Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

Cuddie. She's a quare cuddie. She's a lovely lady. Lived with a few Donegal ones when I was in Derry and they never heard that word before.

Quote from: ziggysego on December 06, 2008, 04:17:24 PM
Cuddie. She's a quare cuddie. She's a lovely lady. Lived with a few Donegal ones when I was in Derry and they never heard that word before.

Good one Ziggy, and well used at the Lifford end of Donegal too.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 06, 2008, 04:50:07 PM

Never heard of it down our end.

Quote from: J70 on December 06, 2008, 05:05:40 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 06, 2008, 04:50:07 PM

Never heard of it down our end.

'Tis a long county you have there J70, you'll be linguistically contaminated by the neighbours the whole way down!  ;)

3) Slang for Crib. Heard in Downpatrick, Liverpool or Tunbridge Wells.

Quote from: ONeill on December 07, 2008, 11:38:29 PM
3) Slang for Crib. Heard in Downpatrick, Liverpool or Tunbridge Wells.
a  lot  of the words here are archaic english some even Yola and Fingalian
some one used in mayo , dunno if any are unique
Arra  - probably a rá  as opposed to the munster yearra
ballubas- a stupid person but apparently a tribe in the congo
drop of the Creatúr - one of many for potin
stocain - big akward lump who undoubtedly would have big Spágs
foosterin - a late entry into the footering debate
lock ( a lock of turf)
ludramán - idiot
raiméis - old shite talk
very common one ii havent seen put down
jigacting
blackguard 
musha

The Blegard

Quote from: ludermor on December 05, 2008, 03:18:10 PM

Very good R&GS
Or if its very bad it would be cat malowgin

My mother used to treaten to mollafooster me when i was bold

She clearly never followed through
Ceol,Dole agus Ol

Bod Mor

I'll mollafooster ya! Many a time I heard it but have never seen it in writing.

- Using the word 'buc', the corner forward was a small quick buceen. Must be only used in the west, Leitrim people use it as well.
- a drumadalee: an awful eejit
- cumstanks: look at the cumstanks yer man is throwing (throwin shapes)
- boyo: abit of a character
Ó chuir mé 'mo cheann é ní stopfaidh mé choíche
Go seasfaidh mé thíos i lár Chondae Mhaigh Eo.

Niall Quinn

Winsamnia

noun inability of inhabitants to retain perspective after winning first or second All Ireland titles - especially prevalent in Northern counties (see Donegal 92, Amagh 02, and Tyrone 03/05)
Back to the howling old owl in the woods, hunting the horny back toad

The following is a selection of words found in the dialect of the Fintona and Dromore area in south-west Tyrone. Many of these words are distributed much more widely, others are more localised. Note that unlike some dialect wordlists, I have not included forms like betther, owl and tay, which are not specifically dialect words, but are rather dialect pronunciations of words found in all English dialects (better, old and tea). Some words included in this list, such as coutrements (accoutrements) and eegit/eejit (idiot) might be considered of a similar sort, but I feel that they are significantly different in form and meaning to warrant inclusion.

You can find them at the link below.

http://www.dromore.info/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=97:south-west-tyrone-dialect-wordsdoc&catid=41:historical

jiving - disgusting. thon boys jiving. that foods jiving
squak talk - talk regarding drink/getting drunk
dart - a ride. "did ye get the dart"?

Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 08, 2008, 04:44:22 PM
jiving - disgusting. thon boys jiving. that foods jiving
squak talk - talk regarding drink/getting drunk

Also heard- did you get your dart card stamped last nite? (did you get the ride last nite?)

Quote from: The Blegard on December 08, 2008, 01:19:03 AM
Quote from: ludermor on December 05, 2008, 03:18:10 PM

Very good R&GS
Or if its very bad it would be cat malowgin

My mother used to treaten to mollafooster me when i was bold

She clearly never followed through

You never know what happens behind closed doors  :'(

i presume yeour female if you were hoping to get a dart or else a homosexual  - not that there anything wrong with that
now if you were to give her  dart that would be different.

buck - wouldnt that be from a young deer I'd be bucking suprised if it wasn't

any one know a word maren/marin meaning border between holdings or else refers to the dividing stream. its used locally never heard of it elsewhere doesnt sound Irish

Did ya get the jump last night?
Another way of asking did ya get the ride