Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

Quote from: EagleLord on April 15, 2010, 12:23:25 AM
Scundered means embarressed to me. Never heard it used any other way.

Correct eagle

"Scundered" seems to be second only to the Irish word "cur" in the number of meanings it has.

Myles na gCopaleen:

Cur, g. curtha and cuirthe, m. - act of
putting, sending, sowing, raining
discussing, burying, vomiting, hammering
into the ground, throwing through the air,
rejecting, shooting, the setting or clamp in
a rick of turf, selling, addressing, the crown
of cast iron buttons which have been made
bright by contact with cliff faces, the stench
of congealing badgers suet, the luminence
of glue-lice, a noise made in a house by an
unauthorised person, a heron's boil, a
leprachauns denture, a sheep biscuit, the
act of inflating hare's offal with a bicycle
pump, a leak in a spirit level, the whine of
a sewage farm windmill, a corncrakes clapper,
the scum on the eye of a senile ram, a
dustmans dumpling, a beetles f**got, the act
of loading ever rift with ore, a dumb man's curse,
a blasket, a 'kur', a fiddlers occupational disease,
a fairy godmothers father, a hawks vertigo, the
art of predicting past events, a wooden coat, a
custard-mincer, a blue-bottles 'farm', a gravy
flask, a timber-mine, a toy craw, a porridge mill,
a fair day donnybrook with nothing barred, a
stoats stomach-pump, a broken-

Quote from: Hardy on April 15, 2010, 10:09:20 AM
"Scundered" seems to be second only to the Irish word "cur" in the number of meanings it has.

Myles na gCopaleen:

M'anam o'n diabhal, Hardy, that's one melting hoor of a long list alright.
Even the much esteemed Pope Benedict wouldn't be able to come up with as many meanings for such a short word.
I know another Irish word, "caith," has a very long list of uses. Offhand, I can come up with a dozen or so but I know there are many more. I haven't time now to see how many I can recall but I'll see what I can come up with this evening.

Good man, Lar.

Top of the list for us people would be "ag caitheamh clochanna leis na Cabhánaigh".

Quote from: Puckoon on April 15, 2010, 01:06:00 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on April 14, 2010, 05:49:12 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on January 10, 2010, 11:53:30 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 10, 2010, 01:07:58 AM
Scundered

To me I would think it means alcohol refreshed.

Same as myself

Means "fed up" where I come from, although some belfast friends use it to mean "embarrassed".
yeah thats the way i would use it too
fed up or pissed off

Quote from: Onion Bag on April 15, 2010, 12:31:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dk1maA76bH8#

"Ya have yer shite" - hadn't heard that one in years. Common in Meath back in the day. How such a phrase came to mean "you're wrong", or "forget it" (which it did) is hard to understand.

The chat is another good one - often heard in Louth. A chat is a thing that has no name - like a yoke or a whatsit. "Where's that chat for cuttin the chicken's nails?". Funny how it evolved to be commonly used to mean cancer, as an unmentionable thing, so that the Louth version of "he has the big C" is "he has the chat".

Quote"Ya have yer shite" - hadn't heard that one in years. Common in Meath back in the day. How such a phrase came to mean "you're wrong", or "forget it" (which it did) is hard to understand.

In Longford that was commonly used to intimate that you would prefer not to accede to a request made of you.

Now that you mention it Billy, that was probably the most common meaning round our way, too.

offtheground

March, as in a boundary between two farms.

"his groun' marches ours"

Quote from: Billys Boots on April 15, 2010, 01:09:03 PM
Quote"Ya have yer shite" - hadn't heard that one in years. Common in Meath back in the day. How such a phrase came to mean "you're wrong", or "forget it" (which it did) is hard to understand.

In Longford that was commonly used to intimate that you would prefer not to accede to a request made of you.

It all depends on the tone of certain words.  If you emphasise the "have" it would suggest Billys version, for example, "you have your shite, I'm not riding thon ugly yoke",  if you emphasise the shite that would suggest an exclamation of indignance for example, "you have your shite, I didn't ride thon ugly yoke"

Quote from: Hardy on April 15, 2010, 12:28:53 PM
Top of the list for us people would be "ag caitheamh clochanna leis na Cabhánaigh".

So, who are we throwing stones at?

In Offaly too.

'Well? Any chance of you going out and cutting that fecking Meadow beyond in the back field?'
'Ya have yer shite'.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 15, 2010, 11:48:03 AM
Quote from: Hardy on April 15, 2010, 10:09:20 AM

Myles na gCopaleen:

M'anam o'n diabhal, Hardy, that's one melting hoor of a long list alright.
Even the much esteemed Pope Benedict wouldn't be able to come up with as many meanings for such a short word.
I know another Irish word, "caith," has a very long list of uses. Offhand, I can come up with a dozen or so but I know there are many more. I haven't time now to see how many I can recall but I'll see what I can come up with this evening.

I can't see the only use of Cur that I know. I.e a mongrel dog, or a fella with the traits of such. i.e. He's a dirty cur that lad.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 15, 2010, 04:11:10 PM

It all depends on the tone of certain words.  If you emphasise the "have" it would suggest Billys version, for example, "you have your shite, I'm not riding thon ugly yoke",  if you emphasise the shite that would suggest an exclamation of indignance for example, "you have your shite, I didn't ride thon ugly yoke"

Nah, we wouldn't be using it to tell lies in Longford.  ;)