Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Mourne Red

Quote from: rosskarr on December 07, 2021, 02:21:51 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on December 07, 2021, 09:46:59 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 07, 2021, 08:50:56 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on December 06, 2021, 11:24:07 AM
Does anyone know why the county board is trying to dilute the authority of the divisional boards. The East Down board is very strong and I wish Ardglass Ryan Kelly all the best in his new role who replaces Ger Connery who has been an excellent chairperson. I do not know why the county board has taken away the underage leagues from the boards. young players loved to play in South and East Down finals with the winner playing off for the county championship.

Your assumption is that the county board wants control, moreso than having little choice but to take control.

You may well be right too. I don't know.

But I'd prefer people were sure, before ushering in condemnation.

——

Similar with the comment above about the u20 competition "assigned to" the big club almalgalm.

If a team with no known history chooses a competition, and their registered player numbers suggest they're the right fit for it, then why would CCC intervene and force them into a different competition?

——

Not everything is a ploy in admin land folks.

I don't know.

We all know it's about control. The u14 and u16 divisional finals were excellent showcases and ensured teams were not travelling stupid distances for games. The East Down board will not be going anywhere depsite what the suits that sit on the executive think.
Who were in these U14&U16 Divisional Finals?

He ignored you there Ross lol

rafla ta se

Quote from: johnnycool on December 07, 2021, 03:05:03 PM
Sad news about referee Colin Murray from Darragh Cross who passed away today, could only be early to mid 40's at best.

RIP Colin and condolences to the family.

Sad news indeed
scíth a ligean Colin

Jeepers Creepers

Quote from: johnnycool on December 07, 2021, 03:05:03 PM
Sad news about referee Colin Murray from Darragh Cross who passed away today, could only be early to mid 40's at best.

RIP Colin and condolences to the family.

46 yrs of age. Shocked by this. Worked with him a number of years ago. He was some craic. A good lad.

rafla ta se

Quote from: Truth hurts on November 24, 2021, 10:54:06 AM
Kilcoo Moran/ Gilligan
Burren McCorry/ Adams
Clonduff McBride/ Copeland
Mayobridge Poacher/Clarke
Ballyholland Murtagh/Fegan
CPN Mulholland/Poland
Loughinisland Duffins/ McCrickard
Carryduff Finny Mo
Rostrevor Benny Coulter/ Neil Coulter
Castlewellan Grant/Hynes
Downpatrick Gracey/ Walsh
Bryansford

Glenn Bagnall / McCartan
Longstone Trainor
Saul O'Toole
Liatrom Frankie Fitz
Saval Hughes/Kearney
Darragh Cross DJ/ Gormley
Annaclone Seamy Quinn/ Haughey
An Riocht Ruane/ Mussen

Bryansford announcment this week/ Fegan and Deegan and talk of ex Carryduff boss Morgan with them?

Truth hurts

Quote from: rafla ta se on December 08, 2021, 08:36:25 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on November 24, 2021, 10:54:06 AM
Kilcoo Moran/ Gilligan
Burren McCorry/ Adams
Clonduff McBride/ Copeland
Mayobridge Poacher/Clarke
Ballyholland Murtagh/Fegan
CPN Mulholland/Poland
Loughinisland Duffins/ McCrickard
Carryduff Finny Mo
Rostrevor Benny Coulter/ Neil Coulter
Castlewellan Grant/Hynes
Downpatrick Gracey/ Walsh
Bryansford

Glenn Bagnall / McCartan
Longstone Trainor
Saul O'Toole
Liatrom Frankie Fitz
Saval Hughes/Kearney
Darragh Cross DJ/ Gormley
Annaclone Seamy Quinn/ Haughey
An Riocht Ruane/ Mussen

Bryansford announcment this week/ Fegan and Deegan and talk of ex Carryduff boss Morgan with them?

Were they together at the RGU?

Truth hurts

Castlewellan v St Johns will be a cracker this weeekend.

charlieTully

Quote from: rosskarr on December 08, 2021, 10:13:34 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on December 08, 2021, 09:32:48 AM
Castlewellan v St Johns will be a cracker this weeekend.
Is this a Divisional cracker or a Down fixture?Will there be prominent people
attending such as Ger Connery and Ryan Kelly?

Post match feed in docs. All welcome. Prominent East Down lads will all be there.

Truth hurts

A big East Down figure could be challenging for the county chair  :)

Three man weave

Thats awful news, it must be one of your contacts

Hard2Listen2

Current chairman of county board is from Bredagh.

Last time I checked Bredagh is in East Down.

Meeting tonight in Zebedee's to select new senior panel.

Several prominent individuals expected to be in attendance.

rosskarr

Quote from: Truth hurts on December 08, 2021, 04:05:00 PM
Give us all a clue as to which "big" figure this is?
Surely you are not slagging off someone's body shape🤷🏻‍♂️
or did you not want to use the word "prominent" again&again zzzzz!!!

Hard2Listen2

Prominent
Well known
Big figure
Frequents the eating houses around Downpatrick

Could it be that TTs contact is ..... (drum roll)

... Ronald McDonald for chairman!!

imagine

Quote from: Truth hurts on December 08, 2021, 04:05:00 PM
Yes,I heard G.Connery is putting his name in the hat for an East Down Derby at Convention.

Johnnysboys

Some clubs back out training already for next year - and I'm not talking about gym sessions in groups and f 4-6...  What is going on with these people?? Are they trying to justify huge £££ by taking players for running sessions in December??

Mourne Red

Quote from: Johnnysboys on December 08, 2021, 09:27:20 PM
Some clubs back out training already for next year - and I'm not talking about gym sessions in groups and f 4-6...  What is going on with these people?? Are they trying to justify huge £££ by taking players for running sessions in December??

Never understand this.. Players are just going to be burnt out by May/June and be worth feck all come Championship/League business end. S&C and some individual running is suffice enough until Mid-Jan