Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

Stalin

Ah would uns qwet way this thread!
A single death is a tragedy; a million deaths is a statistic

'Crabbed' is another that I've heard no other race use. Feck, but some of ye are wile crabbed the day, skitters the lot of ye!

Stalin

Crabbit? Yer hoking up a whole load of shite
A single death is a tragedy; a million deaths is a statistic

Quote from: Stalin on December 06, 2008, 12:53:02 AM
Crabbit? Yer hoking up a whole load of shite
Yep, but the actual spelling is 'crabbed', eejit - there's another one, 'eejit'!  :P ;)

maggie

Haven't read through the thread, but a few that are widely used in my part of Donegal that I haven't really heard elsewhere (not sure about spelling)...

Caddie - young fellow/boy
Gissie - young girl
Door or floor pronounced to rhyme with "pure"
Ramper - deep, wide drain
Grape - pitchfork
Brew - its been a while since I've heard this one as I've been away, but I think it referred to the edge of a drain or stream
Cipin (pronounded kipeen) - light sticks (for starting the fire) - I think my mother brought this one up with her from Mayo!

Oul fella and oul doll meaning father and mother. Ra roo meaning to go on the drink. Im out on the ra roo tonite

Quote from: the green man on December 06, 2008, 12:12:41 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 05, 2008, 01:23:12 PM
Was anyone here ever described as being, "carnaptious?" (Pardon my spelling.)
Like a good (drunk) friend said to me once.
"Howl on, I'm not being carnaptious, I'm just cloustering about the noise thon scatter of bairns is making."

I would use Cranaptious. As in to be feisty or foul mood. As in 'Ziggy is a cranaptious wee f**ker'

Cantankerous. A cantankerous auld hewer stole my football when I put it through his front windy.

Quote from: Puckoon on December 06, 2008, 02:50:48 AM

Cantankerous. A cantankerous auld hewer stole my football when I put it through his front windy.

dont think this is only used by the irish.

Scullery? As in yer ma's "working kitchen".

Harold Disgracey

From Portadown.
Bann eeled - skint
Yes- hello sir, how are you doing today.

Hankering. I've a hankering for some Chicken Maryland tonight.

Quote from: BennyHarp on December 06, 2008, 02:24:33 AM
Oul fella and oul doll meaning father and mother. Ra roo meaning to go on the drink. Im out on the ra roo tonite

Its "oul boy" and "oul doll" in Donegal. "Oul fella" seems to be widespread through the country. "Oul one" or "oul dear" seems to be a Dublin thing.

Quote from: J70 on December 06, 2008, 03:16:54 PM
Its "oul boy" and "oul doll" in Donegal.

And neighbouring counties.