The Sunday Game

Started by Jinxy, May 11, 2008, 10:47:55 PM

Quote from: Jinxy on May 10, 2017, 03:49:58 PM
I'd go as far as to say that Tomás O'Sé is near enough my least favourite analyst now.
Started off well, then realised he could get away with phoning it in.
I'd far rather have someone like Paul Galvin on the panel (if we have to have a Kerry man).
Are Kerry being awarded TSG analyst roles as a compensation for the fact that they seem unable to beat the Dubs ?
Is the production line finished in Kerry ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ReOwtTzUAZQ

Seany

TSG is the sort of sound bite, clichéd analysis that comes from typical lazy, public service broadcasters.

If you wasn't proper, informed, structured, lively debate, without the egos and headline grabbing you see on TSG, The GAA Hour on Joe.ie is the place to go.

Every one of those analysts is well informed, know the game inside out and do not descend into insult. 

Quote from: seafoid on May 18, 2017, 10:54:58 AM
http://www.independent.ie/videos/sport/watch-this-version-of-irelands-favourite-tv-tune-like-youve-never-heard-it-before-35725793.html

I don't know why they persist with that new theme for TSG. The old one stirs up emotions in you from years before, and when you hear it you know the summer has started. I mean, you wouldn't change the MOTD theme, or Eastenders. It's all about having that connection. You might as well mute the new opening theme, as it doesn't do that..

gwan-ye-boy-ya

Sick to the teeth of brolly at this stage. needs to show respect to his co-pundits as well as his anchor. Constantly cutting across everyone.
Got the feeling O'Se didn't want to be there and O'Rourke wanted to leather him. Why ? Because its ulster and ulster is the ' JOE SHOW'.
I really wanted to hear what Colm and Thomas had to say about tonights game... but JOE.....
Need to show more etiquette and professionalism joe. 
And as for RTE. Its up to you to direct the show.

ONE SPEAKER AT A TIME PLEASE. get it right RTE.

What was that little snigger  between joe and Thomas directly after Pete McGraths interview ?????? live on air.
I would really like to know.........................................................

More professionalism RTE please.

Feck professionalism. Just get rid of that Brolly tool.

Holy feck....Joe's opening gambit first day of the championship, first show of the year, first question asked...... Joanne:..Your thoughts on the upcoming season Joe... Joe: Well sure the whole thing is a farce...

Like wtf, is that eejit getting paid for this nonsense??? What are the Gaa doing letting Rte constantly denigrate the game like that, its been going on for years.

Seany

It's because he does no research, doesn't know the players and has about two original ideas. His tactic Therefore its  the classic diversion tactic.  Go on a rant about the association itself and that will do.

Glad to see he's finally being caught on for what he is.

Quote from: Seany on May 21, 2017, 08:56:53 AM
It's because he does no research, doesn't know the players and has about two original ideas. His tactic Therefore its  the classic diversion tactic.  Go on a rant about the association itself and that will do.

RTE have no respect for the GAA. It's obvious that Brolly will be kept to be the grumpy man in the middle.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2017, 09:07:07 AM
Quote from: Seany on May 21, 2017, 08:56:53 AM

RTE have no respect for the GAA. It's obvious that Brolly will be kept to be the grumpy man in the middle.

Brolly just warming up. The big bad wolf Tyrone is out next week, cue death of gaelic football analysis.

But football is a mess. Reffing is inconsistent. The black card is not working. The money . Stress injuries and fellas retiring at 28.  Creeping commercialism. Attendances are falling. Puke football turns off fans.  There is no vision for what  the GAA wants to do with the game.

smelmoth

TSG is a poor quality product. Both the live show and the so called highlights package. The whole thing needs a rethink.

New presenter/anchor is a must. Lyster is awful. Bland questions. If indeed there is any thought behind his line of questions it seems to be to direct the discussion away from any criticism of players, officials, management or the general spectacle. Cahill isn't much better and would not be the answer for the live show.

Money is a big limitation on what can be done but a lot more can be done in terms of tactical analysis with the cameras that are there for the live games, especially in Croke Park.

I can't think of any other sport where if there was a red card or equivalent that the highlights package would show the card being issued but not the incident being punished if footage was available. Is it the game or the viewing public that are in need of this sort of protection?

Some of the pundits are poor but with a decent presenter they are not all irredeemable. The co-commentators are mainly awful. Is there someone inside RTE who sits down every year with Carney and Carr and says another great year lads. Let's do another year of the same?

Hate the sound of Brolly