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 03:07:11 PM

More irony.

You're still trying to divert away from the question which I will ask you again.

That one? See the Tom Clonan Journal.ie link I gave you earlier. Read it to the bottom this time.
Post by: weareros on June 18, 2020, 03:35:10 PM
Rest in peace. Awful tragedy for the family. From Charlestown, he was local and widely loved Ballaghaderreen Garda before recently promoted to Detective Garda, as was Garda John Morley, murdered almost 40 years to the date with Garda Henry Byrne.
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 03:45:28 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 03:15:57 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 03:07:11 PM

More irony.

That one? See the Tom Clonan Journal.ie link I gave you earlier. Read it to the bottom this time.

That doesn't address it at all.

The only real use of guns in this state is by criminal gangs, other than there is pretty much no shootings to my recollection. Feel free to post up any incidents though but you really seem to be struggling.

I really fail to see the need for gardai other than armed reponse units to be in possession of a firearm and Garda HQ need to have a look at that in light of what happened in Castlerea last night.

By all means try and actually put something to the point you're attempting to make but it's like drawing blood from a stone at this point.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 03:54:13 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 03:45:28 PM

The only real use of guns in this state is by criminal gangs, other than there is pretty much no shootings to my recollection. Feel free to post up any incidents though but you really seem to be struggling.

I really fail to see the need for gardai other than armed reponse units to be in possession of a firearm and Garda HQ need to have a look at that in light of what happened in Castlerea last night.

By all means try and actually put something to the point you're attempting to make but it's like drawing blood from a stone at this point.

By that yardstick, an armed robbery doesnt count as gun crime unless a gun is discharged. For a lad that has been firing insults all day, that's a wild claim to be making.
Post by: joemamas on June 18, 2020, 04:00:56 PM

How can you turn a blog on the taking of a Garda's life in Roscommon into a personal political agenda regarding a killing in Minnesota.
He was a personal friend of mine and a wonderful upstanding person.
Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 04:04:43 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 18, 2020, 04:00:56 PM
How can you turn a blog on the taking of a Garda's life in Roscommon into a personal political agenda regarding a killing in Minnesota.

Very sorry for your loss. By all accounts he was indeed a wonderful upstanding person. RIP.
Post by: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 04:07:48 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 03:54:13 PM
Quote from: Angelo on June 18, 2020, 03:45:28 PM

By that yardstick, an armed robbery doesnt count as gun crime unless a gun is discharged. For a lad that has been firing insults all day, that's a wild claim to be making.

Looks like you're really floundering to back your points up here.

For an armed robbery it would be the armed response unit which is called in.

Post by: joemamas on June 18, 2020, 04:12:25 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 04:04:43 PM

Very sorry for your loss. By all accounts he was indeed a wonderful upstanding person. RIP.

Thanks, utterly devastated as is the entire Charlestown community.
Still hoping it was a bad dream.
Post by: J70 on June 18, 2020, 04:12:55 PM

1. I am sorry for your personal loss. This was a terrible tragedy.
2. Address your complaint to the person who introduced the subject of George Floyd onto this thread, not the one who you happen to disagree with politically.
Post by: whitey on June 18, 2020, 04:22:39 PM
Quote from: weareros on June 18, 2020, 03:35:10 PM
Rest in peace. Awful tragedy for the family. From Charlestown, he was local and widely loved Ballaghaderreen Garda before recently promoted to Detective Garda, as was Garda John Morley, murdered almost 40 years to the date with Garda Henry Byrne.

I was only a kid when Detective Morley and Garda Byrne we're murdered and I still remember where I was when I heard about it. Both my parents were actually crying when they heard the news.

That was a hugely talented bunch of footballers from Charlestown at a time when the standard within the county was really picking up. They were good, clean, hard and well coached lads

I think they lost another lad if that vintage in a drowning accident

Post by: five points on June 18, 2020, 04:24:28 PM
Quote from: whitey on June 18, 2020, 04:22:39 PM
I was only a kid when Detective Morley and Garda Byrne we're murdered and I still remember where I was when I heard about it. Both my parents were actually crying when they heard the news.

So do I. My parents were too far removed from it to cry but they were shocked to the core. An awful day, as today is.
Post by: whitey on June 18, 2020, 04:29:18 PM
Quote from: five points on June 18, 2020, 04:24:28 PM
Quote from: whitey on June 18, 2020, 04:22:39 PM

So do I. My parents were too far removed from it to cry but they were shocked to the core. An awful day, as today is.

I don't think they knew them personally, but they would probably have known relations of both
Post by: sid waddell on June 18, 2020, 05:06:39 PM
Very unusual circumstances to say the least.

It's not clear whether Detective Horkan was himself driving or walking about in the town or whether he was in the station and heard a commotion outside.

Whatever happened, it was pure evil on the part of the murderer.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/fatal-shooting-of-garda-in-roscommon-a-random-act-says-harris-1.4282278

QuoteThe shooting took place near Castlerea Garda station after the detective stopped a man to speak to him on Main Street, apparently after seeing a moped being driven erratically.

It is understood a struggle then ensued during which the detective's firearm came loose from its holster.

The other man then fired the gun multiple times - up to 15 rounds, which is the capacity of the gun - with a number of shots hitting Det Gda Horkan. The gun was empty of bullets when recovered.

Two gardaí from Castlerea station, who were passing the scene in a patrol car, saw the immediate aftermath of the killing. They tackled the suspect and arrested him.
Post by: seafoid on June 19, 2020, 08:13:30 AM
A lot of the 80 Gardaí who died in the line of duty died as a result of traffic accidents

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Garda%C3%AD_killed_in_the_line_of_duty#Garda_S%C3%ADoch%C3%A1na_Roll_of_Honour
Post by: Rossfan on June 19, 2020, 09:43:19 AM
Sadly a local man with a history of mental illness :-\
Post by: Blowitupref on June 19, 2020, 04:48:15 PM
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=3316534705044679&id=109597305738451
Post by: general_lee on August 13, 2020, 12:38:59 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/aaron-brady-the-man-who-said-with-pride-he-was-a-cop-killer-1.4328380

Aaron Brady is looking at a long stretch.
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2020, 12:45:54 PM
Good.
There are 4 moreof the cnuts still at large.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 13, 2020, 01:22:10 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 13, 2020, 12:38:59 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/aaron-brady-the-man-who-said-with-pride-he-was-a-cop-killer-1.4328380

Aaron Brady is looking at a long stretch.

Couldn't be long enough for the f*cker. Hope they get the rest of them
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 13, 2020, 01:25:18 PM
If he spills the beans does he potentially get a reduced sentence?
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2020, 01:35:51 PM
I think the 40 years is mandatory.
Of course they could make the robbery one consecutive.
Seems there was a serious amount of witness intimidation.
Post by: rodney trotter on August 13, 2020, 01:44:07 PM
All those ATM robberies that have happened in the past few years could have possible links too. They arrested a fella from the same area as Brady, after the Virginia ATM robbery last year.
Post by: general_lee on August 13, 2020, 01:47:18 PM
He'll probably appeal. I don't think he can do anything regarding a plea bargain. the guards have their shooter so can't imagine they've any real incentive to offer him anything to try and get the accomplices who they'll probably nail at some stage regardless
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 14, 2020, 04:38:14 AM
A true sc**bag.
Don't use the term very often, but I read that article the other day and the thought of him larging it up in NY boasting about being a cop killer boils my blood.
Post by: gallsman on August 14, 2020, 10:55:15 AM
Are we allowed bring up the fact that Tony McEntee, as Cross senior manager, gave a character reference for him three years ago over the 2011 car ramming incidents in Dundalk? Surely the dogs in in the street in South Armagh and north Louth knew the guys involved, never mind that that were suspects.

Feels like he's the sort of bad little bastard that would have been put down 30 years ago.
Post by: armaghniac on August 14, 2020, 11:40:20 AM
Quote from: gallsman on August 14, 2020, 10:55:15 AM
Are we allowed bring up the fact that Tony McEntee, as Cross senior manager, gave a character reference for him three years ago over the 2011 car ramming incidents in Dundalk? Surely the dogs in in the street in South Armagh and north Louth knew the guys involved, never mind that that were suspects.

Feels like he's the sort of bad little bastard that would have been put down 30 years ago.

We went through all this before in relation to Mickey Harte. It is appropriate for any manager to state the the truth about any individual as they know it from their work. It is as inappropriate to refuse to state the truth about someone's sporting activity because you think they are a bollix as it is to refuse to give evidence about someone because you think they are decent skin.

If I state "Gallsman made some interesting points about football training on GAABoard" this does not mean that I don't think you are a bollix, albeit one with knowledge of football.
Post by: gallsman on August 14, 2020, 11:54:21 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 14, 2020, 11:40:20 AM
Quote from: gallsman on August 14, 2020, 10:55:15 AM

We went through all this before in relation to Mickey Harte. It is appropriate for any manager to state the the truth about any individual as they know it from their work. It is as inappropriate to refuse to state the truth about someone's sporting activity because you think they are a bollix as it is to refuse to give evidence about someone because you think they are decent skin.

If I state "Gallsman made some interesting points about football training on GAABoard" this does not mean that I don't think you are a bollix, albeit one with knowledge of football.
I'm fully aware we've been through it before. That doesn't mean we shouldn't go through it again. The option of refusing to give a reference always exists, albeit obviously I can never appreciate what it must be like in a community as closely knit as Cross and the pressures that exist within to knowingly refuse to back "one of your own".
Post by: Rossfan on August 14, 2020, 12:30:48 PM
Did ye see the "dangerous driving"  footage of the sc**bag on Prime Time last night?
Had a second go at the taxi and drove off with middle finger raised back at taxi driver, then went into a parked car driving off on 2 wheels and rammed a squad car after.

I hope his parents are proud of him......
Post by: armaghniac on August 14, 2020, 12:31:15 PM
Opinions clearly differ on this, I think that if courts continue to allow references then people should just tell the truth.
Post by: gallsman on August 14, 2020, 12:48:30 PM
Did McEntee really believe him to be "reliable and trustworthy"? More fool him if so.
Post by: five points on August 14, 2020, 12:58:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 14, 2020, 12:48:30 PM
Did McEntee really believe him to be "reliable and trustworthy"? More fool him if so.

I think it was someone else who said that, but I'm open to correction.
Post by: Itchy on August 14, 2020, 01:12:29 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on August 14, 2020, 04:38:14 AM
A true sc**bag.
Don't use the term very often, but I read that article the other day and the thought of him larging it up in NY boasting about being a cop killer boils my blood.

Obviously a complete moron to boot, probably why he ended up in Armagh washing Diesel.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on August 14, 2020, 01:43:47 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on August 13, 2020, 01:25:18 PM
If he spills the beans does he potentially get a reduced sentence?
No.

Its a mandatory minimum for murder, this is why nobody pleads guilty. You get the same sentence regardless
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 14, 2020, 10:48:18 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 13, 2020, 01:47:18 PM
He'll probably appeal. I don't think he can do anything regarding a plea bargain. the guards have their shooter so can't imagine they've any real incentive to offer him anything to try and get the accomplices who they'll probably nail at some stage regardless
While they have their shooter, the evidence seemed dodgy enough if you ask me.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 14, 2020, 11:14:08 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on August 14, 2020, 10:48:18 PM
Same
Post by: ciaraa on September 02, 2020, 08:49:57 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 14, 2020, 11:14:08 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on August 14, 2020, 10:48:18 PM
Same

whole thing stinks. was there even a 'gang' ffs?
Post by: GetOverTheBar on September 03, 2020, 10:39:09 AM

Good article.

There is still more to come on this one.

The circumstances and evidence of Daniel Cahill...is interesting to say the least.
Post by: general_lee on December 30, 2020, 10:08:38 PM
Shot some boy dead today
https://www.rte.ie/news/crime/2020/1230/1186988-shooting/
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 30, 2020, 11:37:21 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 30, 2020, 10:08:38 PM
Shot some boy dead today
TWELVE gardaí and they couldnt manage a boy with a knife.
"Ah lads sure we'll just shoot the fvck out of him"
Embarassing. They should be disciplined of some sort on this. Made to retrain.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 12:01:34 AM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on December 30, 2020, 11:37:21 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 30, 2020, 10:08:38 PM
Shot some boy dead today
TWELVE gardaí and they couldnt manage a boy with a knife.
"Ah lads sure we'll just shoot the fvck out of him"
Embarassing. They should be disciplined of some sort on this. Made to retrain.

Agreed but id be bit worried about amount people saying he was shot because he was black. Balls he was shot because he attacked poorly training Gardaí with a knife
Post by: Capt Pat on December 31, 2020, 12:40:28 AM
It looks like a case of suicide by cop. Not racism.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 08:18:54 AM
There will be an investigation, as always, and people shouldn't jump to conclusions.

It's very easy for people to dig up old articles and references to the Gardai disarming people carrying knives. It's also very easy to find references to the likes of Mark Hennessy being shot whilst in his car.

George Nkencho was brandishing/wielding/lunging at Gardai with a knife. All these people screaming "they should have shot him in the leg" need to f**k off as only those there present at the time can make the assessment. Police the world over are trained to shoot for the mass as it's the most effective way to ensure less collateral damage. This isn't Hollywood.

Equally, the investigation should determine whether deployment of potentially lethal force was truly necessary and whether or not any bias (race, mental health) had any impact on the decision to deploy that force.

Twitter is full of idiots crying about this being Ireland's George Floyd moment. For all their faults, and there are many, the Gardai do not have a history of indiscriminately and disproportionally killing black people.
Post by: trailer on December 31, 2020, 10:20:56 AM
Guy got what he deserved. Went at armed Gardai with a knife. The situation had escalated and the Gardai had attempted non lethal resolutions. In a city with extremely high levels of violent crime I think the Gardai should be praised. 
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 10:34:52 AM
Quote from: trailer on December 31, 2020, 10:20:56 AM
Guy got what he deserved. Went at armed Gardai with a knife. The situation had escalated and the Gardai had attempted non lethal resolutions. In a city with extremely high levels of violent crime I think the Gardai should be praised.
I bet you were an RUC fan boy back in the day
Post by: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 10:44:34 AM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 08:18:54 AM
There will be an investigation, as always, and people shouldn't jump to conclusions.

It's very easy for people to dig up old articles and references to the Gardai disarming people carrying knives. It's also very easy to find references to the likes of Mark Hennessy being shot whilst in his car.

George Nkencho was brandishing/wielding/lunging at Gardai with a knife. All these people screaming "they should have shot him in the leg" need to f**k off as only those there present at the time can make the assessment. Police the world over are trained to shoot for the mass as it's the most effective way to ensure less collateral damage. This isn't Hollywood.

Equally, the investigation should determine whether deployment of potentially lethal force was truly necessary and whether or not any bias (race, mental health) had any impact on the decision to deploy that force.

Twitter is full of idiots crying about this being Ireland's George Floyd moment. For all their faults, and there are many, the Gardai do not have a history of indiscriminately and disproportionally killing black people.
I don't think it's Ireland's George Floyd moment but at minimum the Gardai failed in this situation, such situations should not result in a dead person, there were numerous Gardai there and one of him

There were at least six shots and the final shot had a four second gap after the previous one

The video starts with the echo of a shot which happened a second before, when it zooms in, the man's back is to the Gardai and he is facing his own door, then he turns around and lunges

That warrants serious investigation as to whether it was something worse than failure

Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 31, 2020, 10:52:41 AM
No tasers in the South?

Should it be that a knife situation a taser Should be used ?

Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 10:53:26 AM
How is it possible to be both tasered and pepper sprayed and still keeping going?
This is type of bullshit that the all lives matter brigade spew. I take it you haven't seen the video. Stevie wonder could have shot him in the leg
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 10:58:23 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 10:44:34 AM
I don't think it's Ireland's George Floyd moment but at minimum the Gardai failed in this situation, such situations should not result in a dead person, there were numerous Gardai there and one of him

There were at least six shots and the final shot had a four second gap after the previous one

This may well end up being the case but until you are in possession of all the facts you cannot make this claim surely.

He was shot three times. How many guards fired? How many officers hit him? Did the guard he went for reasonably fear for his life or that of others and fire at him? Did another guard fear for the life of his colleague or others and fire at him?

The number of guards there is completely irrelevant if numbers alone were not sufficient to remove the threat to life.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 11:10:53 AM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 10:53:26 AM
How is it possible to be both tasered and pepper sprayed and still keeping going?
This is type of bullshit that the all lives matter brigade spew. I take it you haven't seen the video. Stevie wonder could have shot him in the leg

And your bullshit is the type Nazis and SF and the DUP the Tories and Labour and Trumpites and Israel spew etc etc etc. I can make wild accusations with no basis in fact either.

You're missing the point or, I suspect, deliberately ignoring it. They are specifically TRAINED to shoot at the mass as it gives a greater likelihood of a successful hit and lessen the threat of collateral damage. Shoot him in the leg you say? Have you heard of the femoral artery? They should probably shoot him in the leg but also make the calculation to figure out where exactly to shoot him so as not to hit any blood vessels I guess.
Post by: Gmac on December 31, 2020, 11:12:30 AM
the cops or civilians lives don't matter according to your logic they should let a knife wielding mentally unstable person assault people and wander the streets brandishing a knife , the Gardaí at the scene wanted to go home to their families after work not be in hospital with stab wounds or dead .
Independent ie have a very different slant on this than if it took place in the us for example . RTÉ and them are pretty much state propaganda at this stage .
Post by: Tubberman on December 31, 2020, 11:13:13 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 31, 2020, 10:52:41 AM
No tasers in the South?

Should it be that a knife situation a taser Should be used ?

He was tasered and pepper sprayed apparently, but neither stopped him
Post by: trailer on December 31, 2020, 11:23:14 AM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 10:34:52 AM

You've issues lad.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:25:54 AM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 11:10:53 AM

And your bullshit is the type Nazis and SF and the DUP the Tories and Labour and Trumpites and Israel spew etc etc etc. I can make wild accusations with no basis in fact either.

You're missing the point or, I suspect, deliberately ignoring it. They are specifically TRAINED to shoot at the mass as it gives a greater likelihood of a successful hit and lessen the threat of collateral damage. Shoot him in the leg you say? Have you heard of the femoral artery? They should probably shoot him in the leg but also make the calculation to figure out where exactly to shoot him so as not to hit any blood vessels I guess.
Let me know when you've seen the video
Post by: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 11:27:20 AM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 10:58:23 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 10:44:34 AM

This may well end up being the case but until you are in possession of all the facts you cannot make this claim surely.

He was shot three times. How many guards fired? How many officers hit him? Did the guard he went for reasonably great for his life or that of others and fire at him? Did another guard fear for the life of his colleague or others and fire at him?

The number of guards there is completely irrelevant if numbers alone were not sufficient to remove the threat to life.

How many Gardai? Someone mentioned 12? How many armed Gardai? We don't know

There was one of him, without a gun

Yes, it's a failure that it resulted in a dead person - are such situations supposed to end up with a dead person? No they aren't, they're supposed to end up with a submission of the person, peaceful or otherwise, or at the very least a non-dead person, and the Gardai failed to produce that outcome

The question is whether it is something worse than a failure, that I can't answer

If, for argument's sake, this exact situation had unfolded during the Troubles and the dead man was a Catholic, I think many Catholics' gut reaction would have been to be extremely angry at it

So I don't think anybody should be so quick to condemn people of colour for reacting strongly to this very unfortunate incident

I agree Gardai do not have a record of wantonly shooting people of colour but that does not mean that people of colour are wrong to feel there is racism in this country - they are correct

If you look at the wider online discourse, Twitter, boards.ie and other forums, incidents such as these do bring out every knuckle dragging racist in Ireland in general - I'm not accusing you of being a racist at all, for clarity, just making a general point about toxic online discourse

I do agree there is also some opportunistic jumping on the incident to portray it as a George Floyd type incident and that is a problem also - but it's a lesser problem than the racist online discourse surrounding the incident

Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:29:42 AM
Quote from: trailer on December 31, 2020, 11:23:14 AM

You've issues lad.
You're the one praising cops for shooting dead a mentally ill man
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 11:36:18 AM
As I said, the number of Gardai is completely irrelevant if those numbers did not reasonably reduce the threat to life or serious injury and thus remove the need for the use of potentially deadly force. Maybe they did, maybe they didn't. I don't know. I would hope that the inquiry would establish this. The suggestion so far is that he was both pepper sprayed and tased prior to being shot. Is it feasible that this can be true and he remained a threat that justified the use of such force? Again, I don't know. Perhaps you do, and can back that up with evidence.

It is wrong to definitively state that the Gardai failed without knowing the facts. It is entirely possible and plausible that they did everything by the book and followed their training to a T. That wouldn't make it any less of a tragedy, but it wouldn't be a failure on their part.

Equally, there's just as much of a chance they made a complete and utter balls of it.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:36:29 AM
Quote from: Gmac on December 31, 2020, 11:12:30 AM
the cops or civilians lives don't matter according to your logic they should let a knife wielding mentally unstable person assault people and wander the streets brandishing a knife , the Gardaí at the scene wanted to go home to their families after work not be in hospital with stab wounds or dead .
Independent ie have a very different slant on this than if it took place in the us for example . RTÉ and them are pretty much state propaganda at this stage .
This guy was known to the guards, previously arrested under Mental Health Act. He punched a shop manager. Rightfully should be arrested. Brandishing a knife, again this calls for armed response.

They know who it is that they're dealing with and that he's armed. He's nonchalantly walking home and they're following him back to his house where he thinks he can just dander in through the front door. They shoot him dead in the front garden. As much as I respect the serious threat to the guards in situations like this it's abundantly clear they completely fucked up here.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 11:40:00 AM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:25:54 AM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 11:10:53 AM

Let me know when you've seen the video

You mean the blurry video shot from across a field? The one where you hear shots but a man in a blue top, subsequently identified as George Nkencho still comes forward? What exactly do you think this proves? What will be important here is the bodycam footage.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:41:53 AM
Aye, the one where clearly starts lunging after the first two shots are fired!
Post by: Gmac on December 31, 2020, 11:43:19 AM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:36:29 AM
This guy was known to the guards, previously arrested under Mental Health Act. He punched a shop manager. Rightfully should be arrested. Brandishing a knife, again this calls for armed response.

They know who it is that they're dealing with and that he's armed. He's nonchalantly walking home and they're following him back to his house where he thinks he can just dander in through the front door. They shoot him dead in the front garden. As much as I respect the serious threat to the guards in situations like this it's abundantly clear they completely fucked up here.
the thing is who would he stab if he got inside and bolted the door ? Shooting someone is definitely a last resort
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 31, 2020, 11:47:37 AM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:29:42 AM

You've issues lad.

And the Gardai knew he was?

Hindsight is great, but the reality is they absolutely had to stop him entering that house. Negotiation beanbag, tasers and pepper spray were all tried. He tried to stab a Garda. Was only ending one way.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:52:14 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 31, 2020, 11:47:37 AM

You've issues lad.

Hindsight is great, but the reality is they absolutely had to stop him entering that house. Negotiation beanbag, tasers and pepper spray were all tried. He tried to stab a Garda. Was only ending one way.
According to reports yes they did.
Post by: trileacman on December 31, 2020, 11:57:07 AM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:36:29 AM

What were the guards supposed to do?
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 11:57:32 AM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:41:53 AM

Did they hit him? Were they warning shots? You heard the conversation between him and the guards from that video in sure as well?

The reality of the matter is that nobody knows exactly what happened yet, but you have already decided you know the full facts of it.

Sid, you're the one talking about the wider topic of racism in Ireland. Nobody else brought that up. That's not the issue here. My problem is with all the "woke lefties" (a term used by brain-dead morons and a banner I usually fall under) rushing to condemn the "murder" of George Nkencho and talk about how he was "summarily executed".

That insufferable f**king bellend Gerry Carroll was banging on about how George Nkencho was  "killed by a Guard while many Gardai looked on" and how "armed gangs (whether uniformed or not) should not be able to carry out executions in the street in any city in Ireland."
Post by: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 12:03:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 11:57:32 AM

Did they hit him? Were they warning shots? You heard the conversation between him and the guards from that video in sure as well?

The reality of the matter is that nobody knows exactly what happened yet, but you have already decided you know the full facts of it.

Sid, you're the one talking about the wider topic of racism in Ireland. Nobody else brought that up. That's not the issue here. My problem is with all the "woke lefties" (a term used by brain-dead morons and a banner I usually fall under) rushing to condemn the "murder" of George Nkencho and talk about how he was "summarily executed".

That insufferable f**king bellend Gerry Carroll was banging on about how George Nkencho was  "killed by a Guard while many Gardai looked on" and how "armed gangs (whether uniformed or not) should not be able to carry out executions in the street in any city in Ireland."

I didn't say the shooting was down to racism

What I said was that pretty much every knuckle dragging racist in Ireland is on the wider internet celebrating it
Post by: trileacman on December 31, 2020, 12:09:54 PM
People keep mentioning that he was mentally ill. That makes it more likely that he'd be irrational and violent and so in fact gives the guards more reason to shoot him to stop him.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 31, 2020, 12:25:02 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 11:52:14 AM

You've issues lad.

What reports?
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 12:34:38 PM

I don't know the full facts. I know enough (as does anyone with any semblance of rational thought) that it was dealt with in the wrong manor.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 12:35:07 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 31, 2020, 12:25:02 PM

You've issues lad.

What reports?
independent.ie
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 12:38:23 PM
Quote from: trileacman on December 31, 2020, 12:09:54 PM
People keep mentioning that he was mentally ill. That makes it more likely that he'd be irrational and violent and so in fact gives the guards more reason to shoot him to stop him.
So why follow him to his house and shoot him in his front garden?
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 12:41:39 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 12:34:38 PM

I don't know the full facts. I know enough (as does anyone with any semblance of rational thought) that it was dealt with in the wrong manor.

You think you do, that's all.

Can you provide a link to the report that said he was known to gardai please? I'm not trying to catch you out or make a twat of you or anything, I just haven't seen it anywhere.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 12:50:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 12:41:39 PM

You think you do, that's all.

Can you provide a link to the report that said he was known to gardai please? I'm not trying to catch you out or make a twat of you or anything, I just haven't seen it anywhere.
I fail to see how shooting him dead was the only course of action to diffuse the situation. You don't know otherwise either and until further information emerges that shows that the armed response unit had no other choice I am sticking by that.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/major-tension-in-community-as-family-calls-for-answers-after-man-with-knife-shot-by-gardai-39916358.html
Post by: Angelo on December 31, 2020, 12:58:54 PM
Is Sid contradicting himself again?

How surprising.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 01:01:14 PM
The difference is I have repeatedly stated that I don't have all the facts and thus can't come to a reasoned conclusion. You are in the exact same position but have already made your mind up.

As for shooting him dead being the only course of action, all the reports to date suggest that the guards tried negotiating with him, using pepper spray and tasing him prior to shooting, so why are you talking about it being "the only course of action"? Unless there's a bullet in his head, I very much imagine they weren't actively trying to shoot him dead. They shot him to neutralise him and he died from the wounds. The difference there is a lot more than semantics.

Thanks for the link, hadn't seen that. Interesting that his cousin described him as innocent when he had literally beaten the lad in the Eurospar to the point he needed treatment in hospital.

Some of the tension around this has the potential to really get it of hand. The protesters at Blanch station have been chanting "how many people must the Gardai kill"? This is not America ffs.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 01:22:01 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 01:01:14 PM
The difference is I have repeatedly stated that I don't have all the facts and thus can't come to a reasoned conclusion. You are in the exact same position but have already made your mind up.
Of course I've my mind  made up. Don't shoot people dead unless it is absolutely necessary. I don't think that basic test was met. He had a knife - big wow. If someone was shot dead every time a knife was  brandished in Dublin the GSOC would be up to their ears.

As for shooting him dead being the only course of action, all the reports to date suggest that the guards tried negotiating with him, using pepper spray and tasing him prior to shooting, so why are you talking about it being "the only course of action"? Unless there's a bullet in his head, I very much imagine they weren't actively trying to shoot him dead. They shot him to neutralise him and he died from the wounds. The difference there is a lot more than semantics.
So they fired what was it, 5 shots? Did they try tasering 5 times? Pepper spray 5 times?

Some of the tension around this has the potential to really get it of hand. The protesters at Blanch station have been chanting "how many people must the Gardai kill"? This is not America ffs.
No surprise. Racial tensions have been bubbling in parts of Dublin for years. I for one don't see it as a racial matter at all.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 31, 2020, 01:24:32 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 12:38:23 PM
Quote from: trileacman on December 31, 2020, 12:09:54 PM
So why follow him to his house and shoot him in his front garden?
To stop him getting into the house
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 31, 2020, 01:26:55 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 12:35:07 PM

You've issues lad.

What reports?
independent.ie

Being known to the Gardai =/= the Gardai cslled to the incident knew him.

But it does call into question how he hadn't been given help if there was a violent pattern.
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 01:32:59 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 31, 2020, 01:26:55 PM

You've issues lad.

What reports?
independent.ie

But it does call into question how he hadn't been given help if there was a violent pattern.
I'm sure in the two hours they were pursuing him they could have drawn up a list of suspects over radio and maybe narrowed it down when they followed him to his house 
Post by: joemamas on December 31, 2020, 04:10:09 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 31, 2020, 01:26:55 PM

You've issues lad.

What reports?
independent.ie

Really,
Just like the sc**bag that attacked and shot the Guard dead in June this year. Apparently he had a history, oh and then could not face the charges as he was deemed unfit to face the charges.
Wonder what that poor mans family are thinking this Christmas.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 05:48:03 PM
Let's just close the thread.

A violent man was shot dead by the guards as he attacked them with a knife, there should be an investigation.

It was not racist and we should all stop playing into the hands of Twitter World
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 06:03:50 PM
People Before Profit are really going in heavy on this. It's almost as if they have a history of populist opportunism.
Post by: trileacman on December 31, 2020, 06:28:52 PM

Please tell me what the right way to do this was? From what I see the guards tried a couple of options to diffuse the situation and there's a video of him clearly lunging at gardai, likely with a knife. I haven't all the facts but I can't say from first glance that the guards acted in the wrong.

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 06:33:44 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 06:03:50 PM
People Before Profit are really going in heavy on this. It's almost as if they have a history of populist opportunism.

Give it couple of hours, Shinners watching Twitter likes as we speak , they will on it as soon as they see it is gathering momentum
Post by: redzone on December 31, 2020, 06:47:52 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 06:33:44 PM

Give it couple of hours, Shinners watching Twitter likes as we speak , they will on it as soon as they see it is gathering momentum
Do us all a favour for 2021 any f**k off. All you do every day is mention sinn fein in some form another. It's got to the stage now we're as soon as you see your name you know what your posting about before you open the thread up
Post by: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 07:03:25 PM
John Carthy had a gun and fired it six times

I would have been one of the people who thought and still thinks the Gardai had little choice but to take him down - he came out with the gun in his hands and would not put it down

And yet after that inquiry there was a public apology from the government

The incident yesterday seems like it was much more preventable than the Carthy one

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_John_Carthy#Garda_inquiry

Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern made a public apology to the Carthy family on behalf of the Irish government. The Minister for Justice, Michael McDowell, admitted that the Carthy family was entitled to a profound expression of regret from the Irish State. Garda Ombudsman Commission member, Conor Brady, accepted that the Barr report outlined "an unspeakable catalogue of personal failure by individual Gardaí" and expressed his view that it was disturbing to see some Gardaí involved in a "culture of cover up and circling the wagons".
Post by: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 07:09:35 PM
I myself have serious concerns about how this was handled but I think it's important that public representatives and people with a platform choose their words carefully in this situation

And they need to speak out and tell protestors to dial back a bit

Some of the stuff that has been happening in Hartstown this afternoon is not good, the Spar shop had to be shut up with customers inside because a group gathered outside, nobody in the Spar or connected with the Spar has done anything wrong whatsoever

Stuff like this isn't going to help, it's only going to ramp up confrontation
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 07:28:12 PM
Quote from: redzone on December 31, 2020, 06:47:52 PM

Do us all a favour for 2021 any f**k off. All you do every day is mention sinn fein in some form another. It's got to the stage now we're as soon as you see your name you know what your posting about before you open the thread up

Well done read it then numpty, send me your address big balls, surprisingly to myself only 5 of my last 20 posts mention SF ;D, I'll have to step it up next year
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 08:07:34 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 07:09:35 PM
I myself have serious concerns about how this was handled but I think it's important that public representatives and people with a platform choose their words carefully in this situation

Some of the stuff that has been happening in Hartstown this afternoon is not good, the Spar shop had to be shut up with customers inside because a group gathered outside, nobody in the Spar or connected with the Spar has done anything wrong whatsoever

Lynn Ruane, Hazel Chu all over it. There's political capital to be made from any tragedy it appears. This could equally be happening on the right for all I know. I don't tend to see their comments retweeted much.
Post by: Gmac on December 31, 2020, 08:09:08 PM

Not as enthusiastic for confrontation now Sid that it's on your doorstep .
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 08:30:36 PM
Jaysus, never mind the politicians, Buff Egan has weighed into things!
Post by: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 09:04:34 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 31, 2020, 08:07:34 PM

Lynn Ruane, Hazel Chu all over it. There's political capital to be made from any tragedy it appears. This could equally be happening on the right for all I know. I don't tend to see their comments retweeted much.
Lynn Ruane's comments about the incident seemed pretty measured to me

But it's important that this doesn't escalate - there is an onus on people to use their platform to de-escalate tensions, you'd fear there could be trouble especially with it being New Year's Eve, we don't want something like the Gallanstown riots of 1995

Political capital is certainly being made from this on the far right and that's the most dangerous thing of all

They use any story they can find in order to incite generalised hatred against people of colour - they do it online, and have been doing so for years, they'll use anything, what they did as regards that fire in Balbriggan last summer was disgusting, it was a fire caused by an electrical fault - yet conspiracy theories were all over the internet that it had been deliberately started by an "African gang", being pushed relentlessly by the far right and gutter media outlets

And it's not just the far right, people like Buff Egan really should shut up, it's obvious he's not the brightest but he has a platform and influences people and he has not been using it responsibly at all today, pure populist shite

For a lot of young people of colour, who are online a lot, they see and hear abuse constantly online, and they hear it repeated offline, and it must be sickening to have to put up with

That's a large part of why a minority of them can react badly in situations such as this - the tragic incident yesterday serves as a reinforcement and confirmation for what they themselves experience - even if I don't think racism was a factor in the incident itself - but it's very understandable how some of them might see it that way

Post by: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 09:11:47 PM
Quote from: Gmac on December 31, 2020, 08:09:08 PM

Bizarre comment

I have serious concerns about what happened and it was a failure on the part of police that they didn't produce a better outcome but neither is it a cut and dried case of wanton racist police brutality as happens so regularly in the US - and the context of policing in this country is very different

But obviously you would try and use pig ignorant crude reductionism in a bizarre attempt to score points, sure what's new

Post by: Main Street on December 31, 2020, 09:29:11 PM
An escaped killer animal from a zoo would be entitled to, receive more protection and more professionalism in an attempt to capture than George received, killed after being repeatedly shot at outside his home by a swarm of some heavily armed gardai, supposedly in fear of their lives, dullards with guns. 
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 31, 2020, 09:37:32 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 07:28:12 PM

Well done read it then numpty, send me your address big balls, surprisingly to myself only 5 of my last 20 posts mention SF ;D, I'll have to step it up next year
Why do you want his address? Are you going to do something because he told you to F off then big balls?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 09:55:57 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on December 31, 2020, 09:37:32 PM

Why do you want his address? Are you going to do something because he told you to F off then big balls?

Coinnigh amach as, ní bhaineann sé leat
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 31, 2020, 10:00:43 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 09:55:57 PM

"Send me your address" away and catch yourself on  ;D
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 10:06:03 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on December 31, 2020, 10:00:43 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 09:55:57 PM

"Send me your address" away and catch yourself on  ;D

Some amount of vulgar course talk on here that wouldn't be tolerated face to face no offence to anyone
Post by: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 10:47:18 PM
Someone's had a few sherrys
Post by: Gmac on December 31, 2020, 11:01:10 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on December 31, 2020, 09:11:47 PM
Quote from: Gmac on December 31, 2020, 08:09:08 PM

Bizarre comment

I have serious concerns about what happened and it was a failure on the part of police that they didn't produce a better outcome but neither is it a cut and dried case of wanton racist police brutality as happens so regularly in the US - and the context of policing in this country is very different

But obviously you would try and use pig ignorant crude reductionism in a bizarre attempt to score points, sure what's new
the bottom line is don't attack innocent people and don't threaten police with a knife ,good advice no matter what continent your on . RIP to deceased and hope his family will be ok and also to Gardaí who made decision to shoot him they have a tough decision to live with .
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 31, 2020, 11:05:26 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 31, 2020, 10:47:18 PM
Someone's had a few sherrys
Post by: An Watcher on December 31, 2020, 11:25:04 PM
Folks, haven't read all these posts but surely this man could have been shot 5/10/20 times in the legs until such time as he isn't a threat?  I think the same of the attackers in London and other European cities however I get the threat of the suicide vests etc. I don't think this man presented the same threat
Post by: Angelo on January 01, 2021, 12:06:11 PM
Was the Garda who shot him from an armed response unit or what was his rank?

I'd be very wary of some of the apes down south who are Gardai being allowed carry guns personally.
Post by: Eire90 on January 01, 2021, 01:30:13 PM
imagine someone knocking your door and saying hi are im the guy from gaa board forum
Post by: general_lee on January 01, 2021, 01:50:22 PM
Quote from: trileacman on December 31, 2020, 06:28:52 PM

Please tell me what the right way to do this was? From what I see the guards tried a couple of options to diffuse the situation and there's a video of him clearly lunging at gardai, likely with a knife. I haven't all the facts but I can't say from first glance that the guards acted in the wrong.
Anything other than riddling him with bullets? How many times did they try tasering him? How many times did they try pepper spray? I find it odd that they were able to reportedly track him for 2 hours but he was only a threat to them/the public when he was at his own front door step. The video shows him lunging at them AFTER the first shot
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 01, 2021, 02:14:14 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 01, 2021, 01:30:13 PM
imagine someone knocking your door and saying hi are im the guy from gaa board forum

;D not my best post to be fair. New year, new me , peace ✌️✌️
Post by: sid waddell on January 01, 2021, 02:35:26 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 01, 2021, 01:50:22 PM

Anything other than riddling him with bullets? How many times did they try tasering him? How many times did they try pepper spray? I find it odd that they were able to reportedly track him for 2 hours but he was only a threat to them/the public when he was at his own front door step. The video shows him lunging at them AFTER the first shot
There was defo at least one shot previous to the video

At the very start of the video, ie. the first 0.5 seconds, you can hear the echo from a previous shot - but not the actual bang of the shot

Then there are five shots you can hear clearly

So at least six shots fired overall

It makes sense that there would have been previous shots because why would people have started filming from a distance otherwise
Post by: clonadmad on January 01, 2021, 03:02:04 PM
Quote from: Angelo on January 01, 2021, 12:06:11 PM

I'd be very wary of some of the apes down south who are Gardai being allowed carry guns personally.

Proper order that your wary

The Gardaí have a low opinion of nordie shinner scum

Post by: Angelo on January 01, 2021, 03:16:25 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 01, 2021, 03:02:04 PM
Quote from: Angelo on January 01, 2021, 12:06:11 PM

Proper order that your wary

The Gardaí have a low opinion of nordie shinner scum

What a charming post.

I'd have a low opinion of a police force who botched the biggest terrorist attack in their state so they can protect the British state and where the top brass engage in slandering a whistleblower on Garda corruption as a paedophile.

I guess that's where we differ.

No doubt archbigot Charlie Flanagan gets your no. 1 vote.
Post by: general_lee on January 01, 2021, 07:00:07 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on January 01, 2021, 02:35:26 PM

At the very start of the video, ie. the first 0.5 seconds, you can hear the echo from a previous shot - but not the actual bang of the shot

It makes sense that there would have been previous shots because why would people have started filming from a distance otherwise
It's sounds like that alright but that's unconfirmed. People had been videoing previous to that so perhaps the video has been edited.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 01, 2021, 10:03:25 PM

2 hours? Less than 30 mins after he entered the shop he was dead
Post by: whitey on January 02, 2021, 01:51:41 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 01, 2021, 07:00:07 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on January 01, 2021, 02:35:26 PM

It's sounds like that alright but that's unconfirmed. People had been videoing previous to that so perhaps the video has been edited.

Believe it or not, the reason for the lag in timing of the shot is that sound travels at a slower speed to light.
Post by: sid waddell on January 03, 2021, 12:22:47 PM
The circle of far right disinformation never ends

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Eqy-6_IW4AATriV?format=jpg&name=900x900)
Post by: Rossfan on January 03, 2021, 01:12:46 PM
It's working sadly.
A few reasonable people I know were repeating the lie that he had 32 previous convictions.
Post by: Rossfan on September 23, 2021, 06:31:07 PM
Some here won't like to be reminded

https://www.shannonside.ie/news/gold-bravery-medal-to-be-awarded-to-garda-killed-at-derrada-wood-190353
Post by: Snapchap on September 23, 2021, 08:51:45 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2021, 06:31:07 PM

https://www.shannonside.ie/news/gold-bravery-medal-to-be-awarded-to-garda-killed-at-derrada-wood-190353

So rather than as an act of respectful remembrance, you only posted this because you wanted to use/abuse the victims to take dig at people on this board? That would be something you have repeatedly been accused of doing on this board. And yet you claim you have respect for the dead.

More neck on view than at a giraffe enclosure at the zoo.
Post by: Armagh18 on September 23, 2021, 09:15:53 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on September 23, 2021, 08:51:45 PM

So rather than as an act of respectful remembrance, you only posted this because you wanted to use/abuse the victims to take dig at people on this board? That would be something you have repeatedly been accused of doing on this board. And yet you claiming you have respect for the dead.

I wouldn't waste your time responding to that shite..
Post by: Tubberman on September 24, 2021, 09:40:55 AM

So rather than as an act of respectful remembrance, you only posted this because you wanted to use/abuse the victims to take dig at people on this board? That would be something you have repeatedly been accused of doing on this board. And yet you claim you have respect for the dead.

So to mention it is to abuse their memory? What a convenient take that is.
Post by: Snapchap on September 24, 2021, 09:55:14 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 24, 2021, 09:40:55 AM

So to mention it is to abuse their memory? What a convenient take that is.

Not even remotely my point.

Absolutely no issue with anyone mentioning it. My point is that his intro to the link made it abundantly clear that Rossfan's only motivation in mentioning it was to take a dig at other posters in the board. In other words, using victims for point scoring. The sort of thing that he does on a routine basis and yet still somehow thinks nobody can see what he's at. Utterly shameless.
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 11:31:45 AM
Brainwashed Provos are the only type of people who think mentioning murdered employees of the State is somehow point scoring.
In their new found holier than thou existences they don't like to have murders in the 26 Cos. they've airbrushed being brought up.
Ever noticed when young Quinn's brutal savage murder is brought up they immediately attack the messenger instead of the gang of scum who broke every bone in a lads body.

Post by: Snapchap on September 24, 2021, 11:38:16 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 11:31:45 AM
Brainwashed Provos are the only type of people who think mentioning murdered employees of the State is somehow point scoring.
In their new found holier than thou existences they don't like to have murders in the 26 Cos. they've airbrushed being brought up.
Ever noticed when young Quinn's brutal savage murder is brought up they immediately attack the messenger instead of the gang of scum who broke every bone in a lads body.

Dodging the point again. You didn't mention it for the sake of mentioning it. You mentioned it as a means of taking a dig at other posters. Hence your opening line with the link. Using victims for point scoring. You just cant help yourself. Cretinous.
Post by: trueblue1234 on September 24, 2021, 11:41:36 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on September 24, 2021, 11:38:16 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 11:31:45 AM

Dodging the point again. You didn't mention it for the sake of mentioning it. You mentioned it as a means of taking a dig at other posters. Hence your opening line with the link. Using victims for point scoring. You just cant help yourself. Cretinous.
The post is there for everyone to see. People can see that his comment on the article wasn't around the victims. He used it as a disgusting point scoring exercise and if he had any wit he'd remove his comment and post something more respectful. I doubt that will happen given the poster.
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 12:21:05 PM
2 sensitive brainwashed ones not happy that the disgusting murder of 2 State employees by a gang of Prove kidnapper criminals is being mentioned on a thread called na Gardai.
Kind of conflicts with the new cuddly populist image...
Post by: Snapchap on September 24, 2021, 12:24:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 12:21:05 PM
2 sensitive brainwashed ones not happy that the disgusting murder of 2 State employees by a gang of Prove kidnapper criminals is being mentioned on a thread called na Gardai.

Hmmm...Wasn't one of the two men killed by friendly fire from the Gardaí in that incident? Or at least, hasn't the state refused to release evidence that would confirm or refute the long standing suspicion?

Anyway, you're not doing much to refute the notion that you are only using the two deceased men as a vehicle to score points. Ghoulish behaviour.
Post by: Dire Ear on September 24, 2021, 12:27:04 PM
I'm not brainwashed and I'm not a provo but I can spot a FG sc**bag when I see one ( not you obv.  someone else ...somewhere..)
Post by: trueblue1234 on September 24, 2021, 01:30:52 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 12:21:05 PM

Show me where I have an issue with the content of the link you posted? I'll wait....

My issue, was your disgusting attempt to use it to point score. Your attempts at deflection and whataboutery on previous threads only adds to this. And again trying to rewrite that I had some issue with the content of the link you posted rather than your post shows how disingenuous a poster you really are.
Post by: general_lee on September 24, 2021, 03:12:46 PM
What else do you expect from a pig but a grunt... even got Paul Quinn in for good measure. I expect Jean McConville will be in the next post.
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 03:43:35 PM
Another one not happy!

https://www.shannonside.ie/news/family-of-man-killed-in-leitrim-kidnapping-rescue-receive-bravery-medal-190384

What a pity it took nearly 40 years.

Post by: trueblue1234 on September 24, 2021, 04:00:15 PM
Quote from: general_lee on September 24, 2021, 03:12:46 PM
What else do you expect from a pig but a grunt... even got Paul Quinn in for good measure. I expect Jean McConville will be in the next post.

It's embarrassing. He had a melt down last week when someone had the gall to discuss something other that SF. He just runs away when this is pointed out to him and he's done the same here. Can't argue his points and falls back on his "Shinner bot" safe space.
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 04:56:07 PM
General Lee brought great clarity to the subject....a string of ignorant insults.
Don't know what I'm supposed to be "running away" from.... a pair of posters getting riled because  they don't like hearing of Provos murdering employees of the State ?
Post by: trueblue1234 on September 24, 2021, 05:09:30 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 04:56:07 PM
General Lee brought great clarity to the subject....a string of ignorant insults.
Don't know what I'm supposed to be "running away" from.... a pair of posters getting riled because  they don't like hearing of Provos murdering employees of the State ?

You were looking a response with your first post. No point crying like a baby when you got what you wanted.

Again point out we're I got  riled about provos murdering anyone? (This is the running away bit!! )
Post by: Armagh18 on September 24, 2021, 05:16:27 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on September 24, 2021, 05:09:30 PM

You were looking a response with your first post. No point crying like a baby when you got what you wanted.

Again point out we're I got  riled about provos murdering anyone? (This is the running away bit!! )
Why bother? Waste of time replying to him he just wants that reaction...
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 05:36:23 PM

Care to point out where I mentioned you?
Snap and Armagh were the 2 who got wound up.
You came in nearly 24 hours after the original post.
Post by: trueblue1234 on September 24, 2021, 05:45:17 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 05:36:23 PM

Which is what you wanted given your post, so no point crying about it when it comes.  Instead to a post about the victims, you angled for dig instead. Say it all.
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 06:45:23 PM
Great words spoken by Gda Sheehan's sister on the News this evening.
Post by: Snapchap on September 24, 2021, 07:34:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 05:36:23 PM

Wound up? Not even close. I'm well used to sanctimonious free staters with no experience of the troubles, using and abusing the victims of it for political point scoring. It's just the usual guff. I merely wanted to ensure you got called out for your latest shameless, ghoulish behaviour.
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 08:50:19 PM
Derrada Wood is in Leitrim which is one of the 26 Counties.
Gary Sheehan was from Monaghan, Pat Kelly from Westmeath, Both in the 26.
Both murdered men were employees of the Irish Government trying to stop a criminal gang of kidnappers.
If that's "sanctimonious " in your extremist view then carry on.
Post by: Snapchap on September 24, 2021, 08:56:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2021, 08:50:19 PM
Both murdered men were employees of the Irish Government trying to stop a criminal gang of kidnappers.

No, what's sanctimonious is using their names for political point scoring, you ghoul.
Post by: Itchy on September 24, 2021, 10:19:28 PM

From Longford, lived in Westmeath. Ballinamuck to be precise. I wonder Rossfan, do you ever put up posts about the innocent men, women and children murdered by state forces through collusion etc north of the border. GAA men locking their gates gunned down. They seem to be subhuman compared to the deaths in the south.
Post by: Tubberman on September 24, 2021, 11:24:33 PM
Quote from: Itchy on September 24, 2021, 10:19:28 PM

From Longford, lived in Westmeath. Ballinamuck to be precise. I wonder Rossfan, do you ever put up posts about the innocent men, women and children murdered by state forces through collusion etc north of the border. GAA men locking their gates gunned down. They seem to be subhuman compared to the deaths in the south.

The difference is that nobody here is trying to deflect from those murders.
Post by: trueblue1234 on September 24, 2021, 11:42:16 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 24, 2021, 11:24:33 PM

Do you believe Rossfan had the thoughts of the victims in his first post? Or was it a baiting activity? Honest question.
Also another question, were you as vocal about RossFan's deflection last week on the FG thread? 

This is RossFan's MO. Bait a reaction then cry and whine about those Shinner bots when he gets it. If he could stand and debate posts without the usual crap then threads he's involved in mightn't go to shite the way this one and the FG one went.
Post by: Snapchap on September 25, 2021, 12:54:15 AM

No, the difference is those victims are of absolutely no use to him.
Post by: Rossfan on September 25, 2021, 08:42:22 AM

Precisely.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on September 26, 2021, 10:25:29 PM

Murdered by who?
Post by: Rossfan on October 02, 2021, 05:07:15 PM
Well deserved.....38 years behind schedule

https://roscommonherald.ie/2021/10/02/roscommon-man-honoured-for-heroic-bravery-in-the-line-of-duty/
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on October 04, 2021, 11:40:20 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 02, 2021, 05:07:15 PM
Well deserved.....38 years behind schedule

https://roscommonherald.ie/2021/10/02/roscommon-man-honoured-for-heroic-bravery-in-the-line-of-duty/

Same question. Who did he bravely shoot at?