Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: SLIGONIAN on May 31, 2007, 10:22:01 AM

Title: Leeds Utd the Future
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 31, 2007, 10:22:01 AM
Tomorrows a big day...

I am optimistic though..

Latest from Bates

KEN BATES has revealed six serious would-be investors are interested in getting involved with Leeds United if the club exit administration tomorrow.
The Elland Road outfit were placed in the hands of administrators KPMG on May 4 amid debts of £35m and a balance sheet indicating an injection of £10m was needed to keep United alive.

Within a few minutes, KPMG had sold the club to a newly-formed company headed by Bates with the deal being subject to approval at tomorrow's creditors' meeting when a Company Voluntary Agreement will be voted on.

Leeds property magnate Simon Morris, a former United director, has submitted rival plans for a £10m takeover, but Bates hopes the creditors will instead agree to his offer of 1p in the pound.

The United chairman last night told the Yorkshire Post: "We have six serious would-be investors or investor groups whom you have never read or heard about.

"They want to come in once Friday is out of the way. What will be disastrous is if
these people who I call spoilers, manage to do so.

"One (of the would-be investors) is a huge American group who have just completed a huge takeover successfully. I will not discuss their identity, but it is all very encouraging.

"Serious investors don't talk to newspapers. They don't go through the newspapers.

"I won't mention names, but when you read 'I am going to do this and that' you can usually take it for granted that they are enjoying their two-bob's worth of glory and then they will fade away.

"When a deal is done, it will be announced.

"We know other people are also holding off until we come out of administration, so there is plenty of money about. But it has to be on the right terms and the right motives.

"The moment someone comes in and talks about the property angle then we kick them out. They are not interested in Leeds United, they are interested in the land."

Due to being in administration for the past four weeks, Leeds have been unable to negotiate transfers in or out of Elland Road.

However, if tomorrow's creditors' meeting hands control back to Bates then manager Dennis Wise, subject to the Football League's next board meeting on
June 6 rubber-stamping the deal, will be able to belatedly start re-building for life in League One.

Bates, who has also revealed to the Yorkshire Post that Wise volunteered to take a pay cut following relegation, said: "Other clubs have been able to sign players since May 7 and, in fact, some players that we wanted have already been signed.

"But Dennis has had a lot of meetings and discussions with players. I have now sent Dennis and Gus (Poyet) away on holiday and by the time we will be able to trade again, they will be back.

"Dennis Wise has also volunteered to take a pay cut, which I think must be a first in the history of football. He is leading by example."

Providing tomorrow's creditors' meeting can be successfully negotiated, Bates is forecasting a bright future for United.

He said: "There have been a number of encouraging things. Firstly, we have 1,760 people on a waiting list who are new people wanting to buy season tickets. (United's season ticket tally last season was a little
under 11,000).

"As of today, 109 executive members have not renewed, but over 80 have said they want to be new ones. So, that is looking good. The corporates are very important because they pay big money.

"We have also agreed three new sponsorships – which we can't sign yet obviously – and that, again, is hugely encouraging.

"And we have also done a deal with our on-line betting partner (Bet24) who will pay us between two and four times what they did this year.

"We have also had an amazing number of supportive letters from fans. There was an old guy from Ilkley who sent us £25 with a note saying 'hope this helps'. We had a 16-year-old schoolboy from Ireland who sent us a e50 note, while a guy from America sent us $100.

"It has all been very touching. I have written back to them all to return their money, and told them to save it for a big promotion party next May."

Revie article

DUNCAN REVIE will decide next week whether to table a formal bid for Leeds United after confirming his interest to administrators, KPMG.
The Elland Road club were placed in administration earlier this month and a vote on whether to accept an offer by chairman Ken Bates will be taken at a creditors' meeting on June 1.

Revie, the son of legendary former Leeds manager Don, said: "The creditors' meeting has never been a deadline for me. We have a much longer-term view of taking on the whole thing and will not be rushing into our judgment.

"We have lodged proof of funds with the administrators. We have not lodged a bid.

"We need to see the figures first and you don't get to see the figures unless you can prove you have the funds available.

"By the end of the weekend we will know whether or not we are going to make a bid."

Bates is understood to have the backing of United's three major creditors and Revie added: "Whatever happens at the creditors' meeting it will not alter our plans at all.

"We have an unswerving vision, just as my dad did when he walked into Elland Road in the early Sixties and changed the strip into the all white of Real Madrid.

"If I do this I will do it wholeheartedly. I have a very talented team of legal experts and accountants who are looking at it.

"It is a heart-strings and head decision. My heart's going one way and my head's in the middle. Hopefully we can bring the two together."

Former director Simon Morris, another who has gone public with his interest in United, insists he will not be breaking any rules if he succeeds in purchasing cash-strapped Boston United.

Football League laws forbid dual ownership of English sides, which would seemingly preclude him from winning both bids.

But Morris, whose SR Morris Group is behind the Standing Alone Ltd group trying to buy Boston's York Street ground and the club's holding
company, claims he can legally pursue both bids as he has buyers lined up to purchase the Pilgrims once they become solvent again.

A spokesman for Morris said: "SR Morris group are fully aware of Football League regulations with regards to dual ownership.

"SR Morris Group would never allow that to become an issue – simply because we know of several interested parties who want to take Boston United on as a going concern."

Dennis Wise is formulating his plans ahead of United's first ever League One campaign even though the club are still in administration.

Several out-of-contract players have already been released including Neil Sullivan, Ian Moore and Steven Crainey, while left-back Ben Parker is one of three youngsters to have been offered new deals.

It is understood new contracts will, on the club exiting administration, be offered to Rui Marques, Matt Heath and Tore Andre Flo

Title: This Thread
Post by: Uladh on May 31, 2007, 10:25:55 AM

Title: Re: Leeds Utd the Future
Post by: mooncatiii on May 31, 2007, 10:29:34 AM
What has a cordless drill and the Coca Cola Championship got in common?

they both have no Leeds!!!  :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Billys Boots on May 31, 2007, 10:29:44 AM
It's poor form to mock the afflicted Uladh.  ::)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 31, 2007, 10:52:00 AM
Good one lads... ;D

Lucky I dont take yer comments too serious. Kindy immune to abuse being a sligo and leeds fan cos Im so used to it. I chose to be a leeds fan so I guess I'll suffer the consequences. But what goes around comes around.
Post by: Uladh on May 31, 2007, 10:59:42 AM

Och, i'm sorry Sligonian.

Seriously... If yis can stay in business, Denis Wise will get you back i the champions league in no time.

they're introducing mini games at half time in the CL from next year                                         ;D
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 31, 2007, 11:17:34 AM
Leeds have more chance of playing FC United than Man United over the next few years.

Their season tickets are(were) still hugely expensive and they are relying on pushing the fanbases loyalty to extremes to keep asking them to pay it. I doubt very much there is a quick fix here. They need enough investment to keep the wolves from the door, and a manager (Def not wise, as much as Id love him to stay) who is prepared to put the graft in, pick up loan signings, bargains etc that will inject stability and maybe even a bit of excitement . They will need to drop prices on the gate to get people in, and help build some momentum.

Personally, I used to love going to Leeds away, hair raising an experience as it was , and as much as I have laughed at their plight , I hope it doesnt last forever. What does f**king annoy me is that Risdale walked away scot free, and was able to get straight back into another club. People will try and blame O'Leary for buying big, but it was Risdale and the board who gave him the money, and had nothing plan for it going tits up.
Post by: shotstopper1 on July 04, 2007, 02:41:37 PM
The latest in the Leeds saga

http://www.yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk/leeds-united-news?articleid=3002018&articlepage=1
(http://www.yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk/leeds-united-news?articleid=3002018&articlepage=1)
Post by: stew on July 04, 2007, 03:38:48 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 31, 2007, 10:52:00 AM
Good one lads... ;D

Lucky I dont take yer comments too serious. Kindy immune to abuse being a sligo and leeds fan cos Im so used to it. I chose to be a leeds fan so I guess I'll suffer the consequences. But what goes around comes around.

Fair play to you Sligonian, living in green bay I am used to whinging bastards who jump on and off the bandwagon depending on how their team is going and you clearly dont do that. I hope Leeds emerge from this bankruptcy and become a premier league team once again, you are also not alone, there are lenty of Leeds fans out there, Armaghs very own Rufus is a mad fan if i remember rightly. ;D
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on July 05, 2007, 12:05:57 AM
Quote from: stew on July 04, 2007, 03:38:48 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 31, 2007, 10:52:00 AM
Good one lads... ;D

Fair play to you Sligonian, living in green bay I am used to whinging bastards who jump on and off the bandwagon depending on how their team is going and you clearly dont do that. I hope Leeds emerge from this bankruptcy and become a premier league team once again, you are also not alone, there are lenty of Leeds fans out there, Armaghs very own Rufus is a mad fan if i remember rightly. ;D

Plenty of Super Leeds fans in Armagh - off the top of my head, Aidan Rafferty, Bonehead McCreadie, Ted McGeown, Frankie Vallely, Marty McLean, Kevin Wilson, John 'Ike' Gribben, Noddy Wilson....
Post by: wolfram74 on July 05, 2007, 07:02:58 AM

QuoteWhat does f**king annoy me is that Risdale walked away scot free, and was able to get straight back into another club. People will try and blame O'Leary for buying big, but it was Risdale and the board who gave him the money, and had nothing plan for it going tits up.

Very well said.
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2007, 07:40:01 PM
May not be playing anywhere after this

Ken Bates has already warned that the club's future is in jeopardy
There is now a real danger that Leeds United will not be able to start the new football league season, their administrators KPMG have warned.
The comments were made at a High Court hearing in Leeds, where the club's plans to exit administration are being challenged by HM Revenue & Customs.

KPMG said that unless the club is able to leave administration, the Football League may not let it start the season.

BBC Radio Leeds understands the Football League is as yet undecided.

No-one at the Football League was immediately available for comment.

Renewed rival bids?

The court case has now been adjourned until 3 September, while Leeds are due to play their first game of next season away to Tranmere on Saturday, 11 August.

Former Leeds chairman Gerald Krasner told Sky Sports News he thought the ownership question would be sorted out before the start of the season.

He also raised the possibility that two interested parties could join forward to buy the club if KPMG rejects Mr Bates' plans.

Those who have previously declared an interest in buying the club include Duncan Revie, son of former Leeds manager Don, and property entrepreneur Simon Morris.

Unpaid taxes

Earlier this week, businessman Simon Franks said he was ready to buy Leeds United, through his Redbus investment vehicle.

HM Revenue & Customs is unhappy at the plans of Leeds chairman Ken Bates to pull the club out of administration by paying creditors just 8p in every £1.

Mr Bates has already warned that the cost of defending the court action could cost the club its future.

Leeds United has debts of £35m, with HM Revenue & Customs owed £7.7m in unpaid taxes.

Title: Re: Not Looking good for Leeds
Post by: Spiritof98 on July 19, 2007, 12:59:45 PM
Leeds players 'not paid for June' 

Leeds United's players have not been paid their wages for June, BBC Radio Leeds understands.
A spokesperson for the Professional Footballers' Association told BBC Radio Leeds that "strenuous efforts are being made... to stabilise the situation."

"Players can't be expected to represent the club whilst training and playing for nothing."

Most of the League One club's players agreed to a wage deferral in May after Leeds went into administration.

More to follow.

How did Ken Bates get control of Leeds again is just totally bewildering, the way its going they'll never play another game again.

Post by: Goin Down on July 19, 2007, 06:22:14 PM
The Future for Leeds Utd is not good, I'd doubt they'd come back unless they get some seriously good fortune.
Post by: longball on July 20, 2007, 04:29:57 PM
listen lads im a Leeds fan and its not all doom and gloom sure we'r down but we've been down before theres hope- theres Toni Amobi (sholas younger bro) League one will give him and a few other youngsters the perfect stage to develop their talent!" watch these youngsters fly past the likes of Neil Lennon
Post by: Redgreenery on July 20, 2007, 04:30:58 PM
Quote from: longball on July 20, 2007, 04:29:57 PM
listen lads im a Leeds fan and its not all doom and gloom sure we'r down but we've been down before theres hope- theres Toni Amobi (sholas younger bro) League one will give him and a few other youngsters the perfect stage to develop their talent!" watch these youngsters fly past the likes of Neil Lennon
Have Leeds been down that low before?
Post by: longball on July 20, 2007, 04:53:35 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on July 20, 2007, 04:30:58 PM
Quote from: longball on July 20, 2007, 04:29:57 PM
Have Leeds been down that low before?

it doesnt matter how far we have been down before it matters that this is a platform from which we build- these are the cards we have been dealt- everyone will start pulling together in the right direction and soon we will be on our way back up- im not expecting miracles- some people think the we will be back in premiership in 3-4 years i dont i think itl be 9-10 years til we are