GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on January 17, 2017, 10:05:53 PM

Title: Cavanagh's shimmy and the like
Post by: ONeill on January 17, 2017, 10:05:53 PM
Sean's shimmy will soon be lost to us. Are there other players out there who had/have a signiture 'trick'....not a Mulligan dummy but a move they would execute almost every game which threw opponents?

Gooch had a bounce which bamboozled defences....can't think of many others. Bellew used to kill people.
Title: cnc7594
Post by: FermGael on January 17, 2017, 10:54:30 PM
Always liked the Quigley shove. Very effective in croke park
Title: Re: Cavanagh's shimmy and the like
Post by: Syferus on January 17, 2017, 11:08:08 PM
Cavanagh's tackling will be soon lost to us.

Thank God.
Post by: screenexile on January 17, 2017, 11:09:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 17, 2017, 10:05:53 PM
Sean's shimmy will soon be lost to us. Are there other players out there who had/have a signiture 'trick'....not a Mulligan dummy but a move they would execute almost every game which threw opponents?

Gooch had a bounce which bamboozled defences....can't think of many others. Bellew used to kill people.

I'm actually offended you haven't mentioned the "Doogie Boogie"!
Post by: BennyCake on January 17, 2017, 11:48:47 PM
I could never understand why so many defenders bought Cavanagh's shimmy. He was obviously only right footed.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 18, 2017, 12:07:50 AM

Ja Fallon dropping the shoulder
Post by: Syferus on January 18, 2017, 02:46:50 AM
Cillian O'Connor arching the back.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 18, 2017, 03:30:44 AM
Padraic Joyce and Bernard Brogan had this way of bouncing the ball where they would take about 5 or 6 steps, then move the ball in a slow arc as they ran past the shoulder of the defender, taking a further 4 steps before the ball left the hand.

It meant they got a full run of 10 steps running at a defender to get past

Post by: BennyHarp on January 18, 2017, 06:43:19 AM
Big Mattie McGleenan's fist.
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 18, 2017, 06:47:06 AM
Sean's best shimmy will be avoiding the crowds on his way up the Hogan Stand steps in September.
Post by: redhandefender on January 18, 2017, 08:52:09 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 17, 2017, 11:08:08 PM

Thank God.

Still time to embarrass yous in Omagh on the 4 Feb
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 18, 2017, 09:04:03 AM
Longford's John "Speedy" McCormack (great player of the 80s) had a signature dummy which I swear I haven't seen before or since.

He'd go to kick the ball, commit the defender to the block, solo it instead while quickly turning, and be free - leaving the defender in a heap on the ground.

Always got a cheer. I cannot find any clips of it on the interwebs but it was amazing how many defenders fell for it time and time again.

Post by: ballinaman on January 18, 2017, 09:20:59 AM
The Alan Brogan "8 step hop"
Post by: orangeman on January 18, 2017, 09:31:52 AM
Mc Guigan's solo dummy left some men on their backside.
Post by: cuconnacht on January 18, 2017, 09:53:00 AM
McStay had that double shoulder drop boxer style feint while showing the ball,hypnotize,sidestep and gone!Absolute fker to mark.Cooper emulated some of that movement later on as does Cillian O Conner to a lesser degree at present.Beautiful to watch though.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 18, 2017, 09:53:48 AM
Quote from: screenexile on January 17, 2017, 11:09:55 PM

Beat me to it SE, ,
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 18, 2017, 10:14:19 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on January 18, 2017, 09:53:48 AM

Beat me to it SE, ,

that big hoor Doogie - just like Cavanagh's, you knew it was coming but could do f**k all about it !
Left me on my hole on several occasions !
Post by: seafoid on January 18, 2017, 10:16:54 AM
The Kilkenny butt of the hurl in the faceguard under the dropping ball
Post by: BennyCake on January 18, 2017, 11:51:05 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on January 18, 2017, 06:47:06 AM
Sean's best shimmy will be avoiding the crowds on his way up the Hogan Stand steps in September.

Aye, he will look out of place with the Dublin players alright.
Post by: BennyCake on January 18, 2017, 11:51:43 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 18, 2017, 09:20:59 AM
The Alan Brogan "8 step hop"

Post by: Syferus on January 18, 2017, 12:27:10 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on January 18, 2017, 08:52:09 AM

Thank God.

The only ones Tyrone usually embarrass is themselves, though.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 18, 2017, 12:29:34 PM
You tend to make a habit of embarrassing yourself enough on here tho.
Post by: Main Street on January 18, 2017, 12:37:23 PM
I think Sean lost his talent to shimmy at county level sometime in 2015.
I didn't see him shimmy in 2016 nor did I notice his arm wrestling compulsions, he played a clean game in 2016, perhaps he has matured going into his twilight years and perhaps become more aware of that peculiar emotion, embarrassment.
Post by: sligoman2 on January 18, 2017, 01:17:49 PM
Big Joe from Meath with the roll and throw....
Post by: Syferus on January 18, 2017, 01:44:20 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 18, 2017, 12:29:34 PM
You tend to make a habit of embarrassing yourself enough on here tho.

Yawn
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 18, 2017, 01:48:55 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on January 18, 2017, 10:14:19 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on January 18, 2017, 09:53:48 AM

Beat me to it SE, ,

that big hoor Doogie - just like Cavanagh's, you knew it was coming but could do f**k all about it !
Left me on my hole on several occasions !
And  he was doing it from under 12 onwards, you just couldn't help but fall for it Hoof
Post by: BennyCake on January 18, 2017, 02:19:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 18, 2017, 12:37:23 PM
I think Sean lost his talent to shimmy at county level sometime in 2015.
I didn't see him shimmy in 2016 nor did I notice his arm wrestling compulsions, he played a clean game in 2016, perhaps he has matured going into his twilight years and perhaps become more aware of that peculiar emotion, embarrassment.

Embarrassment, me arse. Any player with ambitions of winning titles would be willing to do anything to get over the line. Players are like sharks, emotionless.

Had Tyrone won the AI in 2013, would Cavanagh look back with enbarrassment at the McManus tackle? No he wouldn't. He'd be sitting in the Burlington with a big smile on his face, and a Celtic Cross in his arse pocket.
Post by: redhandefender on January 18, 2017, 02:35:03 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 18, 2017, 12:27:10 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on January 18, 2017, 08:52:09 AM

Thank God.

The only ones Tyrone usually embarrass is themselves, though.

How's your team bus going, will yous have enough players to fill it? she didn't get much of a run last year only for the aul ones going to bingo
Post by: criostlinn on January 18, 2017, 03:25:35 PM
Seriously lads why do ye even engage with the fool
Post by: fearbrags on January 18, 2017, 03:36:43 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snlHd8e7uKs
Post by: PW Nally on January 18, 2017, 04:45:13 PM
Quote from: fearbrags on January 18, 2017, 03:36:43 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snlHd8e7uKs
Genius
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 18, 2017, 08:05:56 PM
Padraig Joyce and the 8/9 tiny steps
Post by: magpie seanie on January 18, 2017, 09:11:21 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on January 18, 2017, 03:25:35 PM

And if you must please don't quote his posts. Several of us have him on ignore but we see his rubbish if you quote him. Thanks.
Post by: Itchy on January 18, 2017, 09:57:35 PM
I never recovered when we lost the Larry Reilly sprint to the corner flag and the Larry Reilly double hop.
Post by: Syferus on January 19, 2017, 01:30:04 PM

Still yawn.
Post by: StGallsGAA on January 22, 2017, 09:31:03 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 18, 2017, 09:11:21 PM

And if you must please don't quote his posts. Several of us have him on ignore but we see his rubbish if you quote him. Thanks.

He's from Roscommon tho.  Remedial GAA by birth so treat him with disadvantaged compassion rather than scorn.
Post by: ONeill on March 05, 2017, 09:15:30 PM
The shimmy-point is alive and kicking. Though possibly only against Monaghan.
Post by: lenny on March 05, 2017, 10:25:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 05, 2017, 09:15:30 PM

To do it though he has to take 8 or 9 steps. Great to watch but how no ref has picked up on it is unbelievable.
Post by: The Subbie on March 05, 2017, 11:21:03 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mMljlI_DLwA (https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mMljlI_DLwA)

The genius of Ray McCarrons cultured left boot
Post by: ONeill on March 05, 2017, 11:50:46 PM
Quote from: lenny on March 05, 2017, 10:25:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 05, 2017, 09:15:30 PM

To do it though he has to take 8 or 9 steps. Great to watch but how no ref has picked up on it is unbelievable.

The fact that Monaghan are the last to pick up on it is even more unbelievable.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2017, 12:20:09 PM
Quote from: lenny on March 05, 2017, 10:25:18 PM

Yeah unbelievable Lenny how ALL the refs are wrong and you are right.
A bit like how all the Armagh & Derry lads said Mulligan fouled the ball in THAT goal in 2005 in Croker.

ONeill be gentle with the Farney lads as we burst their bubble on Sat night.
I wonder would they like to meet us in the league final this year if we offered to play it in Clones not Croker.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 06, 2017, 01:43:28 PM
I watched Dublin v Mayo mostly on Saturday night. Amid all the super 8 and change of All Ireland dates I must have missed the change in rule governing the number of steps allowed. Players from both sides regularly taking 8-10 steps.....it's gone beyond a joke at this stage.
Post by: rosnarun on March 06, 2017, 06:49:57 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 06, 2017, 01:43:28 PM
I watched Dublin v Mayo mostly on Saturday night. Amid all the super 8 and change of All Ireland dates I must have missed the change in rule governing the number of steps allowed. Players from both sides regularly taking 8-10 steps.....it's gone beyond a joke at this stage.
makes good defence impossible and then as soon as a player is touched ref gives a free in for a easy tap over point
you can keep all your super * overtraining blanket defence ETC . this is probably as big an issue as there is in the GAA
Post by: lenny on March 06, 2017, 07:01:28 PM

Totally agree, I wasn't just getting at cavanagh. Kevin mcmanamin is another example of someone who regularly gets away with 8 or 9 steps and they're not the only players.
Post by: Sandy Hill on March 06, 2017, 08:19:51 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 06, 2017, 06:49:57 PM
makes good defence impossible and then as soon as a player is touched ref gives a free in for a easy tap over point
you can keep all your super * overtraining blanket defence ETC . this is probably as big an issue as there is in the GAA

Me too!!!
Post by: EagleLord on March 06, 2017, 10:45:25 PM
Just seeing this thread now.

Instantly thought of the Alan Brogan bounce where he holds the ball up high in one hand and puffs out the cheeks, takes 10 steps. Or Benny Coulters trip he got away with so often, where he'd stick his leg into the defender tripping him leaving him on his arse and Benny solos on. Just about catch it at start of this clip. Technically a black card now though isnt it?

https://youtu.be/uUFJroEo4BM
Post by: Jinxy on March 06, 2017, 11:14:47 PM
Once you can convince the ref you're seriously considering taking a hop or solo, you can go 8 steps and be fairly confident you won't be pulled on it.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 07, 2017, 10:03:14 AM
Do you not think refs let players take more steps when they're being pulled or dragged. He could give a free right away lots of times but he wants to try let the game flow. Cavanagh and McManamon are two players who often run with the ball and so attract a lot of tackles. Often players try to hold them back so the ref lets them take a few extra steps to see can they break free of the tackle.
Post by: shawshank on March 07, 2017, 10:33:24 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 17, 2017, 11:48:47 PM
I could never understand why so many defenders bought Cavanagh's shimmy. He was obviously only right footed.

And in one sentence you have shown you never played football, or if you did you must have been brainless. The reason why is because of his pace, you stand off to close the space to Sean's right shoulder he accelerates and cleans you out, that's why most defenders can't stop it. The few who have been able to play him i.e. Sean Lockhart had pace to burn so were not frightened to close the space to Sean right side knowing they had the pace to go with him if he took them on the outside.
Post by: Hardy on March 07, 2017, 10:54:35 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 07, 2017, 10:03:14 AM
Do you not think refs let players take more steps when they're being pulled or dragged. He could give a free right away lots of times but he wants to try let the game flow. Cavanagh and McManamon are two players who often run with the ball and so attract a lot of tackles. Often players try to hold them back so the ref lets them take a few extra steps to see can they break free of the tackle.

Which is cause and which is effect though? It seems to be a bizarre three-way Catch-33.

1. Players don't play the ball because the ball can only be tackled when they play it. If they know they can get away with eight steps instead of four, why would they present the opponent with twice the number of dispossession opportunities that they need to?

2. The would-be tackler, since he's not getting a real opportunity to tackle the ball, resorts to random slapping and pulling at the player in possession, which is also against the rules, but which he also knows he'll get away with it.

3. He gets away with it because the referee knows that if he pulls all instances of this there'll be no football played at all and, far from getting assessment points for playing to the rules, he'll be blackballed and relegated to reffing under-10s.

This is the standard GAA non-solution to a GAA problem. On the other hand, if the four-step rule is applied, the tackler knows he has a chance to tackle legally every four steps. He can even prepare and time his intervention on the fourth step. The ball carrier has less of an incentive to run with the ball and more of an incentive to kick it, as running now involves a greatly increased chance of being dispossessed legally and greatly diminished opportunities to feign being fouled.

So, with one really simple measure - i.e. actually applying one simple rule as written - we could go a major part of the way to reversing the trend that's turning football into a running game instead of a kicking game.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 07, 2017, 12:10:21 PM
Is it possible that you're overthinking it Hardy or giving both the attacker and defender too much credit for what they're doing.

To me most tacklers rush in and don't think about waiting until the right moment to tackle as they think the man will have got past them so more often than not they just leave their hand in and drag the jersey or arm back. How often do you see a defender run alongside a man waiting until he solos or bounces? More often than not they try to knock it out of his hand or shoulder him in the hope he drops it.

The question was asked why do some players get away with taking more steps than others and I think it's because they are good at keeping possession on the run but people foul them so the ref allows a few extra steps to ride the tackle. I don't think they purposely take the extra steps hoping to draw the foul from a mis-timed tackle.
Post by: Jinxy on March 07, 2017, 12:33:46 PM
Quote from: shawshank on March 07, 2017, 10:33:24 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 17, 2017, 11:48:47 PM

And in one sentence you have shown you never played football, or if you did you must have been brainless. The reason why is because of his pace, you stand off to close the space to Sean's right shoulder he accelerates and cleans you out, that's why most defenders can't stop it. The few who have been able to play him i.e. Sean Lockhart had pace to burn so were not frightened to close the space to Sean right side knowing they had the pace to go with him if he took them on the outside.

In the good old days a well-placed shoulder/elbow into the forward's sternum was often used to discourage sudden changes in direction.
Post by: Hardy on March 07, 2017, 12:44:26 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 07, 2017, 12:10:21 PM
Is it possible that you're overthinking it Hardy or giving both the attacker and defender too much credit for what they're doing.

To me most tacklers rush in and don't think about waiting until the right moment to tackle as they think the man will have got past them so more often than not they just leave their hand in and drag the jersey or arm back. How often do you see a defender run alongside a man waiting until he solos or bounces? More often than not they try to knock it out of his hand or shoulder him in the hope he drops it.

The question was asked why do some players get away with taking more steps than others and I think it's because they are good at keeping possession on the run but people foul them so the ref allows a few extra steps to ride the tackle. I don't think they purposely take the extra steps hoping to draw the foul from a mis-timed tackle.

I didn't mean to suggest they purposely take the extra steps hoping to draw the foul from a mis-timed tackle. I'm suggesting that knowing they can get away with eight steps means they'll take eight steps and the effect of this is that the tackler has a much diminished chance of making a legal tackle.

You're right that very few players have a proper tackling technique but I'm suggesting that if we applied the rules properly – four steps only, tackle the ball only, slapping and digging are a free – then, just as ball carriers would have an incentive to play the ball rather than run, tacklers would have both an incentive and a fair opportunity to tackle properly.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 07, 2017, 12:56:38 PM
Now there's something you don't see every day. One Meath man looking to return to the physical style of play that won them many an All Ireland and then another Meath man saying if the ref gave the frees that he should be giving then the game would be much cleaner and it would encourage lads to play the ball more and not the man.
Hardy have you been out of Meath for a long time or just have young kids playing the game now?

Quote from: Jinxy on March 07, 2017, 12:33:46 PM
In the good old days, when Meath were winning things, a well-placed shoulder/elbow into the forward's sternum was often used to discourage sudden changes in direction.

Quote from: Jinxy on March 07, 2017, 12:33:46 PM
four steps only, tackle the ball only, slapping and digging are a free – then, just as ball carriers would have an incentive to play the ball rather than run, tacklers would have both an incentive and a fair opportunity to tackle properly.
Post by: Unlaoised on March 07, 2017, 01:21:48 PM
MDM's awkard running style taking about 7 steps before he bounces it basket ball style elbows people out of his way.
Post by: Unlaoised on March 07, 2017, 01:28:45 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on March 06, 2017, 10:45:25 PM
Just seeing this thread now.

Instantly thought of the Alan Brogan bounce where he holds the ball up high in one hand and puffs out the cheeks, takes 10 steps. Or Benny Coulters trip he got away with so often, where he'd stick his leg into the defender tripping him leaving him on his arse and Benny solos on. Just about catch it at start of this clip. Technically a black card now though isnt it?

https://youtu.be/uUFJroEo4BM

Thats a great shout I remember talking about that to other county players a few years back it was a great bit of skill and cuteness in its own way.

There was a Cork forward who used to do it aswell can't think of his name off the top of my head now!
Post by: Jinxy on March 07, 2017, 02:14:53 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on March 07, 2017, 01:21:48 PM
MDM's awkard running style taking about 7 steps before he bounces it basket ball style elbows people out of his way.

Remember when you were a kid playing cowboys and indians and you ran around the garden pretending you were riding a horse?
That's how he runs.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 08, 2017, 09:49:32 AM
Quote from: lenny on March 06, 2017, 07:01:28 PM

Totally agree, I wasn't just getting at cavanagh. Kevin mcmanamin is another example of someone who regularly gets away with 8 or 9 steps and they're not the only players.

At least he gets pulled for overcarrying the odd time. Whereas can't remember him once getting pulled for the double hops.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 08, 2017, 01:11:30 PM
Martin Lynch was always a good one for steps

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3E1MvfCIlXA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3E1MvfCIlXA)
Post by: Jinxy on March 08, 2017, 04:24:08 PM
I'm amazed he ran that far without falling over.
Post by: vallankumous on March 09, 2017, 08:38:34 AM
Ronan O'Neill is a great man for the dummy bounce.

Ciaran Donaghey's ass move.

Post by: The Gs Man on March 09, 2017, 04:10:08 PM
Armagh's Stefan Campbell has the "Soupy Loopy" where he solos the ball towards an opponent before completing a visually exciting 360 degree somersault over the opponents head, finished off with a point from 50 yards straight over the black spot.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 09, 2017, 04:27:24 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lov4qdSdaI
Post by: imtommygunn on March 09, 2017, 06:23:37 PM
It is a bit like arjen robben moving from the right wing inside onto his left foot. You know it's coming and so does the defender but done at pace very hard to defend against.
Post by: Estimator on March 10, 2017, 11:03:58 AM
I think the point McCartan scored against Derry in '94 is a perfect example of how referees implement the rules. On two occasions McCartan had the ball in his hands for at least 10 steps. He was being tackled by McKeever and Diamond so he was allowed the extra steps. Being a small man also helps.

https://youtu.be/Q65cnTw32K8

Was a great point all the same. Three players (two long kick passes and the scorer) involved in a move from one end of the field to the other. Doesn't happen much these days.
Post by: ONeill on March 18, 2017, 09:45:11 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 09, 2017, 04:27:24 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lov4qdSdaI

If ye jumped over the crossbar, would Deegan give it?